View Full Version : Brands you don't see in football anymore

21-04-2024, 06:39 PM
Watching the game at Hampden today I noticed a Hearts fans wearing a retro top made by Admiral. I'm certain they also made kits for Rangers the year we beat them in the Skol Cup semi final and famously made the England national team kit in the 70s and 80s. I don't think they have any high profile sponsorships anymore.

LeCoqSportif are another. They were everywhere for a while but now you hardly seem them and a quick look online suggests they only manufacture for a handful of teams now. Their Hibs kits were a bit of a mixed bag but they have produced some great tops down the years.

I also remember when Sondico were right up there with Uhlsport and Reusch as the go to goalkeeper glove. Now they are relegated to the bargain bin at Sports Direct and I doubt they have a pro keeper on their books. Even the latter two are less prominent than they used to be as Nike and Adidas have thrown big money at the top keepers to wear their brand.

What ever happened to Bukta? Do Mitre only do match balls now or do they still make apparel? Any other brands that have fallen by the wayside down the years?

Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 06:40 PM
Patrick?

21-04-2024, 06:42 PM
Patrick?

Still the king of casual cagoules 😃

21-04-2024, 06:44 PM
Gola? Never matched the kudos of the likes of Adidas, Diadora or Puma but still around.

21-04-2024, 06:44 PM
As a kid I had Hummel football boots, are they still in existence

Bridge hibs
21-04-2024, 06:45 PM
Simlam

WHAM
21-04-2024, 06:46 PM
Not completely gone and still do a few teams but Umbro not as popular any more.

IMO done the best Scotland strips by a mile.

21-04-2024, 06:47 PM
Patrick?

Good shout.

Asics is another. Still a huge running brand but they made a few football kits years ago, Japan in 1998 being one I remember.

Valsport also made amazing football boots. Black and simple. Up there with Puma Kings and Adidas Copa Mundial but again haven't seen anyone wear them in years.

21-04-2024, 06:49 PM
Quasar.

Gary Lineker wore their boots back in the day.

I saw somebody mentioning not seeing Puma Kings any more - I wear a pair to 7’s every Friday, I was given them by a former Hibs captain.

They’re a 9.5 instead of my usual 9s - which, it turns out, was the answer I was looking for getting football boots to fit all those years.

Absolutely top notch, the best I’ve ever had. Love them. They deserve better than to be sported by my current footballing incarnation.

21-04-2024, 06:50 PM
Simlam

Simlam Argentina were the best football boots i ever had! Scored 5 goals in a 13-0 win wearing those 😃

Silky
21-04-2024, 06:50 PM
Do Mitre only do match balls now or do they still make apparel? Any other brands that have fallen by the wayside down the years?

Funny you say that. I was having a wander in Sainsbury's in Cameron Toll last Wednesday and they were selling Mitre goalie gloves. I'd never seen them before, so they caught my eye. I've also seen shin pads, but that's about it. I think their main interest is balls.

Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 06:56 PM
Good shout.

Asics is another. Still a huge running brand but they made a few football kits years ago, Japan in 1998 being one I remember.

Valsport also made amazing football boots. Black and simple. Up there with Puma Kings and Adidas Copa Mundial but again haven't seen anyone wear them in years.

Remember darren Jackson wearing asics boots. Made me want a pair

Silky
21-04-2024, 06:57 PM

Apparently so, Billy.

21-04-2024, 06:57 PM
Bukta

21-04-2024, 06:59 PM
I remember having a pair of Power Savannah boots, late 70's.

21-04-2024, 07:03 PM
Wagon Wheels

21-04-2024, 07:04 PM
I remember coming home with a pair of silver Predators in the early 00s and my dad scoffing in disgust at firstly silver boots and worse a goalkeeper in silver boots.

He threatened me with a pair of Timpson Continentals. Always remember the line but what the hell were they?

Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 07:06 PM
I remember coming home with a pair of silver Predators in the early 00s and my dad scoffing in disgust at firstly silver boots and worse a goalkeeper in silver boots.

