View Full Version : NHC EURO 2024 - Who will win it?

21-05-2024, 11:43 AM
24 teams, only one winner! Who will it be?

21-05-2024, 11:51 AM
Can't wait for the action to begin!

Sadly, I think our southern neighbours are going to win it. They've got some excellent young players and one of the best strikers in Europe.

21-05-2024, 11:51 AM
Probably England's best shout in decades tbh.

21-05-2024, 11:53 AM
England or France surely

21-05-2024, 11:54 AM
Telling me I've already voted ... ah huvnae :confused:

Anyway, went for Engerlund. If they cant win it with the crop of players they have now they might as well chuck it and stop entering tournaments. The only fly I can see in their ointment is France.

Having said that. After their games on Sunday Newcastle and Spurs immediately got on a plane to play each other in a money grabbing friendly in Australia. If that's the attitude England could have a team out on it's feet before they kick a ball ... mental.

21-05-2024, 11:59 AM
Scotland. Easy.

21-05-2024, 11:59 AM
It's between France and England.

Think it'll be England this time.

21-05-2024, 12:27 PM
France for me. England have the players but they have a weak manager who is more worried about the opposition in big games than focusing on his own team.

21-05-2024, 12:31 PM
France for me. England have the players but they have a weak manager who is more worried about the opposition in big games than focusing on his own team.

Yep, I think Southgate is England's weakest link. They have more pressure than anyone else to deal with as well (Andy Murray ending the tennis drought syndrome). Having said that, they've got to be in with a shout.

I wouldn't rule Germany out since they're at home and have recently beaten France and Holland, looks like they've turned a bit of a corner.

Anyway, the more interesting question is can we get out the group at last? :dunno:

Paul1642
21-05-2024, 12:32 PM
Yep, I think Southgate is England's weakest link. They have more pressure than anyone else to deal with as well (Andy Murray ending the tennis drought syndrome). Having said that, they've got to be in with a shout.

I wouldn't rule Germany out since they're at home and have recently beaten France and Holland, looks like they've turned a bit of a corner.

Anyway, the more interesting question is can we get out the group at last? :dunno:

Germanys confidence will be shot after they take a beating in the opening game.

21-05-2024, 12:42 PM
England look frightening in attack.

If they can put it altogether they are the team to beat imo.

There were a few weird selections in the French squad but they will be close. I think Spain will do well too.

21-05-2024, 12:55 PM
I do think this is likely to be England's time. 🫤

21-05-2024, 12:55 PM
England will bottle it as per.

France will win it.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

21-05-2024, 12:57 PM
Germany. They're starting to click, their players all play in 3 of the strongest leagues in the world and they have home advantage.

Greensunshine
21-05-2024, 12:58 PM
ENGERLAND! ENGERLAND! ENGERLAND! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴 󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧 󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢 󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥 󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮 󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧 󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴 󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧 󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢 󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥 󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿
So that’s me officially put the bogey on them by backing them to win! 😜

SCOTLAND 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 to get knocked out in first round using the same logic 😜

HendoDelivered
21-05-2024, 12:58 PM
As long as Southgate is manager of England, with Pickford and Maguire in the side, they won’t be winning anything.

France for me.

21-05-2024, 01:00 PM
Marcus Rashford Raheem Sterling and Jordan Henderson to be left out of England Euro Squad

SSN

Don’t fancy their Manager Gareth Southgate tbh too negative and cannae take penalties

21-05-2024, 01:01 PM
Only ever going to be Scotland. The place will be a celebrating, drunken wreck until Christmas

21-05-2024, 01:14 PM
As long as Southgate is manager of England, with Pickford and Maguire in the side, they won’t be winning anything.

France for me.

Pickford is consistently one of England's best players. Never lets them down. Maguire sure, but Pickford is a big strength for them.

Rumble de Thump
21-05-2024, 01:22 PM
If England had a better goalkeeper, better defenders and a better manager they would have a chance.

21-05-2024, 01:28 PM
England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 Winners
Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Runners Up

😀

21-05-2024, 01:30 PM

France for me.

Pickford is our best keeper.

Groathillgrump
21-05-2024, 01:39 PM
Telling me I've already voted ... ah huvnae :confused:

Anyway, went for Engerlund. If they cant win it with the crop of players they have now they might as well chuck it and stop entering tournaments. The only fly I can see in their ointment is France.

Having said that. After their games on Sunday Newcastle and Spurs immediately got on a plane to play each other in a money grabbing friendly in Australia. If that's the attitude England could have a team out on it's feet before they kick a ball ... mental.

People have been saying that about England before every major tournament for decades. Thankfully it still hasn't happened.

France for me.

21-05-2024, 01:44 PM
I was worried about England winning it. But then I remembered they have Harry Kane, guys never winning a trophy.

