View Full Version : Longbangers Podcast
05-08-2024, 09:45 PM
https://x.com/longbangers/status/1820518604913463523?s=46&t=9ECFsSDsGgie80A2m3HH1A
Just seen this on twitter, is this for subscribers only?
That’s it out mate, 👍
05-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Thought he looked OK good at crosses and with his feet. First time I have seen him but thought he was pretty impressive
He’s fine at cross and with his feet.
It’s the lack of saving part that worries me.
His footwork for the 2nd and 3rd goal were woeful.
Will be interesting to watch against Celtic twice as they will create chances and he will be busy surely.
Good episode again guys, love big marv got to wonder why SDG didn’t get him on board was highly thought of at livi at a time they where doing well…however I don’t agree with his point about us pulling the team out this slump, the team he played in had a lot of credit in the bank if they where to hit a slump it wasn’t seen as downing tools or giving up like this lot look as though they do, this team haven’t given us anything to shout about for a number of years now, they can’t be trusted to roll there sleeves up when it’s required.
too many looking outside the squad for blame, numerous managers, the fans, home truths need telling the players aren’t good enough, they don’t have enough heart or desire that is why we are beat after going a goal down not because we aren’t singing enough, we will cheer a player winning a 50/50 all day long ever mind a goal we don’t get enough from the team of a match day
07-08-2024, 06:07 AM
Any chance of getting the Bartman Extra Time episode on YouTube Matty ?
Just come out of X cannae stand it any longer 😀
Keep up the good work
07-08-2024, 06:22 AM
Any chance of getting the Bartman Extra Time episode on YouTube Matty ?
Just come out of X cannae stand it any longer 😀
Keep up the good work
It’s on YouTube, Billy. 👍
It’s a subscriber only episode but follow the link and take the free trial so you can watch for nothing - just mind and cancel within the week.
https://www.patreon.com/posts/109535975?utm_campaign=postshare_creator
07-08-2024, 06:40 AM
It’s a subscriber only episode but follow the link and take the free trial so you can watch for nothing - just mind and cancel within the week.
👍
MagicSwirlingShip
07-08-2024, 11:58 AM
Just done the same. Could listen to Marv all day, passionate fella
07-08-2024, 12:03 PM
He’s a good guest, eh? We’ll get him back later on in the season.
07-08-2024, 12:53 PM
Love how he says "we", he's Hibs through and through now.
08-08-2024, 08:27 PM
You can catch a replay of our phone in here:
We get reaction to Hibs’ loss to St Mirren, the new signings, the board at Hibs, and a look ahead to the Celtic game on Sunday.
Podcast versions will be up soon
https://youtube.com/live/TfV8OVPnsmE?feature=share
12-08-2024, 08:23 AM
Ep 277 A Midfield Crisis
Out now on all platforms (probably)
@HibernianFC lose to @CelticFC
Midfield woes
Are the team in trouble this season?
And your talking points!
📺 https://youtu.be/Ky8W0nI4urQ?si=IpGb_fE9mLL20XMX
🎧 https://pod.fo/e/25cf6f
12-08-2024, 08:41 AM
Good chat guys
Good point on the comparison between Celtic and Villa
They both control the ball with their first touch and they are already thinking about their next pass before they even receive the ball
Night and day
The amount of space given to McGregor was criminal
12-08-2024, 08:06 PM
Weird one, first four games before the break are against teams that finished above us last season, so not an easy start. Appreciate that's more likely to happen when you finish down in eighth.
Thought at the time the St Mirren Thursday game could work in their favour. A home tie and if they win comfortably, which they did, then its a huge confidence boost.
Judging ourselves against Celtic is becoming less and less relevant by the season, as sad as that it.
12-08-2024, 08:57 PM
Weird one, first four games before the break are against teams that finished above us last season, so not an easy start. Appreciate that's more likely to happen when you finish down in eighth.
Thought at the time the St Mirren Thursday game could work in their favour. A home tie and if they win comfortably, which they did, then its a huge confidence boost.
Judging ourselves against Celtic is becoming less and less relevant by the season, as sad as that it.
You’re spot on with that last sentence. The league is a one horse race and although it’s unlikely that Celtic will go unbeaten in the season and there’s usually a team that takes points off them, that happened usually once, maybe twice at most per round of fixtures.
You could ask why that team’s not us, but we took a point off them at Easter Rd last season, and we were desperately close to repeating that in the second game. It’s unreasonable though to measure us against them - the financial gulf between us grows by millions of pounds each season, they’re pulling away rather than being caught up, that’s the sad reality of the situation.
Even Rangers can’t really keep up with them any more, if you’re a 20 year old in Scotland, you’ll only really have known one team to dominate.
I think the Dundee game is going to be tough as well, they’re flying at the moment and are very much a club on the up.
We *should* be as well but we feel miles from that at the moment.
ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2024, 09:37 PM
You’re spot on with that last sentence. The league is a one horse race and although it’s unlikely that Celtic will go unbeaten in the season and there’s usually a team that takes points off them, that happened usually once, maybe twice at most per round of fixtures.
You could ask why that team’s not us, but we took a point off them at Easter Rd last season, and we were desperately close to repeating that in the second game. It’s unreasonable though to measure us against them - the financial gulf between us grows by millions of pounds each season, they’re pulling away rather than being caught up, that’s the sad reality of the situation.
Even Rangers can’t really keep up with them any more, if you’re a 20 year old in Scotland, you’ll only really have known one team to dominate.
I think the Dundee game is going to be tough as well, they’re flying at the moment and are very much a club on the up.
We *should* be as well but we feel miles from that at the moment.
You’re spot on about Celtic becoming a different animal, even compared to Rangers. I’m 25, the most successful I can really remember rangers being is two European finals (heavily relying on penalty shoot outs and defending the edge of their box to get there) and a Scottish cup final against Falkirk. For as long as I can remember, Celtic have dominated our domestic competitions.
1875-Hibernia
13-08-2024, 03:30 PM
Enjoying the Podcast on the long journey from Glasgow Central to Waverley!
Some talking points I thought were worth discussing was the comment in regard to Malky Mackay saying we need to get players out next season, this doesn't fill me with confidence given how desperate we are for better quality midfielders. I might be wrong with my count but I think we have 9 cm/dm - how do we bring in the much needed replacements without getting a few out first.
I'm not sure where it stands now but before the game on Sunday' Celtic had won 4 in their last 15 games at Easter Road - their worst away record in any ground in Scotland. You wouldn't know that looking at our midfield though, we look like we lack fitness, desire and leadership. Just my take on it but that midfield is capable of getting us relegated.
13-08-2024, 03:49 PM
Enjoying the Podcast on the long journey from Glasgow Central to Waverley!
Some talking points I thought were worth discussing was the comment in regard to Malky Mackay saying we need to get players out next season, this doesn't fill me with confidence given how desperate we are for better quality midfielders. I might be wrong with my count but I think we have 9 cm/dm - how do we bring in the much needed replacements without getting a few out first.
I'm not sure where it stands now but before the game on Sunday' Celtic had won 4 in their last 15 games at Easter Road - their worst away record in any ground in Scotland. You wouldn't know that looking at our midfield though, we look like we lack fitness, desire and leadership. Just my take on it but that midfield is capable of getting us relegated.
SDG and O’Hora were spot on we lacked bravery on the ball treating it like a hot potato need a change of mentality and someone to put their put their foot on the ball and dictate play easier said than done
1875-Hibernia
13-08-2024, 06:48 PM
SDG and O’Hora were spot on we lacked bravery on the ball treating it like a hot potato need a change of mentality and someone to put their put their foot on the ball and dictate play easier said than done
Completely agree. Hopefully with the signing of Kwon it allows our more creative players to get back to their best. I do think we're still in need of a box to box midfielder but with now having 10 (I think) midfielders, it's hard to see us bringing in more, without any leaving.
14-08-2024, 07:13 AM
Completely agree. Hopefully with the signing of Kwon it allows our more creative players to get back to their best. I do think we're still in need of a box to box midfielder but with now having 10 (I think) midfielders, it's hard to see us bringing in more, without any leaving.
I think we will have to bring in at least one more regardless of who leaves, and we just need to manage that situation. I think McCowan will be that player and then we are looking better - a midfield of Kwon, Newell/Moriah-Welsh, and McCowan has a much better balance to it than the current set up.
tonyrougier123
14-08-2024, 07:49 AM
I think we will have to bring in at least one more regardless of who leaves, and we just need to manage that situation. I think McCowan will be that player and then we are looking better - a midfield of Kwon, Newell/Moriah-Welsh, and McCowan has a much better balance to it than the current set up.
I think mccowan will be drawn out till end of the window, and possibly we might miss out. I also think if Vente is away Matty we definitely need a striker in the door. If we manage to get a few more out this week or next we could still see potentially another 3-4 signings imo.
1875-Hibernia
14-08-2024, 12:18 PM
I think from all the chatter, McCowan is looking likely. Could be I have misinterpreted the message coming out from ER that we needed to get rid of players first but credit where it's due, they look to be getting their act together and strengthening where needed. Exciting times ahead!
14-08-2024, 09:07 PM
I think from all the chatter, McCowan is looking likely. Could be I have misinterpreted the message coming out from ER that we needed to get rid of players first but credit where it's due, they look to be getting their act together and strengthening where needed. Exciting times ahead!
I don’t think you misinterpreted it, I just think they’ve had a look at the state of the squad and realised that they couldn’t rush waiting the year.
Malky was still saying next year is the big opportunity for the rebuild as late as the interviews for the Celtic game on Sunday so they are clearly doing all they can to help SDG now instead of waiting.
15-08-2024, 08:50 PM
Can Hibs afford NOT to sign Luke McCowan?
We discuss this and players in and out at Easter Rd plus a review of Sunday’s defeat and a look ahead to Celtic in the cup.
https://www.youtube.com/live/6gCRFLVUo7I?si=OY0lYS1cq6LH6TE7
Bridge hibs
15-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Can Hibs afford NOT to sign Luke McCowan?
We discuss this and players in and out at Easter Rd plus a review of Sunday’s defeat and a look ahead to Celtic in the cup.
https://www.youtube.com/live/6gCRFLVUo7I?si=OY0lYS1cq6LH6TE7Cheers mate, my Saturday morning fix fixed 😁👍
19-08-2024, 04:22 PM
Our latest episode covering yesterday’s defeat at Celtic is available now:
https://youtu.be/7aooxLL_0Fs?si=UXQzih9RMr8YbZsS
https://pod.fo/e/25fab1
1875-Hibernia
21-08-2024, 08:31 AM
Our latest episode covering yesterday’s defeat at Celtic is available now:
https://youtu.be/7aooxLL_0Fs?si=UXQzih9RMr8YbZsS
https://pod.fo/e/25fab1
Another good listen that gets me through the train journeys.. Interesting point about our sharpness and culture around this. I have been saying for the past 3 or 4 seasons that we look unfit and don't look to have the desire to chase balls down. I wonder if it's the players themselves who hold these standards or if there is a wider club issue on this.
