View Full Version : Offload JDH

jakeshibs
08-05-2024, 09:47 PM
Now that we have made the mosrt difficult decisions and announced the departure of two legends, if think we should exploit the situation and offload JDH so we can invest in better for the midfield

Paulie Walnuts
08-05-2024, 09:48 PM
That you JDH?

08-05-2024, 10:31 PM
Now that we have made the mosrt difficult decisions and announced the departure of two legends, if think we should exploit the situation and offload JDH so we can invest in better for the midfield
He isn’t ready to play in first team after a long term out injured No one in Thier right mind would take him imo

Donegal Hibby
08-05-2024, 10:46 PM
I don't know what the future holds for JDH at us though he's only on his way back after being out for a long time and to offload him now would seem to be a very ruthless thing to do . Maybe that's just me that thinks that though.

08-05-2024, 11:23 PM
I don't know what the future holds for JDH at us though he's only on his way back after being out for a long time and to offload him now would seem to be a very ruthless thing to do . Maybe that's just me that thinks that though.

We need to start being more ruthless

Too many passengers.

PHeffernan
08-05-2024, 11:41 PM

I've had a word with JDH and put your proposal to him.
Apparently some dumb ass Hibs employee injured him and he has been working hard to regain his fitness so that he can get back to playing.
He says he has a contract for another year and will do what's best for him.
He would also like to know where you work so that he can try to drum up support online to have you offloaded from your employment.

09-05-2024, 12:22 AM

You do realise though that simply freeing him means we must pay out the remaining 12 months of his existing contract if he doesn’t want to go?

09-05-2024, 05:16 AM
Sounds a bit harsh tbh

Jake has been known to pass the ball forward and not afraid to leave the boot in just needs to calm down a bit

Not his fault he is out need to give him the benefit of the doubt

Loads of others can go before him

We are gash

Simples !

09-05-2024, 05:18 AM
Apparently some dumb ass Hibs employee injured him and he has been working hard to regain his fitness so that he can get back to playing.
He would also like to know where you work so that he can try to drum up support online to have you offloaded from your employment.

Haha enjoyed that, especially the last sentence. Highlights how we all act on here sometimes.

jakeshibs
09-05-2024, 06:50 AM

He is gash at the best of times, will drive to the pyhsio myself to see him off, we can drum online support to sack our manager but not players who have contributed far less

09-05-2024, 07:50 AM
He is gash at the best of times, will drive to the pyhsio myself to see him off, we can drum online support to sack our manager but not players who have contributed far less

Both things are nonsense

09-05-2024, 08:02 AM
You do realise though that simply freeing him means we must pay out the remaining 12 months of his existing contract if he doesn’t want to go?

We can loan him out and another club would take up a percentage of his wage, that would probably be the best way to get him out the club.

He's nowhere near the answer for this midfield, but i realise he's still under contract and there are rules about just releasing players.

Ruthless is not a word you will hear about Hibs in anyway shape or form, i hope we hear more of it in the coming years.

09-05-2024, 09:37 AM
We can loan him out and another club would take up a percentage of his wage, that would probably be the best way to get him out the club.

Agree.

I think we are going to do that with a lot of players, as I’m not sure many of them would attract transfer bids.

SON OF PADDY
09-05-2024, 09:46 AM

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

tonyrougier123
09-05-2024, 09:50 AM
I’m really unsure if Jake Doyle Hayes will ever make the grade at hibs. The injury he has must be one of the worst types cause he’s been out forever, was injured previously also not long before he came back. Stroppy player when he does play. Could be attitude issues but for me I wouldn’t be overly fussed if he’s off in the summer. Hope he can recover soon though either way.

monarch
09-05-2024, 10:14 AM
So if your boss at work gave you a kicking resulting in you being unable to carry out your employment duties you would be quite happy to be sacked.

09-05-2024, 10:19 AM
So if your boss at work gave you a kicking resulting in you being unable to carry out your employment duties you would be quite happy to be sacked.

Regardless of how he ended up injured, he’s not good enough.

Clearly we cannae “sack him”, but it’d be good if we can find some kind of agreement where he moves on, whether it’s a loan or a transfer or paying out a % of his contract to agree to terminate it.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2024, 10:32 AM
Agree.

I think we are going to do that with a lot of players, as I’m not sure many of them would attract transfer bids.

I think there could be more than we think that we wont attract transfer bids for , in JDH situation we did try and move him on when we got a bid for him when LJ was manager but he didn't want to go .