In all honesty though, they have to be favourites. Glad they've stuck with Southgate. A good manager and they'd already have won the last Euros.

21-05-2024, 01:49 PM
through gritted teeth... England.

Fancied them in the last 3 tournaments, 2018, 2020(21) and 2022 and they've found a way to not win any of them.

They can't underachieve forever, they have the players to do it.

21-05-2024, 02:29 PM
I think it's a final 4 of England, France, Portugal and maybe Germany.

Looking at their squad today though, England have some issues down the left side. Probably going to have Joe Gomez or Trippier at LB (Shaw unlikely to be fit) and no obvious option at left wing.

Without Rashford and Sterling, the only wide player who wants to run in behind is Saka and he's not got that electric pace. They have a few issues to solve to get the balance right but clearly they've got tonnes of quality.

France have been there and done it, they have a great defence and it's hard to look past Mbappe. They're the team to beat

21-05-2024, 02:55 PM
Anyone not that particularly fussed about the Euro’s or just me? I’ll watch the Scotland games obviously and would be delighted to see us do well but international football just doesn’t float my boat. May watch the England games if I’ve nothing on (to cheer on the opposition😂) but doubt I’ll watch other games until very latter stages.

21-05-2024, 02:59 PM
Anyone not that particularly fussed about the Euro’s or just me? I’ll watch the Scotland games obviously and would be delighted to see us do well but international football just doesn’t float my boat. May watch the England games if I’ve nothing on (to cheer on the opposition😂) but doubt I’ll watch other games until very latter stages.

Quality football on council Tele every day for weeks? Cannot wait

21-05-2024, 03:26 PM

Each to their own - as it happens, I’m looking forward to it more than the new season.

Paul1642
21-05-2024, 03:37 PM

I’m the complete opposite. I enjoy the odd English game but the only domestic football it truly care about are Hibs games.

World cups and a the Euros are the peak of football for me. 3/4 games a day, top players playing in squads that’s can’t be bought, all shown on tv that anyone can access. That’s before you remember that Scotland are there and actually have a decent chance at getting past the groups.

I’ll be drinking pints in the blazing German sunshine a few weeks from today and I couldn’t be more excited.

I wasn’t all that excited for the winter World Cup 2022 and it ended up being the most I’ve enjoyed a football tournament since the 2016 Scottish cup.

21-05-2024, 03:38 PM
England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 Winners

😀

Don’t think could take that. Would be like the 5-1 all over again.

sauzeelegod
21-05-2024, 03:40 PM
Espana 🇪🇸

21-05-2024, 03:41 PM
Pickford is our best keeper.

He doesn’t play for Liverpool though 😄

21-05-2024, 03:44 PM
Think Italy decent outside bet. England don’t think good enough defensively certainly clearly very good chance given the quality they have. Still a bit vulnerable in one off matches imo.

21-05-2024, 06:00 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7666656]Pickford is consistently one of England's best players. Never lets them down. Maguire sure, but Pickford is a big strength for them.[/QUOTE

Never see why Pickford gets pelters. Been a great keeper for England and Everton. You don't get to hang around as long as he has unless you deserve to.

21-05-2024, 06:06 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7666656]Pickford is consistently one of England's best players. Never lets them down. Maguire sure, but Pickford is a big strength for them.[/QUOTE

Never see why Pickford gets pelters. Been a great keeper for England and Everton. You don't get to hang around as long as he has unless you deserve to.

I think some (only some) of it is because he seems like a right ******.

21-05-2024, 06:08 PM
Germany to win it, after defeating England on penalties in the semis.

21-05-2024, 06:12 PM
Espana 🇪🇸

I have a felling they're gonna win it as well.

What's good is that there's no obvious favourite so will be interesting to watch... especially the part where England lose on penalties to Germany.

21-05-2024, 06:21 PM
Sadly think England might

21-05-2024, 06:46 PM
Host nation will come good at the right time imo.

I'm quite looking forward to it, given I don't watch much EPL or Elite football these days.

Other than the big stars, I won't know most of the players nowadays, a bit like it was 40 years ago when these tournaments came round.

21-05-2024, 09:29 PM
England with a decent manager yes but not with the current one
France should be favourites but got a feeling it will be a bit of an upset like when Denmark won in 92.

22-05-2024, 12:15 AM
He doesn’t play for Liverpool though 😄

He’s not good enough to play for Liverpool.😀

Curried
22-05-2024, 02:55 AM
Les Bleus

babahibs
22-05-2024, 05:12 AM
Could be any one of England, France, Germany, Spain.

It's time for this England group to start winning tournaments, they've been coming close the last few times. Could the emergence of Bellingham and Fodden be the difference this time? Maybe.
Southgate needs to be a bit less cautious with his approach, which I'm not convinced he can.

