View Full Version : Rocky - Enoughs enough

04-05-2024, 02:25 PM
He should be absolutely no where near the team next season, and I will be fuming if we line up with him at the heart of the defense. Today's mistake epitomizes the calamitous moments he's had at us, and there's been far too many.

Guy isn't good enough. Maybe a nice guy off the field etc etc, but it's time to call things as they are, the guys a liability most of the time!

04-05-2024, 02:34 PM
Disagree. Hes had streaks of good form lasting for months with some high profile mistakes in between. Im happy to get superior players wherever we can, but he’s not a Jair or a McKirdy or someone that has rarely contributed anything and who would be first out the door.

1875Sean
04-05-2024, 02:37 PM
Disagree. Hes had streaks of good form lasting for months with some high profile mistakes in between. Im happy to get superior players wherever we can, but he’s not a Jair or a McKirdy or someone that has rarely contributed anything and who would be first out the door.

There needs to be a point when he continues to make these high profile errors you say enough is enough? I think he will always have a mistake in him and we need to get better players in,

Gloucester Hibs
04-05-2024, 02:38 PM

Wouldn’t be against him providing cover from the bench, but we’re in big trouble if Rocky is one of our starting centre halves next season. Surely he won’t be.

04-05-2024, 02:39 PM
Get him off at half time FFS 😡

04-05-2024, 02:39 PM
There needs to be a point when he continues to make these high profile errors you say enough is enough? I think he will always have a mistake in him and we need to get better players in,

Everyones got a ‘mistake in him’. A matchday thread spin off isnt the best place to have a thoughtful discussion about it mind you.

04-05-2024, 02:40 PM

Are we just going to accept mediocrity then because 'he's abit better than Jair and McKirdy'? 🤦*♂️ There's absolutely no doubt we should be looking to sign much much better for the heart of our defense.

Also would disagree with streaks of good form 'lasting for months'. Where about?! He's cumbersome, lacks concentration, and is just an all-round awkward footballer. He'll have the odd game where he's 'half decent', but I'm sorry these games are usually around 1 in 4/5 🤷*♂️

It's not ALL down to him but he's a big reason why our defense is so shakey and concedes so much.

04-05-2024, 02:43 PM
Are we just going to accept mediocrity then because 'he's abit better than Jair and McKirdy'? 🤦*♂️ There's absolutely no doubt we should be looking to sign much much better for the heart of our defense.

Also would disagree with streaks of good form 'lasting for months'. Where about?! He's cumbersome, lacks concentration, and is just an all-round awkward footballer. He'll have the odd game where he's 'half decent', but I'm sorry these games are usually around 1 in 4/5 🤷*♂️

It's not ALL down to him but he's a big reason why our defense is so shakey and concedes so much.

If i hear ‘accept mediocrity’ once more on here im going to jump out of the window.

Lets sell Martin Boyle for whatever we can get, then, hes done nothing for months. The absolute definition of mediocre.

04-05-2024, 02:44 PM

He's nowhere near good enough.

1875Sean
04-05-2024, 02:45 PM
Everyones got a ‘mistake in him’. A matchday thread spin off isnt the best place to have a thoughtful discussion about it mind you.

The way we want to play with the keeper playing it out from the back, do you think Rocky is good enough with the ball at his feet? Players can made mistakes but he is prone to have more than others which mainly lead to goals, surely you must think we can do better?

04-05-2024, 02:45 PM
If i hear ‘accept mediocrity’ once more on here im going to jump out of the window.

Lets sell Martin Boyle for whatever we can get, then, hes done nothing for months. The absolute definition of mediocre.

The difference is Boyle has shown, over a consistent period of time, he's a top level player. He's not on form at the minute, but he has shown a level Rocky has never been at over many seasons.

Greensunshine
04-05-2024, 02:46 PM
Agree with OP, a liability and anyone saying otherwise is kidding themselves.

If he’s at the heart of our defence next season then we’ll not make any progress.

I can’t believe people are actually defending this clown.

Should be a squad option next season. 2 new starting CBs a must.

The amount of times he misjudges the flight of the ball is weird.

04-05-2024, 02:49 PM
I don't think I have ever seen a player never mind a centre back who is so crap at heading a ball

04-05-2024, 02:51 PM
If Rocky was available as a free agent, would Hearts, Aberdeen or Kilmarnock try and sign him?

04-05-2024, 02:51 PM
Two starting central defenders are a must. How can a player in that position misjudge the ball as often as Rocky does?

tonyrougier123
04-05-2024, 02:52 PM
The worst centre back I’ve ever seen heading a ball. Hes fairly useful no better, id try him at right back as he’s mobile at least. But going forward he’s nowhere near Hibs standard.

Trinity Hibee
Agree with OP, a liability and anyone saying otherwise is kidding themselves.

If he’s at the heart of our defence next season then we’ll not make any progress.

I can’t believe people are actually defending this clown.

Only positive I see with Rocky is his physicality. He’s strong but awareness and technically he is way off our standard.

Vente or Simon Murray 🤔

04-05-2024, 02:53 PM
I don't think I have ever seen a player never mind a centre back who is so crap at heading a ball

You'll not have been watching football for very long then.

That's an absolute horror show though. He should never be attempting a header though, judge the flight better and leather it clear.

04-05-2024, 02:55 PM
I like Rocky. Seems a good guy and he has loads about him to like. Good attitude and physicality.

No team with aspirations of 3rd or 4th can have him as a 1st choice CB though. There are far too many mistakes and deficiencies in his game and many are the same as he has been making since he first arrived here.

He's 24 and has played 120 first team games in his career. He's not some baby who you can keep making excuses for, he's approaching what should he his peak years.

04-05-2024, 02:56 PM
*Enough's

Paul1642
04-05-2024, 02:57 PM
He’s not a good enough player for a squad aiming to come 3rd, compete for domestic trophies and compete in the conference league group stages.

That’s where we want to he at and therefore he needs to move on or at most be a bit part player.

04-05-2024, 02:58 PM
If Rocky was available as a free agent, would Hearts, Aberdeen or Kilmarnock try and sign him?

Kelty Hearts wouldn’t even want him

04-05-2024, 02:59 PM
You'll not have been watching football for very long then.

That's an absolute horror show though. He should never be attempting a header though, judge the flight better and leather it clear.
I've seen a fair bit, I'm 59

04-05-2024, 03:00 PM

I’ve never seen Rocky have good form lasting months. We are diabolical defensively and he is a significant part of that. He’s not alone but he is garbage.

Cookiehibs
04-05-2024, 03:04 PM
If anyone remembers back I put up a post on Rocky a while back saying how this guy wasn’t the standard for my club and I got slaughtered for it. I’m glad everyone is now seeing what I saw back then

JammyDoidger
04-05-2024, 03:07 PM
He's absolutely rank rotten, if he's here next season we are in trouble.

