View Full Version : Snooker World Championship 2024

29-04-2024, 10:00 PM
Anyone see the Higgins v Allan conclusion tonight? Best match I’ve seen in a long time. Allan, who I’m normally not a fan of, his match play the last few frames was like prime Higgins. However John’s counter clearance. That double, and the last red!!

Hope John’s got one last word title in him but think that ship has now sailed. He can’t get over the line at the business end of tournaments the last few years.

Green Man
30-04-2024, 06:35 AM
I saw the last three frames last night, it was absolutely gripping. I didn’t know which way it was going to go until the final clearance, both players played some incredible shots. The last red was something else!

30-04-2024, 09:48 AM
I’ve absolutely loved it this year, it’s been great

It’s my favourite sporting event of the year by a mile.

30-04-2024, 11:30 AM
Allen was brilliant last night and for Higgins to come back and play these shots, well just incredible. That double was as brave a shot as I've seen.

30-04-2024, 12:07 PM
Allen was brilliant last night and for Higgins to come back and play these shots, well just incredible. That double was as brave a shot as I've seen.
Higgins is the best there is when it scores to doubles and if he’s missed that, it was game over for him with where the white ended up. You could tell on Allen’s face he knew he wasn’t getting back to the table when it went in

Hope FalkirkHibee/ Sir David Gray is keeping well, he used to be all over the snooker threads on here and not seen him post in ages

30-04-2024, 12:56 PM
Higgins is the best there is when it scores to doubles and if he’s missed that, it was game over for him with where the white ended up. You could tell on Allen’s face he knew he wasn’t getting back to the table when it went in

Hope FalkirkHibee/ Sir David Gray is keeping well, he used to be all over the snooker threads on here and not seen him post in ages

Was all over a great deal of threads (I mean that in a positive way), sadly missed, echo your thoughts in hoping he’s keeping well.

Was a big tennis fan as well iirc

30-04-2024, 01:31 PM

Was all over a great deal of threads (I mean that in a positive way), sadly missed, echo your thoughts in hoping he’s keeping well.

Was a big tennis fan as well iirc

One of my favourite posters , Seems to have just disappeared i hope he is well

That clearance from Higgins last night :top marks Balls the size of church bells

01-05-2024, 06:11 PM
Just need John to come back tonight and Bingham to oust O’Sullivan with them at 8-8. Couldn’t see past John in a semi final lineup of Bingham, Jack Jones & David Gilbert.

01-05-2024, 08:29 PM
Higgins and O’Sullivan both out. Would have got about 1000000/1 for a last 4 lineup of Wilson, Bingham, Jak Jones and David Gilbert 😂

01-05-2024, 10:29 PM
Higgins and O’Sullivan both out. Would have got about 1000000/1 for a last 4 lineup of Wilson, Bingham, Jak Jones and David Gilbert 😂

Mate of mine is on Bingham to win the tournament - that itself was 50s! (Unsure if before a ball was potted or after first game)

02-05-2024, 07:36 AM

Wilson looks good but you just wouldn't put it past Bingham to win it, he's been there before. Got to be these 2 in the final you'd think.

02-05-2024, 08:33 AM

What a dire semi final lineup. Not sure of the draw but the prospect of someone like David Gilbert being world champion boggles the mind.

02-05-2024, 06:56 PM
The first semi final has been dire. I’ve stopped watching at the start of frame 3. Maybe see how Kyren is playing but can’t see me watching much of the semi’s or final. If only John, Ronnie and Judd had made it through.

02-05-2024, 07:46 PM
What a dire semi final lineup. Not sure of the draw but the prospect of someone like David Gilbert being world champion boggles the mind.

Cannae be any worse than when Graeme Dott won it. That was £3ck3n boring

03-05-2024, 10:59 AM
Wilson looks good but you just wouldn't put it past Bingham to win it, he's been there before. Got to be these 2 in the final you'd think.

I’m going for a Gilbert v Bingham final with the former coming out on top.

G15 Hibs
03-05-2024, 01:41 PM

All four of them beat at least one seeded player to get there. They're the guys that have been in form in this tournament. A lot of the more lauded players were dreadful. Neither Trump or O'Sullivan looked at the races at all. Both fell apart at their first real challenge.

Match of the tournament was Higgins v Allen. Always had the feeling that would be Higgins' race run though. On the other hand felt that if Allen got through he'd have at least made the final, and the way things have gone since would probably have won it.

Stairway 2 7
03-05-2024, 09:14 PM
All four of them beat at least one seeded player to get there. They're the guys that have been in form in this tournament. A lot of the more lauded players were dreadful. Neither Trump or O'Sullivan looked at the races at all. Both fell apart at their first real challenge.

Match of the tournament was Higgins v Allen. Always had the feeling that would be Higgins' race run though. On the other hand felt that if Allen got through he'd have at least made the final, and the way things have gone since would probably have won it.

Agree, still pish to watch.