France have the Mbappe factor, unplayable on his day and they know how to win tournaments.

Hosts Germany look like they're coming good at the right time and Spain are a strong side.

If Scotland can get out a really tough group then who know what could happen, I can't wait for it to start.

22-05-2024, 05:48 AM
Les Bleus

Ecosse?

22-05-2024, 05:50 AM
I think England stand a very good chance, better than I've seen before actually. Can't believe folk think pickford is an issue for them, great keeper

22-05-2024, 06:21 AM
Quality football on council Tele every day for weeks? Cannot wait

Sounds great until you think of Jonathan Pearce, Lee Dixon and Sam Matterface. Although that won't stop me from watching every game.

Don't rule out Portugal and Spain.

22-05-2024, 07:58 AM
Hopefully they have the red button option on the bbc like at the world cup so you can listen to the far superior radio 5 coverage of games instead of listening to the likes of Jenas and Danny Murphy boring everyone to tears

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

22-05-2024, 08:14 AM
With a couple of big exceptions, France have never really excelled at the Euros. They've got a weakness for believing their own hype too. They've very much got it in them to be out before the semis.

22-05-2024, 08:20 AM
England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 Winners

😀

I’d rather get pumped out in the groups than lose a final to England 😂

22-05-2024, 08:21 AM
Sounds great until you think of Jonathan Pearce, Lee Dixon and Sam Matterface. Although that won't stop me from watching every game.

Don't rule out Portugal and Spain.

I like Pearce and Matterface. As well as the main job, they both pull in a lot of background stuff about players' lives and drop in carefully crafted social comment about host cities and competing nations. Liam Macleod is good for that too but hopefully I'll be too busy cheering to hear him!

SJNB Hibby
22-05-2024, 08:29 AM
Probably England's best shout in decades tbh.
Have to agree I'm afraid

22-05-2024, 09:31 AM
England to make the quarter finals, Italy to win.

22-05-2024, 11:46 AM
Can't wait for the action to begin!

Sadly, I think our southern neighbours are going to win it. They've got some excellent young players and one of the best strikers in Europe.

Hopefully their poor defence more than offsets their attacking prowess

Mcbizz1998
22-05-2024, 11:52 AM
Host nation will come good at the right time imo.

I'm quite looking forward to it, given I don't watch much EPL or Elite football these days.

Other than the big stars, I won't know most of the players nowadays, a bit like it was 40 years ago when these tournaments came round.

Host nation not won it since 1984 I think? You would think it needs to happen sometime.

22-05-2024, 01:17 PM
Going to be a hard shift for Scotland, but we live in hope.

22-05-2024, 01:21 PM
I voted Scotland

Being delusional helps when you support Hibs and Scotland

22-05-2024, 04:13 PM
Having lived here for 32 years, I hope and want England to win it , I also want Scotland to do well and would love to see them go far. Hard for some folk to understand I know.

22-05-2024, 04:56 PM
Having lived here for 32 years, I hope and want England to win it , I also want Scotland to do well and would love to see them go far. Hard for some folk to understand I know.
I understand Scouse I'm the opposite lived in Angleterre for 36 years and still want the English skelped at everything :greengrin

On a serious note I think this could be England's tournament to lose. Great team to watch tbh. Hoping Scotland manage to do the unthinkable and get through the group phase.

22-05-2024, 07:37 PM

Glory hunter! 😀

22-05-2024, 07:56 PM
Germany will do well being at home. Hummers, Goretzka and Gnabry can’t even get in to their squad.

England won’t do as well as they should, again.

22-05-2024, 08:10 PM
England Hibs.net favourites? You lot have gone soft, William Wallace will be turning in his grave.

In retaliation ive voted for Scotland.

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-05-2024, 08:25 PM
England Hibs.net favourites? You lot have gone soft, William Wallace will be turning in his grave.

In retaliation ive voted for Scotland.

Allez Les Bleus

The dark Bleus preferably, of course. Mon Scotland.

22-05-2024, 08:43 PM

I’ve been down here 35 years and want England to lose at everything. My mates and English family completely understand.

My pick is Germany. Home advantage will be massive. They will have a point to prove after being crap for the last couple of tournaments, and the fact they will have dropped points in their opening game.

22-05-2024, 11:02 PM

I want Scotland to do well, surely we are going to get out of the group stage eventually. :greengrin
I wouldn’t mind at all if England won it. Some genuine world class players in their squad and a very likeable manager.

badabing67
22-05-2024, 11:49 PM
Sadly think England might

The silver lining to that cloud is, they only win anything major when there is a Labour Government :greengrin

Septimus
23-05-2024, 05:40 AM
Any team except England. PLEASE.

