View Full Version : Ellie youan sell or keep
Albert Kidd 86’
28-05-2024, 04:31 PM
With the current interest in Elie, would you sell or keep.
I would keep him, he is a rising star that IMHO will benefit us greatly as he progresses.
if the rumours are correct about a £2.5M, I reckon not only is he worth it, but we would be crazy to let this kind of talent go, his value will only increase as he continues to score and create goals for us in the meantime.
28-05-2024, 04:37 PM
Won’t let me vote but keep 100%.
No brainer unless it’s silly money imo.
28-05-2024, 04:38 PM
Sell as I don’t believe he’s really wanting to be here
28-05-2024, 04:39 PM
For £2.5M I think you have to deal.
He's not an untried youngster, 25 and 150+ games is evidence of that. He's not going to get that much better. He's a good player but a fee like that puts him right at the top end of fees we have received and if reinvested correctly (and that's a huge IF admittedly) then it allows us to make big strides in rebuilding what is a poor, unbalanced squad.
28-05-2024, 04:41 PM
He's a good player but I don't think we get the best from him and I think he seems set on going.
28-05-2024, 04:43 PM
every indication is that he wants to go. So we should cash in. We desperately need players 100% committed to the club. He is a very creative player with great goals and assists stats, but if he doesn't want to be here, that won't necesarily continue.
28-05-2024, 04:44 PM
Keep, we will end up using 75% of the money for anything but a similar quality player, and blow the rest on the next Mueller's wages.
wfortune
28-05-2024, 04:46 PM
As he wants to leave by all accounts, I would cash in with a sell on clause if possible
Hibiza
28-05-2024, 04:51 PM
Au revoir Monsieur . boozy , Zittelli , Arpinon , Sauzee . You're not . bon chance.
28-05-2024, 04:53 PM
I think he would be happy to move on, if the reported £2.5m is structured correctly I'd sell and wish him all the best.
I'd be happy if he stayed as long as he's happy to be here.
Hibees1973
28-05-2024, 04:54 PM
Sell.
And if for the reported £2m start to build a new back 4. Starting with Kerr from Wigan and Tanser from St Mirren. And while they are at it see if Siegrist wants to play again after not being used by Celtic.
Oh and another thing, use some of the cash to pay off Bushiri, Henderson and loads of others.
Hibiza
28-05-2024, 04:55 PM
Keep, we will end up using 75% of the money for anything but a similar quality player, and blow the rest on the next Mueller's wages.
I tried to forget about that . Another disaster.
Happy if he stayed there’s a great player in there but only if he wants to stay and improve.
28-05-2024, 04:57 PM
I tried to forget about that . Another disaster.It's okay, other disasters are available[emoji6]
28-05-2024, 05:15 PM
Sell.
We’ve got a long way back to a good, compact, settled squad and we need reliable, consistent players who maybe aren’t quite as exciting as Elie at the top of his game but offer more when he’s off the boil.
We have a whole lot of icing and cherries for decoration but no actual cake, and we need to get that in place before we have an odd player like Elie who will from time to time need to be carried by the squad.
Donegal Hibby
28-05-2024, 05:24 PM
He's not an untried youngster, 25 and 150+ games is evidence of that. He's not going to get that much better. He's a good player but a fee like that puts him right at the top end of fees we have received and if reinvested correctly (and that's a huge IF admittedly) then it allows us to make big strides in rebuilding what is a poor, unbalanced squad.
I read that the 2.5M isn't all upfront which has me wondering what the actual figure upfront is ? , and does his previous club get a percentage too? .
Hibs4185
28-05-2024, 05:26 PM
No signs of him enjoying being here. I’d imagine he’d be keen to go as well.
If we turn it down, I can see a very unhappy footballer.
It’s good money. Have to accept for our sakes and his, I think
HendoDelivered
28-05-2024, 05:47 PM
For 2/2.5m? Sell.
28-05-2024, 05:52 PM
I think he wants away, but i would not be putting in a big sell on fee for less money.
