View Full Version : Your favourite Paul Hanlon/Lewis Stevenson memories and stories

14-05-2024, 08:17 PM
A thread to reminisce about two of the greatest Hibbys to pull on our shirt.

We’ll never see their likes again. Over 1,100 appearances for the club, winners medals, historic goals, and they get the club through and through. When I played football when trying to lose weight I ended up at left back most of the time as I was the most two footed player - equally ***** with both - but despite not knowing the position I always tried to go with what Lewis would do. Not sure if I did that justice, but as far as a mantra goes, it’s pretty good.

That goal at Tynie to make it 2-2 will live long in the memory, in fact, it’s immortal, but seeing them both (and Daz) lifting the Scottish Cup encapsulated everything about perseverance and what the club should be about.

Their humility and modesty should be applauded too. I’ve been lucky in the past to be part of a match sponsors table -through work - and the last time I was there it was the most bland of draws where not much happened. Lewis obviously got MOTM as he was as consistent and committed as he always is, but as soon as he was interviewed he was doubting our decision as another player (cannae mind who) was more deserving in his eyes.

I can’t make tomorrow night as having to work late and can’t get out of it - absolutely gutted. It’s a total ****ter that this is the last hurrah for them, as they’ve provided so much for us as a support, so many great memories, and asked for so little in return.

Would love to hear your stories and memories of them and to say a massive thank you for everything they have given us. It’s been a pleasure and even listening on Hibs TV there is going to be an almighty lump in my throat.

14-05-2024, 08:59 PM
Seeing them get their Scotland caps brought a tear to my non-Scottish eyes!!

14-05-2024, 09:00 PM
Seeing them get their Scotland caps brought a tear to my non-Scottish eyes!!

Incredibly well deserved.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-05-2024, 09:02 PM
Happy to say I was one of the first ever Hibs fans to witness Lewis Stevenson in the green and white, at a pre season tour of Ireland match, in Dublin, with my cousin who has since passed on. Maybe another Hibs fan who was there can fill me in on the team we were up against, I was several Guinness deep and didn’t take much from the match itself

As an aside, the travelling Hibs fans were very vocal about a certain Mikey Stewart being an ex jambo but alright now. Ironic considering how wee Lewis went on to take his place in a famous cup final victory

Looking back at our famous victories at Hampden, I must say I got a bit emotional when watching Lewis lift the cups above his head

A very boozy weekend that I’ll hold in my memory for a long time. Never doing the Blackpool to Dublin return flight again though 🤢

14-05-2024, 09:08 PM
Just Lewis being the only one with a real bit of fight during Calderwood and early Fenlon days. Guys like O'Connor, who claim to be Hibs fans, overweight, barely trying and Lewis would be storming into tackles, charging about, giving his all. From his first game to his last, he worked so ****ing hard, regardless of slack teammates, angry fans, poor results.

14-05-2024, 09:13 PM
True Renton from Trainspotting story where he was getting it on with Kelly McDonald :greengrin

February 14th 2015 i was dating a burd and took her back to Penicuik and telt her i was listening to the hibs game on radio no matter what ..We drank and watched a film then took it upstairs ( Film finished at 8pm ) , About an hour later wee Lewy scored scored a screamer same time as Archie Gemmill did :greengrin, She didnae kick me oot tho as it was my hoose !!

LewysGot2
14-05-2024, 09:24 PM
Happy to say I was one of the first ever Hibs fans to witness Lewis Stevenson in the green and white, at a pre season tour of Ireland match, in Dublin, with my cousin who has since passed on. Maybe another Hibs fan who was there can fill me in on the team we were up against, I was several Guinness deep and didn’t take much from the match itself

As an aside, the travelling Hibs fans were very vocal about a certain Mikey Stewart being an ex jambo but alright now. Ironic considering how wee Lewis went on to take his place in a famous cup final victory

Looking back at our famous victories at Hampden, I must say I got a bit emotional when watching Lewis lift the cups above his head

A very boozy weekend that I’ll hold in my memory for a long time. Never doing the Blackpool to Dublin return flight again though 🤢

St Pats and we won 5-0 with O'connor Morrow and Shiels getting the goals. Pissed down before the game but dried up in good time for ko.Oh Mikey Mikey you used to be a jambo but you're alright now was christened...think Zibi was in goals and was given Hibs keyrings to lob into the crowd. There was one guy dressed as a horse and another dressed as Bin Laden. At one point Bin Laden guy was getting a collie Buckie from horse guy. Like a weird dream...

14-05-2024, 09:26 PM
For Lewis, that goal at Ibrox.

For Paul, that goal at tynecastle.

2 absolutely magical moments.

14-05-2024, 09:30 PM
Met Lewis about 13 years ago at a gig.

