View Full Version : Times You've Been (Particularly) Proud to be a Hibby

Frogga
23-04-2024, 01:57 PM
And I don't mean so much things that happened on the pitch.

For example, sometimes I like to read the comments under the Sunshine on Leith vid on Youtube - the impact it has on fans of other clubs and even non-football fans is amazing.

Also the way our fans excelled down at Villa Park earlier in the season got such a great reaction as well.

A wee bit of positivity for a Tuesday afternoon :flag:

23-04-2024, 02:05 PM
Every day of my life I am proud to support Hibernian FC. I think one of our greatest recent achievements which makes me feel proud is the Dnipro Kids charity and all it has done and achieved in the last few years in particular.

GRA
23-04-2024, 02:07 PM
When we had 'Thank you NHS' on our strips a few seasons ago & donated a proportion of shirt sales to the local NHS charity :not worth

23-04-2024, 02:13 PM
There have been many things over the years which have made me proud to be a follower of Hibernian. But the one above all others would have to be the tremendous work put in by Hibee Steven Carr and his colleagues in helping to get the Dnipro kids to safety.

23-04-2024, 02:22 PM
Kind of on the pitch, but the reaction when Rocky nearly equalised in the Aberdeen 2017 semi final. The knowledge we weren't holders any more, but the appreciation was, ooft, some moment.

The annual Sick Kids visit photos always get me too.

Frogga
23-04-2024, 02:30 PM
Kind of on the pitch, but the reaction when Rocky nearly equalised in the Aberdeen 2017 semi final. The knowledge we weren't holders any more, but the appreciation was, ooft, some moment.

Yeah 100% - the reaction from our fans at the end of that game was special.

23-04-2024, 02:30 PM
The whole Hands Off Hibs period. Right from the start with the FTB’s press conference until when he pulled the plug. Lots of us fought for the very existence of our club 🙌

leith lynx
23-04-2024, 03:13 PM
The whole Hands Off Hibs period. Right from the start with the FTB’s press conference until when he pulled the plug. Lots of us fought for the very existence of our club 🙌

Well said comrade.

zitelli62
23-04-2024, 03:42 PM

The news he was pulling out of the deal was arguably my proudest moment being a hibs supporter knowing our club was still alive with better times ahead albeit tough times but we got there.

23-04-2024, 03:54 PM
I think the club and fans did Ron Gordon proud with the tribute to him. It was a very special moment, despite the best efforts of the away supporters.

stuart-farquhar
23-04-2024, 04:13 PM
When I realised the other options.

Bridge hibs
23-04-2024, 04:13 PM
I think seeing the posts and pictures of Dementia meeting groups always tug at my heart strings, add the Christmas dinners to that too. Volunteers making a difference to peoples lives at Easter Road stadium is just class

Im sure we will all know someone who has dementia or who have fallen on hard times

A club with class

23-04-2024, 04:15 PM
Since I bought my first Hibs scarf 64 years ago.

23-04-2024, 04:19 PM
Opening Easter Road to the Community on Christmas Day.

Hands off Hibs

Dnipro Kids

Readibg about the club's birth as a charitable organisation and the influence it had (two other major Scottish club's can thank us for their existance).

hibeez1875
24-04-2024, 12:19 PM

Yes - this for me

24-04-2024, 05:15 PM
The whole Hands Off Hibs period. Right from the start with the FTB’s press conference until when he pulled the plug. Lots of us fought for the very existence of our club [emoji119]Yep, incredible what ordinary, no actually exceptional Hibs supporters did at a very worrying time, supporting efforts and getting proper news was difficult for ex pat Hibbies in a different media age.

We owe the folk that took direct action, and not so direct a great debt for their part in demonstrating the depth of feeling that existed and exists for this club, it ultimately convinced a non footballing man in Sir Tom Farmer that the Hibs community and club was worth helping preserve.

Oh, and I am pretty proud that we don't have a list of shame like the charity thieves very own creditors list.

