View Full Version : Name the player quiz
07-05-2024, 05:40 PM
can you name the players from the clues ?
1) Defender signed by Alex McLeish, formerly played in France for Stade Rennais FC
2) Born in Hartlepool, played for Hartlepool. 107 Hibs appearances and 4 goals
3) Born in Cambridge, played for Ipswich. Signed as a replacement for Craig Rocastle...Ended up in Australia
07-05-2024, 05:42 PM
3 is Antonio Murray
I though 1 might be Alex Marinkov but not sure.
07-05-2024, 05:54 PM
2 will be David Murphy
darwenhibby
07-05-2024, 05:54 PM
Fabrice Henry ?
Chris Hogg?
Antonio Murray ( but wouldn’t have got that)
07-05-2024, 05:55 PM
1 - Gary Smith
07-05-2024, 05:56 PM
Gary Smith for the 1st one
07-05-2024, 05:57 PM
3 is Antonio Murray
That’s what I thought for both too. No sure about the second one.
07-05-2024, 05:59 PM
2 will be David Murphy
Was he not at Middlesborough
07-05-2024, 06:05 PM
1 Smith?
2 Murphy?
07-05-2024, 06:07 PM
I can think of more than 4 goals for David Murphy off the top for my head, also sure he didn't play for Hartlepool?
Vs Celtic at ER 2004
Vs livi at ER 2005
Vs rangers at Ibrox 2006
Vs st Johnstone at tynie 2006
Vs Celtic at CP 2007
07-05-2024, 07:23 PM
3 is Antonio Murray
Correct on Antonio but not Alex
07-05-2024, 07:23 PM
2 will be David Murphy
correct.. Murph is no 2
07-05-2024, 07:25 PM
1 - Gary Smith
Spot on :thumbsup:I thought that was the toughest one...playing for a French club was a bit of a Red Herring.
07-05-2024, 07:27 PM
well done all... and apologies.. I cocked up ! Murph didn't play for Hartlepool (I was convinced he did) it was Middlesborough... my bad.
Name the player quiz
can you name the players from the clues ?
1) Defender signed by Alex McLeish, formerly played in France for Stade Rennais FC - Gary Smith
2) Born in Hartlepool, played for Hartlepool(wrong). 107 Hibs appearances and 4 goals - David Murphy
3) Born in Cambridge, played for Ipswich. Signed as a replacement for Craig Rocastle...Ended up in Australia - Antonio Murray
07-05-2024, 07:30 PM
I can think of more than 4 goals for David Murphy off the top for my head, also sure he didn't play for Hartlepool?
Vs Celtic at ER 2004
Vs livi at ER 2005
Vs rangers at Ibrox 2006
Vs st Johnstone at tynie 2006
Vs Celtic at CP 2007
You are right about Hartlepool...my bad...I was convinced that was a fact... DOH ! (the goals stat comes from wikipedia and a couple of other sites...but you may well be right...did seem a small number to me...maybe I should give up on quizzes ! :greengrin)
07-05-2024, 08:40 PM
You are right about Hartlepool...my bad...I was convinced that was a fact... DOH ! (the goals stat comes from wikipedia and a couple of other sites...but you may well be right...did seem a small number to me...maybe I should give up on quizzes ! :greengrin)
Let www.fitbastats.com (http://www.fitbastats.com) be your guide includes all hibs games goals inc cup ties
07-05-2024, 08:45 PM
Only person to score a goal at Hampden and a try at Murrayfield?
07-05-2024, 08:47 PM
David Johnson?
07-05-2024, 08:47 PM
Alex Harris?
07-05-2024, 08:58 PM
Alex Harris?
Yep
08-05-2024, 11:49 AM
Only player to win 3 league championship medals with 3 different clubs?
08-05-2024, 12:09 PM
Gordon Smith
08-05-2024, 12:13 PM
What player scored the last goal of the season at Easter Road for Dundee United and the opening goal of the new season at Easter Road for Hibs ?
08-05-2024, 12:40 PM
What player scored the last goal of the season at Easter Road for Dundee United and the opening goal of the new season at Easter Road for Hibs ?
Going to have a wild and random stab at Stuart Beedie.
beensaidbefore
08-05-2024, 12:44 PM
What player, born in 1974, signed from St Mirren and scored on his debut against Brechin City. His final game for us was against Falkirk on the day we were presented with the first division trophy in 1999?
