View Full Version : Shankland in the high castle!

Albert Kidd 86’
28-04-2024, 12:37 PM
I remember shankland at dundee utd, you could tell then he was a born goal scorer, it was obvious, even to me.Mind he scored a hat-rick, left sided header, right sided header then I think one off that big forehead!

were we ever linked to him at any point? I am pretty sure he joined hearts when we were signing the likes of bojang etcetc.

Man in the high castle stuff, but imagine a world where we signed him- Would have cost around £500,000 plus a biggish wage, but that one move would have made our lives more bare-able over the last few years.

you cannot win em all, but he was right on our doorstep for years then languishing in holland and we appeared to not notice.

whoever got him signed up to that lot deserves a free night in the hotel from hell.

28-04-2024, 12:40 PM
Was he not on 6k a week at United? Don’t think we were paying anything like that at that time.

Lendo
28-04-2024, 12:44 PM
Was he not on 6k a week at United? Don’t think we were paying anything like that at that time.

According to a scouting friends of mine his basic was about £6k but also had a £6k goal bonus. They were chucking silly money at him but if he was scoring goals and winning them games it was probably a price worth paying.

PHeffernan
28-04-2024, 12:50 PM
I remember shankland at dundee utd, you could tell then he was a born goal scorer, it was obvious, even to me.Mind he scored a hat-rick, left sided header, right sided header then I think one off that big forehead!

were we ever linked to him at any point? I am pretty sure he joined hearts when we were signing the likes of bojang etcetc.

Man in the high castle stuff, but imagine a world where we signed him- Would have cost around £500,000 plus a biggish wage, but that one move would have made our lives more bare-able over the last few years.

you cannot win em all, but he was right on our doorstep for years then languishing in holland and we appeared to not notice.

whoever got him signed up to that lot deserves a free night in the hotel from hell.

A good job they didn't send you to to find him :wink:.

28-04-2024, 12:52 PM
There was a huge thread on here when he was at Ayr. Unfortunately we missed the boat.

Albert Kidd 86’
28-04-2024, 12:54 PM
A good job they didn't send you to to find him :wink:.
DOH! Belgium. Apologies.!

28-04-2024, 12:55 PM
DOH! Belgum. Apologies.!

I couldn’t find Belgum on a map. Hope you’re no a pilot.

hibstag
28-04-2024, 12:59 PM
Always felt United overpaid him as they needed the goals to get up, moved on quickly to Beerschot in Belgium? To free up money for their rebuild once promoted. the wages he expected were aways going to be high only really what old firm or Benefactor supported club could afford... Can't argue with the goal return but Christ what a limited footballer he is, anonymous in bigger games.

28-04-2024, 01:02 PM
There was a huge thread on here when he was at Ayr. Unfortunately we missed the boat.

Was he not on form and looking to leave Ayr at much the same time as Nisbet was doing well for Dunfermline and we plumped for Nisbet?

Not sure we could really have gone for both of them at that time.

Since Ayr, it hasn’t been constant success for Shankland. His time in Belgium wasn’t a success and Dundee United paid a pretty penny for a modest return. Fair play to Hearts for ponying up and reaping the rewards but I think Hibs can be forgiven for missing out on the sort of signing that always looks much better with the benefit of hindsight.

Albert Kidd 86’
28-04-2024, 01:17 PM
I couldn’t find Belgum on a map. Hope you’re no a pilot.
fixed it, think i will call it a day now!:brickwall

PHeffernan
28-04-2024, 02:39 PM
Always felt United overpaid him as they needed the goals to get up, moved on quickly to Beerschot in Belgium? To free up money for their rebuild once promoted. the wages he expected were aways going to be high only really what old firm or Benefactor supported club could afford... Can't argue with the goal return but Christ what a limited footballer he is, anonymous in bigger games.

I disagree. IMO Shankland has everything except pace. He links up play well, he's strong, great feet but that lack of pace is an issue that restricts the level he can play at. He is a perfect fit for putting duffers to the sword every week in the SPFL for Rangers. Could see them signing him for £2 million in the summer.
That will leave Hearts with the problem that we failed to solve last summer.

28-04-2024, 02:51 PM
He was a born goal scorer who failed at about 4 clubs before Ayr.

He played against us 5 times I think the season we finished 3rd. He was truly murder in them all. Doidge and Nisbet looked miles better.

