View Full Version : Why do Hearts wear maroon?

Dan Sarf
21-04-2024, 01:12 PM
I mean, what were they thinking of?

Berwickhibby
21-04-2024, 01:14 PM
Colour of the Dance Hall they were named after apparently

21-04-2024, 01:18 PM
I thought they originally wore red, white and blue. Someone washed the strips and they came out maroon so they just went with that.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

21-04-2024, 01:22 PM
Because they’re ****s

21-04-2024, 01:24 PM
Actual colours weren't available?

21-04-2024, 01:27 PM
Why would anyone in their right mind wear anything that colour? Fechin hideous.

21-04-2024, 01:28 PM
I thought they originally wore red, white and blue. Someone washed the strips and they came out maroon so they just went with that.

That can't be right, the tramps don't wash anything, they just shoplift new stuff.

21-04-2024, 01:30 PM
Disgusting colour 🤮 💩 😏

21-04-2024, 01:31 PM
Al Murray was once asked why his pub landlord character wore a maroon jacket. He said it was because he was an unlikeable character and maroon was such a **** colour.

Brunswickbill
21-04-2024, 01:32 PM
Back in the 50s folk called the colour marown, 2nd syllable pronounced “Oh” rather than “Oo.” I wonder when the pronunciation changed.

21-04-2024, 01:38 PM
I mean, what were they thinking of?

Did they lose a bet? :dunno:

21-04-2024, 01:41 PM
It’s one the most unfashionable colours on the pallette, and the least aesthetically pleasing, so a natural fit really.

21-04-2024, 01:42 PM
It’s one the most unfashionable colours on the pallette, and the least aesthetically pleasing, so a natural fit really.

If a colour and smell could be matched up, surely maroon and the smell of the breweries round tynecastle would be a natural pairing as well

21-04-2024, 01:44 PM
The were going for jobby brown but someone suggested they liven it up with a bit of red and that was the end result?

21-04-2024, 02:15 PM
Strips were red white and blue St Andrews horizontal stripes went in too high a wash hence maroon

Happened all the time in amateur fitba :greengrin

21-04-2024, 02:17 PM
The Making of Hibs, of all places, explained it was because red white and blue Hearts merged with another team who played in blue hoops (?) really early days and it was agreed neither would be the strip going forward and maroon was chosen.

Donegal Hibby
21-04-2024, 02:31 PM
One of life's great mysteries that question , probably whoever decided to go with a s**** colour like that was intoxicated at the time ! .

DIXIHIBS
21-04-2024, 02:53 PM
Coz sh#te doesn't show...

21-04-2024, 02:57 PM
The definition of dull. Perfect for them.

Green Reaper
21-04-2024, 03:03 PM

I think this is actually mentioned in the McCraes Battalion book.
Weirdly, I once read a comment from one of them about the buses being maroon saying "it adds a bit of colour for the tourists" 😂

21-04-2024, 03:48 PM
Coz sh#te doesn't show...
😄

21-04-2024, 04:07 PM
Beige hadn't been invented yet.

Victor
21-04-2024, 04:16 PM
Marron is a French word for brown. So it’s definitely a brownish red i.e [emoji90]

21-04-2024, 04:38 PM
So their shirts match the jobbies that reflect how they play at Hampden v Rangers.

21-04-2024, 04:44 PM
Because it's the nearest colour they could get to to the word Moron?

21-04-2024, 04:47 PM
They wanted to br the first team to wear a colour not found in nature.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

21-04-2024, 04:48 PM
It looks very nice with brown corduroy strides, a nice blazer and some sensible Brogues?

21-04-2024, 04:51 PM
S**t doesn’t show on a maroon top

Only inside it

Merde today

21-04-2024, 04:52 PM
Because it totally suits them

21-04-2024, 04:53 PM
It's also the ultimate colour for a typical Hearts car.

21-04-2024, 04:54 PM
Practicality.

A colour with above-average stain hiding properties.

21-04-2024, 05:10 PM
It's quite chic on a cardigan though especially when worn with yellow cords.

He's here!
21-04-2024, 05:50 PM
There's a scientific reason behind it, known as the 'bellend barometer', which measures a person's character. In studies, when presented with a choice of which Edinburgh club to support based on their colours, those who opt for the vibrant, glorious Hibernian green are immediately discarded from the study whereas those who opt for the cheerless, repellent maroon are automatically accorded bellend status.

21-04-2024, 05:57 PM
Strips were red white and blue St Andrews horizontal stripes went in too high a wash hence maroon

Happened all the time in amateur fitba :greengrin
Remember Liverpool having pink trims as they had an accident when washing the strips.

21-04-2024, 06:01 PM
Marron is a French word for brown. So it’s definitely a brownish red i.e [emoji90]

Spanish too

21-04-2024, 06:02 PM
Cause they kept spelling Burgundy wrong.

CB Hibs 68
21-04-2024, 06:18 PM
Honestly.Why do Heatrs wear maroon as a thread.Utter nonsense.End of .

Victor
21-04-2024, 06:35 PM
Honestly.Why do Heatrs wear maroon as a thread.Utter nonsense.End of .

Think that touched a nerve!

21-04-2024, 06:38 PM
Think that touched a nerve!Heaters wearing maroon is probably a whole other thread.......

Victor
21-04-2024, 06:49 PM
Heaters wearing maroon is probably a whole other thread.......