23-05-2024, 10:37 PM
It's an Andy Murray moment. Who do you want to win? Anyone that is playing England.

DIXIHIBS
24-05-2024, 04:41 AM
England winning it will take away the fear of England ever winning it....

24-05-2024, 05:09 AM
Germany.

Italy and Portugal will be thereabouts. France are still excellent. England will ***** themselves first decent opponent they get, as per.

Scotland will do well to get out the group but I think we might just sneak through.

24-05-2024, 05:24 AM
Pickford is consistently one of England's best players. Never lets them down. Maguire sure, but Pickford is a big strength for them.

Maguire never lets them down either. I think he’s been in the team of the tournament for the last 3 tournaments.

24-05-2024, 05:25 AM
Germany will do well being at home. Hummers, Goretzka and Gnabry can’t even get in to their squad.

England won’t do as well as they should, again.

Gnabry is injured

24-05-2024, 05:42 AM
Maguire never lets them down either. I think he’s been in the team of the tournament for the last 3 tournaments.

He is a pretty sloppy player, though. Decent pure defender, but so slow and sloppy on the ball. Southgate and Holland should've been on their knees apologising to Ben White.

24-05-2024, 05:43 AM
I actually quite fancy Germany. They’ve got some brilliant players coming through and other less good players have turned decent. Great blend of youth and experience. Keepers are excellent Sclotterbeck and Rudiger are cracking defenders. Kroos and Gundogan in midfield. Havertz has come good and I really like Fulkrug up front. Players like Pavlovic, Wirtz and Musiala coming through. Add the likes of Sane, Muller and Kimmich. I think they’re strong in every area.

England are incredible midfield to front but have real problems in defence. At centre back, Stones has only played 16 league games all season. Maguire’s currently injured. Other players like Guehi, Colwill have also been injured and are just back. Gomez rarely starts for Liverpool, Dunk has been poor second half of the season and Konsa has been playing right back. They’ve real problems at left back as well. They’ve left out Chilwell, Shaw hasn’t played since Feb. They’re going to end up continuing to pretend that Trippier can play there, and he’s just back from injury and has really struggled.

24-05-2024, 05:45 AM
He is a pretty sloppy player, though. Decent pure defender, but so slow and sloppy on the ball. Southgate and Holland should've been on their knees apologising to Ben White.

I’m not disagreeing with you. I’m just saying in tournaments, he’s been far from sloppy. He’s been absolutely outstanding.

24-05-2024, 05:57 AM
I’m not disagreeing with you. I’m just saying in tournaments, he’s been far from sloppy. He’s been absolutely outstanding.

Yeah, again, to an extent. He does the basics well, certainly not let them down, but still quite limited for them. France have a very different dynamic because the centre backs are brilliant on the ball too.

Don't think England will win it, but they could. A back 5 of James, Walker, White, Stones and Shaw would be much better than what they've got. But injuries and White walking away have prevented that.

24-05-2024, 06:12 AM
Yeah, again, to an extent. He does the basics well, certainly not let them down, but still quite limited for them. France have a very different dynamic because the centre backs are brilliant on the ball too.

Don't think England will win it, but they could. A back 5 of James, Walker, White, Stones and Shaw would be much better than what they've got. But injuries and White walking away have prevented that.

You don’t get in 3 consecutive tournaments in a row for just doing the basics well.

24-05-2024, 06:14 AM

I can’t remember how he played in the previous ones, but i remember thinking him getting in team of the tournament in Qatar was a very generous call, Otamendi was better and Guardiol was clearly the standout in the position. The french centrebacks were the weak point in their excellent team so i think the competition was weaker than you would normally expect. Hes not ‘world class’.

24-05-2024, 06:25 AM
You don’t get in 3 consecutive tournaments in a row for just doing the basics well.

Why not? You play a solid 7/10 and your team does well, you've every chance. He was never anything like the best defender at these tournaments.

24-05-2024, 08:58 AM
Why not? You play a solid 7/10 and your team does well, you've every chance. He was never anything like the best defender at these tournaments.

The best defenders in the world are playing in these tournaments. He's been picked ahead of them all. For 3 consecutive tournaments. You need to be a lot more than basic to do that.

24-05-2024, 10:43 AM
I want Scotland to do well, surely we are going to get out of the group stage eventually. :greengrin
I wouldn’t mind at all if England won it. Some genuine world class players in their squad and a very likeable manager.

To be fair I always wanted any of the home nations to do well when I lived in Liverpool. I remember my local pub being decked out in tartan and Scotland flags and the whole pub supporting Scotland as England weren’t there. That’s the difference between being Scouse and being English😀

24-05-2024, 10:50 AM
To be fair I always wanted any of the home nations to do well when I lived in Liverpool. I remember my local pub being decked out in tartan and Scotland flags and the whole pub supporting Scotland as England weren’t there. That’s the difference between being Scouse and being English😀

👍

To be fair, near every English person I know or have met understand (and in most cases enjoy/join in) me always wanting England to get beat at football, in the same way most football rivalries work.

