View Full Version : It's Neil Lennon time

14-05-2024, 09:33 AM
Come on Hibs, make the call.
He will bring back what it means to represent our great club.

14-05-2024, 09:33 AM
😂😂😂😂😂

14-05-2024, 09:35 AM
Its getting near Edinburgh Festival all the comedians trying to sell their shows

EGL2000
14-05-2024, 09:35 AM
Please no.

sean04
14-05-2024, 09:36 AM
No he left us in a mess

14-05-2024, 09:36 AM
Is it f... Neil Lennon time.

Doh Rae Me
14-05-2024, 09:37 AM
It sure is
:nlgwa

Albert Kidd 86’
14-05-2024, 09:37 AM

I would not mind that at all.

i would pay good money to sit and watch the first team mauling he would hand out.

NC1875
14-05-2024, 09:38 AM
https://media3.giphy.com/media/WbxA5GER3PCQrqozj7/200w.gif?cid=6c09b952bly5ht3t7tiyrivbo3j610yvnpzvz 8jmxwq0jaon&ep=v1_gifs_search&rid=200w.gif&ct=g

Albert Kidd 86’
14-05-2024, 09:42 AM
https://media3.giphy.com/media/WbxA5GER3PCQrqozj7/200w.gif?cid=6c09b952bly5ht3t7tiyrivbo3j610yvnpzvz 8jmxwq0jaon&ep=v1_gifs_search&rid=200w.gif&ct=g
Aaahhhh, those were the days, when Hibs used to get the blood pumping, i watched that game in a bar in Ibiza as the only Hibee amongst a hoard of currant buns, stiil enjoyed it…

14-05-2024, 09:44 AM
It’s five past Neil Lennon time.

14-05-2024, 09:45 AM
No-ridiculous suggestion.

And now it begins. FFS 🙄

snedzuk
It's actually Leeann Dempster time, but I don't suppose that'll happen either.

14-05-2024, 09:46 AM
Aye, not celebrating against Celtic is what it means to represent Hibs.

14-05-2024, 09:46 AM
Its hammer time

14-05-2024, 09:47 AM

9th in the Premiership is bad enough never mind 8th in the Championship

WestStandWillie
14-05-2024, 09:48 AM

:crazy::crazy::crazy:

The way he treated our great club just getting glossed over aye? Throwing chairs at players, abusing the CEO, engineering a move to Celtic.

It's a naw from me.

14-05-2024, 09:49 AM
Get this to ****.

14-05-2024, 09:53 AM
It’s five past Neil Lennon time.

It's five years and five minutes past Neil Lennon time - but it was mostly fun whilst it lasted.

14-05-2024, 09:54 AM
9th in the Premiership is bad enough never mind 8th in the Championship

You're kidding right? She was miles better than our current lot.

14-05-2024, 09:54 AM
I mean, I'm almost tempted to endorse this just for the mayhem after the borefest.

BegbieHSC
14-05-2024, 10:57 AM
If he hadn’t spent the past few years arse licking Celtic, and doubling down on where had gone wrong and taking responsibility for nothing whatsoever, then I’d give him another go cause we did have some amazing times with him.

As that is not the case, no thanks. He’s not a manager who learns and reflects, and if we’re going into a major rebuild, he’s the wrong guy for it. Sorry - loved him when he was here, but he’s not developed in his time away as a coach - in fact - probably the opposite.

14-05-2024, 11:01 AM
Would he be interested? Yes

Would we be interested? Probably not

14-05-2024, 11:12 AM
Been Approached ?

Albert Kidd 86’
14-05-2024, 11:17 AM
Lennon’s first team meeting
Meet the manager day one, (he is the guy in the middle)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kMjqlVcLCmg

archie
14-05-2024, 11:20 AM
No

14-05-2024, 11:20 AM
Lennon’s first team meeting
Meet the manager day one, (he is the guy in the middle)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kMjqlVcLCmg

I'm going to go way out on a limb here and suggest that you didn't really need to make clear which guy in the clip is Lennon...

