View Full Version : Message from the board
18-04-2024, 10:37 AM
When the Foley investment was first announce this forum was split between it being the best thing since sliced bread and the last thing we want as we will lose our identity. I said I would wait and see what they do.
Not making the top six meant there had to be a review, and probably casualties.
What I find interesting is the review is being carried out by the Black Nights, they seem to be wielding a lot of influence for a minority shareholder, though they do have places on the board.
I fear that the Gordon family are not as committed to the Club as Ron was, a bit like Brooks Mileson at Gretna. Very quickly after he died the family withdrew their financial support.
Hibs were Ron's project and I think the family are looking for a way out, content to sit in the background until that can be achieved.
I'm not suggesting we'll go bust and I'm not suggesting the review is not desperately needed, and I'm still in the "wait and see camp" before deciding if the BK investment is a good or bad thing.
I think we are now at the start of what will be a very interesting period in our history with the next couple of seasons being pivotal
The Black Knight Group are a multi national/multi sports empire, they will have lots of best practices and processes in place, makes sense that if they are involved then their expertise in this should be used
18-04-2024, 10:46 AM
Only the ones who deserve it.
Pah! I've never deserved it :offski:
18-04-2024, 10:49 AM
Could it not be that they realise this is a difficult gig if you are not 100% experienced in what you are doing. Lets get that experience onboard with us and take the club to where Ron wanted it to go! I feel sure they do not want to let Ron or the fans down.
That would be my take on it. The BK involvement was to benefit from much more than just a cash injection.
18-04-2024, 11:01 AM
Pah! I've never deserved it :offski:
That's why I have never had a pop at you.......:wink:
18-04-2024, 11:03 AM
That would be my take on it. The BK involvement was to benefit from much more than just a cash injection.
I agree and don't even think the money was the primary consideration.
I like the Gordons and feel sorry that things haven't worked out how they hoped so far not to mention Ron's untimely passing.
Hopefully this new era will move us in the right direction.
18-04-2024, 11:08 AM
What does that mean? Can you give examples of his tone? Or what he was saying?
Apparently he was honest and recognised it wasn’t good enough.
18-04-2024, 11:14 AM
I agree and don't even think the money was the primary consideration.
I like the Gordons and feel sorry that things haven't worked out how they hoped so far not to mention Ron's untimely passing.
Hopefully this new era will move us in the right direction.
I’m in the same boat. Mistakes have undoubtedly been made but I have never had any doubts that Gordon family have the best intentions for the club.
18-04-2024, 11:25 AM
When the Gordon's took over, they raised expectations.
I've never doubted they want what's best for us, I just don't think they know how to deliver it.
Hopefully they learn quickly from the BKs influence.
If that means a new CEO, DoF or manager then so be it.
Sioux
18-04-2024, 11:27 AM
I'm pleased they mentioned that they are doing this review in conjunction with the Black Knights Group.
It points to a more rational approach to deciding Monty's future, which will dismiss all the 'he needs a window', 'can't keep sacking managers', 'he's a nice guy' pish. His record with us is not capable of withstanding any scrutiny and he will rightly be binned, albeit several months too late.
We have proven for years that we have sod all expertise in evaluating and recruiting managers so hopefully we can pool their knowledge, use their contacts and attract and appoint a decent replacement.
Virtually every manager in Scottish football is sacked for being a failure. A new one comes along and is sacked, and so on and so on.............
On that basis, no club has any expertise in appointing managers. Its a never ending circle that can't be broken very easily.
18-04-2024, 11:48 AM
Personally I think Montgomery will be gone at the end of the season. The games left are pretty well meaningless, apart ensuring we don't go into the playoffs, there's very little I would imagine that would impress the board and/or BK enough to keep him on IMO.
Maybe i'm wrong but i think decision has been made already, hes had most of season and its no better than last season
I'm pleased they mentioned that they are doing this review in conjunction with the Black Knights Group.
It points to a more rational approach to deciding Monty's future, which will dismiss all the 'he needs a window', 'can't keep sacking managers', 'he's a nice guy' pish. His record with us is not capable of withstanding any scrutiny and he will rightly be binned, albeit several months too late.
We have proven for years that we have sod all expertise in evaluating and recruiting managers so hopefully we can pool their knowledge, use their contacts and attract and appoint a decent replacement.
What happens if they decide to stick with him? Does that mean all the ‘needs a window people’ are right or do we add the black knights to the next should we get rid poll?