He threatened me with a pair of Timpson Continentals. Always remember the line but what the hell were they?

They like Timpsons permagrips? Good for winter apparently 😂

21-04-2024, 07:07 PM
Christ in my time if Youd turned up in Silver boots youd have spent tge second half in Blackpool Victoria Hospital. Only David Bowie wore silver boots 😃

21-04-2024, 07:19 PM
I think one of pair of mouldies I had was Diadora. Loved them when I played and found them up the loft but the sole cracked when they were flexed.

21-04-2024, 07:20 PM
Stylo made both football boots and golf shoes.

Sure the trademark football boot was the Stylo Matchmaker which appear to be long gone now now.

21-04-2024, 07:23 PM
Funny you say that. I was having a wander in Sainsbury's in Cameron Toll last Wednesday and they were selling Mitre goalie gloves. I'd never seen them before, so they caught my eye. I've also seen shin pads, but that's about it. I think their main interest is balls.

Mitre definitely used to make boots. Primarily rugby but pretty sure they did fitba boots too

Bridge hibs
21-04-2024, 07:25 PM
Used to have a pair of Sondiko keeper gloves, cheap crap and the rubber strips fell of after a couple of saves

HerbDailly
21-04-2024, 07:30 PM
Topper!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240421/4f3abea2496ccf289c25941fa5657558.jpg

HerbDailly
21-04-2024, 07:34 PM
Quick
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240421/bb8dc6cecd7ff5f980470eec318b0e43.jpg

Liam6270
21-04-2024, 07:37 PM
Matchwinner made some cracking kits, Fila made a few Scotland kits and Latapy used to wear Fila boots. Can anyone remember ProStar making amateur kits as well?

HerbDailly
21-04-2024, 07:41 PM
TFG, FBT, Spall, Sondico, Hi-Tec.

This was a rabbit hole I went down years ago! Uhlsport, Lonsdale, Marathon.

21-04-2024, 07:43 PM
Matchwinner made some cracking kits, Fila made a few Scotland kits and Latapy used to wear Fila boots. Can anyone remember ProStar making amateur kits as well?

ProStar were pretty much the go to for youth team kits in the 90s and early 00s.

I think a couple of the posher teams had Stanno.

21-04-2024, 07:44 PM
Apparently so, Billy.

Thanks Silky, I wore a red pair around 1974 or so😀

21-04-2024, 07:46 PM
Couldnae beat a pair of Adidas Winfield football boots with four stripes with unintentional moulded soles the mark of a man available from a Woolies store near you when I was growing up ( Billy’s Boots)

Also had Tommy Goes To War with plastic hair a substitute for Action Man

Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 07:48 PM
The Italian brand that made boots di canio wore. Can’t mind their name

21-04-2024, 07:52 PM

Was it Kappa?

Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 07:57 PM
Was it Kappa?

Na not them. Just checked its Pantofola d'Oro. Mind people buying them
In the 90s cos he wore them.

Fuzzywuzzy
21-04-2024, 08:00 PM
Fiorentina and st etteinne had some cracking le coq kits

CB Hibs 68
21-04-2024, 08:05 PM
Macaroon Bars and Wrigley Spearmint chewing gum.Don’t see these brands at Fitba these days 🇳🇬

21-04-2024, 08:08 PM
Patrick?

At one time, JJB Sports owned the Patrick brand, for those who remember the days of JJB always having Patrick boots in stock whilst arguing with their parents to get Adidas or Puma or Nike boots :greengrin no idea who owns Patrick now

MKHIBEE
21-04-2024, 08:13 PM
Were power point boots a brand? Had a pair as a kid.

stuart-farquhar
21-04-2024, 08:17 PM
Ralph.

Bridge hibs
21-04-2024, 08:20 PM
Were power point boots a brand? Had a pair as a kid.

