View Full Version : St Johnstone v Hibernian

27-04-2024, 12:51 PM
Youan not even on the bench;

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GMLCuzDWsAA-9yj?format=jpg&name=900x900

27-04-2024, 12:52 PM
Too many players who won't be here next season involved. Pointless. Suppose that's what was always going to happen when the manager knows he's out on his arse unless he gets results in these meaningless games. Could've had a few youngsters involved even from the bench rather than the likes of Triantis and Tavares.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

27-04-2024, 12:54 PM
So uninspiring.

Couldn't even put a young player on the bench?

archie
27-04-2024, 12:55 PM
Too many players who won't be here next season involved. Pointless. Suppose that's what was always going to happen when the manager knows he's out on his arse unless he gets results in these meaningless games. Could've had a few youngsters involved even from the bench rather than the likes of Triantis and Tavares.

Surely we need to put the league safety to bed and also respect the other teams?

27-04-2024, 12:56 PM

So uninspiring.

Couldn't even put a young player on the bench?

Agree about the youngsters, give them some game time. Would've started Stevenson as well.

Wonder if the chat about Youan being away this summer is true then and that's the last we've seen of him.

27-04-2024, 12:57 PM
Surely we need to put the league safety to bed and also respect the other teams?

League safety I guess is one argument. A draw today pretty much does it. Or Ross County losing.

Absolutely no interest in the other teams. It isn't disrespectful at all to play your young players in end of season dead rubbers.

27-04-2024, 12:59 PM
Another dead rubber bottom 6 game we won’t see any youngsters given an opportunity. Yay.

27-04-2024, 01:00 PM
League safety I guess is one argument. A draw today pretty much does it. Or Ross County losing.

Absolutely no interest in the other teams. It isn't disrespectful at all to play your young players in end of season dead rubbers.
We need one more win to ensure no play-off so this isn’t a dead rubber.

Corstorphine Hibby
27-04-2024, 01:01 PM
Agree about the youngsters, give them some game time. Would've started Stevenson as well.

Wonder if the chat about Youan being away this summer is true then and that's the last we've seen of him.

Who would you drop to play Stevenson, Obita?

27-04-2024, 01:01 PM
We could lose all 5 games and we won't finish 11th. The other teams below us won't string enough wins together for that to happen.

27-04-2024, 01:02 PM
And we do get more money finishing as high as we can.

27-04-2024, 01:03 PM
Who would you drop to play Stevenson, Obita?

Aye, would have dropped Obita for Lewie. Think Obita has been one of the only positives this season, still think Stevenson is better defensively and needs what, three appearances to make 600? I get coming off the bench counts towards that.

supermcginn
27-04-2024, 01:06 PM
Aye, would have dropped Obita for Lewie. Think Obita has been one of the only positives this season, still think Stevenson is better defensively and needs what, three appearances to make 600? I get coming off the bench counts towards that.

Obita is streets ahead of Stevenson in every aspect and rightfully starts every game. He'll also be here next year, Stevenson won't.

27-04-2024, 01:08 PM
Boring lineup. Id be a lot more motivated to use my season ticket for the last two games if i had some new players to look at. Surely Montgomery wants to experiment as well? Perfect opportunity.

27-04-2024, 01:08 PM
We need one more win to ensure no play-off so this isn’t a dead rubber.

You are giving too much credit to Ross County and St Johnstone. The idea that both of them are making up those deficits is bonkers.

But yeah, sure. Win today, we have 4 dead rubbers to play youngsters and we should do it.

27-04-2024, 01:10 PM
We’ve nout to play for yet St J still fighting to stay out of the play off place.

I’m struggling to see how our squad gets up for this one

I do wonder where it’ll leave monty if we lose today. Picking apart the boards statement it seemed as if they were looking for the strongest finish possible

27-04-2024, 01:11 PM
Agree

27-04-2024, 01:14 PM
Was hoping to see Tavares get a start. How disappointing.

Daydreamer
27-04-2024, 01:15 PM
Nice to see Montgomery looking to the future playing a guy who is 38 at the end of the year !!!!

Greenio
27-04-2024, 01:15 PM
'Shut your mouth, im injured'

Youn to some boy slaggin him on the lineup post on Instagram!

1875Sean
27-04-2024, 01:16 PM
Says on the Hibs site Elie Youan who misses out after picking up a knock in training.

27-04-2024, 01:17 PM

Our "supporters" often get the performance and results they absolutely deserve with the amount of toxicity around.