18-04-2024, 11:56 AM
Spot on. A more rational approach to footballing matters at Hibs is long overdue.
If a review effectively led by Black Knights decides Montgomery is the guy then fine and good luck to him, if it doesn't then perhaps some of those who seem to be allergic to questioning him and the club over this and previous season performances will be able to be a little less enraged about examining why we keep under performing.
I'm Spartacus
18-04-2024, 12:00 PM
#
Jeezo, take a pill and calm doon!
Ben gave you a slap or something cos thats some post!!!
Haha I've slept on it :) Utterly pissed off last night, I just think it's unfair to churn that out, mention Monty, and give people the impression it's all on the footballing side of things - the fake tanned elephant in the room needs addressed and PRONTO.
The manager recruitment has been shambolic, and the person responsible for that seems to sail through time after time withouth a ripple in the water.
18-04-2024, 12:02 PM
When the Gordon's took over, they raised expectations.
I've never doubted they want what's best for us, I just don't think they know how to deliver it.
Hopefully they learn quickly from the BKs influence.
If that means a new CEO, DoF or manager then so be it.
Yes, this.
Foley/BK must see that Hibernian FC are their best (only) route to European exposure and will invest accordingly. Otherwise, the whole thing has been a big waste of time. I suppose all we can do is wait and see.
18-04-2024, 12:12 PM
Perhaps having Foley reviewing and overseeing the "football operations" might give us a best of both worlds scenario where the current off the pitch model seems to be generating significant revenue continues under the Gordons and Kensell leading, and now we'll have an experienced hands on approach from BK to give us, and them the best opportunities to move decent players successfully through the group resulting in improved performances on the pitch
A model that Man Utd loosely look to be trying to implement too
18-04-2024, 12:33 PM
Perhaps having Foley reviewing and overseeing the "football operations" might give us a best of both worlds scenario where the current off the pitch model seems to be generating significant revenue continues under the Gordons and Kensell leading, and now we'll have an experienced hands on approach from BK to give us, and them the best opportunities to move decent players successfully through the group resulting in improved performances on the pitch
A model that Man Utd loosely look to be trying to implement too
I’d love to know who the BK’s footballing advisors are. They will likely be the best money can buy but there doesn’t seem to be any chat as to who they are.
Greensunshine
18-04-2024, 12:34 PM
Having read the statement I think it’s pretty clear BK will have a huge say in what happens next.
Unfortunately for NM I think he’s shown that he’s really not the man for this job and my opinion is that BK will be currently be drawing up a list of names that they’ll want in the hot seat to help further their agenda.
18-04-2024, 12:57 PM
I’d love to know who the BK’s footballing advisors are. They will likely be the best money can buy but there doesn’t seem to be any chat as to who they are.
I feel like everyone is super excited at the prospect of them coming in, and I understand why, but you’d expect they’ve done the same in France and that doesn’t seem to going so well?
I’m aware of Bournemouth punching way above their weight right now, but I am a bit unsure that these guys will be the magic bullet people think they are.
Obviously there is always a risk they would not get the results we want.
Here’s hoping we see some significant changes because the club is seriously lacking direction IMO.
There needs to be a clear strategy set by the club and the DoF. The DoF should be the person in charge of the football. They set the direction and everything works underneath them.
They should be a long term appointment, someone who is willing to give up 5 or more years to the club and its success.
It seems to me the BMc was a short term thing (certainly in his mind). I asked him in Switzerland why he had taken the job, surely you’d want to retire and not sign up to a big project but it seemed to me he never really seen it as a long term project.
I like him. I think he is a good scout etc. i would like to see him kept on as per the EEN article.
I would be worried that this is going to take a long time to review (for me, surely it has been getting reviewed sonce the announcement) and then appoint a new DoF who will then need to appoint a manager.
Why can we not just get this all done in a timely fashion.
By all accounts the CEO’s role is under scrutiny.
So too the DoF.
So too the manager.
The squad is bloated with players not good enough.
That is massive sweeping changes that we need to happen in a matter of weeks.
I really hope they’ve been working away at this for some time.
We want to be ready for the league cup groups. I expect us to canter out of them, full points. Swinging our knobs about by the time the real football starts.
Hearts are in Europe, that will affect them. We simply must capitalise.
18-04-2024, 01:25 PM
I’m aware of Bournemouth punching way above their weight right now, but I am a bit unsure that these guys will be the magic bullet people think they are.
