View Full Version : Abuse towards Dhanda

Albert Kidd 86’
05-05-2024, 05:41 AM
As if yesterday was not bad enough , some idiot allegedly shouted racist abuse at Dhanda.

The level of abuse that some of our fellow supporters seem to think it is acceptable to dish out to our own players and now Dhanda is completely beyond my comprehension.

We were all rightly furious at the rangers support during Ron’s dedication and Boyle’s injury, but any high ground the club gained from cutting away support allocation due to abuse is totally undermined by these idiots, whether it be by throwing stuff at players/online abuse/racial abuse.

please stop supporting Hibs if you cannot act with some basic decency towards others.

scuttle
05-05-2024, 06:27 AM
Absolutely, well said

05-05-2024, 06:44 AM
Man detained according to Hibs Observer

Throw away the key and a lifetime ban from Easter Road

05-05-2024, 06:53 AM
Life ban hopefully, horrible creature.

05-05-2024, 07:00 AM
Hopefully named and shamed

jakeshibs
05-05-2024, 07:05 AM
As if yesterday was not bad enough , some idiot allegedly shouted racist abuse at Dhanda.

The level of abuse that some of our fellow supporters seem to think it is acceptable to dish out to our own players and now Dhanda is completely beyond my comprehension.

We were all rightly furious at the rangers support during Ron’s dedication and Boyle’s injury, but any high ground the club gained from cutting away support allocation due to abuse is totally undermined by these idiots, whether it be by throwing stuff at players/online abuse/racial abuse.

please stop supporting Hibs if you cannot act with some basic decency towards others.

Well said

hibernian1982
05-05-2024, 08:27 AM
Please stop supporting Hibs if you cannot act with some basic decency towards others.

100%. No place for this. Makes me ashamed of our support.
As if the result wasn't bad enough we have to see this too. Season can't end soon enough.

scm70nyd1973
05-05-2024, 08:44 AM
Man detained according to Hibs Observer

Throw away the key and a lifetime ban from Easter Road

“Man” should have read “Coward” or any numbers of words to describe morons like this - it defies belief why anyone would do this.

As for picking people out in the Rangers end with the Boyle matter - nothing done,just move on, nothing to see prevails - but yet we are castigated in the press but they never get it in the neck FFS

05-05-2024, 08:45 AM
Hopefully named and shamed

If found guilty, of course.

05-05-2024, 09:27 AM
If found guilty, of course.

Hibs can still ban the moron even if he isn't found guilty in court because the level of proof required by the club is far lower.

HFC93
05-05-2024, 09:47 AM
Hibs can still ban the moron even if he isn't found guilty in court because the level of proof required by the club is far lower.

Crazy notion but what if the individual is actually innocent?

05-05-2024, 10:06 AM
Did anyone notice the Hibs fan trying to take a swipe at one of the County players as he was taking a throw in?

He missed, but that's when the referee spoke to the security staff and a group of stewards moved to stand in front of our fans.

I wonder if it was the same guy. :dunno:

Greensunshine
05-05-2024, 12:40 PM
I agree 100% with OP, well said however the hypocrisy by Sky and its pundits today is evident for all to see.

We regularly are subjected to 50k Rangers supporters singing about how they’re upto their knees in fenian blood and nothing is said but one wee idiot shouts out up at Dingwall their all over it!!!

HYPOCRISY!

05-05-2024, 01:12 PM
I agree 100% with OP, well said however the hypocrisy by Sky and its pundits today is evident for all to see.

We regularly are subjected to 50k Rangers supporters singing about how they’re upto their knees in fenian blood and nothing is said but one wee idiot shouts out up at Dingwall their all over it!!!

HYPOCRISY!

It's brutal, and the irony is that it's because both Ross County and Hibs acted quickly on it to identify the individual and let the police take it from there. That's all you can ask of the club, they can't stop folk shouting stuff but they can act when it happens.

Rangers, on the other hand, turn a blind eye to it - lean into it even.

Clearly the individual hasn't been found guilty of anything yet so it's just an allegation, but Hibs have done their part with it

05-05-2024, 01:28 PM
If guilty, life time ban please. Likewise anyone who attempts to strike a player, as reported above.

I spoke to pal who was very near the incident. He said there was plenty of Hearts abuse being shouted but he heard nothing racist. Could it be that Dhanda has misheard 'you Hearts *******'? I just can't for the life of me fathom why a Hibs fan would shout racist guff when we ourselves have lots of black & foreign players. I realise racists aren't exactly known for their intelligence.......

05-05-2024, 01:35 PM
If guilty, life time ban please. Likewise anyone who attempts to strike a player, as reported above.