He's 25 now and not getting much better if any better in my opinion.
28-05-2024, 05:58 PM
Good player who I think a better manager could get even more out of, would like him so stay and be part of the rebuild however 2.5 million is a good sum so not against accepting it.
For me it's all down to what the player wants in this instance, I don't think either are a bad option for the club.
28-05-2024, 06:00 PM
Pragmatically I think we are in a position where we need to recoup money wasted on other players who have hardly even played for us
The New Manager whoever thst is will need spaces to be created in the squad and money to pay decent wages to attract quality players
Which means any asset has a price If another season increased his value then keep him But that’s a risk
My worry is we are left with a rump of players that haven’t shown they are quality and thst wont change under a new Manager eg McKirdy Levit Amos if continues to be injury prone ,Jair Henderson ( although think he would get another loan ) to name a few
28-05-2024, 06:01 PM
Sell.
He's never going to be the sort of player who is happy and committed enough at Hibs to play anywhere near what he's capable of, other than in flashes.
Might turn out to be a great player elsewhere - doesn't mean he was ever going to be much with us.
If he stays, we'll get progressively less out of him as time goes on.
If the rumours re those figures are true... then again, this has possibly been a decent bit of business for all parties.
28-05-2024, 06:14 PM
I'll leave it to the new manager to decide.
28-05-2024, 06:28 PM
Elie is our most valuable asset. The reported deal sounds rather underwhelming - add ons, cut for St Gallen etc. To only make a small profit is disappointing but it’s hard to keep a player if they want to move on to a bigger league and bigger wages…
The unnamed club sounds a bit like the Rangers patter when they were desperate to punt Morelos - Hibs busy spoon feeding the media.
If I was running a French team and had £2.5m to spend, I’d be chasing Maolida before Youan, that’s for sure.
28-05-2024, 06:31 PM
He's our fur coat. Use the money to bring in 2 or 3 solid pros for the SPL, or use some of it to pay compo to Killie and get a decent SPL manager.
28-05-2024, 06:32 PM
Sell. Counter-productive to hold on to a player who doesn’t want to be at ER.
e2los
28-05-2024, 06:34 PM
I'd like to keep him, however can't blame him for wanting away.
The amount of verbal abuse he gets from (a few so called fans), is disgusting during the games I've been to.
I'm not on about bairns (block 7), I mean supposed grown ups who should know better.
28-05-2024, 06:34 PM
He's our fur coat. Use the money to bring in 2 or 3 solid pros for the SPL, or use some of it to pay compo to Killie and get a decent SPL manager.
I think the guy you allude to is yesterday’s news as far as we are concerned.
28-05-2024, 06:37 PM
I'd like to keep him but £2.5m is a good fee that can be invested in improving a weak squad so voted to sell.
28-05-2024, 06:39 PM
Sell at that price and we can use the money to extend Jair's contract 😁
28-05-2024, 06:39 PM
Not voted because I'd like to keep but at 2.5million
Hibs would have to sell
kentao
28-05-2024, 06:47 PM
He can be the most exciting and frustrating player all within the same passage of play. For the rebuild that we need i would be inclined to sell him. £2.5m would go a long way in upgrading the starting 11 without having a talisman like Youan.
I`m sure with that money you could secure some of better players in the league like Armstrong (Killie 1 Year Left), McCowan (Dundee 1 Year Left) and O`Hara (St. Mirren 2 Year Left).
28-05-2024, 06:48 PM
Would love to get the right players in to support him and play him where he can express himself without worrying about his defensive lapses.
However I agree that he doesn’t want to be here and if that’s the case I’d sell.
28-05-2024, 06:51 PM
I like him but I don't think we can turn down that kind of money, especially if it's true that he is ready to move on.
We'll miss him once he's gone.
28-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Who is paying £2.5 million for him? I want him to stay but at that price, we'd have to sell.
Greensunshine
28-05-2024, 08:16 PM
He’s got real quality, we need a good manager to get the very best out of him.
We should want to keep all our good players!
