View Full Version : Favourite chant/song
16-05-2024, 08:24 PM
What a difference a game makes. I've been singing Hibs songs to myself all day today and have got a bit of a buzz back after last night.
I was singing all the songs I could remember from years gone by and it got me thinking though, what's your favourite Hibs song/chant of all time?
And what are some of the ones that might have been forgotten?
It's funny to think back on all the players who got their own song, and sometimes it was just because the name fitted the song. Calum Booth had his own song but I'm not sure any of the golden generation got one.
Any other forgotten songs for forgettable players?
16-05-2024, 08:42 PM
‘Shanks said no’ and ‘I was walking along the Copeland road’
And most of our older ones that aren’t modern regurgitated pish ‘ultra’ songs.
I think most have gone with the terracing though.
16-05-2024, 08:46 PM
He’s here, he’s there, he’s every chuffing where……..
16-05-2024, 09:34 PM
Booked for being ugly 😅
You're no very good
Oh to be
Hibeesforever
16-05-2024, 09:38 PM
Getting the songs back would MASSIVELY improve the atmosphere and build bonds with the players again...tell Block 7 to clear off with their drum
16-05-2024, 10:15 PM
Sauzee, there's only one Sauzee!
I loved the Sauzee cup final song..."When the ball hits the net like a low flying jet, that's a Sauzee..."
#2 Double Tap
16-05-2024, 10:18 PM
you're no very good.
no really for a player.
***note to self read the post properly ;)
star man playing on the right!!
Slateford Hibee
16-05-2024, 10:26 PM
Not for a specific player but 3 nil up at Ibrox singing We can see you sneeking out followed by the old crowd pleaser Can We Play You Every Week. Happy day.
16-05-2024, 10:56 PM
He’s here, he’s there, he’s every chuffing where…….. That would probably be my favourite for a player, very much my era. Joe, Joe super Joe was good too. The 2-0 down at Tiny last night was very special and well done whoever came up with that. It is a brilliant song and while Hanlon is clearly the hero I think of that as a club song. Shanks said no and Boys in blue were heavily defeated 6-2 as WeeRussell said are right up there for me as they tended to be mostly heard on away trips so bring back great memories albeit a bit hazy. I think most of the old songs have really aged well but walking down the Albion Road is probably rightly not heard often now far as more Women and girls attend. It could be reworked though as it is a familiar tune and the last two lines work well. As I left the ground last night GGTTH was playing on the tannoy. I can't recall hearing that much this season which is a real shame as it should be played every match imo
17-05-2024, 12:52 AM
Always love when Hail Hail is properly belted out and it gets to the 'For its a grand old team to play for' and the decimals increase as we point and belt out 'AND IF! YOU KNOW! YOUR HISTORY!
Will never forget the best ever rendition of it, when we played Rangers in the CIS Semi Final at Hampden in a midweek night game. So so loud! 👌👌🇳🇬
17-05-2024, 04:37 AM
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
Simple but very effective. Usually a sign we've done something good or there's something to be proud of.
It's amazing how many have dropped away to be honest, especially ones like ooh to be a Hibee.
17-05-2024, 04:42 AM
I was surprised in the SC Final we never sang “we hate Glasgow Rangers”
we are Hibernian FC (none of this stand free nonsense)
Hibs, Hibs… (fluke yer 1902!)
2 Nil down at Tynie
Warburtons a fanny
The Laurel and Hardy tune as the polis walked around the ground.
hail hail
goory glory
17-05-2024, 04:53 AM
I still believe we missed a tricky during the Romanov era
would have been most excellent to hear the East sing
Vladimir’s ga-ga (with apologies to Freddy Mercury)
Greenio
17-05-2024, 05:36 AM
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
Simple but very effective. Usually a sign we've done something good or there's something to be proud of.
It's amazing how many have dropped away to be honest, especially ones like ooh to be a Hibee.
Yeah, this one does it for me too. You're right. it seems to be the chance that signals momentum, rather than one of those ones that's sung when we're ahead.
I also like
CLAP, CLAP, CLAP-CLAP-CLAP, CLAP, CLAP-CLAP-CLAP-CLAP. HIBEES
Again, simple but works
17-05-2024, 05:49 AM
I simply loved "Here we go, two in a row". It was funny and celebratory at the same time.
The Dominique Malonga chant
Kamberi kamberi kamberi
But what I think we have to get back on the playlist is the North Stand stomper, Hibees clap clap clap Hibees...
17-05-2024, 05:59 AM
Tony Bulloch ( I think ) goalie big money signing for Dundee United
Massed Hibs away end at Tannadice Boxing Day prior to kick off as he was warning up
‘ Who are ye ? ‘
‘Who are ye ?’