I spoke to pal who was very near the incident. He said there was plenty of Hearts abuse being shouted but he heard nothing racist. Could it be that Dhanda has misheard 'you Hearts *******'? I just can't for the life of me fathom why a Hibs fan would shout racist guff when we ourselves have lots of black & foreign players. I realise racist aren't exactly known for their intelligence.......

That was my thoughts as well and why I don’t think folk should be too quick to pile in. There was loads of Hearts ******* shouts and stuff along those lines. It’s a pretty small area and there were stewards lined up along the front as well so if something bad has been shouted, you’d think there would be plenty witnesses to it.

05-05-2024, 02:33 PM

I spoke to pal who was very near the incident. He said there was plenty of Hearts abuse being shouted but he heard nothing racist. Could it be that Dhanda has misheard 'you Hearts *******'? I just can't for the life of me fathom why a Hibs fan would shout racist guff when we ourselves have lots of black & foreign players. I realise racist aren't exactly known for their intelligence.......[/QUOTE

'I realise racist aren't exactly known for their intelligence.......' .... that is the point, there are so many fans who hurl racist (or/and bigoted) abuse at other teams' players while ignoring the fact their own teams have non-white players; in Scotland The Rangers fans sit top of the pile for ignoring the reality of the catholic and black players in their own team (read Marco Negri's take on that).
'Our' fan has been identified and arrested, presumably accurately & with witnesses around him to testify; if he's guilty name & shame & ban him from anything connected to Hibs for ever & a day. Yes there's huge amounts of hypocrisy up here, around the Old Firm specifically but at least we can put our own house in order when it's needed.

LewysGot2
05-05-2024, 03:07 PM

I spoke to pal who was very near the incident. He said there was plenty of Hearts abuse being shouted but he heard nothing racist. Could it be that Dhanda has misheard 'you Hearts *******'? I just can't for the life of me fathom why a Hibs fan would shout racist guff when we ourselves have lots of black & foreign players. I realise racists aren't exactly known for their intelligence.......

You Hertz ******* was being sung a lot. He got booed on the ball for being a Hertz *******. But he clearly thought he heard something unsavoury that crossed a line and his demeanour suggested it. He was hurt.

Wasn't near where it happened so no idea re allegations but circumstantial evidence points to him validly thinking he heard something vile.

Too many folk get rat arsed or, in the case of some, off their faces on other things on these long trips. Behaviour goes down the pan with it

05-05-2024, 06:30 PM

Then the level of proof required for the club to ban him won't be met.

05-05-2024, 06:50 PM
Embarrassing idiot. Honestly, if you hear a nugget next to you spouring this rubbish tell him to shut the **** up and then report him.

05-05-2024, 07:26 PM
I just can't for the life of me fathom why a Hibs fan would shout racist guff when we ourselves have lots of black & foreign players.

Its wholly irrelevant really. I remember being at Tynecastle and hearing racist abuse from us at their players (‘spearchuckers’) and abuse aimed at Paul Elliott and Bobo Balde amongst others over the years, both times we had black players in our side. Almost all teams have some black players these days and anti black racism isnt going away, far from it.

05-05-2024, 07:42 PM
Its wholly irrelevant really. I remember being at Tynecastle and hearing racist abuse from us at their players (‘spearchuckers’) and abuse aimed at Paul Elliott and Bobo Balde amongst others over the years, both times we had black players in our side. Almost all teams have some black players these days and anti black racism isnt going away, far from it.

One guy was calling Fitzroy Simpson all the racist names under the sun, I said we have black players too, to which he responded but they play for us....Frightening logic

05-05-2024, 07:46 PM
Saw a 27 year old has been charged.

05-05-2024, 07:50 PM
Saw a 27 year old has been charged.

27 year old. Absolute embarrassment.

05-05-2024, 09:37 PM
Disgusting

I'm Spartacus
05-05-2024, 09:46 PM

HYPOCRISY!

Racism and bigotry, as much as both are unacceptable in all forms, and it's not a compeition, Racism needs brutally managed out and instantly, Bigotry is a sociatal change in Scotland, which we are doing nothing about.

06-05-2024, 11:35 AM
Not defending this person, but i'm surprised nobody else appears to have heard what was said?

Normally we'd have folk telling us what was said and rightly castigating them, i'm hoping Dhanda has missheard what was said but if he is right, then this person should be banned.

Cant be critical of others if we dont get our own house in order.

06-05-2024, 11:57 AM
Not defending this person, but i'm surprised nobody else appears to have heard what was said?

Normally we'd have folk telling us what was said and rightly castigating them, i'm hoping Dhanda has missheard what was said but if he is right, then this person should be banned.

Cant be critical of others if we dont get our own house in order.

You definitely can be - this is one guy and he’s being dealt with. Doesn’t mean we should ignore racism elsewhere.