I was a young drunk lad and he was there with his mate. Whilst I have no doubt he probably thought “drunken idiot, leave me alone” he was an absolute gentleman and never gave off that vibe at all

Spoke away for 10 minutes, he was asking me questions and just came across as such a genuinely nice guy.

Rare you meet a legend and have an interaction that leaves you thinking even more of them as a person

14-05-2024, 09:31 PM
St Pats and we won 5-0 with O'connor Morrow and Shiels getting the goals. Pissed down before the game but dried up in good time for ko.Oh Mikey Mikey you used to be a jambo but you're alright now was christened...think Zibi was in goals and was given Hibs keyrings to lob into the crowd. There was one guy dressed as a horse and another dressed as Bin Laden. At one point Bin Laden guy was getting a collie Buckie from horse guy. Like a weird dream...Was talking about that very tour the other night with an English football friend who attended it with me, happy days. Your recollection of the surreal experiences of the St.Pats game is exactly the same as ours[emoji16]

14-05-2024, 09:40 PM
Lewis's performance in the 5-1 rout of Killie in the league cup final was one of many, msny highlights that day. Paul's equaliser at tincastle that led to our cup win will always be remembered.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-05-2024, 09:58 PM
St Pats and we won 5-0 with O'connor Morrow and Shiels getting the goals. Pissed down before the game but dried up in good time for ko.Oh Mikey Mikey you used to be a jambo but you're alright now was christened...think Zibi was in goals and was given Hibs keyrings to lob into the crowd. There was one guy dressed as a horse and another dressed as Bin Laden. At one point Bin Laden guy was getting a collie Buckie from horse guy. Like a weird dream...

Thanks for this. Glorious 😂😂

lugz
14-05-2024, 10:10 PM
This one is a non football one but ended up walking a bit of the recent Kilt Walk with Lewis, this was my first interaction with him despite the years he's been at the club. What a genuine nice guy he was, like speaking to one of the lads couldn't have been any nicer. A credit to himself and the club.

CL0762
14-05-2024, 10:14 PM

Think the game you’re thinking of was Cork away. 3-3 and it bucketed down the entire time.

Lewis played against Shamrock Rovers at Bohemians ground.

My favourite memory of the pair of them was Stevenson’s wee hop and jump just before Gray got given the trophy and Hanlon turning to his family when he lifted the cup.

2 amazing people that will be sorely sorely missed.

phibber
14-05-2024, 10:56 PM
[/QUOTE] Lewis and Paul - true Hibees who all supporters can relate to and vice versa. Two of my daughters saw Lewis make his debut game on Ireland tour, with all three of my daughters - plus their Dad! - seeing him win MOTM at 2007 League Cup win. I was also really chuffed when I got a phone call out of the blue during Covid lockdown from Lewis, asking how I and my family were coping? Given how difficult this period was for us all, the iniative to contact supporters was a meaningful reflection of the bond that exists between players and supporters, a bond that needs to be maintained.

14-05-2024, 11:26 PM
Lewis’ volley against the stickies after we got relegated will stay with me. That win was the first time in a long while I felt like we might be turning a corner as a club and coming onto something good with Dempster, Stubbs & Co.

I figured if even Lewy was getting in on the scoring act, we must mean business in attack. He was terrific that season, and one of the only decent performances the year we went down. Rejuvenated in his role as a flying wingback.

Paul, we had our day at Hampden and it’s all because of you. What a moment that was, utter jubilation.

God, I’m going to miss these two.

14-05-2024, 11:27 PM
Lewis and Paul - true Hibees who all supporters can relate to and vice versa. Two of my daughters saw Lewis make his debut game on Ireland tour, with all three of my daughters - plus their Dad! - seeing him win MOTM at 2007 League Cup win. I was also really chuffed when I got a phone call out of the blue during Covid lockdown from Lewis, asking how I and my family were coping? Given how difficult this period was for us all, the iniative to contact supporters was a meaningful reflection of the bond that exists between players and supporters, a bond that needs to be maintained.

My dad received a similar call about a fortnight after my mum died at the start of lockdown from David Gray that gave him a tremendous boost, it helped out his mental wellbeing massively, even although he wasn't home the first time SDG called so, I managed to get a wee blether with him too, which was nice! 👏

7Hero
15-05-2024, 09:49 AM
Wonderful post ...

https://hanlonstevensonfoundation.co.uk/2024/05/heroes-programme/

If you are attending todays match please donate to receive your limited edition programme, it looks cracking - HSF have squeezed a huge amount in see the link above.

Also first 500 sold in the Club shop receive a free Signed Poster by Paul and Lewis - these available from 6pm.

Please note that they will not be available anywhere else and have sold out online already.

If you are in Hospitality HSF will be selling programme outside west at 5pm and all other stands will be selling before they open at 645pm.

