Hickey
Patterson
Hanley
Ferguson
With doubts hanging over:
Armstrong
McTominay
Tierney
When we qualified it was all about how far we could go with this squad. Looking a bit worrying now, especially given our "form"
Thought Cadden might have been in line for a call up @ RWB but was reading an article about 2 or 3 players being ahead of him
Greensunshine
09-05-2024, 07:43 PM
McTominay would be a huge miss.
09-05-2024, 07:55 PM
Don’t think Hickey is out. EDIT - just read today’s update and that seems to me that his manager is simply hoping we don’t take him, given he won’t play for them again. Bottom line is he’s needed and we’ll risk it IMO.
Cadden is absolutely nowhere near Scotland class.
Ben Doak would be a good wild card, hope he is selected.
09-05-2024, 07:57 PM
Don’t think Hickey is out. EDIT - just read today’s update and that seems to me that his manager is simply hoping we don’t take him, given he won’t play got them again. Bottom line is he’s needed and we’ll risk it IMO.
Cadden is absolutely nowhere near Scotland class.
Ben Doak would be a good wild card, hope he is selected.
Thomas frank has said today that Hickey is very unlikely
09-05-2024, 08:02 PM
Thomas frank has said today that Hickey is very unlikely
Yeah but I think that’s clouded by his own self interest. He’s not gonna play for Brentford in the next 10 days.
Doesn’t mean he won’t be ready to play in 3/4 weeks for us. Clearly it’s a risk. I think even if he’s 50/50 we’ll take him
09-05-2024, 08:06 PM
Think its a 26 man squad as well so could be a few surprises now with all the injuries. No doubt we will still end up taking 4 keepers though.
09-05-2024, 08:06 PM
Armstrong from Killie should be in with a chance.
09-05-2024, 08:10 PM
I don't think we are too bad in terms of starters, it's a lack of depth that is going to be the issue.
The midfield 3 will be from McGinn, McTominay, Gilmour and McGreggor (who is fit and hitting form at a good time). We have Dykes, Adams and Shankland to choose from up top and Christie has had a great season as an option out wide. Gunn picks himself in goals and Porteous, Hendry and Robertson are all fit and certain to start. Ideally you want Tierney on the left of the 3 so fingers crossed he makes it.
Right hand side is the issue. I'd be taking Doig as he can cover a couple of positions and as wild cards for the middle of the park perhaps Ryan Gauld and Andy Irving who are having good seasons in the US and Australia respectively. Armstrong and Watson at Killie have both had very good seasons as well. Arguably more in form than a half fit Ryan Jack albeit it's unlikely and possibly too late in the day to see 1 or 2 plucked from nowhere.
09-05-2024, 09:01 PM
Max johnston must be close
1875Sean
09-05-2024, 11:46 PM
Injury list is piling up ahead of the euros. Missing the tournament are:
Hickey
Patterson
Hanley
Ferguson
Armstrong
McTominay
Tierney
When we qualified it was all about how far we could go with this squad. Looking a bit worrying now, especially given our "form"
Thought Cadden might have been in line for a call up @ RWB but was reading an article about 2 or 3 players being ahead of him
Both McTominay and Tierney are supposed to be fine and back this weekend, right back is the issue
PHeffernan
10-05-2024, 02:03 AM
Both McTominay and Tierney are supposed to be fine and back this weekend, right back is the issue
Yeah, losing Hickey has pumped us.
10-05-2024, 03:30 AM
Injury list is piling up ahead of the euros. Missing the tournament are:
Hickey
Patterson
Hanley
Ferguson
Armstrong
McTominay
Tierney
Cadden isnt good enough for Hibs.
10-05-2024, 04:45 AM
I don't think we are too bad in terms of starters, it's a lack of depth that is going to be the issue.
The midfield 3 will be from McGinn, McTominay, Gilmour and McGreggor (who is fit and hitting form at a good time). We have Dykes, Adams and Shankland to choose from up top and Christie has had a great season as an option out wide. Gunn picks himself in goals and Porteous, Hendry and Robertson are all fit and certain to start. Ideally you want Tierney on the left of the 3 so fingers crossed he makes it.
Right hand side is the issue. I'd be taking Doig as he can cover a couple of positions and as wild cards for the middle of the park perhaps Ryan Gauld and Andy Irving who are having good seasons in the US and Australia respectively. Armstrong and Watson at Killie have both had very good seasons as well. Arguably more in form than a half fit Ryan Jack albeit it's unlikely and possibly too late in the day to see 1 or 2 plucked from nowhere.
Your not American are you?
They frequently confuse the two😂
10-05-2024, 05:23 AM
Your not American are you?
They frequently confuse the two😂
I'd love to blame autocorrect but I think I'm just an idiot.
10-05-2024, 05:30 AM
Cadden isnt good enough for Hibs.
Cadden is extremely affective going forward but one of the worst defenders I’ve ever seen.
Terrifying thought what the likes of Gnabry and Musialla would do to him.
10-05-2024, 05:36 AM
I'd love to blame autocorrect but I think I'm just an idiot.
Forgive me…couldnae resist being a smartarse.😂😂😂
10-05-2024, 05:53 AM
Max johnston must be close
Who he?
Musselbound
10-05-2024, 06:19 AM
Who he?
Johnston is a young ex Motherwell player currently playing for Sturm Graz.