They were indeed, although I had never heard of them 😁 27829

I think they were Bata Power Points

Bridge hibs
21-04-2024, 08:24 PM
Dunlop football boots, I remember Gola too

Siralbertkidd
21-04-2024, 08:24 PM
Ralphie

Lendo
21-04-2024, 08:29 PM
Not a brand, but you just don’t see anyone wearing plain black football boots any more.

Greensunshine
21-04-2024, 08:33 PM

Sergio Tachini

Renfrew_Hibby
21-04-2024, 08:57 PM
Not a brand that made an impact in the UK but I love the fact that Derbystar are producing the match balls for the Bundesliga now.
An almost forgotten brand in Germany, right back at the forefront of the game over there.

21-04-2024, 09:01 PM
Lotto

21-04-2024, 09:02 PM
Lotto

Great shout.

Petr Cech used to wear their goalie gloves when he first signed for Chelsea.

Chorley Hibee
21-04-2024, 09:02 PM
Not a brand that made an impact in the UK but I love the fact that Derbystar are producing the match balls for the Bundesliga now.
An almost forgotten brand in Germany, right back at the forefront of the game over there.

I play as a goalkeeper in a local 7 a side league, and I recently purchased a pair of Derbystar goalkeeper gloves whilst in Germany.

Really impressed by them.

21-04-2024, 09:03 PM
Great shout.

Petr Cech used to wear their goalie gloves when he first signed for Chelsea.

They were my first pair of boots back in around 1987 I think

They also used to make the Holland strips if I remember right

21-04-2024, 09:05 PM

They have a store in my local mall so yes very much! They make the kit of the Danish national team.

leith lynx
21-04-2024, 09:05 PM
Litesom

21-04-2024, 09:10 PM
Another glove brand that you hardly see pro keepers wear now is Selsport.

The Wrappa model was everywhere in the early 00s and was revolutionary at the time. I remember paying £50 for a pair in about 2001 which seemed crazy money at the time. Then they lost most of their sponsored keepers to Sells. The latter also seems to have become more scarce as well although Craig Gordon was sporting a pair of their gloves at Hampden today.

leith lynx
21-04-2024, 09:15 PM

The Wrappa model was everywhere in the early 00s and was revolutionary at the time. I remember paying £50 for a pair in about 2001 which seemed crazy money at the time. Then they lost most of their sponsored keepers to Sells. The latter also seems to have become more scarce as well although Craig Gordon was sporting a pair of their gloves at Hampden today.

I had a pair of Peter Bonnetti gloves back in the day, they were a sort of emerald green felt material, matched with Alan Ball white boots!

21-04-2024, 09:18 PM
Mitre definitely used to make boots. Primarily rugby but pretty sure they did fitba boots tooMitre was my 'go to' mouldies brand. They just fit really well.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

21-04-2024, 09:29 PM
Quasar.

I saw somebody mentioning not seeing Puma Kings any more - I wear a pair to 7’s every Friday, I was given them by a former Hibs captain.

They’re a 9.5 instead of my usual 9s - which, it turns out, was the answer I was looking for getting football boots to fit all those years.

Absolutely top notch, the best I’ve ever had. Love them. They deserve better than to be sported by my current footballing incarnation.

I also still wear Puma King when I play 7s, I alternate between them and the other king of the football boot world Adidas Copa Mundials, been that way since I was about 15 and learnt to appreciate how good they both are

In my youth I used to have a cracking set of Diadora Baggios and a set of those adidas where the three stripes wrapped right round the bottom of the boot

Colin Campbell's at Inverleith was always my go to shop for my football boots

21-04-2024, 09:31 PM
Litesom

One of my youth teams used to wear Litesome kits. I remember when the new Litesome kits were unveiled it generated a load of excitement. That would have been around 76/77. We thought we were the bees knees but still didn’t improve our results much.