27-04-2024, 01:17 PM

****ing hate some of our fans. ‘Hopefully looking for a move’ glad Youan responded and told the fud to shut it.

27-04-2024, 01:18 PM
Our "supporters" often get the performance and results they absolutely deserve with the amount of toxicity around.

True however a player should be professional enough not to respond at all never mind responding like that

A complete shambles from the “supporter” and from Youan

In fact, no player injured or not should be sitting on their phone this close to kick off.

27-04-2024, 01:19 PM
Nice to see Montgomery looking to the future playing a guy who is 38 at the end of the year !!!!You mean ALF?

Good player, don't care what his age is

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Greenio
27-04-2024, 01:20 PM
****ing hate some of our fans. ‘Hopefully looking for a move’ glad Youan responded and told the fud to shut it.

I hope the players get support and advice to deal with social media - can't even imagine how ****ing annoying it would be having to put up with folk digging into you all the time.

Still, dont feed the trolls eh!

True however a player should be professional enough not to respond at all never mind responding like that

Totally disagree. Why should he just sit and watch people questioning his ability and commitment?
These keyboard warriors need put in their place.

If liked to have seen something a bit different tried, even if it was to play Wollacott to give him a proper opportunity but considering the statement Hibs put out, you can’t really blame Montgomery for just going with the strongest team and not experimenting.

In terms of the team selection it really was a no win for Montgomery today, if he’d put in youngsters and we’d lost, he would have been slated (even if people say otherwise now, lots of people would have).

From his perspective he just needs to win games, next season and young players will take care of itself in time.

Dublin07
27-04-2024, 01:21 PM
Boring lineup. Id be a lot more motivated to use my season ticket for the last two games if i had some new players to look at. Surely Montgomery wants to experiment as well? Perfect opportunity.

Who? As far as I can see every player that is fit and not out on loan is in the squad today. Under 18s had a game yesterday.

27-04-2024, 01:22 PM
Totally disagree. Why should he just sit and watch people questioning his ability and commitment?

Spot on. Just sit back and take all their **** just cause you happen to be a footballer?

Different if Youan had started swearing etc. He just told the guy to shut it and cleared the situation up.

27-04-2024, 01:22 PM

Why? Because he’s a professional football player who should be able to ignore a fan giving their opinion on him.

Not to mention we’re within an hour until a game kicks off. There seems to be very little professionalism about us just now

Greenio
27-04-2024, 01:23 PM
Spot on. Just sit back and take all their **** just cause you happen to be a footballer?

Different if Youan had started swearing etc. He just told the guy to shut it and cleared the situation up.

Hes just giving the bloke what he wants though - attention. Sometimes things are not worthy of your attention

edit - it's actually a woman.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 01:23 PM
I've got no problems with the team . Hopefully the fullbacks don't forget about the defensive side of the game this time .

27-04-2024, 01:27 PM
Hes just giving the bloke what he wants though - attention. Sometimes things are not worthy of your attention

He's been getting it tight from some fans for ages now. Think folk forget these guys are human like us. Everyone expects them to be some iron willed outstanding citizen. There's only so much some folk can take.

Just cause he happens to be good at football doesn't mean he, or any player, should have to put up with the social media **** they do.

27-04-2024, 01:31 PM
Why? Because he’s a professional football player who should be able to ignore a fan giving their opinion on him.

Not to mention we’re within an hour until a game kicks off. There seems to be very little professionalism about us just now

Jeez. Don’t see the issue at all. Ellie has my backing here and handled it well. The dregs of our support seem to infest social media. Anything that can result in some steam coming out of their empty heids is good in my book.

27-04-2024, 01:31 PM
I also really like ALF but I would’ve tried to get Vente back in for these last 5 games as much as possible

27-04-2024, 01:33 PM
Jeez. Don’t see the issue at all. Ellie has my backing here and handled it well. The dregs of our support seem to infest social media. Anything that can result in some steam coming out of their empty heids is good in my book.

I just don’t think players should be responding to fans who’re commenting on the clubs official Instagram post. It doesn’t look professional for me.

Especially when they’re doing it so close to kick off as well.

But we’ll all have our own opinions on it. That’s not me saying any player should be getting abuse from any supporter.

The best way for it to have been dealt with was the admin blocking the account it came from.

I also reckon if that had been a hearts player responding to a hearts fan on hearts’ Instagram page we’d all be having a good laugh at how ridiculous it looks.

27-04-2024, 01:38 PM
Not in the house to watch the game but will keep my eye on the score.

I'm in the meh not bothered about this game group.