08-05-2024, 12:46 PM
Going to have a wild and random stab at Stuart Beedie.
What player, born in 1974, signed from St Mirren and scored on his debut against Brechin City. His final game for us was against Falkirk on the day we were presented with the first division trophy in 1999?
Barry Lavety
08-05-2024, 01:49 PM
Wow, that was a total stab in the dark 😁
08-05-2024, 02:00 PM
Name Nid Ned Tosh and Snoddy ?
Real fitba players names
08-05-2024, 02:12 PM
Name Nid Ned Tosh and Snoddy ?
Real fitba players names
Ian Murray, Keith Wright, Jimmy O i think. Don’t know the last one
08-05-2024, 02:17 PM
Ned ,Eddie Turnbull
Tosh, Alan Gordon
Nid, Ian Murray
08-05-2024, 02:19 PM
Ned ,Eddie Turnbull
Tosh, Alan Gordon
Nid, Ian Murray
:greengrin I read Ned as Ted for some reason. Back to work for me
08-05-2024, 02:23 PM
Last one / Alan Sneddon?
08-05-2024, 02:29 PM
Murray
Turnbull
Gordon
Sneddon
08-05-2024, 02:55 PM
Wow, that was a total stab in the dark 😁
Scored on Albert Kidd Day and the Souness Game
08-05-2024, 02:57 PM
First player to score a European goal in Britain.
hibeerealist
08-05-2024, 03:18 PM
first player to score a european goal in britain.
lmr?
hibeerealist
08-05-2024, 03:19 PM
lmr?
Our own, Last Minute Reilly
08-05-2024, 03:24 PM
First player to score a European goal in Britain.
Ned away
Jock Buchanan home
beensaidbefore
08-05-2024, 03:25 PM
Barry Lavety
Correct
08-05-2024, 03:37 PM
For the young ones
Youngest player to score at Wembley ?
08-05-2024, 03:41 PM
For the young ones
Paul Allen?
08-05-2024, 03:45 PM
For the young ones
Endrick for Brazil, quite recently.
08-05-2024, 03:47 PM
Paul Allen?
Oooooffffff!!!!!
Hit the crossbar youngest to appear close but no cigar
08-05-2024, 03:47 PM
Endrick for Brazil, quite recently.
08-05-2024, 06:57 PM
Ned away
Jock Buchanan home
Which 2 European Competitions did Hibs reach the Semi Final, who did they play against.
08-05-2024, 07:16 PM
Which 2 European Competitions did Hibs reach the Semi Final, who did they play against.
European Cup vs Stade Rheims.
08-05-2024, 08:10 PM
Inter-Cities Fairs Cup versus Roma.
08-05-2024, 08:22 PM
What team lost a penalty shoot out but still progressed in the competition.
09-05-2024, 05:31 AM
Inter-Cities Fairs Cup versus Roma.
Yip pretty sure Hibs would have reached the Final if they had introduced the ‘ away goals rule ‘ sooner
Hibs 2 v 2 Roma
Roma 3 v 3 Hibs
Hibs lost the play off in Rome in a heavy defeat played in stifling heat and in our close season IIRC
Was all a bit cloak and dagger
09-05-2024, 11:35 AM
Probably Rangers.
09-05-2024, 12:11 PM
Probably Rangers.
You are correct ref was unaware of the away goals rule still counting in extra time, this was against Sporting Lisbon in the CWC who were made the favourites to win the thing the following year we all know what happened when they came up against us.
09-05-2024, 02:37 PM
What player left us and went on to lift a League Cup and two Scottish Cups ( not Old Firm ) ?
09-05-2024, 03:04 PM
What player left us and went on to lift a League Cup and two Scottish Cups ( not Old Firm ) ?
Gordon Smith?
09-05-2024, 03:06 PM
Nope
w pilton hibby
09-05-2024, 03:10 PM
David Wotherspoon?
09-05-2024, 03:11 PM
David Wotherspoon?
09-05-2024, 03:33 PM
Hibs have done this, in the league cup in 2017/18.
09-05-2024, 03:48 PM
Hibs have done this, in the league cup in 2017/18.
Aye away to Ross County in the group stage. Must be more you'd think.
09-05-2024, 04:15 PM
Who was the last Hibs player to almost win the prestigious UEFA Golden Shoe ?
09-05-2024, 04:32 PM
Alan Gordon
09-05-2024, 05:36 PM
Alan Gordon
Sorry nope later
09-05-2024, 05:40 PM
Stevie Cowan? No idea tbh!
09-05-2024, 05:43 PM
Stevie Cowan? No idea tbh!
👍
1985/86 second to a young guy called MVB
10-05-2024, 01:27 PM
What two players post war signed for Hearts Hibs and Hearts again ?
What player post war signed for Hearts Hibs and Hearts again ?
Michael Stewart
10-05-2024, 01:38 PM
Michael Stewart
Correct
Sorry two players
10-05-2024, 01:46 PM
Correct
Sorry two players
Eamonn Bannon or Jim Brown?
10-05-2024, 01:57 PM
Eamonn Bannon or Jim Brown?
Sorry no
MartinfaePorty
10-05-2024, 02:01 PM
Willie Hamilton?
10-05-2024, 02:03 PM
What two players post war signed for Hearts Hibs and Hearts again ?
Willie Hamilton
10-05-2024, 02:03 PM
Willie Hamilton?
13-05-2024, 09:33 AM
First Hibs player to score a hat-trick in Europe?
13-05-2024, 09:51 AM
Jimmy O
13-05-2024, 10:22 AM
Jimmy O
Sorry no
13-05-2024, 10:29 AM
Konte :greengrin
13-05-2024, 10:31 AM
Konte :greengrin
Nope
13-05-2024, 10:46 AM
Joe McBride v Lokomotive Leipzig??
13-05-2024, 10:47 AM
The real super Joe, Joe McBride senior, one of my old fav Hibs forwards.
13-05-2024, 12:43 PM
13-05-2024, 02:53 PM
Was at the game should have remembered that😡
13-05-2024, 03:23 PM
Was at the game should have remembered that😡
Colin who ?
13-05-2024, 09:36 PM
Colin who ?
Joe had an incredible goals to games ratio at Celtic and at us.
https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/Skyliners/Skyliners%2067%20Road%20Back%20Benedicto%20Riberio ,%20Toronto%20John%20Madsen%206-11-1967.jpg
Two Hibs players in this photo from 1967. Unusual fixture, exotic venue.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Roxyhibee
05-03-2025, 01:04 PM
https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/Skyliners/Skyliners%2067%20Road%20Back%20Benedicto%20Riberio ,%20Toronto%20John%20Madsen%206-11-1967.jpg
Stanton and Madsen.?
Stanton and Madsen.?Correct.
Against Cerro of Uruguay at the Yankee Stadium, NYC.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/nostalgia/when-hibs-faced-cerro-of-uruguay-at-yankee-stadium-in-new-york-2867373
Roxyhibee
05-03-2025, 01:11 PM
Correct.
Against Cerro of Uruguay at the Yankee Stadium, NYC.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/nostalgia/when-hibs-faced-cerro-of-uruguay-at-yankee-stadium-in-new-york-2867373
Great photo. Strong memories of that blonde crew cut of Madsen’s from that time. Pat looks about 12.!
Alfiembra
05-03-2025, 01:11 PM
A very young Pat Stanton and John Madsen perhaps?
A very young Pat Stanton and John Madsen perhaps?Yes
05-03-2025, 01:56 PM
Here’s one to clear the cobwebs
Who am I ?
A Hibee I played in France and was sent off twice against Rangers and twice against Hearts playing for the cabbage
Roxyhibee
05-03-2025, 02:00 PM
Who am I ?
A Hibee I played in France and was sent off twice against Rangers and twice against Hearts playing for the cabbage
John Collins..?
05-03-2025, 02:02 PM
John Collins..?
Sorry no
05-03-2025, 02:13 PM
Who am I ?
We played Strasbourg, Reims and Sochaux ..... so someone who played in the away leg? :confused:
05-03-2025, 02:16 PM
We played Strasbourg, Reims and Sochaux ..... so someone who played in the away leg? :confused:
Naw he played for a French team in their league
Eaststand
05-03-2025, 02:19 PM
Who am I ?
John Fraser 🤔
05-03-2025, 02:22 PM
John Fraser 🤔
Sorry no
TheGreyLantern
05-03-2025, 02:25 PM
Gary Smith. Good one.
05-03-2025, 02:27 PM