21-08-2024, 09:38 AM
Another good listen that gets me through the train journeys.. Interesting point about our sharpness and culture around this. I have been saying for the past 3 or 4 seasons that we look unfit and don't look to have the desire to chase balls down. I wonder if it's the players themselves who hold these standards or if there is a wider club issue on this.
I would love to know more about it. We went to a visit to the training centre when Hecky was in charge. Hibs.net had donated the money to buy these gps vests that the players wear and Hecky talked about how that data was used to inform what training the players needed to keep them at peak fitness.
He mentioned that there had only been one game (against Celtic, iirc, but someone else who was there can correct me) where the opposition had covered more ground than us.
How do the sports scientists and coaches know what good looks like when they’re seeing a plan up for players? Is it just that Celtic buy faster and fitter players (possible?) or is their training bar higher and players have to rise to it?
I’d love to know!
tonyrougier123
21-08-2024, 09:43 AM
I would love to know more about it. We went to a visit to the training centre when Hecky was in charge. Hibs.net had donated the money to buy these gps vests that the players wear and Hecky talked about how that data was used to inform what training the players needed to keep them at peak fitness.
He mentioned that there had only been one game (against Celtic, iirc, but someone else who was there can correct me) where the opposition had covered more ground than us.
How do the sports scientists and coaches know what good looks like when they’re seeing a plan up for players? Is it just that Celtic buy faster and fitter players (possible?) or is their training bar higher and players have to rise to it?
I’d love to know!
Under flanny players were very fit,I think he can take some credit for transforming some guys in that teams careers through fitness and nutrition.
Rangers took him eventually,done wonders for their fitness levels as well.
Guys like John mcginn and Cummings really benefited. Only what I felt at the time anyway,one of the fittest squads we’ve had whilst Flanagan was the sports scientist.
Albert Kidd 86’
21-08-2024, 09:44 AM
I’d love to know!
Its not a physical problem imho, it is a mental one, their players know ahead of receiving the pass where they will pass it, and pass it without hesitation. We dither about thinking, thats the difference in good and top class players.
The scary thing is that top european teams are ahead of celtic again in the same factors….
21-08-2024, 09:49 AM
Its not a physical problem imho, it is a mental one, their players know ahead of receiving the pass where they will pass it, and pass it without hesitation. We dither about thinking, thats the difference in good and top class players.
The scary thing is that top european teams are ahead of celtic again in the same factors….
It's both eh. They are fitter and their football brains are fitter and quicker.
tonyrougier123
21-08-2024, 10:08 AM
I think that’s why signing players with good mental attributes is essential,high pressure in football.
I would say though if your routine is programmed well then you’re likely to handle it better. Social media presence for players is a minefield. Whilst the more thick skinned could use it as a tool for positivity it all too often ends up being an issue for most players, I am in no way condoning what is said both by players and so called supporters btw.
Football in itself thrives as a sport because of the passion take that out and you have the MLS nice day out themed events.
Anyway off on a tangent there 😂🤦*♂️.
I think guys who look after their mind as well as body will be the better players in any squad is my point.
1875-Hibernia
21-08-2024, 12:12 PM
I’d love to know!
How many games had we played by that stage? I can't mind the Hecky period being full of willing runners. Or runners with a plan anyway.
I think that Celtic are definitely buying players with a better quality in every department, including fitness and pace but it just seems to me that our squad aren't fit, or if they are fit, they are incredibly lazy and don't have the mindset set to track back and fight for everything. That comes from players but I would love to see what the clubs culture is on this!
22-08-2024, 09:06 PM
We had a cracking phone in tonight, good chat looking back at the Celtic defeat and then on to how we go about beating Dundee on Saturday.
You can catch it here:
https://www.youtube.com/live/a2rFlMoIIec?si=xLynK4wAqIdRiyZg
26-08-2024, 07:14 AM
Ep 279 Dismal Defending Gifts Dundee Draw
Out now!
We discuss the highs and lows of Saturday’s draw with Dundee. A first look at Kwon, Bowie’s off the mark, and a game changing sub!
https://pod.fo/e/261f6c
https://youtu.be/BBBDKwk_RQI?si=jyJbbGYQr-kFZaVY
PPZPOL
26-08-2024, 09:15 AM
Ep 279 Dismal Defending Gifts Dundee Draw
Out now!
We discuss the highs and lows of Saturday’s draw with Dundee. A first look at Kwon, Bowie’s off the mark, and a game changing sub!
https://pod.fo/e/261f6c
https://youtu.be/BBBDKwk_RQI?si=jyJbbGYQr-kFZaVY
Enjoyed that again, good work team, good balance of opinions and chat.
The sub, if anything is too early and it also handed initiative to Dundee. It feels like we are now on a par with these teams and we are happy to defend and time waste at ER when we are one up against ANY team in the league and that’s basically how we’ve drawn (and lost) so many games over the years. As was said in podcast, if we keep playing the way we were we’re likely to go and score a third and we win. We’re far too negative now, it seems to be a modern day football thing maybe?
Having said it was too early, if you cast your mind back to Ross County away we brought on Hanlon in the 92nd minute (for Marcondes) to “tighten up” for 5 minutes. We then lost one of the most basic terrible goals from a defensive point of view you could possibly lose from a throw in and a ball into a channel (Murray again!). So the shoring up at the back literally done nothing other than bring them onto us more. Gray was part of that coaching set up so that concerns me a wee bit.
Sorry, I just came on to say good episode of the podcast but got carried away😂
PPZPOL
26-08-2024, 09:17 AM
Oh and don’t get me started on the subs we made at home v Ross County to turn a routine win into a 2-2 somehow.
26-08-2024, 10:32 AM
Enjoyed that again, good work team, good balance of opinions and chat.
The sub, if anything is too early and it also handed initiative to Dundee. It feels like we are now on a par with these teams and we are happy to defend and time waste at ER when we are one up against ANY team in the league and that’s basically how we’ve drawn (and lost) so many games over the years. As was said in podcast, if we keep playing the way we were we’re likely to go and score a third and we win. We’re far too negative now, it seems to be a modern day football thing maybe?
Having said it was too early, if you cast your mind back to Ross County away we brought on Hanlon in the 92nd minute (for Marcondes) to “tighten up” for 5 minutes. We then lost one of the most basic terrible goals from a defensive point of view you could possibly lose from a throw in and a ball into a channel (Murray again!). So the shoring up at the back literally done nothing other than bring them onto us more. Gray was part of that coaching set up so that concerns me a wee bit.
Sorry, I just came on to say good episode of the podcast but got carried away😂
:faf: Cheers!
I think it's a tricky one with the sub - who remembers all the times when a manager brings on a defender or whatever to shore things up and see out the win? Nobody, really, but the times they do it and it backfires stick in the memory.
If he hadn't changed it, and say Main scores from a lump into the box, then I'm 99% sure the threads on here would have been bemoaning Gray's inexperience and how he didn't react to Dundee putting Main on when it was obvious they'd start trying to throw the ball into the box. (Unless we'd won, obviously!)
I do think it was the wrong sub, I said it when it was being made so it's not a case of being Captain Hindsight after the event, but I'm loathe to hang Gray out to dry for it because he's paid to make these decisions and it's not an exact science - you can easily justify the decision to make the sub.
delaCalz
26-08-2024, 11:02 AM
I think I would have liked to have seen more attacking intent instead of a defensive change, why not go for a 3rd or 4th goal to try and kill the game instead of trying to shore things up and see out the game. We are at home so should be looking to take the game to the opponent not try and hold out a 1 goal lead as we don't seem to be able to defend as a team. Even if Main was to get an equaliser then the impetus should be on us to go and get a winner whereas in the end it seemed like we were clinging on and fortunate to get away with a draw with some of the chances Dundee had.
26-08-2024, 11:29 AM
I think I would have liked to have seen more attacking intent instead of a defensive change, why not go for a 3rd or 4th goal to try and kill the game instead of trying to shore things up and see out the game. We are at home so should be looking to take the game to the opponent not try and hold out a 1 goal lead as we don't seem to be able to defend as a team. Even if Main was to get an equaliser then the impetus should be on us to go and get a winner whereas in the end it seemed like we were clinging on and fortunate to get away with a draw with some of the chances Dundee had.
I'd have preferred that or at least to have kept the same shape while we still had control of the game.
PPZPOL
26-08-2024, 11:47 AM
:faf: Cheers!
I think it's a tricky one with the sub - who remembers all the times when a manager brings on a defender or whatever to shore things up and see out the win? Nobody, really, but the times they do it and it backfires stick in the memory.
If he hadn't changed it, and say Main scores from a lump into the box, then I'm 99% sure the threads on here would have been bemoaning Gray's inexperience and how he didn't react to Dundee putting Main on when it was obvious they'd start trying to throw the ball into the box. (Unless we'd won, obviously!)
I do think it was the wrong sub, I said it when it was being made so it's not a case of being Captain Hindsight after the event, but I'm loathe to hang Gray out to dry for it because he's paid to make these decisions and it's not an exact science - you can easily justify the decision to make the sub.
Absolutely, I get your point with the what if scenario but I suppose we are working with the what actually happened scenario, and we didn’t hold out. There’s every chance we would have if we’d stayed the same and we all know now you could argue it both ways. I suppose I’m more concerned at how he changed it early. It gives me the impression he’s not that confident in his players to see out a game or if you want to go even deeper he is not the type of coach to go for a third, fourth, fifth etc and that was something that depressed me a bit maybe. The wins we do get this season (there will be some right?)will be by the odd goal I assume.
I know we scored 5 in the groups stage of league cup, I’m talking about against premier opposition.
26-08-2024, 12:07 PM
Absolutely, I get your point with the what if scenario but I suppose we are working with the what actually happened scenario, and we didn’t hold out. There’s every chance we would have if we’d stayed the same and we all know now you could argue it both ways. I suppose I’m more concerned at how he changed it early. It gives me the impression he’s not that confident in his players to see out a game or if you want to go even deeper he is not the type of coach to go for a third, fourth, fifth etc and that was something that depressed me a bit maybe. The wins we do get this season (there will be some right?)will be by the odd goal I assume.
I know we scored 5 in the groups stage of league cup, I’m talking about against premier opposition.
That's all fair - and a good point about reflecting his own style with regarding to seeing the game out v killing it off by scoring more.
29-08-2024, 08:47 PM
We had our Thursday phone in tonight.
We covered the Dundee game, the racism aimed at Youan, transfer window wish lists and predictions for Sunday (which were wild!)
https://youtube.com/live/jf6IGkwmngU?feature=share
Podcast versions will be out soon!
02-09-2024, 06:54 AM
Ep 280 Positive Signs Despite Late Leveller
Out now.
A look back on yesterday’s game, are there positives to take from another draw?
A new look midfield gives a different dynamic.
Are some players’ places too safe?
https://pod.fo/e/264d8c
https://youtu.be/jQsOREprs9E?si=caSG_VVcAkaqihM2
07-09-2024, 07:27 AM
Our phone in from Thursday is available on YouTube and podcasts now.