10-05-2024, 06:24 AM
Johnston is a young ex Motherwell player currently playing for Sturm Graz.
Winger isn’t he?
Contador
10-05-2024, 06:51 AM
Up top is going to be our issue as usual, same as the last Euros.
Long enough sample size of games to see that both Adams and Dykes can’t be relied upon to pop up with a goal.
Shankland may well start but I can’t see him being anything other than a rabbit in the head lights who’ll barely get a sniff.
10-05-2024, 06:55 AM
Winger isn’t he?
Defo a right back, or at least is now.
10-05-2024, 07:02 AM
Long enough sample size of games to see that both Adams and Dykes can’t be relied upon to pop up with a goal.
Shankland may well start but I can’t see him being anything other than a rabbit in the head lights who’ll barely get a sniff.
Yep spot on. No matter who's all out injured the strikers will still be the main problem. Shankland's form has taken a nose dive and I doubt he'll get on the pitch other than a few late cameos.
I wouldn't be against taking James Forrest, he seems to be having a bit of an Indian summer.
Re Cadden he has a wee shout, he'd be playing wing back remember which is by far his best position.
Brummie_Hibs
10-05-2024, 07:05 AM
I wonder if Hardie or Conway might get a wildcard.
Don't forget McBurnie (although I wish I could...)
Gloucester Hibs
10-05-2024, 07:35 AM
I think the least worst option is just to play Dykes and have him run about about daft hopefully freeing up space for the likes of SJM, McTominay or McGregor to nip in and get a goal. Not a great strategy by any means but it's all I've got!
Mcbizz1998
10-05-2024, 08:11 AM
Don't you talk about McBizz like that! :greengrin
hibby rae
10-05-2024, 08:26 AM
He's a bellend but I'd take Ryan Fraser back to have as a rwb. Max Johnston is another option.
If Hickey can run with a ball at his feet then I'm taking him, if he gets injured again and misses the start of next season then that's tough luck to Brentford
10-05-2024, 08:46 AM
Would be absolutely hilarious if we end up having to take McBurnie.
10-05-2024, 09:00 AM
Mctominay is fine to make it as it stands. I wouldn’t class him as any sort of doubt right now.
I don’t think anyone but a few Hibs fans thinks Chris Cadden has any sort of chance of being involved.
Was hoping Ben Doak would have broken through and featured a bit more by now having heard good things. Would be the kind of option we’re lacking if he’d been good enough and ready.
Tierney being fit is crucial 🤞
10-05-2024, 09:55 AM
How is Calvin Ramsay doing on loan down south?
It's a pity he seems to be a bit of a forgotten man at Liverpool as a young right back playing regularly would be ideal right about now. I'm guessing the fact his loan trajectory has gone Championship to League One suggests he's not ready.
Suppose it highlights whilst a big move can be lucrative financially it might not always be the best move for career and development. 38 appearance for Aberdeen across 2 seasons to 8 in the 3 seasons since..........
LNHibs
10-05-2024, 10:07 AM
It's a pity he seems to be a bit of a forgotten man at Liverpool as a young right back playing regularly would be ideal right about now. I'm guessing the fact his loan trajectory has gone Championship to League One suggests he's not ready.
Suppose it highlights whilst a big move can be lucrative financially it might not always be the best move for career and development. 38 appearance for Aberdeen across 2 seasons to 8 in the 3 seasons since..........
Hes been injured pretty much the entire last two seasons. Doak wouldv've been a good wildcard but hes out with an bad knee injury hasn't played since December, not sure how far away he is but can't see him getting a sniff.
10-05-2024, 10:17 AM
I’d take McBurnie ahead of some of the other forwards that will likely go. If he wasn’t such a ****, his inclusion would be a no brainer.
10-05-2024, 10:20 AM
I’d take McBurnie ahead of some of the other forwards that will likely go. If he wasn’t such a ****, his inclusion would be a no brainer.
I wouldn’t have him before any of them. And doubt many would.
Aside from being a tosser he’s never been good for Scotland.
Thankfully there’s no chance he’ll ever be in a Scotland squad again.
10-05-2024, 10:32 AM
I think Ralston will be first in line for the RB place if Hickey can't start. Max Johnston doesn't appear to have played that much this season and is untested. Ralston has played Champions League and handful of caps already. Think he'll be the safe choice tbh
Can't see there being many surprise inclusions.
10-05-2024, 11:06 AM
McBurnie is a better player than Dykes.
10-05-2024, 11:07 AM
Preston North End I think
10-05-2024, 11:09 AM
Cadden is extremely affective going forward but one of the worst defenders I’ve ever seen.
Terrifying thought what the likes of Gnabry and Musialla would do to him.
You obviously don't watch a lot of football then. He's not a good defender, but worst ever. Hardly!
10-05-2024, 11:13 AM
Lewis Morgan should be going, 3rd top scorer in MLS
1875Sean
10-05-2024, 12:06 PM
Preston North End I think
He was at Preston and couldn’t get a game, went to Bolton and still can’t get a game
Rumble de Thump
10-05-2024, 12:30 PM
He was at Preston and couldn’t get a game, went to Bolton and still can’t get a game
Couldn't get a game because he had a recurring knee injury.
1875Sean
10-05-2024, 05:37 PM
Couldn't get a game because he had a recurring knee injury.