Still want a victory though.

Mon the Hibs.

27-04-2024, 01:41 PM
I’m glad Ellie responded to it. If you’re talking ***** about someone then they should have right of reply.

27-04-2024, 01:43 PM

Good on him. We have a section of support who think they can personally attack players and they should put up with it just because they kick a ball for a living. All for seeing the players hit back at the social media hardmen.

Victor
27-04-2024, 01:43 PM
I’m glad Ellie responded to it. If you’re talking ***** about someone then they should have right of reply.

How can we be sure it was Youan that responded? That’s the thing about social media it’s all anonymous. By the way I am only responding to you because the other post was too big! Sorry!!!

27-04-2024, 01:44 PM

I'd have told the banger to ram it as well. Happy he told him to shut up.

27-04-2024, 01:45 PM

Would be good to see some youngsters get on bench but the board have piled the pressure on Monty telling him results have to improve to keep his job.

He has to play his strongest available 11 and I think that is what he has done

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 01:46 PM

:agree: . I think it's quite sad really that supporters would EVEN want to have a go at a player that plays for their team on social media or at the game . It's not supporting , is it ?. Poor form.

27-04-2024, 01:46 PM
It will be a full strength team until relegation is impossible.

27-04-2024, 01:47 PM
Would be good to see some youngsters get on bench but the board have piled the pressure on Monty telling him results have to improve to keep his job.

He has to play his strongest available 11 and I think that is what he has done

Monty piled the pressure on himself

27-04-2024, 01:47 PM

Watch the free speech brigade lose their ****ing minds over this one.

27-04-2024, 01:52 PM
Amos out with a muscle injury ???

Greenio
27-04-2024, 01:54 PM
He's been getting it tight from some fans for ages now. Think folk forget these guys are human like us. Everyone expects them to be some iron willed outstanding citizen. There's only so much some folk can take.

Just cause he happens to be good at football doesn't mean he, or any player, should have to put up with the social media **** they do.

I dont think for a minute he should have to put up with it, I just dont think the answer is to feed the trolls

Greenio
27-04-2024, 01:56 PM
How can we be sure it was Youan that responded? That’s the thing about social media it’s all anonymous. By the way I am only responding to you because the other post was too big! Sorry!!!

Thats what the blue tick is for.

Victor
27-04-2024, 02:00 PM
Thats what the blue tick is for.

But someone else might have his phone.

27-04-2024, 02:03 PM
Well done Eli.

“Hopefully looking for a move the guy frustrates me”

“If he would stop all the show pony stuff n shoot more n track back more n help defend we’d be fine”

Quite right telling them to shut up

Chorley Hibee
27-04-2024, 02:03 PM
I struggle to come to terms with the fact that, out of all the failures in a Hibs jersey these past years, Elie Youan is often on the end of the most vitriol.

Frustrating, absolutely, but a million miles ahead of most of them, and his stats continually back that up.

He's one of the few we should be building a team, squad around, yet it seems likely he's probably wanting away.

Madness.

27-04-2024, 02:05 PM
Wow, i was not expecting a huge travelling support, but that is dire.

Well done those who have made the effort.:top marks

27-04-2024, 02:05 PM
Hibs TV not working for me.

Might be a good thing mind.

27-04-2024, 02:06 PM

In fact, no player injured or not should be sitting on their phone this close to kick off.

Wtf? He isn't working today, he can sit in his phone, his pc or whatever the hell he likes. Ridiculous thing to say.

He's quite right to tell the idiot fan to shut up.

27-04-2024, 02:07 PM
But someone else might have his phone.

Maybe he gave it to Nohan Kenneh.

FWIW I don’t see much wrong with what he said.

27-04-2024, 02:08 PM
I hate these long throws, can think of one we’ve scored from and think it was Porteous about 18 months ago

0-1 :thumbsup:

marcondes free kick

Christ what a goal emi

That was quite special.

Lovely.

27-04-2024, 02:09 PM
What a goal!

Jesus Christ Emiliano

That is outrageous

badabing67
Yes Hibs

Noice.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 02:10 PM
Yass 1-0 Hibs , what a free kick :thumbsup:

27-04-2024, 02:10 PM
Tremendous strike. 👏

27-04-2024, 02:11 PM
What a goal. :top marks

Only 80 minutes to hang on. :wink:

good save with his foot DM, bad miss for saints

Should’ve been 1-1 there

badabing67
27-04-2024, 02:12 PM
Yes Marshy should of been 1-1

Emiliano almost at fault for a goal

Good save by Marshall

Should have scored from that chance there too

Great save by Mitov this time

badabing67
27-04-2024, 02:13 PM
Livi 1 up

Rocky 38th yellow card of the season

We scored a second but disallowed

Mitov kicks it off Rocky’s back and then it’s stopped in the net

Nonsense foul but always given

That’s a ridiculous yellow card

badabing67
27-04-2024, 02:14 PM
Why did Rocky get booked there

Rocky 38th yellow card of the seasonI'm not convinced about that to be honest

Looks like more a.f up by the keeper

AT8
Booked for that?

