View Full Version : Simon Murray
LewysGot2
04-05-2024, 08:45 PM
Well deserved MotM.
Energy, desire, work rate, pace and power. Aye, he's no more than a SPFL player - he's no Lewandowski- but hats off to him. 19 goals this season in that side.
To the Hibs fan who shouted rubbish at him from the wee section opened behind the goals about him being rotten you deserved him biting back at you, pal. As he clearly could be heard shouting back- if he was rubbish, he still scored easily. Probably went too far in calling you a fat @*ck but you probably couldn't complain 🤔🤣
Few fans round us applauded his MotM award. Clear winner.
04-05-2024, 08:59 PM
Would be a big upgrade on any of our strikers bar Maolida
04-05-2024, 09:03 PM
Everything we currently don’t have
04-05-2024, 09:07 PM
Everything we currently don’t have
You’ve got to wonder… if he’s managed 18 goals in a terrible County team and looks a nightmare to play against… how many extra points might we have picked up this season with him in a central striker’s role?
Our goal return this season has been decent, Maolida’s return exceptional in a short timeframe, but our decent haul has been achieved largely in spite of out of form strikers rather than thanks to them.
jakeshibs
04-05-2024, 09:10 PM
I still remember loads on here saying he was not good enough for hibs.
04-05-2024, 09:11 PM
Guaranteed if his name was Simeone Murario and we signed him for £500k the same people would be buzzing about him.
We have a snobbishness about proven SPFL players that I will never understand.
Greensunshine
04-05-2024, 09:11 PM
He’s the Duracell bunny! He never stops! Absolute nightmare to play against.
I have nothing but admiration for the lad, how can you not?
04-05-2024, 09:15 PM
He always had very good movement. I think he would have done well in the 2nd half of that Lennon season with Allan, McGinn and McGeouch feeding him. It's hard to argue he was a better option that Kamberi and MacLaren at the time though.
He certainly looks a better all round player now and his energy would be welcome. Our defence made Jordan White look like ****ing Pele in the 2nd half though so how much you can read into today is anyone's guess.
04-05-2024, 09:22 PM
He always had very good movement. I think he would have done well in the 2nd half of that Lennon season with Allan, McGinn and McGeouch feeding him. It's hard to argue he was a better option that Kamberi and MacLaren at the time though.
He certainly looks a better all round player now and his energy would be welcome. Our defence made Jordan White look like ****ing Pele in the 2nd half though so how much you can read into today is anyone's guess.
He looked like he lost his confidence with us. At the start, he was banging then in during the early League Cup games and scored a couple of big goals for us against Hearts and Rangers. He didn’t really look like he clicked with Stokes all that well and he wasn’t playing well by the time he went out on loan.
When he returned from loan and played games the summer he returned, his head was down something rotten. He didn’t look at all happy and he needs to be that spirited, energetic, chasing lost causes type to be at his best.
Fair play to him for battling back to form.
04-05-2024, 09:23 PM
That was 7 years ago. Do you not think he has improved in that time? Thats half his career ago.
LewysGot2
04-05-2024, 09:26 PM
Recently had a diagnosis of autism for his child and speaking out - good to see this kind of activism in players.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12923028/we-want-to-involve-everyone-simon-murray-helping-ross-county-design-sensory-area
He’s a good egg and honest pro.
Greensunshine
04-05-2024, 09:27 PM
Kamberi…… I shudder when I hear his name. A big useless caaaaant!
tonyrougier123
04-05-2024, 09:28 PM
That was 7 years ago. Do you not think he has improved in that time? Thats half his career ago.
It was a myth he wasn’t good enough anyway. Lennon just lost it with the strikers and thankfully it payed off at the time,i really rated Murray,daft as a brush but had strength and power was more intelligent on the field than credit was given to him. Should have been retained for me,but budgets need trimmed to wheel and deal I suppose.
04-05-2024, 09:30 PM
Forget anything to do with quality, the effort he put in to that game today was phenomenal. He was a threat because he put in a proper shift and got himself in to dangerous positions off the back of that. We’ve got players that like to pretend they do that but, really, they generally need everything to be going nicely for them to look good rather than make it happen.
Mikey_1875
04-05-2024, 09:30 PM
His levels of fitness put our players to shame today. Impressive performance.
04-05-2024, 09:34 PM
His levels of fitness put our players to shame today. Impressive performance.
We had a corner in the second half and seeing our players trying to run back was an absolute embarrassment. They were all over the place for a good couple of minutes as they weren’t fit enough to get back in to their shape.
LewysGot2
04-05-2024, 09:35 PM
We had a corner in the second half and seeing our players trying to run back was an absolute embarrassment. They were all over the place for a good couple of minutes as they weren’t fit enough to get back in to their shape.
Second half we could have hooked any of them- blowing out their proverbials
04-05-2024, 09:40 PM
Yet he’s still banging in goals v Hearts, The Rangers and Hibs 7 years later 👍
04-05-2024, 09:40 PM
It was a myth he wasn’t good enough anyway. Lennon just lost it with the strikers and thankfully it payed off at the time,i really rated Murray,daft as a brush but had strength and power was more intelligent on the field than credit was given to him. Should have been retained for me,but budgets need trimmed to wheel and deal I suppose.
Don't think it was. He started extremely well, but had fallen off a cliff form wise and was replaced with 2 guys who made a massive impact.
HarpOnHibee
04-05-2024, 09:43 PM
Reality is, if he had been playing for us this season, he wouldn't have looked nearly as good. We have a habit of making players that should perform well look progressively worse instead. Then we say they're rubbish and not "Hibs class". Only for them to then come back and haunt us within another team in the league with a substantially smaller budget that knows how to get the best out of key players regardless of how poor their overall squad is.
04-05-2024, 10:32 PM
Simon Murray is as good as most of the forwards we have just now but his work rate, passion and determination far outstrips any of them.
04-05-2024, 10:41 PM
He is the type of player we’re missing.
I said when dodge was sold that we no longer had a striker to ruffle up defenders or make them defend through a physical presence.
tonyrougier123
05-05-2024, 03:19 AM
We should be seriously weighing up bringing him in. If the clear out is as big as it should be we will need players like that. He knows the club and has a ready made platform knowing what he’s coming into.
05-05-2024, 05:43 AM
Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray.
Worth re-signing him for that alone.
05-05-2024, 06:39 AM
Gogic
DIXIHIBS
05-05-2024, 07:10 AM
Gogic
Sportsound saying he was outstanding yesterday. Had a great season.
NC1875
05-05-2024, 07:43 AM
Really liked him on his time here and was a bit peed off that we got rid.
Said yesterday that he has more hunger and desire to do well for his team than our whole squad together.
If we had even 2 players with that attitude we wouldn’t be where we are.
05-05-2024, 07:47 AM
His work rate was always incredible. Ran his socks off in a Hibs shirt.
Bridge hibs
05-05-2024, 07:48 AM
Said yesterday that he has more hunger and desire to do well for his team than our whole squad together.
If we had even 2 players with that attitude we wouldn’t be where we are.He may not be the silkiest of players but looks like he would run through a brick wall for his team, shame we cant say the same for our bunch of snowflakes
McHibby
05-05-2024, 05:23 PM
Me too. I remember being really surprised and disappointed that we let him go. And I've not actually felt like about many players who've left in the last 5+ years.
[Outwith the obvious ones, that is. Like Scott Brown and McGinn, who we all knew would move on but that we would get a decent fee for.]
05-05-2024, 05:25 PM
Kamberi…… I shudder when I hear his name. A big useless caaaaant!
Been a lot worse players than him at Easter Road.
05-05-2024, 05:50 PM
my main memory of him was of him getting called offside more often than he got a shot away...but if he sorted out that one aspect of his game (which in 7 years he must have done!), he'd have been some player for us.
Exuberance1875
05-05-2024, 07:13 PM
Would stroll into this Hibs team
05-05-2024, 07:53 PM
Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray.
Worth re-signing him for that alone.
I’m with you on that. :greengrin
I’ d be for telling our scouts a decent song is the top attribute any new signing could bring to the club.
05-05-2024, 07:54 PM
Would stroll into this Hibs team
That probably says a lot about the current crop of absolute s*** we currently have. Benny Brazil would stroll into this team.
05-05-2024, 07:59 PM
That probably says a lot about the current crop of absolute s*** we currently have. Benny Brazil would stroll into this team.