Yeah but he left Preston as when he was fit there he still wasn’t playing hence why he dropped down a league
Brummie_Hibs
12-05-2024, 01:22 PM
Che Adams injured now
12-05-2024, 02:04 PM
McBurnie has absolutely no interest in playing for Scotland. Even if he is technically better than the other options, I still wouldn't take him. Doesn't deserve it.
Musselbound
12-05-2024, 02:57 PM
Not suggesting he is the answer but I thought McBurnie was also currently injured anyway?
12-05-2024, 02:58 PM
Che Adams injured now
Adams wasn’t quite 100% so their manager is saving him for the 2nd leg
12-05-2024, 04:07 PM
McTominay playing today
And captaining the team.
That’s McGregor, McGinn and McTominay all been captains for club teams and our starting 3 in international football.
18Craig75
12-05-2024, 04:18 PM
Little side note - i’m 99% sure I seen John Carver leaving the club car park
15 mins before the end. Wonder who he was there to watch? Could only have been Cadden if it was for us - I can’t think of any Aberdeen players knocking on the door?
If it was Cad’s…he probably saved his worst performance since returning from injury, his team mates obviously didn’t help either.
15 mins before the end. Wonder who he was there to watch? Could only have been Cadden if it was for us - I can’t think of any Aberdeen players knocking on the door?
If it was Cad’s…he probably saved his worst performance since returning from injury, his team mates obviously didn’t help either.
two things, stop calling him Cads, its cringeworthy. And secondly, hes nowhere near good enough for Scotland.
babahibs
12-05-2024, 04:38 PM
Cadden isn't good enough for Hibs, never mind Scotland, awful defender.
No way was he looking at him, he's nowhere near it.
Paul1642
12-05-2024, 05:11 PM
Cadden isn't good enough for Hibs, never mind Scotland, awful defender.
No way was he looking at him, he's nowhere near it.
In the past I’ve felt pretty hard done by on behalf of plenty of Hibs players who couldn’t get a sniff at a Scotland cap despite their talent and good form (and in most cases they would then enter the next Scotland squad immediately after leaving Hibs). Now is not one of those times. There’s not a single player in our current squad of any nationality who is good enough to get near our national team, as as you say about Cadden, there are very for who are even good enough to wear the green and white.
There’s not a single non Hibs fan in the country who would call for Cadden to be in the squad.
12-05-2024, 05:22 PM
Any chance Cadden had has gone out the window after that utterly gutless performance.
1875Sean
12-05-2024, 10:07 PM
Nicky Devlin prob has a better chance of a call up than cadden but can’t think of anyone else they would be looking at
12-05-2024, 10:12 PM
Cadden has to be one of the most overrated players we've seen at Easter Road in recent years. Winning POTY under Maloney summed up how utterly pish we were that year.
He hit at least 4 crosses today that went straight to a Aberdeen player. As poor going forward as he is defensively. He is just a decent runner attempting to play football.
12-05-2024, 11:14 PM
Any chance Cadden had has gone out the window after that utterly gutless performance.
He didn’t have a chance at any point this season. I like the guy, but he’s barely nailed-on as a starter in a **** hibs team just now.
Cadden talk is almost as ridiculous as the fact McBurnie has been mentioned (not as a joke) on this thread.
12-05-2024, 11:16 PM
McBurnie has absolutely no interest in playing for Scotland. Even if he is technically better than the other options, I still wouldn't take him. Doesn't deserve it.
I don’t think he’s technically better than any of our current options. And you’re right, he’s a fanny to boot.
Musselbound
13-05-2024, 03:36 AM
To answer my own question from a few posts back... McBurnie critics can rest easy as he is out for a while and almost certainly won't be going to Germany.
https://www.sheffieldunited.news/news/oli-mcburnie-injury-absence-at-manchester-united-explained-as-striker-set-to-be-out-for-months/
Exuberance1875
13-05-2024, 11:25 AM
Only chance Cadden had of making the euros was buying a ticket to the game.
Never in a million years good enough for Scotland, he’s no even good enough for us.
13-05-2024, 11:47 AM
Adams wasn’t quite 100% so their manager is saving him for the 2nd leg
Thank goodness
13-05-2024, 11:53 AM
I noticed Ross Stewart came in for Southampton at the weekend, wonder if he’ll be up for consideration
13-05-2024, 11:55 AM
I noticed Ross Stewart came in for Southampton at the weekend, wonder if he’ll be up for consideration
Yes noticed that. Didn’t realise he was at Saints. Why not i would say
Brummie_Hibs
13-05-2024, 06:45 PM
Robertson out injured again
13-05-2024, 07:48 PM
McGinn taken a sore one to the ribs in tonight’s game.
13-05-2024, 07:51 PM
Looks like he needs a rest, having a bit of a nightmare tonight
13-05-2024, 07:54 PM
Robertson out injured again
Apparently will be back on Sunday
13-05-2024, 07:56 PM
Looks like he needs a rest, having a bit of a nightmare tonight
Playing well enough until he got thumped.
13-05-2024, 07:56 PM
Yes looked a bit of a cheap shot. Hopefully not a cracked rib
13-05-2024, 07:57 PM
Yes thought he had been good
13-05-2024, 08:11 PM
Yes looked a bit of a cheap shot. Hopefully not a cracked rib
Disgrace that wasn't a booking for McAllister. The refs down there are honking too.
13-05-2024, 08:49 PM
We have to get our players pulled out of all these diddy leagues for what's left of the season.
