View Full Version : Raith Rovers v Ross County ( 1st leg )
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 03:49 PM
Raith v Ross County tonight . I was wondering who folk are for and how they see it going ? .
I'm going for Ross County mainly because Raith have a plastic pitch . I also think Ross county will be too strong and fancy 2-1 County tonight.
Fuzzywuzzy
23-05-2024, 03:54 PM
Always had a soft spot for Raith. Don't mind county either so not too fussed
ruthven_raiders
23-05-2024, 03:58 PM
Raith v Ross County tonight . I was wondering who folk are for and how they see it going ? .
I'm going for Ross County mainly because Raith have a plastic pitch . I also think Ross county will be too strong and fancy 2-1 County tonight.
I heard it was on sky sports which is disappointing, after previous games being on BBC Scotland...
Stairway 2 7
23-05-2024, 04:00 PM
Yeah mixed. I like Raith as a quick trip and underdog but their pitch puts me off
23-05-2024, 04:00 PM
I heard it was on sky sports which is disappointing, after previous games being on BBC Scotland...
Yeah it’s part of the sky deal for the premiership season
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 04:07 PM
Didn't know that , would have much preferred it on BBC SCOTLAND too .
23-05-2024, 04:11 PM
Raith as a decent day out. Ross County is horrendous trip home after a defeat up there, not much better going up.
Looking forward to this,especially with the weather the way it is .
👏 to those in attendance tonight
23-05-2024, 04:44 PM
Hope Raith beat them. Sick of the A9, especially our annual midweek trip.
23-05-2024, 04:49 PM
Sort out this plastic pitch ***** and Raith all day... If only because it's closer and I'm too miserable to venture up that far North much these days.
Mcbizz1998
23-05-2024, 04:53 PM
My group had planned our first visit to Dingwall for next season. Stay over in Inverness and make a wee trip of it. Would be great.
You can now bet your house on Raith coming up 😂
23-05-2024, 04:56 PM
‘Mon the Rovers.
23-05-2024, 05:08 PM
When I started following Hibs Raith were a real bogey team. My first ever away trip was to Kirkcaldy in the train with a pal when we were about 12. It was a cup tie- lost 3-1.
Think Ross attack will have too much for the Raith defence but the weather and pitch may level things a bit.
23-05-2024, 05:08 PM
I'd normally be shouting for Raith, however the plastic pitch has put me off, I think Ross County will have too much for them anyway.
Tarrahib
23-05-2024, 05:27 PM
Maybe watch the game on TV to see if there is a decent goalkeeper who is good enough to play for Hibs.
23-05-2024, 05:33 PM
Want Raith to do it with them having so many Hibees.
Would be some achieving for Murray too and you’d think put him in a good shot for the job.
Unfortunately think County will win convincingly with their attacking threat. Murray, White and Dhanda all able to score with limited chances
23-05-2024, 05:41 PM
My group had planned our first visit to Dingwall for next season. Stay over in Inverness and make a wee trip of it. Would be great.
You can now bet your house on Raith coming up 😂
Can get Ross County away in cup 😆
23-05-2024, 05:43 PM
Expect Simon Murray to score - he’s in great form.
Musselbound
23-05-2024, 05:50 PM
Raith mainly to freshen things up and have a new club in the league. I think County might edge it though.
23-05-2024, 06:23 PM
I think RC will win easily over two legs. I don’t really care who wins but Raith’s plastic pitch is a negative ( of course the new legislation will deal with this) .
23-05-2024, 06:27 PM
Raith have a better support, and they’re overdue some success tbh. A decent plastic pitch is infinitely better than a bad grass one…
23-05-2024, 06:46 PM
Would like to see Raith come up but think County will beat them comfortably
Up-the-slope
23-05-2024, 06:46 PM
just found that out... very disappointed. The Friday night Championship games and the play off have been great watches and good for Beeb (in an otherwise mostly guff season).
Been good exposure to lots of teams, and promoted the SPFL well - much better that the OF centric pay to watch broadcasters
I presume that SKY got exclusivity as part of their deal
Up-the-slope
23-05-2024, 06:48 PM
‘Mon the Rovers.
:agree: - i think Rovers will do it over 2 legs.
2-1 tonight and 1-1 in return
23-05-2024, 06:55 PM
Railway stand open for home fans, surprised the sale of just over 6k is their highest attendance for nearly 30 years
Absolutely horsing it down, rain has been relentless, artificial pitch my well come into it's own tonight and we'll done to those going to the game in this weather.
23-05-2024, 07:01 PM
highlights on B B C tonight at 10:30
home fan chucks a flare on the pitch
Kawdy Dafty
no house curtains twitching for this game either, are they all Dunfy fans :)
home side under the cosh a tad
23-05-2024, 07:15 PM
County levels above.