We should look out our boots.,:greengrin
05-05-2024, 08:28 PM
I remember asking one of the boys who he was when we played Montrose in the Scottish in 2015, he was a standout that day, but had already signed for Utd at that point.
Was really pleased when we signed him after we went up, and in the first half of that season he scored a good few goals, including a couple of huge ones.
Was sad to see him moved on so soon, but hard to argue that it wasn’t good business at the time. However, I’d love to see him back again. So many good attributes for an SPL striker.
05-05-2024, 08:54 PM
I remember asking one of the boys who he was when we played Montrose in the Scottish in 2015, he was a standout that day, but had already signed for Utd at that point.
Was really pleased when we signed him after we went up, and in the first half of that season he scored a good few goals, including a couple of huge ones.
Was sad to see him moved on so soon, but hard to argue that it wasn’t good business at the time. However, I’d love to see him back again. So many good attributes for an SPL striker.
14 goals and 6 assists in 28 appearances. I know quite a few of the goals were in the league cup group stage but it’s still a better contribution than most strikers we sign will manage. His record for Ross County hasn’t been too dissimilar this season in that he got a really good start in the league cup. But 12 league goals so far is good going for a team in their position. Thought he was outstanding yesterday.
05-05-2024, 09:10 PM
14 goals and 6 assists in 28 appearances. I know quite a few of the goals were in the league cup group stage but it’s still a better contribution than most strikers we sign will manage. His record for Ross County hasn’t been too dissimilar this season in that he got a really good start in the league cup. But 12 league goals so far is good going for a team in their position. Thought he was outstanding yesterday.
Yes, everyone remembers that MacLaren and Kamberi came in and scored 17 between them from January of that season, but we were already in 4th when they arrived and Stokes and Murray had scored 25 between them before they both moved on in January.
His return for County this season is superb as you say, and he still looks like he’s improving at 32.
05-05-2024, 09:15 PM
We should look out our boots.,:greengrin
Could we do any worse? Honestly this current crop of Hibs players is the worst I can remember in terms of those who I like the most. Collectively, they are just so unlikeable.
05-05-2024, 09:21 PM
Yes, everyone remembers that MacLaren and Kamberi came in and scored 17 between them from January of that season, but we were already in 4th when they arrived and Stokes and Murray had scored 25 between them before they both moved on in January.
His return for County this season is superb as you say, and he still looks like he’s improving at 32.
They were both benched for Shaw before the end tbf.
05-05-2024, 09:35 PM
Crazy to let him go at time huffy kamberi showed his colours when went to huns and mclaren went off it
05-05-2024, 09:38 PM
Could we do any worse? Honestly this current crop of Hibs players is the worst I can remember in terms of those who I like the most. Collectively, they are just so unlikeable.
You only have to go back a couple of years to find a less likeable Hibs team, on my opinion.
Under Maloney, with Mueller, Jasper, Melkerson, Henderson and Scott all playing regularly.
When you actually think about the squad back then, Maloney was up the creek without a paddle.
05-05-2024, 09:59 PM
Crazy to let him go at time huffy kamberi showed his colours when went to huns and mclaren went off it
It was a stroke of genius that led to our best run of form in years. Kamberi and Maclaren were big upgrades at that time
tonyrougier123
06-05-2024, 11:26 PM
It was a stroke of genius that led to our best run of form in years. Kamberi and Maclaren were big upgrades at that time
And Murray would be a massive upgrade on vente and le fondre for me. Vente might come good I hope so cause he cost a pretty penny. Not to say either are complete wastes of a jersey either, I rated Murray highly and still do. But the gamble did pay off in the short term with macca and kamberi.
07-05-2024, 06:22 AM
You only have to go back a couple of years to find a less likeable Hibs team, on my opinion.
Under Maloney, with Mueller, Jasper, Melkerson, Henderson and Scott all playing regularly.
When you actually think about the squad back then, Maloney was up the creek without a paddle.
Agree think Maloney was treated very badly. A bit like Monty would actually have given Shaun a preseason and summer window. You either stick with a manager and give them a proper chance or you don’t imo. Completely get that isn’t a common view at present
07-05-2024, 06:25 AM
And Murray would be a massive upgrade on vente and le fondre for me. Vente might come good I hope so cause he cost a pretty penny. Not to say either are complete wastes of a jersey either, I rated Murray highly and still do. But the gamble did pay off in the short term with macca and kamberi.
Did Scott Allan also join in that window?
07-05-2024, 06:48 AM
I understand from a mate who has a son at Queens Park that Murray is up near to Inverness for family reasons so unlikely to be back down any time soon.
07-05-2024, 08:05 AM
I understand from a mate who has a son at Queens Park that Murray is up near to Inverness for family reasons so unlikely to be back down any time soon.
Rumour up here is that he's keen to move to or near his hometown of Dundee with it being 50/50 on that being Dens or Tannadice. I'm told Arabs wanted him in January as a back-up striker but couldn't get him.
What he gives is work-rate and effort in abundance, qualities lacking in a number of our players. At 31 or 32 he's still got pace and an eye for goal and I'd take him as an off-the-bench / back-up option at Hibs.
07-05-2024, 09:48 AM
Agree think Maloney was treated very badly. A bit like Monty would actually have given Shaun a preseason and summer window. You either stick with a manager and give them a proper chance or you don’t imo. Completely get that isn’t a common view at present
I didn’t see anything from Maloney at all, I’m afraid.
AndyM_1875
07-05-2024, 12:24 PM
Rumour up here is that he's keen to move to or near his hometown of Dundee with it being 50/50 on that being Dens or Tannadice. I'm told Arabs wanted him in January as a back-up striker but couldn't get him.
What he gives is work-rate and effort in abundance, qualities lacking in a number of our players. At 31 or 32 he's still got pace and an eye for goal and I'd take him as an off-the-bench / back-up option at Hibs.
Don't think he'd be any sort of back up and he'd start in our current team ahead of our 700k striker. No question.
SM runs his socks off in matches and his physical conditioning is superb. Hibs should approach him IMHO.
Mcbizz1998
07-05-2024, 12:43 PM
If Murray ends up at either of the Dundee clubs we will live to regret it. He is an obvious and actually achievable signing for us to make, something Hibs never seem to be interested in.
LNHibs
07-05-2024, 03:24 PM
Did Scott Allan also join in that window?
Bain went to Celtic, We took Allan, and Dundee took Murray. Incredible business at the time. 6 goals in 22 games wasn't terrible but he wasn't good enough back then and rightly moved on to make way for better players. Hes had a good year this year but in the time hes been away he hasn't done anything of note. Typical ''we should've kept him'' when another bang average player comes back to us and plays well
07-05-2024, 03:28 PM
He is clearly playing well for county but I hope we aiming higher than Simon Murray if we want to progress
07-05-2024, 07:54 PM
He is clearly playing well for county but I hope we aiming higher than Simon Murray if we want to progress
Where I am too. Decent player having a more then decent season, but not one I think one we should be chasing after, nor do I think we will be.
And that’s before getting to the fact .net usually collectively ****s itself at the thought of signing someone who’s already been at us and/or is over the age of 30.
27-06-2024, 11:47 PM
To be fair, he is a better player now.
28-06-2024, 12:07 AM
To be fair, he is a better player now.Yep - he wasn't good enough when we got rid
He done well at QP but last season was his best by miles
Can he keep that up? If he was a few years younger I'd take a punt but wouldn't be overly fussed now https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240628/50f6a3d6e5c2212bd8f8e3ac8830d090.jpg
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
28-06-2024, 06:31 AM
Had a better MPG than Miovski last season.
28-06-2024, 07:06 AM
And this is why we need to ditch the ego when it comes to signings. Lots on here would be astonished and delighted if we signed Miovski and yet it’s Murray that would likely be written off as a cheap option.
28-06-2024, 07:10 AM
Murray would be a great addition to this squad.
28-06-2024, 07:12 AM
And this is why we need to ditch the ego when it comes to signings. Lots on here would be astonished and delighted if we signed Miovski and yet it’s Murray that would likely be written off as a cheap option.
He only has a better minutes per goal than Miovski because he was playing in the League cup group stage while Miovski was playing in the European group stage.
28-06-2024, 07:49 AM
He only has a better minutes per goal than Miovski because he was playing in the League cup group stage while Miovski was playing in the European group stage.
Yep.
