View Full Version : Where do we go from here?
19-05-2024, 05:31 PM
First of all, thank goodness that’s over.
So many big decisions to make in a very short time before next season begins, and we desperately need to get it right and be prepared, as better teams than us have been relegated before.
First of all, have to get the manager right.
Then how we trim a squad that is bloated in terms of number and thin on quality with no apparently common thread of why they’re here.
What does a “Hibs signing” look like in 2024? You could see a common logic between our signings when we build a team that had McGinn, McGregor, McGeouch, Fyvie, Cummings, Keatings, Allan, Henderson, Boyle etc.
You can’t say that about now and we need to figure out our plan.
What players do we sign? What do we need and what is most effective and what can we afford?
How do we reunite a divided fan base who are losing trust in the club to get things right?
This has been a brutal, brutal season off the back of more brutal seasons. A little flurry of results at the right time, Aberdeen and Hearts toiling and having to sack their managers, and qualifying for Europe through Celtic winning the cup plastered over how bad last season was too.
We cannot get this wrong. What should our strategy for all this be?
AugustaHibs
19-05-2024, 05:37 PM
Biggest thing for me would be to get rid of 95% of the playing squad.
No manager can work with that disgrace of a squad.
HibeeSince85
19-05-2024, 05:45 PM
It's going to take some effort to fix this. Our style of play is terrible, we play a high line that sees our centre backs have the vast majority of the ball and all they can do is pass it from side to side in the hope a full back can get up the park or launch it up there themselves. Our centre mids, I don't really know what they are meant to offer in this system, the ball whenever they receive it always goes back the way, nobody takes the ball on the half turn.
When we do get it wide all that happens is we fire it into the box, sometimes it clears the first defender. We don't play a striker who can win headers and we don't work the ball into the box enough for it to be a cut back.
We've played like this for years.
We need a manager with a clear style of play who can immediately set a team up to at least look like they have been given instructions and a whole new spine of the team signed.
If we have to raise the additional funds for that by selling Youann, Boyle, Newell and Vente along with anybody else of value then I'd be fine with that.
Edina Street
19-05-2024, 05:49 PM
So many big decisions to make in a very short time before next season begins, and we desperately need to get it right and be prepared, as better teams than us have been relegated before.
Then how we trim a squad that is bloated in terms of number and thin on quality with no apparently common thread of why they’re here.
What does a “Hibs signing” look like in 2024? You could see a common logic between our signings when we build a team that had McGinn, McGregor, McGeouch, Fyvie, Cummings, Keatings, Allan, Henderson, Boyle etc.
What players do we sign? What do we need and what is most effective and what can we afford?
How do we reunite a divided fan base who are losing trust in the club to get things right?
This has been a brutal, brutal season off the back of more brutal seasons. A little flurry of results at the right time, Aberdeen and Hearts toiling and having to sack their managers, and qualifying for Europe through Celtic winning the cup plastered over how bad last season was too.
I think we need to prioritize players closer to home.
It is admirable wanting to have a large worldwide scouting base.
Trying to emulate EPL clubs that sign players from all over the world may seem good.
However I doubt that the scouting network of those large clubs is really that great.
Quite simply, give me the latest FM computer game and a few billion pound and I will also put together a world class team consisting of world class superstars from all over the world, using just the FM search engine, and Wikipedia to see how many international caps they have.
It is not so easy when you are trying to travel the world locating unheard of players from unheard of leagues, that may not even have a Wikipedia page, and it must be very hard to judge how those players compare to the SPL.
I also don't see much reason for us to put so much emphasis on us spreading the net so wide given the quality of player we are trying to attract.
Despite the fact that Scottish Football has suffered a decline in player quality since the late 80's, there are still plenty surely that would be a much better bet that trying to bring youngsters of same, or less quality, from such remote locations.
PHeffernan
19-05-2024, 05:54 PM
Is it down to the lake I fear?
19-05-2024, 06:02 PM
Ready for the League Cup with most of our business done would be great, this is Hibs though.
Whoever is in charge must get us out of the group stage with no hassle or will probably be a few questions asked.
19-05-2024, 06:02 PM
Straight to Derek McInnes' door. A huge overhaul is needed.
tonyrougier123
19-05-2024, 06:03 PM
We go in to league cup group stages from here.😂
19-05-2024, 06:04 PM
Pub??
19-05-2024, 06:06 PM
First port of call is Derek McInnes.
Tully
19-05-2024, 06:06 PM
We go again next season for another roller coaster ride on hibs mystery tour
davym7062
19-05-2024, 06:11 PM
davym7062
19-05-2024, 06:12 PM
First port of call is Derek McInnes.