15-05-2024, 01:05 PM
Squad announced next Wednesday.
22-05-2024, 10:02 AM
Doak called up.
22-05-2024, 10:06 AM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandNT/status/1793220315692085702?s=19
22-05-2024, 10:06 AM
Anti niemi in the video is quite funny.
22-05-2024, 10:07 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240522/966fe908e220e59de5d40b41a4483d5b.jpg
You imagine Kelly and Souttar/Jack will get dropped from the final squad.
22-05-2024, 10:32 AM
Quite a few injured players. Thought Conway would have been in there but there are 4 keepers for some reason.
K-Zazu
22-05-2024, 10:37 AM
What’s the point in taking 4 goalkeepers? And Ryan Jack?
22-05-2024, 10:40 AM
How many drop out? Thought Armstrong was goosed
Stairway 2 7
22-05-2024, 11:05 AM
How many drop out? Thought Armstrong was goosed
2 drop out, a keeper and a player probably
22-05-2024, 11:14 AM
Hopefully Ryan Jack. I have a slightly irrational hatred for him but tbf, he's done nothing to earn his spot either.
Bit surprised Clarke didn't name another couple in the initial squad, so it's not going to only be one outfield player missing out when the cut is made. Suppose it's depending on injuries either way
Glad to see Doak in though, I genuinely think he can make an impact.
22-05-2024, 11:14 AM
22-05-2024, 11:20 AM
What’s the point in taking 4 goalkeepers? And Ryan Jack?
3 goalkeepers will go
LNHibs
22-05-2024, 11:25 AM
Think the lad Armstrong from Killie is extremely unlucky. We only have two wide players one who hasnt played a game since December, albeit we don't generally play with wingers.
Ryan Jack is an absolutely ridiculous call. Started one game since December. Would much rather have seen O'Hara who has had a great season. Patterson and Hickey are massive losses along with Ferguson but couldn't see Ferguson playing much
22-05-2024, 11:31 AM
James Forrest has earned his spot in the last few months so glad to see him go. Doak is an interesting one, clearly highly rated but I think he has played about 10 first team games in his entire career. I'm all for getting these young guys moving in terms of progression but part of me thinks if you were going to throw in a wild card then Ryan Gauld or Lewis Morgan might have been the better option this time around. Doak will play a big part in the 2026 qualifiers imo.
Jack is predictable but I doubt he'll see the field, it will be 3 of McGinn, McTominay, Gilmour and McGreggor that starts after every game with whoever misses out and McLean being ahead of him as options from the bench. It's a midfield packed with in form players and talent so he's a total outlier.
Willis1875
22-05-2024, 11:44 AM
James Forrest has earned his spot in the last few months so glad to see him go. Doak is an interesting one, clearly highly rated but I think he has played about 10 first team games in his entire career. I'm all for getting these young guys moving in terms of progression but part of me thinks if you were going to throw in a wild card then Ryan Gauld or Lewis Morgan might have been the better option this time around. Doak will play a big part in the 2026 qualifiers imo.
Jack is predictable but I doubt he'll see the field, it will be 3 of McGinn, McTominay, Gilmour and McGreggor that starts after every game with whoever misses out and McLean being ahead of him as options from the bench. It's a midfield packed with in form players and talent so he's a total outlier.
I suspect Jack might drop out from the provisional squad along with Liam Kelly
31-05-2024, 02:44 PM
Lyndon Dykes was stretchered off at training today
https://x.com/amyallan76/status/1796545249248215307?t=mTeXPxlVs3phPe1kxRTmJg&s=19
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Paulie Walnuts
31-05-2024, 02:54 PM
Leigh Griffiths probably in with a shout soon at this rate.
31-05-2024, 03:03 PM
https://x.com/amyallan76/status/1796545249248215307?t=mTeXPxlVs3phPe1kxRTmJg&s=19
31-05-2024, 03:49 PM
Nightmare been really unlucky with injuries. Will be interesting to see how final squad shapes up.
31-05-2024, 05:44 PM
Leigh Griffiths probably in with a shout soon at this rate.Could do a job!
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
31-05-2024, 05:56 PM
Could do a job!
Do you have notifications on for whenever Leigh Griffiths is mentioned on the internet?
31-05-2024, 05:57 PM
Do you have notifications on for whenever Leigh Griffiths is mentioned on the internet?Pretty much, yeah.
31-05-2024, 06:25 PM
Could do a job!
:hyper
31-05-2024, 06:28 PM
:hyperFirm agree.
01-06-2024, 01:30 PM
We jest but even Leigh has to be a better shout than taking 4 keepers.
01-06-2024, 02:12 PM
We jest but even Leigh has to be a better shout than taking 4 keepers.
Na, a bit too far that.
01-06-2024, 03:32 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240601/8771d4347588068e84d2c408a47cf24e.jpg
01-06-2024, 03:36 PM
We need another striker called up.
01-06-2024, 03:40 PM
Is Tommy Conway actually any good? I seen him mentioned a few times for Bristol City this season.
Willis1875
01-06-2024, 03:40 PM
Hopefully not Jacob Brown 👎🏻 I’d rather Simon Murray
01-06-2024, 03:41 PM
‘Disaster for Scotland’ as Arthur Montford would have put it. We definitely need another striker. If Ross Stewart is match fit I’d take a punt and call him up.
Musselbound
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240601/8771d4347588068e84d2c408a47cf24e.jpg
That's really gutting for him. Can't really think of anyone else we've got that could play that type of role.