I'd have told the banger to ram it as well. Happy he told him to shut up.

I’d have liked him to screenshot it ,hand it into the club & let them contact the person responsible

Rocky robbed of his first goal

27-04-2024, 02:16 PM
Clown of a referee 😡

I’d have liked him to screenshot it ,hand it into the club & let them contact the person responsible

Why though? What would/could the club do about commenting on a post of their opinion?

I'm not convinced about that to be honest

Looks like more a.f up by the keeper

ok, 37th yellow card this season :)

27-04-2024, 02:17 PM
How are var not taking any time over that btw?

Fuzzywuzzy
That was ****ing embarrassing by marshall

How do our team not realise that Sidibeh is absolutely rapid?!

Almost cost us a goal again

Rocky blocked the keepers kick out, was a foul but is it a booking?

27-04-2024, 02:18 PM
Rocky blocked the keepers kick out, was a foul but is it a booking?Blocked how tho he didn't"challenge him"

27-04-2024, 02:18 PM
We're above Dundee again 🙄

badabing67
27-04-2024, 02:21 PM
I thought Amos was meant to be in the squad today

27-04-2024, 02:22 PM
Fish down, looks like he’s struggling

Blocked how tho he didn't"challenge him"

He ran in front of him, saw a replay and it was clear what he did, dont think it was a booking though.

who took that throw there and it went straight out

missed who it was

27-04-2024, 02:23 PM
****ing hate some of our fans. ‘Hopefully looking for a move’ glad Youan responded and told the fud to shut it.[emoji106]

Bellends always going to be bellends.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 02:24 PM
How Rocky got a yellow and Considine doesn't for a late tackle on Boyle is a mystery to me ! .

27-04-2024, 02:24 PM
Boyle looks a lot sharper and quicker today than recent games

Good to see

27-04-2024, 02:25 PM
Fish off for Hanlon

27-04-2024, 02:26 PM
Hanlon coming on for Fish

27-04-2024, 02:28 PM
We still look sloppy in possession and almost zero movement when weve got the ball

27-04-2024, 02:28 PM
For someone of Emilianos quality, some of his touching and passing is so so poor.

27-04-2024, 02:29 PM
For someone of Emilianos quality, some of his touching and passing is so so poor.

And has the cheek to throw his arms up in the air when players can't pick him out with a pass

27-04-2024, 02:31 PM
Rocky 38th yellow card of the season

7th

Greenio
27-04-2024, 02:32 PM
Clif - that's a lovely ball from (player)

*ball goes out/to opposition

Cliff - right idea though

Every. Single. Game

Hanlon coming on for Fish

Should have been the change last time we played them

As soon as we have the ball we’re giving it away

Our passing is woeful

27-04-2024, 02:34 PM
Can't argue that it's not been a pish season but Moriah Welsh has definitely been a bright spot. Hard working, forwarding thinking and in the main confident and comfortable under pressure.

27-04-2024, 02:36 PM
1st 30 mins so far. Cracking goal by Marcondes but far too lackadaisical on the ball, both teams are struggling to pass the ball to each other and making it a really scrappy game, we have too many players standing like statues when in possession, so the 2 CH's have no one to pass it to. All in all 2 fairly poor teams who are showing why they both ended up in the bottom 6, a real clear out is needed to make us so much better.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 02:37 PM
Looked on the line to me .

27-04-2024, 02:37 PM
Can't argue that it's not been a pish season but Moriah Welsh has definitely been a bright spot. Hard working, forwarding thinking and in the main confident and comfortable under pressure.

He's the only midfielder who's first thought is to go forward.:agree:

27-04-2024, 02:38 PM
Clif - that's a lovely ball from (player)

*ball goes out/to opposition

Cliff - right idea though

Every. Single. Game

That was Cadden, tried a long cross field pass to Obita but under hit it a bit, it was the right idea though.

HendoDelivered
27-04-2024, 02:38 PM
Maolida is gonna be missed next season man, gets you off your seat and 9/10 times skins his man. Player.