1875Sean
04-05-2024, 03:30 PM
If anyone remembers back I put up a post on Rocky a while back saying how this guy wasn’t the standard for my club and I got slaughtered for it. I’m glad everyone is now seeing what I saw back then

I think most would think rocky isn’t good enough, not just your foward thinking

04-05-2024, 03:32 PM
He’s decent but we have way too many players who make notable individual errors. You can’t put together any decent run of results with a squad like ours.

04-05-2024, 03:40 PM
He's taken his opportunity today to confirm he is a Bottom 6 level footballer & should be nowhere near Foley's Hibs

04-05-2024, 03:42 PM

If it means getting myziane or marcondes all for getting rid of Boyle Alf and even Vente

Cookiehibs
04-05-2024, 03:45 PM
I think most would think rocky isn’t good enough, not just your foward thinking

I’m not saying it was my forward thinking. It was just my opinion way back and a lot of people disagreed with me at the time. A lot of people who disagreed with me are now agreeing with my thoughts

04-05-2024, 04:04 PM
Usually defend Rocky but that’s as bad a performance as I can remember. We need to be looking for better, even as back up. He might improve slightly, but not enough.

sean04
04-05-2024, 04:08 PM
Really poor, Murray gave him the run around. Mistakes in him

04-05-2024, 04:12 PM
He does those sort of headers quite a lot, it’s quite a weird technique and I don’t know how he does it.

Mistiming the jump/bounce is the only reason I can think of

04-05-2024, 04:24 PM
He's just not at the standard that we need, few of our players are though.

Tully
04-05-2024, 04:24 PM
What about his effort near the end of the game at Ross county corner wasn’t even looking at the ball, between him and that so called goalkeeper the mistakes we make are under5s style

04-05-2024, 04:28 PM
We are just no very good, it is a team game, and the players that make up our team are just no good enough, apart from 2 or 3 they are just below what we need.

SickBoy32
04-05-2024, 04:32 PM
Pub league player

04-05-2024, 04:35 PM
Like Jair, he was so pathetically crap at the beginning it made it look he had improved dramatically.

He hasn’t, just like Jair hasn’t. Both are nowhere near the standard required

04-05-2024, 04:36 PM
He’s decent but we have way too many players who make notable individual errors. You can’t put together any decent run of results with a squad like ours.

He's decent? Wake up ffs.

04-05-2024, 04:57 PM
Central defence is a priority in next window. Not one, but two accomplished, reliable central defenders.

We’ve went with differing central defensive personnel throughout the season, and nobody has performed to a level that suggests they should cement themselves in the starting line line up, let alone a solid defensive pairing.

The best teams tend to stick with the same defensive unit week in week out. A solid base that can be relied upon.

Make tactical changes elsewhere or rotate the squad a bit, but defensively I like to see a solid ever present back line.

If we are to move forward as a team, we need to recruit two proficient central defenders, and I’d be spending a good bit of any budget on that too.

jamie_1875
04-05-2024, 04:58 PM
Who was the last really good reliable central defender we had? Rob Jones?

04-05-2024, 04:59 PM

McGregor surely?

04-05-2024, 04:59 PM

Colin Murdoch………

04-05-2024, 05:00 PM
I like Rocky. Seems a good guy and he has loads about him to like. Good attitude and physicality.

No team with aspirations of 3rd or 4th can have him as a 1st choice CB though. There are far too many mistakes and deficiencies in his game and many are the same as he has been making since he first arrived here.

He's 24 and has played 120 first team games in his career. He's not some baby who you can keep making excuses for, he's approaching what should he his peak years.

Exactly, word for word, my take on him.

Loads to like, I’d absolutely love for him to be a success with us but he’s just not good enough.

Not miles away but not good enough and not going to improve to a level where he’s good enough.

He's decent? Wake up ffs.

He can be, but that’s the problem with our team. Rocky can be good but when he ****s up, he does so badly. Same with Miller, Marcondes, Levitt, Youan, Fish, Marshall, the list goes on.

I’d rather have someone - and I’m sorry to keep using this name - like Simon Murray who isn’t technically as good a player but shows consistency in attitude and application so we can aim for a more reliable team.

Roy Barry

04-05-2024, 05:01 PM

Paul Hanlon.

The back 3 of Hanlon, McGregor and Ambrose was superb.

04-05-2024, 05:04 PM
If it means getting myziane or marcondes all for getting rid of Boyle Alf and even Vente

Maolida sure. Marcondes, no thanks.

04-05-2024, 05:04 PM

Agree pretty fundamental skill for a centre back. The corner late in the game when he wasn’t looking at the ball and they should have scored was ridiculous.

04-05-2024, 05:05 PM

Ambrose was a better player than Jones quite easily.

04-05-2024, 05:07 PM

A fair summary

Hibiza
04-05-2024, 05:07 PM
A liability . Worth £3m apparently according to last " manager ". Says it all really.

04-05-2024, 05:09 PM

Rocky is unlucky in that he plays at the back and his errors and deficiencies are costly. Youan is a year older and played 136 first team games yet more allowances are made for his deficiencies (decision making, being a team player and not playing for himself etc).

I too like Rocky but there’s just too many mistakes in him. What was the reaction to Rocky from the experienced guys around him? Obita, Hanlon, Cadden, Newell. Did any of them speak to him? Not in a berating way but explaining the need to clear your lines in certain situations and positions. Or did the team meekly trudge back to the halfway line?

04-05-2024, 05:09 PM
McGregor surely?

Hanlon was better than Jones and McGregor.

04-05-2024, 05:11 PM
Big Dazza couldnae believe The Rangers let him go bled green would run through a brick wall for the club was their Player of the year it would have triggered a fair pay increase if he played one more game for the darkside

Like myself a good lookin dude anaw :greengrin

04-05-2024, 05:12 PM

Not for me. McGregor clear of both when it comes to defending. Sure, Hanlon might use the ball better, but McGregor is the better defender.

Anyway, all three better than Rocky.

04-05-2024, 05:13 PM

I liked Jones but he had a mistake in him too, distribution mixed at best and wasn’t universally liked on here by any means. Ambrose won most fans over but took a long time for him to lose the ‘bombscare’ tag that he wore from celtic days. It depends what you mean by ‘reliable’, and what constitutes an unacceptable number of mistakes.

jamie_1875
04-05-2024, 05:13 PM
Ambrose was a better player than Jones quite easily.

I did say reliable...but yes fair enough a better footballer.

jamie_1875
04-05-2024, 05:15 PM
I liked Jones but he had a mistake in him too, distribution mixed at best and wasn’t universally liked on here by any means. Ambrose won most fans over but took a long time for him to lose the ‘bombscare’ tag that he wore from celtic days. It depends what you mean by ‘reliable’, and what constitutes an unacceptable number of mistakes.