It’s only really Scottish people (often on social media or hibs.net) that don’t even follow the national team that I see trying to create some sort of bizarre issue with it… and of course Huns, in general.

FWIW I generally want wales and the two irelands to get beat too 😁

DIXIHIBS
24-05-2024, 11:26 AM

You must be going back a bit for a tournament where Scotland qualified and England didn't😜

24-05-2024, 11:32 AM
You must be going back a bit for a tournament where Scotland qualified and England didn't😜

It wasn’t unusual for those of us of a certain age. :greengrin

24-05-2024, 12:04 PM
The best defenders in the world are playing in these tournaments. He's been picked ahead of them all. For 3 consecutive tournaments. You need to be a lot more than basic to do that.

Or his team gets far, he does pretty well and better defenders get knocked out?

I have no issue with the guy. He's fine. Doesn't let England down. He's certainly not a top world defender, though.

The Baldmans Comb
24-05-2024, 02:17 PM
England hopefully as they have the best fans by far who have a real depth and knowledge of the game and are desperate for success.

The manager is pragmatic and their team is attractive and balanced up to a point as you wonder about the defence. But they have worked very hard on overcoming the lack of mental strength and bottle that has so plagued previous endeveours and undermines their nations confidence on a more general level.

Germany as hosts and France must be close behind and Portugal are a wild card so it should be a great tournament.

Have the Scots started whining about the BBC yet because inevitably they will but every other national broadcaster in the world get jinguistic about their national team so I cant understand the fake outrage when the BBC get right behind "their boys".

24-05-2024, 05:24 PM
Italy to win it cos they know how.

26-05-2024, 08:51 AM
England [emoji1022]󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 Winners
Scotland [emoji1022]󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Runners Up

[emoji3]You on the lash? [emoji16]

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

26-05-2024, 08:53 AM
The only thing, for me anyway, preventing England winning it is Southgate.

26-05-2024, 08:56 AM
The only thing, for me anyway, preventing England winning it is Southgate.

And other teams ike France who are equally as good

26-05-2024, 08:57 AM
Italy to win it cos they know how.

Decent ew bet. Tough group tho

26-05-2024, 08:57 AM
And other teams ike France who are equally as good

That too Jim.

26-05-2024, 08:58 AM
Biggest question probably is does Scotland have its own TV coverage rather than have to deal with English based one.

26-05-2024, 10:29 AM
England hopefully as they have the best fans by far who have a real depth and knowledge of the game and are desperate for success.

The manager is pragmatic and their team is attractive and balanced up to a point as you wonder about the defence. But they have worked very hard on overcoming the lack of mental strength and bottle that has so plagued previous endeveours and undermines their nations confidence on a more general level.

Germany as hosts and France must be close behind and Portugal are a wild card so it should be a great tournament.

Have the Scots started whining about the BBC yet because inevitably they will but every other national broadcaster in the world get jinguistic about their national team so I cant understand the fake outrage when the BBC get right behind "their boys".

Cause “their boys” are also “our boys”.

Would be nice that they remember that once in a while.

26-05-2024, 10:39 AM

Even if he is basic - I always think the role of actually being good at defending is overlooked when it comes to defenders, as folk fawn over stuff like passing ability.

England have done well in recent tournaments, a huge part of which has been built around a robust defence that gives little away.

He’s been part of that.

Obviously he’s become a figure of fun in other quarters but he is deserving of respect for being a consistent contributor towards their excellent defensive efforts and good results.

27-05-2024, 04:57 PM
Portugal will win it.

Hibiza
30-05-2024, 08:15 PM
Portugal will win it.

Hedging my bet , Portugal or France.

K-Zazu
30-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Struggling to get up for it if I’m being honest, Hibs have scunnered me this season maybe that’s why.

DIXIHIBS
30-05-2024, 08:36 PM

Care to name any other national broadcaster that has more than one team?

30-05-2024, 08:37 PM
Struggling to get up for it if I’m being honest, Hibs have scunnered me this season maybe that’s why.

This and the recent Scotland performances.

31-05-2024, 09:12 AM

Very different for me - couple of friendlies won’t have any negative effect on me looking forward to the euros. And the Finland game won’t really change my excitement or confidence either way.

And I think with the Hibs thing, if anything I’m glad a poor season is over in club football and can look forward to our German excursion.

31-05-2024, 09:58 AM

Our record in competitive games under Clarke is great.