A wee look back at the draw with Killie
Review of the transfer window
Do you trust the board?
https://www.youtube.com/live/Is8FbuOqQRA?si=iAAYxPfeZZxvJgX7
Bridge hibs
07-09-2024, 02:46 PM
Good listen, cheers guys 👍
08-09-2024, 07:46 AM
Good listen, cheers guys 👍
Thanks chief!
08-09-2024, 03:33 PM
Enjoyed that
Wished I'd used head phones mind... my wife pulled me up about the swearing! :rofl:
09-09-2024, 07:12 AM
Ep 281 Ian Gordon Speaks!
We take a deep dive into Ian Gordon’s Scotsman interview in a special episode this week.
https://youtu.be/-BNZ4UVRAZ0?si=MXxTfip2AsQW4-N2
https://pod.fo/e/2674a1
13-09-2024, 10:48 AM
We had our phone in last night, centred mostly around fans’ reactions to Ian Gordon’s interviews.
You can catch it wherever you get your podcasts or here (please ignore the click baity titles and thumbnails, we’ve been using an app that’s meant to boost the appeal of the videos and it’s ****ing radge but has become a wee running joke between us)
https://www.youtube.com/live/h_MG49yMkVw?si=yYljFT8m_uLWyXwR
16-09-2024, 06:51 AM
Ep 282 Hoilett the Hibs Out?!
Out now! No boardroom talk or interview analysis this week, instead it’s an hour(ish) on Hibs’ 2-0 win over St Johnstone, plus details on how to win a signed Hibs 3rd kit.
https://pod.fo/e/2699d8
https://youtu.be/7sfRlCkj2pU?si=SnWDhxyLv-z4qbkk
19-09-2024, 08:42 PM
We had our Thursday phone in tonight, good chat about Saturday’s game and the ticket shambles for Rangers.
https://www.youtube.com/live/cVaga5DEZMQ?si=5I1AmE5gD6WyJCBq
23-09-2024, 10:51 AM
This week’s episode is out now.
With no game this weekend past, we put the topics out to listeners who sent in questions.
Out in podcast players or on YouTube in the link below:
https://youtu.be/MqzH8VE6RE4?si=lTFDHrL9cmh5A-9C
Bridge hibs
23-09-2024, 05:43 PM
This week’s episode is out now.
With no game this weekend past, we put the topics out to listeners who sent in questions.
Out in podcast players or on YouTube in the link below:
https://youtu.be/MqzH8VE6RE4?si=lTFDHrL9cmh5A-9C
Cheers mate, will give that a watch on Saturday 👍
23-09-2024, 08:40 PM
I can mind when Pizza Slice was £1 per slice
Whatever happened to white dug ***** ?
LongJohnBanger
24-09-2024, 09:21 AM
I can mind when Pizza Slice was £1 per slice
Whatever happened to white dug ***** ?
If only there was a podcast dedicated to answering these important questions.
Whatever happened to Shortbangers?!
24-09-2024, 09:24 AM
Can Colin fact check Aberdeens results please? 🤣
As they have still to play Sevco, Celtc, Hibs and Them.
24-09-2024, 12:40 PM
I thought they were still to play Hearts!!
24-09-2024, 12:46 PM
You’re right - they’ve had it really easy.
Or does that mean it’s been a harder start if they’ve not played hearts?
24-09-2024, 04:07 PM
You’re right - they’ve had it really easy.
Or does that mean it’s been a harder start if they’ve not played hearts?
Harder. Again it’s Sod’s Law that we’ll play Hearts when they’ve had time to get their act together.
24-09-2024, 08:28 PM
I enjoy your podcast but is it just me that finds the sound levels very low?
I find myself having to turn my volume up full to hear you all. And then I'll give myself a heart attack when I switch to another one and forget to turn it down again :greengrin
24-09-2024, 09:43 PM
I find myself having to turn my volume up full to hear you all. And then I'll give myself a heart attack when I switch to another one and forget to turn it down again :greengrin
We can fix that, I think - I’ll tweak it for the phone in on Thursday, you can let us know if you hear a difference.
24-09-2024, 10:35 PM
We can fix that, I think - I’ll tweak it for the phone in on Thursday, you can let us know if you hear a difference.
Cheers Matty. It might just be my ancient phone showing it's age :tee hee:
cameronw-hfc
24-09-2024, 10:54 PM
I've noticed that too. Wonder if it's the mics settings as for me it's usually one person too quiet and the rest OK.
Malonga's Cat
24-09-2024, 11:05 PM
I've found the same. Have to turn it up quite loud in the car... Inevitably jumping out my skin when an ad comes on or I listen to something else.
*Not a criticism of the show. Keep up the good work. It's a good listen.
24-09-2024, 11:30 PM
I've noticed that too. Wonder if it's the mics settings as for me it's usually one person too quiet and the rest OK.
I think I can adjust per person, not so much on the phone in but for the weekend’s episode I can definitely fart about with some settings to see if it helps.
27-09-2024, 07:15 PM
We had some issues with the phone in May night but we’re very pleased to launch our first match preview episode.
Predicted line ups
Head to head
Form guide
Key player
Predictions.
Catch it here:
https://youtu.be/62IcC0VRAH0?si=E2jE5zsvM3KqZX7M
30-09-2024, 06:41 AM
New episode out now, looking back at a good performance at Ibrox that wasn’t quite enough to get something from the game.
https://pod.fo/e/26eaf8
https://youtu.be/rkbbxWnRV7w?si=LwHQ-usrmZWdn7Fw
Albert Kidd 86’
30-09-2024, 06:58 AM
Enjoyed the podcast.
the Youan situation is so depressing; we have a player who from the start struck me as a level or three above anyone else on the team, but for reasons that are, and never will be clear to me, large sections of our support cannot wait to belittle him.
We will never sign a fully formed ready to go player that could walk into say the Celtic first 11, but Youan clearly could do this in the future if we let him breath and grow into his role, but I feel it might be already too late…
IMHO we will regret the way this is going big time and we as a support need to do some soul searching about the way he has been treated (not only the racial abuse, but the lack of patience with him).
It will be a sad day when he leaves for all the above reasons.
30-09-2024, 08:42 AM
Enjoyed the podcast.
the Youan situation is so depressing; we have a player who from the start struck me as a level or three above anyone else on the team, but for reasons that are, and never will be clear to me, large sections of our support cannot wait to belittle him.
We will never sign a fully formed ready to go player that could walk into say the Celtic first 11, but Youan clearly could do this in the future if we let him breath and grow into his role, but I feel it might be already too late…
IMHO we will regret the way this is going big time and we as a support need to do some soul searching about the way he has been treated (not only the racial abuse, but the lack of patience with him).
It will be a sad day when he leaves for all the above reasons.
He definitely looks like a player that would benefit from the warmth of fans rather than the ire, which makes the whole situation so self-defeating. Performances like we’ve seen in his last two games will not have folk rushing to back him and that’s just going to fuel any perception that he’s got that he’s not appreciated.
It would be great to see everyone get right behind him and try to lift him.
30-09-2024, 07:53 PM
For those that gave feedback about the volume - better this week?
Bridge hibs
01-10-2024, 05:04 AM
Cheers guys, will give this a watch on Sat morning 👍
01-10-2024, 07:02 AM
For those that gave feedback about the volume - better this week?
Yeah better thanks
01-10-2024, 08:12 AM
Yeah better thanks
Nice one, ta.
01-10-2024, 08:16 AM
Cheers Matty. It might just be my ancient phone showing it's age :tee hee:
I just thought it was Whispering Matty F 😁
01-10-2024, 08:19 AM
He definitely looks like a player that would benefit from the warmth of fans rather than the ire, which makes the whole situation so self-defeating. Performances like we’ve seen in his last two games will not have folk rushing to back him and that’s just going to fuel any perception that he’s got that he’s not appreciated.
It would be great to see everyone get right behind him and try to lift him.
He had that warmth and adulation of the fans and proceeded to lose it with his constant refusal / inability to make simple team choices in games. He loses possession far too easily, he does not track his man far too often - he can help endear himself to the fan base by at least looking like he wants to play for the team.
Maybe he just an overly emotional person and that's why he's never made it to the level that his talent merits? I don't know. Professional football is a tough school.
04-10-2024, 09:32 AM
We had our phone in last night covering the performance at Ibrox and a look ahead to Motherwell, plus how do Newell, Boyle, and Youan fit into the team?
Get it in your podcast players or here:
https://www.youtube.com/live/3Gn8GiEcyuM?si=Bi_DuwDVhcbM0TAB
If you fancy joining in in one week, drop me a message.
04-10-2024, 12:56 PM
Good chat guys
Healthy debate
Well done
FastEddieFelson
04-10-2024, 03:57 PM
We had our phone in last night covering the performance at Ibrox and a look ahead to Motherwell, plus how do Newell, Boyle, and Youan fit into the team?
Get it in your podcast players or here:
https://www.youtube.com/live/3Gn8GiEcyuM?si=Bi_DuwDVhcbM0TAB
If you fancy joining in in one week, drop me a message.
Not showing on Spotify for me, although may be an issue at my end...
04-10-2024, 04:07 PM
Good chat guys
Healthy debate
Well done
Thanks Billy - good to get the different opinions and perspectives on.
FastEddieFelson
04-10-2024, 07:24 PM
Not showing on Spotify for me, although may be an issue at my end...
Showing now
05-10-2024, 07:39 AM
Showing now
Thanks. *Somebody* forgot to finish publishing it. 🤦
Our preview show is up now, https://youtu.be/XjTQLM5xn-g?si=d7w10pTMELgPm2g9
07-10-2024, 12:01 PM
New episode is out now:
We cover the talking points from Saturday’s defeat.
https://youtu.be/sdkPvKANvS8?si=aB1q76nfCU_RON66
07-10-2024, 02:14 PM
I was very much Monty out but I think now we have to stick by gray and the fans will come for the board first.
However
It’s very frustrating seeing a poor Aberdeen team last season make a managerial change not spend as much as we have and we still can’t even put two wins together.
Subbing on mckirdy over youan is alarming.
I think gray will get the most time out of all the managers in the last 4 or 5 but subs like this are somewhat bizarre imo of course.
Recruitment again under scrutiny
Last week in the papers the three amigos in the EEN or observer was rolled out after one or two decent performances. Ohora was signed from a relegated club in lower leagues and ekpiteta after a stinker opening weekend it’s seems to be well he’s not done that again so he must be getting better.
Just stinks of how far our standards have slipped.
Rant over
Great podcast
13-10-2024, 08:19 PM
Evening folks
We had our phone in tonight with a look back at last week's game, a discussion on how David Gray is doing so far, how close the team is to clicking, and what to do about Dylan Levitt and Elie Youan
You can catch it in podcast players or here:
https://youtube.com/live/G9K8KlnzwsE?feature=share
Bridge hibs
13-10-2024, 08:21 PM
Evening folks
We had our phone in tonight with a look back at last week's game, a discussion on how David Gray is doing so far, how close the team is to clicking, and what to do about Dylan Levitt and Elie Youan
You can catch it in podcast players or here:
https://youtube.com/live/G9K8KlnzwsE?feature=share
Cheers mate will catch up with that at the weekend 👍
13-10-2024, 08:36 PM
Cheers mate will catch up with that at the weekend 👍
Nice one mate!