14-05-2024, 11:21 AM

She left us in a bit of a mess but also wasn't popular with Queens Park come the end.

No thanks.

14-05-2024, 11:22 AM
I'm going to go way out on a limb here and suggest that you didn't really need to make clear which guy in the clip is Lennon...

You are on fire today.

It's almost as if you have had good news of some sort.

Cat Stanton

Jesus wept. I don't know what's more of a ****show. The club or the madness of this forum...

Albert Kidd 86’
You got to be precise on this forum. :wink:

Doh Rae Me
14-05-2024, 11:23 AM

:greengrin:nlgwa

Saint Hibee
14-05-2024, 11:27 AM
Would love Lennon back, but it's never going to happen.

14-05-2024, 11:32 AM
If you'd asked me about Lennon after LJ was sacked i've had said no chance. Now i'd probably welcome someone of his stature and temperament. Would probably end in tears but we are so flat right now. We need a rocket up our arse as a club and standards set.

14-05-2024, 11:32 AM
Lenny is my first choice but I'd be happy with McInnes or Robinson. Lets just get someone in who we know can do the job. No leftfield choices from overseas, no promising types who haven't managed a club in the Premier League. Just a common sense solution to get us up a few places in the table for starters.

14-05-2024, 11:35 AM
Has to be would pull fans club and players together knows Scottish football and club inside out could do well with Black knights investment

14-05-2024, 11:37 AM
Have the folk who want Lennon back just wiped the last 6 months or so of his tenure from their memory ?

Donegal Hibby
14-05-2024, 11:40 AM
In fairness I don't want any of them though if it was down to Lennon or McInnes then I'm very much in the ......

:nlgwa. Camp .

14-05-2024, 11:44 AM
This again. You can admire a manager who makes the right subs and changes formation during a game. With Lennon it was practically every game and it got to the stage where you began to ask the question, how in a league where you play everybody at least 3 times by the third time the manager still can't get his team and formation right from the start of the game.

That was what was wrong with Lennon for me, he didn't seem to learn anything about the clubs he was facing from previous encounters with them. At Celtic that didn't matter, at a club like this one it does.

14-05-2024, 11:46 AM
Been Approached ?

No and he won't be.

14-05-2024, 11:48 AM
Are people forgetting Neil Lennon's last season with us?

He was a car crash.

14-05-2024, 11:50 AM
She left us in a bit of a mess but also wasn't popular with Queens Park come the end.

No thanks.

She inherited a just relegated side and left us with a side that finishes 3rd, winning a cup on the way. Wish we were in that mess now.

14-05-2024, 11:50 AM
It’s a big family fortunes [emoji777] for me.

As others have mentioned his last 6 months along with the way he left were enough for me!

14-05-2024, 11:56 AM
Its hammer time

Can't touch this 😉

14-05-2024, 11:59 AM

Oh my sides, what could possibly go wrong :greengrin

14-05-2024, 12:01 PM
Please no

14-05-2024, 12:11 PM
Folk that for months wanted us to stick with LJ or NM are dead against Lennon.

How does that work? Even the worst times with Lennon were infinitely better than what we’ve had under the last 3 managers.

We would be better with him as manager than at any time the last few years without question.

14-05-2024, 12:13 PM
Are people forgetting Neil Lennon's last season with us?

He was a car crash.

Was still better than under NM though. Have you forgotten that??!

14-05-2024, 12:14 PM
Have the folk who want Lennon back just wiped the last 6 months or so of his tenure from their memory ?

Nope. I remember hai first season back in the top flight. It’s best season I’ve ever experienced and wouldn’t mind some of that again.

You must remember it fondly too no?

14-05-2024, 12:19 PM
Has to be would pull fans club and players together knows Scottish football and club inside out could do well with Black knights investment
How would he pull everyone together when most of us don’t want him anywhere near Hibs?