‘ Who are ye ?’
Goalden Generation went on to pump them 4-1
darwenhibby
17-05-2024, 06:44 AM
New Years Day 1976 as a 7 year old
Walking along Albion Road with the Hibs support singing “Jingle Bells “
3-0 Hibs felt like we humped them every time and was the norm
DIXIHIBS
17-05-2024, 07:02 AM
‘Shanks said no’ and ‘I was walking along the Copeland road’
And most of our older ones that aren’t modern regurgitated pish ‘ultra’ songs.
I think most have gone with the terracing though.
I think the demise of supporters buses has stopped a lot of songs being passed on to younger fans. Certainly where I learned most of the older songs.
17-05-2024, 08:21 AM
Not a chant but Teenage Kicks when we had Derek, Garry etc. Just a perfect fit.
'One man couldnae carry' was pretty funny...
17-05-2024, 08:41 AM
I simply loved "Here we go, two in a row". It was funny and celebratory at the same time.
The Dominique Malonga chant
Kamberi kamberi kamberi
But what I think we have to get back on the playlist is the North Stand stomper, Hibees clap clap clap Hibees...
Loved that too. Still singing it all the way up to the semi final. I think the players started believing it. So unlucky with the goal that eventually put an end to our reign as holders.
17-05-2024, 08:46 AM
“You're sheet aaaah” when a keeper runs up to take a kick. I dont know why but i always want to laugh, its so daft but one of those chants that just took off. Especially good when the boy slips afterwards and looks a bit sheepish as he goes back to position.
17-05-2024, 09:02 AM
When you're near the end of the game, the score is close and and trying to drive your side on to a win.
Clap,
Clap,
Clap, Clap.. Clap... Clap
'Sieg'!
Oops, sorry, wrong country.
:embarrass
Greensunshine
17-05-2024, 09:12 AM
We’re Green, we’re white……we’re effing dynamite…..Hibernian!!!!
Stolen from the Falkirk Bairns song book but it would work for us!
One that got sung a lot in the period between 91 and 98 to our neebors across the city was ……
Your cupboards are bare there’s no silverware it’s …… years in a row!
17-05-2024, 09:57 AM
I absolutely love the rare occasion if we’re beating Rangers and we give them an ironic ‘we are the people’
Absolutely RAGING 😂😂
17-05-2024, 10:06 AM
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
I get what you’re meaning about songs having dropped off and I genuinely think that folk have just stopped trying as you get drowned out by Block 7 trying to take over the section in the East near to where the traditional songs come from, between that drum and the dafty that doesn’t watch the game with the megaphone
Everyone round me in 43 was literally laughing their ***** off watching them attempting some ridiculous nursery rhyme led by said megaphone boy, probably chored off Falkirk Ultras or some other equally as indistinguishable group, can only describe it as a continual ‘ooooohh’ increasing in pitch followed by them raising their arms and shaking their hands :rotflmao:
17-05-2024, 10:16 AM
“You're sheet aaaah” when a keeper runs up to take a kick. I dont know why but i always want to laugh, its so daft but one of those chants that just took off. Especially good when the boy slips afterwards and looks a bit sheepish as he goes back to position.
I’ve always wondered that that is - unique to England I think?
Never quite knew what the noises were but always annoyed me slightly 😂
17-05-2024, 10:19 AM
I think the demise of supporters buses has stopped a lot of songs being passed on to younger fans. Certainly where I learned most of the older songs.
You could be onto something.
I didn’t mean the terracing going was necessarily the reason for the songs dying-out. Just another atmosphere-related thing I hark for as I get older 😁
17-05-2024, 10:20 AM
Definitely more common down south. I do like it though, we did it to Liam Kelly and he went right over on his erchie. The rest of the game we did it and you could see him getting more and more irritated :greengrin. Needs to be a regular thing.
17-05-2024, 12:54 PM
Does it have its roots in the somewhat controversial Mexican thing? Puto can roughly translate as rent boy apparently, but some claim not in all contexts. :dunno:
https://youtu.be/5e5IUmkAZ2g
17-05-2024, 02:23 PM
Does it have its roots in the somewhat controversial Mexican thing? Puto can roughly translate as rent boy apparently, but some claim not in all contexts. :dunno:
https://youtu.be/5e5IUmkAZ2g
Oh no :doh: First im a terrorist sympathiser, now im glorifying homophobia. Its been one of those weeks.
17-05-2024, 02:37 PM
Who’s that man with the helmet on Dixon Dixon ( one for older fans ) .