He's improved since, and he's a quality player at this level.

Greensunshine
28-04-2024, 06:01 PM
Everyone and their dug knew about Shankland when he was at Ayr. I remember them saying “aye but can he step up a league”. Would have been worth a gamble if you ask me.

My biggest worry wasn’t that we wouldn’t get him but I certainly worried that he’d end up across the city!

WTF?? The proverbial sleeping giant was caught napping once again!

hibby rae
28-04-2024, 06:19 PM
According to a scouting friends of mine his basic was about £6k but also had a £6k goal bonus. They were chucking silly money at him but if he was scoring goals and winning them games it was probably a price worth paying.

Dundee United's wages to ratio turnover was 132% in the final year he was with them.

I don't know if we were linked with him, but at the time we didn't need him. Nisbet, Boyle, and Doidge were all flying 20/21.

I assume we looked at him when he was at Ayr and made the decision to get go for Nisbet instead. Which was the right call at the time imo.

28-04-2024, 06:32 PM
Let’s play nice please. :greengrin

28-04-2024, 06:38 PM
IMO we have a better player than him in Vente. When the penny drops about where to play him, and we work out how to get the ball to him, he'll be our next big transfer fee inward.

28-04-2024, 06:38 PM
Let’s play nice please. :greengrin

My apologies M59 and admin team..

Shankland would’ve been our best striker for over a decade had we managed to sign him.

Whether we ever had a realistic chance of landing him is another matter.

28-04-2024, 06:40 PM
IMO we have a better player than him in Vente. When the penny drops about where to play him, and we work out how to get the ball to him, he'll be our next big transfer fee inward.

I thought you really didn’t like Vente, NH?

I’ve either got the wrong person or you’re being seriously sarcastic 😁

**edit** apologies, Northernhibee and NORTHERNHIBBY obviously two different posters 😁

28-04-2024, 06:48 PM
Thought you had found a lookalike in the programme Man in the High Castle on Amazon.
https://images.app.goo.gl/jPmUAsnJjLVpevk87

Sioux
28-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Albert Kidd 86 has just trolled all of you :faf::faf:

:brokenyam:

Donegal Hibby
28-04-2024, 08:35 PM

Think we have a very good striker in Vente .

https://youtu.be/MToDR18Nr90?si=u9higpegiyuKnh0i

28-04-2024, 08:46 PM
Shankland has been phenomenal for Hearts this year, and his all round game is way better than I ever game him credit for. I’ll be very glad to see the back of him.

Tbf, it looked like Nisbet could go onto have a similar season for us this year had he stayed, he was in immense form after his injury last season.

Going forward, I really hope we keep hold of Vente, I think he will go onto be prolific for us.

28-04-2024, 09:14 PM
Shanklands pish. End of debate.

28-04-2024, 09:46 PM
Shankland has been phenomenal for Hearts this year, and his all round game is way better than I ever game him credit for. I’ll be very glad to see the back of him.

Tbf, it looked like Nisbet could go onto have a similar season for us this year had he stayed, he was in immense form after his injury last season.

Going forward, I really hope we keep hold of Vente, I think he will go onto be prolific for us.

Agree with all that. Nisbet looked like a different player post-injury. Much better all-round striker. Shankland has added a lot more to his game than just goals the past two seasons. Obviously put a lot of work in. I’ve always liked Vente since we signed him and can’t understand a lot of the negative comments on here about him over the past couple of months. No surprise there obviously. I think he’ll be a big player for us next season.

patlowe
28-04-2024, 09:48 PM
Nisbet was a big part of us finishing third and after returning from injury on fire netted us a profit, so it was the right call to get him. They are both strikers that score all different types of goal but lack of real pace (and possibly attitude at particular points in their career) has probably held them both back. Shankland obviously in a better place at this point in time - hopefully Nisbet is able to get over his injury problems.

29-04-2024, 05:18 AM
Doidge and Nisbet were both better than Shankland at a particular point in time

Remember the cup shoot out versus United v Doidge and a focused Nisbet looking for a move looked the real deal and was ahead of Shankland in the Scotland set up

Shankland went abroad worked on his all round game and signed for the highest bidder

This season Shankland has lost his penalties to make up his strike rate but he has been a talismanic figure for Hearts this season scoring goals out of nothing

Disappointed against the Huns in the cup semi looked as though he was towing a caravan

Hearts are nothing without him

Loved this goal from him ( always rated him )

https://youtu.be/V9yrQcVvYXg?si=S-5peRR5wl5YoKcc

29-04-2024, 08:40 AM
He’s had a phenomenal season, and played a huge part in helping Hearts stretch clear in third.

For someone at the hight of his prowess though, there has been a strange lack of any real interest for others to try and sign him from Hearts. Even Steve Clarke as Scotland manager has opted to use him sparingly.

Why is that? His age? A bit on the heavy side? Slow? Limitation to all round contribution?

Obviously those are the thoughts of a Hibs fan who would love to have a 25 goal striker in our side, but I can’t help but think if we did, there would be an inevitable clamour to see him taken off our hands.

percy veer
29-04-2024, 09:56 AM

6k goal bonus...nonsense

29-04-2024, 11:04 AM
If Shankland does it in euros then he will prove he is a top striker

Donegal Hibby
29-04-2024, 11:49 AM
If Shankland does it in euros then he will prove he is a top striker

I don't think Shankland will do it in the Euros . Scotland are up against some very good teams and for me Shankland is just too slow .

The cup semi final against Sevco should tell you all you need to know about what happens when he comes up against a good team , he's abit like what Paul le Guen I think said about Kris Boyd one time in " if he doesn't score your playing with 10 men " .

Only way Shankland should be going out is as a backup striker , God help yas if your relying on Shankland in the Euros. Good club man though not at that level imo .

Striker area seems to be abit of a problem for Scotland though I'd probably go with Dykes or Adams before Shankland.

Wish Scotland all the best in the Euro's btw 👍

29-04-2024, 12:01 PM
Hard to argue he's done well overall in his career in Scotland, some will say couldn't do it in Belgium.

Would be surprised if teams are not interested in him tbh.

29-04-2024, 12:02 PM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrence_Shankland

900 league goals for them so far.

29-04-2024, 12:20 PM
I don't think Shankland will do it in the Euros . Scotland are up against some very good teams and for me Shankland is just too slow .

The cup semi final against Sevco should tell you all you need to know about what happens when he comes up against a good team , he's abit like what Paul le Guen I think said about Kris Boyd one time in " if he doesn't score your playing with 10 men " .

Only way Shankland should be going out is as a backup striker , God help yas if your relying on Shankland in the Euros. Good club man though not at that level imo .

Striker area seems to be abit of a problem for Scotland though I'd probably go with Dykes or Adams before Shankland.

Wish Scotland all the best in the Euro's btw 👍

Are you suggesting that Shankland contributes nothing other than goals? You’re well wide of the mark if that’s how you see him. He’s added an awful lot more to his game over the past few seasons.

Donegal Hibby
29-04-2024, 12:28 PM
Are you suggesting that Shankland contributes nothing other than goals? You’re well wide of the mark if that’s how you see him. He’s added an awful lot more to his game over the past few seasons.

I didn't think he contributed anything in the semi final at all tbh . I think Scotland's group is extremely hard and certainly the first game I'd expect you to be up against it , seeing less of the ball and being under alot of pressure at times . For me Shankland isn't mobile enough which is why I'd go with Dyckes or Adams before him . As I said he's a good club man at SPL level though the Euro's is a completely different level .

29-04-2024, 12:37 PM
I didn't think he contributed anything in the semi final at all tbh . I think Scotland's group is extremely hard and certainly the first game I'd expect you to be up against it , seeing less of the ball and being under alot of pressure at times . For me Shankland isn't mobile enough which is why I'd go with Dyckes or Adams before him . As I said he's a good club man at SPL level though the Euro's is a completely different level .
I was picking up on your PLG comment about Boyd - if that’s what he said. Shankland is a talisman for his current club. That is indisputable. I don’t think he’s international class personally, but he’s one of the few we have. And repeating your observation from the semi against the hun doesn’t hold much weight. It’s one game. Everybody can have an off day.

29-04-2024, 12:45 PM

I don't think Dykes was any better at this level than Shankland is. I also think Shankland would do better than Dykes is in the Championship.

I do think Che Adams is a better footballer than both of them though, but I'd play Shankland ahead of both, given that he's Scottish and the other 2 aren't.

29-04-2024, 12:48 PM
I was picking up on your PLG comment about Boyd - if that’s what he said. Shankland is a talisman for his current club. That is indisputable. I don’t think he’s international class personally, but he’s one of the few we have. And repeating your observation from the semi against the hun doesn’t hold much weight. It’s one game. Everybody can have an off day.
Yip showreel of all his goals this season at our level is very impressive very few pens mostly out of nothing and some you would expect him to score and others well executed but as I said our level looks too slow for the Euros tbh

https://youtu.be/3h-lnF5gyQ4?si=EG2wHogmLroln8LM

Donegal Hibby
29-04-2024, 01:41 PM

For me he done absolutely nothing in the semi final so it was like having 10 men as to it being a one off , Rocky has kept him quiet in a few of our games and he'll be up against a hell of alot better defenders than Rocky in the Euros.

He's a very good striker at club level though he's not international class imo , I said away back when Nisbet was at us that I thought he was a better all round striker than Shankland and that's something I still think , I also think that Dyckes , Adams and Stewart if he was fit would all offer more than Shankland going to the euros .

As to the Boyd comment I made the last time I seen Shankland he's being to look abit like Boyd in he looked to be abit heavy imo . No harm taking him to the Euros as a backup striker though I certainly wouldn't want to be relying on him in it .

Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2024, 01:46 PM

He didn’t do much in the semi final. The idea that’s what happens when he comes up against better teams though falls down when you see he’s scored 3 and assisted 1 in 4 European games this season against very decent Rosenborg and PAOK sides and he’s and scored 9 in 15 against the Old Firm overall for Hearts. He’s also scored 6 goals in 9 games against us.

When he comes up against decent sides, he delivers for Hearts. When he comes up against crap sides, he also delivers, unfortunately for us.

Saint Hibee
29-04-2024, 01:48 PM
I don't think Dykes was any better at this level than Shankland is. I also think Shankland would do better than Dykes is in the Championship.

I do think Che Adams is a better footballer than both of them though, but I'd play Shankland ahead of both, given that he's Scottish and the other 2 aren't.

But neither Adams nor Dykes have a "1690" tattoo, hence they win.

29-04-2024, 01:50 PM
For me he done absolutely nothing in the semi final so it was like having 10 men as to it being a one off , Rocky has kept him quiet in a few of our games and he'll be up against a hell of alot better defenders than Rocky in the Euros.

He's a very good striker at club level though he's not international class imo , I said away back when Nisbet was at us that I thought he was a better all round striker than Shankland and that's something I still think , I also think that Dyckes , Adams and Stewart if he was fit would all offer more than Shankland going to the euros .

As to the Boyd comment I made the last time I seen Shankland he's being to look abit like Boyd in he looked to be abit heavy imo . No harm taking him to the Euros as a backup striker though I certainly wouldn't want to be relying on him in it .

Why you'd bring Rocky into it I have no idea! Shankland has scored in his last 2 derbies, and Rocky was absolutely rattled by him, and entirely at fault, for one of those goals :faf:

Other than that, he's managed 6 goals in 9 games against us since the start of last season.

We've kept 1 clean sheet against them since start of last season, and Rocky didnae even play that game :greengrin

29-04-2024, 01:57 PM
Got to agree with Easty as a massive Scotland fan and watching the contribution Adams and Dykes have made lately I would probably start with Shankland anaw still hoping someone emerges from the woodwork with a Scottish granny

With regards Rocky he f#cked up Shankland got too close to him a weak pathetic header should have been more assertive but Shankland still had it all to do poor challenge by Fish and an excellent finish past Marshall

Fair play

Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2024, 01:59 PM

If you offered up Livingston Dykes (or any club version of Dykes for that matter) or Hearts Shankland then Shankland wins that every single time.

Donegal Hibby
29-04-2024, 02:22 PM
Why you'd bring Rocky into it I have no idea! Shankland has scored in his last 2 derbies, and Rocky was absolutely rattled by him, and entirely at fault, for one of those goals :faf:

Other than that, he's managed 6 goals in 9 games against us since the start of last season.

We've kept 1 clean sheet against them since start of last season, and Rocky didnae even play that game :greengrin

Rocky kept him quiet for around 88 minutes until he scored which involved Shankland throwing his arm out at Rocky , something Shankland's very prone to doing btw , it was a good finish though but with a foreign referee and him throwing his arm out like that he might not get away with it in the Euros .

The other one he's scored was a penalty which was another horrendous decision against us and if you want to bum him up for that , fair enough. Though I doubt you'll see Scotland get as soft a penalty as that in the Euros unless Shankland brushes up on his acting techniques.
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/36620/13098248/hearts-appeal-over-lawrence-shankland-booking-dive-dismissed-at-sfa-hearing

Anyhow I'm not Scottish though will be supporting Scotland in the Euros along with Spain hoping you do well and progress . If the Scottish fans are happy with Shankland leading the line that's fine . I see him as a good striker at SPL level though far too slow and immobile for the level of the Euro's.

Time will tell I suppose.

29-04-2024, 02:50 PM
Adams looks far and away the best of the Scotland strikers to me.

Shankland would probably be the best choice in a home game against a weaker team. Why we didn’t start him against NI, when that was the sort of game he’d be most effective in, I don’t know.

I really don’t rate Dykes, admittedly he can occasionally be effective but when he plays we tend to go too direct and the whole team looks poorer.

They’re actually a very poor bunch for that level. If we had a decent striker then it would make a huge difference. We seem to be awash with excellent left backs and central midfielders but very weak in some other areas.

Shankland has done well for this level - a poor Scottish Premiership. Unless he goes to the huns (where as a protected species and a penalty taker I could only see him thriving) I’d be amazed if he was a success wherever he goes next. Tbh I wouldn’t be surprised if he acknowledged he has it good where he is and chose to stay.

29-04-2024, 10:08 PM
Not sure about a high castle, need high ceilings for a spam like his though

29-04-2024, 10:36 PM

Shankland would probably be the best choice in a home game against a weaker team. Why we didn’t start him against NI, when that was the sort of game he’d be most effective in, I don’t know.

I really don’t rate Dykes, admittedly he can occasionally be effective but when he plays we tend to go too direct and the whole team looks poorer.

They’re actually a very poor bunch for that level. If we had a decent striker then it would make a huge difference. We seem to be awash with excellent left backs and central midfielders but very weak in some other areas.

Shankland has done well for this level - a poor Scottish Premiership. Unless he goes to the huns (where as a protected species and a penalty taker I could only see him thriving) I’d be amazed if he was a success wherever he goes next. Tbh I wouldn’t be surprised if he acknowledged he has it good where he is and chose to stay.

Agree with all that. Adams should start based on experience and form. I still have hoped we will try and bring in Harvey Barnes from Newcastle as he is very good player and can play striker and left wing.

29-04-2024, 11:14 PM

If I was him I’d probably go to Rangers for the money and the chance to play for the team he supports. It will be his last chance of a big money making move and you couldn’t blame him. I also think he’s a good striker for Hearts and would score a load for Rangers. His ever increasing girth and lack of pace will hold him back anywhere else though. I’m not sure he’ll be great at the Euros either but we’ve got limited options there.

30-04-2024, 06:00 AM
Rocky kept him quiet for around 88 minutes until he scored which involved Shankland throwing his arm out at Rocky , something Shankland's very prone to doing btw , it was a good finish though but with a foreign referee and him throwing his arm out like that he might not get away with it in the Euros .

The other one he's scored was a penalty which was another horrendous decision against us and if you want to bum him up for that , fair enough. Though I doubt you'll see Scotland get as soft a penalty as that in the Euros unless Shankland brushes up on his acting techniques.
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/36620/13098248/hearts-appeal-over-lawrence-shankland-booking-dive-dismissed-at-sfa-hearing

Anyhow I'm not Scottish though will be supporting Scotland in the Euros along with Spain hoping you do well and progress . If the Scottish fans are happy with Shankland leading the line that's fine . I see him as a good striker at SPL level though far too slow and immobile for the level of the Euro's.

Time will tell I suppose.

Fair assessment

30-04-2024, 06:01 AM

Agree totally about Adams

30-04-2024, 06:42 AM
Che Adams probably the best option but my only reservation is he has not scored for Scotland in almost two years scoring 5:29 needs to pack his shooting boots

Harvey Barnes would be a decent addition if he can be persuaded

Someone posted on another thread that Scott McTominey looks like missing out due to injury