A good old fashioned central defender and leader, and he scored that goal against Hearts. Was that the game we had like 81% possession!

But on reflection Ambrose a better footballer but did have some bombscares as you say.

04-05-2024, 05:16 PM
Ambrose and McGregor were absolutely brilliant players for us.

I'd love to have players of that calibre again. Same with Porteous. A wee bit of character in our squad wouldn't go amiss.

All of these guys just got the job done. Not prefect by any means, but infinitely better than what we've had recently.

04-05-2024, 05:17 PM
I’m not saying it was my forward thinking. It was just my opinion way back and a lot of people disagreed with me at the time. A lot of people who disagreed with me are now agreeing with my thoughts

I disagree. You were agreeing with most people back then and you are still agreeing with the majority.

Cookiehibs
04-05-2024, 05:20 PM
I disagree. You were agreeing with most people back then and you are still agreeing with the majority.

Sorry I think you miss read my post? I was disagreeing with a lot who said they thought Rocky was decent and had potential but I didn’t see that at the time and still don’t. A lot of people now supporting that post, hence this thread.

04-05-2024, 05:22 PM
I did say reliable...but yes fair enough a better footballer.

He was more reliable too. He certainly wasn't a bombscare in a Hibs shirt. Excellent, consistent player.

supermcginn
04-05-2024, 05:31 PM

I'd have Hanlon last in that list, Sol Bamba was better than them all and had a great career after us.

04-05-2024, 05:32 PM
I like the big guy but too many mistakes for my liking

Chorley Hibee
04-05-2024, 05:33 PM
A good old fashioned central defender and leader, and he scored that goal against Hearts. Was that the game we had like 81% possession!

But on reflection Ambrose a better footballer but did have some bombscares as you say.

Ambrose barely put a foot wrong in a Hibs shirt.

Was a brilliant signing and I'd give anything for a player of his quality right now.

04-05-2024, 05:41 PM
Jones was a good defender however he got his erratic chasing into daft non dangerous areas was his weakness

04-05-2024, 05:42 PM

Darren McGregor.

04-05-2024, 05:59 PM
Jones was a good defender however he got his erratic chasing into daft non dangerous areas was his weakness

Jones only became a pro at 24, like Sproule was a late bloomer and therefore had a few gaps in his football education. Again, i really think folk have selective memories, he was far from universally liked by the .net cognoscenti:greengrin

sauzee1989
04-05-2024, 06:00 PM
He’s the worse centre back in the league and he always has been. No positional sense.

04-05-2024, 06:11 PM

I think this "you all laughed at me but who's laughing now?!" thing is my favourite kind of post on here.

04-05-2024, 06:17 PM
I'm glad people are seeing this at large now. As others have said, would Hearts, Aberdeen, Kilmarnock etc sign him? Not a hope in hell. This guy is nowhere even close to the required standard of a team like Hibs who should be going for 3rd.

We can't keep players because they have 1 good game in 5, or because they're 'good guys'. It's continuing to hold us back.

Again, we bloody better not line up with Rocky in our defense going into next season or it'll be another failure of a campaign. 2 new centre halfs is an absolute must to this team, it's the first and foremost thing we should be focusing on this dinner

04-05-2024, 06:19 PM
Sorry I think you miss read my post? I was disagreeing with a lot who said they thought Rocky was decent and had potential but I didn’t see that at the time and still don’t. A lot of people now supporting that post, hence this thread.

Your post was perfectly clear. However it made out that you were in the minority of fans who didnt think Rocky was good enough. You weren't. You were in the vast majority then as now.

It was all over the media at the time that due to letting his loan deal extend too long, that we were obliged to offer him a deal.

Then everyone thought we would definitely sign a replacement in the summer. We didnt. Then in January. We didnt.

04-05-2024, 06:30 PM
He’s the worse centre back in the league and he always has been. No positional sense.

It’s not so much his positional sense it’s more his complete lack of concentration and decision making - he plays football the same way he lives off the field, very casual, carefree and nonchalant. Nice fella but not a good technical footballer and lacks pace and competitiveness. Wind back to the third goal last week - his free kick - he didn’t even look up, it was an aimless ‘chip shot’ forward where we got lucky with their defending. His style in languid and lacks any real drive, and that, for me, is down to his lack of technical ability. Rarely a threat at set pieces attacking (albeit today he nearly scored) and always a liability when crosses come into our box. That’s as much a lack of desire as it is a lack of ability and confidence in himself. I don’t think even having an experienced head and leader next to him would have any desired affect because he plays like many others for himself and not the team or more importantly as part of a cohesive, determined unit of defenders.

04-05-2024, 06:50 PM

Not sure about that, would be impossible to actually judge that TBH.

There's a strong argument he's the worst centre half at the 5 biggest clubs in the country though.

Greensunshine
04-05-2024, 07:22 PM
He shouldn’t be anywhere near our club ever again! An absolute clown with big clown feet.

Embarrassed he’s associated with the club I love. I’ve had it with him, he’s absolutely honking!

What a ****ing mess this club is in.

04-05-2024, 07:24 PM
Darren McGregor.

Think he's a bit overrated because of his blood and snotters, boy fae Leith play style. He was good, quick over 10 yards, strong. A very good player. By far his best football for Hibs was in a back 3 with Paul and Efe behind him, while he was aggressively allowed to step up and be the first man. If he misjudged it, he had someone behind him.

He had some real stinkers though. Mind him coming on in a home game Vs St Johnstone, totally misjudging a ball and giving away a foul that led to a late winner. His play style was high risk high reward.

He would absolutely be our best defender now, but Hanlon on his day was better imo.

04-05-2024, 07:27 PM
Goes for a header and megz himself 😆

04-05-2024, 07:31 PM
We need an entire overhaul of the defence for next season just as we did last season and as we did in the January window. If we persist with players like Rocky,Fish and Wollacott we are in for another underwhelming season.

04-05-2024, 07:43 PM
Think he's a bit overrated because of his blood and snotters, boy fae Leith play style. He was good, quick over 10 yards, strong. A very good player. By far his best football for Hibs was in a back 3 with Paul and Efe behind him, while he was aggressively allowed to step up and be the first man. If he misjudged it, he had someone behind him.

He had some real stinkers though. Mind him coming on in a home game Vs St Johnstone, totally misjudging a ball and giving away a foul that led to a late winner. His play style was high risk high reward.

He would absolutely be our best defender now, but Hanlon on his day was better imo.

Done not too bad for a lad plucked from obscurity relatively late on as a footballer by Danny Lennon, with two horrendous cruciate injuries thereafter, and all after playing part time football and working for wee Pat in Xile - since then two player/manager awards at The Rangers, a Scottish Cup and Championship title with Hibs and has rightfully acclaimed legend status - all in a comparatively short career as a pro footballer - over rated 😂 deary me !