24-04-2024, 06:51 PM
I always feel a wee swell of pride when you see players and coaches giving up their time at Christmas to help at the HCF lunches. Same with the visits to the Sick Kids in December. My sister is a nurse there and said last year a fair few player stayed long after they were obliged to and after the cameras had left to chat, pose for more photos, sign autographs etc. I know other clubs do the same but for me the community side is a huge part of what we should be all about.

For a more personal one and less Hibs as a club more Hibs as a community one the hibs.net sponsorship of the girls academy. I was in Asda at the Jewel the other week and saw a group of about 5 or 6 girls all in their matching kits with the site logo front and centre. The girls wore a mish mash of different kits for years and seeing them all looking the part with a proper uniform look across the board had me grinning from ear to ear.

24-04-2024, 08:06 PM
Random one on a terrible day - Scottish Cup final 2021. Seeing Hibs tops all over Edinburgh from the morning onwards was a magic feeling. Pretty sure they would be all in hiding by 5pm mind you.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

Hulk0762
24-04-2024, 08:51 PM
Hands off Hibs and winning league cup after that.

fiolex1
24-04-2024, 09:17 PM
Watching sunshine on Leith at the Scottish cup final. There is no better football anthem

24-04-2024, 09:20 PM
When at the age of 72, 10,000 kilometres from Edinburgh I am wearing my now daily attire of a Hibs top of some kind in a pub or club, and someone recognises the strip and strikes up a conversation.

fiolex1
24-04-2024, 09:49 PM
Watching sunshine on Leith at the Scottish cup final. There is no better football anthem

25-04-2024, 08:39 AM
Hibs and our SOL renditions often get praised on the socials by celebrities etc with huge followings. Always a proud moment.

https://twitter.com/JKCorden/status/963647404573691905

https://twitter.com/rustyrockets/status/323223911821086721?lang=en

https://twitter.com/LennoxLewis/status/818296062100250624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5E tweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E818296062100250624%7Ctwgr%5E 68171bf54a5f51031711961352ed18310c8baaf0%7Ctwcon%5 Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailyrecord.co.uk%2Fnews %2Fscottish-news%2Fthat-great-header-lennox-lewis-9592995

25-04-2024, 09:00 AM
Scottish Cup Final 2013 vs the Green and grey hoops. Atmosphere in the last 10 minutes would've had you believing we were 3-1 up, whilst they sat on their hands and, in certain cases, left the stadium at the same time as us!!!?!

25-04-2024, 09:45 AM
Scottish Cup Final 2013 vs the Green and grey hoops. Atmosphere in the last 10 minutes would've had you believing we were 3-1 up, whilst they sat on their hands and, in certain cases, left the stadium at the same time as us!!!?!

I remember a few years later they beat us at hampden in the league cup semi final (might have been 4-2?) And there was barely a celebration from them at getting to another final. The most half arsed YNWA effort ever.

I would absolutely hate to be an Old Firm fan. Supporting hibs is a bit of a hard shift at times but supporting one of them must be the most joyless existence

25-04-2024, 11:28 AM

I think we were just happy we didn't lose 5-1 again :greengrin

25-04-2024, 11:33 AM
I think we were just happy we didn't lose 5-1 again :greengrin

I'm surprised we were ever allowed to enter the Scottish Cup that season with us being dead as a club

Hillsidehibby
25-04-2024, 11:51 AM
When at the age of 72, 10,000 kilometres from Edinburgh I am wearing my now daily attire of a Hibs top of some kind in a pub or club, and someone recognises the strip and strikes up a conversation.