Simon Murray had 6 goals in 4 league cup games before Miovski/Aberdeen had even had a game.
G15 Hibs
28-06-2024, 08:23 AM
Well, we're in the League Cup and not Europe this season so he sounds ideal!
28-06-2024, 08:24 AM
Does he have a better MPG than Vente?
Yes, get him in
28-06-2024, 08:56 AM
Does he have a better MPG than Vente?
Yes, get him in
Yes think they would be a good pair upfront together
28-06-2024, 08:59 AM
Yes think they would be a good pair upfront together
I think we’d be better cutting out losses on him and finding a new club for him tbh, he offers very little.
Cabbage-Patch
28-06-2024, 09:11 AM
I think we’d be better cutting out losses on him and finding a new club for him tbh, he offers very little.
Vente looked like an absolute predator in his 1st few games then Monty came in and destroyed his confidence playing him too deep. Saw enough in this initial spell to justify sticking with him. New season new manager with hopefully better players around him I'm confident he score plenty next season.
28-06-2024, 09:14 AM
One really good season after a few ok seasons, I hope we are aiming for better
28-06-2024, 09:15 AM
Vente looked like an absolute predator in his 1st few games then Monty came in and destroyed his confidence playing him too deep. Saw enough in this initial spell to justify sticking with him. New season new manager with hopefully better players around him I'm confident he score plenty next season.Definitely this, I'm hoping the same. I'd be happy to add Simon Murray as an option as well.
wallpaperman
28-06-2024, 05:04 PM
Definitely this, I'm hoping the same. I'd be happy to add Simon Murray as an option as well.
I would as well, fans being sniffy about him are out of touch with reality as to where we are as a club.
Also be nice to sign a player for once that I (and I suspect most fans) have even heard of.
28-06-2024, 05:17 PM
I would as well, fans being sniffy about him are out of touch with reality as to where we are as a club.
Also be nice to sign a player for once that I (and I suspect most fans) have even heard of.
Don't think folk are really being sniffy. It's just that he's 32 and last season was realistically his only good season in the top flight. A bit like Van Veen, had one good season.
Stats (and I know it doesn't work like that) would suggest he's more likely to have a **** season next than another class one like he did this year, he scored 2 goals in 14 games in 22/23 season for example.
28-06-2024, 05:30 PM
Don't think folk are really being sniffy. It's just that he's 32 and last season was realistically his only good season in the top flight. A bit like Van Veen, had one good season.
Stats (and I know it doesn't work like that) would suggest he's more likely to have a **** season next than another class one like he did this year, he scored 2 goals in 14 games in 22/23 season for example.
While they're totally different footballers Simon Murray reminds me of Pat McGinlay in these respects:
Both are late developers
With great attitudes
They've improved as the years went on
And likely to sustain a good level
Because they know & appreciate how hard they worked to get there & how short the glory days career is
I'd sign him
Chipper1875
28-06-2024, 06:50 PM
He brings an incredible work ethic and doesn’t give defenders a moment’s peace. Simon woukd be a good addition to the squad. Brings a different option
28-06-2024, 07:32 PM
He’d be a fantastic addition, energy and drive and goals. We need a physical presence up top too though, too often Vente drops deep and that’s not his game - he needs a foul up top and staying in and around that opposition penalty box where he’s effective.
28-06-2024, 07:51 PM
Is there any rumours about Simon Murray or is this just a wish list?
28-06-2024, 10:26 PM
Vente looked like an absolute predator in his 1st few games then Monty came in and destroyed his confidence playing him too deep. Saw enough in this initial spell to justify sticking with him. New season new manager with hopefully better players around him I'm confident he score plenty next season.
Would get shot of Vente personally
29-06-2024, 05:09 AM
Would get shot of Vente personally
Seen enough not going to happen need better
Musselbound
29-06-2024, 05:36 AM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/5023828/ryan-jack-simon-murray-dundee-fc-transfers/
KeithWright9
29-06-2024, 09:13 AM
Wish list
Edinburgh Green
29-06-2024, 09:15 AM
Alan Nixon claiming we are after him
29-06-2024, 09:17 AM
File that under no happening then
29-06-2024, 09:21 AM
File that under no happening then
He did get Bursik correct to be fair.
29-06-2024, 09:22 AM
He did get Bursik correct to be fair.
A broken clock……….
Silky
29-06-2024, 09:23 AM
That's bold! Pimping himself like that! Is Alan Nixon any good?
29-06-2024, 09:25 AM
That's bold! Pimping himself like that! Is Alan Nixon any good?
😅😂
29-06-2024, 04:02 PM
Daily record sport page saying we're after him . Would be a good addition to the squad and every chance he could play his way into an automatic starter.
CentreForward
29-06-2024, 04:27 PM
Several media outlets running with the story now Record, Sun, Herald etc. Please make it happen Hibs! think would be an excellent signing and no reason why he couldn’t actually be a fairly regular starter!
We already know all about Murray from the last time he was here. Works hard and is pacy but technically poor. Not useful in a team which has lots of the ball and trying to break down a deep, stubborn defence.
I wouldn't be against him coming in as a cheap squad player but it would have to be on that basis. I think he will be offered more money and more playing time elsewhere.
29-06-2024, 09:37 PM
We already know all about Murray from the last time he was here. Works hard and is pacy but technically poor. Not useful in a team which has lots of the ball and trying to break down a deep, stubborn defence.
I wouldn't be against him coming in as a cheap squad player but it would have to be on that basis. I think he will be offered more money and more playing time elsewhere.
The current Simon Murray is double the player he was when he was here first time. His first touch is absolutely fine, his work rate is immense and it’s an insult to him to even suggest that no matter how he performs he is being brought in a a squad filler. He would be a massive improvement on the strikers we currently have available.
Most of us would like tried and trusted players to come in - I’m just not sure how you get much better than SM based on his form last season. We absolutely got run ragged by the guy the last time he was an opponent.
The current Simon Murray is double the player he was when he was here first time. His first touch is absolutely fine, his work rate is immense and it’s an insult to him to even suggest that no matter how he performs he is being brought in a a squad filler. He would be a massive improvement on the strikers we currently have available.
Most of us would like tried and trusted players to come in - I’m just not sure how you get much better than SM based on his form last season. We absolutely got run ragged by the guy the last time he was an opponent.
Malonga's Cat
29-06-2024, 09:45 PM
Totally agree with this. Vente was excellent to begin with but Monty just didn't use him in the same way. He's worth another shot this season.
Reckon adding Simon Murray would be a great addition. Proven SPFL player who works hard... exactly what we need!
29-06-2024, 10:12 PM
I loved Murray when he was first with us - still my avatar! Plus he’s got a great song. Scored a belter against Hearts. I think he’d be a great option and would come back to us with lots of experience and development versus the raw player that left us for South Africa.
29-06-2024, 10:31 PM
Seen enough not going to happen need better
Suspect you won’t get your wish. Vente will be a big player this season.
29-06-2024, 11:16 PM
Yep - he wasn't good enough when we got rid
He done well at QP but last season was his best by miles
Can he keep that up? If he was a few years younger I'd take a punt but wouldn't be overly fussed now https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240628/50f6a3d6e5c2212bd8f8e3ac8830d090.jpg
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Taking a punt at a few years younger is what we are prone to doing. Perhaps we just pay a fee for the right man, right now?
It isn't for me to say if Murray is that man. But if Gray and Malky thought so then I'd buy it. We've had too many projects and prospects on the go at the one time. We need a couple ready to go.
30-06-2024, 08:40 AM
I think the big appeal of Murray is we know exactly what we’re getting. Honest pro who puts himself about and scores goals and causes defenders sleepless nights.
We didn’t really know if the likes of Melkersen, Vente, McKirdy and the like would work but took a punt on them and they all flopped.
Having a player that we will get what we see is a big appeal IMO.
30-06-2024, 09:11 AM
I think the big appeal of Murray is we know exactly what we’re getting. Honest pro who puts himself about and scores goals and causes defenders sleepless nights.
We didn’t really know if the likes of Melkersen, Vente, McKirdy and the like would work but took a punt on them and they all flopped.
Having a player that we will get what we see is a big appeal IMO.
How do you know we will get what we see?