21-04-2024, 09:33 PM

As seen at Wembley today 👍

leith lynx
21-04-2024, 09:36 PM
Pony

leith lynx
21-04-2024, 09:43 PM
One of my youth teams used to wear Litesome kits. I remember when the new Litesome kits were unveiled it generated a load of excitement. That would have been around 76/77. We thought we were the bees knees but still didn’t improve our results much.
Seem to remember there was a sports shop near the foot of Leith Walk that sold or was an agent for Litesome, Leith Athletics?... remember as kids we used to try and pick out the best strips from the free catalogue!

Logie Green
21-04-2024, 09:54 PM
Do Glasgow Rangers count?

Renfrew_Hibby
21-04-2024, 09:56 PM
Mind a lot of teams sporting Matchwinner kits in the late 80s/early 90s you also had Avec around the same time but that was down south.
Matchwinner created some fairly far out kits for the likes of Falkirk, Hamilton and Morton.

21-04-2024, 10:39 PM
The Italian brand that made boots di canio wore. Can’t mind their name Pantofola d'ora from an image search

21-04-2024, 10:42 PM
Seem to remember there was a sports shop near the foot of Leith Walk that sold or was an agent for Litesome, Leith Athletics?... remember as kids we used to try and pick out the best strips from the free catalogue! They were a decent way up the walk on the right going up but the may have had more than one store. Maybe one at Canonmills too or was that Colin Campbell Sports. There was a sports Shop at Meadowbank Too on the other corner from the Golden Gates I think

SerenityGreen
21-04-2024, 10:43 PM
Quasar.

Remember wearing a pair of quasar boots back in the day. Horrible, horrible pair of boots.
Puma Kings quite literally the "King" of football boots. Once started wearing them, never wore anything else.

HerbDailly
21-04-2024, 11:04 PM
Carbrini

21-04-2024, 11:35 PM
Stylo made both football boots and golf shoes.

Sure the trademark football boot was the Stylo Matchmaker which appear to be long gone now now.

Yes I had a pair of Matchmakers, great boots.

22-04-2024, 04:28 AM
Jo and Russel

cocteautwin
22-04-2024, 06:25 AM
Wagon Wheels

Wagon wheels, square kwenchie cups and packets of white wrigleys gum being sold by the guys circling the pitch . . . . . . . jumpers for goal posts.

22-04-2024, 06:45 AM
Wagon wheels, square kwenchie cups and packets of white wrigleys gum being sold by the guys circling the pitch . . . . . . . jumpers for goal posts.

Don’t forget the cartons of watered doon Kia Ora that came with a straw

22-04-2024, 06:57 AM
What about Hi-Tec?

I had a pair of Kings Cup back in the day.

MKHIBEE
22-04-2024, 07:19 AM
Jo and Russel
Russell is still around unfortunately

Halmyre Hibee
22-04-2024, 07:24 AM
My first pair of boots were power points in 1969.

Gloucester Hibs
22-04-2024, 07:26 AM

Errrrrrrra spearmint chewing gum! A-macaroon bars!!

leith lynx
22-04-2024, 07:31 AM
Don’t forget the cartons of watered doon Kia Ora that came with a straw

Aye, and the saltiest plain crisps you could imagine which meant more Kia Ora!

22-04-2024, 07:41 AM
Was gonna mention Kappa I’m sure someone else has done. I remember my near neon orange Kappa zippy up back in 90 something…

22-04-2024, 07:44 AM
Mind Xara and TFG making numerous SPL kits

Resurch, sure it was goalie gear

Sondico

Murphys Touch
22-04-2024, 07:51 AM
Pantofola d'ora from an image search

They are still about and make really smart traditional looking boots and trainers. I have a pair of our black leather trainers and had a brown pair a few years ago.

Pricey mind you

22-04-2024, 08:41 AM
Spall

Hibiza
22-04-2024, 08:53 AM
My usual rant , apologies , decent Pie and Bovril.

22-04-2024, 09:09 AM
The best football the world has ever seen?

22-04-2024, 09:55 AM

Dave who lurks on here and has posted as the glove man in the past, was the man who invented them if i remember rightly, i'm almost sure it was them? :greengrin

Dave travels up with the Lancashire Hibs lot, lives in greater Manchester.