Some of you have very very very short memories. He was an absolute weapon, went awol for days, a total bevvy merchant and on top of that near the end of his time he used Hibs to manipulate and engineer his way back to Celtic and shafted us in the process. Get him so far to ****

Nope. I remember hai first season back in the top flight. It’s best season I’ve ever experienced and wouldn’t mind some of that again.

I absolutely do. But I remember how he left us even more.

Slim Shady
Neil Lennon - Honours below from from Wiki.

Coaching / Assistants

Scott Brown
Kevin Thomson
Steven Whittaker
David Gray

Management Team of winners.
Won everything in Scotland and know the Scottish game inside out.

Crewe Alexandra

Football League Third Division (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Third_Division) promotion: 1993–94 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1993%E2%80%9394_in_English_football)[140] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-140)

Leicester City

Football League Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup): 1996–97 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1996%E2%80%9397_Football_League_Cup),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 1999–2000 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1999%E2%80%932000_Football_League_Cup);[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) runner-up: 1998–99 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1998%E2%80%9399_Football_League_Cup)[141] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-141)
Football League First Division play-offs (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_First_Division_play-offs): 1996 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1996_Football_League_play-offs#First_Division)[142] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-ni_football-142)

Celtic

Scottish Premier League (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Premier_League): 2000–01 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000%E2%80%9301_in_Scottish_football),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 2001–02 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001%E2%80%9302_in_Scottish_football),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 2003–04 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2003%E2%80%9304_in_Scottish_football),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 2005–06 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005%E2%80%9306_in_Scottish_football),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 2006–07 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006%E2%80%9307_in_Scottish_football)[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10)
Scottish Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Cup): 2000–01 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000%E2%80%9301_in_Scottish_football),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 2003–04 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2003%E2%80%9304_in_Scottish_football),[142] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-ni_football-142) 2004–05 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2004%E2%80%9305_in_Scottish_football),[142] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-ni_football-142) 2006–07 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006%E2%80%9307_in_Scottish_football)[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10)
Scottish League Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_League_Cup): 2000–01 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000%E2%80%9301_in_Scottish_football),[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10) 2005–06 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005%E2%80%9306_in_Scottish_football)[10] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Revival-10)
UEFA Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Cup) runner-up: 2002–03 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002%E2%80%9303_UEFA_Cup)[143] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-143)

Nottingham Forest

Football League One (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_One) promotion: 2007–08 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Football_League_One)[142] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-ni_football-142)

Individual

PFA Team of the Year (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PFA_Team_of_the_Year): 1993–94 Third Division (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1993%E2%80%9394_Football_League#Third_Division),[144] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Lynch_150-144) 1994–95 Second Division (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1994%E2%80%9395_Football_League#Second_Division),[144] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Lynch_150-144) 1995–96 Second Division (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1995%E2%80%9396_Football_League)[145] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-145)

Manager Celtic

Scottish Premier League (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Premier_League) / Premiership (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Premiership): 2011–12 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011%E2%80%9312_Scottish_Premier_League),[87] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-sfwa_2012-87) 2012–13 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012%E2%80%9313_Scottish_Premier_League),[142] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-ni_football-142) 2013–14 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_Scottish_Premiership),[98] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Lg14-98) 2018–19 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018%E2%80%9319_Scottish_Premiership), 2019–20 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Premiership)[146] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-146)
Scottish Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Cup): 2010–11 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010%E2%80%9311_Scottish_Cup),[85] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Cup11-85) 2012–13 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012%E2%80%9313_Scottish_Cup),[92] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-Cup13-92) 2018–19 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018%E2%80%9319_Scottish_Cup), 2019–20 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_Cup)[147] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-cup20-147)
Scottish League Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_League_Cup): 2019–20 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019%E2%80%9320_Scottish_League_Cup)[148] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-148)

Hibernian

Scottish Championship (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Championship): 2016–17 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016%E2%80%9317_Scottish_Championship)[114] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-hibs_promotion-114)

Omonia

Cypriot Cup (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cypriot_Cup): 2021–22 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2021%E2%80%9322_Cypriot_Cup)[149] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_Lennon#cite_note-149)

Greensunshine
14-05-2024, 12:34 PM
Lennon would at least get some real fight back into the team. His interview’s after a 4 nil pumping at home by the worst Aberdeen side in a century would be slightly different from the sheepish interview we got from Monty!