17-05-2024, 03:11 PM
Walks like a woman and he wares a dress
Not sure what player that was sung about
Ps it wasn’t MM who told me 😁
DIXIHIBS
17-05-2024, 03:15 PM
Walks like a woman and he wares a dress
Not sure what player that was sung about
Ps it wasn’t MM who told me 😁
Bobby Moore, superstar
Walks like a woman and he wears a bra😜
17-05-2024, 07:00 PM
We hate Glasgow Rangers.... to the 'Land of Pope and Tory.. '
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
PeckythePenguin
17-05-2024, 08:15 PM
Mixu Paatelainen, what a effin’ signing, nah nah nah nah…
Kano Kano Kano Kano. Kano. Kano.
17-05-2024, 08:34 PM
From the very early 80s.
"H-I-B,
E-R-N
I-A-N...
....Hi-berni-an!
Na na na-na,
na na-na,
na, naaaaaah!"
:singing:
Godsahibby
17-05-2024, 08:46 PM
He plays on the right wing, he’s from Ecuador,
He put’s in the passes for Paco to score
He’s not like Latapy, he don’t like the booze,
He’s Ulisees De La Cruz, na na na na na na na
17-05-2024, 08:54 PM
Hooli Hooli Hooligan sung to the Female Rangers fan being escorted around the side the pitch at Easter Road by two large policeman By the way she gave them a hard time as she struggled like hell to break free.
17-05-2024, 09:02 PM
From the very early 80s.
"H-I-B,
E-R-N
I-A-N...
....Hi-berni-an!
Na na na-na,
na na-na,
na, naaaaaah!"
:singing:
Banger. Kids nowadays don't know what they are missing.
17-05-2024, 09:05 PM
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
HIBEES
Was always better when accompanied by the foot stamping in the old North Stand.
17-05-2024, 09:30 PM
Stokesy’s on Fire was incredible.
17-05-2024, 09:40 PM
He’s a class defender….
17-05-2024, 09:41 PM
When the Hibs went up to lift the Scottish Cup we were there
17-05-2024, 09:42 PM
And what about the song for one of our all-time Talismen…
Weve got McGinn!
17-05-2024, 09:44 PM
We’ve got McGinn
Super John McGinn…
Full ER singing it was amazing.
DIXIHIBS
17-05-2024, 09:48 PM
Let's all do the Hibees bounce..
17-05-2024, 10:13 PM
Willie, oh Willie Murray, Willie Murray on the wing…
Showing my age there. :greengrin
Coming in at number one!
Cheer up Cheer up
The boys will see you through
The boys that beat the celtic and the Glasgow rangers too
Eck the boss was a magic song too
17-05-2024, 10:23 PM
We simply have to get the old songs back.
Hibeesforever
17-05-2024, 10:30 PM
I think the CEO should designate certain games old song book only matches...engage with a fans group and get rid of the drum...totally ruins football atmosphere...
18-05-2024, 07:30 AM
Not so much a chant but I’ll never pass up an opportunity to recycle the “**** off Hateley ya long-haired baldy *******” 😂😂
18-05-2024, 07:51 AM
Time wasting injured players :
Dig a hole and bury him
Stray dug strays onto the pitch :
Colin Colin Colin Stein
Modern favs for Old Firm games :
You’re not Rangers anymore
If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns
Need to bring back GGTTH by Hector Nicol as the teams run oot
18-05-2024, 08:48 AM
Banger. Kids nowadays don't know what they are missing.
18-05-2024, 08:58 AM
One thing I’ve noticed is “green and white army” has been changed by a few to just “green army”. This needs to revert back imo
18-05-2024, 09:14 AM
I think the CEO should designate certain games old song book only matches...engage with a fans group and get rid of the drum...totally ruins football atmosphere...
Words to songs on the big screens 😅
18-05-2024, 12:42 PM
Time wasting injured players :
Dig a hole and bury him
Stray dug strays onto the pitch :
Colin Colin Colin Stein
Modern favs for Old Firm games :
You’re not Rangers anymore
If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns
Need to bring back GGTTH by Hector Nicol as the teams run oot
GGTTH the best run oot song don't know why they stopped using it.
DIXIHIBS
18-05-2024, 12:47 PM
Keith Keith Keith
The Pointer
19-05-2024, 02:40 PM
Since we're on the subject of songs, some folk behind us at Dingwall were singing something like,
"All the way to Dingwall,
For absolutely ****-all..."
or words to that effect. Anyone know them?
The Pointer
19-05-2024, 02:43 PM
"My friend Stan is a Hibees fan, oh yeah, oh yeah.
He's got a green and white scarf cos he's Hibees daft oh yeah, oh yeah."
To the tune of the Slade song.