18-10-2024, 03:54 PM
You can catch our short preview show, looking ahead to tomorrow's game here:
https://youtube.com/live/wsW9Dgos7nY?feature=share
Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 12:36 AM
Enjoyed the short preview of the game , found Colin , John and Matty’s team selections very interesting … really a lot depends on how Boyle , Newell and Miller are … one thing I wonder about is can Hoilett maybe play as an attacking midfielder? And I did notice some fans have picked Rudi for this role , think he has looked better when playing wide TBH .
19-10-2024, 01:25 PM
Enjoyed the short preview of the game , found Colin , John and Matty’s team selections very interesting … really a lot depends on how Boyle , Newell and Miller are … one thing I wonder about is can Hoilett maybe play as an attacking midfielder? And I did notice some fans have picked Rudi for this role , think he has looked better when playing wide TBH .
Cheers, I think Hoilett can slot in anywhere along the forward positions. Good to see Rudi getting the nod today, though I don't think any of us correctly predicted the side!! :greengrin
21-10-2024, 11:07 AM
Ep 286 Whose Fault Is It Anyway?
Available now, a sobering episode looking at why things are so bad and where the accountability should be for it.
https://pod.fo/e/27698e
https://youtu.be/bXrM2Ti29DU?si=8uaSy1Y4rkmlEfYY
Bridge hibs
21-10-2024, 11:16 AM
Available now, a sobering episode looking at why things are so bad and where the accountability should be for it.
Sobering ? How fitting given the near hysteria on that other thread 😁
hibeejeebies
21-10-2024, 01:49 PM
Another enjoyable listen Gentlemen 👍🏻
21-10-2024, 04:49 PM
Never saw Colin’s mouth move once :greengrin
21-10-2024, 05:08 PM
Never saw Colin’s mouth move once :greengrin
A nice change, eh?!
21-10-2024, 05:50 PM
A nice change, eh?! It was a good listen but when discussing Youan you never mentioned his warm up at half time and at the Motherwell game he barely moved just going thru the motions. We can’t play someone who ain’t interested.
21-10-2024, 06:15 PM
It was a good listen but when discussing Youan you never mentioned his warm up at half time and at the Motherwell game he barely moved just going thru the motions. We can’t play someone who ain’t interested.
Just never had time to cover everything! We’ll be talking more about it all tonight.
24-10-2024, 08:31 PM
As always, it's never our opinions that are the most important - we have our fans' phone in every Thursday, where our listeners can have their say.
Here's tonight's episode, available in podcast players and Youtube:
https://youtube.com/live/Ue2ARbmb0NI?feature=share
24-10-2024, 08:47 PM
It was a good listen but when discussing Youan you never mentioned his warm up at half time and at the Motherwell game he barely moved just going thru the motions. We can’t play someone who ain’t interested.
Watch yourself now.
You'll get pulled up for noticing things like this and possibly even accused of 'rambling speculations' that Youan ain't interest 🙄😂
24-10-2024, 09:15 PM
Listened to it today, sorry Matty, I’ve fallen out the habit of listening to podcasts as been listening to audiobooks instead like a right book nerd.
If I’m honest, I found it a bit of a frustrating listen, I think Colin and John are maybe putting too much emphasis on what other people are thinking or saying rather than just giving their own opinion. I think they also need to remember that as fans we don’t all have opinions as a collective. Too much stuff like “oh, are we now thinking this” or “if the manager did this the fans would say that”
Difficult time to analyse what’s going on at Hibs just now though, fair play for having a stab at it.
24-10-2024, 10:11 PM
Listened to it today, sorry Matty, I’ve fallen out the habit of listening to podcasts as been listening to audiobooks instead like a right book nerd.
If I’m honest, I found it a bit of a frustrating listen, I think Colin and John are maybe putting too much emphasis on what other people are thinking or saying rather than just giving their own opinion. I think they also need to remember that as fans we don’t all have opinions as a collective. Too much stuff like “oh, are we now thinking this” or “if the manager did this the fans would say that”
Difficult time to analyse what’s going on at Hibs just now though, fair play for having a stab at it.
:aok: I’ll not speak for them but I appreciate the feedback - always good to get it.
Definitely a hard time to try and get your head around what’s going on with Hibs though!
25-10-2024, 12:03 AM
Found the phone in really frustrating tonight. Appreciate everyone has and is entitled to their opinion though so not going to say anything else.
Fair play to the folk who put themselves in the firing line by joining though 👍
25-10-2024, 01:30 AM
Found the phone in really frustrating tonight. Appreciate everyone has and is entitled to their opinion though so not going to say anything else.
We never know what we’re going to get with the phone in, right down to not knowing who is going to dial in in advance, it’s open to anyone that wants to come on and the only stipulation is everyone’s opinion is as valid as the next person’s.
You’re welcome to join in if you fancy it!
25-10-2024, 07:14 AM
Watch yourself now.
You'll get pulled up for noticing things like this and possibly even accused of 'rambling speculations' that Youan ain't interest
Perhaps embarrassing ravings based on nothing more than deluded opinion stated as fact might have suited a description of your posts better :wink::not worth
25-10-2024, 08:39 AM
We never know what we’re going to get with the phone in, right down to not knowing who is going to dial in in advance, it’s open to anyone that wants to come on and the only stipulation is everyone’s opinion is as valid as the next person’s.
You’re welcome to join in if you fancy it!
Totally get that. And it honestly wasn't a dig at any one person! They've all been on in the past and I've agreed with them all at times. Good bunch of folk
Probably just a bit pissed off with all things Hibs at the minute.
Again though, appreciate the time and effort from all involved.
25-10-2024, 08:55 AM
Fair point I think - could be due to responding directly to a the talking points that are sent in, instead of just saying “disagree and here’s my opinion” 🤷🏻
25-10-2024, 08:58 AM
Totally get that. And it honestly wasn't a dig at any one person! They've all been on in the past and I've agreed with them all at times. Good bunch of folk
Probably just a bit pissed off with all things Hibs at the minute.
Again though, appreciate the time and effort from all involved.
I got that, chief. Always say to folk they’re welcome on though, sometimes because there are regulars I worry that folk think it’s a closed shop but we genuinely post the Zoom details and see who turns up, if someone dials in they get on and they’ll get the time to say what they want to say.
So it’s open to anyone, we post the zoom details where people subscribe but that’s just to ensure it’s Hibs fans coming on, if anyone fancies it they can message me for the details.
25-10-2024, 09:05 AM
Must admit, I listened to it on my way to work this morning and thought it was excellent.
These are tough times, and it isn't always happy listening to each other poring over multiple problems and the fact that everyone will have a different take on our problems may make it seem bleaker than it is.
Interesting that there's a fair bit of conversation starting to take place re the toxicity of some within our support. We've always had our headbangers and ultra-negative brigade but the unreasonable doom and gloomers do seem to have the sway right now - and there definitely feels to be something of the self-fulfilling prophecy of the ultra-negative atmosphere creating an environment where it is between difficult and impossible for the players to actually give us what we want.
Any sort of win at the weekend could go a long way towards healing a few wounds.
25-10-2024, 09:27 AM
Thought some the language was shocking throughout!! :greengrin
25-10-2024, 12:22 PM
Must admit, I listened to it on my way to work this morning and thought it was excellent.
These are tough times, and it isn't always happy listening to each other poring over multiple problems and the fact that everyone will have a different take on our problems may make it seem bleaker than it is.
Interesting that there's a fair bit of conversation starting to take place re the toxicity of some within our support. We've always had our headbangers and ultra-negative brigade but the unreasonable doom and gloomers do seem to have the sway right now - and there definitely feels to be something of the self-fulfilling prophecy of the ultra-negative atmosphere creating an environment where it is between difficult and impossible for the players to actually give us what we want.
Any sort of win at the weekend could go a long way towards healing a few wounds.
Cheers. I was surprised as well, I actually quite enjoyed the chat about it.
25-10-2024, 12:40 PM
Cheers. I was surprised as well, I actually quite enjoyed the chat about it.
The two callers who called out the fans for booing individual players during the game were absolutely spot-on. The standard respond to this is 'oh aye its the fans fault we're rubbish' 'we took 2000 fans and we're served up rubbish' and the usual defensiveness, but there's never an excuse for booing players when theyre on the ball. Thats utter ****ing nonsense and im sure didnt happen as regularly even 3 years ago. Good on them for calling it out. For what its worth I was absolutely raging at Miller as well, im sick of his mistakes but booing his every touch? Crazy.
26-10-2024, 07:19 AM
Here’s our derby preview:
https://www.youtube.com/live/LVZbvHzm0x4?si=MudPmdD3i0tlrZbT
26-10-2024, 09:58 PM
Here’s our derby preview:
https://www.youtube.com/live/LVZbvHzm0x4?si=MudPmdD3i0tlrZbT
Colin was gonna put Campbell in his team?
He's at it 😂 😂
26-10-2024, 10:09 PM
Colin was gonna put Campbell in his team?
He's at it 😂 😂
I think it was maybe “Down the Slope” that I was listening to earlier today where someone made the (I thought fair) point that Campbell has probably played roughly the number of minutes you’d expect this season.
It’s all very well not rating Campbell… but which superior players in his position is he keeping out the team? Gray appears to want Triantis, Kwon and Newell as his middle 3 but he’s had to do without some of them at various points this season, as he’ll have to do tomorrow. That leaves you trying to make a case that either something like starting Levitt is a no-brainer (his performances last season would suggest otherwise) or amending the formation to accommodate 2 strikers.
Campbell also seems to be most effective in either tight games or games against better teams rather than playing in games against teams we’re expected to break down and beat comfortably so I can get the logic.
FWIW I’m in f*** knows what I’d do territory so I’m not really going to criticise a suggestion that doesn’t have a long list of better suggestions ahead of it.
Jock O
27-10-2024, 06:26 AM
The two callers who called out the fans for booing individual players during the game were absolutely spot-on. The standard respond to this is 'oh aye its the fans fault we're rubbish' 'we took 2000 fans and we're served up rubbish' and the usual defensiveness, but there's never an excuse for booing players when theyre on the ball. Thats utter ****ing nonsense and im sure didnt happen as regularly even 3 years ago. Good on them for calling it out. For what its worth I was absolutely raging at Miller as well, im sick of his mistakes but booing his every touch? Crazy.
Agreed, I mentioned on FB I really enjoyed the phone in, mostly because it was a group of guys who obviously attend regularly but had completely put balanced perspectives on it. Online is just getting crazy now, and even on here some of the more established posters now just appear to be point scoring on the Gray and Owners threads. At end of day after this it made me realise, its 9 games Gray has had, its been bad, but its 9 games and we cannot go on just turning everything over so short term. It was really encouraging to hear the guys talking generally, but honestly, about some of the issues
Re the toxicity of fans, it has been a growing problem at Easter Road since 2016 I really think, probably reflecting increase in numbers and more general/casual supporters coming along with post cup euphoria, which is natural and good for the books., But I have definitely noticed it. After the promotion year where like lots I went to most games and it was a bit of a jolly atmosphere, mostly, I have only been able to manage limited games but most have had some level of annoyance with some crazy behaviour ,and I think last couple of years its got worse as people have got more unhappy. Being unhappy with where we are is one thing but the toxicity is not, and even in the normally quiet civilised West stand some of the boo boys are almost funny in their lack of any filters or comprehension of reality, except it soon becomes just annoying. I am amazed there haven't been more incidents between supporters as there have been shouts of shut up etc.