22-04-2024, 10:25 AM
Dave who lurks on here and has posted as the glove man in the past, was the man who invented them if i remember rightly, i'm almost sure it was them? :greengrin

Dave travels up with the Lancashire Hibs lot, lives in greater Manchester.

That's interesting. I've always been curious as to the story around them as they just appeared out of nowhere and literally everyone wanted a pair. In the days before really widespread internet shopping it was Colin Campbell Sports that was the big stockist in Edinburgh.

They were an amazing glove. I know any brand can't just stand still but if they had kept the exact model from the 01/02 season then I doubt I would ever have worn anything else. The fit was just perfect and the branding was spot on with the name right up the 2nd finger and the strap round the bandage wrist matching the backhand.

I think it was Nigel Martyn who said they belonged in an art gallery rather than on a football pitch.

beensaidbefore
22-04-2024, 10:30 AM
First boots in about 1986 we a pair of Botras, never seen or heard anyone else mention them.

MGmick
22-04-2024, 12:44 PM
Do Glasgow Rangers count?

:top marks:

Not in my world.

22-04-2024, 12:59 PM
Admiral

22-04-2024, 01:04 PM
Fila - remember Scotland had some great Fila gear in the mid noughties.

In the rugby world Cotton Oxford was all the rage in the late 90s, again Scotland having some classic kits made by them.

Le Coq Sportif still make France’s rugby kits (lovely they are too).

Reebok also has disappeared lately. Used to love the classics as a kid. Also had a pair of Reebok Pumps as a young lad.

22-04-2024, 02:25 PM
Stylo Matchmakers. Had a pair of these in the mid-70s before graduating on to Adidas then Puma. Think most of the Liverpool team of the time - Kevin Keegan and co - wore the Stylos.

edit - see Carheenlea has already mentioned Stylos.

hibstag
22-04-2024, 02:38 PM
Not completely gone and still do a few teams but Umbro not as popular any more.

IMO done the best Scotland strips by a mile.

Umhro were bought by Nike who took all the big contracts off them - England man city, the branding rights were sold under licence to Ashley who filled sports direct with cheap umbro products until the licence expired, I think a management buy out from Nike happened a few years ago and they have returned to the upper end of the sportswear market

22-04-2024, 02:45 PM
I remember Joe Baker and Billy McEwan wearing the white Hummels and Jimmy O’Rourke saying they got a voucher for Thornton’s Sports Hanover Street at the start of every season and if they wanted a decent pair they had to make up the difference themselves and Strachan refusing to sign because Turnbull wouldn’t pay for his Adidas

22-04-2024, 02:50 PM
Spam rolls & chewy chewing gum

hibstag
22-04-2024, 02:56 PM
Mind a lot of teams sporting Matchwinner kits in the late 80s/early 90s you also had Avec around the same time but that was down south.
Matchwinner created some fairly far out kits for the likes of Falkirk, Hamilton and Morton.
On old Scottish football photos on Facebook A while ago there was a black and black white picture of Hamilton and Morton playing in the same matchwinnet kit template of a base colour and White arrow pattern they looked exactly the same although it would have been blue vs red in colour

22-04-2024, 03:43 PM
Meyba Barcelona kits in 80s

22-04-2024, 04:51 PM
There was more than a few of the legendary brown Admiral tops at Wembley yesterday.

22-04-2024, 05:07 PM
There was more than a few of the legendary brown Admiral tops at Wembley yesterday.

That was a great design of strip. Coventry, Wales and dundee all had it from memory

22-04-2024, 05:27 PM
Watching the game at Hampden today I noticed a Hearts fans wearing a retro top made by Admiral. I'm certain they also made kits for Rangers the year we beat them in the Skol Cup semi final and famously made the England national team kit in the 70s and 80s. I don't think they have any high profile sponsorships anymore.

LeCoqSportif are another. They were everywhere for a while but now you hardly seem them and a quick look online suggests they only manufacture for a handful of teams now. Their Hibs kits were a bit of a mixed bag but they have produced some great tops down the years.