I think it should be remembered that Bournemouth's upward trajectory started well before Black Knights became involved.
BK bought Bournemouth in December 2022. Bournemouth had risen from League Two to the Premier League between 2009 and 2015, stayed there until 2020 and were promoted in 2nd place again in 21/22.
That's not to say they aren't doing a good job or that it's not an exciting venture to be a part of but I think a lot of people are attributing Bournemouth's rise through the leagues and their extended stay in the EPL to Foley and his group and that's not the case. They bought a club already in a pretty strong position albeit the trajectory still looks upward. They finished 15th last season and look likely to better that by a place or 3 this season.
Have the BK group not paid the same for 25% that Ron paid for the whole club? If that's the case then they'll want a big say in how all this moves forward, the Gordon's know they need expertise and BK gives them that. Give them 25%, allow them to take over the footballing side which then continues Ron's dream for the club.
18-04-2024, 01:40 PM
What happens if they decide to stick with him? Does that mean all the ‘needs a window people’ are right or do we add the black knights to the next should we get rid poll?
I'd be delighted to see that review. Reviews are all evidence based and the fact he has got he haw right since he got here in 8 months, I'd love to see their justification of that.
18-04-2024, 01:42 PM
Have the BK group not paid the same for 25% that Ron paid for the whole club? If that's the case then they'll want a big say in how all this moves forward, the Gordon's know they need expertise and BK gives them that. Give them 25%, allow them to take over the footballing side which then continues Ron's dream for the club.
They own under a quarter of the club and will get under a quarter of a say. It makes hee haw difference what they paid.
18-04-2024, 01:46 PM
Yeah that’s right.
So no matter what some try say about Kensell and the Gordon’s, they’ve made the club worth alot more money during their tenure.
Everything off the pitch is there, it’s unfortunately the hardest bit we’re struggling with on the pitch.
Some of the comments towards them are absolutely mental, there is no clear or defined route for success. They’re trying alot of different things.
Hopefully the Black Knights input finally helps us on the pitch.
I'm Spartacus
18-04-2024, 01:52 PM
Another thing that's annoying.
The Black Knights and Ben Kensell having the same initials :greengrin
18-04-2024, 01:55 PM
Only message I want to hear is following a review we have made the decision to terminate Monty’s contract. The guy is a disaster.
18-04-2024, 01:56 PM
What was the reaction when Aberdeen released the statement after they lost to Darvel singling out Goodwin and stating the 'football monitoring group' had made it clear to him things had to improve?
My memory was it was pretty much ridicule across the board from their own fans, their own ex players (most vocally Alex McLeish), fans of other teams and the media. He was sacked a week later.
We have all but made the same statement now. I don't have any real issue with it as such. Singling out the manager isn't great but then the people who wrote it are partially responsible for the problems and they were never likely to single out themselves. It's the lot of a manager that they carry the can when things aren't working whilst players and the executive team have a greater degree of shielding.
We have backed ourselves into a corner now though. Some people have read the statement as a backing of Montgomery and expect him to be here next season, others see it as an ultimatum and think it has all but sealed his fate. Whatever action we take next will be subject to criticism now. Sack him and it will be 'shocking after backing him only a few weeks ago', lose a couple of bottom 6 games and then retain him and it will be 'so what was the point in the review if he just gets away with it?'
As I said before I do feel for the club a wee bit. There was an element of they had to say something at play and no matter how bland the statement they put out it was always going to be pored over and double meanings or hints found. Maybe it was a time when less would have been more. Omit anything that singles out any one individual. 'The board are aware of supporter feeling and we know this season hasn't been good enough. We are working with the Black Knights Group and will be carrying out a full review of all club operations in the coming weeks. Thank you for your support'.
What the statement does do is to place Monty under a lot of pressure to get good results in these last five games. In that sense, they are no longer meaningless, at least not for him. We can all then measure how he has responded to that pressure, and also how the players respond on his behalf, especially with the fallback that the review might cost him his job even with good results and finishing best of the rest.
Leaving aside the fact that these next five games are bottom six games, what do folk think would represent "improved results" against such opposition?
St Johnstone (A) - previously L
Ross County (A) - previously D
Aberdeen (H) - previously W
Motherwell (H) - previously D
Livingston (A) - previously W
That's 8 points from a possible 15 for the previous corresponding fixtures this season. So 9 points from the last five games (2W,3D or 3W,2L) would be an improvement statistically, but surely no-one will find that acceptable.