:thumbsup::agree::agree:
19-05-2024, 06:14 PM
We go again next season for another roller coaster ride on hibs mystery tour
Yeap. :greengrin
19-05-2024, 06:17 PM
I honestly cant see past McInnes, a safe pair of hands who knows how to win games in this league. They simply cant afford another " project" manager. As for players closer to home, i think Luke McGowan at Dundee would be a cracking signing and Armstrong from Killie is another.
19-05-2024, 06:17 PM
Beat me to it
19-05-2024, 06:59 PM
I'd say it takes this
Sign Mitov
Sign Ryan Strain
Retain Obita
Sign Jason Kerr
AN other CB
Sign Luke McCowan
Retain NMW
Sign Mark oHara or Lennon Miller (the first harworking midfield since McGinn & McGeough)
Retain/Sign Myziane
Sign Danny Armstrong
Sign a couple of pacy physical strikers on loan (Behrith from Arsenal/Motherwell as one example)
Sell Boyle, Newell, Vente, Youan for decent money
Have Derek McInnes work with them
HibbyStardust50
19-05-2024, 07:09 PM
Aye aye I
19-05-2024, 07:18 PM
Straight to Derek McInnes' door. A huge overhaul is needed.
If the reports of DM being open about talking to us, we should be doing all we can to get him in.
19-05-2024, 07:23 PM
Let's hope we are celebrating a Fantastic Day very soon 👍
PHeffernan
19-05-2024, 08:40 PM
Beat me to it
Aye aye I
Let's hope we are celebrating a Fantastic Day very soon 👍
20-05-2024, 11:27 AM
Firstly. Keep amateurs, no matter how enthusiastic, miles away from sourcing players for this club.
Secondly. Get in a serious respected manager. Nae mair gob*****s. Nae mair first job in management types. Mowbray had the best young talents in 50 years to work with. Stubbs had a clean slate. Their success was very much an exception. You could point to Naismith at Hearts, but he had a season where Hibs and Aberdeen were both a car crash.
McInnes or Robinson for me. Both proven and neither will take any sheeyte.
Show the players we do have the fans social media and ask them if they are ok with the fact that with the possible exception of Obita and Maolida ... maybe NMW ... nobody would shed a tear if any of them were punted / sold in the close season.
Sort out the bloody defence ... from right back to centre half, plus a new keeper.
Get us at least one midfielder who can move the ball forward / get into the bloody box / shoot from 20 yards. As far as that is concerned the limited Josh Campbell puts them all to shame.
A new winger who can make the right decision more than 50% of the time.
A striker with a bit of presence ... when we do get the ball into the box or punt it long it's being challenged for by a bunch of midgets.
And finally. Look to get players suited to playing in this league ... we are not Man City ... we do not play in the EPL. Aggression attitude and common sense wins you stuff in this league, not fantasy tippy tappy fitba.
By that I don't mean play like 1980s Wimbledon. But know you have to impose yourself before you can actually play ... like McInnes Aberdeen teams used to, not to mention Alex Ferguson's.
20-05-2024, 06:00 PM
Far too much Love plus one on this thread, that reminds me I need a Haircut.
20-05-2024, 06:03 PM
Far too much Love plus one on this thread, that reminds me I need a Haircut.
Wear your favourite shirt.
20-05-2024, 06:09 PM
Wear your favourite shirt.
Will do, I'm Nobodys Fool.
20-05-2024, 06:16 PM
Firstly. Keep amateurs, no matter how enthusiastic, miles away from sourcing players for this club.
Secondly. Get in a serious respected manager. Nae mair gob*****s. Nae mair first job in management types. Mowbray had the best young talents in 50 years to work with. Stubbs had a clean slate. Their success was very much an exception. You could point to Naismith at Hearts, but he had a season where Hibs and Aberdeen were both a car crash.
McInnes or Robinson for me. Both proven and neither will take any sheeyte.
Show the players we do have the fans social media and ask them if they are ok with the fact that with the possible exception of Obita and Maolida ... maybe NMW ... nobody would shed a tear if any of them were punted / sold in the close season.
Sort out the bloody defence ... from right back to centre half, plus a new keeper.
Get us at least one midfielder who can move the ball forward / get into the bloody box / shoot from 20 yards. As far as that is concerned the limited Josh Campbell puts them all to shame.
A new winger who can make the right decision more than 50% of the time.
A striker with a bit of presence ... when we do get the ball into the box or punt it long it's being challenged for by a bunch of midgets.
And finally. Look to get players suited to playing in this league ... we are not Man City ... we do not play in the EPL. Aggression attitude and common sense wins you stuff in this league, not fantasy tippy tappy fitba.
By that I don't mean play like 1980s Wimbledon. But know you have to impose yourself before you can actually play ... like McInnes Aberdeen teams used to, not to mention Alex Ferguson's.
Wowsers. This is so bang on the money it’s scary, succinctly sums up how big a mess we are in.
great post.