I'm pretty sure Sydney is a bit further away than 10,000 kilometres Fred. Certainly feels like it when you fly there.:greengrin

mcohibs
25-04-2024, 12:27 PM
Hibs and our SOL renditions often get praised on the socials by celebrities etc with huge followings. Always a proud moment.

https://twitter.com/JKCorden/status/963647404573691905

https://twitter.com/rustyrockets/status/323223911821086721?lang=en

https://twitter.com/LennoxLewis/status/818296062100250624?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5E tweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E818296062100250624%7Ctwgr%5E 68171bf54a5f51031711961352ed18310c8baaf0%7Ctwcon%5 Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailyrecord.co.uk%2Fnews %2Fscottish-news%2Fthat-great-header-lennox-lewis-9592995

Couple of awful people you’ve quoted there to be fair 😂 Lennox seems a good lad though

25-04-2024, 12:31 PM
Couple of awful people you’ve quoted there to be fair 😂 Lennox seems a good lad though

Yeah was thinking that 😂

25-04-2024, 03:17 PM
I’m gonna jump on the 2016 win coattails, only because a Leeds fan who’d I’d know for years messaged me that day and said he was ecstatic to see us finally win. Kinda supported Leeds since Bury went defunct since.

It’s the little things !

25-04-2024, 04:11 PM
Any of the European away trips I’ve been on. Totally different atmosphere amongst people. The marches to the ground in Luzern last year and Brondby in 2016 were brilliant experiences.

scm70nyd1973
25-04-2024, 04:57 PM
I’m gonna jump on the 2016 win coattails, only because a Leeds fan who’d I’d know for years messaged me that day and said he was ecstatic to see us finally win. Kinda supported Leeds since Bury went defunct since.

It’s the little things !

With the guys having a huge connection to Hibs - bringing the kids over from Ukraine - fair made me warm inside .

Buninyong Hibby
25-04-2024, 07:52 PM
The Dnipro Kids work filled me with pride and especially since the war broke out, the care, support and help they give the kids and family.

25-04-2024, 08:39 PM
May 2016

lugz
25-04-2024, 08:47 PM
I always feel a wee swell of pride when you see players and coaches giving up their time at Christmas to help at the HCF lunches. Same with the visits to the Sick Kids in December. My sister is a nurse there and said last year a fair few player stayed long after they were obliged to and after the cameras had left to chat, pose for more photos, sign autographs etc. I know other clubs do the same but for me the community side is a huge part of what we should be all about.

For a more personal one and less Hibs as a club more Hibs as a community one the hibs.net sponsorship of the girls academy. I was in Asda at the Jewel the other week and saw a group of about 5 or 6 girls all in their matching kits with the site logo front and centre. The girls wore a mish mash of different kits for years and seeing them all looking the part with a proper uniform look across the board had me grinning from ear to ear.

Mine is purely selfish and to do with the 2nd part of this. Seeing my daughter play and score for hibs for the first time in the girls academy was a special moment.

Another one a bit different was i went to a friends dads funeral where people were asked to wear green to remember his love for our club, something very special about people turning up with scarves, green ties etc. Just one big family.

McHibby
25-04-2024, 09:03 PM

This one popped into my head, too. It was surreal and wonderful at the same time.

green with envy
26-04-2024, 07:37 AM
I took my first born to his first Hibs game when he was 10 months for the last game of the '88-'89 season and my second born aged 2 during a pre season tour of the Highlands in the summer of '91. What makes me proud as that they both are and have been H&A regulars most of their lives. And what makes me even prouder is that they still drag along with their auld man week in week out even to European trips etc as will be doing tomorrow when traveling to Perth.

26-04-2024, 08:07 AM
This one popped into my head, too. It was surreal and wonderful at the same time.Still going when Scott Brown was being interviewed post match.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

26-04-2024, 10:12 AM
Scottish Cup Final for the Cup and the pitch invasion

26-04-2024, 01:14 PM
This one popped into my head, too. It was surreal and wonderful at the same time.

Yet bizarrely the fans were slagged off for celebrating defeat or other such guff rather than a tremendous show of support which it was imo

26-04-2024, 02:11 PM
Yet bizarrely the fans were slagged off for celebrating defeat or other such guff rather than a tremendous show of support which it was imo

I’ll go against the flow and say I did not enjoy the aftermath of that game. I was even more down than I was the year before.