I'd suggest that for Monty to have any chance of staying on we'll have to finish best of the rest, be unbeaten over these games, and win at least three of them i.e. take at least 11 points. And even then, the manner of how these points are gained will be scrutinised as part of the review so he could still be oot the door. Scraping by just will not do. If he's to have any chance of staying into next season and getting a window, we will need to be gaining these points and finishing best of the rest with positive, dare I say commanding performances.
They own under a quarter of the club and will get under a quarter of a say. It makes hee haw difference what they paid.
You keep believing that 😂
18-04-2024, 02:18 PM
Only message I want to hear is following a review we have made the decision to terminate Monty’s contract. The guy is a disaster.
You'll be waiting for a new year tipple to celebrate it then.
Leith_Hibee
18-04-2024, 02:20 PM
I've done my own review of football operations at Easter Road and I conclude that we need to sign better players! Its as easy as that. Sign players ready for 1XI football into the 1XI and supplement it with potential.
18-04-2024, 02:22 PM
Ratcliffe only owns 25% of Man U but runs the football side of things. I know that’s not been announced at Hibs but it just shows it’s not the percentage but the agreed remit that’s important.
18-04-2024, 02:23 PM
You'll be waiting for a new year tipple to celebrate it then.
I F’ing hope not.
18-04-2024, 02:28 PM
Disaster really
18-04-2024, 02:37 PM
https://x.com/pieandbov/status/1780943975962103844?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Stats from a Twitter page about our games this season.
Keep in mind Gray won one of the games against Aberdeen and LJ lost the first 3.
Brutal read.
18-04-2024, 02:42 PM
https://x.com/pieandbov/status/1780943975962103844?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Keep in mind Gray won one of the games against Aberdeen and LJ lost the first 3.
Brutal read.
Failing to beat Motherwell twice, when we should have. Failing to beat Ross County twice, when we should have. Those are the ones that jump out to me. Eight points chucked away against absolute garbage when we were leading in all of those games.
18-04-2024, 02:44 PM
Failing to beat Motherwell twice, when we should have. Failing to beat Ross County twice, when we should have. Those are the ones that jump out to me. Eight points chucked away against absolute garbage when we were leading in all of those games.
Losing twice to St Johnstone is criminal too.
18-04-2024, 02:46 PM
It was but we were just absolutely brutal in those games.
The games where we chucked away the leads were worse for me. Sum up the whole season. I’ve banged on about it but the amount of times we scored two goals and failed to win a game was beyond a joke.
18-04-2024, 02:49 PM
Ratcliffe only owns 25% of Man U but runs the football side of things. I know that’s not been announced at Hibs but it just shows it’s not the percentage but the agreed remit that’s important.
That's very different. He's been given full control of the footballing side.
The Black Knights have none and we have committed to the SFA that they will have none.
Is hee haw an opinion :faf:
18-04-2024, 02:49 PM
The St Mirren game in January at a time we had Maolida and Marcondes was genuinely one of the worst performances i have ever seen in terms of lack of fight energy ability. Rolled over by a hard working organised but undoubtedly limited team was abysmal.
hibeerealist
18-04-2024, 02:51 PM
Haha I've slept on it :) Utterly pissed off last night, I just think it's unfair to churn that out, mention Monty, and give people the impression it's all on the footballing side of things - the fake tanned elephant in the room needs addressed and PRONTO.
The manager recruitment has been shambolic, and the person responsible for that seems to sail through time after time withouth a ripple in the water.
It's the way of the world, those at the top hold those underneath them accountable its the more junior person who cops it.
However, if you look at things this way;
BK is CEO he has been successful in increasing our turnover significantly and was party, along with IG , to bringing in BF and The BK. In summary he has had some success.
NM has failed at every turn and will go as a result. Also take into account that NM will not be miles away on income (with BK) and has to take responsibility for the performance of the team.
hibeerealist
18-04-2024, 02:56 PM
That's very different. He's been given full control of the footballing side.
The Black Knights have none and we have committed to the SFA that they will have none.
The undertaking to the SFA was the minority shareholder will not be running the business and they have no desire to (at this stage anyway). They are far more knowledgeable on football matters than BK/IG/KG and it makes sense to let them take over or at least greatly influence that side of the business.
18-04-2024, 03:01 PM
Brutal read.
Those stats are why it baffles me that people think he'll survive this review. First thing to do is show the review panel that tweet and get on to Quantas.