27-04-2024, 02:39 PM
I thought Amos was meant to be in the squad today
Was but someone said he pulled a muscle

27-04-2024, 02:39 PM
It’s hard to believe how poor a touch marcondes has

27-04-2024, 02:40 PM

It's the reason he wants to leave, all players should stay off social media.

badabing67
27-04-2024, 02:41 PM
Was but someone said he pulled a muscle

Bet he will never be fit

27-04-2024, 02:42 PM
Maolida, how he has ended up at a mid table Scottish club is perplexing. Let’s pray he enjoys living in Edinburgh.

27-04-2024, 02:42 PM
It's the reason he wants to leave, all players should stay off social media.

I’m no sure I’d get my knickers in a twist at any player in the current squad wanting to leave tbh

27-04-2024, 02:43 PM
Bet he will never be fit

Tbf we never properly replaced Magennis.

27-04-2024, 02:44 PM
That was a booking

The Tubs
27-04-2024, 02:44 PM
We’ve found a thirty grand a week Stevie Malian.

27-04-2024, 02:45 PM
Boyle….

Trying to be far too clever

boyle shoud score there :(

Just shoot round him. Done everything else right.

****sake boyle. Just roll it

0-2 :flag:

PH

27-04-2024, 02:46 PM
That would have been an excellent goal from Boyle.

We’ve found a thirty grand a week Stevie Malian.

If mallan has the pass rate of Marcondes he would be absolutely slaughtered. Marcondes gets off with murder.

I know it seems mental considering he scored a screamer today but f*** me

St Johnstone are really pish, I can't understand how we managed to get beat by them a couple of weeks ago.

Go on Paul!

What has happened to Boyle's finishing, normally he'd belt that into the net with full power instead of trying to chip the keeper.

Jaun Pablo

We still look sloppy in possession and almost zero movement when weve got the ball
The lack of movement is a concern When I think back to his first game away at Killie It was one or two touches with loads of options for the pass as players move t was excellent

Hanlon 2-0

It’s hard to believe how poor a touch marcondes has

Ill be quite happy if his ‘touches’ continue to result in 30 yard screamer free kicks.

Focus on the positive.

27-04-2024, 02:47 PM
Yes Paul.

Here was me slagging off those long throws too 🤣

27-04-2024, 02:47 PM
Get in there!

27-04-2024, 02:48 PM
Well done Hanlon, been missed.

27-04-2024, 02:48 PM
Delighted for Paul Hanlon. Should of been playing much more this season

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 02:49 PM
Yass 2-0 Hibs . Hanlon :not worth

1875Sean
Right footed goal from Hanlon, give him another year deal immediately

Ill be quite happy if his ‘touches’ continue to result in 30 yard screamer free kicks.

Focus on the positive.

His freekick was brilliant

But his first touch is ***** considering his talent

27-04-2024, 02:50 PM
Reading the BBC text updates - I know I shouldn't - they are hugely critical of Hibs' playing, while at the same time creaming themselves over Hearts. It's quite disgusting, actually.

27-04-2024, 02:50 PM
Hanlon's final obligatory goal for the season?

27-04-2024, 02:51 PM
I’m no sure I’d get my knickers in a twist at any player in the current squad wanting to leave tbh

Each to their own Stuart but I wouldn’t be getting my knickers in a twist about a player being on his phone when he’s not in the match day squad.

99% of people in the stand will be on their phone right up until kick-off. Youan doing the same isn't going to have any effect on the match whatsoever. Of course there is an argument he shouldn’t be reacting to social media comments, but FWIW I liked it..

Also.. go on Paul Hanlon son 👍

Looked on the line to me .

There must be something wrong with your telly. 😉

Well done Paul, a hibbie through and through :agree:

27-04-2024, 02:52 PM
Give that goal scoring centre half a new deal.

27-04-2024, 02:52 PM
Reading the BBC text updates - I know I shouldn't - they are hugely critical of Hibs' playing, while at the same time creaming themselves over Hearts. It's quite disgusting, actually.

Bizarre as we have played really well.

27-04-2024, 02:53 PM
No one will persuade me that Hanlon shouldn't have been playing whenever he was fit and able to this season instead of the Rocky/Fish combination. Likewise I won't be swayed in my opinion that he's worth another year at least.

Delighted for Paul Hanlon. Should of been playing much more this season

Since everything I’m moaning about today seems to be happening.

I find it mental Rocky hasn’t scored a single goal for us yet…

Now, Hibs.