I’m buzzing for it. 2 weeks today until the Germany game and then 19 days til i head over with my mates for 5 nights.

31-05-2024, 10:38 AM
Our record in competitive games under Clarke is great.

I’m buzzing for it. 2 weeks today until the Germany game and then 19 days til i head over with my mates for 5 nights.

Looking forward to hearing the stories from all of you that are travelling over. :thumbsup:

I’ve not really thought about the Euros yet, no doubt I will be caught up in it all once the first game kicks off.

31-05-2024, 11:41 AM
2 weeks today on the 🍻🍺 in Munchen.

Can’t wait!

06-06-2024, 07:26 AM
BUMP!

The action begins next Friday with Germany v Scotland. Can't wait!

:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

Gloucester Hibs
06-06-2024, 07:31 AM
Gone with Germany; host nation and their results have picked up recently. Kroos and Gündoğan in midfield have bags of experience and trophies under their belts. I'd definitely fancy them to dispatch England in a knockout game.

06-06-2024, 08:28 AM
Portugal will win it.

Surprised at the lack of votes for them,

their squad is really well balanced, with decent backups all over the pitch.

For all its weaker on paper I think their midfielders skillsets complement each other, and will be able to function as a better unit than England's

06-06-2024, 02:59 PM
Grealish and Maguire dropped from England squad

06-06-2024, 03:01 PM
Grealish and Maguire dropped from England squad

Think Maguire was 50/50 but Grealish is a huge call. Out of favour with City but always in and around England squads

06-06-2024, 03:02 PM
Honestly buzzing so much for this. A second consecutive euros for Scotland and being part of the opening game is massive

4 points gets us through to play probably Denmark. Getting out a major tournament group would be a huge step forward

06-06-2024, 03:10 PM
Think Maguire was 50/50 but Grealish is a huge call. Out of favour with City but always in and around England squads

Southgate must stay

lugz
06-06-2024, 05:04 PM
To be fair to Southgate at least he’s finally grew a pair and made hard decisions, that defence though isn’t winning a major tournament

06-06-2024, 06:59 PM
Wonder if SSN are going to remember Scotland have qualified also. Wall to wall.

11-06-2024, 06:35 AM
According to Opta, England will win Euro2024. No shock there IMO.

Interesting that they have Scotland as 15th in the list to win the tournament, whilst 16th on the list to reach the last 16, albeit with Germany, Switzerland and Hungary all ranked higher than us to get out of our group.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cv22vrnl0j0o

12-06-2024, 03:32 PM
France. They have absolutely no weaknesses.

12-06-2024, 03:38 PM
Portugal got some squad

13-06-2024, 02:35 AM
Bet France - also doubled up with Scheffler in the US Open

13-06-2024, 06:01 AM
France. They have absolutely no weaknesses.

Apart from their hubris. It's up to them if they want to win it.

13-06-2024, 08:30 AM

13-06-2024, 08:56 AM
Portugal got some squad

4th favourites but some squad eh. I've got them to win and Bruno most assists @ 50/1

13-06-2024, 05:28 PM

Well yes thats true. On the other hand, the more i hear about Austria the more i think thats a dark horse in the same group, also Poland and the Dutch, thats a tough group, two teams from that group could go far.

13-06-2024, 06:38 PM
24 hours till it all begins...

If we can break our SC hoodoo then we need to acknowledge that at some point England could and should break their major trophy drought

Especially given the riches down south, their players could not have a better platform to play. Add a couple of world class stars playing in Europe and you can see why they're favourites...

This group have been seen as fearless, but this is the first time they'll have been under any sort of pressure

Can only hope that the defence and Southgate's cautiousness let them down, again

lugz
13-06-2024, 07:45 PM
It’s interesting that the closer the tournament has got the less confident some of the English media have become, Rooney and Neville discussing how they’re concerned that Southgate will be cautious and go with Gallagher or TAA in the middle of the park over Bellingham at 8 and foden at 10 which seems to be the team most want.

13-06-2024, 08:08 PM
24 hours till it all begins...

If we can break our SC hoodoo then we need to acknowledge that at some point England could and should break their major trophy drought

Especially given the riches down south, their players could not have a better platform to play. Add a couple of world class stars playing in Europe and you can see why they're favourites...

This group have been seen as fearless, but this is the first time they'll have been under any sort of pressure

Can only hope that the defence and Southgate's cautiousness let them down, again

Im more thinking that because we beat our Scottish cup hoodo that Scotland can break this never qualifying for the next stage hoodo.
England will win nothing with Southgate in charge.

Nemo
13-06-2024, 09:36 PM
Not us. We’re quite *****.

14-06-2024, 02:11 AM
Portugal v France final. Portugal win.
I really enjoy seeing the dark horses come good, wonder who it'll be this time?