Lennon would certainly get people talking again and get supporters engaged and that’s something we badly need.

Ultimately everything is a gamble.

It would be a YES from me.

14-05-2024, 12:36 PM
How would he pull everyone together when most of us don’t want him anywhere near Hibs?

Some of you have very very very short memories. He was an absolute weapon, went awol for days, a total bevvy merchant and on top of that near the end of his time he used Hibs to manipulate and engineer his way back to Celtic and shafted us in the process. Get him so far to ****

Even taking all of that into account he’d still do better than Maloney, LJ or NM.

jakeshibs
14-05-2024, 12:38 PM

Would hand back all our season tickets if that was the decision

14-05-2024, 12:40 PM

The best season you’ve ever experienced was finishing 4th? I think you’re maybe younger than what I thought…

But if we’re going with how good we were to go and watch as opposed to results/finishing position then fair enough. Lennon in his first season with us was the worst I’ve ever experienced in all our championship/first division campaigns.

14-05-2024, 12:41 PM
The guy can’t beg a job even with his BBC buddies linking him to every job that ever comes up.

Leave him be to enjoy his life as Celtic pundit number 3 behind Chris Sutton and Pat Bonner.

14-05-2024, 12:41 PM

They always do. They still have half a dozen games at the end of 2017-18 etched in their minds (oh apart from the defeat by Hearts).

14-05-2024, 12:42 PM

14-05-2024, 12:43 PM
He has been overlooked the last few managerial appointments so why would that change now?
I was gutted when he left us last time, neither sacked nor left and it was quite the rollercoaster.
Time moves on though and I am not sure I would take him back as I think there is better out there such as McInnes.

14-05-2024, 01:17 PM
Lennon would at least get some real fight back into the team. His interview’s after a 4 nil pumping at home by the worst Aberdeen side in a century would be slightly different from the sheepish interview we got from Monty!

Lennon would certainly get people talking again and get supporters engaged and that’s something we badly need.

Good stuff. Fully agree.

14-05-2024, 01:22 PM

I'd probably rather we went for someone under whom a 4-0 home defeat to a poor Aberdeen side would be totally unthinkable rather than have someone you could easily see it happen under after having alienated all the players before chucking them all under the bus in a tears and snotters interview after the game.

14-05-2024, 01:22 PM
NO

14-05-2024, 02:44 PM

Is a century not 100 years? They lost to ****ing darvil a year ago.

14-05-2024, 03:05 PM

I won't have what he's drinking!

Walter
14-05-2024, 03:08 PM
Please no

14-05-2024, 03:15 PM
If we had a Cup Winning squad on the up it might be, but I think he may be the very least suitable name that comes up to fix the mess we are in.

14-05-2024, 03:19 PM
Absolutely NOT!!!!

14-05-2024, 03:25 PM
Absolute YES from me!

14-05-2024, 03:34 PM

His selection bingo in his last 4/5 months was shocking. I could have managed Celtic to 10 in a row. How did yer man do with that?

Berwickhibby
14-05-2024, 03:38 PM
God Noooooo!!!!

14-05-2024, 03:42 PM
His selection bingo in his last 4/5 months was shocking. I could have managed Celtic to 10 in a row. How did yer man do with that?

My man? Get to f with that kinda chat. I couldn’t care less about Celtic.

ER was a fun place to be when he was in charge. It’s been nowhere near as good since he left.

If you want to pine for the days under LJ or NM you crack on. You backed crap managers for years so I’m unlikely to listen to your thoughts on who the new man should be.

itslegaltender
14-05-2024, 04:49 PM
What folk forget about Lennon was the stories of bullying players, going on benders MIA for days and when the squad he inherited started to disintegrate, he jumped at first opportunity.