Surprise us all by holding on to this two goal lead. :wink:

27-04-2024, 02:54 PM
Monty schooling Levein today.

27-04-2024, 02:54 PM
Mental that folk want to give Hanlon a new deal.

Doh Rae Me
27-04-2024, 02:56 PM
Mr Skitters86 will have something up his sleeve or down his shorts no doubt.

27-04-2024, 02:57 PM
Monty schooling Levein today.

I'd like us to contribute to a potential St Johnstone relegation, especially if it's Levein's boyhood team Raith doing it, but would be funnier if Aberdeen went down instead.

27-04-2024, 02:58 PM

Standard bbc

davhibby
27-04-2024, 03:02 PM
Bizarre as we have played really well.

Have we? We’ve been alright against a team that have barely been able to play a pass to a teammate. Today says more about the fact we’ve managed to lose twice to St Johnstone this season

Standard bbc

They’ve been very complimentary about us on the radio. Said we could easily by 3 or 4 up and in total control

As we discussed in Sainsbury's 😁

McHibby
27-04-2024, 03:03 PM
I struggle to come to terms with the fact that, out of all the failures in a Hibs jersey these past years, Elie Youan is often on the end of the most vitriol.

Frustrating, absolutely, but a million miles ahead of most of them, and his stats continually back that up.

He's one of the few we should be building a team, squad around, yet it seems likely he's probably wanting away.

Madness.

Yep. I 100% get the frustration - with pretty much everything about Hibs this season - but I cannot understand why people want to ensure a player sees they are being slagged off.

It's one thing to have a a wee vent on sites like this, but it's quite another to rip a player on an official/ personal twitter account, knowing fine-well they are going to see it.

What do they hope to achieve? Was Ellie meant to respond, "Thanks hen. I really appreciate you taking the time to give me constructive feedback. I'll get the show pony stuff stopped pronto. Any other pointers?"

27-04-2024, 03:03 PM

Had to take my daughter to a class after 30 mins and tune in to sports sound

Ideal that Aberdeen fans get willie miller every week whilst we get stuck regularly with known jambos... couldn't have been more underwhelmed at our 2nd goal

27-04-2024, 03:04 PM
Mental that folk want to give Hanlon a new deal.

Mental that you're probably not even at the game but shouting the odds about someone who's just scored a goal for us. He's streets ahead of Rocky.

27-04-2024, 03:07 PM

Made up nonsense

27-04-2024, 03:07 PM
Yep. I 100% get the frustration - with pretty much everything about Hibs this season - but I cannot understand why people want to ensure a player sees they are being slagged off.

It's one thing to have a a wee vent on sites like this, but it's quite another to rip a player on an official/ personal twitter account, knowing fine-well they are going to see it.

What do they hope to achieve? Was Ellie meant to respond, "Thanks hen. I really appreciate you taking the time to give me constructive feedback. I'll get the show pony stuff stopped pronto. Any other pointers?"To be fair that response would've had me in stitches [emoji1787]

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 03:08 PM
5 fouls to them and 4 for us .
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/live/cv26371xdj1t

27-04-2024, 03:09 PM
Mental that you're probably not even at the game but shouting the odds about someone who's just scored a goal for us. He's streets ahead of Rocky.

He absolutely is streets ahead of Rocky and a Hibs legend but he's not the answer moving forward.

27-04-2024, 03:10 PM

I actually think most folk that post on here don't go to games, hanlon quite rightly doesn't get much game time now as he isn't good enough, will still cheer him on though if he plays

27-04-2024, 03:11 PM
Maolida skins his man only got emiliano to come over, tackle him and put it out for a goal kick

2-0 Livingston

Can we avoid our 1000th 2-2 draw of the season? Can’t wait to find out.

badabing67
27-04-2024, 03:12 PM
Livi 2 up

27-04-2024, 03:12 PM
Anyone put a bet on for 2-2 :cb:wink:

27-04-2024, 03:13 PM
This team should be going into the next season with an entirely new CB pairing. None of the ones we have now are good enough.

HarpOnHibee
27-04-2024, 03:13 PM

He is and he just did. But being better than Bushiri and scoring a goal against relegation contenders doesn't automatically bring him up to the standard that we should be looking for. I like Paul Hanlon and his commitment to the club. But let's be honest with ourselves, he's not a top 6 level player anymore and if we're in anyway serious about getting into Europe, we're going to need better than Hanlon.