Hopefully not Jacob Brown 👎🏻 I’d rather Simon Murray
Ross Stewart or Tommy Conway.
Better not be Oli McBurnie.
01-06-2024, 03:49 PM
Is Kevin Wizbit fit?
01-06-2024, 04:28 PM
If the largely unheralded Toto Schillachi could be the star for Italy in 1990, I see no reason why Simon Murray can't do the same for Scotland.
Get him on the plane.
Musselbound
01-06-2024, 04:44 PM
Ross Stewart or Tommy Conway.
Better not be Oli McBurnie.
McBurnie is also currently out injured.
01-06-2024, 05:10 PM
If the largely unheralded Toto Schillachi could be the star for Italy in 1990, I see no reason why Simon Murray can't do the same for Scotland.
Get him on the plane.
I was just saying that to my wife. It would be incredible and would spark me into digging out my flag and old Scotland top.
01-06-2024, 05:16 PM
Is Kevin Wizbit fit?
up to his usually nonsense at Millwall and dropped for the last game of the season for disciplinary reasons.
mid rather Simon Murray went than him.
01-06-2024, 05:17 PM
Get him on the plane.
It would be some story ! And would put a bit of excitement in it for me, cause quite frankly I haven’t really thought about the tournament in general !
01-06-2024, 05:20 PM
Has to be Simon Murray slap in face if not scoring goals for fun
Willis1875
01-06-2024, 05:29 PM
Has to be Simon Murray slap in face if not scoring goals for fun
Could give us something similar to Kenny Miller in terms of workrate
It would be some story ! And would put a bit of excitement in it for me, cause quite frankly I haven’t really thought about the tournament in general !
I haven’t thought about anything else for weeks. 🤣🤣🤣👍
Paul1642
01-06-2024, 05:44 PM
I think it’s very safe to say the that Simon Murray will not be in the Scotland squad for the Euros.
In fact I would bet my mortgage on it.
01-06-2024, 05:48 PM
That's it, we're cursed.
I would also call up Simon Murray lol
Mark05
01-06-2024, 05:53 PM
I haven’t thought about anything else for weeks. 🤣🤣🤣👍
I am the same,been on a health kick for weeks just to be able to fit in my kilt 😂
01-06-2024, 05:55 PM
McBurnie is also currently out injured.
Phew!
04-06-2024, 06:16 AM
Someone close to Stevie Clark has to tell him that he can't enter Euro 2024 with two strikers who are just returning from injury, one of which hasn't played this year and has hardly played any senior games, along with Shankland, whose ability at international level is questionable.
Surely he should be looking at Conway from the u21 squad.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c9rrdn0drxeo
Brummie_Hibs
04-06-2024, 06:24 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if we seen McTomminay play up front - he's played virtually every position for either ManU or Scotland.
But ironically there are fitness doubts about him too...
04-06-2024, 06:46 AM
Someone close to Stevie Clark has to tell him that he can't enter Euro 2024 with two strikers who are just returning from injury, one of which hasn't played this year and has hardly played any senior games, along with Shankland, whose ability at international level is questionable.
Surely he should be looking at Conway from the u21 squad.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c9rrdn0drxeo
Pardon my ignorance, i genuinely have never heard of this kid.
04-06-2024, 09:43 AM
Don't know much about Conway either but he must be in with a shout since Doak is a doubt too, given how long it's been since he last played.
It's looking like the four goalies might just survive to make up the 26, which is a bit embarrassing.
Hickey is a big miss. I don't like the idea of Ralston or McCrorie playing at the expense of Gilmour or Christie but that's what is likely to happen if we go with three centre-halves. I'd like to see our fastest right-sided centre-half (Hendry?) nudged a bit wider and basically told not to cross halfway and to tuck in with the other right centre-half when we go down the left with Robertson and Tierney. That way we can play our best five midfielders and a striker (Adams).
Against Germany in Munich is maybe not the time to experiment though!
Pardon my ignorance, i genuinely have never heard of this kid.
Seen him a few times down Ashton gate over the last couple of seasons - pacey, direct and should develop into a very tidy player.. wouldn’t be against him at all
04-06-2024, 11:00 AM
I’ll be honest I know little of Conway, but Gemmell and Clarke will if he’s been in the under 22’s
Nisbet and Stewart have been out with long term injuries, so maybe not up to speed yet
WeAreHibs
04-06-2024, 12:30 PM
Get Simon Murray in FFS!
04-06-2024, 03:03 PM
I'd love to see Simon Murray get a call up, just because he has such a good attitude. God I wish we had a few who would "run through walls" for the team like him at Hibs. Murray probably isn't good enough at International level, but he just has a knack of managing to perform better than his natural talent should allow him too, through sheer force of nature. Very much to be admired. To be honest Scotland should always have at least one Ginger Nut who looks like he gets sunburn from standing next to an anglepoise lamp in the team anyway :greengrin
Paul1642
04-06-2024, 05:04 PM
Simon Murray is not getting called up to the Euros 😂
04-06-2024, 05:10 PM
I don’t get why the Simon Murray suggestion is being ridiculed.
He’s coming off a great season where he scored a lot of goals in a terrible team and his style of play is highly energetic, closing defenders down and hassling them.
Given the dearth of options - almost zero credible options - by default he must find himself close to being called up.