04-05-2024, 07:48 PM
Done not too bad for a lad plucked from obscurity relatively late on as a footballer by Danny Lennon, with two horrendous cruciate injuries thereafter, and all after playing part time football and working for wee Pat in Xile - since then two player/manager awards at The Rangers, a Scottish Cup and Championship title with Hibs and has rightfully acclaimed legend status - all in a comparatively short career as a pro footballer - over rated 😂 deary me !

Yep made the absolute maximum of his career. Huge credit to him for that

04-05-2024, 07:59 PM
I usually defend Rocky, mostly because I think some people can target him unfairly in comparison to others. But I can't really be arsed anymore, the guys clearly not actually good enough regardless of any debate about anyone else.

Don't think we'll get anyone to take him off our hands so probably need to roll with him as 4th choice next season.

04-05-2024, 08:21 PM

Was actually the opposite, initially wasn't the quickest but after 10/15 yards was the quickest player in the squad.

His best football was the year we won the Scottish, before Ambrose even joined the club.

Not sure why you are mentioning Leith ect, nobody has mentioned it except for yourself as it's not relevant to the conversation.

Fwiw Darren says Hanlon is the best centre half he's ever played with. I don't agree with that, but that's his opinion.

04-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Just cannot judge the flight of a ball and repeatedly misses headers and causes panic.

04-05-2024, 08:27 PM
Was actually the opposite, initially wasn't the quickest but after 10/15 yards was the quickest player in the squad.

His best football was the year we won the Scottish, before Ambrose even joined the club.

Not sure why you are mentioning Leith ect, nobody has mentioned it except for yourself as it's not relevant to the conversation.

I’m just perplexed anyone would say Darren was over rated yet a very good player in the same sentence 😂 give me Darren over Rocky every single day of the week and then some. Darren’s derby record alone would make our current defence (and squad) hang their heads in shame.

04-05-2024, 08:30 PM
I’m just perplexed anyone would say Darren was over rated yet a very good player in the same sentence 😂 give me Darren over Rocky every single day of the week and then some. Darren’s derby record alone would make our current defence (and squad) hang their heads in shame.

Without checking id imagine his record against Hearts is one of the best of any Hibs player in modern times.

Darren, despite what is said on here, was never a massive Hibs fan, or football fan in general, but he absolutely got the derby.

04-05-2024, 08:34 PM
Without checking id imagine his record against Hearts is one of the best of any Hibs player in modern times.

Darren, despite what is said on here, was never a massive Hibs fan, or football fan in general, but he absolutely got the derby.

Not applying this to Daz as he's definitely a Hibs fan but I think the reality is a lot of the time now is that most footballers spent majority of their time actually playing football at a young age for different clubs or travelling to games, so their allegiances aren't as dyed in the wool as is nice to make out once they become senior players.

They may be fans of their club but not many were there every Saturday 3pm as the rest of us who couldn't kick a ball to save ourselves :greengrin

04-05-2024, 08:35 PM

And gave good discounts on jeans 😂😜

04-05-2024, 08:37 PM
without checking id imagine his record against hearts is one of the best of any hibs player in modern times.

Darren, despite what is said on here, was never a massive hibs fan, or football fan in general, but he absolutely got the derby.

w5 d5 l3

04-05-2024, 08:41 PM
And gave good discounts on jeans 😂😜

Like Dominos, the original prices were raised to make the discounts seem bigger 🤣

04-05-2024, 08:42 PM
w5 d5 l3

Over rated 😂 never knew his stats but losing 3 in 13 derbies is a great record - cheers for checking CG 👍

04-05-2024, 08:42 PM
Like Dominos, the original prices were raised to make the discounts seem bigger 🤣

Weeksy gave better discounts mind 😂

04-05-2024, 08:43 PM
If Rocky starts our first league game next season, we’ll have failed in what we do over the next three months. A completely new pairing is required at centre half. We’re still going to have a heck of a lot of garbage that we’re going to need to rely on at times because of all the stupid contracts we’ve handed out over the last few years. But we need to be at a point where they’re not filling key positions.

04-05-2024, 08:55 PM
If Rocky starts our first league game next season, we’ll have failed in what we do over the next three months. A completely new pairing is required at centre half. We’re still going to have a heck of a lot of garbage that we’re going to need to rely on at times because of all the stupid contracts we’ve handed out over the last few years. But we need to be at a point where they’re not filling key positions.Early May so still plenty of time to find better players than those we have under contracts now and , just as important , to get rid of players especially the ones you classify as " garbage " even if under contract . Suppose you `ve been contacting our club with suggestions for new signings that will be available and suddenly make us better in terms of results and performances .

Paul1642
04-05-2024, 10:20 PM

Not a criticism of Hanlon who has been a very good servant for us but Jones, Daz and Ambrose were much better for us IMO, just over a lesser period of time. Maybe it’s the less critical way I perceived the game as a teenager or the fact that he played in a much more exciting team but I remember Jones as being absolutely unstoppable and a great leader to match. Not to mention that every time we got a corner I felt he was going to score.

As for the future, only Obita from today’s back 4 should be starting next season.

What I would do for a back 4 on par with the league cup winning defence :(

04-05-2024, 10:22 PM
Not for me. McGregor clear of both when it comes to defending. Sure, Hanlon might use the ball better, but McGregor is the better defender.

Anyway, all three better than Rocky.

Id have McGregor over Hanlon anytime. In his day Paul was decent but for me his achilles heel was that he was too easily bullied against a physical forward.

04-05-2024, 10:23 PM
Over rated 😂 never knew his stats but losing 3 in 13 derbies is a great record - cheers for checking CG 👍

Fontaine is the only prominent Hibs player in recent times to have never lost a derby I think.

04-05-2024, 10:26 PM
Early May so still plenty of time to find better players than those we have under contracts now and , just as important , to get rid of players especially the ones you classify as " garbage " even if under contract . Suppose you `ve been contacting our club with suggestions for new signings that will be available and suddenly make us better in terms of results and performances .

Na I’ve no, funnily enough. I’m just a supporter, they’re the professionals (apparently). What a daft post.

gegs70
04-05-2024, 10:30 PM
He is more physical but so many mistakes, he's too slow.... We made a mistake by playing him too often so had to buy him he wasn't initially in the managers plans at the time?? If we sold him who would buy him..... How much did we pay for him?

04-05-2024, 10:32 PM
Fontaine is the only prominent Hibs player in recent times to have never lost a derby I think.

Thanks bud 👍 which proves it’s an absolute disgrace that the likes of Newell and Co don’t have even a semblance of that record despite the same amount of games ! There lies the problem - an assembly of utter losers !