06-05-2024, 12:02 PM
You definitely can be - this is one guy and he’s being dealt with. Doesn’t mean we should ignore racism elsewhere.
Sorry, yes you can be critical, but if we are doing similar it carry's less weight.

JonnyHibees
06-05-2024, 01:58 PM
I did hear the racist shout very clearly from one individual in amongst more innocent shouts of you hearts *******.

Assuming that the Police have arrested the correct person then they are very guilty.

PM if you want to know what was said. It involved combining Indian foods with insults. Reminiscent of Jady Goody on Big Brother years ago.

Dhanda has an Indian Father.

06-05-2024, 02:04 PM
Sorry, yes you can be critical, but if we are doing similar it carry's less weight.

I think where we can still call it out without worrying about being called hypocrites is how Hibs have dealt with this. We acted straight away, no condoning or deflecting - it was dealt with by Saturday night.

Every club has racists in the support, sadly there are folk who still think it’s ok. So you can’t stop the shouts, all you can do is act promptly when it happens and take it seriously. Hibs have done that every time it’s happened, iirc.

We need other clubs to do the same.

06-05-2024, 02:04 PM
I did hear the racist shout very clearly from one individual in amongst more innocent shouts of you hearts *******.

Assuming that the Police have arrested the correct person then they are very guilty.

PM if you want to know what was said. It involved combining Indian foods with insults. Reminiscent of Jady Goody on Big Brother years ago.

Thanks for clarifying. Hope the clown gets the book thrown at him, lifetime ban , his employers find out etc. make an example of him.

LewysGot2
06-05-2024, 02:27 PM

That is what I have heard from a mate who was near the incident. Indian related slur used. As I didn't hear it first hand I've not posted it but it absolutely fits your description

06-05-2024, 04:36 PM

That clears it up, ban him. :agree:

06-05-2024, 05:53 PM

Tynecastle was where Mark Walters had the bananas thrown at him from what is now the the Wheatfield stand.I'm sure there would have been other grounds but it was the Sportscene game that week.

1875Hibees
06-05-2024, 06:19 PM
A lifetime ban is crazy tbh but pretty stupid thing to be doing, if its true(the abuse).

mcohibs
06-05-2024, 09:42 PM
A lifetime ban is crazy tbh but pretty stupid thing to be doing, if its true(the abuse).

Play stupid games, win stupid prizes. Lifetime ban is entirely appropriate and hope it acts as a strong deterrent against this kind of behaviour. These people have no place in society let alone a part of our football club. Throw the book at them.

1875Hibees
06-05-2024, 09:53 PM
Play stupid games, win stupid prizes. Lifetime ban is entirely appropriate and hope it acts as a strong deterrent against this kind of behaviour. These people have no place in society let alone a part of our football club. Throw the book at them.
Na. I disagree. You shouldent ban someone for something stupid they did in their 20s for their entire life. Do people not change or learn? I know its not prison, its the football, but by that logic people would never leave prisons, no matter what they are in for.

06-05-2024, 10:00 PM
calls for lifetime bans are just ridiculous, 2-3 year ban at most let the individual grow up

06-05-2024, 10:09 PM
People who abuse people at a football game with racist,sectarian, glorifying in the death of somebody should do something else and keep away from football. Unfortunately as long as we have 2 clubs in this country who thrive on this behaviour nothing will change. If one of our supporters has acted and made racist comments they deserve what they get.
One club in particular never said a word when their fans have whilst a player was injured badly could only sing about hell of a way to die.
I was right behind Marvin Bartley at Tynecastle when he was warming and witnessed Hearts fans making monkey gestures and heard him being called a black basta**. We have a problem in Society which has not changed since I started going to games in the late 1960s. Nobody is born Racist or Bigoted it tends to be taught at home. It will still be around 60 years from now how sad.

mcohibs
06-05-2024, 10:17 PM
Sorry but the ‘he’ll grow out of it’ pish really needs to stop. No tolerance to racism, ever. Needs a hard line approach and use these people as deterrents to others. That’s the only way to eradicate the problem. Wishy washy approach, ‘daft young laddies’ etc. isn’t working.

Not talking about school kids here btw, guys in their 20s who are old enough to have weans themselves. It needs wiped out.

06-05-2024, 10:17 PM
People who abuse people at a football game with racist,sectarian, glorifying in the death of somebody should do something else and keep away from football. Unfortunately as long as we have 2 clubs in this country who thrive on this behaviour nothing will change. If one of our supporters has acted and made racist comments they deserve what they get.
One club in particular never said a word when their fans have whilst a player was injured badly could only sing about hell of a way to die.
I was right behind Marvin Bartley at Tynecastle when he was warming and witnessed Hearts fans making monkey gestures and heard him being called a black basta**. We have a problem in Society which has not changed since I started going to games in the late 1960s. Nobody is born Racist or Bigoted it tends to be taught at home. It will still be around 60 years from now how sad.