Fuzzywuzzy
27-04-2024, 03:14 PM
Still amuses me that drey wright is still spoken about by his full name and not just wright

27-04-2024, 03:14 PM
This team should be going into the next season with an entirely new CB pairing. None of the ones we have now are good enough.

Surely no one would argue with that, two starting eleven central defenders and a replacement for Marshall are musts for me.

27-04-2024, 03:15 PM
Anyone put a bet on for 2-2 :cb:wink:

Got it in my prediction. This is our iffy period. Concede a goal, squeaky bum time ….. they equalise and then anything can happen. Not today, hopefully.

27-04-2024, 03:19 PM
Should have been a great third goal.

Dan Phillips done brilliant to clear it off the line

27-04-2024, 03:20 PM
He is and he just did. But being better than Bushiri and scoring a goal against relegation contenders doesn't automatically bring him up to the standard that we should be looking for. I like Paul Hanlon and his commitment to the club. But let's be honest with ourselves, he's not a top 6 level player anymore and if we're in anyway serious about getting into Europe, we're going to need better than Hanlon.

I think you're right in what you say. But I think what can't really be underestimated is having someone like Paul as the 3rd or 4th choice CB ready to come in and help guide new guys. I think we need a new CB pairing day 1 of next season. But having Rocky 3rd and Hanlon 4th choices or back up LCB and RCB isn't the worst place to be. That's if Rocky even stays so you'd be looking to probably signed 4 new centre halves if both of them go.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 03:21 PM
We should really be outta sight in this game .

7Hero
27-04-2024, 03:22 PM
Just tuned in, sounds like playing well,according to Joelle Murray we should be "goals up"..

27-04-2024, 03:22 PM
A couple of good moves should have us at least 3 up

HarpOnHibee
27-04-2024, 03:26 PM
I think you're right in what you say. But I think what can't really be underestimated is having someone like Paul as the 3rd or 4th choice CB ready to come in and help guide new guys. I think we need a new CB pairing day 1 of next season. But having Rocky 3rd and Hanlon 4th choices or back up LCB and RCB isn't the worst place to be. That's if Rocky even stays so you'd be looking to probably signed 4 new centre halves if both of them go.

Agreed about Hanlon. Would be more than happy for him to remain at the club in at least some capacity. Rocky is too much of a liability though in my opinion. Our defence lacks stability and unless we address this between now and the start of next season, we're going to be in for another disappointing season.

Moriah Welsh is brilliant.

Everyone other than those who's job it is to run the club knows that.

A need a new goalie, ball-winning mid, creative mid and goal-scoring striker. A few leaders, strong spine, winning mentality would also be nice. Sadly, it's the same owners who no jack **** about constructing an effective team that will be playing Football Manager over the summer, so prepare to be disappointed (again).

27-04-2024, 03:28 PM
Surely get Vente on for ALF now

27-04-2024, 03:29 PM
Unbelievable defending to again stop a 3rd goal

We need good players, especially good defenders. We’ve got coaches, in particular Gray & McGregor to help guide the new guys. Hanlon should only be judged on current ability, and it’s a a sensible and natural parting of the ways in the summer IMO

We have to be sharper in the box. It would be a stinker to let them back into this game.

27-04-2024, 03:31 PM
Maolida is some boy. What a player.

Surely get Vente on for ALF now

I’d hope so. Would love to see him get amongst the goals.

Can we avoid our 1000th 2-2 draw of the season? Can’t wait to find out.
Yes we can

Tarrahib
27-04-2024, 03:33 PM
Yes we can
Send for Bob the Brickie.

27-04-2024, 03:34 PM
They’ve been very complimentary about us on the radio. Said we could easily by 3 or 4 up and in total control

Text coverage

GREAT SAVE!
published at 16:21
16:21
St Johnstone 0-2 Hibernian

Dimitar Mitov produces heroics for St Johnstone now. Again, Myziane Maolida and Emiliano Marcondes link up well with the latter firing off a shot, but Mitov pulls off a super diving stop.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 03:34 PM
Glad to see Vente and Campbell getting on for awhile .

27-04-2024, 03:35 PM
NMW having a cracking game so far, he's everywhere in the midfield, breaking up play and moving it forward at all times.

badabing67
27-04-2024, 03:35 PM
100 Appearances well done Josh

27-04-2024, 03:37 PM
Get Stevenson on

27-04-2024, 03:37 PM
Lewis not getting on the park?

27-04-2024, 03:39 PM
0-3 :flag: Vente

Good finish.

Get Lewis on.