14-05-2024, 05:23 PM
What folk forget about Lennon was the stories of bullying players, going on benders MIA for days and when the squad he inherited started to disintegrate, he jumped at first opportunity.

Tbf, he didn't jump. He was on a run of 3 wins in 16. He was binned.

14-05-2024, 05:38 PM

ER was a fun place to be when he was in charge. It’s been nowhere near as good since he left.

If you want to pine for the days under LJ or NM you crack on. You backed crap managers for years so I’m unlikely to listen to your thoughts on who the new man should be.

I’m sure the players getting bullied and chairs thrown at them thought it was really fun

Lennon was cheery when we were winning, as soon as we weren’t, which he was at least partly responsible for, he stopped doing press duties (part of his job), threw players under the bus, verbally abused his boss, bullied players, disappeared on benders, totally random team selections, had more time for Celtic supporters clubs than he did for his own employers, and worked his ticket to get back to Celtic.

At a time when our club is fractured, Neil Lennon is the last person we need around the place.

StirlingHibee
14-05-2024, 05:46 PM
Agree!

14-05-2024, 06:31 PM

More not wholly unexpected pish from you. You hark back to the Lenny good times any time we are in this position. Yesterday’s man. An enjoyable half season but the end of his reign was anything but. And his Parkhead car crash should be reason enough as to why he won’t be considered again. Thankfully.

Mcbizz1998
14-05-2024, 06:33 PM
Not my first choice but I would be pretty buzzing if he came back tbh haha

14-05-2024, 06:43 PM
Episode 5,379....

14-05-2024, 06:55 PM
I remember as a youngster growing up in Leith, we'd lose a manager or sack him and wonder who we got next, then back we went supporting the team whoever was in charge.

When did that change, when did folk say they wouldnt be back if such and such got the job, or when did folk start wanting to hand their season tickets back because we've employed someone they dont like?

It's a different universe from when i was a kid.

:faf::faf::faf:

14-05-2024, 06:59 PM
I remember as a youngster growing up in Leith, we'd lose a manager or sack him and wonder who we got next, then back we went supporting the team whoever was in charge.

When did that change, when did folk say they wouldnt be back if such and such got the job, or when did folk start wanting to hand their season tickets back because we've employed someone they dont like?

It's a different universe from when i was a kid.

:faf::faf::faf:

Loads of things have changed in that time... the invention of the telephone, two world wars, women getting the vote.

14-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Loads of things have changed in that time... the invention of the telephone, two world wars, women getting the vote.

Who let them buggers get a vote? :wink:

14-05-2024, 07:04 PM

Who let them buggers get a vote? :wink:

I'm with you on that one, mate.

shetlandhibee
15-05-2024, 12:54 AM
its a big yes from me ,, with added funds at his disposal has lots of footballing connections ,, no brainer IMO,, if not DM plz

shetlandhibee
15-05-2024, 12:55 AM

If you want to pine for the days under LJ or NM you crack on. You backed crap managers for years so I’m unlikely to listen to your thoughts on who the new man should be.:top marks:agree:

15-05-2024, 01:24 AM
No matter how much his Celtic media mates beg for him to be given the job, hopefully our board are not silly enough to do it

There's a reason he can't get a job other than Chief Celtic Pundit.

Would we have to give him days off to attend Celtic functions?

Greensunshine
15-05-2024, 01:38 AM
Is a century not 100 years? They lost to ****ing darvil a year ago.

Nobody likes a smart arse 😜

15-05-2024, 09:15 AM
Apparently going to be next Rapid Bucharest manager, if so just as well as he would never have passed the new strict morality clause for Hibs employment :cb

15-05-2024, 09:17 AM
Thankfully looks like the Lennon argument can be put to bed until he gets sacked again. No doubt he will have them flying for a bit before it all comes crashing down.

15-05-2024, 09:22 AM
Might just be worth it. If he came in, crashed, and stormed off in a huff after 6-10 months leaving a trail of destruction around him... at least it would put a permanent stop to these interminable threads