TrinityHFC
28-05-2024, 08:36 PM
Another disastrous by-product of appointing NM. We should have seen him pushing on even further this season. Instead he’s regressed and does really want to be here anymore.
Mrimbetween
28-05-2024, 08:43 PM
Whos actually after Youan dont tell me its Lorient
Up-the-slope
28-05-2024, 09:15 PM
while if we bend over it will be obvious we have Nae Knickers
Sloop67
28-05-2024, 09:20 PM
Can we afford to turn down that kind of money? How long does his contract have to run? Does the player want to stay or move on ? I've never been a fan of us constantly selling out better players especially when they are headed westwards to one of the ugly sisters but I think in this case it's something that they should seriously consider , I'm guessing that this and the future of other players will be up to MM as obviously at the moment we have no manager
28-05-2024, 09:58 PM
Keep him, we won’t get better.
gegs70
28-05-2024, 11:06 PM
Sadly it's sell for me, we have too much to change in the squad with a bloated squad that may cost us to get rid, unless other clubs want to make a bid? I think some of it is that he does want to leave too.
PHeffernan
29-05-2024, 02:15 AM
He has 2 years left on his contract so we need to sell now or in January to get a good fee.
If this offer is 2.5 million quid and we add a 20% sell on clause great.
If it's 2 million plus 500k worth of claused add ons that's not so good especially if his previous club St Gallen get a percentage of any profit.
That could see us down to 1.7 million for the loss of our best player. The devil is in the detail not the headline figure.
29-05-2024, 02:22 AM
My view on ALL Hibs players is simplistically I am happy if we sell anybody…………provided…..we replace him with a better player.
Albert Kidd 86’
29-05-2024, 04:59 AM
I'd like to keep him, however can't blame him for wanting away.
The amount of verbal abuse he gets from (a few so called fans), is disgusting during the games I've been to.
I'm not on about bairns (block 7), I mean supposed grown ups who should know better.
:top marksI am amazed and depressed at the same time when people slag Elie off, an absolutely fantastic talent, first name on my team sheet every time. There is even more potential in him going forward.
IMHO the new manager should be sitting him down day one at 9am and telling him he will be building the team around him, and that he will give him all he needs to make that happen.
29-05-2024, 05:50 AM
I think at that sort of money, this probably makes sense for everyone. I get that he can frustrate people but he's a player that I'm happy to pay to watch. Doesn't always make the right decision but he's class.
29-05-2024, 05:59 AM
Players must be thinking we're a bit of a basket case behind the scenes. Wouldn't blame him if he wanted away and he certainly looks like he does. I'd take the money and move on. Said on another thread that we'd be looking at a lot nore than 2.5 million if out previous manager was never appointed.
29-05-2024, 06:26 AM
Sell 100%.
He has to be up there with one of the most talented, but deeply frustrating players I've had the privilege of watching playing for Hibernian FC.
I understand why people say we should be building the team around him, but frankly that scares me! I watch Liverpool games and am always impressed with Luis Diaz. The guy never stops moving, whether that be in creating space or tracking back. If Youan can add that to his game, he'll be at better teams than Hibs. But, for me, I'd rather we have good team performers rather than an exceptionally frustrating talent who has poor game awareness.
29-05-2024, 07:23 AM
Sell. His performance at Motherwell was the final straw for me. He kept getting in to great positions but his decision making cost us. A player with a football brain would've sealed the 3 points for us that day.
Crunchie
29-05-2024, 07:26 AM
Sell. His performance at Motherwell was the final straw for me. He kept getting in to great positions but his decision making cost us. A player with a football brain would've sealed the 3 points for us that day.
Every word of that would apply to Boyle over the years as well.
29-05-2024, 07:35 AM
Sell
Enjoyed watching him on a going day got you out of your seat but his decision making has stood still if he could improve that and work harder he would be playing for Les Blues and worth fortunes
He is not going to get any better I fear at his best when he doesn’t have to think about it
Disnae want to be here a total enigma and we have enough passengers already
Shame because I really liked him
Saint Hibee
29-05-2024, 07:36 AM
Why are people saying he’s unhappy and wants to leave? Did he say something on social media?