18-04-2024, 03:03 PM
The undertaking to the SFA was the minority shareholder will not be running the business and they have no desire to (at this stage anyway). They are far more knowledgeable on football matters than BK/IG/KG and it makes sense to let them take over or at least greatly influence that side of the business.
I agree but we committed to the SFA that their involvement is limited.
18-04-2024, 03:03 PM
Disaster really
Yeah I stand by that Jim. Performances, results and what’s going on behind the scenes makes me believe he is.
18-04-2024, 03:16 PM
Yeah I stand by that Jim. Performances, results and what’s going on behind the scenes makes me believe he is.
I get that particularly around performances and results however the behind the scenes stuff i kind of struggle with as undoubtedly you will be passing on what you hear in good faith though my immediate reaction to that is thinking of underperforming players using the coach as an excuse. Whenever we struggle that sounds like to me and i may be totally wrong that this is a common message that comes out in an attempt to abdicate responsibility. May be we should trust in the coach to get rid of players that are underperforming.
18-04-2024, 03:17 PM
What’s going on behind the scenes in relation to Monty that adds to him being a disaster?
18-04-2024, 03:23 PM
:agree: You don't have clubs making public statements about not being good enough if the manager isn't a disaster.
18-04-2024, 03:24 PM
Those stats are why it baffles me that people think he'll survive this review. First thing to do is show the review panel that tweet and get on to Quantas.
I’m on your side of the argument however I suppose the point of the review is to understand what’s causing those stats. The review won’t just be to look at the end results, it’s to look at how we arrived at the end results.
18-04-2024, 03:34 PM
I get that particularly around performances and results however the behind the scenes stuff i kind of struggle with as undoubtedly you will be passing on what you hear in good faith though my immediate reaction to that is thinking of underperforming players using the coach as an excuse. Whenever we struggle that sounds like to me and i may be totally wrong that this is a common message that comes out in an attempt to abdicate responsibility. May be we should trust in the coach to get rid of players that are underperforming.
All I’d say to that is the things I’ve heard (and I’m not alone on here) it is not a case of players using the coach as an excuse, their issues/concerns are legitimate imo.
18-04-2024, 03:48 PM
There are 2 of the BK on the executive Board. That's 2 out of 5. Them, Ian and Kit Gordon, and Kensell.
So... 40%, and maybe 60 depending on how Ben feels .
18-04-2024, 03:52 PM
https://i.imgur.com/jf0kLpk.png
18-04-2024, 04:20 PM
I agree but we committed to the SFA that their involvement is limited.
It means nothing really, we could say they are limited to running the football side of the club, or limited to running the club shop.
It's just words.
It means nothing really, we could say they are limited to running the football side of the club, or limited to running the club shop.
It's just words.
Correct, anyone how doesn't believe that Foley and Co will not be offering "advice" to Hibs re players, coaching staff etc are not living in the real world.
18-04-2024, 04:50 PM
Another thing that's annoying.
The Black Knights and Ben Kensell having the same initials :greengrin
It's not helpful...
18-04-2024, 04:52 PM
Correct, anyone how doesn't believe that Foley and Co will not be offering "advice" to Hibs re players, coaching staff etc are not living in the real world.
I don’t think anyone believes they won’t be offering advice and support, it’s a big part of why we got involved with them. I’m not convinced they will be calling the shots from day one though. Foley is also a minority owner at Lorient. Is he calling the shots there ?
18-04-2024, 04:56 PM
That’s exactly what they said they’d be doing and one of the reasons given to join up with them. Which to me is great news cos our current boards track record of making football decisions is horrendous.
18-04-2024, 04:59 PM
It's just words.
It is but I believe the main driver is that the decisions have to be for the benefit of Hibs not the group.
All very confusing I know.
Greenio
18-04-2024, 05:09 PM
I don’t think anyone believes they won’t be offering advice and support, it’s a big part of why we got involved with them. I’m not convinced they will be calling the shots from day one though. Foley is also a minority owner at Lorient. Is he calling the shots there ?
I don't think the BK will be calling the shots, prob have a voice as you'd expect a part owner to though.
This review...how exactly are they looking at what brought about these losses? I'll tell them, the other team scores more goals than us, generally because we were playing pap. What then? Are they football people, tacticians, etc?