26-04-2024, 02:20 PM
I’ll go against the flow and say I did not enjoy the aftermath of that game. I was even more down than I was the year before.

I didn't like it either and got castigated for saying so on here previously.

It was another Hampden no show and the redeeming feature seemed to be we only got pumped rather than totally, humiliatingly pumped. The season as a whole just totally fizzled out. We were top of the league on 11th November and only won 3 more league games between then and the split and ended up in the bottom 6. We were dead and buried after half an hour in the final and beyond the first 5 minutes barely laid a glove on Celtic.

I generally show the team a wee bit support after a cup final defeat but that just felt like being at a party that I had no idea why it was being thrown.

26-04-2024, 02:28 PM
The story of the Dnipro appeal is a source of constant pride. Seeing football being a force for good with a charity set up by Hibs fans is pretty special.

26-04-2024, 03:38 PM
Hibs Community Foundation. Helping feed hundreds on Xmas day. Helped by lots of volunteers delivering them. Seeing people's faces on Xmas day when dropping off a meal to them and knowing you were the only person they would see that day. Heartbreaking.

26-04-2024, 03:39 PM

It was another Hampden no show and the redeeming feature seemed to be we only got pumped rather than totally, humiliatingly pumped. The season as a whole just totally fizzled out. We were top of the league on 11th November and only won 3 more league games between then and the split and ended up in the bottom 6. We were dead and buried after half an hour in the final and beyond the first 5 minutes barely laid a glove on Celtic.

I generally show the team a wee bit support after a cup final defeat but that just felt like being at a party that I had no idea why it was being thrown.

I seem to remember Eoin Doyle missing a sitter of a header to put us 1-0 up as well, before being hammered by Gary Hooper.

26-04-2024, 04:39 PM

Even more down that the Hearts final not getting that. I get what you are saying i thought it was a show of defiance that we were still able to get to finals after apparently being killed as a club. I get there are clearly different views to that. Can remember we did something similar in mid 80s when losing to Aberdeen 3 0 in the league cup final and the fans were supporting brilliantly. Suppose that was the first final in years. Personally much prefer that than fans bailing out on the team which we seem to be quite good at as a fan base. What is that song We’ll support you ever more 😄

26-04-2024, 04:40 PM
I seem to remember Eoin Doyle missing a sitter of a header to put us 1-0 up as well, before being hammered by Gary Hooper.

Stokesy was a big factor in that game also think he set up first two.

26-04-2024, 08:27 PM

Don't think it was a sitter, but from my memory fell jnto the "decent chance" category.

Maybe after about 5 minutes.

27-04-2024, 10:43 AM

Russell Latapy borrowed my 50 Hibs goals v Hearts DVD on the 4IH bus that day, still not got it back. 🙂

27-04-2024, 12:03 PM
Every day of my life I am proud to support Hibernian FC. I think one of our greatest recent achievements which makes me feel proud is the Dnipro Kids charity and all it has done and achieved in the last few years in particular.

I was going to post that. Made national news as well 👍

27-04-2024, 12:15 PM
Even more down that the Hearts final not getting that. I get what you are saying i thought it was a show of defiance that we were still able to get to finals after apparently being killed as a club. I get there are clearly different views to that. Can remember we did something similar in mid 80s when losing to Aberdeen 3 0 in the league cup final and the fans were supporting brilliantly. Suppose that was the first final in years. Personally much prefer that than fans bailing out on the team which we seem to be quite good at as a fan base. What is that song We’ll support you ever more ��

I agree on both fronts. The 3-0 final v Aberdeen. We were never in the game, the Hibs fans just kept singing and the team got great backing, first final since the two replay SCF seven years earlier.

The Celtic final was another no show. After the year before, many of us felt it was a huge kick tae the stanes but there was also a strong sense that we were giving the v's to the fickle fates and saying we're beaten but we're not defeated.