Countries like Australia and Wales who have qualified for major tournaments have managed to get a tune out of fairly uncelebrated players when they got there - Scotland have forever been pretty shameful at doing similar. In fairness to Clarke, it’s something he’s got a decent knack of doing.
04-06-2024, 05:14 PM
I don’t get why the Simon Murray suggestion is being ridiculed.
He’s coming off a great season where he scored a lot of goals in a terrible team and his style of play is highly energetic, closing defenders down and hassling them.
Given the dearth of options - almost zero credible options - by default he must find himself close to being called up.
Countries like Australia and Wales who have qualified for major tournaments have managed to get a tune out of fairly uncelebrated players when they get there - Scotland have forever been pretty shameful at doing similar. In fairness to Clarke, it’s something he’s got a decent knack of doing.
If (and I don’t know that there is) there’s anyone who is desperately trying to label Shankland as ‘not international class’ and also demanding Simon Murray is called-up.. I think they deserve to be ridiculed.
Otherwise I take your point.
Still cannae see it though.
04-06-2024, 05:17 PM
What about Conway and Murray and drop a goalie no ?
Or is the squad still to be trimmed further ?
04-06-2024, 05:33 PM
There was a lot of people on here that said Dykes should have been nowhere near a Scotland squad. Murray is bang in form and can play the role Dykes does so why not,some international teams don't always pick the star players they pick players who can play in a system.
04-06-2024, 05:34 PM
There was a lot of people on here that said Dykes should be nowhere near a Scotland squad. Murray is bang in form and can play the role Dykes does so why not,some international teams don't always pick the star players they pick players who can play in a system.
I’m no sure about Murray playing the same role as Dykes
cubehindthegoal
04-06-2024, 05:42 PM
I’m no sure about Murray playing the same role as Dykes
Clarke has said in interview (BBC radio yesterday) that we don’t have a match for Dykes in any of the possible replacements.
04-06-2024, 05:43 PM
I suggested Murray a few days ago as a sort of tongue in cheek joke.
We have a guy in our squad who has played 5 league games and 12 first team games total though so I'm not sure a guy who scored 23 goals last season and averages a goal every 2.4 games is that ridiculous really. It's only moderately worse than Shankland (1 every 2.02 games) at a comparable level.
04-06-2024, 06:01 PM
Chasing a game we could do worse than turn to a duracell bunny that's scored against us, Hearts and Rangers this season and in form of his life
Not necessarily advocating calling him up but could see why we might. Clarke has shown he's happy to turn to Scottish league players in the past too
04-06-2024, 06:01 PM
I suggested Murray a few days ago as a sort of tongue in cheek joke.
We have a guy in our squad who has played 5 league games and 12 first team games total though so I'm not sure a guy who scored 23 goals last season and averages a goal every 2.4 games is that ridiculous really. It's only moderately worse than Shankland (1 every 2.02 games) at a comparable level.
Shankland will struggle against top defenders as his workrate is poor. Murray will bust a gut for the team. We need more forwards in the squad.
04-06-2024, 06:04 PM
If (and I don’t know that there is) there’s anyone who is desperately trying to label Shankland as ‘not international class’ and also demanding Simon Murray is called-up.. I think they deserve to be ridiculed.
Otherwise I take your point.
Still cannae see it though.
I’d say they’re both horses for very different courses.
For a game when we’d be expecting to create chances - I don’t see why Shankland wouldn’t be good enough. Maybe a fairly niche situation though.
Running around up front against Germany? I’d have Murray doing that over Shankland, every day of the week, the same way that Kenny Miller was quite limited but useful in that role.
04-06-2024, 06:45 PM
Conway called up. Doak withdrawn.
Paul1642
04-06-2024, 07:50 PM
Conway called up. Doak withdrawn.
Correct move. The options were slim. Nisbet should be kicking himself for not playing himself into contention
04-06-2024, 08:09 PM
There was a lot of people on here that said Dykes should have been nowhere near a Scotland squad. Murray is bang in form and can play the role Dykes does so why not,some international teams don't always pick the star players they pick players who can play in a system.
You appreciate Dykes more when he isn’t there. He has been excellent for Scotland
04-06-2024, 08:20 PM
Shankland looks like Kamberi towing a caravan at this level but would still be confident of him converting a simple chance in the box or a penalty if it presented itself
Murray looks a more mobile more dangerous option coming off the bench and wouldn’t be the worst wildcard
Remember Schillaci ?
1875Sean
04-06-2024, 08:32 PM
Disappointed doak won’t be there, only real forward with real pace
04-06-2024, 08:35 PM
Shankland looks like Kamberi towing a caravan at this level but would still be confident of him converting a simple chance in the box or a penalty if it presented itself
Murray looks a more mobile more dangerous option coming off the bench and wouldn’t be the worst wildcard
Remember Schillaci ?
Juventus first choice striker Schillaci? He wasn't quite the wildcard Murray would be.
04-06-2024, 08:39 PM
Correct move. The options were slim. Nisbet should be kicking himself for not playing himself into contention
He's been injured for about 6 of the last 7 months
04-06-2024, 08:54 PM
Murray had a better MPG than Miovski last season so if Miovski was Scottish would we be demanding he was in the squad because he plays for Aberdeen?
Remember Charlie Adam going mad that SJM was picked ahead of him when we were playing in the championship. Who was man of the match on his debut.