Paul1642
14-06-2024, 09:36 AM
It’s interesting that the closer the tournament has got the less confident some of the English media have become, Rooney and Neville discussing how they’re concerned that Southgate will be cautious and go with Gallagher or TAA in the middle of the park over Bellingham at 8 and foden at 10 which seems to be the team most want.

Foden, Bellingham and Kane are easily England’s 3 best players and are on on good from going into the euros.

If Southgate doesn’t have them all playing in the manner mentioned above then he’s got things massively wrong IMO.

They have a good squad but it’s the 3 players I’ve mentioned that will make or break their campaign.

25-06-2024, 10:01 PM
Tell you what, it's "we've got this in the bag" France that's turned up for these champs. They'll be lucky to go much further.

25-06-2024, 10:03 PM
Surprised at the lack of votes for Portugal.

25-06-2024, 10:07 PM
Austria won’t win it but they’ll make the semi-finals at least.

25-06-2024, 10:13 PM
England been very poor but the draw has opened up for them big time. They’ll beat whoever they get in the last 16 I think and, if you’re them, you’d take Italy or Switzerland in the quarters all day compared to what they could have had.

That’s not me saying they’ll win it but they have a much better chance of going far now.

25-06-2024, 10:49 PM
Foden, Bellingham and Kane are easily England’s 3 best players and are on on good from going into the euros.

If Southgate doesn’t have them all playing in the manner mentioned above then he’s got things massively wrong IMO.

They have a good squad but it’s the 3 players I’ve mentioned that will make or break their campaign.

Palmer only played for a wee while tonight and he was better than all 3 of them have been the entire tournament so far. Early days yet I suppose though. It's too easy to blame Southgate for their poor performances, they just haven't played particularly well, apart from possibly Bellingham against Pot 4 team Serbia.

26-06-2024, 08:08 AM
England now bookie’s clear favourites at 4/1.

26-06-2024, 08:17 AM

Portugal look decent value at 6/1.

Victor
26-06-2024, 08:40 AM

They cannot be basing that on their current form, however the draw and their jamminess probably gives them the edge.

HendoDelivered
26-06-2024, 09:20 AM

The good thing is they will be winning sweet FA :greengrin

Craigmount Hibs
26-06-2024, 11:57 AM
England been very poor but the draw has opened up for them big time. They’ll beat whoever they get in the last 16 I think and, if you’re them, you’d take Italy or Switzerland in the quarters all day compared to what they could have had.

That’s not me saying they’ll win it but they have a much better chance of going far now.
Engerland could not have hoped for a better outcome. France, Portugal, Spain and Germany will all have to beat each other to get to the final. Possibly Belgium too.

28-06-2024, 08:27 AM
Engerland could not have hoped for a better outcome. France, Portugal, Spain and Germany will all have to beat each other to get to the final. Possibly Belgium too.

People keep forgetting Italy are on that half of the draw. And Austria and Switzerland are no pushovers.

Remember England going out in 2016 to Iceland?

It doesn’t have to be a “big” team to put England out, just one that has a go at them.

Paul1642
28-06-2024, 08:43 AM
People keep forgetting Italy are on that half of the draw. And Austria and Switzerland are no pushovers.

Remember England going out in 2016 to Iceland?

It doesn’t have to be a “big” team to put England out, just one that has a go at them.

I don’t think Englands hypothetical route to the final is easy but unfortunately it is possible, whereas i don’t think they would have a hope in hell if they were on the other side of the draw.

28-06-2024, 09:11 AM
Will England fans be chucking champagne glasses at their team if they win the euros?

05-07-2024, 07:34 PM
Spain were my favourites to win and they're still doing really well.

Got a funny feeling it's gonna be a Spain v England final

06-07-2024, 08:52 AM
Scotland 5th favourites according to Hibs.Net :faf::faf::faf::faf:

06-07-2024, 08:56 AM
Spain were my favourites to win and they're still doing really well.

Got a funny feeling it's gonna be a Spain v England final

I thought it was going to be a Portugal - England final, which obviously isn't going to happen now.

France v Spain will (hopefully) be a cracker, with the winner most likely to win the tournament. Holland v Turkey will be an interesting watch and I'd like to see the winner get through to the final.

babahibs
06-07-2024, 11:18 AM
I thought it was going to be a Portugal - England final, which obviously isn't going to happen now.

France v Spain will (hopefully) be a cracker, with the winner most likely to win the tournament. Holland v Turkey will be an interesting watch and I'd like to see the winner get through to the final.

Netherlands v Turkey has the potential to be the game of the tournament, 2 very attacking teams who are both good to watch, should be a few goals.

06-07-2024, 12:47 PM
Netherlands v Turkey has the potential to be the game of the tournament, 2 very attacking teams who are both good to watch, should be a few goals.