23-05-2024, 07:16 PM
Railway stand open for home fans, surprised the sale of just over 6k is their highest attendance for nearly 30 years
Surely not?
Did they not have to build the 2 new stands behind the goals to comply with the rules that demanded all premier league grounds have a capacity of at least 10k?
It might be getting on for 30 years since they got a crowd that size but I do remember being in a big crowd there one of the times we were trying to avoid relegation under Duffy.
That Railway stand does seem to have been closed for a while, right enough.
Tully
23-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Brings back great 2016 memories Starks park
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 07:19 PM
All Ross County though how many times have we seen one team dominate only for the other one to score against the run of play ! .
23-05-2024, 07:22 PM
Would prefer the play off final was a single leg at a neutral venue.
davhibby
23-05-2024, 07:22 PM
It’s the county fans in the railway stand, raith fans in the usual away end behind the goal
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 07:28 PM
Would prefer the play off final was a single leg at a neutral venue.
Probably cost the clubs a few quid doing it like that though , wouldn't it ? .
23-05-2024, 07:30 PM
All Ross County though how many times have we seen one team dominate only for the other one to score against the run of play ! .
I thought Hibs had cornered the market in that! :greengrin
Up-the-slope
23-05-2024, 07:31 PM
radio beeb commentary has usual numpty Stephen Craigan who i find pretty unbearable
Up-the-slope
23-05-2024, 07:33 PM
Yan Dhanda - are we allowed to practice booing him ...:greengrin
Musselbound
23-05-2024, 07:34 PM
radio beeb commentary has usual numpty Stephen Craigan who i find pretty unbearable
Not to mention Craig Levein! No shame.
23-05-2024, 07:38 PM
Probably cost the clubs a few quid doing it like that though , wouldn't it ? .
Probably. Just being selfish as a neutral wanting a bigger spectacle.
But... Could arguably promote the game better as a one off selling the unique aspect of it being a top league team Vs a lower league team. Not something you see down south for their playoffs. Get it on a Friday night or even the weekend away from other games and you'll find more viewers also. Give up a bit to help grow the game? Who knows. Just rambling now! :D
23-05-2024, 07:38 PM
After a decent first 10 it’s been an awful game
Ross County play 2/3 decent passes and then give it away as soon as they approach the box
23-05-2024, 07:43 PM
In keeping with the weather, the game has been absolutely dire.
23-05-2024, 07:43 PM
Can't wait to read about how we should never have let dabrowski / laidlaw go depending on who keeps a clean sheet.
23-05-2024, 07:46 PM
Probably. Just being selfish as a neutral wanting a bigger spectacle.
But... Could arguably promote the game better as a one off selling the unique aspect of it being a top league team Vs a lower league team. Not something you see down south for their playoffs. Get it on a Friday night or even the weekend away from other games and you'll find more viewers also. Give up a bit to help grow the game? Who knows. Just rambling now! :D
The premier club wouldn’t agree with your view on having a one off game as they want the advantage in the second leg.
23-05-2024, 07:47 PM
Absolute dugmeat so far.
badabing67
23-05-2024, 07:47 PM
So where did our advantage go then
23-05-2024, 07:50 PM
Ross County fizzled out after totally dominating the first 15 or 20.
Raith absolutely garbage but still in it.
23-05-2024, 07:52 PM
Pretty grim first half.
County starting really well before Raith regaining some control without looking a threat, don’t think they’ve had a shot at goal.
Dhanda a stand out for county, reminds me of Allan with us how everything goes through him. Also makes me think it’s madness we never played through marcondes more.
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 07:52 PM
Look at it like this , 2nd half can only be better , right?.
23-05-2024, 07:55 PM
Absolute dugmeat so far.
The second half can only be better. I hope.
Up-the-slope
23-05-2024, 08:01 PM
i blame sky... all the beeb games been good :greengrin
23-05-2024, 08:02 PM
Raith will regret it if they don’t go for it and get a lead in the second half IMO. They need to get a lead but they’ve not tried to do anything.
23-05-2024, 08:04 PM
Rovers have played Premiership teams twice this season. Lost twice (Hibs and Livingston). They really need to get something tonight you feel. County seem more streetwise.
Musselbound
23-05-2024, 08:06 PM
Yes I think it will be a tall order if Raith don't take a lead up to Dingwall.
Fanforlife
23-05-2024, 08:10 PM
In 2 minds here as to who i want to win,son played for them both and son in law played for Raith🤔
Fairly poor game and showing why one is a championship club and the other 2nd bottom of the Premiership.
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 08:11 PM
Has to be a penalty
23-05-2024, 08:12 PM
penalty ross co Dhanda 0-1
23-05-2024, 08:13 PM
Sutton talks some *****, why do we have to put up with him? :hilarious
23-05-2024, 08:15 PM
Sutton talks some *****, why do we have to put up with him? :hilarious
BBC Scotland so much better pundits than Sky
23-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Raith are hopeless.
hibsforeurope
23-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Poor game, raith are just as bad as I remember from the cup game at Easter Road earlier in the season.
badabing67
23-05-2024, 08:25 PM
Raith are hopeless.