If he doesn't want to go and he's on say 2 grand a week that's over a 100k to pay him off .

Victor
09-05-2024, 10:38 AM
[QUOTE=PHeffernan;7652638]I've had a word with JDH and put your proposal to him.
He would also like to know where you work so that he can try to drum up support online to have you offloaded from your employment

I think the last part is a great idea. It should be mandatory for all subscribers to Hibs.net to provide details of their occupation and employer, then every subscriber who comes into contact with them in the course of their employment can criticise them, or come to their workplace and shout abuse at them. And if you are not in employment we can just turn up at your house and shout abuse.

Trinity Hibee
09-05-2024, 10:54 AM
He hurt his shoulder in the final game of last season at Tynie. Has he played at all this season?

09-05-2024, 10:56 AM
He hurt his shoulder in the final game of last season at Tynie. Has he played at all this season?

Was a used sub Villa home

One of his former teams

09-05-2024, 11:08 AM
We need to start being more ruthless

Too many passengers.

He would need to agree to a pay off. Why would he if currently injured?

09-05-2024, 11:09 AM

Think it is a long term ankle issue

09-05-2024, 11:13 AM
I think the last part is a great idea. It should be mandatory for all subscribers to Hibs.net to provide details of their occupation and employer, then every subscriber who comes into contact with them in the course of their employment can criticise them, or come to their workplace and shout abuse at them. And if you are not in employment we can just turn up at your house and shout abuse.

I'm in employment and work from home most of the time. If anyone wants to come criticise me from my front garden send me a PM and I'll give you the address.

I think I'd quite enjoy that :greengrin

09-05-2024, 11:23 AM
I'm in employment and work from home most of the time. If anyone wants to come criticise me from my front garden send me a PM and I'll give you the address.

09-05-2024, 11:26 AM

I think I'd quite enjoy that :greengrin[emoji23]

Does that include flaming torches and pitchforks?

Asking for a friend

09-05-2024, 11:27 AM

Boot him out the back door while everyone is watching the other two are being cheered out the front.....

Nice touch.

09-05-2024, 11:38 AM
[emoji23]

Does that include flaming torches and pitchforks?

Asking for a friend

I can't advocate for flaming torches or pitchforks in my garden without a health and safety inspection first. It's pretty uneven terrain and I wouldn't want to be sued.

I could put up a sign "All users of pitchforks and/or flaming torches do so at their own risk" I suppose.

09-05-2024, 11:40 AM

Is that what happened? JDH was injured by Lee Johnson?!?

09-05-2024, 11:47 AM
I can't advocate for flaming torches or pitchforks in my garden without a health and safety inspection first. It's pretty uneven terrain and I wouldn't want to be sued.

I could put up a sign "All users of pitchforks and/or flaming torches do so at their own risk" I suppose.[emoji106]

I'll let you know when we are coming.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240509/f211aec22623e4b00b9c97058398fce4.gif

Victor
09-05-2024, 11:52 AM

Singing- “Sacked in the morning. You’re getting sacked in the morning” Just limbering up. [emoji2]

PHeffernan
09-05-2024, 11:56 AM

Update: Ok you win, Hibs and JDH have agreed to part ways ... once you have paid £150k into Jakes bank account for the final year of his contract.

Ben Kensall says it would be great if other supporters who dislike other players could do the same.
He got quite excited about the possibilities and says a "Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is" scheme would be another great "first" for Hibs.
Hibs first with floodlights, Hibs first in Europe and Hibs first with a supporter financed player & manager GTF scheme.

P.S. they pointed out that you post under a combination of their names and suspect you may not have the finance to PYMWYMI.

PHeffernan
09-05-2024, 12:12 PM

I could put up a sign "All users of pitchforks and/or flaming torches do so at their own risk" I suppose.

It won't be us that come round, it will be the players, management, coaches and executive.
Picture the scene. They enter your garden and Jair Tavares starts slagging the state of the uneven terrain, telling your wife that she deserves better and that she should get a proper partner that can at least make the garden safe. The other players are booing and calling you a useless bar steward whilst Ian Gordon shakes his head disapprovingly in the background as he looks around the garden.
Then Rocky Bushiri falls through some poorly constructed and maintained decking. He angrily picks up the structure throwing it in your direction, calling you a useless fud and saying that your wife must have married you by mistake. Laughing ensues and they all file out after Ben Kensell tells you that your garden needs to improve. You promise a root and branch review whilst admitting on .net that the terrain in your garden isn't acceptable and is in fact a health and safety hazard. You state you expect your wife/partner to improve the garden whilst you conduct your review of all aspects of the house and garden.

09-05-2024, 12:32 PM
It won't be us that come round, it will be the players, management, coaches and executive.
I can picture Jair Tavares slagging the state of the uneven terrain in your garden. Telling your wife that she deserves better and that she should get a partner that can at least make her garden safe. All to a background of the other players booing and calling you a useless bar steward whilst Ian Gordon shakes his head disapprovingly in the background.

I divorced my wife and I’m sure she’d have a lot worse to say to Jair about me than garden problems 😂

My current fiancé likes the garden.

I’ll be selling ***** pies from the kitchen window at the side of the house, and it’ll be £6 for a pie and a capri sun.

TrinityHFC
09-05-2024, 12:51 PM
Is that what happened? JDH was injured by Lee Johnson?!?

No. Some people have taken that and run with it. On one of the occasions he was out it was due to it being aggravated by a tackle in trying that happened to be from LJ. The underlying issue was not caused by that.

jakeshibs
09-05-2024, 12:52 PM

if i had spent as long on the sick i would of got the sack

jakeshibs
09-05-2024, 12:59 PM
Update: Ok you win, Hibs and JDH have agreed to part ways ... once you have paid £150k into Jakes bank account for the final year of his contract.

Ben Kensall says it would be great if other supporters who dislike other players could do the same.
He got quite excited about the possibilities and says a "Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is" scheme would be another great "first" for Hibs.
Hibs first with floodlights, Hibs first in Europe and Hibs first with a supporter financed player & manager GTF scheme.

P.S. they pointed out that you post under a combination of their names and suspect you may not have the finance to PYMWYMI.

If only we got rid of the dead wood , are you implying he is worth 150K oh dear if what a waste of money.
I notice how you didn't comment on the double standards ...where we can drum upon line support to sack managers, why are we not talking about his compensation payments for the duration of his career, least the manager is on the park in some form. So to clarift we can sack managers and thats different but below average players are safe , cause thats been working well for the past few seasons

09-05-2024, 01:01 PM

Not if it was a workplace accident you were not the cause of.

jakeshibs
09-05-2024, 01:10 PM
Not if it was a workplace accident you were not the cause of.

Think if i had only played 20 games over the past two seasons my bosses would be looking for a better return in their investment , thought the lee johnson incident was well before he featured for game against Villa, and this was a shoulder knock.

if we are to get a better team that can match our expectations we must be aiming higher the JDH.

09-05-2024, 01:23 PM
Think if i had only played 20 games over the past two seasons my bosses would be looking for a better return in their investment , thought the lee johnson incident was well before he featured for game against Villa, and this was a shoulder knock.

if we are to get a better team that can match our expectations we must be aiming higher the JDH.

I always quite liked JDH.

Another inconsistent one but he was a player on his day.

Good enough that you can easily dismiss missing a season due to injury? Possibly not, remember we even used to debate whether or not Dylan McGeouch was worthy of hanging on to due to his injury record.

Funny, possibly telling, how I feel the need to refer to JDH in the past tense though.

09-05-2024, 01:37 PM
I divorced my wife and I’m sure she’d have a lot worse to say to Jair about me than garden problems [emoji23]

My current fiancé likes the garden.

I’ll be selling ***** pies from the kitchen window at the side of the house, and it’ll be £6 for a pie and a capri sun.I'm finding the whole prospect more appealing.

Before I commit can you tell me if your garden is bombarded by marauding seagulls with an interest in said pies?

And is there a wee corner right at the bottom of your garden where a load of noisy teenagers and their leader hang about pretending to be frenchmen?

09-05-2024, 01:40 PM
No. Some people have taken that and run with it. On one of the occasions he was out it was due to it being aggravated by a tackle in trying that happened to be from LJ. The underlying issue was not caused by that.

The underlying issue wasn't an issue until the manager went through him at training. He was back in full training. Since then they have had constant issue with bone fragment thats meant multiple ops.

PHeffernan
09-05-2024, 01:42 PM
If only we got rid of the dead wood , are you implying he is worth 150K oh dear if what a waste of money.
I notice how you didn't comment on the double standards ...where we can drum upon line support to sack managers, why are we not talking about his compensation payments for the duration of his career, least the manager is on the park in some form. So to clarift we can sack managers and thats different but below average players are safe , cause thats been working well for the past few seasons

You can get rid of the "dead wood" but it costs big bucks if they are in contract.
I'm presuming JDH is worth zero. The £150k is his wages for the last year of his contract.

Managers are also employees of the business and again it's a decision for the business if they want rid but again there is a cost.
Fortunately there is usually an agreement in place for managers as regards compensation if dismissed. The downside is you have to pay off their team of coaches as well which makes it expensive.

JDH is a young 25 year old man who will be under pressure at work to return to playing and play well so I don't see a need for me as a supporter to add to that.
As for double standards, Montgomery is a different case, a guy who took a good wage for 20 years as a player and is now taking a good wage as a manager so he is well set up financially. He will be fine whatever happens.

For those that don't think football clubs are ruthless spare a thought for Hibs youngster Robbie Hamilton, whose contract is up in 3 weeks and his 20th birthday 2 weeks later. Robbie and a ton of other young players will be cast aside by clubs at the end of their contracts.

TrinityHFC
09-05-2024, 02:01 PM
The underlying issue wasn't an issue until the manager went through him at training. He was back in full training. Since then they have had constant issue with bone fragment thats meant multiple ops.

That’s true other than the issue was there before the injury in training. That wasn’t what caused the bone fragments etc. it just happened to cause a further flair up at that time.

09-05-2024, 02:03 PM
Picture the scene. They enter your garden and Jair Tavares starts slagging the state of the uneven terrain, telling your wife that she deserves better and that she should get a proper partner that can at least make the garden safe. The other players are booing and calling you a useless bar steward whilst Ian Gordon shakes his head disapprovingly in the background as he looks around the garden.
Then Rocky Bushiri falls through some poorly constructed and maintained decking. He angrily picks up the structure throwing it in your direction, calling you a useless fud and saying that your wife must have married you by mistake. Laughing ensues and they all file out after Ben Kensell tells you that your garden needs to improve. You promise a root and branch review whilst admitting on .net that the terrain in your garden isn't acceptable and is in fact a health and safety hazard. You state you expect your wife/partner to improve the garden whilst you conduct your review of all aspects of the house and garden.

Picture this scene: Ian Gordon is put in charge of arranging a flash mob to go round to easty’s house and rain abuse down on him.

Gordon starts off by placing most emphasis on the reserve flash mob, who are ultimately loaned to other, smaller flash mobs where they fail to make much of an impact and have no impact on this mob other than divert valuable resource away from where it’s really needed.

The mob he gathers are mainly mute and the loudspeakers they are equipped with don’t work so their abuse is ultimately inept and it fails to achieve what it set out to do, in spite of the impressive efforts of a sole abuser brought in on loan who unloads an impressive torrent of vitriol before presumably going back to his home mob in Germany.

It’s all just a bit pish, really.

PHeffernan
09-05-2024, 02:22 PM
Picture this scene: Ian Gordon is put in charge of arranging a flash mob to go round to easty’s house and rain abuse down on him.

Gordon starts off by placing most emphasis on the reserve flash mob, who are ultimately loaned to other, smaller flash mobs where they fail to make much of an impact and have no impact on this mob other than divert valuable resource away from where it’s really needed.

The mob he gathers are mainly mute and the loudspeakers they are equipped with don’t work so their abuse is ultimately inept and it fails to achieve what it set out to do, in spite of the impressive efforts of a sole abuser brought in on loan who unloads an impressive torrent of vitriol before presumably going back to his home mob in Germany.

It’s all just a bit pish, really.

I thought mine was far funnier and had a good pun :wink:.

Also they have already been to easty's house. Your lot should have been sent to jakeshibs house although there is little to work with for a funny storyline as we don't know anything about him or his garden.

09-05-2024, 02:43 PM
That’s true other than the issue was there before the injury in training. That wasn’t what caused the bone fragments etc. it just happened to cause a further flair up at that time.

OR - he may have played all season without anything happening. We just don't know. We do know that a wee over-weight ex player shouldn't be piling into tackles in a bounce game at training.

09-05-2024, 03:11 PM
His first full season he played 44 times admittedly we were gash but looked a neat tidy footballer with a wee bit dig about him loved a yellow

Would be interesting to see if Monty or anyone can get a tune out of him if not offer him out on loan

09-05-2024, 03:52 PM
Everybody that says 'would of' instead of 'would have', deserves the sack :wink:

09-05-2024, 04:38 PM
The least of our problems.

Hibiza
09-05-2024, 04:43 PM
Another waste of cash : £200k from memory . Contribution 0.

1875Sean
10-05-2024, 12:13 AM
Another waste of cash : £200k from memory . Contribution 0.

He was a free transfer but has been a bit of a waste of a wage

10-05-2024, 12:24 AM
Everybody that says 'would of' instead of 'would have', deserves the sack :wink:

Well said, sir.

It’s all about maintaining standards and all that…..

10-05-2024, 05:36 AM
JDH is a good player, he would certainly improve our team if he was playing regularly. I hope he's fully fit for next season.

10-05-2024, 06:03 AM
JDH is a good player, he would certainly improve our team if he was playing regularly. I hope he's fully fit for next season.
Agree always liked him has something about him has a winning attitude has a good touch an excellent range of passing and likes to get forward

A better footballer on the ball than Miller Campbell Rocky Fish and Cadden to name a few whose first touch is usually heavy followed by a tackle

So there we are

Anyone else we can slag off ?

10-05-2024, 06:08 AM

No danger he plays over Newell or NMW.

10-05-2024, 06:16 AM
No danger he plays over Newell or NMW.

Agree but his type of player would fit seamlessly into a 3 or a 4 in midfield

Just now we are a boyband with no fight or heart pushovers to the hammer throwers and teams who flood their midfields with 6’5” amazons

10-05-2024, 06:24 AM

Just now we are a boyband with no fight or heart pushovers to the hammer throwers and teams who flood their midfields with 6’5” amazons

He's getting better the longer he's out. He doesn't fit seamlessly into a 4 because we have 2 better central midfielders. And he doesn't start over Marcondes, Newell or NMW in a 3.

JDH does not suddenly make us winners.

Boyband patter is utter cringe. Worst thing Lennon ever did at Hibs was say that, and he lost 3x to leveins hearts.

10-05-2024, 07:34 AM
He's getting better the longer he's out. He doesn't fit seamlessly into a 4 because we have 2 better central midfielders. And he doesn't start over Marcondes, Newell or NMW in a 3.

JDH does not suddenly make us winners.

Boyband patter is utter cringe. Worst thing Lennon ever did at Hibs was say that, and he lost 3x to leveins hearts.

Tell me the last time Joe Newell had a good game ?

See got you

Even you cannot deny he has been rank with his tippy tappy no shows

Would struggle to make my starting 11

Hibiza
10-05-2024, 07:50 AM

10-05-2024, 07:58 AM

See got you

I can deny that. He is comfortably our best midfielder. He might struggle to make your starting 11 but as someone who thinks he played left mid for us for 18 months, your opinion holds little weight.

He's had a good season. It would've been a lot worse without him. JDH would never put up his numbers.

10-05-2024, 08:05 AM
I can deny that. He is comfortably our best midfielder. He might struggle to make your starting 11 but as someone who thinks he played left mid for us for 18 months, your opinion holds little weight.

He's had a good season. It would've been a lot worse without him. JDH would never put up his numbers.

He has not been good for the last two months now at least

Would like to see more of him playing a Captain’s role driving us forward up the pitch with his mazy runs but nothing

Was he not a winger for his first 18 months and a poor one at that ? :greengrin

10-05-2024, 08:18 AM
JDH wasn't exactly good enough when he was fit so I don't know where the sentiment comes for him that he's a neat and tidy player etc. Its a shame that he's injured of course and its not his fault, but if we could get him off the wage book by either a loan or transfer I'd jump at it.

10-05-2024, 08:25 AM

I think I finally gave up on hoping JDH was going to be a player about 2 years ago. End of the season game where we got pumped at Dens.

Charlie Adam shouted at him and he looked like he wanted to curl up into a ball and cry. Absolutely soft as anything.

Even that aside, Joe Newell gets slaughtered for not doing enough in centre mid, but makes more tackles, gets more assists and scores more goals.

Newell, 185 games, 10 goals, 34 assists.
JDH, 68 games, 2 goals, 1 assist.

10-05-2024, 08:30 AM
I think I finally gave up on hoping JDH was going to be a player about 2 years ago. End of the season game where we got pumped at Dens.

Charlie Adam shouted at him and he looked like he wanted to curl up into a ball and cry. Absolutely soft as anything.

Even that aside, Joe Newell gets slaughtered for not doing enough in centre mid, but makes more tackles, gets more assists and scores more goals.

Newell, 185 games, 10 goals, 34 assists.
JDH, 68 games, 2 goals, 1 assist.

Ah but if JDH had his mates watching him every game the stats would be reversed :greengrin

You and me both know Joe Newell couldn’t tackle a fish supper has only scored 10 goals should be more from a man of his ability would have to check assists as struggling to remember any, corners and free kicks usually poor

I tend to agree. with Centre Hawf on this my point is JDH is nowhere near as bad as the OP is making out as we have a lot of poor football players on our books

If he doesn’t shape up ship him out till his contract expires

10-05-2024, 11:11 AM

See got you

Correct. Newell has a good game once a month. JDH would contribute more.

10-05-2024, 01:06 PM

Why didn't he when fit then?

10-05-2024, 03:46 PM
To put it bluntly

Awbdy can leave and I don’t think most fans would lose to much sleep currently

10-05-2024, 07:07 PM
Hibs career high the two Goals Vs County (which I had the pleasure of getting the first on video)

Hibs career low ****ting it Vs Charlie Adam

Would be looking to move him on.

1875Sean
10-05-2024, 07:23 PM

Funny how newell got player of the year only playing well once a month

10-05-2024, 09:28 PM
Funny how newell got player of the year only playing well once a monthLooking back on the season in question showing up once a month would definitely be enough to win Hibs player of the year, and I say that as someone who thinks that he is the least of our current problems.

1875Sean
10-05-2024, 10:48 PM
Looking back on the season in question showing up once a month would definitely be enough to win Hibs player of the year, and I say that as someone who thinks that he is the least of our current problems.

Can you name a season JDH has been better than Newell? I’m not defending Newell I just think people have short memories thinking JDH is a better player than he is, fully fit he still doesn’t get in the team

10-05-2024, 10:53 PM
Can you name a season JDH has been better than Newell? I’m not defending Newell I just think people have short memories thinking JDH is a better player than he is, fully fit he still doesn’t get in the team

Neither are good enough.

10-05-2024, 10:57 PM
Neither are good enough.

What is Joe Newell not good enough for?

MagicSwirlingShip
11-05-2024, 07:25 AM
What is Joe Newell not good enough for?

Ross County away?

11-05-2024, 07:53 AM
JDH plays the high press from the off getting right in peoples faces from the kick off probably the reason he has so many early booking’s

Needs to channel his aggression

Probably the reason he played 44 games in his first season as his Manager’s at that time wanted a high press

No one in the current team offers that as they don’t follow instructions ( NMW )

Hoping he comes back with a high energy Chris Cadden bounce giving us fresh impetus in the new season

Last chance saloon

11-05-2024, 07:56 AM
Funny how newell got player of the year only playing well once a month

Which shows just how poor everyone else was.

11-05-2024, 07:56 AM
I really like JDH as a player and thought he'd really fit the way Monty likes to play, still think he would. His issue is staying fit though, which is a shame.

Hopefully see him before the end of the season. He was class in the 4-2 Celtic game last season.

11-05-2024, 08:28 AM
Can you name a season JDH has been better than Newell? I’m not defending Newell I just think people have short memories thinking JDH is a better player than he is, fully fit he still doesn’t get in the teamYou won't find any comments from me defending JDH on here or anywhere else.

I don't think he is a better player than the enigmatic Joe Newell, who I'd keep. Will click with better players around him.

11-05-2024, 08:42 AM
I'd love to hear any reasoning for why Doyle Hayes is a better player than Newell.

Completes less passes, covers less ground, makes less tackles, makes less interceptions, scores less goals, has less assists, plays less games.......

Newell has his limitations and I wouldn't be against replacing him with better but no member or our current squad is better. He's no Rolls Royce but if he's a Mondeo then Doyle Hayes is a Ka.

11-05-2024, 09:00 AM
I'd love to hear any reasoning for why Doyle Hayes is a better player than Newell.

Completes less passes, covers less ground, makes less tackles, makes less interceptions, scores less goals, has less assists, plays less games.......

Newell has his limitations and I wouldn't be against replacing him with better but no member or our current squad is better. He's no Rolls Royce but if he's a Mondeo then Doyle Hayes is a Ka.

Me too. They played plenty of games together, Newell was always quite clearly better.

11-05-2024, 10:20 AM
Me too. They played plenty of games together, Newell was always quite clearly better.

I didn't think there was much between them.

Every time I thought JDH was putting a decent, consistent run together though he'd drop in a stinker, not unlike Newell.

It's possibly harsh on Newell - he's been available much more often so has had more opportunities to provide us with bad memories, which can sometimes be easy to forget when a players been out for a while and you're pining for their better moments.

Simmyalva
11-05-2024, 11:22 AM

Joe Newell is our best player by a country mile but should not be our captain. Always gives 100% however on most occasions is left to run the midfield on his own with little support from our two wing wizards we should be buying players that compliment him and allow him to do his job.