04-05-2024, 10:33 PM
Id have McGregor over Hanlon anytime. In his day Paul was decent but for me his achilles heel was that he was too easily bullied against a physical forward.

They were a very good pairing, a good bit of ying and yang - possibly the thing we lack most in our present crop, none of whom compliment one another.

04-05-2024, 10:35 PM
I’m just perplexed anyone would say Darren was over rated yet a very good player in the same sentence 😂 give me Darren over Rocky every single day of the week and then some. Darren’s derby record alone would make our current defence (and squad) hang their heads in shame.I mean he was a very good player, but he certainly wasn't better than Ambrose. That is overrating him.

Fwiw Darren says Hanlon is the best centre half he's ever played with. I don't agree with that, but that's his opinion.
His best football was easily the 6 months of brilliant form under Lennon. He was good the year we won the Scottish, no doubt about that.

04-05-2024, 10:44 PM
I mean he was a very good player, but he certainly wasn't better than Ambrose. That is overrating him.

His best football was easily the 6 months of brilliant form under Lennon. He was good the year we won the Scottish, no doubt about that.

You said Darren was over rated but a very good footballer in the same sentence and implied it was because of Hibs roots - if your hero Joe had an ounce of Darren’s commitment and minerals he wouldn’t be at Hibs - Darren played through pain, injury and had to modify training to play games -yer man Joe players golf - that’s the absolute difference between a true leader and professional footballer for me ! Darren is and was under rated that’s the bottom line !

darwenhibby
05-05-2024, 03:58 AM
We need centre half’s with the commitment and attitude of McGregor Hunter and George Stewart
Players who get Hibs

05-05-2024, 05:38 AM
He needs to go alongside the entirety of our defence bar Obita and Cadden. We gave him the benefit of the doubt that he was just quite raw and looked to be quickly improving, but he costs us far too many games still.

05-05-2024, 08:04 AM
I like him a lot, but there’s no defending that, it was awful on all counts.

I think a better coach makes him a better player though. Is it any coincidence he came back from AFCON looking much better having played and trained with different coaches?

05-05-2024, 08:14 AM
You said Darren was over rated but a very good footballer in the same sentence and implied it was because of Hibs roots - if your hero Joe had an ounce of Darren’s commitment and minerals he wouldn’t be at Hibs - Darren played through pain, injury and had to modify training to play games -yer man Joe players golf - that’s the absolute difference between a true leader and professional footballer for me ! Darren is and was under rated that’s the bottom line !
Ah right. Didn't know golf was off limits. Joe Newell very rarely misses any games. I don't think his commitment can be questioned at all.

Darren was excellent, a brilliant player for us. I'm not saying otherwise. Lovely guy as well. He wasn't better than Ambrose, though.

coldingham hibs
05-05-2024, 08:20 AM
He needs to go alongside the entirety of our defence bar Obita and Cadden. We gave him the benefit of the doubt that he was just quite raw and looked to be quickly improving, but he costs us far too many games still.

I don’t think Cadden or Obita are particularly good defenders. How many crosses get put into our box because these two allow players to get a yard on them. Agree they are decent going forward.

LewysGot2
05-05-2024, 08:25 AM
Yesterday we saw a classic streetwise forward performance against him. Rocky is a very emotional player, he says so himself. That can allow more savvy players/coaches to exploit that. It can see him sucked into situations by opponents that cooler customers avoid

He allows himself to get sucked into battles where forwards can roll him, grab jerseys and use him to their advantage. Murray yesterday - and also Brophy to a smaller extent- were going round trying to generate opportunities through getting a rise, or simply annoying players. At set pieces this was coordinated and one in particular in the first half, Murray started on Hanlon - pushing him, grabbing his jersey, saying stuff. Paul stayed calm, repositioned himself and his focus and gave Murray nothing to feed off. So Murray moved on to Rocky where a wrestling match was obliged, Murray could draw him into a wrangle and Rocky appeared to be sucked in.

This isn't unusual. On his good days (and its bizarre and unfair to suggest he's not had them) he manages this but on his more emotional or poorer days he doesn't. The head goes.

05-05-2024, 08:26 AM

I think a better coach makes him a better player though. Is it any coincidence he came back from AFCON looking much better having played and trained with different coaches?

He came back clearly determined to do well. He said at the Hibs First event the other night that he wanted to come back and do well because he remembered how his last game before he went away had ended (him making a mistake leading to Hearts scoring).

That’s all very nice but he was part of a crap defence before he went away and is now he’s back. Rocky needs to be nowhere near our team next season, no coach is turning him in to a good player.

05-05-2024, 08:27 AM

Looking back on reports from mid February when he came back, his performances were widely praised, and that went on for a good month. I think theres some selective memory at play. There’s inconsistency throughout tgis team, in fact the only consistent performers over more than half the season have been Obita and Myziane.

05-05-2024, 08:28 AM
Sadly Rocky is and was not the standard we want to achieve

You have to ask yourself, would he get in other teams, we should be challenging

This season, hearts, Kilmarnock, st Mirren,

I think he doesn’t start for anyone apart from Hibs.

Telling that

05-05-2024, 08:37 AM
Yesterday we saw a classic streetwise forward performance against him. Rocky is a very emotional player, he says so himself. That can allow more savvy players/coaches to exploit that. It can see him sucked into situations by opponents that cooler customers avoid

He allows himself to get sucked into battles where forwards can roll him, grab jerseys and use him to their advantage. Murray yesterday - and also Brophy to a smaller extent- were going round trying to generate opportunities through getting a rise, or simply annoying players. At set pieces this was coordinated and one in particular in the first half, Murray started on Hanlon - pushing him, grabbing his jersey, saying stuff. Paul stayed calm, repositioned himself and his focus and gave Murray nothing to feed off. So Murray moved on to Rocky where a wrestling match was obliged, Murray could draw him into a wrangle and Rocky appeared to be sucked in.

This isn't unusual. On his good days (and its bizarre and unfair to suggest he's not had them) he manages this but on his more emotional or poorer days he doesn't. The head goes.

We were talking about this on the way home yesterday. It was so apparent in the second half. At one point when play was stopped Murray was actually standing laughing with him. Obviously don’t know what was being said but as soon as the game was restarted off goes Rocky charging about like a mad man looking to fight him anytime the ball is there or thereabouts. There were times where he was running away in to midfield, Moriah-Welsh was then dropping back in and it just messed up our shape.

LewysGot2
05-05-2024, 09:00 AM
We were talking about this on the way home yesterday. It was so apparent in the second half. At one point when play was stopped Murray was actually standing laughing with him. Obviously don’t know what was being said but as soon as the game was restarted off goes Rocky charging about like a mad man looking to fight him anytime the ball is there or thereabouts. There were times where he was running away in to midfield, Moriah-Welsh was then dropping back in and it just messed up our shape.

