View Full Version : This squad - enough's enough

12-05-2024, 02:59 PM
Time and time again we have heard through countless managers that the players "aren't happy" or "think training's *****". Here's a radical thought - maybe the fans think the sqaud's play, irrespective of manager, is also *****?

I want the manager gone but I also wouldn't be bothered if none of this lot came back next year. It's been the same crap for years.

12-05-2024, 03:01 PM
Totally agree.

12-05-2024, 03:01 PM
95% of this squad need binned.

It's not all going to happen this window sadly but we need to shift as many on as possible.

I have ZERO sympathy for those tasked with doing it. They got us in this mess so they better get us the **** out of it.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 03:02 PM
There genuinely isn’t a player id keep. I include Boyle in there

12-05-2024, 03:02 PM
Couldn't agree more. So many passengers. Second to every ball half hearted don't track runners give the ball away so poor. Genuinely would lose no sleep if never saw any of them and I mean any in a Hibs shirt again.

12-05-2024, 03:05 PM
Usually I’m a bit more forgiving when it comes to the ‘get rid of the lot of them’ shouts, but with Paul and Lewy already on their way out, I genuinely don’t care about who else is here next season.

It’d be nice to see Myziane stay, but if he doesn’t I won’t shed a tear. Otherwise, I’m not sure there’s a single player in this squad I’d be actively trying to keep if they were out of contract. Absolutely filled with apathy about this team, and have been for a good while now.

Twiglet
12-05-2024, 03:19 PM
Some of the players should be embarrassed how they're playing. You can put some of it on the coaching but the attitude and decisions on the pitch are down to the players.

12-05-2024, 03:25 PM
Myziane is the only good player we have.

We need a new captain - Newell isn’t the leader we need.

We need fresh speed out wide.

We need x2 new goalkeepers.

Central midfield has been a joke since SJM left.

Need a whole new back line - even Obita as much as he’s improved isn’t a starter. Same with Cadden.

New manager needs to be bold and do this or he will be sacked sooner rather than later.

12-05-2024, 03:36 PM
Usually jump to the defence of some players but as someone else said now that Lewy and Paul are away I won't greet if literally any of our squad was to leave.

12-05-2024, 03:38 PM
A defence that can’t keep goals out, a midfield that can’t pass, and strikers who can’t score.

And it’s cost a fortune.

12-05-2024, 03:50 PM
A defence that can’t keep goals out, a midfield that can’t pass, and strikers who can’t score.

And it’s cost a fortune.I'm always a glass half full rather than half empty type of guy, at one point I was keen on the manager getting a transfer window to see how things went.

I'm done now, the glass hasn't just flipped to being half empty, there's a hole in the bottom and it now totally drained.
In fact with this management team and squad, the thing is bloody smashed.

I now need a whole brand new glass to start again for next season

12-05-2024, 03:55 PM
Ken what, they can all go on their holidays now bar Hanlon/Stevenson and we'll play the kids. Knock yourselves out.

12-05-2024, 03:56 PM
Time and time again we have heard through countless managers that the players "aren't happy" or "think training's *****". Here's a radical thought - maybe the fans think the sqaud's play, irrespective of manager, is also *****?

I want the manager gone but I also wouldn't be bothered if none of this lot came back next year. It's been the same crap for years.

Here Here.

12-05-2024, 03:57 PM
Are there still posters who argue we have a good squad and one that would walk into all teams outside Hearts & Aberdeen?

Montgomery going is just low hanging fruit while we continue to hear “Hanlon is our best defender”, “Newell is the least of our problems”, “Vente just needs played in his correct position” etc etc

12-05-2024, 04:48 PM
There are maybe 3 or 4 I'd keep. It's a bit much when Hanlon is our MotM but tbf he did scrape a 4/10

12-05-2024, 04:50 PM
Yep. Not one could complain if binned. *****.

ehf
12-05-2024, 04:52 PM
Myziane is the only good player we have.

We need a new captain - Newell isn’t the leader we need.

We need fresh speed out wide.

We need x2 new goalkeepers.

Central midfield has been a joke since SJM left.

Need a whole new back line - even Obita as much as he’s improved isn’t a starter. Same with Cadden.

New manager needs to be bold and do this or he will be sacked sooner rather than later.

Myziane was as bad as the rest of them today - no desire or fight at all.

lugz
12-05-2024, 05:41 PM
Would happily see the back of all these losers, the body language was frightening after each goal. ALF looked the most frustrated and he's coming to the end of his career and knows he won't be here next season.

12-05-2024, 05:47 PM
Myziane was as bad as the rest of them today - no desire or fight at all.

But he’s basically stopped us getting relegated.

12-05-2024, 05:48 PM
The whole lot of them are garbage.

But the problem is if we win 1-0 during the week and Joe Newell manages to complete two passes, people will go on about how he’s great and a key part of the team going forward. Where the reality is he’s mediocre and the red of them are as well and need replaced.

Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 05:49 PM
The whole lot of them are garbage.

But the problem is if we win 1-0 during the week and Joe Newell manages to complete two passes, people will go on about how he’s great and a key part of the team going forward. Where the reality is he’s mediocre and the red of them are as well and need replaced.

Exactly. It’s too far gone now. It’s been this way for 3 seasons now. No one at the club is immune

12-05-2024, 05:50 PM
Marcondes hit a 30 pass straight out of play and a good few around me applauded it, and not sarcastically. That's how low our standards are.

12-05-2024, 05:55 PM
I said after the January window there were too many foreign players in the squad and we're lacking the fight needed for Scottish football and I stand by that. This squad is a complete mess,theres a lot of work to be done.

lugz
12-05-2024, 05:59 PM
I said after the January window there were too many foreign players in the squad and we're lacking the fight needed for Scottish football and I stand by that. This squad is a complete mess,theres a lot of work to be done.

Not sure where people come from is anything to do with it. Hearts played 5 non UK players yesterday, we played 6 today.

12-05-2024, 06:03 PM
Newell is part of the problem. Gives the ball away and fouls on the recovery getting booked with 12 minutes gone so he becomes totally ineffective for 78 minutes.

12-05-2024, 06:04 PM
Joe Newell’s yellow summed him up in a nutshell - good drive, too many touches, misplaced pass, utterly stupid and lazy pull back in an area not dangerous - a complete lack of discipline and had him playing 80 minutes (yet again) within himself. He’s no leader, he’s no talisman, he’s no character, and he offers the side nothing of any meaningful play. Get rid now. Absolutely zero desire to take this team forward and never turns in regular 7/8 out of 10 performances- he’s beyond average and I’m sick of seeing his name on the team sheet (like many others) !

Badge
12-05-2024, 06:05 PM
Yep. Not one could complain if binned. *****.
Even Joe?

12-05-2024, 06:06 PM
Newell is part of the problem. Gives the ball away and fouls on the recovery getting booked with 12 minutes gone so he becomes totally ineffective for 78 minutes.

A really big part of the problem. Someone folk rely on him getting on the ball and dictating play, he's easily been one of our worst players the past wee while.

I hate saying this about players, but looks like he doesn't care.

12-05-2024, 06:09 PM
Even Joe?