He’d be moving from a team that plays predominantly counter attacking football to a team which plays possession based football. Has he improved on the areas of his game that saw him replaced last time he was here?
hfc-1875
30-06-2024, 09:22 AM
10x the player that vente was last season. If Simon Murray had a fancy foreign name and we were being linked after the season he had everyone would be buzzing.
30-06-2024, 09:25 AM
10x the player that vente was last season. If Simon Murray had a fancy foreign name and we were being linked after the season he had everyone would be buzzing.
Not if he'd played here before, started well, lost all ability to control a ball and been benched for Oli Shaw. Obviously this was years ago, and he's improved, but he isn't some answer to all our problems
He was better than Vente last season. Sure. Thats not a high bar, though.
Chipper1875
30-06-2024, 09:27 AM
Not if he'd played here before, started well, lost all ability to control a ball and been benched for Oli Shaw. Obviously this was years ago, and he's improved, but he isn't some world class player.
He was better than Vente last season. That doesn't make him Pele.
Yip , he litterly fell off a cliff . Couldn’t control a ball. I hope we resign him
. He will bring a different dimension to the squad. Be a great addition. I don’t expect him to repeat his goal scoring of last season
30-06-2024, 09:31 AM
10x the player that vente was last season. If Simon Murray had a fancy foreign name and we were being linked after the season he had everyone would be buzzing[QUOTE=hfc-1875;7694846]
hfc-1875
30-06-2024, 09:44 AM
Not if he'd played here before, started well, lost all ability to control a ball and been benched for Oli Shaw. Obviously this was years ago, and he's improved, but he isn't some answer to all our problems
He was better than Vente last season. Sure. Thats not a high bar, though.
Aye agree, that’s why I said based off last season as I still think vente could be a good player if played correctly, but based off recent form it’s a no brainer for me.
30-06-2024, 10:05 AM
Pointless comparison though.
Comparing a guy who had his best season in a league he’s familiar with, in a team set up to play to his strengths, to a guy who’s had a stinker of a season in his first year here.
In his first year in the SPL, over all competitions, Vente got 8 goals in 37 games.
In Shanklands first year in the SPL, over all competitions, he got 9 in 36.
I’m no ready to write off a player who scored tons of goals the 2 seasons before Hibs, and who looked quality in his first handful of games here. We were a mess, next season we’ll be better. Hopefully so will Vente.
hfc-1875
30-06-2024, 10:31 AM
Pointless comparison though.
Comparing a guy who had his best season in a league he’s familiar with, in a team set up to play to his strengths, to a guy who’s had a stinker of a season in his first year here.
In his first year in the SPL, over all competitions, Vente got 8 goals in 37 games.
In Shanklands first year in the SPL, over all competitions, he got 9 in 36.
I’m no ready to write off a player who scored tons of goals the 2 seasons before Hibs, and who looked quality in his first handful of games here. We were a mess, next season we’ll be better. Hopefully so will Vente.
How’s that pointless lol surely better to judge someone on there last season rather 2 and 3 year ago nah? 😂😂
30-06-2024, 10:49 AM
Well we are making comparisons though, aren't we? Vente, Youan, Boyle all had poor seasons, even allowing for Boyle's injury, none of them scored anywhere near the amount of goals we'd expect of them or anywhere near what Murray scored. So I take it those that would be against taking Murray back would say he won't score as many goals this season, last season was a one off because he was playing in a counterattacking team? i dunno, there would be far worse signings than Simon Murray IMO, but I'm not even sure if he would want to come back to Hibs in any case.
30-06-2024, 11:06 AM
How’s that pointless lol surely better to judge someone on there last season rather 2 and 3 year ago nah? 😂😂
Look at Van Veen 2 years ago. Had a better season than Murray last season.
This year…tatties.
Simon Murray had a good season, nae doubt about it. People are getting a bit carried away though, he’s nowt special.
hfc-1875
30-06-2024, 11:47 AM
This year…tatties.
Simon Murray had a good season, nae doubt about it. People are getting a bit carried away though, he’s nowt special.
True but we would have taken van veen after that season too.. I wouldn’t be buzzing with Murray but think he would be a decent addition
JammyDoidger
30-06-2024, 12:05 PM
Any striker that scored that amount of goals and puts in that amount of work is a no brainer. I liked him the first time too. Because his name is Simon Murray probably makes him less popular, if he was from foreign shores and has a season like that everyone would be desperate to sign him. Get him in.
Donegal Hibby
30-06-2024, 12:21 PM
This year…tatties.
I don't get the hype about him either . He did have a good season though the one before that wasn't great .
Taking into account that Ross county would probably want a fairly decent fee for him , he's 32 years now and I'd be hoping we are looking elsewhere .
Going from Maolida to Murray imo would be abit disappointing really , hoping for better in truth.
30-06-2024, 12:35 PM
Any striker that scored that amount of goals and puts in that amount of work is a no brainer. I liked him the first time too. Because his name is Simon Murray probably makes him less popular, if he was from foreign shores and has a season like that everyone would be desperate to sign him. Get him in.
That's what stuck out at County during his scoring streak. The work. He looked driven and desperate to get the job done. We haven't had enough of that.
There is a bit of snobbery about age but with it comes the experience. We've used that before to good effect. If he passes a medical and has a couple of good seasons in him then why not?
I understand that folk miss Maolida and don't see Murray as a direct replacement. I wouldn't either. But building a strong and effective squad is more than just about replacing Maolida with the very next signing...
30-06-2024, 12:37 PM
a 32 year old striker who's only ever had one good goalscoring season in a top flight european league? everyone would be raging
30-06-2024, 12:54 PM
As somebody else said. If we signed Murray it would show me that someone at the club knows what they're doing.
K-Zazu
30-06-2024, 01:05 PM
I don't get the hype about him either . He did have a good season though the one before that wasn't great .
Taking into account that Ross county would probably want a fairly decent fee for him , he's 32 years now and I'd be hoping we are looking elsewhere .
Going from Maolida to Murray imo would be abit disappointing really , hoping for better in truth.
Think he scored 21 goals the season before mate.
Donegal Hibby
30-06-2024, 01:12 PM
Think he scored 21 goals the season before mate.
In the premier?
K-Zazu
30-06-2024, 01:17 PM
In the premier?
Well he was at Queens Park I think.
30-06-2024, 02:14 PM
In the premier?
Nah. He signed for Ross Co in Jan last season. Played 16 games and scored 3
Silky
30-06-2024, 04:45 PM
a 32 year old striker who's only ever had one good goalscoring season in a top flight european league? everyone would be raging
You mean the perma-raging would be out in force. The same perma raging who want a manager and players who "know the Scottish game".
CentreForward
30-06-2024, 05:23 PM
Had forgotten about his father Gary! So much Hibs pedigree please just sign him !
Pretty Green
30-06-2024, 06:14 PM
If you have listened to Gray's interview, there is only a right way to play one game, I think Murray will be playing in certain games when his style suits the opposition. Horses for courses and decent option to have.
30-06-2024, 06:22 PM
If you have listened to Gray's interview, there is only a right way to play one game, I think Murray will be playing in certain games when his style suits the opposition. Horses for courses and decent option to have.
I'm not sure we will get him
HarpOnHibee
30-06-2024, 06:50 PM
Simon Murray is a player that will score 20+ goals in a competent team. If we do bring him back, it'll be more of a question of what's playing around him, as opposed to his own ability.
30-06-2024, 06:51 PM
[/B]
I'm not sure we will get him
For me he’d be a good, sensible signing if we get him, more for what he brings in terms of effort and attitude than what he does with the ball.
That said, if he’s one we’re not after, or we miss out on him I won’t be bothered. If we’re competing with Dundee, I suspect we would have to either overpay or offer too long a deal for it to happen.
30-06-2024, 06:57 PM
Simon Murray is a player that will score 20+ goals in a competent team. If we do bring him back, it'll be more of a question of what's playing around him, as opposed to his own ability.
He will absolutely not score 20 league goals in any team. If you add league cup group stages and some diddies in the Scottish, he might.
30-06-2024, 07:01 PM
Has he not only once scored 20+ goals in a season and the team he did that for were less than competent as they finished 2nd bottom?
HarpOnHibee
30-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Has he not only once scored 20+ goals in a season and the team he did that for were less than competent as they finished 2nd bottom?
It was their defence that was less than competent, conceding 67 goals. But they still managed to score 9 more goals than St Johnstone and Livingston, which would suggest that they weren't the worst at scoring goals or setting up chances. Simon Murray won't be short of goals in any team that creates the opportunities for him.