I get it its a time for people to vent etc for 90 minutes but the relentless negativity isn't good for anyone, including the unhappy clappers I would not have thought. My mate I go with is definitely a doom and gloomer and I am definitely mostly a happyish clapper but we have 90 minutes before game in pub to disagree about things and the walk up the road after to talk about what life holds the next week after, which often is much worse than the 90 minutes we have just watched, if not always. Perspective is woefully short on here these days it seems, with people trying to desperately p[position themselves so they can say told you so to someone losing the job. So this podcast was an unexpected relief with an opportunity to ponder what's going on, to quote the great Marvin. Maybe the most guilty of the doom and gloomers need to do their own so they can get it off their chest without affecting the rest of the community :-)
I do think the Firestick community are actually a huge issue in the online toxicity but I think that's probably for another thread.
27-10-2024, 06:39 AM
I think it was maybe “Down the Slope” that I was listening to earlier today where someone made the (I thought fair) point that Campbell has probably played roughly the number of minutes you’d expect this season.
It’s all very well not rating Campbell… but which superior players in his position is he keeping out the team? Gray appears to want Triantis, Kwon and Newell as his middle 3 but he’s had to do without some of them at various points this season, as he’ll have to do tomorrow. That leaves you trying to make a case that either something like starting Levitt is a no-brainer (his performances last season would suggest otherwise) or amending the formation to accommodate 2 strikers.
Campbell also seems to be most effective in either tight games or games against better teams rather than playing in games against teams we’re expected to break down and beat comfortably so I can get the logic.
FWIW I’m in f*** knows what I’d do territory so I’m not really going to criticise a suggestion that doesn’t have a long list of better suggestions ahead of it.
Campbell brings nothing to our team.
Now that I've said that, he'll probably come on and score a screamer 😁
27-10-2024, 07:10 AM
If Campbell starts given the last two performances, David gray must be looking to leave his post
Attack from the start and have a go.
If we get beat least we attacked
Hate when we set up to be tight and cagey, we can’t defend, find a way of getting our best attacking players on the pitch
4-2-3-1
Boyle Hoilett Youan
Myk / Gayle
Looks our best forward lineup
28-10-2024, 06:59 AM
Our derby review is out now, looking at the big talking points from yesterday’s draw.
https://pod.fo/e/2796d8
https://youtu.be/d_Sdda2jkv8?si=fsOT6xVA5Tlajp9Z
Is there a YouTube members episode this week? Don’t seem to have one just wondering if maybe i’ve stopped the sub by mistake
31-10-2024, 06:22 AM
Just listened to the review from last night. Colin labelling Hibs fans who think this team could possibly go down '*****' is next level gaslighting.
Trinity Hibee
31-10-2024, 06:25 AM
Just listened to the review from last night. Colin labelling Hibs fans who think this team could possibly go down '*****' is next level gaslighting.
Anyone not considering relegation as a possibility has their head in the sand. Results and performances is all the evidence needed
31-10-2024, 07:05 AM
Anyone not considering relegation as a possibility has their head in the sand. Results and performances is all the evidence needed
I don't think we'll get relegated but you just couldn't rely on this team to fight a blood & snotters battle if required.
31-10-2024, 10:04 AM
Is there a YouTube members episode this week? Don’t seem to have one just wondering if maybe i’ve stopped the sub by mistake
Yeah should be out, posted it last night but I’ll double check it’s there.
31-10-2024, 10:10 AM
I can’t remember what he said but it’ll be his opinion rather than any attempt to gaslight anyone. FWIW I absolutely think it’s a possibility unless we address our current form.
We’re almost a full round of fixtures in, we’ve won one game and we’re a pony off bottom. Relegation is certainly a possibility. I don’t think we’ll be relegated but we’ve been here before, thought we’d be fine, and gone down.
31-10-2024, 10:14 AM
https://youtu.be/zhPJQw8OuhE there you go.
31-10-2024, 10:43 AM
What’s the word in asterisk? Just listened and I’m not sure what part you’re referring to?
https://youtu.be/zhPJQw8OuhE there you go.
Cheers for that this works doesn’t show in my feed thought I’d cancelled or something. 👍
31-10-2024, 10:48 AM
Cheers for that this works doesn’t show in my feed thought I’d cancelled or something. 👍
Thanks for flagging it, was knackered when I published it last night so there’s a decent chance it’s something I’ve done wrong!
31-10-2024, 08:37 PM
Our Thursday phone in is out now - no fan blaming this week but plenty chat on David Gray, recruitment, lack of leadership, and a lack of style!
https://www.youtube.com/live/Z1V68pYtyM8?si=MmT7VGLqqwPeoXTE
Bridge hibs
01-11-2024, 04:45 AM
Cheers mate will give that a watch the morns morning 👍
01-11-2024, 07:01 AM
Our Thursday phone in is out now - no fan blaming this week but plenty chat on David Gray, recruitment, lack of leadership, and a lack of style!
That was the best one yet Matty :aok:
Some great points covered by the callers.
The fan base is certainly divided.
01-11-2024, 07:22 AM
What have I missed ?
F#ck all we’ve been sh#te !
Sums up our season
Coach Jon
01-11-2024, 07:24 AM
Enjoyable watch, was good to see some new faces coming on who are not scared to stick their heads above the parapet and tell it like it is.
Donegal Hibby
01-11-2024, 01:27 PM
Thought that was really good Matty in hearing different opinions on our situation from concerns folk have to others wanting to give Gray more . Well done :aok:
01-11-2024, 01:52 PM
Thought that was really good Matty in hearing different opinions on our situation from concerns folk have to others wanting to give Gray more . Well done :aok:
Thanks - I enjoyed it a lot last night, I really enjoy the phone in at the best of times but I thought last night was the closest to how i I imagined them going - great discussion, love that folk can disagree respectfully and constructively as well.
18Craig75
01-11-2024, 02:21 PM
Great discussion and points from all sides put forward and debated! So refreshing that it was all done without the vitriol that’s often present these days on .net, Twitter and in the stands.
01-11-2024, 04:14 PM
Our preview show for Sunday’s game is out now:
https://youtube.com/live/_THgRCuWlxk?feature=share
04-11-2024, 09:14 AM
A tale of two VAR decisions at Easter Road today as a dominant but toothless Hibs drew with Dundee United, who were handed a lifeline with the softest of VAR penalties late in the game. Myko was red carded and Hibs fans were left baffled at the VAR's decision not to send the referee to the screen for a potential Hibs penalty with moments left in the game.
https://pod.fo/e/27d8ac
https://www.youtube.com/live/2PQ-49e2wnU?si=nZ3jnqW5us7Z5n9O
07-11-2024, 09:03 PM
Tonight’s phone in is now on podcast players and YouTube!
https://www.youtube.com/live/4m3Rl0NyyhE?si=FpQrvQmSjIn-xQDa
08-11-2024, 05:31 PM
Our preview show is up now:
https://youtube.com/live/vhHaR-7L2N8?feature=share
Jock O
08-11-2024, 09:01 PM
Tonight’s phone in is now on podcast players and YouTube!
https://www.youtube.com/live/4m3Rl0NyyhE?si=FpQrvQmSjIn-xQDa
Really enjoyed that again, and as last time great to see a much more balanced set of views, its easy from social media to get bogged down with the doom side, I was starting to look for excuses not to come up tomorrow but now raring to go, sort of anyway!
08-11-2024, 09:40 PM
Really enjoyed that again, and as last time great to see a much more balanced set of views, its easy from social media to get bogged down with the doom side, I was starting to look for excuses not to come up tomorrow but now raring to go, sort of anyway!
I think it helps that it’s on a Thursday - I think if we did it straight after a game or close to the game a lot of the anger would still be there but by Thursday everyone’s had a chance to reflect and calm down, and start looking forward to the next game.
11-11-2024, 06:08 PM
Our latest episode is out now, looking at the current crisis at Easter Rd
https://pod.fo/e/280b78
https://www.youtube.com/live/b4GpsMERt_g?si=XF_h8INmwczyR2te
Jock O
11-11-2024, 06:09 PM
I think it helps that it’s on a Thursday - I think if we did it straight after a game or close to the game a lot of the anger would still be there but by Thursday everyone’s had a chance to reflect and calm down, and start looking forward to the next game.
I would maybe leave the next one an extra week :hyper
11-11-2024, 07:02 PM
Can't wait till phone in on Thursday. Joe the optimist got his prediction wrong for the weekend. He surely can't still say we are a half decent team.
11-11-2024, 10:15 PM
I just can’t get that Barry from Eastenders meme out of my head.
He’s haunting me.
11-11-2024, 10:39 PM
I just can’t get that Barry from Eastenders meme out of my head.
He’s haunting me.
:faf: same here!
14-11-2024, 09:34 PM
Phone in tonight was lively:
https://www.youtube.com/live/NXuN445fqas?si=-x0qmFy9ndukegx6
stalbanshibby
15-11-2024, 05:48 AM
Good watch Matty. Thanks.
FastEddieFelson
15-11-2024, 12:53 PM
Hi Matty, do you know why this isn't showing in Spotify?
15-11-2024, 09:24 PM
Hi Matty, do you know why this isn't showing in Spotify?
Yes, it would appear that I didn’t finish publishing it.
It’ll be here in the next few minutes, if not already!
18-11-2024, 03:28 PM
Ep 289 Statement Without Intent is available now!
https://pod.fo/e/283a9b
https://www.youtube.com/live/JoJcFSWAmIk?si=GRVBBKN7ONGBZ19X
Bridge hibs
18-11-2024, 03:53 PM
Ep 289 Statement Without Intent is available now!
https://pod.fo/e/283a9b
https://www.youtube.com/live/JoJcFSWAmIk?si=GRVBBKN7ONGBZ19XCheers Matty will give that a listen to tomorrow morn 👍
e2los
23-11-2024, 05:47 PM
Matty,
Can you guys please talk about something else other than football in your next episode, unless there is a miracle re the Dundee game?
I love the podcasts, but it's beyond awful watching/discussing hibs currently.
23-11-2024, 11:21 PM
Matty,
Can you guys please talk about something else other than football in your next episode, unless there is a miracle re the Dundee game?
I love the podcasts, but it's beyond awful watching/discussing hibs currently.
Deal. Knitting, shopping, car maintenance, anything but this pish. I'm all in favour.
expresso
24-11-2024, 05:59 PM
Deal. Knitting, shopping, car maintenance, anything but this pish. I'm all in favour.
Chinese food recommendations please
24-11-2024, 06:22 PM
When's the 'Dundee Debacle' episode coming out.