Yup. It was sooo obvious yesterday on that wee ground. Murray obviously loves the ****-housery side of the game. Players or fans, he doesn't discriminate as the fan who shouted at him he was rotten found out directly. Verbal abuse and a gesture showing a fat belly were fired back at said fan. Water off a ducks back to Murray. And he had the last laugh.

He tried pushing the buttons of Paul, Obita and Cadden. None rose to the bait. Rocky went there though. Job ✔️ done

snedzuk
05-05-2024, 09:25 AM
We need centre half’s with the commitment and attitude of McGregor Hunter and George Stewart
Players who get Hibs

Or, for those of a certain age, Roy Barry.

05-05-2024, 09:27 AM
Yup. It was sooo obvious yesterday on that wee ground. Murray obviously loves the ****-housery side of the game. Players or fans, he doesn't discriminate as the fan who shouted at him he was rotten found out directly. Verbal abuse and a gesture showing a fat belly were fired back at said fan. Water off a ducks back to Murray. And he had the last laugh.

He tried pushing the buttons of Paul, Obita and Cadden. None rose to the bait. Rocky went there though. Job ✔️ done

Yep. It's a shame as Rocky has some really good qualities like pace and strength. Sadly he's not good enough if we are to be a team challenging for third. And that applies to almost the entire back line.

05-05-2024, 09:29 AM
Yep. It's a shame as Rocky has some really good qualities like pace and strength. Sadly he's not good enough if we are to be a team challenging for third. And that applies to almost the entire back line.

That’s his only good qualities though!

The most important one, being a good footballer/defender just isn’t there.

05-05-2024, 09:29 AM
Or, for those of a certain age, Roy Barry.

John Yogi Hughes

06-05-2024, 07:43 AM
You have to laugh at how bad these actually are -

https://x.com/liamhibs21/status/1786765758246129761?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

https://x.com/heartsgoals/status/1610366847341236226?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

https://x.com/angry_golfer91/status/1740142383516545492?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

You’d get dropped at amateur level for that standard of play

06-05-2024, 07:48 AM

https://x.com/liamhibs21/status/1786765758246129761?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

https://x.com/heartsgoals/status/1610366847341236226?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

https://x.com/angry_golfer91/status/1740142383516545492?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ

Not being able to judge when to head the ball, for a central defender especially, is quite the drawback. I’d forgotten all about the one where he megs himself.

06-05-2024, 07:48 AM

Whats your actual motivation, as a Hibs fan, for posting links to Hearts fans videos mocking one of our players? Is it so a groundswell of support can take off for him to be chased out of town or something?

06-05-2024, 07:49 AM

Comically bad.

06-05-2024, 07:52 AM
Whats your actual motivation, as a Hibs fan, for posting links to Hearts fans videos mocking one of our players? Is it so a groundswell of support can take off for him to be chased out of town or something?

Aye that’s it.

Or, I saw them this morning and thought it was pretty funny. Didn’t care or notice who the account that posted them supported.

You can pick which of them you choose to believe. I’m no bothered.

06-05-2024, 07:55 AM
Aye that’s it.

Or, I saw them this morning and thought it was pretty funny. Didn’t care or notice who the account that posted them supported.

You can pick which of them you choose to believe. I’m no bothered.

‘Classic Heart of Midlothian Goals’twitter page. If you look hard enough there’s probably footage of Fish presenting the ball to their striker in the derby. Or Kujabis red card in the 5-1.

Have a deep dive and post them on here so we can have a good titter eh? I love a good laugh.

06-05-2024, 07:57 AM
‘Classic Heart of Midlothian Goals’twitter page. If you look hard enough there’s probably footage of Fish presenting the ball to their striker in the derby. Or Kujabis red card in the 5-1.

Have a deep dive and post them on here so we can have a good titter eh? I love a good laugh.

Glad to be of service then.

Would you be less raging if the accounts had just been Hibs fans?

06-05-2024, 07:59 AM
Not being able to judge when to head the ball, for a central defender especially, is quite the drawback. I’d forgotten all about the one where he megs himself.

It’s just a total inability to do the most basic thing a centre half has to do, especially in this league.

06-05-2024, 08:19 AM

Those are the ones where he actually attempts to header the ball - in nearly every game there are instances where he doesn’t even try to header the ball and just lets it bounce.

06-05-2024, 08:24 AM

It's incredible to think that someone that bad is in our starting 11. Another embarrassing recruitment blunder. Watch us offer him an extension.

06-05-2024, 08:27 AM

Just a horrible, horrible ‘footballer’ who should be nowhere near our first 11. The very definition of a bombscare.

His defending is almost as comical as the fact that some clown managed to accidentally sign him 😂😂😂😂😂😂

06-05-2024, 08:27 AM

You're maybe being a tad sensitive here?!

It's pretty funny seeing the clips together like that and doesn't cause anyone any harm.

06-05-2024, 08:29 AM
Someone's gonna tell us it's a Hibs.net myth that we signed him by accident.

06-05-2024, 08:35 AM

I like him and he's had some great games for us but when you see those kinds of incredibly poor errors bundled together it is pretty damning. On balance our first pick central defenders should be substantially better than that.

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2024, 08:49 AM

Very disappointing in fairness 😞

06-05-2024, 09:04 AM
You're maybe being a tad sensitive here?!

It's pretty funny seeing the clips together like that and doesn't cause anyone any harm.

Yeah fair enough. It’s probably a reminder that this place and its constant negativity really isnt for me. I actually hope Rocky does leave, more for his sake than ours though.

06-05-2024, 09:08 AM
^^^I watched the clips and laughed.

No malice or negativity, just thought it was funny. If we can't laugh at ourselves......

06-05-2024, 09:11 AM
I like him, and i did think he would improve the more he played.

He does have some good attributes in pace and strength, but does not command in the air, not the best with the ball, and still makes far too many mistakes.

We need better, good teams are built from the back, I think we need a new back 4, we dont have a good defence.:boo hoo:

06-05-2024, 09:18 AM
Yeah fair enough. It’s probably a reminder that this place and its constant negativity really isnt for me. I actually hope Rocky does leave, more for his sake than ours though.

Yes I’m sure he’ll move onto better things and never again have to deal with people criticising him on social media or fan forums. Cos that’s how the world works isn’t it.

Big bad Hibs fans

06-05-2024, 09:22 AM

06-05-2024, 10:05 AM

He's not good enough, no doubt, but could find clips like this for any Hibs defender in the last 25 years. Including McGregor, Ambrose, Gray, hanlon.

06-05-2024, 10:08 AM
He's not good enough, no doubt, but could find clips like this for any Hibs defender in the last 25 years. Including McGregor, Ambrose, Gray, hanlon.

Could you?

06-05-2024, 10:12 AM
Could you?