30-06-2024, 07:37 PM
Wonder who would score next season Vente or Murray ?
30-06-2024, 07:43 PM
Work rate 2nd to none , knows the club , will Malky persuade him .
30-06-2024, 08:42 PM
It’s a measure of where we are (or were last season) that some folk are raving about signing him. Totally underwhelming in my eyes if we do.
01-07-2024, 06:27 AM
Last season, I felt that someone like Simon Murray was exactly what we needed. We needed more energy up front and someone who could finish, no matter how ugly that finish was. It would have been interesting seeing how Murray and Maolida would have performed together.
If I was to compare Youan to Murray, the former is a much better player, but is incredibly frustrating to watch. Based on last season's evidence though, I'd rather Murray in my team than Youan. I've had enough of Youan's poor decision-making and lack of effort, albeit an exceptional player when he does perform.
This season, I can understand why some will be underwhelmed by a Simon Murray signing. I really hope that we're going to get better, more creative players into our midfield, so I'd be happy to see Simon Murray as a short term fix. With the right midfield, a forward three of Boyle, Vente and Murray could be very productive.
ruthven_raiders
01-07-2024, 06:53 AM
Last season, I felt that someone like Simon Murray was exactly what we needed. We needed more energy up front and someone who could finish, no matter how ugly that finish was. It would have been interesting seeing how Murray and Maolida would have performed together.
If I was to compare Youan to Murray, the former is a much better player, but is incredibly frustrating to watch. Based on last season's evidence though, I'd rather Murray in my team than Youan. I've had enough of Youan's poor decision-making and lack of effort, albeit an exceptional player when he does perform.
This season, I can understand why some will be underwhelmed by a Simon Murray signing. I really hope that we're going to get better, more creative players into our midfield, so I'd be happy to see Simon Murray as a short term fix. With the right midfield, a forward three of Boyle, Vente and Murray could be very productive.
If youan goes then Simon Murray and a.n. other should be signed ....
01-07-2024, 07:04 AM
It’s a measure of where we are (or were last season) that some folk are raving about signing him. Totally underwhelming in my eyes if we do.
I’m not raving about him but he knows how to score goals in this league. If SDG thinks he can do it for us I’ll enjoy finding out if he is right. :greengrin
01-07-2024, 07:56 AM
If we had 11 players with the attitude of Simon Murray we wouldn't have finished 8th last season.
01-07-2024, 08:01 AM
If we had 11 players with the attitude of Simon Murray we wouldn't have finished 8th last season.
We have players with that attitude. Josh Campbell for example. We also had Lewis and Hanlon. Brilliant attitudes. None of them first choice because there is a lot more to football than attitude.
01-07-2024, 08:10 AM
We have players with that attitude. Josh Campbell for example. We also had Lewis and Hanlon. Brilliant attitudes. None of them first choice because there is a lot more to football than attitude.
01-07-2024, 08:44 AM
Don't think attitude was the issue, mixture of some players just not good enough and 2 managers just not good enough
01-07-2024, 08:54 AM
It's a no brainer for me. He would be a great addition to the squad.
01-07-2024, 11:04 AM
The attitude's of Campbell and Murray just cannot be compared, whether or not you buy into the theory that Josh is a hard worker with a great attitude because he seems to run about a bit and throw his arms in the air a lot.
Murray (of last season) made things happen by grabbing the bull by the horns and being determined to carry his team-mates. He was very brave on the ball in terms of making himself available for passes etc and trying to makes things happen when he had it (not just taking easy options). That's in addition to all the the harrying and closing down of opponents.
I'd say Murray's detractors cannot see past what he was previously. No way would we finish bottom 6 last season if we had him in our ranks as opposed to some of the lazy show ponies we did have.
01-07-2024, 11:06 AM
The attitude's of Campbell and Murray just cannot be compared, whether or not you buy into the theory that Josh is a hard worker with a great attitude because he seems to run about a bit and throw his arms in the air a lot.
Murray (of last season) made things happen by grabbing the bull by the horns and being determined to carry his team-mates. He was very brave on the ball in terms of making himself available for passes etc and trying to makes things happen when he had it (not just taking easy options). That's in addition to all the the harrying and closing down of opponents.
I'd say Murray's detractors cannot see past what he was previously. No way would we finish bottom 6 last season if we had him in our ranks as opposed to some of the lazy show ponies we did have.
Agree 100%
01-07-2024, 11:27 AM
Wonder who would score next season Vente or Murray ?
I reckon both would score
01-07-2024, 11:50 AM
Yet his team did finish in the bottom 6.
01-07-2024, 11:56 AM
Is there not family reasons as to why he is playing in the Highlands?
01-07-2024, 11:58 AM
I don't mind Murray but I still rate Vente really highly
01-07-2024, 12:07 PM
How about a front three of Murray - Vente - Boyle?
01-07-2024, 12:08 PM
It's a no brainer for me. He would be a great addition to the squad.
I never wanted him to leave in the first place.
01-07-2024, 12:22 PM
Personally wouldn't be surprised if we are trying to offload Vente. Might be getting watched this week in his homeland
richard_pitts
01-07-2024, 12:24 PM
I never wanted him to leave in the first place.
Me either.
01-07-2024, 12:42 PM
Did you watch a lot of Ross County, or just see the bits in the highlights when he did something good?
Pretty Green
01-07-2024, 12:50 PM
Did you watch a lot of Ross County, or just see the bits in the highlights when he did something good?
Surely everyone has an opinion from watching highlights. Why would it be different for watching Murray?
01-07-2024, 01:12 PM
Surely everyone has an opinion from watching highlights. Why would it be different for watching Murray?
Well, I know St Johnston fan, an Aberdeen fan and Hearts fans who really rate Youan. They probably think differently to what a lot of Hibs fans think as they only see the highlights. So aye, I think it makes a difference if you're only judging a player on the few mins (max) you see of him a week.
The Simon Murray chat is just getting silly in my opinion. I don't think we'll sign him, and I think it'll be used to as a stick to beat the club with next season. Reality, it's only Simon Murray. He's really not that great.
He started the season well, though he couldn't have really had an easier League Cup group, where he scored 6 in 4. He ended the season really well. The middle part though, 25 games, 5 goals. Why do we think we'd be getting the good spell Simon Murray rather than the majority of the season spell?
01-07-2024, 01:19 PM
Yet his team did finish in the bottom 6.
Oh my God 🤣
I always thought you were better than an argument like that!
01-07-2024, 02:37 PM
01-07-2024, 03:00 PM
Well, I know St Johnston fan, an Aberdeen fan and Hearts fans who really rate Youan. They probably think differently to what a lot of Hibs fans think as they only see the highlights. So aye, I think it makes a difference if you're only judging a player on the few mins (max) you see of him a week.
The Simon Murray chat is just getting silly in my opinion. I don't think we'll sign him, and I think it'll be used to as a stick to beat the club with next season. Reality, it's only Simon Murray. He's really not that great.
He started the season well, though he couldn't have really had an easier League Cup group, where he scored 6 in 4. He ended the season really well. The middle part though, 25 games, 5 goals. Why do we think we'd be getting the good spell Simon Murray rather than the majority of the season spell?
So people who rate him highly have only seen highlights, whereas people like you who don't share these 'silly' opinions are basing it on eh.... much more than that?
Ok!
You don't think he's up to it- we get it. That doesn't mean you can be saying that if somebody disagrees it's because they've not seen enough of him. To use your Youan example, have you asked any Ross County fans what they think of Simon Murray?
01-07-2024, 03:12 PM
So people who rate him highly have only seen highlights, whereas people like you who don't share these 'silly' opinions are basing it on eh.... much more than that?
Ok!
You don't think he's up to it- we get it. That doesn't mean you can be saying that if somebody disagrees it's because they've not seen enough of him. To use your Youan example, have you asked any Ross County fans what they think of Simon Murray?
I didn't say anyones opinion was silly. I also didn't say anyone who rates him has only seen highlights, I specifically asked if you'd seen a lot of him, or just seen the highlights. Dunno why you're so uppity about it to be honest?
I dinnae care if you rate him or you don't. I couldn't care less if people don't agree with what I'm saying about Simon Murray, it's a forum, you're allowed an opinion.
I don't know any Ross County fans to ask them :dunno:
Ok! :aok:
01-07-2024, 03:18 PM
Changed his twitter picture to him in a Hibs strip.