18-04-2024, 05:24 PM
Will Black Knights just keep flooding us with loans apart from maolida hardly been inspired so far and 25% is just covering Gordon’s
Greenworld
18-04-2024, 05:55 PM
I don’t think anyone believes they won’t be offering advice and support, it’s a big part of why we got involved with them. I’m not convinced they will be calling the shots from day one though. Foley is also a minority owner at Lorient. Is he calling the shots there ?They the black knights have already been heavily involved in looking into player recruitment from the past . They think it's been poor and I think we all agree that .
So I think given they want this to work will be better pretty verbal in what they think from day one .
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
18-04-2024, 06:09 PM
They the black knights have already been heavily involved in looking into player recruitment from the past . They think it's been poor and I think we all agree that .
So I think given they want this to work will be better pretty verbal in what they think from day one .
Where is the comment about them thinking our past recruitment has been poor coming from? Don't disbelieve it, just never seen it in print so was wondering....
18-04-2024, 06:17 PM
Where is the comment about them thinking our past recruitment has been poor coming from? Don't disbelieve it, just never seen it in print so was wondering....
I was thinking the same. I don’t remember ever hearing any comment from them suggesting our recruitment has been poor.
Greenworld
18-04-2024, 06:20 PM
I was thinking the same. I don’t remember ever hearing any comment from them suggesting our recruitment has been poor.I'm telling you what they think to give some balance to the discussions .
18-04-2024, 06:24 PM
I'm telling you what they think to give some balance to the discussions .
How do you know what they think?
18-04-2024, 06:35 PM
Isn’t it pretty obvious our recruitment has been poor in recent years though? Just look at the squad!
The BKs don’t have to be officially in charge to have a lot of influence. The Gordon’s said they wanted, and Ron had planned to bring in a partner like them; eg a partner with more sporting experience. It’s pretty logical that given how things have gone, that they’d make use of that partner.
That doesn’t mean Foley calling the shots, but it probably does mean Foley, or someone connected to him, leading this review and making some recommendations. Just look at our January signings, would appear a couple of them came via the BK link, but presumably we had some choice in whether to accept or not.
18-04-2024, 06:40 PM
I'm telling you what they think to give some balance to the discussions .
Do you mean you believe that’s what they will be thinking as opposed to having read or heard that anywhere ?
Rumble de Thump
18-04-2024, 07:40 PM
I read it as it was written. A review, along with Black Knight, will take place then any decisions to improve the club will be made based on that.
18-04-2024, 08:30 PM
I, probably naively, am really optimistic about the outcome of this review.
I think the Gordons need the help. I think Black Knight have the knowledge and the means to set us up to have a better chance of being successful than we have at the moment. I expect it to be revolutionary in that it forces significant change in personnel, structure and processes at the club.
I expect to see a new Sporting Director (or similar title) with Brian McDermott either leaving the club or moving to a recruitment role (think this was suggested in an Evening News article), with the academy also going through a lot of change. We know that the training centre is being upgraded, and I think this will see more than just an indoor pitch provided to improve the facility. I wouldn't be at all surprised to see appointments made by Black Knight FC either on Hibs' books or paid externally, recruitment will take a step up, with a pretty major overhaul of the first team.
I still can't make up my mind if Monty will be here to take the first team or not.
I'm Spartacus
18-04-2024, 08:37 PM
I think the Gordons need the help. I think Black Knight have the knowledge and the means to set us up to have a better chance of being successful than we have at the moment. I expect it to be revolutionary in that it forces significant change in personnel, structure and processes at the club.
I expect to see a new Sporting Director (or similar title) with Brian McDermott either leaving the club or moving to a recruitment role (think this was suggested in an Evening News article), with the academy also going through a lot of change. We know that the training centre is being upgraded, and I think this will see more than just an indoor pitch provided to improve the facility. I wouldn't be at all surprised to see appointments made by Black Knight FC either on Hibs' books or paid externally, recruitment will take a step up, with a pretty major overhaul of the first team.
I still can't make up my mind if Monty will be here to take the first team or not.
I do agree with you, the Gordons have the right intentions (never a doubt), but how Ben Kensell survives this will be beyond me. I read many other names being banded about for being culled, he's top of the list, and by some way.
18-04-2024, 08:39 PM
I think the fact one of their early acts at Bournemouth was removing the manager is telling.
Obviously Eddie Howe was the man who guided them trough the leagues but after being promoted back to the top league Gary O'Neil had done a decent job after inheriting a bad situation from Scott Parker and kept them up confortably in the end. He continues to do a decent job at Wolves. He wasn't their man though and there was no sentiment.