I'm always proud of being a Hibby, but I feel a particular warm Hibernian glow when I see all the good work done by the Community Foundation, the Hanlon-Stevenson Foundation, the Dnipro kids. For all the increased commercialisation of the club, we seem to being doing more than ever in our communities.

27-04-2024, 12:29 PM
Stokesy was a big factor in that game also think he set up first two.

👍

Ran the show remember thinking if only we could get Stokesy back we might have a chance in this Scottish Cup lark 😀

timewilltell
27-04-2024, 12:42 PM
5-0 v Naples with Dino Zoff in goals
6-1 v Sporting Lisbon
2-1 v Celtic, League Cup Final 1972
7-0 v Hearts at Tyncastle New Year's Day
1-0 v Liverpool Fairs Cup
3-0 v Rangers at Ibrox. Sproul hat
3-0 v Rangers at Ibrox Scottish Cup
2-1 That Scottish cup final!

27-04-2024, 01:31 PM
There was a young Hibs supporter, I think from Inverness, that had to go in hospital in Glasgow and loads of Hibs Fans in the area went in to visit him, just to cheer him up.

These were people that had never even met before but did this out of the kindness of their hearts for a kid going though a rough time.

I found that really moving.

27-04-2024, 03:09 PM
Russell Latapy borrowed my 50 Hibs goals v Hearts DVD on the 4IH bus that day, still not got it back. 🙂

I beginning to think it's not been borrowed matey? :wink:

27-04-2024, 03:13 PM
I beginning to think it's not been borrowed matey? :wink:

I think that there's more than a hint of truth in that statement. ☺️

davym7062
27-04-2024, 08:19 PM
good bad whatever. im always proud to be hibby

27-04-2024, 08:30 PM
There was a young Hibs supporter, I think from Inverness, that had to go in hospital in Glasgow and loads of Hibs Fans in the area went in to visit him, just to cheer him up.

These were people that had never even met before but did this out of the kindness of their hearts for a kid going though a rough time.

I found that really moving.

That’s fantastic

27-04-2024, 09:57 PM
0-7 . 6-2 . 2-3

28-04-2024, 06:40 AM
21-5-2016

Thought I was going into cardiac arrest at 90+2 my heart was racing and my brain felt three times the size of my skull

SOL was awesome but to me Glory Glory to the Hibees was out of this world as I remembered family members no longer with us that never lived to see it

‘I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag’

Not a dry eye in the house

https://youtu.be/u0padd0C1Is?si=3tHEWyweLUYmwFqS

28-04-2024, 08:42 AM
I agree on both fronts. The 3-0 final v Aberdeen. We were never in the game, the Hibs fans just kept singing and the team got great backing, first final since the two replay SCF seven years earlier.

The Celtic final was another no show. After the year before, many of us felt it was a huge kick tae the stanes but there was also a strong sense that we were giving the v's to the fickle fates and saying we're beaten but were not defeated.

I'm always proud of being a Hibby, but I feel a particular warm Hibernian glow when I see all the good work done by the Community Foundation, the Hanlon-Stevenson Foundation, the Dnipro kids. For all the increased commercialisation of the club, we seem to being doing more than ever in our communities.

Good post agree with that

lugz
28-04-2024, 03:44 PM
21-5-2016

Thought I was going into cardiac arrest at 90+2 my heart was racing and my brain felt three times the size of my skull

SOL was awesome but to me Glory Glory to the Hibees was out of this world as I remembered family members no longer with us that never lived to see it

‘I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag’

Not a dry eye in the house

https://youtu.be/u0padd0C1Is?si=3tHEWyweLUYmwFqS

Brings tears to the eyes that. What a special day.

Greensunshine
28-04-2024, 06:55 PM
The three cups I’ve seen us win in my lifetime.

All three made me immensely proud of the team and the place I grew up I .

Support your local team being my war cry to anyone from Edinburgh supporting any of the ugly sisters!