View Full Version : Hibs - The poisoned chalice

expresso
12-05-2024, 07:16 PM
Why can no manager get it right?
On the face of it great stadium & training centre
Decent enough budget
Great potential with fan base
However apart from occasional decent run we generally struggle.

davym7062
12-05-2024, 07:18 PM
Decent enough budget

coz they should have got mcinnes

12-05-2024, 07:20 PM
For a start, how many windows have we ignored the defence?

expresso
12-05-2024, 07:29 PM
Personally I think they sign & keep too many players who they think can play the mythical‘hibs way’ rather than fighters & competitors.
There is absolutely no back bone in the current squad happy to ditch every wretched one of them

Contador
12-05-2024, 07:36 PM
The disconnect between fan expectation and where we are as a club. Each season we yo-yo between top and bottom 6 and there is never any continuity.

It is a reality at most clubs these days, but I can’t envisage us having a spell of a few seasons where a manager is allowed to build incrementally. All feels very **** or bust and unfortunately results in a merry-go-round of players, staff and results. We are so far from our potential as a club and have done very little the past decade to strive towards it.

12-05-2024, 07:40 PM
Decent enough budget

Because at our level every appointment is a gamble. Go through our managers in the last 50 or so years, the majority have been pish. It’s very rare we appoint one who is wanted by another club or leaves us and goes on to better things.

12-05-2024, 07:41 PM
We had one manager get it right then the club inexplicably didn't back him in the summer after finishing 3rd. Been a downward spiral ever since with sub standard managers being appointed by people who don't have a clue who look like they've played football manager once and know it all. Even Ross was banging on about needing a defender and was handed Nathan Wood. Pathetic.

12-05-2024, 07:42 PM

The same number we've ignored getting a properly balanced midfield.

I'm beginning to see our recruitment as getting in players for the sake of it without thinking how they fit in to the overall team shape.

Halifaxhibby
12-05-2024, 08:33 PM
Decent enough budget

Everything is in place, the stadium is good, we have our own training facilities….but, it’s all style and no substance as usual….heres a thought….pay a hefty wage to a decent manager and bankroll him….because all we’re doing at the moment is paying clowns to come in, buy **** players, then we pay the managers off….sell players at a loss….i don’t think I can cope with another”transitional period” at the club. Sad times indeed. No one in charge of recruitment has a clue.

12-05-2024, 09:30 PM
‘Fur coat and nae knickers.’ That’ll be engraved on the club’s tombstone.

12-05-2024, 09:43 PM
coz they should have got mcinnes

Never 🤣

12-05-2024, 09:43 PM

We signed players for the defence in January

12-05-2024, 09:49 PM

How many played today?

Owen Beven…great signing..

Triantis can’t even get a game in last 4 and he moved him into midfield ?!

Then the rest…

Cadden wasn’t signed as a right back - he’s a wing back in a 3-5-2.

Hanlon is leaving for a reason.

Rocky was signed by mistake.

Obita has improved but still at fault for several goals.

Add in 2 dodgy keepers - one who should retire as his reactions are too slow. The other just doesn’t give us any confidence.

12-05-2024, 09:54 PM

Are you for real?

12-05-2024, 10:12 PM
I prefer missed opportunity to poisoned chalice.

13-05-2024, 02:54 AM
Decent enough budget

It's not so much managers not getting it right - as not getting the right managers. Hibs is a difficult job. Whether a manager is experienced or a rookie, if they don't hit the ground running then the pressure will be on.

This makes it a hard place to develop for a rookie manager so it would be easy to say that we should rely on experience. But for experienced coaches the line between success and failure is slim also, and we have had some notably successful rookies in relatively recent times (think Mowbray, Stubbs and to a lesser extent, Collins). It's a big job at Hibs that demands full focus in addition to talent and a high standard of professionalism. At the same time, with the budgets we operate on, there are not many experienced coaches with a track record of success and so we often look to emerging talent in the hope of finding a gem. This is a high risk strategy as recent appointments have shown.

heid the baw
13-05-2024, 03:09 AM
Decent enough budget

Because they don't have any charisma or give off any sense of personal authority. They don't seem to have the ability to identify or source a trusted player who can demonstrate leadership qualities on the park.
They have lacked any passion for the club, they have been uninspiring in interviews
They must all be great at job interviews or the people interviewing are inept

13-05-2024, 06:42 AM
Are you for real?

He's right. Hibs never ignore the defence. We just sign crap.