Things have changed. I remember racism in the 70’s at ER. The whole east singing about Paul Wilson of Celtic and his dark skin. I also remember Jim Davidson and the likes of love guy neighbour as popular mainstream Tv.

1875Hibees
06-05-2024, 10:32 PM
Sorry but the ‘he’ll grow out of it’ pish really needs to stop. No tolerance to racism, ever. Needs a hard line approach and use these people as deterrents to others. That’s the only way to eradicate the problem. Wishy washy approach, ‘daft young laddies’ etc. isn’t working.

Not talking about school kids here btw, guys in their 20s who are old enough to have weans themselves. It needs wiped out.
Like I said by your logic people would never leave prison or people would never get the chance to change. We're not talking about murder here, and even murderers get the chance to try to turn their lives around(unfortunately).

06-05-2024, 10:37 PM
Things have changed. I remember racism in the 70’s at ER. The whole east singing about Paul Wilson of Celtic and his dark skin. I also remember Jim Davidson and the likes of love guy neighbour as popular mainstream Tv.
Has it changed when the Mercer song gets sung etc. You are right in one respect less racism shown on TV I remember the Paul Wilson chants but the fans of the team he played for would also racially abuse him so it was fair game in some people's minds in those days. But today a whole stadium will be chanting sectarian songs.It was wrong then but have we moved on from that time? Are people only 90 minute bigots/racists I think not. We have a issue in Society which has attached itself to football unfortunately for far too long.

07-05-2024, 03:22 AM
calls for lifetime bans are just ridiculous, 2-3 year ban at most let the individual grow up

What if the individual was in his late 40's or early 50's? Done your growing up by that time.

07-05-2024, 08:53 AM

hes 27 not 12.

mcohibs
07-05-2024, 10:43 AM
Like I said by your logic people would never leave prison or people would never get the chance to change. We're not talking about murder here, and even murderers get the chance to try to turn their lives around(unfortunately).

If you racially abused someone on a flight, you’d never fly with that airline again.

If you racially abused staff in a restaurant, you’d never be welcomed back.

Not being able to go and watch one football team play isn’t the severe punishment you think it is. Prison is of course a much more severe punishment and people are sentenced to different length terms for the reasons you mention.

hibbiedon
07-05-2024, 10:59 AM

Trial by social media does not require you to be guilty

07-05-2024, 11:16 AM

He's 27,he's grown up. Just seems to be a plain and simple racist.

07-05-2024, 11:51 AM
Na. I disagree. You shouldent ban someone for something stupid they did in their 20s for their entire life. Do people not change or learn? I know its not prison, its the football, but by that logic people would never leave prisons, no matter what they are in for.

Being in your 20s and shouting racist abuse is no excuse. By your 20s you should know better. Lifetime ban is appropriate although do we know the age of the culprit?

07-05-2024, 11:53 AM

Think you'd have a a different view if someone said racist comments about you. They can be very damaging and hurtful and absolutely no place in society.

07-05-2024, 12:02 PM
Amazing how no matter what someone says or does, there always, ALWAYS seems to be an excuse or defence for it if it's your team.

07-05-2024, 12:24 PM
Has it changed when the Mercer song gets sung etc. You are right in one respect less racism shown on TV I remember the Paul Wilson chants but the fans of the team he played for would also racially abuse him so it was fair game in some people's minds in those days. But today a whole stadium will be chanting sectarian songs.It was wrong then but have we moved on from that time? Are people only 90 minute bigots/racists I think not. We have a issue in Society which has attached itself to football unfortunately for far too long.

The Mercer song is deeply unpleasant but not racist.

I don't think that we have eradicated racism, but we have moved forward a lot as a society, a good bit more than you give credit for in my view.

Of course, there are still societal issues, football probably has more than it's fair share of them. However, there is a still a big difference between what was acceptable in decades past and now. Your question of 90 minute bigots/racists is an interesting observation. People who shout racist abuse, join in the party songs etc, it probably does reflect deep rooted prejudices.

However, I would point to our own club as an example of how change presents. Growing up and being a teenager in the 70's, I would sing rebel songs, decry refs and Rangers players as orange bassas etc, die, die, die ya hun , maybe even join in with the Wilson song, as did many of the people who stood on the terraces with me. These songs have long disappeared from our repertoire, as have very vocal references to it's man's game, insults saying players (male) are playing like a woman, casual homophobia...etc.

I prefer a more optimistic take. Racism, sectarianism, sexism, homophobia still exist, but it's far less overt.