04-06-2024, 09:22 PM
Disappointed doak won’t be there, only real forward with real pace
We are so lacking in pace
05-06-2024, 05:13 AM
Juventus first choice striker Schillaci? He wasn't quite the wildcard Murray would be.
Yeah but he was Italy’s fifth choice striker at the start of the tournament behind the likes of Baggio Vialli and Mancini no one had heard of him outside of Italy ( I certainly hadn’t) scoring 15 goals in 30 games in Serie A in 1989/90 in his debut season for Juve and ended up scoring 6 goals in 7 games in Italia 90
No one in Germany will have heard of Simon Murray either and he is Ross County’s first choice striker
No one will have heard of Ross County 😀
It is written in the stars I tell ye
Girls don’t like boy’s girls like Simon Murray
05-06-2024, 05:36 AM
What about Conway and Murray and drop a goalie no ?
Or is the squad still to be trimmed further ?
If we’re just bringing Gordon in for his experience but not gonna play him or on of the younge players to blood them is there a mandate if they’re not in the squad thry can’t be in camp to get the benefit (yet not play) if that makes sense. 4 goalies is nuts - does want other team do that?
05-06-2024, 05:51 AM
If we’re just bringing Gordon in for his experience but not gonna play him or on of the younge players to blood them is there a mandate if they’re not in the squad thry can’t be in camp to get the benefit (yet not play) if that makes sense. 4 goalies is nuts - does want other team do that?
Agree four goalies is NUTS
Don’t want to throw the first stone but my jumbo chums tell me Zander is pants
The fact he has already appeared in a friendly tells me he is going nowhere
One of them needs to go but all pretty much of a muchness to me maybe with a slight preference for Gordon and Gunn has done nothing wrong
05-06-2024, 06:10 AM
:agree: Shankland isn't a good fit for the way we play, we'll be wanting to hit teams on the break. Murray is the better fit.
05-06-2024, 06:52 AM
Thing is, we got perfect opportunity to take a wildcard, Simon Murray or not. We are talking a 4th goalkeeper instead though.
05-06-2024, 07:04 AM
Thing is, we got perfect opportunity to take a wildcard, Simon Murray or not. We are talking a 4th goalkeeper instead though.
Insane to take 4 but he's still got to drop a player from the squad.
05-06-2024, 08:00 AM
The kindest thing you could say about Shankland v Gibraltar was.... he is probably wishing he'd used the last 6 months to improve his fitness
That's the kindest thing you could say.
There are a lot of other ways of putting it...
Musselbound
05-06-2024, 08:42 AM
Can't believe the clamour for Simon Murray. There are many who have described him recently as someone who would be no more than a decent addition to the Hibs squad.
I thought it started as a bit of a joke but it shows how desperate Scotland are for strikers. Anyway, Conway is in so that surely puts it to bed.
Paul1642
05-06-2024, 09:12 AM
Not that I’d look too much into friendly results, our competitors scores on Monday last night were
Germany 0 - Ukraine 0
Ireland 2 - Hungary 1
Switzerland 4 - Estonia 0
05-06-2024, 10:17 AM
Insane to take 4 but he's still got to drop a player from the squad.
I'll be amazed if we don't take the 4. If anything happens to Gunn over there then Gordon will play. Can't take hearts 2nd choice keeper over their 1st choice so he'll go as well. Leaves a question mark over Kelly but I think he will go as well.
05-06-2024, 10:48 AM
I'll be amazed if we don't take the 4. If anything happens to Gunn over there then Gordon will play. Can't take hearts 2nd choice keeper over their 1st choice so he'll go as well. Leaves a question mark over Kelly but I think he will go as well.
Kelly is a funny one. When he was breaking through hewas really top
notch and had a bit of character and aggression to him as well but he was awful last season, one of the worst in the league. Really surprised he made the squad.
05-06-2024, 10:55 AM
The kindest thing you could say about Shankland v Gibraltar was.... he is probably wishing he'd used the last 6 months to improve his fitness
That's the kindest thing you could say.
There are a lot of other ways of putting it...
Was he not a personal trainer when he dropped a level to play for Ayr and went part time? When it was being discussed whether or not he was worthy of a jump back up to a higher level it was mooted that he was doing quite well in his other career and might not want to go full time again iirc.
Is he not just one of those players who unfortunately has limited pace irrespective of fitness level?
06-06-2024, 08:36 AM
Lewis Morgan called up.
Willis1875
06-06-2024, 08:51 AM
Lewis Morgan called up.
Having a good season with NY Red Bulls ,good decision IMO
Brummie_Hibs
06-06-2024, 08:58 AM
Lewis Morgan called up.
Interesting!
Trying to work out what that means for some of the other players.
That can't mean we still plan to take 4 keepers, and maybe another player to drop out injured. Armstrong?
Souter96Mac
06-06-2024, 09:33 AM
Interesting!
That can't mean we still plan to take 4 keepers, and maybe another player to drop out injured. Armstrong?
We're now back needing to cut 2 players for the final squad - it has to be one of the goalies.
I think we've also got something like 6 centre halves, and that's not even including Tierney who would be starting at lcb.
Unless someone else is injured, I'd maybe be dropping one of them.
Willis1875
06-06-2024, 09:37 AM
We're now back needing to cut 2 players for the final squad - it has to be one of the goalies.
I think we've also got something like 6 centre halves, and that's not even including Tierney who would be starting at lcb.