24-11-2024, 08:42 PM
Chinese food recommendations please
Or better still Indian food.
24-11-2024, 08:47 PM
When's the 'Dundee Debacle' episode coming out.
Tomorrow morning, or you can get it on YouTube already:
https://www.youtube.com/live/PxpbnPuRR78?si=LZWIaoXZgzTiv-AP
24-11-2024, 09:25 PM
Tomorrow morning, or you can get it on YouTube already:
https://www.youtube.com/live/PxpbnPuRR78?si=LZWIaoXZgzTiv-AP
Got it on Patreon cheers 👍🏻
24-11-2024, 09:47 PM
Got it on Patreon cheers 👍🏻
Nice one!!
25-11-2024, 08:35 AM
Ep 290 Sack The Board? is out now:
Time up for Gray?
Have the players chucked it or are we just that bad?
Time for fan action/protests?
https://pod.fo/e/286f1f
https://www.youtube.com/live/PxpbnPuRR78?si=2lIoIX1i43S93RMX
25-11-2024, 08:45 AM
Ep 290 Sack The Board? is out now:
Time up for Gray?
Have the players chucked it or are we just that bad?
Time for fan action/protests?
https://pod.fo/e/286f1f
https://www.youtube.com/live/PxpbnPuRR78?si=2lIoIX1i43S93RMX
I’ve just listened to the start of it Matty, will get the rest in the car later. Summed up my views on the Youann situation perfectly. I know there’s another thread on the subject so don’t want to labour the point here, I just think you both did a much better job of articulating the point than I’ve made on here.
25-11-2024, 08:51 PM
What's happened to John BTW?
Not been on for a while now.
25-11-2024, 09:00 PM
What's happened to John BTW?
Not been on for a while now.
He’ll be back in the new year at some point. As usual we will put his absence down to dysentery.
25-11-2024, 09:01 PM
He’ll be back in the new year at some point. As usual we will put his absence down to dysentery.
😂 Cool. Glad he's OK.
26-11-2024, 06:25 AM
We previewed tonight’s @HibernianFC v @AberdeenFC match.
A massive night for the club against an opponent who have been flying this season.
Catch it here:
https://www.youtube.com/live/SGQ4zHMc5D0?si=QOVZ9eNtmokw4x7d
28-11-2024, 08:40 PM
Our phone in is available now on Youtube and in podcast players.
https://youtube.com/live/Fy1RZTtPvL0?feature=share
29-11-2024, 03:56 PM
We preview Hibs' game against Motherwell tomorrow, you can catch it here:
https://youtube.com/live/NSmwdVlouP8
02-12-2024, 08:08 AM
Ep 291 Back In Business is out now
Are Hibs back?
Gray safe?
Newell's role as captain
significance of Rocky's goal 352 and the goalkeeper situation, and have the white shorts returning brought some much needed good luck to the Hibees?
https://pod.fo/e/28a138
https://www.youtube.com/live/gInNlVSL-2U?si=NL_6KQAO-4lqfkJb
03-12-2024, 12:06 PM
Enjoyed listening to that this morning, some difference being able to enjoy us talking about a win.
Anyways that’s enough positivity for now, I admire Colin’s determination for Gray to be given time regardless, unfortunately I disagree with him. The start we’ve had to the season means there’s going to be pressure on Gray for longer than 1 win and a draw and the time to stop putting deadlines on results will come when we’re out of danger. I get where Colin was coming from, it’s just a win or two too early imo. it’s easy to say he should be given time regardless on the back of a win but pressure is inevitable if we’re at or near the bottom of the league.
With regards to the Celtic game, I agree the result is effectively a write off and Gray shouldn’t be judged on it, the performance is important though. I still think there’s things we can take from this weekend, even if it’s not the three points. If we turn up on Saturday and play the same formation and system I will be concerned, if we do that and get turned over, the manager shouldn’t be immune from criticism just because it’s Celtic away. Similarly, if we manage to make a game of it, either by keeping things the same or changing them, Gray would be deserving of praise, even if we don’t win.
03-12-2024, 01:00 PM
Enjoyed listening to that this morning, some difference being able to enjoy us talking about a win.
Anyways that’s enough positivity for now, I admire Colin’s determination for Gray to be given time regardless, unfortunately I disagree with him. The start we’ve had to the season means there’s going to be pressure on Gray for longer than 1 win and a draw and the time to stop putting deadlines on results will come when we’re out of danger. I get where Colin was coming from, it’s just a win or two too early imo. it’s easy to say he should be given time regardless on the back of a win but pressure is inevitable if we’re at or near the bottom of the league.
With regards to the Celtic game, I agree the result is effectively a write off and Gray shouldn’t be judged on it, the performance is important though. I still think there’s things we can take from this weekend, even if it’s not the three points. If we turn up on Saturday and play the same formation and system I will be concerned, if we do that and get turned over, the manager shouldn’t be immune from criticism just because it’s Celtic away. Similarly, if we manage to make a game of it, either by keeping things the same or changing them, Gray would be deserving of praise, even if we don’t win.
Fair points Bingo. I just think that going game by game asking “is it this week?” is helping nobody. Can’t deny we’ve had a poor start but we’re 6/7 points off top 6. Other clubs have had just as poor a start but seem to be more forgiving. For example, if we sacked Gray they’d be calls to get McInnes in to replace him.
03-12-2024, 01:05 PM
Agree with all of this but particularly the part in bold.
The Celtic game is pretty much a write-off. If they want to they will score 3 or 4 without reply, I'll be pleasantly surprised if we do manage to score against them.
The performance is the key, if we go in with the same drive, heart and fight as we have done against Aberdeen and Motherwell then the score will be what it is and if we get a point from the game it will be a huge bonus.
The Ross County game is very important, it's a winable game at home and one that I feel we need to win and continue an upward trend.
I think Gray deserves longer in post, and if we are off the bottom and put a few places between ourselves and 12th between now and Christmas then he will deserve a huge amount of credit.
FastEddieFelson
03-12-2024, 01:13 PM
hope everything is alright with John? been missing for a few weeks now
03-12-2024, 01:26 PM
Fair points Bingo. I just think that going game by game asking “is it this week?” is helping nobody. Can’t deny we’ve had a poor start but we’re 6/7 points off top 6. Other clubs have had just as poor a start but seem to be more forgiving. For example, if we sacked Gray they’d be calls to get McInnes in to replace him.
You’re right, it’s not ideal conditions for a manger to work under and we need tk get away from that. Equally though we need to get away from the bottom of the league and until that happens, rightly or wrongly, pressure will be on Gray and he will be a loss or two away from the sack. I don’t think there’s a set of fans in the land who wouldn’t be asking the same question if they were in our situation.
With regards to the other clubs who have made equally as bad a start, Hearts have already changed their manager, if they don’t start picking up league wins soon, I would expect Critchley to be coming under scrutiny and similar pressure, even if he was selected by data. McInnes has a huge amount of credit in the bank and is widely regarded as being one of the best managers in the game, it’s easy to understand why Killie fans would be a bit more relaxed at the prospect of him turning it around.
03-12-2024, 03:06 PM
hope everything is alright with John? been missing for a few weeks now
All good - he’ll be back at some point next year but very much still a big part of the podcast.
05-12-2024, 08:10 PM
Hibs move off the bottom of the table after thumping hopeless Motherwell, a new Head of Recruitment at Hibs as Garvan Stewart joins from Bournemouth - what does that mean for Malky Mackay and the January transfer window? Football for a fiver - great initiative from Hibs! And a look ahead to Celtic on Saturday, can the Hibees spring an unlikely result?
https://youtube.com/live/Aup8TdbCVIM?feature=share
06-12-2024, 05:32 AM
Wouldn’t be in a hurry to write off Clydebank
It’s Hibs remember 😀
Remember Kelty
06-12-2024, 07:59 AM
Wouldn’t be in a hurry to write off Clydebank
It’s Hibs remember 😀
Remember Kelty
Aye, quickly tried to reel that back in! :faf:
06-12-2024, 08:06 AM
Aye, quickly tried to reel that back in! :faf:
Yip noticed that
A quick check shows they are undefeated all season winning some of their games by wide margins
06-12-2024, 12:44 PM
For the folk who have been in touch to ask about John, here’s a wee update from him:
https://www.patreon.com/posts/117433991?utm_campaign=postshare_creator
06-12-2024, 07:33 PM
For the folk who have been in touch to ask about John, here’s a wee update from him:
Best wishes to him
Football isn’t even close to your health
Hope to hear him back on the podcast soon!
06-12-2024, 07:49 PM
Health first, my wife has the same 💚
hibeejeebies
07-12-2024, 10:18 PM
Wishing you a speedy return back to full health John 💚
09-12-2024, 07:30 AM
Hibs lost to Celtic, but a battling performance and creating some great chances gives some cause for optimism. Fresh faces are required in January, but what positions are the priority? What now for David Gray - does a win on Saturday against Ross County give the season a chance of relative success?
https://pod.fo/e/28df69
https://www.youtube.com/live/HISizMxG0yw?si=VO9IAJgkrJV4KPcG
09-12-2024, 08:26 AM
Best wishes to you John, i've had it for over 20 years when i lost 6 stone. Funnily enough i'm having a bit of a bad time of it now, been ****ting through the eye of a needle since September.
I'm having the camera up my jacksy on Wednesday again to see what's going on. I've been off the tablets for around 6 years, and while on them i was very good, maybe 3 or 4 bouts in 14 years, and they only lasted a day or so.
Probably time for me to get back on the medication i'd imagine, but as i say will find out more on Wednesday.
If you have any questions you would like to ask, send me a PM and i will answer them best i can.
Gary.
09-12-2024, 09:41 AM
Take care John and hopefully you get to the necessary treatment required.
Have a great Christmas.
I was genuinely worried about your disappearance from Longbangers :agree:
LongJohnBanger
09-12-2024, 10:32 AM
As strange as it may sound having written briefly about my Crohn's diagnosis to explain my absence from the podcast I appear on, I don't seek the limelight or try to draw attention to myself so it's caught me off guard that people have been kind enough to contact me directly or pass on messages via Matty. Thank you, I do appreciate it.
Touch wood, the medication seems to be having a positive effect. I don't recall experiencing the sweats, shivers, cramps and urgency to go to the toilet in the last 2 weeks that have been a 3 to 4 times a day experience for quite a while now. As I say that however, I'm mindful that other people with Crohn's have it worse than me so I don't want to appear boastful. If anyone wants to get in touch to talk about it, DMs are open etc.
09-12-2024, 11:05 AM
As strange as it may sound having written briefly about my Crohn's diagnosis to explain my absence from the podcast I appear on, I don't seek the limelight or try to draw attention to myself so it's caught me off guard that people have been kind enough to contact me directly or pass on messages via Matty. Thank you, I do appreciate it.
Touch wood, the medication seems to be having a positive effect. I don't recall experiencing the sweats, shivers, cramps and urgency to go to the toilet in the last 2 weeks that have been a 3 to 4 times a day experience for quite a while now. As I say that however, I'm mindful that other people with Crohn's have it worse than me so I don't want to appear boastful. If anyone wants to get in touch to talk about it, DMs are open etc.