01-07-2024, 03:19 PM
Changed his twitter picture to him in a Hibs strip.
Been like that for a while
01-07-2024, 03:20 PM
Been like that for a while
Seen your PM post. Was just about to edit it.
01-07-2024, 03:21 PM
I didn't say anyones opinion was silly. I also didn't say anyone who rates him has only seen highlights, I specifically asked if you'd seen a lot of him, or just seen the highlights. Dunno why you're so uppity about it to be honest?
I dinnae care if you rate him or you don't. I couldn't care less if people don't agree with what I'm saying about Simon Murray, it's a forum, you're allowed an opinion.
I don't know any Ross County fans to ask them :dunno:
Ok! :aok:
I'm not being uppity - as you say, you asked if I'd only seen highlights of Murray... and then said they could be misleading because fans of other teams rate Youan more highly than Hibs fans. It was you asking the question- I just responded.
01-07-2024, 06:43 PM
I don't think Murray is the Messiah but in forward areas he would be an improvement on what we have just now.
10 minutes left in a game, 1-0 down, you are the manager and you turn round and see Harry McKirdy, Jair Tavares and Simon Murray sitting there who are you throwing on?
I hope longer term we are aiming a bit higher but right now a few players proven at a decent level to consolidate us as a top 6 team again is just fine by me. I think Murray falls into that category.
01-07-2024, 07:14 PM
I don't think Murray is the Messiah but in forward areas he would be an improvement on what we have just now.
10 minutes left in a game, 1-0 down, you are the manager and you turn round and see Harry McKirdy, Jair Tavares and Simon Murray sitting there who are you throwing on?
I hope longer term we are aiming a bit higher but right now a few players proven at a decent level to consolidate us as a top 6 team again is just fine by me. I think Murray falls into that category.
For me it falls in to the having different game plans for different teams in the league. He's definitely a player who can be thrown in to the stuffy games against the bottom 6 clubs and used to great effect, maybe not a starter for old firm games, etc (though personally I'd not be against it, I was always a fan) but great option off the bench.
More than happy if he were to return.
01-07-2024, 08:07 PM
For me it falls in to the having different game plans for different teams in the league. He's definitely a player who can be thrown in to the stuffy games against the bottom 6 clubs and used to great effect, maybe not a starter for old firm games, etc (though personally I'd not be against it, I was always a fan) but great option off the bench.
More than happy if he were to return.
I’d probably be keener on having against the bigger teams.
One of the games that made me think he’d turned into a proper good player was when I watched him vs Rangers at County, I think it was just before the split. Rangers were flying at that point and his personal performance was a big part in winning that game and ultimately reshaping the title race.
He gave the Rangers defence nightmares - something that few Hibs forwards have done in recent years.
01-07-2024, 08:16 PM
I'm still absolutely convinced we won't be signing Simon Murray.
01-07-2024, 08:30 PM
I’d probably be keener on having against the bigger teams.
One of the games that made me think he’d turned into a proper good player was when I watched him vs Rangers at County, I think it was just before the split. Rangers were flying at that point and his personal performance was a big part in winning that game and ultimately reshaping the title race.
He gave the Rangers defence nightmares - something that few Hibs forwards have done in recent years.
He’s only scored in 4 games out of 24 against top 6 sides for Ross County. In 20 games against top flight sides he failed to find the net.
More than half his goals were scored against teams that won’t be in the Premiership this season.
01-07-2024, 08:37 PM
I'm still absolutely convinced we won't be signing Simon Murray.
Could we be driving his price up for Dundee so we can get McCowan?
01-07-2024, 08:39 PM
He’s only scored in 4 games out of 24 against top 6 sides for Ross County. In 20 games against top flight sides he failed to find the net.
More than half his goals were scored against teams that won’t be in the Premiership this season.
He scored against Hearts and Rangers for us. He's the first line of defence for Ross County against bigger teams in the league, he'll be the first player in our press, but he'll also get more support going forward.
01-07-2024, 08:43 PM
Could we be driving his price up for Dundee so we can get McCowan?
If it was a toss up between keeping McCowan of signing Murray, would they not prefer to keep McCowan.
tonyrougier123
01-07-2024, 08:52 PM
Hopefully we get Murray deal done before Elgin. Heard he’s very keen to come back which is good to hear. Proven goal scorer no punt in the dark and a sensible target.
01-07-2024, 08:54 PM
He scored against Hearts and Rangers for us. He's the first line of defence for Ross County against bigger teams in the league, he'll be the first player in our press, but he'll also get more support going forward.
Yup scored against Hearts and Rangers then only scored in one of the other 13 games he played against top 6 sides that season.
How effective was this first line of defence considering they were on the brink of being relegated?
Silky
01-07-2024, 09:56 PM
Compared to Dylan Vente who pretty much failed to find the net at all!!
01-07-2024, 09:59 PM
Compared to Dylan Vente who pretty much failed to find the net at all!!
I haven’t mentioned Dylan Vente.
Silky
01-07-2024, 10:01 PM
I haven’t mentioned Dylan Vente.
I'm not sure I said you did??
sauzee1989
01-07-2024, 10:32 PM
Not convinced Murray is the right signing. Feel with our so called budget we should be aiming for someone with a bit more Quailty. I also think Vente will come good if partnered with a target man striker.
IMO, his general attributes, enthusiasm and the 100% effort he puts in makes him an ideal impact sub for the last 20min.
It would not pay off in every game but I just can't see bringing him back to ER would be a great expense so it is well worth a punt.
02-07-2024, 06:50 AM
Someone with his work rate irrespective of the quality would be an improvement and would fit in with Grays minimum standard,
02-07-2024, 06:53 AM
Someone with his work rate irrespective of the quality would be an improvement and would fit in with Grays minimum standard,
I'm starting to come round to this school of thought. You could list so many games from last season where we were slow and pedestrian from back to front especially when a goal down late on. Being able to bring someone with Murray's energy on could really help us in those situations.
02-07-2024, 06:57 AM
I'm starting to come round to this school of thought. You could list so many games from last season where we were slow and pedestrian from back to front especially when a goal down late on. Being able to bring someone with Murray's energy on could really help us in those situations.
I think it would also think we will sell Vente and bring a more physical forward in.
02-07-2024, 07:07 AM
Have we really fallen as far 32yr old Simon Murray??
It's not like it's a Mixu, Brewster, ALF, Holt who have played at a higher level and can come down to bring a bit of experience. We're literally the highest level he's played at.
We can't be signing players like that if we want to improve
02-07-2024, 07:10 AM
It's not like it's a Mixu, Brewster, ALF, Holt who have played at a higher level and can come down to bring a bit of experience. We're literally the highest level he's played at.
If he'd scored 23 goals for us instead of Ross County we'd have finished in the top 4.
KeithWright9
02-07-2024, 07:12 AM
For me I’d like him, he’s an option and a good option. But he’s no Myziane where the defender wakes up on a Saturday and thinks “damn, big shift today”
02-07-2024, 07:13 AM
If he'd scored 23 goals for us instead of Ross County we'd have finished in the top 4.
He didn’t score 23 league goals for Ross County.
02-07-2024, 07:16 AM
For me I’d like him, he’s an option and a good option. But he’s no Myziane where the defender wakes up on a Saturday and thinks “damn, big shift today”
Still hoping we can sort something with Myziane but appreciate that is unlikely
02-07-2024, 07:18 AM
I'd have much rather had Murray last season than ALF.
02-07-2024, 07:18 AM
FFS I've been taken in by a Hibs.net fact again.
11 league goals - close the thread, we better not sign him.
02-07-2024, 07:19 AM
His stats look pretty similar to the last time he was here, ripped apart the league cup groups but pretty average in the league.
02-07-2024, 07:23 AM
FFS I've been taken in by a Hibs.net fact again.
11 league goals - close the thread, we better not sign him.
11 still better than all our strikers efforts, including the 2 that have cost us over a £million each in transfer fees and wages over the past year, and in a team that finished below us. I think he’d be a decent addition to the squad.
02-07-2024, 07:36 AM
11 still better than all our strikers efforts, including the 2 that have cost us over a £million each in transfer fees and wages over the past year, and in a team that finished below us. I think he’d be a decent addition to the squad.