Today, absolutely. Boyle, Vente, Youan, NMW too. Crap.

12-05-2024, 06:12 PM
Not sure where people come from is anything to do with it. Hearts played 5 non UK players yesterday, we played 6 today.

because most of them are on loan, have no knowledge about our game and have no care about how they leave the club.

12-05-2024, 06:13 PM
Umpteen players who would probably play a part if they had the right players around them.

Can't have a team of them.

Keeper looks terrified.

I don't think you can make a case for either full back being a long term answer. Cadden in particular.

Rocky will never be a part of a centre half pairing you could see as reliable.

Newell's the eternal debate as to whether he has enough merits or not - I think you need to look elsewhere for a new driving force for this team.

Boyle gets a pre-season to rediscover his spark.

NWM has something about him, but would need two good players in there where can be ball-winner and cover ground.

Vente isn't a lone striker in the SPFL sadly. Not mobile enough, not strong enough, not quick enough.

No point mentioning Maolida and Marcondes as they won't be here, but image/reputation has carried the latter long way with very little to show for it.

That leaves about 15/20 average players who are much of a muchness with few discernible qualities to set them apart.

And a manager who is uninspiring, is overseeing a team that has a horrendous shape out of possession, and has so few instances where his team have shown guts and a will to win.

12-05-2024, 06:27 PM
because most of them are on loan, have no knowledge about our game and have no care about how they leave the club.

2 loan players started and one on the bench. I don't think we can use that as an excuse.

12-05-2024, 06:33 PM
It feels a bit like when Butcher left. There was hardly any players you would have been sad to see go. It is bad enough thinking about the ones that play and sit on the bench but there are another half a dozen or so out on loan. The first thing we need to do is make a decision on the manager. If he is staying then they really need to stick to that and mean it. We can't get 3 games into next season and have to change again. If he is staying we need to make a decision on the playing style. For me I don't think we can afford to play the deliberate passing game. We can't afford players that will do that consistently imo.

12-05-2024, 06:39 PM
2 loan players started and one on the bench. I don't think we can use that as an excuse.

yeah, just today's disaster, but what about the rest? The squad is a bloated mess with players who don't appear to give a **** about our club. The last time that was the case we wen't down.

SickBoy32
12-05-2024, 06:45 PM
Read earlier that 20 players are out of contract next summer, that’s our chance to rectify things.

Next season will mirror this, and last season unfortunately.

Let’s pray that the rumours of extensions for Bushiri and Newell were just nonsense !

Kensell out !

12-05-2024, 06:50 PM
Are there still posters who argue we have a good squad and one that would walk into all teams outside Hearts & Aberdeen?

Montgomery going is just low hanging fruit while we continue to hear “Hanlon is our best defender”, “Newell is the least of our problems”, “Vente just needs played in his correct position” etc etc

It’s pretty obvious that most of our players would walk into the teams outwith Aberdeen and Hearts.

Look at Gogic, Paul McGinn, Drey Wright etc. Hanlon will likely move to Killie or Dundee and play loads of games.

We’ve got major problems but a decent manager sorts lots of those pretty quick. Alan Stubbs was able to take Lewis Stevenson, Liam Craig, Scott Robertson, Danny Handling etc from a relegated Butcher team and integrate them into a good team within a few months. He then moved some on when circumstances allowed and he could bring in more of “his own players”.

Even Lee Johnson took this squad (give or take) and got them within one game of finishing 4th.

So yeah at our level there is tons of quality in this squad. Equally I’d not be sad if any individual left tonight.

12-05-2024, 06:56 PM
I would only keep Paul.

12-05-2024, 06:56 PM

Totally agree

12-05-2024, 06:58 PM
It’s pretty obvious that most of our players would walk into the teams outwith Aberdeen and Hearts.

Look at Gogic, Paul McGinn, Drey Wright etc. Hanlon will likely move to Killie or Dundee and play loads of games.

We’ve got major problems but a decent manager sorts lots of those pretty quick. Alan Stubbs was able to take Lewis Stevenson, Liam Craig, Scott Robertson, Danny Handling etc from a relegated Butcher team and integrate them into a good team within a few months. He then moved some on when circumstances allowed and he could bring in more of “his own players”.

Even Lee Johnson took this squad (give or take) and got them within one game of finishing 4th.

So yeah at our level there is tons of quality in this squad. Equally I’d not be sad if any individual left tonight.

Individually isn’t the problem, collectively they all drag each other down. Nisbet, Porteous & pre injury Boyle were capable of dragging others up at times. This lot get talked up a lot but if you offered those other clubs a straight choice between either the money this squad cost to assemble, or having this actual squad how many would take the actual squad?

HarpOnHibee
12-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Said it before. But the way our players are performing go far beyond simply not being very good. Even sub standard players can manage the fundamental basics on the pitch, while ours look like they genuinely don't have a clue what they're doing. Perhaps they have a point when they say training is *****. Perhaps it really is ***** and that's why they're struggling to even get the most basic aspects of the game right. If this is the case, then it's not going to matter how many times we refresh the squad.

Exuberance1875
12-05-2024, 07:11 PM
Players are about to get another clean slate and another manager sacked.

Was impressive watching Cadden play out there with his new rollerblades on though

12-05-2024, 09:12 PM
Get rid of every last one of them and start again. I include the coaching staff in that too.

DIXIHIBS
12-05-2024, 09:17 PM
Marcondes hit a 30 pass straight out of play and a good few around me applauded it, and not sarcastically. That's how low our standards are.

Guy behind me said it was a great pass...just unlucky. If Campbell had done that he would have went berserk. We are truly awful right now.

12-05-2024, 09:17 PM
Happy to tend to my garden this afternoon

Goodness me, we look worse on the box

Slow, predictable, boring, so many more words could be used to describe that team

These players are on par with the manager, lethal combination

Only one I would keep is moriah-Welsh

Levitt, Newell and Rocky my god, awful, we as a collective are an absolute shambles

12-05-2024, 09:53 PM
Get rid of every last one of them and start again. I include the coaching staff in that too.

Totally agree

He's here!
12-05-2024, 09:58 PM
Happy to tend to my garden this afternoon

Goodness me, we look worse on the box

Slow, predictable, boring, so many more words could be used to describe that team

These players are on par with the manager, lethal combination

Only one I would keep is moriah-Welsh

Levitt, Newell and Rocky my god, awful, we as a collective are an absolute shambles

Watching that display you wonder how we managed to stay clear of a relegation battle.

Another embarrassing result likely incoming v Motherwell when you look at their 5-1 away win yesterday versus our result at County.

EGL2000
12-05-2024, 10:23 PM

Since when did foreign players have anything to do with levels of fight jezzo.

lugz
12-05-2024, 10:24 PM
Since when did foreign players have anything to do with levels of fight jezzo.

That was exactly my point. They’ve then since clarified about loans etc

12-05-2024, 10:35 PM
It feels a bit like when Butcher left. There was hardly any players you would have been sad to see go. It is bad enough thinking about the ones that play and sit on the bench but there are another half a dozen or so out on loan. The first thing we need to do is make a decision on the manager. If he is staying then they really need to stick to that and mean it. We can't get 3 games into next season and have to change again. If he is staying we need to make a decision on the playing style. For me I don't think we can afford to play the deliberate passing game. We can't afford players that will do that consistently imo.