29-05-2024, 08:50 AM
Why are people saying he’s unhappy and wants to leave? Did he say something on social media?
I'm pretty sure he told a fan who had messaged him that he would be leaving.
29-05-2024, 08:52 AM
Defo sell for me. His whole deal with us was predicated on this type of outcome - join us for a few years, we'll give you a platform to move on. Nothing wrong with that.
Also people highlighting his poor decision making..... 100% correct but it's not just that. His actual finishing and ball striking is often poor. How many times he gets in good position and scuffs a shot. His league expected goals is around 8 and yet he only has 5 (if you count a massive deflection against Motherwell that was basically an OG).
29-05-2024, 09:56 AM
Yea but Boyle always looks like he loves it here and wants to play for us, that's the difference. Plus when we got an offer of between £2-3 million for Boyle we sold him too, don't forget !
Greenio
29-05-2024, 10:02 AM
I'm pretty sure he told a fan who had messaged him that he would be leaving.
Dont know about that but I do feel he's after pastures new. This is all guess work really so could be wrong, but him snapping at fans on social media (yes, they shoudn't have to cop it) suggests he's frustrated, his post re Myziane 'they wont see the like of us again' or something along those lines, and what is clearly a strategic effort to put himself in the shop window with professionally done content on social, highlight reels etc...add to that he just seems the type of guy who can lose interest in things easily
I love him as a player and want him to stay, but not if he doesnt
29-05-2024, 10:24 AM
Can't agree with that. Whilst Boyle no doubt improved over time with us, he has always had a decent football brain. Light years ahead of Youan in that respect.
29-05-2024, 10:26 AM
Can't agree with that. Whilst Boyle no doubt improved over time with us, he has always had a decent football brain. Light years ahead of Youan in that respect.
Has been really trying recently
I was hoping the close season would do him good and help reenergise him but noticed he has just been called up by Australia
29-05-2024, 10:30 AM
Another disastrous by-product of appointing NM. We should have seen him pushing on even further this season. Instead he’s regressed and does really want to be here anymore.
:agree: Montgomery's mismanagement of him was criminal.
29-05-2024, 10:39 AM
Dont know about that but I do feel he's after pastures new. This is all guess work really so could be wrong, but him snapping at fans on social media (yes, they shoudn't have to cop it) suggests he's frustrated, his post re Myziane 'they wont see the like of us again' or something along those lines, and what is clearly a strategic effort to put himself in the shop window with professionally done content on social, highlight reels etc...add to that he just seems the type of guy who can lose interest in things easily
I love him as a player and want him to stay, but not if he doesnt
It was after he accepted the "moment of the season" award. Next day someone messaged him and he replied with "I know why yall hate me but don't worry I'll be gone soon".
29-05-2024, 10:40 AM
Has been really trying recently
I was hoping the close season would do him good and help reenergise him but noticed he has just been called up by Australia
Will never forgive McLeish for not giving him a Scotland cap.
29-05-2024, 11:19 AM
A player who is only going to get better.
I’d rather have him in our side than not. Always happy to see him in the starting line up and someone who gets you on the edge of your seat in anticipation that something can happen.
Maybe not always what you want to see happen, but he’s an exciting player.
Keep ☑️
Saint Hibee
29-05-2024, 11:41 AM
It was after he accepted the "moment of the season" award. Next day someone messaged him and he replied with "I know why yall hate me but don't worry I'll be gone soon".
It'll be sad if he leaves, but it'll be a real tragedy if he leaves thinking we all hate him. He's definitely been my favourite Hibs player for the last couple of seasons. Despite his much-discussed faults, I love him!
This. Bigger gamble to keep him I reckon.
Ideally we get a bit of a sell on too but I'd doubt it for that sort of money.
29-05-2024, 09:42 PM
Sell 100% and take most of the other huddies for a tenner each
Yes. Let's sell the one player who, if played correctly, could notch 20 goals next season. Only for Ian and Ben to pay off this season's loss and weaken the team.
So many posters failing to see that the decline in quality translates directly into a lower league position.
The lack of ambition at the club at the moment is chilling. We are stagnating our way back to the Championship
29-05-2024, 09:56 PM
Daft to sell (unless for a good fee), given we've only seen him under guff managers
Doh Rae Me
29-05-2024, 09:59 PM
If he had a footballing brain I'd say keep, from what I've seen I'd say he hasn't, for 2.5 mil it's sell sell sell.
29-05-2024, 10:00 PM
Yes. Let's sell the one player who, if played correctly, could notch 20 goals next season. Only for Ian and Ben to pay off this season's loss and weaken the team.
So many posters failing to see that the decline in quality translates directly into a lower league position.
The lack of ambition at the club at the moment is chilling. We are stagnating our way back to the Championship
He would never score 20 in this league. Nowhere near clinical enough and it's not to do with where he is played. His decision making is way too inconsistent.
Donegal Hibby
29-05-2024, 10:58 PM
He would never score 20 in this league. Nowhere near clinical enough and it's not to do with where he is played. His decision making is way too inconsistent.
Between assists and what he's scored last season is probably near enough to a 20 goal contribution even if some think he's away too inconsistent.
Not too shabby for a winger ! .
Player we are going to miss alot if he goes and imo struggle to find anyone equally as good too .
https://youtu.be/wbmT6cT7_3U?si=hfUotNSbYAJnS1rQ
30-05-2024, 07:31 AM
I voted keep because I think he's a great player, but I don't think it's fair to get offered good money and force him to stay at a club where he's treated so poorly.
He can kick on again, Boyle took another couple of years to really become our talisman.
USA_Hibee
30-05-2024, 07:35 AM
I think we should keep him. I think we will struggle to replace him. Hopefully the new coach can bring him on a bit.
30-05-2024, 07:44 AM
"Even if they won’t receive the full £2.5 million up front, with that headline figure including add-ons and sell-on clauses, getting hard cash into the coffers – with the promise of more to come – will provide vital wiggle room in the close-season market"
I think the key phrase here is "including add ons and sell on clauses. There seems to be a lot of people seizing on the 2.5 million part and not reading the detail.
If YOuan is eager to leave then it's probably going to happen. That would be disappointing for me, he's our last saleable asset and our most effective attacking player.
30-05-2024, 08:35 AM
"Even if they won’t receive the full £2.5 million up front, with that headline figure including add-ons and sell-on clauses, getting hard cash into the coffers – with the promise of more to come – will provide vital wiggle room in the close-season market"
I think the key phrase here is "including add ons and sell on clauses. There seems to be a lot of people seizing on the 2.5 million part and not reading the detail.
If YOuan is eager to leave then it's probably going to happen. That would be disappointing for me, he's our last saleable asset and our most effective attacking player.
It strikes me as something leaked by Hibs… and the £2.5m is the absolute ceiling, in the unlikely event that every single condition is met. I reckon Youan is off, come what may, and Hibs are just trying to control the narrative in the most positive way possible.
All the David Gray articles in the media have a whiff of “leaked by Hibs” too.
30-05-2024, 10:23 AM
Sell. I don’t think we can improve him.
30-05-2024, 10:41 AM
I'd 100% keep Elie at ER. He's arguably the best player we have. I've seen too many of our star players being allowed to leave the club over decades, as far back as the great Gordon Smith. I only want the best of players we can have at Hibs, and Elie is one of them.
The money we would get for him would be squandered anyway, on inferior replacements.
TrinityHFC
30-05-2024, 11:09 AM
Sell. I don’t think we can improve him.
I think we very much had improved him before NM arrived.
30-05-2024, 11:40 AM
Sell for £2.5M minus whatever St. Gallen get is a no brainer for me. Thanks for a few brief flashes of a very good player. With his talent he should have been a stand out in this league, but his work rate and committment to the cause meant that he was overall just a decent Hibs forward. To get in the region of £2M is great business for us.