Also wouldn’t be so quick to right off scoring a shed load of goals in the cup competitions
02-07-2024, 08:22 AM
Also wouldn’t be so quick to right off scoring a shed load of goals in the cup competitions
No, they shouldn’t be written off.
It should be taken into consideration though that in his cup games he played against the team who came bottom of league 1, the team who came bottom of league 2. Morton who finished 3 points above the relegation playoff in the championship, and Kelty Hearts who finished 6th in League 1.
I feel like I’m probably coming across as madly against signing him, but I’m really not. I’d take him as a sub on a free. No chance I’d spend 6 figures on him.
HibsGW
02-07-2024, 08:24 AM
Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murrayyyyyyyy.
Anyone with a good chant get them in.
02-07-2024, 08:44 AM
It should be taken into consideration though that in his cup games he played against the team who came bottom of league 1, the team who came bottom of league 2. Morton who finished 3 points above the relegation playoff in the championship, and Kelty Hearts who finished 6th in League 1.
I feel like I’m probably coming across as madly against signing him, but I’m really not. I’d take him as a sub on a free. No chance I’d spend 6 figures on him.
Pretty reasonable take on it.
Murray would be a useful addition to the squad, but I doubt we're paying a transfer fee for someone at his age.
I'm hoping for a bit more from the club this window. The BK's investment has created expectation, as has our dire form of the past two seasons.
07-07-2024, 09:22 AM
Agree with all of that. Would be a very good option from the bench however don't think he enjoyed that last time he was here
07-07-2024, 12:50 PM
It is a squad game, we need a good squad not just 11 players, Murray and or Cummings would be very welcome additions to our squad.
EVENTUALLY
07-07-2024, 03:08 PM
Good luck to Simon Murray if he lands a deal with Hibs but I'm not convinced he would take the side forward. IMHO he is not a natural goalscorer or blessed with great skill. His strengths are his running power and energy levels to maintain it over 90 minutes.
If that is what SDG is looking for as part of a formation to occupy opposition defenders why not give 2 youngsters 45 minutes each to do the same job and nurture their skill set as as goalscorering footballers. O'Conner and Clelland know were the net is and if not them another couple of young forwards. They may not work out but they'd be given support from the crowd and they could develop on the park if not at Easter Road for a transfer fee somewhere else.
07-07-2024, 04:51 PM
Good luck to Simon Murray if he lands a deal with Hibs but I'm not convinced he would take the side forward. IMHO he is not a natural goalscorer or blessed with great skill. His strengths are his running power and energy levels to maintain it over 90 minutes.
If that is what SDG is looking for as part of a formation to occupy opposition defenders why not give 2 youngsters 45 minutes each to do the same job and nurture their skill set as as goalscorering footballers. O'Conner and Clelland know were the net is and if not them another couple of young forwards. They may not work out but they'd be given support from the crowd and they could develop on the park if not at Easter Road for a transfer fee somewhere else.
Josh O’Connor is currently miles off the required level and Dean Cleland is 16 years old.
CentreForward
07-07-2024, 05:03 PM
Almost seem to be detecting a hint of snobbery here about Murray. A player we let go and only at Ross County so he can’t be good enough kind of thing. As things stand I think he’d walk right in to our team and be top goal scorer and also invaluable for his workrate. Hope we sign him !
07-07-2024, 05:10 PM
His stats look pretty similar to the last time he was here, ripped apart the league cup groups but pretty average in the league.
14 goals in the league last season. That’s pretty good going for a team that finished second bottom.
Whether it’s him or anyone else, if we had a centre forward who was able to lead the line and get that kind of number, we’d be a lot better for it.
07-07-2024, 05:22 PM
14 goals in the league last season. That’s pretty good going for a team that finished second bottom.
Whether it’s him or anyone else, if we had a centre forward who was able to lead the line and get that kind of number, we’d be a lot better for it.
Miovski 16 goals and 2 assists in the league, 197 minutes per goal
Murray 14 goals and 4 assists in the league, 211 minutes per goal.
I need to give my head a wobble and I wasn't that keen before seeing these stats.
07-07-2024, 05:26 PM
Almost seem to be detecting a hint of snobbery here about Murray. A player we let go and only at Ross County so he can’t be good enough kind of thing. As things stand I think he’d walk right in to our team and be top goal scorer and also invaluable for his workrate. Hope we sign him !
I’ve not seen anyone say “he’s only at Ross County so he can’t be good enough”.
It’s also not snobbery to point out there were reasons regarding his ability that resulted in us replacing him 7 years ago which still seem to be an issue.
EVENTUALLY
07-07-2024, 05:29 PM
Josh O’Connor is currently miles off the required level and Dean Cleland is 16 years old.
Well then someone else. Pele won the world cup at 17.
Listen I don't wish to be vicious but if its up front runners that David Gray wants then Murray is yer man but he's not mine. I think we're capable of attracting better than SM and we need more than a runner up front. As Eddie Turnbull said their is no subsitute for skill and I would hope our focus would be in that area.
Donegal Hibby
07-07-2024, 06:42 PM
The 6 figures probably won't be 100k either , your probably looking at 200k , 250k or abit more ... I don't think spending that sort of money on a player your not going to recoup or make a profit on is particularly good .
If he comes in , fair enough though I do hope we take in a target man instead , maybe one thats a marquee signing . Going from Maolida to Murray would be pretty underwhelming tbh .
07-07-2024, 07:02 PM
The 6 figures probably won't be 100k either , your probably looking at 200k , 250k or abit more ... I don't think spending that sort of money on a player your not going to recoup or make a profit on is particularly good .
If he comes in , fair enough though I do hope we take in a target man instead , maybe one thats a marquee signing . Going from Maolida to Murray would be pretty underwhelming tbh .
If his goals were to win us a place in Europe it would be a very profitable transaction.
07-07-2024, 07:03 PM
So there’s been mention on the boards of Murray and also (perhaps Cummings) other than money can’t quite see how a second coming is an attractive one for either unless they absolutely back themselves.
Paul1642
07-07-2024, 07:31 PM
One thing I’ve not seen mentioned is the fact that he’s 32, 33 at the end of the season. He’s a player who’s main attributes are energy and effort yet he’s at that age in an average footballers career where the energy levels drop at an ever increasing speed.
When Boyle was rumoured to be considering Australia this same argument was made against him and he’s a full year younger and although a pace based player has more ability than Murray.
I get the arguments for him but this move is not for me.
07-07-2024, 07:43 PM
Would like to imagine a headline "Vente double sinks Hearts" but genuinely can't imagine that
Simon Murray on the other hand...
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=C1n5WdLA-vE
07-07-2024, 07:51 PM
I’ve not seen anyone say “he’s only at Ross County so he can’t be good enough”.
It’s also not snobbery to point out there were reasons regarding his ability that resulted in us replacing him 7 years ago which still seem to be an issue.
Simon Murray was a late bloomer to the pro game. His time in South Africa and his spells in Scotland since seem to have improved him as a player. The Simon Murray last season is a more rounded player to when he was here 7 years ago.
TrinityHFC
07-07-2024, 08:06 PM
One thing I’ve not seen mentioned is the fact that he’s 32, 33 at the end of the season. He’s a player who’s main attributes are energy and effort yet he’s at that age in an average footballers career where the energy levels drop at an ever increasing speed.
When Boyle was rumoured to be considering Australia this same argument was made against him and he’s a full year younger and although a pace based player has more ability than Murray.
I get the arguments for him but this move is not for me.
33 is nothing these days. He’s not showing any signs of losing energy in his game.
Donegal Hibby
07-07-2024, 08:13 PM
If his goals were to win us a place in Europe it would be a very profitable transaction.
That's a possibility though from another angle we already have a striker we have forked out 700K on and I'd like to see us get one that would be beneficial to him .
I think a target man would be ideal along with the fact we don't have one either which would give us a totally different option in games if needed too .
07-07-2024, 08:14 PM
33 is nothing these days. He’s not showing any signs of losing energy in his game.
Especially if we’re not asking him to play 90 minutes, 40 games a season.
I think Murray would be a good replacement for ALF, we would still need to replace Maolida as well though.
07-07-2024, 08:21 PM
He’s not… but how long a contract would you be prepared to offer him at this age? Do you think he might be offered longer (but less lucrative) elsewhere - and that it may be tempting for him to take?