I also remember when Sondico were right up there with Uhlsport and Reusch as the go to goalkeeper glove. Now they are relegated to the bargain bin at Sports Direct and I doubt they have a pro keeper on their books. Even the latter two are less prominent than they used to be as Nike and Adidas have thrown big money at the top keepers to wear their brand.

What ever happened to Bukta? Do Mitre only do match balls now or do they still make apparel? Any other brands that have fallen by the wayside down the years?

My biggest memory of Admiral strips was the Leeds United ones from the early to mid 70s. They had flashes on their socks with their shirt numbers on them.

22-04-2024, 05:29 PM
My biggest memory of Admiral strips was the Leeds United ones from the early to mid 70s. They had flashes on their socks with their shirt numbers on them.

Remember’ Dirty Leeds’ changing their badge to a smiley face as well 😀

22-04-2024, 05:32 PM
Can't remember the manufacturer but in the 70s there were football boots where the front four studs revolved on a sort of turntable.

Lots of players got injuries when mud got in them and they jammed when trying to swivel.

Edit - Hummel Tufspin

Dazzjw1875
22-04-2024, 05:44 PM
Canne mind if I'm 100% but I'm thinking Lotto or something similar Italian brand.

22-04-2024, 07:16 PM

I'm sure they wore it during the SKOL tournament held in Edinburgh in 1979.

22-04-2024, 07:44 PM
Caramac and spearmint chewing gum 🤔😄

Groathillgrump
22-04-2024, 07:46 PM
On old Scottish football photos on Facebook A while ago there was a black and black white picture of Hamilton and Morton playing in the same matchwinner kit template of a base colour and White arrow pattern they looked exactly the same although it would have been blue vs red in colour

Not football related but your post reminded me of the famous comment from the snooker commentator, Ted Lowe.

“For those of you watching in black and white, the pink is next to the green.” :greengrin

22-04-2024, 07:49 PM
I'm sure they wore it during the SKOL tournament held in Edinburgh in 1979. They did. Not a strip I will ever forget seeing

22-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Couldnae beat a pair of Adidas Winfield football boots with four stripes with unintentional moulded soles the mark of a man available from a Woolies store near you when I was growing up ( Billy’s Boots)

Also had Tommy Goes To War with plastic hair a substitute for Action Man

Adidas Winfield was my first thought when I saw this thread followed by Stylo George Best white boots.

Both were plastic and your feet sweated and stunk like nothing on earth after wearing them.

22-04-2024, 08:15 PM
Adidas Winfield was my first thought when I saw this thread followed by Stylo George Best white boots.

Both were plastic and your feet sweated and stunk like nothing on earth after wearing them.

Think ma first bits were Timpson Top Dog tbh before graduating to Puma King Pele thanks to Crops and a heavy paper round

22-04-2024, 08:24 PM
Canne mind if I'm 100% but I'm thinking Lotto or something similar Italian brand.
Lotto boots were good. Toweling inside which you didn't see back then. Ruud Gullit wore them at Milan and about half the players in Serie A around early 90s. They made kits for AC Milan, Juve, Fiorentina, Napoli and also Dutch national team. The Croatia team of France 98 wore a Lotto kit.

Mizuno boots were really popular with players early - mid 90s. Remember Kevin McAllister and Mickey Weir wearing them. Pretty sure Mickey wore Mizuno in the 91 Cup final. Never see their football boots now.

22-04-2024, 09:47 PM
Meyba Barcelona kits in 80s

My first holiday abroad in 84 on the Costa Brava. Bought an official Meyba Barcelona vest. Great purchase. My mate bought the yellow away strip with the red and blue stripe down one side of the chest. Still think my vest was better!

22-04-2024, 09:49 PM

I’ve been watching one on eBay for ages. Just to keep tabs on it. £1999.99!