We are great when no pressure on us ! Makes it even more frustrating.

badabing67
27-04-2024, 03:40 PM
Yes Dylan

27-04-2024, 03:41 PM
Lewis not getting on the park?
Poor management from Monty if he doesn’t find a way to give him three cameo appearances
Probably play him in last game of the season to say his farewells

Here he comes!

HarpOnHibee
We need good players, especially good defenders. We’ve got coaches, in particular Gray & McGregor to help guide the new guys. Hanlon should only be judged on current ability, and it’s a a sensible and natural parting of the ways in the summer IMO

Gray & McGregor haven't exactly shone in that department so far. Although i'm sure there are a multitude of factors at play that need to be addressed ahead of next season.

Cheer up Craig Levein! 🥳

7Hero
27-04-2024, 03:42 PM
Get Lewis on 100 percent let's get him up to 600...

Yes Dylan
I still have high hopes for the boy.

Really pleased for Vente.

I'm still not speaking to Hibs, but can't ask for more than that.

27-04-2024, 03:43 PM
Pray for the Mcdiarmid toilets

That's what happens when a striker plays as a striker, superb goal by Vente.

Stevenson on now

He should hit 600 appearances at one of the home games now

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 03:44 PM
Clinical finish from Vente . Play him up top and provide the service for him and he will get us goals :thumbsup:

It is frustrating but many people were predicting a saints win or draw today so the players needed to show today they could get the win and we have done it in style which is pleasing

badabing67
Cheer up Craig Levein! 🥳

Wonder if he's luv'in it today

If the score stays the same I'm pretty sure this is the biggest ever Hibs win over a Craig Levein team.

GRA
Annoying we're starting to get these comfortable wins now we're in the bottom 6. Wish we'd have done this a few weeks ago. C'est la vie.

27-04-2024, 03:45 PM
Easy win. 1 point off Europe.

badabing67
27-04-2024, 03:45 PM
I still have high hopes for the boy.

So do I, think he will come good

27-04-2024, 03:46 PM
Stevenson on now

He should hit 600 appearances at one of the home games now
Good to hear pleased for the wee man A Club Legend who gives his all

27-04-2024, 03:46 PM
Clinical finish from Vente . Play him up top and provide the service for him and he will get us goals [emoji106]Obvious isn't it? Might be something to do with metrics?

27-04-2024, 03:47 PM

Exactly. We seem to have a number of player who turn up when they can be arsed. They have seen off a handful of managers, eventually someone will twig the players have to take responsibility too. I hope we have a massive clear out in the summer but it will take a hefty wedge to persuade good players to come to us when there is zero Europe and league cup groups to look forward to. It’s a bit of a **** show right now.

27-04-2024, 03:48 PM
Vente, natural goal scorer, absolutely wasted at Hibs, he will go on to bigger things.

27-04-2024, 03:50 PM
Should've scored.

Vente, natural goal scorer, absolutely wasted at Hibs, he will go on to bigger things.

Obviously it’s a shame it’s come at a time where results no longer matter too much, but this has been a really enjoyable performance. That free kick was an absolute peach. We could’ve have had 5 or 6 today.

Sexy Hibs.

hibbydad
27-04-2024, 03:51 PM
Manager to blame for that he persisted in playing him too deep when he really is a penalty box player

HendoDelivered
Really hope Vente is around next season.

Wait THAT'S what Stevie May looks like now? Holy ****

A whole club that values infrastructure and commercial acumen ahead of sporting success, can turn it on when it least matters but fold like a cheap suit under the slightest of pressure. That is so Hibs.

27-04-2024, 03:52 PM
Wait THAT'S what Stevie May looks like now? Holy ****

He should be legally mandated to have long hair.

27-04-2024, 03:52 PM
Manager to blame for that he persisted in playing him too deep when he really is a penalty box player

dinnae understand it masel.

27-04-2024, 03:53 PM
1-3 no clean sheet :(

Poor.

Berwickhibby
How many late goals do we lose

swin82

100% 👍🏻

27-04-2024, 03:54 PM
Still Cannae defend

27-04-2024, 03:54 PM
cadden brushed aside there

Fuzzywuzzy
27-04-2024, 03:55 PM
Good to see Matt Lucas running the line today

27-04-2024, 03:56 PM
Joe Newell looks an awful lot like Josh Campbell these days

7Hero
Cliff pike keeps calling josh Joe Newell .

He was at Feyenoord and is now at Hibs. Did they just need to give him service?

Great to see him score today. Lets not pretend he's suddenly been brilliant this season.

How can Cliff mix up Newell and Campbell so many times?