06-07-2024, 12:51 PM
Any but England but Spain looking very good and getting battle-hardened against the best teams.

Saint Hibee
06-07-2024, 01:22 PM
France, England, Germany, Portugal all pretty disappointing. For me, Spain have been by far the best.

06-07-2024, 01:42 PM
Been a pretty average tournament for me. A lot of the big teams have got the job done but been poor to watch.

The excitement of going to watch Scotland at the start was brilliant but the football, middle game aside, was so disappointing.

07-07-2024, 05:58 AM
The football has only been sporadically watchable. Spain have provided most thrills and it would be good if they won it.

07-07-2024, 09:33 AM
France, England, Germany, Portugal all pretty disappointing. For me, Spain have been by far the best.

Agree with that.

England will make the final. I think France have a better chance to beat them in that.

Spain probably the best side, but I think the way they’d play would suit England better than France.

07-07-2024, 12:10 PM
Been a pretty average tournament for me. A lot of the big teams have got the job done but been poor to watch.

The excitement of going to watch Scotland at the start was brilliant but the football, middle game aside, was so disappointing.

That's tournament football for you, get the job done and get through, no real expansive football on show. You won't hear me complaining if England win it having been so poor to watch, :greengrin

07-07-2024, 05:22 PM
That's tournament football for you, get the job done and get through, no real expansive football on show. You won't hear me complaining if England win it having been so poor to watch, :greengrin

Yep, I think very few Greeks were complaining about their dull, defensive football when they won the Euros in 2004.

As a neutral it's not a lot of fun but for the fans the only thing that matters is winning.

For me, the favourites are still Spain but England are in with a very good chance.

07-07-2024, 05:41 PM

It's a sign of a good team that when they play ****, they still scrape out wins.

07-07-2024, 08:00 PM
It's a sign of a good team that when they play ****, they still scrape out wins.

England didn’t win, they did progress though. Ultimately that’s what knockout football is all about.

Paul1642
07-07-2024, 08:48 PM
It’s slightly off topic but I’ve just noticed the format for the next World Cup. Number of teams increase from 32 up to 48, number of games up from 64 to 104 and will last 39 days instead of 32.

12 groups of 4 teams, with the top 2 of each group and the 8 best third-placed teams progressing to a new round of 32.

The number of European teams increases by 3 from 13 up to 16.

On the back Qatar which was IMO the most enjoyable World Cup I can remember, I can only ask WTF are FIFA thinking? (I already know the answer is money but what a recipe for a bore fest!)

Tommy75
08-07-2024, 01:54 AM
England didn’t win, they did progress though. Ultimately that’s what knockout football is all about.

England didn't win?

08-07-2024, 04:35 AM

I'm pretty sure if they progress to lifting the cup, then they won't be too worried about semantics.

08-07-2024, 08:30 AM

Yes they won, on penalties.

08-07-2024, 04:14 PM
Think Koeman might get Holland going hopefully

The Baldmans Comb
08-07-2024, 04:45 PM
Spain v Netherlands is the Final most football fans deserve but France v England is what we might get.

It would certainly banish the ghosts of Greece being the dullest winners ever.

Fortunately both of the English TV channels seem more watchable than usual as they don't seem to have the same self entitlement of years gone by and even their travelling fan base have moved from violent and aggressive to dour and boorish with many honourable exceptions as some England fans have a very impressive depth of football knowledge.

Basildon Hibs
09-07-2024, 09:59 AM
For as long as I can remember (I'm 60), England always seemed to get the easy groups at tournaments.

Always seemed to end up on the easy side of the draw too, which led them into a false sense of security/entitlement.

As soon as they met the big boys though, BANG !!

They always got found out - hopefully the same again this year. 😁

09-07-2024, 10:01 AM
Abe

09-07-2024, 10:49 AM
For as long as I can remember (I'm 60), England always seemed to get the easy groups at tournaments.

Always seemed to end up on the easy side of the draw too, which led them into a false sense of security/entitlement.

As soon as they met the big boys though, BANG !!

They always got found out - hopefully the same again this year. 😁

https://youtu.be/pOPgNIyRBD0?si=7KqnyU0g0u-ODLeu

15-07-2024, 07:22 AM
Well done the 23 who picked Spain. By far, the best team of what will probably be regarded as a poor tournament.

15-07-2024, 07:26 AM
Spain will beat England in the final imo.

15-07-2024, 07:36 AM
Spain will beat England in the final imo.

I am sure they did…..last night😉

15-07-2024, 07:46 AM
I am sure they did…..last night😉

😘

15-07-2024, 09:48 AM
Well done the 23 who picked Spain. By far, the best team of what will probably be regarded as a poor tournament.

Thanks