The Hanlon Stevenson Foundation (HSF) is a Scottish Registered Charity (SC 049330) formed in May 2019.

The initial funding for HSF was provided by donations from Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson as part of the proceeds from their respective Testimonial Years. Funding thereafter has continued with a wide range of initiatives and fundraising events.

The purpose of HSF is primarily youth related with a view to assisting less privileged children HSF is self-funded, and all monies received are donated to selected charities and other projects.

All proceeds from this souvenir Programme will be used to buy mascot and season ticket packages at Hibernian FC for next season.

15-05-2024, 10:42 AM
Genuinely one of my favourite pictures from the SC win is of Lewis with his kid, while the rest of the team are partying on the walkway at hampden behind him. Just shows how humble a guy he is. I've never had the priviledge to meet him but he is everything you want in a player/representative. So down to earth, but always puts 100% in on the pitch. Will forever be one of my favourite players.

15-05-2024, 10:50 AM
My favourite memory of Hanlon is easy, that goal at Tynie. One of the best goal celebrations ever, I ended up six seats and one row away from where I was sat, I have no idea how.

Lewis. His performance in the League Cup final against Killie where he deservedly got man of the match. I remember posting on here after it that this kid looked like he was going to go on to have an excellent career. That's memorable in itself because for once I was right. :greengrin

15-05-2024, 11:19 AM
Lewis got MOM in the 2007 LC final. In his interview he said it was only because he was 16 years old and that summed up the guy in all his time at Easter Road. Modest, self depreciating and utterly utterly genuine. A credit to this club in any way you care to name, including being the toughest wee bugger I've ever seen in a Hibs shirt.

Paul. The same as Lewis, just a genuine player who gave everything. Also a credit to himself and the club. As for his best moment? As they say in Highlander ... there can be only one :greengrin

Whatever their limitations as players they are both cemented in place as Hibs legends and deservedly so.

15-05-2024, 05:21 PM
Picking Paul up in the Taxi and having a great chat about football.

Seeing Lewis against Celtic at Easter Road having both Mcgregor and Forrest in his back pocket.
Personally they should both get another year as if there is a big clear out the team may need some numbers in the building for the start of the League Cup.

Just_Jimmy
15-05-2024, 06:19 PM
2007 league Cup final - Lewis MOM.

2016 Scottish Cup final. Cos its the greatest Hibs thing ever.

Hanlons goal against the mutants.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

cubehindthegoal
15-05-2024, 06:38 PM
My favourite memory of Hanlon is easy, that goal at Tynie. One of the best goal celebrations ever, I ended up six seats and one row away from where I was sat, I have no idea how.

Lewis. His performance in the League Cup final against Killie where he deservedly got man of the match. I remember posting on here after it that this kid looked like he was going to go on to have an excellent career. That's memorable in itself because for once I was right. :greengrin

Same here and probably for many others too. You get few long term players, never mind two at once, who did so much for Hibs, while not asking much in return compared to so many others I could think of .. let alone not push to be transferred on if they didn’t get what they wanted. Cup winning legends, thank you Paul and Lewis.

15-05-2024, 07:01 PM

Were we on that same flight, a few of the lancashire boys went to those games?

15-05-2024, 07:08 PM
Not his greatest moment for Lewis, I'm sure he scored a very good goal away in Europe? The team is not coming to me, the game in the fog under Lennon.

15-05-2024, 07:11 PM
Not his greatest moment for Lewis, I'm sure he scored a very good goal away in Europe? The team is not coming to me, the game in the fog under Lennon.

Runavik, and it was a screamer

15-05-2024, 07:16 PM
Runavik, and it was a screamer

That's the one.

Did he not score a similar one in a pre season match? I don't know why I'm thinking that.

Hannah_hfc
15-05-2024, 07:31 PM
Wee story from the Scottish cup parade:

On the day of the parade I arrived in Edinburgh a few hours early to meet friends first. As I was walking along Princes st, I was early enough that there weren't many Hibs tops around me at this point.

A coach passed heading for the mound and it was the Hibs team going to the city chambers. I just remember turning round and seeing Paul Hanlon at the window pointing at the cup and grinning at me. It felt like I was the only person cheering back at him with people around me staring at me (not that I was caring!)

I'm not one who has many (if any) interactions with the players so that will always be a wee special memory from an amazing weekend.

15-05-2024, 10:38 PM
I’ve just posted this on another thread but think it might be a nice wee addition to this one:

I remember many moons ago, my sister in law, who was the Principal Teacher of PE at Balwearie High School in Kirkcaldy, telling me about this young pupil, Lewis Stevenson, in her department who was a great guy and terrific footballer and was about to sign a contract with Hibs. She hoped he would make the grade. I bet the photos at the end of tonight’s game brought her a great sense of pride and a few tears to her eyes.