Think it's fatigue they have played more games than County
23-05-2024, 08:26 PM
This is awful. Needs a bad challenge and for Beaton to go radge. Can barely see the ball at times too due to the shan pitch.
23-05-2024, 08:29 PM
Played the same number league wise.
Ross County played 38. Raith played 36 plus a 2 leg playoff.
Raith played last Friday, County on Sunday. Think Raith have just been too negative. And pish.
23-05-2024, 08:30 PM
Maybe, but there's a huge gulf in ability whatever the reason.
davhibby
No they haven’t. Raith also had 2 extra days recovery so if anything should be fresher. Raith’s chances went when St Johnstone stayed up on Sunday, County were always going to end up pretty comfortable
And that’ll be that.
Tie over unless Raith get something back tonight.
23-05-2024, 08:31 PM
murray oot
23-05-2024, 08:32 PM
And that’ll be that.
Yep.
No chance a premier league team could lose a playoff with a 2 goal lead from the first leg.
23-05-2024, 08:34 PM
Yep.
No chance a premier league team could lose a playoff with a 2 goal lead from the first leg.
Never happened before :greengrin
scm70nyd1973
23-05-2024, 08:35 PM
Yep.
Just doesn’t happen - no chance - how could anyone screw up a lead like that ☹️
23-05-2024, 08:36 PM
Murray will take some flak for this tactics. Seems like he was playing for a clean sheet rather than wanting to open up and it’s backfired.
23-05-2024, 08:37 PM
Why does Dabrowski keep coming out like that? If he stays back, the defender can give him the ball to clear.
23-05-2024, 08:39 PM
Murray will take some flak for this tactics. Seems like he was playing for a clean sheet rather than wanting to open up and it’s backfired.
He’s had a few moments this season where he’s made some questionable decisions.
That’s why I don’t think he’s ready for Hibs.
Got a feeling Yan Dhanda is going to end up causing Hibs problems when he goes to Hearts.
If he's being considered for our job, this could rule him out, not exactly adapting his tactics.
23-05-2024, 08:39 PM
Why does Dabrowski keep coming out like that? If he stays back, the defender can give him the ball to clear.
Watch what you say, some think he should be our no.1
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 08:40 PM
Thought Ross County would be win though didn't expect Raith to be so bad , hadn't even had a shot on target.
23-05-2024, 08:41 PM
That came from nowhere. Great goal.
23-05-2024, 08:42 PM
And that’ll be that.
Maybe not. 👀
23-05-2024, 08:42 PM
wan-twa
23-05-2024, 08:43 PM
Dhanda defending like Youan there.
23-05-2024, 08:45 PM
Good to see Dhanda can't defend. Decent on the ball you have to say.
Rovers deserve little but they always have the knack of coming up with a goal. No idea why they seem to have stopped their passing game in the last few weeks, they don't seem to have any confidence on the ball.
McGruber
23-05-2024, 08:45 PM
Yes, everything Hearts related is **** and not the done thing to comment otherwise - so won't say Yan Dahnda looks useful and has excellent deliveries from set pieces and pulling the strings for RC.
Anyway, good that them that shouldn't be named are reduced to those bottom 6 pre contract signings. Not a market worth looking at, unless you're a French team with couple million to spend
*good goal Stanton
23-05-2024, 08:47 PM
Dhanda is a good signing for Hearts. Won't always start but he's good from dead balls and gives you bit of class on the wing at times. Good squad player.
23-05-2024, 08:49 PM
7 mins added
23-05-2024, 08:53 PM
Watch what you say, some think he should be our no.1
Always been a great shot stopper. It's his decision making that ended his time with us.
23-05-2024, 08:58 PM
After looking down and out that goal will give them half a chance.
23-05-2024, 08:59 PM
Don’t want either of the Murrays at Hibs
Neither of a standard we require
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 09:03 PM
That goal gives Rovers some hope I suppose though they will have to lift their game massively in Dingwall.
23-05-2024, 09:06 PM
That goal gives Rovers some hope I suppose though they will have to lift their game massively in Dingwall.
Can’t see them managing to go through now
23-05-2024, 09:10 PM
Raith have a meagre chance in Dingwall, if RC have an off day. Mind you, sometimes the unfancied team can come good. Ask Hamilton.:greengrin
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 09:18 PM
Can’t see them managing to go through now
It never felt like they give it ago tonight until late on . They'll have to now so you never know though I won't be putting a bet on them even if the odds are good :greengrin
24-05-2024, 11:52 AM
In a weird way the 2nd leg might be easier for Rovers. They have little to lose by going for it while Ross County have a dilemma as to whether to sit on their lead or go for the kill.