And then with Butcher expecting to formulate plans for the championship campaign 💥
1) New CEO LD sacked Butcher
2) George Craig and Mathie did some proper recruitment and McGinn and Allan were a midfield pairing
3) Rookie manager Stubbs appointed
4) Young guy from reserves steps up becomes our main striker

Once we get the Recruitment Department leadership right then the rest will follow.

12-05-2024, 10:57 PM
And then with Butcher expecting to formulate plans for the championship campaign ��
1) New CEO LD sacked Butcher
2) George Craig and Mathie did some proper recruitment and McGinn and Allan were a midfield pairing
3) Rookie manager Stubbs appointed
4) Young guy from reserves steps up becomes our main striker

Once we get the Recruitment Department leadership right then the rest will follow.

Mcginn and Allan weren't a midfield pairing. Mcginn was signed a year later as Allan slithered away.

Spot on otherwise. Good times. What a brilliant CEO Dempster was. Truly felt like the first team mattered and everyone was behind it.

12-05-2024, 10:59 PM
Mcginn and Allan weren't a midfield pairing. Mcginn was signed a year later as Allan slithered away.

Spot on otherwise. Good times. What a brilliant CEO Dempster was. Truly felt like the first team mattered and everyone was behind it.

If we could have a set up where LD concentrated solely on the playing side of things I’d be all for it

13-05-2024, 05:10 AM
Many in the current squad have contributed to several managers either getting, or facing the sack.

If Monty goes they will have blood on their hands to some degree.

We need to change the culture, and that can only happen by getting rid of as many of the current squad as we can.

No exceptions, no one exempt.

13-05-2024, 05:23 AM
The squad is a joke from back to front. There’s very few players I’d want us to stick with. We spent near on £2m in the summer and ended up with the ***** that we did, can’t wait to see what they’ve got lined up for a couple months time.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2024, 07:01 AM
Many in the current squad have contributed to several managers either getting, or facing the sack.

We need to change the culture, and that can only happen by getting rid of as many of the current squad as we can.

Off the top of my head we have the following who have been around under the last 3 managers:

Hanlon
Stevenson
Rocky
Cadden
Newell
JDH
Campbell

I think it would be a massive stretch to say that Hanlon or Stevenson contributed to any of their sackings. They both generally were good enough when called upon under Maloney and LJ and neither have been used really this season.

After that, we’re left with 5. I’m not sure there’s nearly as many players who are consistently seeing off/contributing to the sacking of managers as some folk seem to think.

HendoDelivered
13-05-2024, 07:02 AM

This is why I was for giving the manager time and axing the players for a change.

ChuckNor
13-05-2024, 07:13 AM
There isn’t one player I’d miss as it stands. A shower of losers that have disgraced the badge this season. Sadly too many will stay due to overly generous contracts negotiated by our leaders…

If people knew the sum McKirdy, Kenneh and Dylan Tait are being paid…

13-05-2024, 08:14 AM
There isn’t one player I’d miss as it stands. A shower of losers that have disgraced the badge this season. Sadly too many will stay due to overly generous contracts negotiated by our leaders…

If people knew the sum McKirdy, Kenneh and Dylan Tait are being paid…

Tell us then?

13-05-2024, 08:20 AM
Off the top of my head we have the following who have been around under the last 3 managers:

Hanlon
Stevenson
Rocky
Cadden
Newell
JDH
Campbell

I think it would be a massive stretch to say that Hanlon or Stevenson contributed to any of their sackings. They both generally were good enough when called upon under Maloney and LJ and neither have been used really this season.

After that, we’re left with 5. I’m not sure there’s nearly as many players who are consistently seeing off/contributing to the sacking of managers as some folk seem to think.

:agree: It won’t stop that myth being repeated though.

WestStandWillie
13-05-2024, 08:52 AM
Thoughts on squad

Marshall - Too old and has cost us a fair few points this season. No renewal.
Wollacott - Runs away from the ball. Get rid
Boruc - Struggled out on loan at Arbroath. Their fans don't rate him at all. Get Rid
Johnson - Keep and loan to Championship with a view to being future number 1.

Hanlon - Already announced he's leaving
Rocky - For every 1 good game he has a few bad games. Too much of a risk and has had some howlers. Get Rid
Fish - Has 4 or 5 howlers in him. He'll be a league 2 defender next season. Get Rid
Harbottle - Get Rid
McLelland - What even was the point! - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
McIntyre - Ready to challenge Obita
Obita - Successfully seen off Lewy. Captain material? Keep
Cadden - Don't think we saw the best of Cadden this season. Keep
Whittaker - Loan
Miller - Not the best but not the worst. With Cadden and Megwa around, we don't need him. Get Rid
Megwa - Good prospect and one to challenge Cadden. Keep

Newell - Teflon Joe. I think he's one of the reasons we are where are are. Time to move him on, can't control a midfield. Get Rid
Doyle-Hayes - Undecided. He was unlucky with injuries this season. Keep him in the squad for now.
Campbell - Pops up with goals in big games. Keep
Henderson - Not his brother and won't ever be. Gave it a good go but he won't get a game here. Get Rid
Kenneh - Flashes of promise in his early days here but went downhill fast. Not exactly pulling up trees at Shrewbury. Get Rid
Tait - What was the point in signing him? Let Falkirk have him if they want him - Get Rid
Triantis - Crazy that it takes a player 20 minutes to get into a game. Liability. Get Rid
Amos - Not seen enough of him. Keep
Delferriere - Surplus to requirements. Get Rid
Moriah-Welsh - Showed early promise but has perhaps taken his eye of the ball lately. Keep.
Molotnikov - Loan out for experience
Levitt - Flashes of brilliance from him. I'd keep the faith.
Marcondes - Would break our wage structure and he's went missing in games recently. Get Rid

Mackay - Similar to Tait. No point keeping him here if he's just going to get loaned every season. Get Rid
Jair -For everyone concerned, we should just cut him loose. Nowhere near good enough and I think he's struggle in Championship. Get Rid
Youan - When switched on he's on fire but he's too greedy for my liking. I'd say keep for now.
Boyle - Hard season for him with injuries and I think a good rest and pre season could bring him back. Keep.
Maolida - We should be doing everything in our power to sign him. Player of the season for me. Real quality. Keep
McKirdy - Came with an attitude, didn't set the heather on fire and playing time cut short by health issues. Get Rid
Mayenda - He could walk past me in the street and i'd not recognise him. Waste of a loan Get Rid

ALF - It's being reported he's leaving. Shame as I thought he was a good option for us
Vente - There's a player there. Just needs the right support/strike partner and he'd do what he done at Roda. Keep

With all that said, we need a new spine of the team. A few proper leaders and no nonsense players that would get stuck in and allow creative players like Levitt to do his thing. We absolutely should be doing everything in our power to sign Maolida.