No one has came through against Ronnie and that is the problem, stagnation. When Ronnie goes the viewership will be similar to bowls and it's worls snoopers fault

04-05-2024, 11:50 AM
This frame between Bingham and Jones is like an endurance test. I enjoy the tactical aspect of snooker but this is just dire.

04-05-2024, 07:28 PM
Bingham has just played arguably the worst shot ever seen in a major championship. Jones is hardly potting a thing but Bingham's game is totally gone.

05-05-2024, 12:35 PM
Kyren wins this 18 -8 for me .

05-05-2024, 01:19 PM
Kyren wins this 18 -8 for me .

He may be out of sight before Jones settles in.

20-07-2024, 01:59 PM
Ray Reardon passed away aged 91.

Way before my time but considered a snooker Great.

16-04-2025, 09:14 AM
Not great news about Graham Dott on the eve of this years world championship!

16-04-2025, 09:27 AM

Aye shocking. But I've got high hopes that it'll be a far better tournament than last years.

Trump obviously favourite but Higgins is in great form.

16-04-2025, 09:45 AM
Aye shocking. But I've got high hopes that it'll be a far better tournament than last years.

Trump obviously favourite but Higgins is in great form.

Trump has only ever won one? Weird stat.

I'll go Selby. Also think 20/1 on Shaun Murphy is generous.

16-04-2025, 10:16 AM
Higgins coming off the back of two recent ranking title wins. Beating Selby from 8-5 down with 5 frames in a row. He couldn’t, could he? He’s got a chance and hitting form at the right time,

16-04-2025, 12:09 PM

I've been informed by someone who is his friend that in-laws are to blame for this false info. His wife kicked him out the house for the local drug dealer a while back and it's all went Pete Tong from there.

This is not a conversation I overheard in the pub.

But only time will tell.

Whether true or false this will be labelled with him for the rest of his life.

16-04-2025, 05:41 PM
Will watch what i can over the next few weeks and maybe even have a look at the odds tomorrow, all eyes of course on Ronnie going for number 8.

16-04-2025, 06:26 PM
Will watch what i can over the next few weeks and maybe even have a look at the odds tomorrow, all eyes of course on Ronnie going for number 8.

Is Ronnie going to turn up?

17-04-2025, 04:38 AM

I think he is to decide today, says he's had a good weeks practice so we will see.

17-04-2025, 03:48 PM

Yet to see anything on a decision, if he does then it's Ali carter first up.

17-04-2025, 05:48 PM

Think I caught somewhere that he DOES intend to participate. Could be interesting.

19-04-2025, 10:06 PM
Curse of the crucible strikes again. What a performance by Lei Peifan. Thought Wilson was going to make the comeback but well done to the lad to hold his nerve.

20-04-2025, 01:09 AM

Hope Carter pumps him.

23-04-2025, 06:19 PM
FFS is their anything Ally MCcoist isn't on ? Bored to tears of him commentating on the footy he's now on the Snooker panel !!! **** of you hun **** !!

Stairway 2 7
23-04-2025, 06:27 PM
Amazing 5 frames from Osullivan 3 centuries. Be interesting to see if he can keep the mindset

23-04-2025, 06:46 PM
FFS is their anything Ally MCcoist isn't on ? Bored to tears of him commentating on the footy he's now on the Snooker panel !!! **** of you hun **** !!

I'd rather see McCoist than Shaun Murphy! He never shuts up, so full of himself and an all-round twat. Hope Trump gubs him.

And he's back on again! Glad I can switch to TNT.

Stairway 2 7
25-04-2025, 07:40 AM
Huge win for Ben Woollaston to put out Marc Selby

25-04-2025, 09:08 AM
Huge win for Ben Woollaston to put out Marc Selby

Yes. I quite fancied Selby to go all the way. He looked very good at points in the final he lost to John Higgins quite recently. I thought he'd be switched on for the worlds. Apparently not!

Ronnie and Trump showing ominous form...

25-04-2025, 11:33 AM
147 for Allen after not potting a ball for 3 frames. Incredible turnaround. But 11-3 down now so he's looking for a miracle. Wakelin has been brilliant.

Trinity Hibee
25-04-2025, 04:29 PM
Higgins potting the black and then the white in the shoot out at end of frame 14.

25-04-2025, 10:19 PM
147 for Allen after not potting a ball for 3 frames. Incredible turnaround. But 11-3 down now so he's looking for a miracle. Wakelin has been brilliant.

First player to make a max in the triple crown events I'm sure I seen eailer, been on the late this week so have missed most of it, will try and catch some snooker over the weekend.

26-04-2025, 11:15 AM
Never seen Higgins play so negatively as this. Brutal watch.

26-04-2025, 03:03 PM
On in the background on silent at the moment with a few glances, did see a couple of Junxu's error's and noticed Ronnie's tournament long pot succession a bit low.

Currently 4-0 Ronnie.