If you are fronting up a lot of money (even if it's relatively small fry comparative to your overall wealth) and implementing new structures and strategies then it stands to reason you want your own people leading that. I don't believe anyone involved in the failing football operation at Hibs will be comfortable right now and nor should they be.
18-04-2024, 08:52 PM
I’m quite optimistic about it as well.
It has shades of the moment of realisation Rod Petrie had about a year before we were relegated that he really needed some help and that things had to change.
Change they did, albeit we had to endure another lower league adventure. No doubt the changes during that period help provide a total change in direction for the better - and this just sort of feels like it should be the same.
Just because Petrie, like the Gordons, was around for some bad times, shouldn’t take away from the fact that his actions brought about some good times as well.
18Craig75
18-04-2024, 09:41 PM
I think the fact one of their early acts at Bournemouth was removing the manager is telling.
Obviously Eddie Howe was the man who guided them trough the leagues but after being promoted back to the top league Gary O'Neil had done a decent job after inheriting a bad situation from Scott Parker and kept them up confortably in the end. He continues to do a decent job at Wolves. He wasn't their man though and there was no sentiment.
If you are fronting up a lot of money (even if it's relatively small fry comparative to your overall wealth) and implementing new structures and strategies then it stands to reason you want your own people leading that. I don't believe anyone involved in the failing football operation at Hibs will be comfortable right now and nor should they be.
Back in September when Monty was appointed it was widely known that Hibs were fairly well down the road in securing new investors. I can’t remember if it was known at the time that it was Foley, but anyway we obviously now know that to be the case.
If you were a major investor coming in to take as active a role as BKFC seem to be; would you not want some say in the most important decision a club can make…the appointment of a new manager, so close to having an agreement in place. It might’ve already been in place as the hold up was the SPFL in the end.
Is it totally outwith the realms of possibility that Monty might just be the BKFC man given the sound bites we’re now hearing about them thinking he hasn’t had the right players (which I agree with, the squad is in the main really poor and unbalanced.)
Did Killie, St Mirren or Dundee hire a McDermott, a coach from the A league, pay £700K for a striker, flood their squad with loanees or hold two fundamental reviews of their football operation in order to finish Top Six?
This is what happens when a club becomes pretentious, corporate and remote. It's all fluff and nonsense and the reason why we are so soft.
If a local builder ran Hibs, hired an SPFL manager and players and installed a hard work ethic I would feel much more connected to our club.
We need to learn from our rivals and do the simple things right. It's not rocket science.
19-04-2024, 01:24 AM
I’d take the Dundee manager asap
19-04-2024, 04:28 AM
looks like they just picked him up off Sauchiehall street after last orders ;)
Did Killie, St Mirren or Dundee hire a McDermott, a coach from the A league, pay £700K for a striker, flood their squad with loanees or hold two fundamental reviews of their football operation in order to finish Top Six?
This is what happens when a club becomes pretentious, corporate and remote. It's all fluff and nonsense and the reason why we are so soft.
If a local builder ran Hibs, hired an SPFL manager and players and installed a hard work ethic I would feel much more connected to our club.
We need to learn from our rivals and do the simple things right. It's not rocket science.
Why do we need an spfl manager?
19-04-2024, 05:44 AM
Why do we need an spfl manager?
I'm banging the same drum to be honest. We're the most un-streetwise team in the league. Can't see games out and being out smarted Craig Levein and co. Think we need someone who knows what Scottish football is all about. Gordon, Kensell, McDermott don't so we need a manager that does in my opinion.
19-04-2024, 05:45 AM
Or, we appointed a director of football, hired a league winning manager and signed a striker that was killing it for his team in Holland.
It’s pretty standard stuff. It hasn’t gone well, but it’s hardly pretentious.
19-04-2024, 06:03 AM
100% a Manager I’d be looking at.
Comes across very well, knows the league inside out, good recruitment and got his Dundee side playing brilliant football.
Hes moved McCowan centrally who is flourishing, recruited guys like Beck, Boateng and Sylla who are very good players.
Seems very similar to Mcinnes but sides play more football. Weirdly Dundee have conceded the 3rd most amount of goals in the league, something I’m sure he’ll want to address.
19-04-2024, 06:13 AM
It's just words.
Agree can easily be done without real awareness outside the club. Club unlikely to announce it publicly.
Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2024, 06:22 AM
is it totally outwith the realms of possibility that Monty might just be the BKFC man given the sound bites we’re now hearing about them thinking he hasn’t had the right players (which I agree with, the squad is in the main really poor and unbalanced.)