22-04-2024, 09:57 PM
That was a great design of strip. Coventry, Wales and dundee all had it from memory

Add Belgium and Eintracht Frankfurt. Loved those strips. Still got my Subbuteo Wales and Dundee versions.

WellingtonHibby
23-04-2024, 03:47 AM
Lotto boots were good. Toweling inside which you didn't see back then. Ruud Gullit wore them at Milan and about half the players in Serie A around early 90s. They made kits for AC Milan, Juve, Fiorentina, Napoli and also Dutch national team. The Croatia team of France 98 wore a Lotto kit.

Mizuno boots were really popular with players early - mid 90s. Remember Kevin McAllister and Mickey Weir wearing them. Pretty sure Mickey wore Mizuno in the 91 Cup final. Never see their football boots now.

Mizuno boots are popular in NZ as they make rugby specific boots too, the mouldies version are popular for astro over here

23-04-2024, 11:23 AM

I had a pair of Mizuno boots, they were pretty decent.

Like you I hadn’t seen them for years, until one of Celtic’s players was wearing them on Saturday at Hampden! One of the Japanese players (I think), white boots with red Mizuno logo

ozwoody
24-04-2024, 12:21 AM
Like others I had Winfield boots, moving on to Dunlop ones as I grew older.
First gloves were the knitted sondico gloves with the stitched knobbly " grip" that unstitched after bout 3 games.

Mitre balls with the dimples that made marks on legs after getting hit with them in winter was a particular PTSD moment.

Not a brand that's gone, but I did miss the Umbro box set kit you got at Christmas that had shirt, shorts and socks in it was a particular favourite

24-04-2024, 09:58 AM
Mitre balls with the dimples that made marks on legs after getting hit with them in winter was a particular PTSD moment

The dreaded Mitre Mouldmaster. Hideous thing. More like a basketball than a football. Remember the sting as one cracked off my thigh on a cold Sunday morning at Cavalry Park.

24-04-2024, 09:03 PM
Caramac and spearmint chewing gum 🤔😄 err a Macaroon Bar too

26-04-2024, 05:20 PM
Fila - remember Scotland had some great Fila gear in the mid noughties.

In the rugby world Cotton Oxford was all the rage in the late 90s, again Scotland having some classic kits made by them.

Le Coq Sportif still make France’s rugby kits (lovely they are too).

Reebok also has disappeared lately. Used to love the classics as a kid. Also had a pair of Reebok Pumps as a young lad.

Fila still big on the retro casual scene. Ive got several items 😃

27-04-2024, 05:28 AM

Fila had some journey as a brand - in the early 80s it was really just a brand for wealthy skiers or tennis players - the ski jackets were £150 then which would translate to over £600 nowadays.

But you could probably now buy a Fila jacket for £100.

28-04-2024, 08:23 PM
When Nike were on the Hibs strips c10 years ago (Im reluctant to say they made the kits as they were produced under licence), a lot of the leisurewear in the club shop was Avec stuff. Something to do with the third party who ran the shop at the time, I think.

28-04-2024, 09:49 PM

The Fila gear now is like something you’d have got at Ingliston market. Very poor quality compared to the early 80s attire.

29-04-2024, 03:46 AM
The Fila gear now is like something you’d have got at Ingliston market. Very poor quality compared to the early 80s attire.

Yeah sadly so - some still looks good but it’s harder to pull off a Bjorg tracksuit top as a 54 year old with a beer belly than it was as a spritely 14 year old 🫣[emoji38]

inglisavhibs
29-04-2024, 10:37 AM
Macaroon Bars and Wrigley Spearmint chewing gum.Don’t see these brands at Fitba these days 🇳🇬
You’ve lost the youngsters of today😬💚

zitelli62
03-05-2024, 10:54 PM
Just watched a scots/irish documentary on bbc and forgot how big admiral were in the 70s and 80s.

Wee Fatty
04-05-2024, 11:51 AM
Look at you lot with your fancy brands. My first boots were a pair from my mum's catalogue with the name SPORT on them.:boo hoo: