View Full Version : Portillo Moment

23-05-2024, 06:38 PM
Lots of chatter already on who will be the "Portillo" come July 4th.

My memory of '97 was no one saw that coming so talk of Rees Mogg is hardly gonna be a surprise.

I'm hoping the Lib Dems target Liz Truss and the other parties step away.

Also really looking forward to seeing Gullis' speech once he's had his **** handed to him 😀

I'm sure he'll be polite......

Who's your 'Portillo' gonna be then?

23-05-2024, 06:49 PM

My memory of '97 was no one saw that coming so talk of Rees Mogg is hardly gonna be a surprise.

Also really looking forward to seeing Gullis' speech once he's had his **** handed to him [emoji3]

Who's your 'Portillo' gonna be then?Every one of them.

There are none in that party who I can look at without thinking they are either liars, stupid, have their hand in a till somewhere or all three.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

23-05-2024, 08:51 PM
Would really like to see Grant Shapps get the boot. He's a slippery disingenuous toad.

23-05-2024, 09:09 PM
These are all unlikely but just because I would find it funny……

Sem Moema or Praful Nargund, whichever candidate happens to stand for Labour in Islington North, losing to the current MP.

Ed Davey, seeing the Lib Dem’s lose another leader at a General election would be mildly amusing. I’m not so sure many would notice though.

Pete Wishart, just to hear his complaints afterwards about other candidates having the temerity to stand against him. He really doesn’t get democracy.

I will take great delight in every Tory seat lost but Michael Gove being sent packing would be the icing on what I hope is a very large cake.

23-05-2024, 09:30 PM
Yeah there are too many to mention this time.

It won't feel the same as 97 but I've been looking forward to this for a long time and I don't have work the next day this time :greengrin

Andy Bee
23-05-2024, 09:33 PM
Michael Shanks comes across a touch smug for my liking, similar to his brother in arms Murray, it would be nice to see him booted off the gravy train after only a few months. I'd also like to see Pete Wishart gone, is it Sally Hughes (Independent for Independence) running against him? Michael Gove is a no brainer along with Fabricant if he's running.

23-05-2024, 09:36 PM
These are all unlikely but just because I would find it funny……

Sem Moema or Praful Nargund, whichever candidate happens to stand for Labour in Islington North, losing to the current MP.

Ed Davey, seeing the Lib Dem’s lose another leader at a General election would be mildly amusing. I’m not so sure many would notice though.

Pete Wishart, just to hear his complaints afterwards about other candidates having the temerity to stand against him. He really doesn’t get democracy.

I will take great delight in every Tory seat lost but Michael Gove being sent packing would be the icing on what I hope is a very large cake.

Not sure where or if Wishart is standing? He is my MP but with boundaries changing I have a different snp candidate up against Stephen Kerr of the tories. Angus and Perthshire glens.

23-05-2024, 09:50 PM
Not sure where or if Wishart is standing? He is my MP but with boundaries changing I have a different snp candidate up against Stephen Kerr of the tories. Angus and Perthshire glens.

Last I heard he was standing for Perth and Kinross.

24-05-2024, 09:31 AM
Seeing Pete Wishart kicked off the Westminster gravy train would be nice. A less sincere person would be hard to find.

Maybe Ken Clarke too for his aloof and detached lack of compassion in the contaminated blood scandal.

Truss because I think she is genuinely delusional.

24-05-2024, 09:51 AM
Seeing Pete Wishart kicked off the Westminster gravy train would be nice. A less sincere person would be hard to find.

Maybe Ken Clarke too for his aloof and detached lack of compassion in the contaminated blood scandal.

I'd keep Truss for the entertainment value. :greengrin

24-05-2024, 10:01 AM

Clarke can't be kicked off the gravy train until Starmer closes down the parliament he's in.

24-05-2024, 10:50 AM
I'd have a Kevin Keegan moment if Lee Anderson lost his seat (I think he is polling well though).

The smug smile being wiped off Priti Patel's face would be joyous.

Like others seeing Pete Wishart lose would be pleasant albeit tempered by the fact it would probably mean a Tory winning the seat.

He's not a sitting MP but Reform are standing Richard Tice in Boston and Skegness (my father in laws constituency) and I'd love to see him lose. The sitting MP is a total snake but Reform are targeting the seat because of the pro sentiment Brexit there (highest leave vote in the UK) and to prey on simmering racial tensions.

24-05-2024, 11:11 AM
I'd have a Kevin Keegan moment if Lee Anderson lost his seat (I think he is polling well though).

The smug smile being wiped off Priti Patel's face would be joyous.

Like others seeing Pete Wishart lose would be pleasant albeit tempered by the fact it would probably mean a Tory winning the seat.

He's not a sitting MP but Reform are standing Richard Tice in Boston and Skegness (my father in laws constituency) and I'd love to see him lose. The sitting MP is a total snake but Reform are targeting the seat because of the pro sentiment Brexit there (highest leave vote in the UK) and to prey on simmering racial tensions.

You may get your wish.......

https://pollingreport.uk/seats/E14001068

Hibs4185
24-05-2024, 12:44 PM
Would love to see Ian Murray loose his seat. Jambo fud

24-05-2024, 01:22 PM
Last I heard he was standing for Perth and Kinross.

Aye, Perth and Kinrosshire constituency, used to be perth and north Perthshire.

https://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/fcgi-bin/calcwork23.py?seat=Perth%20and%20Kinross-shire

Interesting to see Labour and Conservative neck and neck, boundaries changed so a different demographic.

24-05-2024, 01:40 PM
Aye, Perth and Kinrosshire constituency, used to be perth and north Perthshire.

https://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/fcgi-bin/calcwork23.py?seat=Perth%20and%20Kinross-shire

Interesting to see Labour and Conservative neck and neck, boundaries changed so a different demographic.

I’d question the predicted Labour share of the vote there. I think they would be delighted if that was to be the case. :greengrin

24-05-2024, 01:47 PM
I’d question the predicted Labour share of the vote there. I think they would be delighted if that was to be the case. :greengrin

A fair bit of Perth is still council houses, but I agree, people will vote to keep either the tories or snp out

24-05-2024, 02:06 PM
A fair bit of Perth is still council houses, but I agree, people will vote to keep either the tories or snp out

Might be a slightly bigger Labour vote than I thought then, I'd made assumptions there. Is the whole of Perth in the constituency?

Stairway 2 7
24-05-2024, 04:48 PM
A wee list of tories that could lose and some jumped

https://x.com/JackDunc1/status/1793352157988602263

Stairway 2 7
24-05-2024, 06:01 PM
Michael Gove stepping down, coward

24-05-2024, 06:08 PM
A wee list of tories that could lose and some jumped

https://x.com/JackDunc1/status/1793352157988602263Mostly made their, and their chums money, hiding from the defeat and will now be writing for the Mail or Telegraph to tell everyone about how the incoming government caused all this.

24-05-2024, 06:09 PM
Michael Gove stepping down, cowardWhen you're lower than a snakes belly, how do you "step down"?

24-05-2024, 07:42 PM
Leadsom quits now too....

24-05-2024, 07:45 PM

Damn. I’d pencilled his defeat in as an election night highlight.

24-05-2024, 08:01 PM
They're trying to dredge all the fun out of it. Typical.

24-05-2024, 08:07 PM
They're trying to dredge all the fun out of it. Typical.

24-05-2024, 08:55 PM
Might be a slightly bigger Labour vote than I thought then, I'd made assumptions there. Is the whole of Perth in the constituency?

I believe so, used to be split between north and south. Wishart was north but not any more, South used to be roseanna cunningham.

25-05-2024, 01:16 PM
The rats have pre-empted any chance of a Portillo moment and those who brass-necked the nation as they sank to depths never seen are now lacking the balls to face the music. Coward. Every. Single. One.

May history judge them and who knows if there is karma - perhaps things even out.

25-05-2024, 04:41 PM

Easy choice for Gove. Resign now with some flummery about it being time for new blood to take the reins, or resign later in disgrace once the next government digs into the missing Covid billions, as his sticky paws are all over those. (And the next gov are definitely getting to the bottom of what went on with the Covid contracts, as they've said they would.)

25-05-2024, 04:50 PM
Easy choice for Gove. Resign now with some flummery about it being time for new blood to take the reins, or resign later in disgrace once the next government digs into the missing Covid billions, as his sticky paws are all over those. (And the next gov are definitely getting to the bottom of what went on with the Covid contracts, as they've said they would.)Yep, be right on it, just as soon as they finish abolishing the house of lords

29-05-2024, 04:39 AM
Yep, be right on it, just as soon as they finish abolishing the house of lords

but but but …

why can’t we just “draw a line and move on…”

this will be the Tory mantra.

29-05-2024, 05:56 AM
but but but …

why can’t we just “draw a line and move on…”

this will be the Tory mantra.They'll be blaming the incoming government for the missing funds and the state of the economy 24 hours after coming into power.

Make a nice change from blaming everything on Covid, our war with Russia and maybe even the youth of today.

30-05-2024, 11:27 AM
They'll be blaming the incoming government for the missing funds and the state of the economy 24 hours after coming into power.

Make a nice change from blaming everything on Covid, our war with Russia and maybe even the youth of today.

A yet none of them blaming the thing actually contributing to the mess.

BREXIT.

It’s collective amnesia.

11-06-2024, 07:19 PM
Every one of them.

I will take great delight in every Tory seat lost

:tsk tsk: Madness. Just to provide a bit of balance to this anti-Tory pile-on, I hope Giles Watling increases his majority.

11-06-2024, 07:24 PM
A yet none of them blaming the thing actually contributing to the mess.

BREXIT.

It’s collective amnesia.

The fact the media refuse to mention brexit says it all

03-07-2024, 11:22 PM

Also really looking forward to seeing Gullis' speech once he's had his **** handed to him 😀

Who's your 'Portillo' gonna be then?

Looks like Gullis will definitely lose :thumbsup:

Unfortunately Truss is gonna win her seat.

Lee Anderson is neck and neck so fingers crossed he goes.

Rees Mogg is going though :na na:

04-07-2024, 05:14 AM
Looks like Gullis will definitely lose :thumbsup:

Rees Mogg is going though :na na:

I think there will be lots of fun moments tonight. Will be fun watching the Tories lose so badly. I’ll likely be disappointed with SNP performance but overall it will be a good night.

Stairway 2 7
04-07-2024, 05:29 AM
I think there will be lots of fun moments tonight. Will be fun watching the Tories lose so badly. I’ll likely be disappointed with SNP performance but overall it will be a good night.

I think it might be better than some polls show, they are poor at modelling Scotland. In saying that I mean good as around early 30s, SNP will definitely lose seats. I've got a couple of throwaway bets on SNP above 20 and tories above 100 as I think surely both priced too low with them not being the favourite

04-07-2024, 06:08 AM
I think it might be better than some polls show, they are poor at modelling Scotland. In saying that I mean good as around early 30s, SNP will definitely lose seats. I've got a couple of throwaway bets on SNP above 20 and tories above 100 as I think surely both priced too low with them not being the favourite

I don’t think the polls have got to grips with the situation in Scotland at all. I still expect the SNP to have the largest number of seats. The results from Dundee should be interesting. If SNP City was to go Labour (unlikely) then it could be a bloodier nose than expected for them.

04-07-2024, 07:04 AM
Looks like Gullis will definitely lose [emoji106]

Rees Mogg is going though :na na:Lee Anderson losing would be hilarious. He will need to join another party if there's still one he hasn't already slithered his way into.

04-07-2024, 07:38 AM

I was amazed at the pricing on the Scottish market. Paddy have Labour heavy odds on to win most seats in scotland. At almost 5/1 it felt a no brainer to stick money on the SNP

04-07-2024, 07:38 AM
I don’t think the polls have got to grips with the situation in Scotland at all. I still expect the SNP to have the largest number of seats. The results from Dundee should be interesting. If SNP City was to go Labour (unlikely) then it could be a bloodier nose than expected for them.

They deserve a bloody nose, and now is a good time for it. 2 years to focus on building support for independence by governing competently and focussing on delivery, ahead of Scottish Parliament elections in 2026.

04-07-2024, 11:30 AM

Yeah and not just the level of SNP support but Tory support. Some (up until recently) but not all, seemed to think my seat was between SNP and Tories (which it has been for years). It is going to be tight between SNP and Labour this time.

04-07-2024, 12:39 PM
Yeah and not just the level of SNP support but Tory support. Some (up until recently) but not all, seemed to think my seat was between SNP and Tories (which it has been for years). It is going to be tight between SNP and Labour this time.

Edinburgh SW?

04-07-2024, 12:53 PM
Edinburgh SW?

Yep.

04-07-2024, 12:57 PM
Yep.

:aok: Me too.

04-07-2024, 03:02 PM

The SNP over 20 is a good bet.

04-07-2024, 06:09 PM
The SNP over 20 is a good bet.

Aye, for the bookies :greengrin

04-07-2024, 08:33 PM
https://www.bestforbritain.org/election_night_bingo

Stairway 2 7
04-07-2024, 08:37 PM
https://www.bestforbritain.org/election_night_bingo

That's good cheers ha. Also good to see whatever is living on Micheal Fabricants heed is still alive

05-07-2024, 07:10 AM
So for me Truss wins the Portillo. :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
05-07-2024, 07:13 AM
So for me Truss wins the Portillo. :greengrin

She refused to come on stage until was slow clapped on heard result then stormed off, amazing. George Galloway should get his Portillo moment mailed to him as he refused to go on stage

05-07-2024, 07:17 AM
So for me Truss wins the Portillo. :greengrinYeah, Dim Lizzie was the winner for me, good to see her scurrying off when the interviewer asked her if she had any apologies for her former constituents.

05-07-2024, 07:30 AM
Unfortunately Truss is still likely to appear on our TV screens for some time to come, rocking up at the Cenotaph etc etc. Two who with luck will never re-appear are Gullis and Jenkyns, for which Hallelujah!

05-07-2024, 08:08 AM
Unfortunately Truss is still likely to appear on our TV screens for some time to come, rocking up at the Cenotaph etc etc. Two who with luck will never re-appear are Gullis and Jenkyns, for which Hallelujah!

I forget she gets that job for life for her month of chaos.

Add Sunak to that list of losers.

05-07-2024, 12:48 PM
Biggest disappointment of the night is that at the next GE the phrase 'Portillo Moment' will still be used. Was hoping for something to replace it, such as 'Sunak Moment' but nae luck. Truss losing isn't enough to commemorate in that way, what with her being such an obvious and relentless ****nugget.

Stairway 2 7
05-07-2024, 12:58 PM
Biggest disappointment of the night is that at the next GE the phrase 'Portillo Moment' will still be used. Was hoping for something to replace it, such as 'Sunak Moment' but nae luck. Truss losing isn't enough to commemorate in that way, what with her being such an obvious and relentless ****nugget.

Think Portillo was defence secretary like Shapps. 7 cabinet ministers lost in 97 11 last night. The party was their own Portillo moment. The biggest conservative defeat ever, even when they were up against the Whigs

05-07-2024, 02:41 PM
.. even when they were up against the Whigs

Can we bring them back. That twat Fabricant can be supreme leader

05-07-2024, 02:45 PM
The biggest conservative defeat ever, even when they were up against the Whigs

Brexit is the new Corn Laws.

Berwickhibby
05-07-2024, 03:12 PM
Sturgeons face at the exit polls last night was my portillo moment :greengrin