[emoji2]

21-04-2024, 06:54 PM
I applaud hearts for their forward thinking, the perfect colour to go with driving a rover and wearing a cardigan.

Victor
21-04-2024, 07:16 PM
I applaud hearts for their forward thinking, the perfect colour to go with driving a rover and wearing a cardigan.

Or promenading on the Plaza after a slap-up meal at the Tynecastle Hotel.

21-04-2024, 07:47 PM
Or promenading on the Plaza after a slap-up meal at the Tynecastle Hotel.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkChicken in a basket?

CB Hibs 68
21-04-2024, 08:14 PM
Think that touched a nerve!

Nah just the fact that such a nonsense thread exists.Mote concerned myself about how ***** our team is .No need for a meaningless debate/ slag off of that teams colour.

21-04-2024, 08:17 PM
Is it because it rhymes with balloon?

DIXIHIBS
21-04-2024, 08:20 PM
Nah just the fact that such a nonsense thread exists.Mote concerned myself about how ***** our team is .No need for a meaningless debate/ slag off of that teams colour.

Plenty threads about how crap we are. This is just just a meaningless debate that you feel the need to join.

Victor
21-04-2024, 08:23 PM

It’s a big nerve!![emoji33]

21-04-2024, 08:25 PM

We are Hibs fans our sole existence is to slag off Hearts 😃

Greensunshine
21-04-2024, 08:26 PM
Something to do with The Heart Of Midlothian Dance hall if memory serves.

Who ****ing cares, they’ve won **** all for twelve years in a Mickey Mouse league and they still think they’re a big team! Strange behaviour!

Bridge hibs
21-04-2024, 08:27 PM
Why do hearts wear maroon ? Because no other sensible colour would touch them

Manks

21-04-2024, 08:44 PM
A question that the Colourblocks on CBeebies might be able to answer?

21-04-2024, 09:54 PM
Surely Hearts wear maroon as a tribute to Levein's performance when they won the league at Dens back in 1986?

22-04-2024, 12:10 AM
Because at the bar in the dance hall, the carpet turned that colour due to the constant mixing of fag ash and spilt red wine?

Apologies in advance to anyone offended.

22-04-2024, 08:07 AM
Because they're bl**dy s***e

22-04-2024, 08:11 AM
Jobbies dont show on maroon shorts

22-04-2024, 03:20 PM
Excerpt from HMFC A Pictorial History that confirms their red white and blue horizontal stripes got dyed in the wash

https://i.ibb.co/41MwktZ/IMG-2647.png (https://ibb.co/VwD069W)
pic url maker (https://imgbb.com/)

22-04-2024, 03:53 PM
I never realised that the original Hearts disbanded in 1876and were reformed in 1877

22-04-2024, 04:36 PM
I never realised that the original Hearts disbanded in 1876and were reformed in 1877

Not for the last time either. They were wound up again in 1905 when the limited company (which was only formed a couple of years earlier) went bust. They reformed pretty quickly.

Not that we can say much about such matters after our wee 'interlude' from 1891-93

22-04-2024, 05:55 PM
Excerpt from HMFC A Pictorial History that confirms their red white and blue horizontal stripes got dyed in the wash

Where is Powbum?

Albert Kidd 86’
22-04-2024, 06:13 PM

“ the 4th game was a battle of charging, kicking and tripping”, I would love to see one of those, just for one game drop var, no ref, let the players “sort it out”.

22-04-2024, 06:23 PM

Note the trophy that they're proudly displaying there after scraping past us in the 4th replay... is now permanently in Hibs possession after we won it three years in a row

22-04-2024, 06:33 PM
“ the 4th game was a battle of charging, kicking and tripping”, I would love to see one of those, just for one game drop var, no ref, let the players “sort it out”.

And they continued to adopt those tactics for the next 144 years.

22-04-2024, 06:45 PM
Where is Powbum?

Saville Terrace Mayfield

22-04-2024, 07:56 PM
Note the trophy that they're proudly displaying there after scraping past us in the 4th replay... is now permanently in Hibs possession after we won it three years in a row
These colours don't run
Oh wait they do run in the wash

22-04-2024, 08:00 PM
These colours don't run
Oh wait they do run in the washAnd every time a creditor turns up.

22-04-2024, 08:48 PM
https://media1.tenor.com/m/BcmTI9XpbukAAAAC/facepalm-bugs-bunny.gif

23-04-2024, 03:29 AM
Back in the 50s folk called the colour marown, 2nd syllable pronounced “Oh” rather than “Oo.” I wonder when the pronunciation changed.

The Queensland rugby league team is still called the mar-owns. I just assumed it was an Australian thing.

Gloucester Hibs
23-04-2024, 06:32 AM
It's said Hearts were named after a local dance hall of the time. For comparison, were they to be formed today, they might be named "Club Tropicana FC" :greengrin

23-04-2024, 05:03 PM
It's said Hearts were named after a local dance hall of the time. For comparison, were they to be formed today, they might be named "Club Tropicana FC" :greengrin
The drinks won't be free though.

He's here!
29-04-2024, 11:54 AM
It's when they wear all-maroon, without even the white shorts to break it up, that its hideousness as a kit colour is really exposed.

xyz23jc
29-04-2024, 12:23 PM
The drinks won't be free though.

Pretty sure someone else will be paying tho...! Benny or the good Dr....! :greengrin

29-04-2024, 06:05 PM
Because they’re ****s

Took 3 responses ! 🤣 I was gonna say that.