Absolutely. All defenders make awful errors. Those guys certainly did too.

06-05-2024, 10:24 AM
Absolutely. All defenders make awful errors. Those guys certainly did too.

Aye, but not like the ones I've posted about Rocky. I remember Lewis making a similar mistake against Hearts a while back, but none of the rest of them.

06-05-2024, 10:36 AM

That’s a bit dramatic🙄

06-05-2024, 10:38 AM
I actually wouldn’t mind Rocky as a back up centre half, probably best we could hope given our budget but should not be a regular starter.

06-05-2024, 10:38 AM
He clearly has a massive problem judging the flight of the ball, as the clips show.

For a guy playing at his level, he's not exactly that young anymore either, that's a pretty worrying thing for a centre half not to be able to do competently.

06-05-2024, 10:47 AM
I don't Rocky is the kind of player you can rely upon as back up either tbh. You can see how rusty he looks after periods out the team. I reckon he's the kind of player that needs to play week in week out to have any kind of consistency and he isn't good enough to be a first choice centre half here.

He MIGHT iron out the glaring deficiencies in his game in a few years but we haven't got time to wait on that happening.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

HIBS NUTS
06-05-2024, 10:47 AM
Laughing at hibs defenders, giving goals away against hearts, posted from a hearts site .
I must be on the wrong site, I thought we all supported hibs.
I couldn't imagine this would happen hearts , Celtic , or rangers sites.
We have some very strange supporters.

PineBarrens
06-05-2024, 10:50 AM
Rocky shouldn't be a starter should be 3rd or 4th choice, I would be fine with that. Think he's going to end up winning young player of the year too

06-05-2024, 10:52 AM
Laughing at hibs defenders, giving goals away against hearts, posted from a hearts site .
I must be on the wrong site, I thought we all supported hibs.
I couldn't imagine this would happen hearts , Celtic , or rangers sites.
We have some very strange supporters.

:boo hoo:

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2024, 12:20 PM

I like Rocky and am beginning to think the same , it wasn't that long ago when he came back he was getting praise for playing well . Yes he has a mistake in him though instead of getting abit of support from the fans it normally goes the other way . Unfortunately from day one Rocky's been a player some just have it in for .

06-05-2024, 12:28 PM
I like Rocky and am beginning to think the same , it wasn't that long ago when he came back he was getting praise for playing well . Yes he has a mistake in him though instead of getting abit of support from the fans it normally goes the other way . Unfortunately from day one Rocky's been a player some just have it in for .

100% nonsense.

Mcbizz1998
06-05-2024, 12:49 PM
The guy is stinking, he has always been stinking. He would occasionally have a game where he wouldn’t make a howler and some on here would insist he was coming good.

We need rid of Rocky, Hanlon and Fish in the summer. Any from those 3 in our defence means we will get the same pish as this season.

06-05-2024, 12:58 PM
Far too many mistakes from him costing us numerous goals.
Happy for him to be moved on.

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2024, 12:58 PM
100% nonsense.

No offence but I think it's really poor putting up links of hertz folk mocking one of our players though again you probably think thats also 100% nonsense too .

Expected better from you than that mate in truth.
Anyhow I leave it there and let you carry on.👍

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rocky-bushiri-hibs-fans-hurt-27313075

06-05-2024, 01:08 PM
No offence but I think it's really poor putting up links of hertz folk mocking one of our players though again you probably think thats also 100% nonsense too .

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rocky-bushiri-hibs-fans-hurt-27313075

Only one of the 3 links put up was by a Hearts fan

06-05-2024, 01:11 PM

No offence taken. If you want to make it a thing about the videos coming from Hearts fans twitter accounts, that's fine...I don't care. If you want to imply it means that I like Hearts, or that I enjoy Hearts twitter accounts. Again, that's fine, you can think that if you want...I just don't care.

I don't hate him, I don't think anybody does. I don't rate him either though. He's not the only one in the squad, and the reason he's taking the brunt of it right now as he (again) made a complete **** of a header, something that's a common feature for his game, as the video clips I posted highlighted.

06-05-2024, 01:21 PM

It’s no about having it in for him from day one. It’s just that, since day one he’s no looked very good. 2 and a bit years later, he still doesn’t look very good.

I feel a bit sorry for him as he doesn’t pick himself but it’s so frustrating watching us concede crap goals week in week out with him at the centre of our defence.

06-05-2024, 01:30 PM
Rocky is part of one of our weakest defences for years. It worries me that as a former defender NM didn't see the need to properly strengthen the defence in January. That decision cost us big time. If he didn't have a say then that raises other issues about our signing policy.

06-05-2024, 01:32 PM
Rocky is part of one of our weakest defences for years. It worries me that as a former defender NM didn't see the need to properly strengthen the defence in January. That decision cost us big time. If he didn't have a say then that raises other issues about our signing policy.

Wasn't Monty a centre mid?

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2024, 02:46 PM
It’s no about having it in for him from day one. It’s just that, since day one he’s no looked very good. 2 and a bit years later, he still doesn’t look very good.

I feel a bit sorry for him as he doesn’t pick himself but it’s so frustrating watching us concede crap goals week in week out with him at the centre of our defence.

Again it's not that long ago when he was actually turning in some decent performance , yes he's made a mistake and he has one in him now and again though watching that game on Saturday time and time again there's too many crosses coming into our box .

Hanlon was also caught out having to cover an area that there was to much space in , where is the LB ? . All season I've been seeing in games like hertz , St Johnstone , Killie etc us getting exposed down the flanks though I don't see the same pile on about Obita .

Both fullbacks have to defend better in games which they simply aren't doing and Obita imo was extremely guilty of it on Saturday .

While Rocky did make a mistake there's more than him responsible for the first goal as it's plain to see by the time and space Dhanda got to cross the ball in our box.

Anyhow I'm not going to crucify Obita for it in the same way others are Rocky . It's all to easy putting the boot in on one of our players when something goes wrong , maybe abit of support would be more beneficial in the long run though.

Still think Rocky has alot to offer our club .

06-05-2024, 02:50 PM
Again it's not that long ago when he was actually turning in some decent performance , yes he's made a mistake and he has one in him now and again though watching that game on Saturday time and time again there's too many crosses coming into our box .

Hanlon was also caught out having to cover an area that there was to much space in , where is the LB ? . All season I've been seeing in games like hertz , St Johnstone , Killie etc us getting exposed down the flanks though I don't see the same pile on about Obita .

Both fullbacks have to defend better in games which they simply aren't doing and Obita imo was extremely guilty of it on Saturday .

While Rocky did make a mistake there's more than him responsible for the first goal as it's plain to see by the time and space Dhanda got to cross the ball in our box.

Anyhow I'm not going to crucify Obita for it in the same way others are Rocky . It's all to easy putting the boot in on one of our players when something goes wrong , maybe abit of support would be more beneficial in the long run though.