Did Liam Cooper not hobble off against Gibraltar?
Musselbound
06-06-2024, 09:48 AM
Worth remembering there is still the game v Finland tomorrow and always the chance somebody could pick up an injury there.
I'm surprised Morgan has been called in but think it's a good decision. He was unlucky to miss out and potentially adds a goal threat. I know Clarke says he doesn't do like for like but I expect the main reason he's been called in now is Doak dropping out.
davhibby
06-06-2024, 09:55 AM
Interesting!
Since Doak dropped out I’ve just ended up with a bit of a feeling like one of the others that didn’t make the squad on Monday will be dropping out which would be a real loss. Bringing Morgan in this late suggests there is likely to be someone that’s not going to make it. Hopefully Cooper as that would have the least impact
06-06-2024, 12:10 PM
I'd be dropping Cooper and either Gordon or Kelly. If Cooper's 100% fit and Clarke wants him then Souttar can get left out.
06-06-2024, 04:09 PM
Clarke says he's made the decision, but not had the conversation. He surely wouldn't have called up Morgan if he wasn't coming.
So that's one of the goalkeepers and one other to get the chop.
Injury doubts over Cooper and Armstrong, so I wouldn't be surprised to see one of them or one of either Ralston/McRorie drop out.
06-06-2024, 04:54 PM
Aw naw, Harry McGuire dropped for them. :boo hoo:
06-06-2024, 05:01 PM
Aw naw, Harry McGuire dropped for them. :boo hoo:
This is a Scotland forum BH
06-06-2024, 05:57 PM
Clarke says he's made the decision, but not had the conversation. He surely wouldn't have called up Morgan if he wasn't coming.
So that's one of the goalkeepers and one other to get the chop.
Injury doubts over Cooper and Armstrong, so I wouldn't be surprised to see one of them or one of either Ralston/McRorie drop out.
Apparently Armstrong is going to be fit.
06-06-2024, 06:14 PM
Daily Record saying Craig Gordon is one of the goalies to be omitted
Souttar too, but he might be still injured
07-06-2024, 09:37 PM
Daily Record saying Craig Gordon is one of the goalies to be omitted
Souttar too, but he might be still injured
Now confirmed
08-06-2024, 09:13 PM
Gordon coming out saying he’s still up for getting more Scotland caps.
Don’t know what’s more frustrating, Clarke will say aye here’s another sentimental cap or Gordon not accepting he’s getting older.
Last night showed he’s well past his best imo
Frogga
08-06-2024, 09:21 PM
Gordon coming out saying he’s still up for getting more Scotland caps.
Don’t know what’s more frustrating, Clarke will say aye here’s another sentimental cap or Gordon not accepting he’s getting older.
Last night showed he’s well past his best imoI'd still have gone with him as no2 GK for the Euros. Zander Clark is a decent keeper but he's looked shaky in his few appearances for Scotland and Gordon's experience would've been useful imo.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
08-06-2024, 09:43 PM
I'd still have gone with him as no2 GK for the Euros. Zander Clark is a decent keeper but he's looked shaky in his few appearances for Scotland and Gordon's experience would've been useful imo.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
Clarke sees him as fourth choice and still gave him minutes
Crazy there are two goalies going to support and need to be ready should anything happen to Gunn, yet a week before a tournament Clarke is handing out sentimental caps
10-06-2024, 09:59 AM
Robbo and Shankland hobbled out of the open training session this morning
Not good
cannastar
10-06-2024, 11:27 AM
The one player that has been overlooked and could have turned a game for Scotland is Mikey Johnstone his stats at West Brom in the run in in the champioship were as good as anything in the Scotland squad. Not a player i ever cared for previously but one who when on a good streak of form could have given opposition a headache. Why take Armstrong who is obviously not fit and Forrest who has scored against tired players on poor pitches mainly. The one thing this squad lacks big time is a maverick and while maybe not everyones cup of tea i believe he could have added something different as relying on full backs to get up field and create chances leaves us woefully exposed at the back as previous results have proven. As i said i wasnt a fan of the boy but when he got a run of games for WBA he was electric at times but probably a case of face not fitting.
10-06-2024, 11:30 AM
Robbo and Shankland hobbled out of the open training session this morning
Not good
Both training tomorrow. Thank ****.
10-06-2024, 11:49 AM
The one player that has been overlooked and could have turned a game for Scotland is Mikey Johnstone his stats at West Brom in the run in in the champioship were as good as anything in the Scotland squad. Not a player i ever cared for previously but one who when on a good streak of form could have given opposition a headache. Why take Armstrong who is obviously not fit and Forrest who has scored against tired players on poor pitches mainly. The one thing this squad lacks big time is a maverick and while maybe not everyones cup of tea i believe he could have added something different as relying on full backs to get up field and create chances leaves us woefully exposed at the back as previous results have proven. As i said i wasnt a fan of the boy but when he got a run of games for WBA he was electric at times but probably a case of face not fitting.
He plays for Ireland
supermcginn
10-06-2024, 12:13 PM
🙊
Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 12:27 PM
Swap yous Johnston for Mcginn ?
Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 08:17 PM
Both training tomorrow. Thank ****.
One of the papers saying both missed training .
10-06-2024, 08:19 PM
One of the papers saying both missed training .
Aye today. Not tomorrow [emoji6]
10-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Gutted I'm now 2-10 as will miss most of it, from an English born Hibee good luck Scotland!