Birthday caird pish imho. 😁
Seriously mate, looking forward to having you back on when you’re ready.
FastEddieFelson
09-12-2024, 12:48 PM
Very nice update on patreon - glad to hear things are improving :aok:
darwenhibby
09-12-2024, 08:03 PM
Best wishes to you John, i've had it for over 20 years when i lost 6 stone. Funnily enough i'm having a bit of a bad time of it now, been ****ting through the eye of a needle since September.
I'm having the camera up my jacksy on Wednesday again to see what's going on. I've been off the tablets for around 6 years, and while on them i was very good, maybe 3 or 4 bouts in 14 years, and they only lasted a day or so.
Probably time for me to get back on the medication i'd imagine, but as i say will find out more on Wednesday.
If you have any questions you would like to ask, send me a PM and i will answer them best i can.
Gary.
Hope all goes well on Wednesday Gary
darwenhibby
09-12-2024, 08:04 PM
Best wishes John enjoy listening to you Matty and Colin on the Podcast
Hope you’re back soon
10-12-2024, 05:59 AM
Hope all goes well on Wednesday Gary
Cheers Duane, tomorrow will be a breeze, it's today i'm dreading, having to drink that pish they give me to clear me out.
It's not very nice, no matter how many times i've had to take it.:sick:
10-12-2024, 06:07 AM
Cheers Duane, tomorrow will be a breeze, it's today i'm dreading, having to drink that pish they give me to clear me out.
It's not very nice, no matter how many times i've had to take it.:sick:
Good luck with it all!
10-12-2024, 08:17 AM
Good luck with it all!
:aok: Dont start with the moviprep until 5pm, just eaten my last meal until tomorrow afternoon. :boo hoo:
10-12-2024, 10:51 AM
:aok: Dont start with the moviprep until 5pm, just eaten my last meal until tomorrow afternoon. :boo hoo:
Got the camera thing about 6 months back. Can't remember the name of the stuff I got but I remember initially thinking it wasn't too bad. Then it really started kicking in. Have fun. :greengrin
10-12-2024, 11:10 AM
Got the camera thing about 6 months back. Can't remember the name of the stuff I got but I remember initially thinking it wasn't too bad. Then it really started kicking in. Have fun. :greengrin
Cannae wait. :greengrin
10-12-2024, 11:20 AM
Hibs lost to Celtic, but a battling performance and creating some great chances gives some cause for optimism. Fresh faces are required in January, but what positions are the priority? What now for David Gray - does a win on Saturday against Ross County give the season a chance of relative success?
https://pod.fo/e/28df69
https://www.youtube.com/live/HISizMxG0yw?si=VO9IAJgkrJV4KPcG
Hope everyone gets better soon.
Sorry to take it back to the topic but another good episode guys, enjoyed you picking the bones out of that game. Couple of time I was about to disagree with you but one of you got in there first 😂.
Not sure if this is the place to suggest it but I’ve been thinking are most of us guilty of trying to look at individual performances to establish why things aren’t working? Colin touched upon it but there wasn’t a lot of disastrous individual performances, even big Mike for his sitters, actually did a lot of the hard bit by finding space which not many have done against them this season.
Is a bit more in depth analysis on ‘the team’ required? It’s entirely possible to have 11 good individual performances but get beaten by an opposition that are better organised and have more of a plan/strategy with the ball.
I think we are a very poor team this season, that doesn’t necessarily mean I think all the players are crap. I don’t think we are organised at the back, the midfield doesn’t seem to function well and we don’t get our attacking players isolated against defenders, hence the poor return from nearly all our attacking players this season. It can’t all be down to individuals having off days every week.
Would be good to drill a bit deeper as to what exactly is the problem. Maybe give Neville and Carragher a call to see if they’re available 😂.
LongJohnBanger
10-12-2024, 01:22 PM
I had the tropical flavour when I took my recent moviprep. Stinking.
But extremely effective.
Sent you a DM by the way, hopefully made it through OK.
10-12-2024, 02:30 PM
I had the tropical flavour when I took my recent moviprep. Stinking.
But extremely effective.
Sent you a DM by the way, hopefully made it through OK.
I'm adding a bit of orange squash to mine, but as you say it will still be stinking. :greengrin
I've no idea what a DM is matey?:dunno:
LongJohnBanger
10-12-2024, 05:40 PM
I'm adding a bit of orange squash to mine, but as you say it will still be stinking. :greengrin
I've no idea what a DM is matey?:dunno:
Ah, sorry, meant a PM (private message). Getting my platforms mixed up.
The first lot of inflixmab I had I downed three cups of.
Second round I followed the instructions more closely and as I type this I can feel the jets of saliva in my mouth reminding me how bogging it was. Vomit inducing.
10-12-2024, 06:18 PM
Second round I followed the instructions more closely and as I type this I can feel the jets of saliva in my mouth reminding me how bogging it was. Vomit inducing.
I don’t think it’s vomit it’s meant to induce...
10-12-2024, 06:28 PM
:greengrin Yes it's not very nice, had my first one at 5pm, got another to take at 9, then the fun starts. :faf:
Hope you are getting the right treatment, it can take a while but for a lot of folk it does settle down if you get the right tablets. :aok:
Azathioprine was the one that sorted me out, but having spoken to my gastro specialist, he tells be i will be going on something different, they have better treatment now than what they prescribed 20 years ago.:pray:
Bridge hibs
10-12-2024, 06:34 PM
Bum juice, my Wife had the same a couple of weeks ago prior to her procedure at WGH, I advised her not to drive but she said the stuff isnt working yet, 15 mins later she sharted in the car ! 🤮
LongJohnBanger
10-12-2024, 06:48 PM
Arse vomit
13-12-2024, 05:13 PM
Ross County preview is available:
https://www.youtube.com/live/YWNJgLFSbSg?si=AMbKpt5sufUUOg2E
Bridge hibs
13-12-2024, 05:26 PM
Ross County preview is available:
https://www.youtube.com/live/YWNJgLFSbSg?si=AMbKpt5sufUUOg2E
Cheers Matty, will give that a swatch the morns morn 👍
e2los
14-12-2024, 05:28 PM
Nice to actually look forward to an upcoming podcast!
14-12-2024, 06:48 PM
Nice to actually look forward to an upcoming podcast!
Buzzing to talk about winning a must win game!! I
Heard you on the radio tonight Matty. Admire your prediction saying we won't be back in the bottom 2 all season. I wish I was as confident!
14-12-2024, 08:43 PM
Heard you on the radio tonight Matty. Admire your prediction saying we won't be back in the bottom 2 all season. I wish I was as confident!
I think we'll be alright. We're bad, but there are worse teams in the league imho.
14-12-2024, 09:04 PM
I think we'll be alright. We're bad, but there are worse teams in the league imho.
A lot being said about us having difficult fixtures coming up but 2 of our next 3 fixtures are against the bottom two teams in the league.
One of them has access to data so won’t be an easy game but if we can pick up wins in those games we will be well on our way to safety.
14-12-2024, 09:29 PM
A lot being said about us having difficult fixtures coming up but 2 of our next 3 fixtures are against the bottom two teams in the league.
One of them has access to data so won’t be an easy game but if we can pick up wins in those games we will be well on our way to safety.
"One of them has access to data..." 😂😂😂😂
14-12-2024, 10:40 PM
It’s funny how they’ve gone from “get thae ***** and their iPads oot ae the dug oot” to being data worshippers in the blink of an eye.
16-12-2024, 10:58 AM
Ep293 (Not) Rock Bottom
Hibs take the points in a tough win against Ross County. It was far from convincing despite the 3-1 scoreline as the fans' frustrations at an inept first half were clear to see.
On the plus side, the team dug out an essential win, leaving city neighbours Hearts rock bottom in the league at the end of the weekend.
Is it now onwards and upwards for Hibs?
https://pod.fo/e/291fc6
https://youtube.com/live/A57GUI0F5Ns?feature=share
16-12-2024, 12:57 PM
Ep293 (Not) Rock Bottom
Hibs take the points in a tough win against Ross County. It was far from convincing despite the 3-1 scoreline as the fans' frustrations at an inept first half were clear to see.
On the plus side, the team dug out an essential win, leaving city neighbours Hearts rock bottom in the league at the end of the weekend.
I remember thinking it was concerning when we were playing well or better in the early part of the season and picking up zero points.
I’m comfortable with 3 points against a horrible stuffy team like county
9 goals in 4 games - 1 away to Celtic
Small steps…
17-12-2024, 05:59 AM
Ep293 (Not) Rock Bottom
Excellent listen this week, agreed completely with the general feeling of how the game was.
Would be a boring podcast if it was a black and white as win=good, loss=bad, good to dig a bit beneath the surface.
22-12-2024, 09:52 PM
Episode will be out in podcast players in the morning but you can catch it on YouTube now:
https://www.youtube.com/live/HYpRi2MFN4Y?si=JOvrdOVmO-VROxkj
23-12-2024, 08:23 AM
Hibernian had a great weekend as the men thumped Aberdeen 1-3 at Pittodrie, and the women turned Rangers over 0-3.
With Hibs now putting some points between us and the bottom, is the pressure now off of David Gray? Martin Boyle was back to his talismanic best, does Gray deserve credit for that man management - see also the return to form of Elie Youan.
And there's a connection back between the fans and the players, how important is that leaning into the Boxing Day Edinburgh Derby against lowly Hearts?
And John is back, making a welcome return to the recording!
https://pod.fo/e/294d4a
https://www.youtube.com/live/HYpRi2MFN4Y?si=FbwLLTjTFCzujEmh
23-12-2024, 02:17 PM
Was quite enjoying that until you pointed out Tony Rougier played for Hibs over 25 years ago, ouch!
Good show though, really enjoyable listen though.
23-12-2024, 05:47 PM
Was quite enjoying that until you pointed out Tony Rougier played for Hibs over 25 years ago, ouch!
Thanks, I tried to ignore that information about Rougier as well. Clearly nonsense.
Donegal Hibby
23-12-2024, 10:24 PM
Great to see John back btw .. question I have that I think Collin mentioned … Iredale has been good IMO though because he’s more left sided has he given us better balance at the back?
23-12-2024, 10:40 PM
Great to see John back btw .. question I have that I think Collin mentioned … Iredale has been good IMO though because he’s more left sided has he given us better balance at the back?
I would say so, I think it’s definitely helped having a left footed left sided centre half, but I also think Rocky has played a big part in the defence looking stronger as well.
What do you think?
23-12-2024, 10:51 PM
There has to be a rule on the podcast guys.
His name is Sir David.
Not Sir Davie.🤬
Not Sir Dave.🤬
Sir David
Donegal Hibby
23-12-2024, 11:22 PM
I would say so, I think it’s definitely helped having a left footed left sided centre half, but I also think Rocky has played a big part in the defence looking stronger as well.
What do you think?
I think Iredale has looked a decent player but more importantly because he’s a left sided centre half it’s given us better balance at the back . I never thought Rocky was entirely comfortable playing there in fairness.