13-05-2024, 09:15 AM
Thoughts on squad

Boruc - Struggled out on loan at Arbroath. Their fans don't rate him at all. Get Rid

Rocky - For every 1 good game he has a few bad games. Too much of a risk and has had some howlers. Get Rid
Fish - Has 4 or 5 howlers in him. He'll be a league 2 defender next season. Get Rid
Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan
Miller - Not the best but not the worst. With Cadden and Megwa around, we don't need him. Get Rid

Newell - Teflon Joe. I think he's one of the reasons we are where are are. Time to move him on, can't control a midfield. Get Rid
Doyle-Hayes - Undecided. He was unlucky with injuries this season. Keep him in the squad for now.
Henderson - Not his brother and won't ever be. Gave it a good go but he won't get a game here. Get Rid
Kenneh - Flashes of promise in his early days here but went downhill fast. Not exactly pulling up trees at Shrewbury. Get Rid
Tait - What was the point in signing him? Let Falkirk have him if they want him - Get Rid
Triantis - Crazy that it takes a player 20 minutes to get into a game. Liability. Get Rid
Moriah-Welsh - Showed early promise but has perhaps taken his eye of the ball lately. Keep.
Marcondes - Would break our wage structure and he's went missing in games recently. Get Rid

Mackay - Similar to Tait. No point keeping him here if he's just going to get loaned every season. Get Rid
Jair -For everyone concerned, we should just cut him loose. Nowhere near good enough and I think he's struggle in Championship. Get Rid
Youan - When switched on he's on fire but he's too greedy for my liking. I'd say keep for now.
Boyle - Hard season for him with injuries and I think a good rest and pre season could bring him back. Keep.
Maolida - We should be doing everything in our power to sign him. Player of the season for me. Real quality. Keep
McKirdy - Came with an attitude, didn't set the heather on fire and playing time cut short by health issues. Get Rid
Mayenda - He could walk past me in the street and i'd not recognise him. Waste of a loan Get Rid

ALF - It's being reported he's leaving. Shame as I thought he was a good option for us
Vente - There's a player there. Just needs the right support/strike partner and he'd do what he done at Roda. Keep

With all that said, we need a new spine of the team. A few proper leaders and no nonsense players that would get stuck in and allow creative players like Levitt to do his thing. We absolutely should be doing everything in our power to sign Maolida.
Quite a good summary agree with most of that though tempted to let Vente go if we can get someone daft enough to buy him

That leaves us with 5 players so what next ? :greengrin

13-05-2024, 09:22 AM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Agree with most of that, although I think you are being kind to our full backs.

snedzuk
13-05-2024, 09:29 AM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

You've seen more in Cadden and Megwa than me but otherwise spot on.

EGL2000
13-05-2024, 09:50 AM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Id be getting rid of Levitt as well. I actually think we could probably get some money for him because he's maybe not fully tarnished his reputation, but has been awful all season long for me. I don't even think he does the basics well. A midfielder who can hardly get out of second gear is not a luxury we can afford.

13-05-2024, 09:51 AM
If theres a good offer for Vente from the Netherlands I'd be selling

j'adorehibs
13-05-2024, 10:02 AM
I'd agree with getting rid of the whole squad to be honest but lets face it all we will see happening is-
the loan players going back to respective clubs/or signed by others
players we had loaned out being loaned out again if still under contract, no one would seriously want to buy them
those out of contract leaving - so the oldguard basically - marshall, le fondre, hanlon and stevenson
the rest are all under contract so we are stuck unless we get offers and i can only see that happening if players accept to drop a level

so in essence we are stuck with what we have until contracts are up next year so we can only expect about 5/6 signings

absolute shambles in squad management , in fact its farcical some of the contracts that we have handed out recently to likes of McKirdy, Campbell, JDH etc etc

next season is going to be tougher than this i reckon

EGL2000
13-05-2024, 10:13 AM
I'd agree with getting rid of the whole squad to be honest but lets face it all we will see happening is-
the loan players going back to respective clubs/or signed by others
players we had loaned out being loaned out again if still under contract, no one would seriously want to buy them
those out of contract leaving - so the oldguard basically - marshall, le fondre, hanlon and stevenson
the rest are all under contract so we are stuck unless we get offers and i can only see that happening if players accept to drop a level

so in essence we are stuck with what we have until contracts are up next year so we can only expect about 5/6 signings

absolute shambles in squad management , in fact its farcical some of the contracts that we have handed out recently to likes of McKirdy, Campbell, JDH etc etc

next season is going to be tougher than this i reckon

I could see Henderson getting an offer from the team in Belgium or another looks like he's had a decent enough season. Belgian league spend more than Scottish teams out with uglies so wouldn't put it past a team offering 100k.

I also think a championship team would go for MacKay. Take him for free but obviously that cuts out us having to pay wages.

Few others who I think you'd be surprised about as well, lower league English teams could easily pick up harbottle etc.

j'adorehibs
13-05-2024, 10:18 AM
I could see Henderson getting an offer from the team in Belgium or another looks like he's had a decent enough season. Belgian league spend more than Scottish teams out with uglies so wouldn't put it past a team offering 100k.

I also think a championship team would go for MacKay. Take him for free but obviously that cuts out us having to pay wages.

Few others who I think you'd be surprised about as well, lower league English teams could easily pick up harbottle etc.

yes so maybe outwith henderson any contracted player , as i said, would need to drop a level from Hibs

Victor
13-05-2024, 10:37 AM
ALF was going ballistic at the midfield when he got his booking. He had to backtrack and foul the attacking Aberdeen player because the midfield were backing off. With his experience I would be interested to know his thoughts on the management and his team mates. Wouldn’t be a bad idea for someone at director level speaking to him before he departs.

13-05-2024, 10:57 AM
Finally some common sense being spoken.

For way too long we've been kidding ourselves on that we have some good players.

I get that folk think we should back anyone who wears the strip and all that, but sometimes, when it's glaringly obvious, it's better to call them out as crap.

We keep making the same mistakes over and over and wonder why nothing improves.

For Vente, see Melkerson. For Alf, see McGeady. etc etc

You can try and pick out some good things if you like, and ALF might be a cracking player. But if they don't get a game, they are by definition, useless to us.

None of these players will be remembered fondly with the exception of Hanlon, Stevenson and Boyle. The rest have contributed hee-haw.

13-05-2024, 11:01 AM

Let's start with NM first, followed by Triantis.

No blood on Paul or Lewis's hands when it comes to NM. It's all on himself.

13-05-2024, 11:04 AM
Finally some common sense being spoken.

For way too long we've been kidding ourselves on that we have some good players.

I get that folk think we should back anyone who wears the strip and all that, but sometimes, when it's glaringly obvious, it's better to call them out as crap.

We keep making the same mistakes over and over and wonder why nothing improves.

For Vente, see Melkerson. For Alf, see McGeady. etc etc

You can try and pick out some good things if you like, and ALF might be a cracking player. But if they don't get a game, they are by definition, useless to us.

None of these players will be remembered fondly with the exception of Hanlon, Stevenson and Boyle. The rest have contributed hee-haw.

Comparing Vente and Melkersen is bizarre. Nothing alike.

Vente hasn't worked, but his signing was absolutely nothing like Melkersen. Melkersen didn't play for months as he wasn't ready. Vente started immediately and scored in Europe. Vente is a proven footballer and there is absolutely zero wrong with his pedigree. I'm willing to bet if we signed the top scorer from the dutch 2nd division every season we'd get a lot more hits than misses.

I dunno what is going on with him. He has shown there is potential there. Possibly a new manager or system can get it out of him. Very unlikely he gets binned after 1 season, so we should find out.

13-05-2024, 11:07 AM
Vente was signed as a star striker. How many has he scored?

I liked him, and thought we were on to something. But either he's really no that good or he's not being used properly.

Either way, he's failed to deliver after costing us a few quid. The same as Melkerson.

The dalmeny
13-05-2024, 11:10 AM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Isn't Zaid still contracted? He'd be a loan anyway.

13-05-2024, 11:10 AM
Vente was signed as a star striker. How many has he scored?

I liked him, and thought we were on to something. But either he's really no that good or he's not being used properly.

Either way, he's failed to deliver after costing us a few quid. The same as Melkerson.

I'm not saying he hasn't failed. I'm saying his signing was nothing at all like Melkersen

Melkersen was a young, lost laddie. 19 year old or something. Vente is a proven goalscorer at a decent level.

PHeffernan
13-05-2024, 11:13 AM
Tell us then?

That was funny

K-Zazu
13-05-2024, 11:16 AM
Obita isn’t good a good enough defender to play at LB. I think maybe more of an attacking left sided winger maybe. The way he just fell over yesterday was ridiculous.

Exuberance1875
13-05-2024, 11:22 AM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Pretty much spot on with all of these. Unsure of Obita being captain material, think he’s been offered a new contract too soon if you ask me.

I also think we have seen the best of Cadden which is of great concern and he’d be on my Get Rid list, we concede far too many goals with him back there.

13-05-2024, 11:27 AM
https://youtu.be/QsY066wa08E?si=Ctu9dSv13F-bVc77
Saw the title and thought of this

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 11:32 AM
Really disappointed in Obita , decent going forward without being great . Defensively he's been awful , time and time again. Levitt is another that for the money we spent has been mainly anonymous in games , another big disappointment☹️

13-05-2024, 11:34 AM

Hanlon
Stevenson
Rocky
Cadden
Newell
JDH
Campbell

Those 7 key players have absolute mediocrity written all over them though?

We’ve tried to build teams around these players for years. It ain’t working.

13-05-2024, 11:37 AM

Surely we need players that are the same calibre as Aberdeen and Hearts if we hope to seriously compete with them. The fact that almost none of the present Hibs squad is that standard is exactly why we are languishing in the lower reaches of the league.

13-05-2024, 11:38 AM
Pretty much spot on with all of these. Unsure of Obita being captain material, think he’s been offered a new contract too soon if you ask me.

I also think we have seen the best of Cadden which is of great concern and he’d be on my Get Rid list, we concede far too many goals with him back there.

Cadden is absolutely *****, he can’t defend and offers nothing going forward. He also now appears to be unwilling to jump and challenge for a header since his injury.

mcfly
13-05-2024, 11:46 AM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

As most of the team squad is being emptied by this post - we are just assuming that they want to leave and can get other clubs.

If they’re under contract how do you move them on? Who would want them?

Thing for me today is the silence from the board. They are just as guilty of this shambles as the manage, players etc..

NM excuse is var decisions snd 20 secs from top 6. Wow what a target top 6. Sums up the loser mentality at hibs.

No wonder fans are giving up going…..

EGL2000
13-05-2024, 11:49 AM
Surely we need players that are the same calibre as Aberdeen and Hearts if we hope to seriously compete with them. The fact that almost none of the present Hibs squad is that standard is exactly why we are languishing in the lower reaches of the league.

Don't think we want players of the Aberdeen calibre they are just about as bad as us currently!

13-05-2024, 11:57 AM
Obita isn’t good a good enough defender to play at LB. I think maybe more of an attacking left sided winger maybe. The way he just fell over yesterday was ridiculous.

A frustration of mine, with NM, is that the squad he inherited always looked like a 352 formation squad
To bed yourself in, in a job, especially a good step-up like the Hibs job is, you start with getting more out of what you've got (and you bring in any more fundamental changes over time)

Obita is clearly best suited to LWB, likewise Cadden at RWB

Hanlon as the spare man (to read the game and talk the younger colts through it) alongside Fish and Rocky

Levitt (if he had to play) is never part of a two man midfield, but he has potential as the no10 in a three, say NMW, Newell and Levitt

Then you've got 2 up front, vente/alf youan/boyle (and that's before January brought in Marcondes and Maolida)

The fact NM has stuck rigidly to 4 at the back is a mistake, both for our defensive solidity and the middle of the park being conceded to the opposition, time & again

13-05-2024, 11:58 AM
ALF was going ballistic at the midfield when he got his booking. He had to backtrack and foul the attacking Aberdeen player because the midfield were backing off. With his experience I would be interested to know his thoughts on the management and his team mates. Wouldn’t be a bad idea for someone at director level speaking to him before he departs.

Very good question. ALF was one of the few yesterday that looked like he cared. Ironic we are getting rid when we are crying out for experience and character in the team.

13-05-2024, 12:06 PM

I was responding to a post that specifically referenced the teams outwith Aberdeen and Hearts. We do also have plenty of players that are as good as what Aberdeen and Hearts have.

Prior to yesterday the last 5 league games against Aberdeen had seen Hibs win something like 12-2 on aggregate. Hearts have beat us once in 3 efforts this season and that was down to a last minute goal.

Again - not a big defence of the players from me here but there is plenty of quality for a good manager to work with. And a good manager would also have strengthened the defence in January, at all costs.

13-05-2024, 12:20 PM
A frustration of mine, with NM, is that the squad he inherited always looked like a 352 formation squad
To bed yourself in, in a job, especially a good step-up like the Hibs job is, you start with getting more out of what you've got (and you bring in any more fundamental changes over time)

Obita is clearly best suited to LWB, likewise Cadden at RWB

Hanlon as the spare man (to read the game and talk the younger colts through it) alongside Fish and Rocky

Levitt (if he had to play) is never part of a two man midfield, but he has potential as the no10 in a three, say NMW, Newell and Levitt

Then you've got 2 up front, vente/alf youan/boyle (and that's before January brought in Marcondes and Maolida)

The fact NM has stuck rigidly to 4 at the back is a mistake, both for our defensive solidity and the middle of the park being conceded to the opposition, time & again

We played 3-5-2 for a spell last season and it was a disaster. Rocky and Hanlon are just an awful together whether that’s in a pair or a back 3.

13-05-2024, 12:20 PM
Very good question. ALF was one of the few yesterday that looked like he cared. Ironic we are getting rid when we are crying out for experience and character in the team.

Is it Hibs decision or ALFs to move on in the summer?

13-05-2024, 12:28 PM
Is it Hibs decision or ALFs to move on in the summer?

As far as I’m aware Hibs. He had an option of another year providing he played a set number of games but we tried to get out of it as part of getting the overall age of the squad down I was told.

13-05-2024, 12:29 PM
Marshall - Go
Wollacott - Go
Boruc - Go
Johnson - Keep and give a run of games

Hanlon - Away
Rocky - Go
Fish - Go
Harbottle - Go
McLelland - Go
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - Away
McIntyre - Back up LB
Obita - Keep
Cadden - Keep
Whittaker - Loan
Miller - Go
Megwa - Keep

Newell - Go
Doyle-Hayes - Go
Campbell - Go
Henderson - Go
Kenneh - Go
Tait - Go
Triantis - Go
Amos - Go
Delferriere - Go
Moriah-Welsh - Keep
Molotnikov - Loan
Levitt - Go
Marcondes - Go

Mackay - Go
Jair - Go
Youan - Keep
Boyle - Keep
Maolida - Keep if possible
McKirdy - Go
Mayenda - Go

ALF - Go
Vente - Undecided

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2024, 12:37 PM
Those 7 key players have absolute mediocrity written all over them though?

We’ve tried to build teams around these players for years. It ain’t working.

I don’t think that’s a fair description of Hanlon or Stevenson, especially prior to this season.

My point was though that the whole ‘this squad has seen off X amount of managers’ isn’t really the case. Maloney left us 2 years ago and there’s only about 7 players still playing first team football at Hibs this season that were here under him.

According to the official site, our current first team squad has 24 players. 11 of them arrived under LJ and 6 under Montgomery, so 11 of them have seen off one manager and 6 haven’t seen off any.

PHeffernan
13-05-2024, 12:59 PM
Thoughts on squad

I think he has been one of our better players since NM came in. Can't remember any goal costing mistakes. But at 39 it's game over
Has done his own legs. Good shot saver but can't do the other stuff
Did okay for Hibs but looked poor when I saw him play for Arbroath against Queens Park. Arbroath fans I spoke to thought he was doing fine.Only 21 which is development stage for a keeper

Only 34, still the best centre back at the club and was our best player yesterday. Madness to both not play him with Fish this season or keep him for a final year,
Has cost us a lot of points this season. Played far better when LJ had him keep it simple. His strength is strength. NM playing style doesn't suit him.
Wrong, will be playing high EFL League 1 at worst and possibly EFL Championship next season, He started the season badly. He would have been better with Hanlon next to him as he had last season.
Harbottle - Get Rid
He only played one game for Hibs at centre half before going out on loan. Could still be a runner but NM sent him out on loan sharpish so he will hope NM is gone.
Has played very well at QOS this season after a slow start. Strange that you see Oscar MacIntyre challenging Obita and this guy as a total non starter. Has played 50% more minutes in Division 1 than MacIntyre this season.
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
36 is time to go
Appears to have done well at Annan after struggling at QOS. A loan a league up in the Championship next season
Whittaker - Loan
Combine the skills of Miller, Cadden and Megwa and you have some player but they all have weaknesses. A shame one of them wasn't a left back. I like the raw power of Miller but he does some daft stuff.

Made highlighted comments to your post above about the keepers and the defence but couldn't face assessing the midfield so stopped :greengrin

Your get rids along with your loans out would leave us with only 12 players including zero keepers or centre halves and
your 14 get rids would cost all of our transfer budget to make those with contracts go away*.

*14 contracted players got rid off at a modest £175k a skull is £2.5 million plus another £500k for Montgomery and his team is a cool £3 million.

Essentially you have burn't the new player budget and only have 12 players but don't have any keepers or centre halves.

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 01:03 PM
Cadden is absolutely *****, he can’t defend and offers nothing going forward. He also now appears to be unwilling to jump and challenge for a header since his injury.

I don't actually think both Cadden and Obita are bad players and wouldn't exactly say they offer nothing going forward though wither they offer as much as other players playing in their position in our league I suppose is questionable.

Both's main weakness is defending imo and yesterday early on in the match it was evident when Rocky had to go out wide right 2 or 3 times to cover .

Time and time again in games our CH's have been dragged wide having to cover as we have been caught out due to the fullbacks being up the other end of the park.

Obita has been especially at fault for this imo .

I think other teams have copped onto this as a weakness in our team which unfortunately is one of many we have .

I've always seen Cadden more of a RM than LB and I think Obita is along the same lines as Cadden.

I do wonder if it's part of Monty's tactics that are going wrong or a case of we haven't really got anyone else to play there , who knows! .

Article here on the manager situation if anyone interested
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-sacking-fourth-manager-two-and-a-half-years-leadership-chaos-scottish-premiership-nick-montgomery-4625991

13-05-2024, 01:09 PM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Spot on with this list for me, the good thing we have a fair few leaving already due to contracts and loan deals.

Still a good few to try and get rid of still, I would not be pushing the boat out for Fish and/or Emiliano for next season, if Monty is still about in the summer then i have a feeling he will try for at least 1.

13-05-2024, 01:16 PM
I don't actually think both Cadden and Obita are bad players and wouldn't exactly say they offer nothing going forward though wither they offer as much as other players playing in their position in our league I suppose is questionable.

Both's main weakness is defending imo and yesterday early on in the match it was evident when Rocky had to go out wide right 2 or 3 times to cover .

Time and time again in games our CH's have been dragged wide having to cover as we have been caught out due to the fullbacks being up the other end of the park.

I think other teams have copped onto this as a weakness in our team which unfortunately is one of many we have .

I've always seen Cadden more of a RM than LB and I think Obita is along the same lines as Cadden.

I do wonder if it's part of Monty's tactics that are going wrong or a case of we haven't really got anyone else to play there , who knows! .

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-sacking-fourth-manager-two-and-a-half-years-leadership-chaos-scottish-premiership-nick-montgomery-4625991

Why would you play Cadden at right midfield when he can’t cross the ball.

13-05-2024, 01:25 PM

Caddens best form for us when he was playing as RWB, I'm sure there was many comments on here before his injury when he was playing in a back 4 that he wasn't the answer in the RB position?

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 01:25 PM

I actually think he's decent at getting forward, running with the ball ,crosses and such ,it's the defensive side of his game thats weak much the same as Obita is .
https://youtu.be/ginrgISp_z4?si=YQtwMQpQuHx-XHDS

13-05-2024, 01:27 PM
Caddens best form for us when he was playing as RWB, I'm sure there was many comments on here before his injury when he was playing in a back 4 that he wasn't the answer in the RB position?

You might be right but I couldn’t tell you when this period of good form was you mention. 2 years ago under Maloney?

13-05-2024, 01:30 PM
You might be right but I couldn’t tell you when this period of good form was you mention. 2 years ago under Maloney?

I thought he did well in the wing last season with Egan-Riley playing at RB behind him.

He was also good this season up until about 3 weeks ago.

The Tubs
13-05-2024, 01:38 PM

That article is pure Pravda:

Yet these are dangerous times for a straight-talking Yorkshireman whose blunt honesty often seems at odds with a natural tendency, among the coaching fraternity, to accentuate the positive and eliminate the negative.

Is the journalist a Jambo? Have the board asked the News to give him an easy time?

Probably doesn't matter as nobody reads it.

He's here!
13-05-2024, 01:48 PM

Loan players can be effective in the right circumstances (Leigh Griffiths, Scott Allan and Anthony Stokes being standout examples) but when you end up relying on a whole batch of them, as we also did in 2012, your squad is clearly in need of major surgery.

A combination of loan players and a bloated squad of under-contract players (none of whom you could truthfully claim are likely to have a major impact on a game) has the makings of a club heading for a relegation battle next season without a comprehensive overhaul.

Depressing to think how much money has been squandered on so many of these players. Reminds me of the pre-administration Hearts squad.

SickBoy32
13-05-2024, 01:51 PM
Loan players can be effective in the right circumstances (Leigh Griffiths, Scott Allan and Anthony Stokes being standout examples) but when you end up relying on a whole batch of them, as we also did in 2012, your squad is clearly in need of major surgery.

A combination of loan players and a bloated squad of under-contract players (none of whom you could truthfully claim are likely to have a major impact on a game) has the makings of a club heading for a relegation battle next season without a comprehensive overhaul.

Depressing to think how much money has been squandered on so many of these players. Reminds me of the pre-administration Hearts squad.

The scary thing is - of the XI that finished the match yesterday, there was only 1 loan player.

8 contracted for next season (and beyond)
2 out of contract next week (Hanlon and ALF)

If only the mess we’re in could be resolved by sending the whole squad back to parent clubs… This will take years to sort out.

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 01:53 PM
That article is pure Pravda:

Yet these are dangerous times for a straight-talking Yorkshireman whose blunt honesty often seems at odds with a natural tendency, among the coaching fraternity, to accentuate the positive and eliminate the negative.

Is the journalist a Jambo? Have the board asked the News to give him an easy time?

Probably doesn't matter as nobody reads it.

Don't know what the journalist is though I normally enjoy reading his articles .

13-05-2024, 02:36 PM
The scary thing is - of the XI that finished the match yesterday, there was only 1 loan player.

8 contracted for next season (and beyond)
2 out of contract next week (Hanlon and ALF)

If only the mess we’re in could be resolved by sending the whole squad back to parent clubs… This will take years to sort out.

Alternatively you get 2 or 3 solid CBs, a new keeper and good number 10 and we're miles better immediately. With a new manager of course.

I think we're a mess but shouldn't take much to be finishing 5th as a minimum and just punch our weight and progressively improve.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2024, 02:37 PM
Alternatively you get 2 or 3 solid CBs, a new keeper and good number 10 and we're miles better immediately. With a new manager of course.

I think we're a mess but shouldn't take much to be finishing 5th as a minimum and just punch our weight and progressively improve.

There’s absolutely no reason whatsoever that this should take years to sort out.

If it takes years, then it’s because we’ve made a mess of it.

13-05-2024, 02:58 PM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Hard to argue with any of that, but i will. :wink: Obita is never captain material, in fact i'd like someone to replace him as i dont think he's that good. I'd keep him as a squad player only because he can fill in at centre half if needed.

And Levitt i'd just flush down the bog.

13-05-2024, 03:02 PM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Very comprehensive but a little too kind to some of the squad if I'm honest.

13-05-2024, 03:30 PM
Thoughts on squad

Harbottle - Get Rid
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - See Hanlon
Whittaker - Loan

Agree with most of that but would definitely let Campbell go - can’t read or anticipate the game. Rushes in clumsily and other tackles are half hearted. Struggles to pass Ben ten yards

Levitt- would like to see him have a good pre-season and get much fitter. Always appears sluggish.

Vente - if Monty stays then I’d sell him if we can recoup some money. Monty slow slow system of play does not suit his game. If we get another manager I would keep if we are going to up the tempo

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 03:55 PM
Marshall - Go
Wollacott - Go
Boruc - Go

Hanlon - Away
Rocky - Go
Fish - Go
Harbottle - Go
McLelland - Go
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - Away
McIntyre - Back up LB
Obita - Keep
Cadden - Keep
Whittaker - Loan
Miller - Go
Megwa - Keep

Newell - Go
Doyle-Hayes - Go
Campbell - Go
Henderson - Go
Kenneh - Go
Tait - Go
Triantis - Go
Amos - Go
Delferriere - Go
Moriah-Welsh - Keep
Molotnikov - Loan
Levitt - Go
Marcondes - Go

Mackay - Go
Jair - Go
Youan - Keep
Boyle - Keep
McKirdy - Go
Mayenda - Go

ALF - Go
Vente - Undecided

26 goes , 3 to loan out , 1 keep which I don't think we have a hope in hell of keeping tbh . Is about 30 players moving on one way or the other , really can't see us doing as much as that in players leaving this summer .

If we move on around half that or just over we will be doing really well imo . Probably taking in 7 or 8 new players at a rough guess too .

PHeffernan
13-05-2024, 05:06 PM
Marshall - Go
Wollacott - Go
Boruc - Go

Hanlon - Away
Rocky - Go
Fish - Go
Harbottle - Go
McLelland - Go
Blaney - Loan

Lewy - Away
McIntyre - Back up LB
Obita - Keep
Cadden - Keep
Whittaker - Loan
Miller - Go
Megwa - Keep

Newell - Go
Doyle-Hayes - Go
Campbell - Go
Henderson - Go
Kenneh - Go
Tait - Go
Triantis - Go
Amos - Go
Delferriere - Go
Moriah-Welsh - Keep
Molotnikov - Loan
Levitt - Go
Marcondes - Go

Mackay - Go
Jair - Go
Youan - Keep
Boyle - Keep
McKirdy - Go
Mayenda - Go

ALF - Go
Vente - Undecided

So you propose:
keeping 9 players that you are not loaning out and
getting rid of 18 contracted players

18 players payed off at a modest £165k a skull is a cool £3 million with Montgomery and his team a further £500k.

Essentially you have burn't the new player and manager budget and only have 9 players including 2 left backs and 2 right backs but zero centre halves.

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 05:25 PM
Of course a new manager coming in might want a bit of time to assess the squad too .Also wonder if any signing targets we are near or after will be put on hold if we end up looking for another manager as well .

13-05-2024, 05:33 PM

I don’t think the squad is as bad as our results suggest.

13-05-2024, 05:35 PM
So you propose:

18 players payed off at a modest £165k a skull is a cool £3 million.

Essentially you have burn't the new player budget and only have 9 players including 2 left backs and 2 right backs and zero centre halves.

Absolutely. Is it going to happen? Of course not.

13-05-2024, 05:38 PM

I thought that a while back as well, but having watched some of the performances lately I think our squad is, in the main, garbage.

Chorley Hibee
13-05-2024, 05:40 PM

Not this again.

How many times do they need to let us down before it finally clicks that the majority of them are absolute garbage.

13-05-2024, 06:40 PM

Maybe not in terms of ability but their attitude/mentality is another matter.

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 06:48 PM
Agree with most of that but would definitely let Campbell go - can’t read or anticipate the game. Rushes in clumsily and other tackles are half hearted. Struggles to pass Ben ten yards

Levitt- would like to see him have a good pre-season and get much fitter. Always appears sluggish.

Vente - if Monty stays then I’d sell him if we can recoup some money. Monty slow slow system of play does not suit his game. If we get another manager I would keep if we are going to up the tempo

I'd much rather keep Campbell than Levitt . If any of the two were guilty of half hearted tackles I certainly think Levitt is the more likely , at least Campbell puts more effort in , Levitt for what we've paid for him as contributed next to nothing and I can see why his previous club was relegated .

13-05-2024, 06:49 PM
I'd much rather keep Campbell than Levitt . If any of the two were guilty of half hearted tackles I certainly think Levitt is the more likely , at least Campbell puts more effort in , Levitt for what we've paid for him as contributed next to nothing and I can see why his previous club was relegated .

Campbell let the 16 year old waltz through him at one point. You'd expect Levitt to be weak, if Campbell doesn't have some dig about him he has little else.

1875M
13-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Campbell let the 16 year old waltz through him at one point. You'd expect Levitt to be weak, if Campbell doesn't have some dig about him he has little else.

Both not good enough. Especially Levitt, heart of a mouse. 6k a week apparently. Shambles.

13-05-2024, 07:32 PM
Of course a new manager coming in might want a bit of time to assess the squad too .Also wonder if any signing targets we are near or after will be put on hold if we end up looking for another manager as well .

No - we want a manager who has watched us and knows exactly what the issues are.

Not the clean slate nonsense or everyone gets a chance.

We need a manager who knows exactly how to improve us straight away.

Anyone taking the job should have watched loads of Hibs games already so should have a plan if getting the job.

13-05-2024, 07:36 PM

There might well be some decent individual players in there but as a squad it is unbalanced, dreadfully weak defensively and carrying too many passengers.

13-05-2024, 07:42 PM

Another Hibs.net myth.

Yes it is.

Can we just accept we have several players with weak attitudes who are very inconsistent with performances.

There is a reason we can’t win 2 games in a row.

Massive squad overhaul is needed including new captain.

Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 07:47 PM
No - we want a manager who has watched us and knows exactly what the issues are.

Not the clean slate nonsense or everyone gets a chance.

We need a manager who knows exactly how to improve us straight away.

Anyone taking the job should have watched loads of Hibs games already so should have a plan if getting the job.

Just my opinion though if we appointed some manager from say Sweden or even England I'm sure he would have watched plenty of our games though I do think he'll still want sometime to assess the squad for himself .

It also throws our current signing targets up in the air abit imo that's if we haven't already made some at this stage.

13-05-2024, 07:56 PM
Just my opinion though if we appointed some manager from say Sweden or even England I'm sure he would have watched plenty of our games though I do think he'll still want sometime to assess the squad for himself .

It also throws our current signing targets up in the air abit imo that's if we haven't already made some at this stage.

The part I agree with is one thing seeing players on film - another day to day and attitude etc

But I would hope any new manager will know exactly what he wants.

Sticking with what’s not worked will get the next guy sacked if he doesn’t make radical changes.

13-05-2024, 07:58 PM
Another Hibs.net myth.

Yes it is.

Can we just accept we have several players with weak attitudes who are very inconsistent with performances.

There is a reason we can’t win 2 games in a row.

Massive squad overhaul is needed including new captain.

There are still folk who make a case for Rocky and will tell you that he’s been good for most of the season. We regularly have folk talking about Newell being a top player. The other day, I read a post about us being lucky to have Obita. And there is the old classic that nearly every player has had at some point or another about them being the least of our problems.

I’ve argued all season that the squad is crap apart from a few good, if inconsistent, attacking options. Other than that, the squad is exactly what it is and are where they deserve to be. There are always arguments about Kilmarnock, for example, not having a better squad than us. Teams like them, as well as being better managed, have players with attributes to do well in this league that we sorely lack. Players with, determination, physicality, guts, spirit and will to win. We’ve got a group who have none of that. I get that a good manager will instil that, collectively, but you need players willing to buy in to it and who don’t think they’re above it.

SerenityGreen
13-05-2024, 08:01 PM
I thought that too, he looked like he at least cared and was going tonto just before his booking. I like him as a player and he still looks decent and would've liked to see him stay.

13-05-2024, 08:06 PM
All free to go if the right bid comes in bar Moriah-Welsh

13-05-2024, 08:07 PM
The whole thing is summed up by the photo in the News of a wee boy,been on the park for a few minutes and for his debut being given a tap in without a Hibs outfield player within yards .Pitiful.

13-05-2024, 08:10 PM
I thought that too, he looked like he at least cared and was going tonto just before his booking. I like him as a player and he still looks decent and would've liked to see him stay.

Le Fondre is the best centre forward we have. But it’s no surprise that we’ve not had more of a contribution at his age.

5 goals and 1 assist in 885 minutes of league football isn’t a bad record, shame we’ve not used / been able to use him more.

DIXIHIBS
13-05-2024, 08:11 PM
So you propose:

18 players payed off at a modest £165k a skull is a cool £3 million with Montgomery and his team a further £500k.

Essentially you have burn't the new player and manager budget and only have 9 players including 2 left backs and 2 right backs but zero centre halves.

Spot on. Much as people would like an enormous clear out in practical terms it's pretty impossible.

PHeffernan
13-05-2024, 10:18 PM
Spot on. Much as people would like an enormous clear out in practical terms it's pretty impossible.

5 permanents and the 5 loans leave in a weeks time.

However, the big date is a years time when 20 permanent playing contracts will end on the same day and that's when the sea change will happen.
I can see a handful of those contracted players leaving this summer.

My fear is we chuck the baby's out with the bath water in our haste to reduce the squad size.
I say this because of those players contracted for next season, only 7 are over 25: Newell and Boyle 31, Obita 30, McKirdy 28, Cadden, Wollacott & Amos 27.
Of that experienced group of 7 only Obita and Wollacott have more than a year left on their contracts and the latter is likely to be gone soon so major change is afoot.

We really only need experienced quality starters signed this summer on permanents supported by a few Bournemouth loans.

14-05-2024, 10:36 AM
Now watch this lot suddenly start playing well for the final two games of the season, safe in the knowledge that they've gotten rid of another manager.

If we don't get rid of them now you can bet your house that at the first sign of poor results, shock horror! ANOTHER manager's training methods are "*****?"

Paulie Walnuts
14-05-2024, 10:38 AM
Now watch this lot suddenly start playing well for the final two games of the season, safe in the knowledge that they've gotten rid of another manager.

If we don't get rid of them now you can bet your house that at the first sign of poor results, shock horror! ANOTHER manager's training methods are "*****?"

Or, their performances improve because we’ve got rid of a shocking manager.

14-05-2024, 10:43 AM

I hope we do finish the season well.

It won't make any difference to who stays or goes in the summer and it's the very least we the supporters deserve.

14-05-2024, 10:46 AM

Both of them are nowhere near it

ionahibby
14-05-2024, 10:48 AM
Bar a few the squad should ashamed of themselves, hopefully the new guy comes in and gets shot of them all.

14-05-2024, 11:07 AM

Concur a bit sickening that performance on Sunday helped to get people sacked. The power of modern footballers who don’t perform and no doubt pleased with the outcome.

14-05-2024, 11:37 AM
A group of players unbeaten in the league against Aberdeen this season getting pumped 4-0 smacks of downed tools.

The standards expected of our players is through the floor and is abetted by significant numbers in our support who continue to make excuses or defend them. Everyone seems to be to blame other than those on the pitch.