FWIW I still think he’d be a superb signing. It probably boils down to what David Gray is looking for from his number 9. I’m not convinced Dylan Vente is really going to be what he’s looking for but if he’s looking for a Duracell bunny to press from the front, I don’t think he’s going to get much better than Murray for the next year or 2.
1875Sean
07-07-2024, 08:28 PM
Especially if we’re not asking him to play 90 minutes, 40 games a season.
I think Murray would be a good replacement for ALF, we would still need to replace Maolida as well though.
Wasn’t one of the reasons given to ALF was that we wanted to bring the average age of the squad down?
07-07-2024, 08:32 PM
Wasn’t one of the reasons given to ALF was that we wanted to bring the average age of the squad down?
I guess replacing someone who will be 38 in December with someone who hasn't long turned 32 would. But I get the sentiment.
Ship of Hope
07-07-2024, 08:33 PM
The times I saw him last season he looked a real menace but also a bit of an end product. On a free transfer I would be 100% up for it. Less so if as expected we need to pay a sizeable fee to get Ross County to let him go. My feeling is we are better spending cash on players that will have some sell on value.
07-07-2024, 08:43 PM
The times I saw him last season he looked a real menace but also a bit of an end product. On a free transfer I would be 100% up for it. Less so if as expected we need to pay a sizeable fee to get Ross County to let him go. My feeling is we are better spending cash on players that will have some sell on value.
Do you not think though that there’s also a place for spending money on players who are purely and simply going to have a positive effect on our first team, like Maolida?
Imo it’s a balance - we need to be making some signings with a view to having sell on value but there’s a place for a few who are simply about getting the team results.
Ship of Hope
07-07-2024, 09:01 PM
I was suggesting we sign players for the first team with the potential to recoup some or all of the fee we pay rather than players first team ready with no sell on potential as in a 32 yr old Simon Murray.
maolida is a poor example to use as he would surely have some sell on as relatively young.
Not really sure what the balance is you are referring to between Murray and Maolida? Two very different players at very different stages of their careers. I would like both but would only want to pay a fee for one of them. Not an exact science obviously but the more we can wash our money through player sales the further it goes.
07-07-2024, 09:12 PM
In Malky's first interview he spoke about improving the signings we make by reducing the risk of them not working out.
I think we know exactly what we'd get from Murray. I'd say there's a high % chance he would get us playing more direct in behind, turning opposition defences, pressuring them causing them problems, contributing and hopefully into double figures for a season. I always think Jamie Vardy is a decent comparison for the way he plays.
That would be worth a small fee with little chance of recouping.
If you offered me the performances of Vente/ Alf/ Doidge over the course of last season vs the simon murray of last season OR last time he was with us, I know what I would go for.
07-07-2024, 09:33 PM
I was suggesting we sign players for the first team with the potential to recoup some or all of the fee we pay rather than players first team ready with no sell on potential as in a 32 yr old Simon Murray.
maolida is a poor example to use as he would surely have some sell on as relatively young.
Not really sure what the balance is you are referring to between Murray and Maolida? Two very different players at very different stages of their careers. I would like both but would only want to pay a fee for one of them. Not an exact science obviously but the more we can wash our money through player sales the further it goes.
My point about Maolida was that as he was here on loan, there was no chance of a financial benefit from a sell on - but his on field contribution being good meant that it was worthwhile having him for that spell.
Some players earn you money in sell ons, some don’t. Just because a player doesn’t earn you a sell on doesn’t mean he’s a bad signing.
Murray, if he signed, would have to be accepted as someone who wasn’t going to be sold for big bucks.
Personally, I think part of our recruitment troubles in recent years has been speculatively signing players who may yield a sell on fee over ones signed to contribute to the first team from the word go.
CentreForward
07-07-2024, 09:33 PM
Do you not think though that there’s also a place for spending money on players who are purely and simply going to have a positive effect on our first team, like Maolida?
Imo it’s a balance - we need to be making some signings with a view to having sell on value but there’s a place for a few who are simply about getting the team results.
Exactly!
paddy1875
07-07-2024, 10:03 PM
My point about Maolida was that as he was here on loan, there was no chance of a financial benefit from a sell on - but his on field contribution being good meant that it was worthwhile having him for that spell.
Some players earn you money in sell ons, some don’t. Just because a player doesn’t earn you a sell on doesn’t mean he’s a bad signing.
Murray, if he signed, would have to be accepted as someone who wasn’t going to be sold for big bucks.
Personally, I think part of our recruitment troubles in recent years has been speculatively signing players who may yield a sell on fee over ones signed to contribute to the first team from the word go.
The last paragraph is absolutely spot on. We should be looking to make money off players but the here and now should be most important. There’s a perfect blend to have.
Simon Murray last season done well. Hes worthy of a fee being paid for him. Will we make money off him? Probably not, but having a player like him might bring more out of others. It could move us up the table leading to more prize money etc. so whatever money paid might be made back that way. He might also improve younger players which could yield more transfer fees in the future.
It’s all easy on paper
Ship of Hope
07-07-2024, 10:41 PM
Agree with most of last few posts.. although not sure Ross County will be looking for a small fee. They will be looking for a fee that will offset their potential losses.
In terms of a fee, what does a small fee look like? What do you feel the club should be prepared to spend to get him?
He could have james milner-esque longevity but it could also be that his prowess from last season has already diminished. His age makes spending a lot of hibby pounds to get him a potentially risky prospect. Listen I like him, his character also, but I am just not sure if I would be prepared to pay what Ross County would want.
For example, if we signed for two years for 300k and pay him 3k a week that will cost 600k over 2 years. That seems like quite a chunk of money to me. If he is a rip roaring success maybe worth it for reasons others have stated. If he is a squad player then maybe not.
08-07-2024, 05:39 AM
This. Players can more than pay their fee back though performing on the pitch, they don’t always need to be sold at a profit. Not necessarily Murray, but if we signed a striker who contributed the number of goals he did for Ross County we’d be a lot better for it. We’d almost certainly be a few places higher in the league, there’s the fee paid back right there.
08-07-2024, 06:37 AM
This. Players can more than pay their fee back though performing on the pitch, they don’t always need to be sold at a profit. Not necessarily Murray, but if we signed a striker who contributed the number of goals he did for Ross County we’d be a lot better for it. We’d almost certainly be a few places higher in the league, there’s the fee paid back right there.
Exactly, bringing players in and selling them for profit seems to be the new success for some.
I think some folk forget it's success on the pitch that sells season tickets and brings in walk ups, not balancing the bloody books.
08-07-2024, 06:54 AM
Has he been spotted in Greggs Easter Road yet ?
08-07-2024, 07:25 AM
I think back to the 2015-19 period & selling out 3 stands and 3.5 for some, when you saw what happens (in added gate money) when Hibs are winning.
An extra 3k for a game vs a minnow is £60k alone, for 1 game.
An extra 4k for games vs OF (and higher ticket price) is even more
Then there are more people using kiosks / club shop etc for spin off revenue
Just saying that the £600k over 2 years mentioned above isn't daunting if you find someone to spend it on who looks a good bet / low risk
e2los
10-07-2024, 05:33 PM
Looks like we will see him again on the 24th of August playing for Dundee against us at Easter Road.
Yep, just confirmed on BBC Scotland news
LewysGot2
10-07-2024, 06:30 PM
He has been open recently about the challenges his family face due to his son being autistic. Perhaps simply being at home longer through the week is worth more to him/them.
Good luck to him whatever the logic/reason. Except against us
10-07-2024, 06:31 PM
He’s 32 and has just signed a 3 year deal. No way he could turn that down and there was no way he was getting that here.
10-07-2024, 07:10 PM
He’s 32 and has just signed a 3 year deal. No way he could turn that down and there was no way he was getting that here.
By the third year I expect he'll be banging in goals as a championship striker for Dundee. Could work out very well indeed for the old boy.
10-07-2024, 08:41 PM
Jeez I didn't realise he was 32
Love him but can't exactly be upset we didn't sign him again
11-07-2024, 08:34 AM
The chat here in Dundee is that it had been a done deal for the last couple of weeks.
11-07-2024, 10:23 AM
I expect he knows what he's doing. He's a single-minded chap.
Shame though.
11-07-2024, 10:32 AM
The chat here in Dundee is that it had been a done deal for the last couple of weeks.
Heard before the end of the season he was going back to Dundee!
Think Hibs maybe just threw a spanner on the works but at the end of the day family and less travel made sense for him.