I'll give you credit for how much you defend him :top marks

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2024, 03:15 PM
I'll give you credit for how much you defend him :top marks

Living here totally outnumbered by Celtic fans I suppose I don't know any other way but to defend all things Hibs . Goes against the grain not to mate :greengrin

06-05-2024, 03:22 PM

Any central defender in the league could have similar compilations of mistakes

06-05-2024, 03:24 PM
Wasn't Monty a centre mid?

Yes played midfield all his career

06-05-2024, 03:26 PM

Would getting exposed down the flanks maybe be the manager’s fault then?

Rocky has actually been favoured this season because he’s meant to be more capable in 1 vs 1s and defending high. Because he has the athleticism and speed over Hanlon for example.

The full backs leaving areas exposed is part of the tactics of our esteemed coach.

Unfortunately neither Montgomery or Rocky are what we need to progress.

06-05-2024, 04:22 PM
Yes played midfield all his career

Apologies guys. You're correct. I'm still not letting him off with the January window though :)

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2024, 04:30 PM
Would getting exposed down the flanks maybe be the manager’s fault then?

Rocky has actually been favoured this season because he’s meant to be more capable in 1 vs 1s and defending high. Because he has the athleticism and speed over Hanlon for example.

The full backs leaving areas exposed is part of the tactics of our esteemed coach.

Unfortunately neither Montgomery or Rocky are what we need to progress.

Possibly or maybe the players are switching off defensively and it's nothing to do with the manager. Who knows .

You not think Rocky has more athleticism and speed than Hanlon then? .

I don't know if Monty isn't what we need to progress because he's not really had the opportunity to change the squad significantly in the one January window he's had .

Also again it's not to long ago Rocky's performance were quite good though I'm always in favour of us signing better players if we can too .

Maybe your right and Monty isn't the answer which you seem sure off , so who is the answer then ? .

Greensunshine
06-05-2024, 06:22 PM
Watching that goal again and again on repeat and for the life of me I don’t have the slightest clue as to why he headed that ball.

Very strange.

06-05-2024, 07:57 PM
Watching that goal again and again on repeat and for the life of me I don’t have the slightest clue as to why he headed that ball.

Very strange.
Watching the goal again what is Obita doing. The last man who makes a mistake in a goal usually gets the blame but often there are multiple mistakes. We have 3 players on the left and three Ross County players.We have Newell in space, and Obita and Maolida on the initial passer neither putting any pressure on or stopping the easy ball down the line. Rocky makes a horlicks of the header and fails Cadden fails to do what Murray did and anticipate where the ball might be. The only one making a real effort to stop the goal is Hanlon who is a bit late leaving his man to get a block in. We simply don't play as a team, particularly in defense and teh manager definitely has to take a share of the blame for that. Even with all that if Rocky even does a decent job no-one would be talking about it.

06-05-2024, 08:21 PM

Very strange.

Looks to me like he freezes trying to decide what to do - can’t decide whether to head it, chest it, duck under it, whatever - then it arrives at him before he’s decided and he has no choice by then other than to head it very badly.

It’s not a particularly good ball in but it’s effective enough to force him into a bad decision and a poor execution.

06-05-2024, 08:25 PM
Any central defender in the league could have similar compilations of mistakes

Absolutely.

06-05-2024, 08:26 PM
Watching the goal again what is Obita doing. The last man who makes a mistake in a goal usually gets the blame but often there are multiple mistakes. We have 3 players on the left and three Ross County players.We have Newell in space, and Obita and Maolida on the initial passer neither putting any pressure on or stopping the easy ball down the line. Rocky makes a horlicks of the header and fails Cadden fails to do what Murray did and anticipate where the ball might be. The only one making a real effort to stop the goal is Hanlon who is a bit late leaving his man to get a block in. We simply don't play as a team, particularly in defense and teh manager definitely has to take a share of the blame for that. Even with all that if Rocky even does a decent job no-one would be talking about it.

Obita has been widely praised for having had a decent season… I think he’s pretty suspect defensively and has had a poor past couple of months.

There are quite often wee incidents like this that don’t necessarily lead to goals, that’s before you get onto the ones that cost us goals.

06-05-2024, 08:38 PM
Obita has been widely praised for having had a decent season… I think he’s pretty suspect defensively and has had a poor past couple of months.

There are quite often wee incidents like this that don’t necessarily lead to goals, that’s before you get onto the ones that cost us goals.

I agree, you can get away with having attacking focused full backs who perhaps aren't great defenders when you have a solid keeper - centre halfs - defensive mid, unit playing well together. As it is, we'd probably be better off with full backs who primarily defend, and leave the attacking to the midfield and forwards.

07-05-2024, 04:48 AM
Been a big supporter of Rocky on these threads the last couple of years but what the f#ck was he doing or trying to do ?

Just bring the ball under control and lump up it up the park a la Dod Stewart or Gordon Rae

His heading is highly suspect though very rarely does a Rocky defensive header clear our box but that was an utter horlicks

It is just not Rocky though major surgery is needed from top to bottom off and on the park

We are gash and fast becoming the laughing stock of the league

Tactics are naive cannae defend no fight no steel no hunger no desire and most of the players are not up to the required standard

Will be interesting to see what the attendance figures are the last two games ?

07-05-2024, 12:15 PM
Possibly or maybe the players are switching off defensively and it's nothing to do with the manager. Who knows .

You not think Rocky has more athleticism and speed than Hanlon then? .

I don't know if Monty isn't what we need to progress because he's not really had the opportunity to change the squad significantly in the one January window he's had .

Also again it's not to long ago Rocky's performance were quite good though I'm always in favour of us signing better players if we can too .

Maybe your right and Monty isn't the answer which you seem sure off , so who is the answer then ? .

Yes. You made the point that Rocky isn't getting enough protection from the full backs and he's being exposed down the channels. I'm explaining that he's in the team as he's meant to be capable of dealing with those situations. Him and Fish were expected to deal with going man for man against forwards and defending high.

The evidence seems to show that Rocky's not particularly capable and the manager's tactics are wrong. With such a crap defensive record most sensible coaches would change the approach, maybe go to a back 3 for a period to stabilise things.

I don't know who should replace Monty but at this stage, I think he's out of his depth and it's almost unfair to keep him in this position. He looked absolutely lost at full time on Saturday.

07-05-2024, 03:56 PM

Spot on

07-05-2024, 04:04 PM

I would tend to agree. Obita's defensive attributes aren't his strong suit, which is a concern when he's a left back. Decent on the ball, can whip in a cross etc, but he could perhaps offer more attacking threat (perhaps constrained by our tactics).

Rocky seems like a lovely lad, but he's not someone we should be building a team around. If he gets the chance to move on, no loss to the side.