26-04-2025, 10:56 PM

Ha ha, I thought of this post today at the Tranent game. His son was playing mind you so can't really hold that against him. I was going to punch him and run away, and shout that was for Mark Fulton

27-04-2025, 08:09 AM
Ha ha, I thought of this post today at the Tranent game. His son was playing mind you so can't really hold that against him. I was going to punch him and run away, and shout that was for Mark Fulton

Like the coward he is :agree:

I kin still remember that game like yesterday nearly 40 years later !! Roasting hot day , Beadie & Cowan scoring , Nearly 40 years tho how scary time flies

Back to the Snooker , Ahink Luca Brecel could dae some damage if he is focused , Delighted Selby is out he is the most miserable player in the world !! jester from Leicester my erse , Looks ready to burst oot greeting all the time

27-04-2025, 07:17 PM
Xintong has got to be in with a shout, he's some talent. Brecel playing some incredible stuff as well

27-04-2025, 09:21 PM
Trump was something.

Hibs Go Bragh
28-04-2025, 09:31 AM
Trump was something.

After the slog of the first frame Murphy must have been thinking I've got him here but someone flicked a switch with Trump and he was outstanding! Judd vs Ronnie in the final please.

28-04-2025, 11:08 AM
After the slog of the first frame Murphy must have been thinking I've got him here but someone flicked a switch with Trump and he was outstanding! Judd vs Ronnie in the final please.

Both should be confident of getting to the final with the draw.

Hibs Go Bragh
28-04-2025, 03:54 PM
Both should be confident of getting to the final with the draw.

Trump vs Brecel could be a cracker. I don't even think Brecel knows himself what he's going to do from one minute to the next so it's impossible to prepare to play against him!

Cannot wait for Higgins vs Williams though.

30-04-2025, 12:42 PM
Aww man, Higgins and that blue! I’d turned it off at 12-8 only to see it went to a deciding frame. Then to miss the match ball and let Williams fall over the line by a solitary black ball between them, gutting!

Hibs Go Bragh
30-04-2025, 01:17 PM
Aww man, Higgins and that blue! I’d turned it off at 12-8 only to see it went to a deciding frame. Then to miss the match ball and let Williams fall over the line by a solitary black ball between them, gutting!

That’s going to hurt but what a game from two absolute legends! I was happy either way with who went through so was just able to enjoy it.

I don’t think Williams beats Trump or Brecel though.

30-04-2025, 02:57 PM

Gutted for him.

What a session from Brecel, some incredible shots, you won't get better entertainment than that.

30-04-2025, 03:55 PM

Watched every session of this match , Absolutely gutted for Higgins ! He potted the harder Brown !!

Currently watching an absolute masterclass from Brecel right now , If he beats Trump he wins the whole shebang for me , Complete rolls royce of a player

30-04-2025, 07:26 PM
Great start to the evening by Trump! It’s even better watching it at the crucible than on tv ☺️

02-05-2025, 06:35 AM
Great start to the evening by Trump! It’s even better watching it at the crucible than on tv ☺️

Good stuff , It's on my bucket list to go to the Crucible and has been for years but i found the prices for a seat really pricey ! Obviously it's all sold out now but gonna try book early for next year when they go on sale , Not fussed where i am seated in the Arena to be fair as the Crucible experience is the main thing

Hope you are enjoying/enjoyed your experience :aok:

02-05-2025, 10:41 AM
Good stuff , It's on my bucket list to go to the Crucible and has been for years but i found the prices for a seat really pricey ! Obviously it's all sold out now but gonna try book early for next year when they go on sale , Not fussed where i am seated in the Arena to be fair as the Crucible experience is the main thing

Hope you are enjoying/enjoyed your experience :aok:

It’s a brilliant experience. If you sign up to the pre sale link you have a slightly better chance of getting tickets, it isn’t cheap towards the end of the championship but the first week can be reasonable if you don’t mind sitting towards the back.

The fan zone area outside in Tudor square and the winter gardens is a great experience, a good tip is keep your eyes open as you will definitely see some famous faces! Also go sit in the bar of the Mercure hotel which is joined on to the winter gardens as that’s where a lot of the players and commentators stay.

02-05-2025, 05:06 PM
That 15th frame was as good as you will see.:top marks

02-05-2025, 06:41 PM
Looks like I've missed some good snooker the last few days, just caught up with the scores and watched the first frame just there with Ronnie, going to watch the football now but will keep my eye out on the score.

Hibs Go Bragh
02-05-2025, 07:34 PM
Take nothing away from the young lad but I can’t believe just how bad Ronnie has been!

Hibs4185
02-05-2025, 08:01 PM
Just turned it on. Ronnie is a disgrace, desperate to get home and not trying to win this frame

Hibs4185
02-05-2025, 08:04 PM
Ronnie is a disgrace.

03-05-2025, 06:44 AM
I admire Ronnie as a player and like him in interviews but can’t help but feel he’s a bit of a throbber when at the table.