I’m delighted for Rocky , like the guys attitude and character . I think since he signed for us he always had a mistake in him which was another point brought up I think by Collin in he kept it simple and done the basics right .
Question is if he keeps playing as well as he is doing now do we try and keep him or has that ship sailed? .
LongJohnBanger
24-12-2024, 07:38 AM
There has to be a rule on the podcast guys.
His name is Sir David.
Not Sir Davie.🤬
Not Sir Dave.🤬
Sir David
No sure who was guilty of that (I'll blame Colin) but I deliberately try and refer to Sir David Gray The Legend and David Gray The Head Coach like they're two different people so I can try and protect the former's standing in my memories.
LongJohnBanger
24-12-2024, 07:52 AM
Sadly, I was correct in my recollection - Rougier joined Hibs in 97 (insert Edvard Munch's The Scream picture here).
I was probably too harsh on Tony in saying he wasn't a good footballer that was only occasionally capable of the sublime. It was a ham-fisted attempted to say that Youan is a better version of that kind of player but the increased media coverage over the last 25 years leads to more criticism being levelled at the inconsistent performances than enjoying the dropped shoulder or stepover to beat a player that results in a goal (or happy memory).
LongJohnBanger
24-12-2024, 07:54 AM
Thank you!
It was good to be back on have a chat about Hibs again - the timing has nothing to do with Hibs having won a game that someone cynically suggested 😁
24-12-2024, 07:57 AM
No sure who was guilty of that (I'll blame Colin) but I deliberately try and refer to Sir David Gray The Legend and David Gray The Head Coach like they're two different people so I can try and protect the former's standing in my memories.
I’m the same.
If he wants the Sir title as a manager, he just needs to win us the Scottish Cup this year, easy 😃
24-12-2024, 08:32 AM
I’m the same.
If he wants the Sir title as a manager, he just needs to win us the Scottish Cup this year, easy 😃
Sir David Gray The Head Coach, that's a mouthful for the lads in the Cup Final Edition Pod.
24-12-2024, 10:31 AM
Had a wee chuckle at Colin talking about how well we slowed the game down, play act a bit when injured and just stifled the **** out the game.
I've yet to see anyone say a word about that, yet use it as a bat to beat Derek McInness over the head with.
It just goes to show me that people wont give a toss about these things should we win when its SDG but dont like it when it's an opposition manager.:faf:
24-12-2024, 10:49 AM
Had a wee chuckle at Colin talking about how well we slowed the game down, play act a bit when injured and just stifled the **** out the game.
I've yet to see anyone say a word about that, yet use it as a bat to beat Derek McInness over the head with.
It just goes to show me that people wont give a toss about these things should we win when its SDG but dont like it when it's an opposition manager.:faf:
I’m all for falling to everyone else’s level 🤣
Just showing a bit of a winning mentality and that.
24-12-2024, 10:53 AM
I’m all for falling to everyone else’s level 🤣
Just showing a bit of a winning mentality and that.
Me too, just bloody win games is enough for me.:wink:
24-12-2024, 11:34 PM
Not sure it's the 3 stoogies who mention it. Tracey is the worst culprit.
Welcome back John.
hibeejeebies
25-12-2024, 11:24 AM
Good to have you back John.
Your podcasts have been a pleasure this year Gentlemen, keep them coming.
25-12-2024, 12:13 PM
Good to have you back John.
Your podcasts have been a pleasure this year Gentlemen, keep them coming.
Thank you!
From all of us on the podcast, happy Christmas to everyone and thanks to everyone who has tuned in, commented, asked, offered criticism and praise, and been a part of what we do!
26-12-2024, 09:19 PM
It's a boisterous phone in tonight as the Hibees celebrate a Boxing Day victory at Tiny. We go through the highlights of Hibs' 1-2 over Hearts in the Edinburgh derby, with goals from Josh Campbell (yes, we're crediting him with it) and Dwight Gayle cancelling out an unfortunate own goal from Rocky Bushiri.Gray gets credit for turning things around, and we're absolutely delighted for him! For details of the charity match mentioned in honour of Shaun McKinley - see here: Hogmanay Shaun Forever Match - 2024 | General Hibs Chat
https://pod.fo/e/296412
https://youtube.com/live/NF-AHafaHOs?feature=share
27-12-2024, 05:20 PM
Longer than usual preview show as we look back at Hibs’ win over Hearts and look ahead to Sunday’s game v Killie.
https://www.youtube.com/live/4PVL4jxsG0s?si=wFdJz2Zn9fGWd5En
27-12-2024, 06:04 PM
Longer than usual preview show as we look back at Hibs’ win over Hearts and look ahead to Sunday’s game v Killie.
https://www.youtube.com/live/4PVL4jxsG0s?si=wFdJz2Zn9fGWd5En
Brilliant watch as always Matty :aok:
I agree as well , Craig Gordon is a cheating bassa and i will NEVER see him in another light after getting Shiels sent off in 2006 , Doesn't matter how many saves he pulls off i will always remember him as a cheat !
Donegal Hibby
28-12-2024, 06:19 AM
In the derby it felt to me like there was a reversal of what we have seen to a degree in past derbies in Hibs were more direct in creating chances while their play was more possession based without ever really troubling us , don’t remember Smith having to make one decent save …
Even when they got the equaliser there didn’t seem to be the same reaction to when we scored as Shankland trundled back to the middle of the park . Definitely seemed to be more passion / fight from Hibs than them which maybe in the past wasn’t always the case ..
I read on here a quite a few times when discussing how the derby would go that we have all seen this movie before though this one felt to me like exactly the opposite of derbies from the past and wasn’t like the same movie at all but an entirely new one which is hopefully a start of a new era going into derby games …
One can only hope..
One question about this is … does our mentality as fans need to change and become more positive in creating this rather than dwelling on what’s happened in the past?
28-12-2024, 06:28 AM
In the derby it felt to me like there was a reversal of what we have seen to a degree in past derbies in Hibs were more direct in creating chances while their play was more possession based without ever really troubling us , don’t remember Smith having to make one decent save …
Even when they got the equaliser there didn’t seem to be the same reaction to when we scored as Shankland trundled back to the middle of the park . Definitely seemed to be more passion / fight from Hibs than them which maybe in the past wasn’t always the case ..
I read on here a quite a few times when discussing how the derby would go that we have all seen this movie before though this one felt to me like exactly the opposite of derbies from the past and wasn’t like the same movie at all but an entirely new one which is hopefully a start of a new era going into derby games …
One can only hope..
One question about this is … does our mentality as fans need to change and become more positive in creating this rather than dwelling on what’s happened in the past?
I think the mentality has shifted now. I saw it at the game and subsequently in posts on here.
The connection between the fans and players breeds the right mentality and we have that now. I haven’t seen it since our first season back up after the cup win.
7Hero
28-12-2024, 06:53 AM
A New era ? A mentality shift ?
Steady on boys, we have 1 win at tynecastle in 5 years, lets not get too ahead of ourselves.
28-12-2024, 07:06 AM
Steady on boys, we have 1 win at tynecastle in 5 years, lets not get too ahead of ourselves.
I reserve the right to get too ahead of myself.
Bridge hibs
28-12-2024, 07:08 AM
Steady on boys, we have 1 win at tynecastle in 5 years, lets not get too ahead of ourselves.Do you ever have anything positive to say ? I think to win derbies you probably need bottle and fight in abundance. As you rightly point out its our first win there in 5 years, some of that has been down to luck or being shafted by the officials but a huge **** off dollop of that has been because we shat the bed.
Thursday was the total opposite of ****ting the bed, whilst not rip snorting silky play we had a team out there who puffed out their chests and got wired in about them, nothing is ever a gimme when it comes to derbies but the hibs players on that pitch knew the significance of this game and each to a man got wired in from first to last minute, right mentality, right desire and right in about those *****.
We have the right to have a bit of a swagger after that win, lets enjoy every ****ing moment and enjoy their misery.
**** the hearts and all who sail in her 🖕
Donegal Hibby
28-12-2024, 07:16 AM
I think the mentality has shifted now. I saw it at the game and subsequently in posts on here.
The connection between the fans and players breeds the right mentality and we have that now. I haven’t seen it since our first season back up after the cup win.
In that first half it wouldn’t have flattered Hibs if we had have been 2 or 3 up as we were totally dominate though once they equalised my own first thoughts were …. here we go again which in fairness was the same in what some folk had said before/ during the game in they’ve seen this movie before .
Though after thinking about it a wee while I posted if we kept playing the way we were we were very capable of still winning it which thankfully turned out to be the case .
I did briefly have that seed of doubt after they equalised which probably was due to past games which made me wonder about our mentality in these games…
Absolutely agree about the connection between the fans and players being there which was good to see and hopefully the start of better times for the club now 👍
28-12-2024, 07:21 AM
Our players pulled faces, nicked corner flags, outfought them and took the three points from them on their own turf.
The equivalent of turning up to an old foes house party, pouring his best whisky down the sink, riding his wife, taking a jobby in his utility room and walking out with his PS5.
We done them good and proper and they didn’t even have the stomach to fight back. Pleasing.
7Hero
28-12-2024, 07:41 AM
Do you ever have anything positive to say ? I think to win derbies you probably need bottle and fight in abundance. As you rightly point out its our first win there in 5 years, some of that has been down to luck or being shafted by the officials but a huge **** off dollop of that has been because we shat the bed.
Thursday was the total opposite of ****ting the bed, whilst not rip snorting silky play we had a team out there who puffed out their chests and got wired in about them, nothing is ever a gimme when it comes to derbies but the hibs players on that pitch knew the significance of this game and each to a man got wired in from first to last minute, right mentality, right desire and right in about those *****.
We have the right to have a bit of a swagger after that win, lets enjoy every ****ing moment and enjoy their misery.
**** the hearts and all who sail in her 🖕
:hibees
28-12-2024, 09:55 AM
Our players pulled faces, nicked corner flags, outfought them and took the three points from them on their own turf.
The equivalent of turning up to an old foes house party, pouring his best whisky down the sink, riding his wife, taking a jobby in his utility room and walking out with his PS5.
We done them good and proper and they didn’t even have the stomach to fight back. Pleasing.
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
28-12-2024, 10:04 AM
There’s some stats out there (posted on here yesterday) that can be used to show us in a positive light rather than the negative one Hearts and the media have used and you’re repeating. 👍🏼
28-12-2024, 10:24 AM
There’s some stats out there (posted on here yesterday) that can be used to show us in a positive light rather than the negative one Hearts and the media have used and you’re repeating. 👍🏼
We have won the last two Boxing day derbies at Tynecastle. Over the last 5 years Hibs have won 3 and Hearts 4 derbies with 7 drawn. It is 18 years since Hearts won a boxing day derby at Tynecastle.
28-12-2024, 10:29 AM
We have won the last two Boxing day derbies at Tynecastle. Over the last 5 years Hibs have won 3 and Hearts 4 derbies with 7 drawn. It is 18 years since Hearts won a boxing day derby at Tynecastle.
We’ve won more of the last 10 derbys at tiny than they have. We’re unbeaten in 4 at tiny. Hearts have only won 1 of the last 7 derbys.