Hopefully it provides spending money to get more hard working players. I would take a Simon Murray over an Ellie Youan anyday.
30-05-2024, 12:15 PM
I think we very much had improved him before NM arrived.
I think we need better and/or different than Youan to be better and more consistent in the league. 5th and 8th placed finishes with 6 goals and 7 assists and 5 goals and 7 assists isn’t going to take us to regularly competing for 3rd & 4th. It’s also not good value given he cost a similar fee to Vente, and the wage that goes with a big fee, IMO.
At 25 what you see is what he will always be IMO. Tapping into how Bournemouth recruit (Maoloda hopefully and indicator of that and a big upgrade on Youan) and £2.5 should be more than enough to adequately replace Youan as well as strengthening other areas IMO.
30-05-2024, 02:24 PM
No use having a winger and nobody else though.
We need good solid SPFL players throughout the team. Look at Killy and St Mirren, St Johnstone in seasons past. All on a shoestring.
It it’s £2.5M, take the money and plough it into the team.
No use having a winger and nobody else though.
We need good solid SPFL players throughout the team. Look at Killy and St Mirren, St Johnstone in seasons past. All on a shoestring.
It it’s £2.5M, take the money and plough it into the team.
We would only get a third up front. Enough to buy a Dylan Vente or Harry McKirdy. There's nobody else within that budget that would be happy to sign for a bottom six SPL club. Our league is the equivalent of going to Alaska.
We never replaced Nisbet nor Porto with better. And we wont find a more exciting recruit than Elie Youan either.
30-05-2024, 11:26 PM
Voted sell. But not because I think he can't do a job for us.
I have a feeling that if a deal like that is on the table he will want to go, especially if it's to a club in France. The last thing we need is an unhappy player, who for the most part gives you one good display every three games as it is and I'm not convinced he can or will get better than that.
I suppose it's all about what we do in the summer. If we can't build an actual team capable of winning games without relying on a bit of magic from an individual then we would be as well holding on to him, because at least he has that in him.
Stays ... happy enough
Goes .... Won't be crying in my beer ..... no insult intended Elie, that applies to practically every player we have just now.
31-05-2024, 10:17 AM
We would only get a third up front. Enough to buy a Dylan Vente or Harry McKirdy. There's nobody else within that budget that would be happy to sign for a bottom six SPL club. Our league is the equivalent of going to Alaska.
We never replaced Nisbet nor Porto with better. And we wont find a more exciting recruit than Elie Youan either.
Agree with this.
11 goals and 14 assists in 61 league games (4300 mins-that is the equivalent of 47 games in total, if he played a full 90 mins). Pretty decent stats for a winger in a crap team.
If Elie wants to go, and who could really blame him, then we probably need to let him leave. We'll struggle to find any better on our budget.
31-05-2024, 11:17 AM
Agree with this.
11 goals and 14 assists in 61 league games (4300 mins-that is the equivalent of 47 games in total, if he played a full 90 mins). Pretty decent stats for a winger in a crap team.
If Elie wants to go, and who could really blame him, then we probably need to let him leave. We'll struggle to find any better on our budget.
But we found him in the first place on our budget.
31-05-2024, 04:57 PM
But we found him in the first place on our budget.
Our recent track record wouldn’t inspire much confidence that we could adequately replace him, just as we have failed to adequately replace Nisbet, Porto or Doig ( I have reservations about Obita, he’s done ok, but he’s not great defensively).
Maybe I’m being obtuse here but we could not afford to sign Youan now on our budget, he would be out of our price range.
01-06-2024, 11:07 AM
Our recent track record wouldn’t inspire much confidence that we could adequately replace him, just as we have failed to adequately replace Nisbet, Porto or Doig ( I have reservations about Obita, he’s done ok, but he’s not great defensively).
Maybe I’m being obtuse here but we could not afford to sign Youan now on our budget, he would be out of our price range.
Malouda looked as good a forward as we have had for many seasons?