Yes, it is out with the realms of possibility imo. Or at least it’s outwith the realms of possibility that they chose him previously. Whether they look at him now and think ‘that’s the guy’ is anyone’s guess, but there’s no way they chose him back at the start of the season when they weren’t involved with us imo.
19-04-2024, 06:41 AM
Unbelievable that we've taken 7 points off Dundee and they've finished above us
19-04-2024, 06:47 AM
I'm banging the same drum to be honest. We're the most un-streetwise team in the league. Can't see games out and being out smarted Craig Levein and co. Think we need someone who knows what Scottish football is all about. Gordon, Kensell, McDermott don't so we need a manager that does in my opinion.
We weren't outsmarted by Levein.
We missed loads of chances and they scored twice from 2 attempts at goal.
We also had a stonewall penalty not given.
Fair play to St Johnstone for mugging us but it was hardly prime Guardiola from the dug out that did it.
Funny how when we win its never due to the manager if folk don't like him yet every time we lose its a combination of our poor management and them having a genius directing them.
19-04-2024, 07:07 AM
Fair play to St Johnstone for mugging us but it was hardly prime Guardiola from the dug out that did it.
Funny how when we win its never due to the manager if folk don't like him yet every time we lose its a combination of our poor management and them having a genius directing them.
The manager would get loads of praise if he was winning consistently and getting results against the better teams. The fact the vast loads of fans are on his back is due to him not winning consistently, never beating the better teams and consistently throwing games away. It’s a nonsense to put any blame on the fans for this, we’re all sick to the back teeth with it.
19-04-2024, 07:24 AM
The manager would get loads of praise if he was winning consistently and getting results against the better teams. The fact the vast loads of fans are on his back is due to him not winning consistently, never beating the better teams and consistently throwing games away. It’s a nonsense to put any blame on the fans for this, we’re all sick to the back teeth with it.
Who's blaming the supporters?
All I am doing is pointing out the blatant contradiction.
Surely you see it?
19-04-2024, 07:39 AM
We recorded a sort of phone in last night to get fans' opinions on the statement, which you can get here:
https://www.youtube.com/live/uppVrdAr0ak?si=yBLwDxzuEYqGABgG. Unfortunately I forgot to record it so can't edit it, so you need to skip past the first couple of minutes.
19-04-2024, 07:52 AM
Who's blaming the supporters?
All I am doing is pointing out the blatant contradiction.
Surely you see it?
The reason the manager is getting it tight is his results and performances, any manager in his position would be treated the same. People aren’t getting on his back for the sake of it. When a scenario like you are describing happens it shows the managers time is up as there’s no way he’ll win the fans back. Any blip in form going forward and he’ll be getting it tight again. His time is up.
19-04-2024, 07:53 AM
100% a Manager I’d be looking at.
Comes across very well, knows the league inside out, good recruitment and got his Dundee side playing brilliant football.
Hes moved McCowan centrally who is flourishing, recruited guys like Beck, Boateng and Sylla who are very good players.
Seems very similar to Mcinnes but sides play more football. Weirdly Dundee have conceded the 3rd most amount of goals in the league, something I’m sure he’ll want to address.
Yeah i've been very impressed by him. McInnes's number two for years so obviously learned from him. Montgomery did beat him at Dens though :greengrin
19-04-2024, 08:03 AM
The reason the manager is getting it tight is his results and performances, any manager in his position would be treated the same. People aren’t getting on his back for the sake of it. When a scenario like you are describing happens it shows the managers time is up as there’s no way he’ll win the fans back. Any blip in form going forward and he’ll be getting it tight again. His time is up.
It might very well be. He still wasn't "outsmarted" by Levein.
19-04-2024, 08:23 AM
I agree with that bit to an extent but it’s beginning to look like other managers are just defending deep and waiting for an opportunity to arise (they know it will) to hit us on the break and score. It doesn’t take a footballing genius to work this out. It’s not like it’s only happened once.
19-04-2024, 08:28 AM
I agree with that bit to an extent but it’s beginning to look like other managers are just defending deep and waiting for an opportunity to arise (they know it will) to hit us on the break and score. It doesn’t take a footballing genius to work this out. It’s not like it’s only happened once.
It doesn't take a footballing genius to see that Triantis is no centre half (at the moment anyway) and that was a large part of that defeat. Players missing chances that they should have been putting away didn't help either of course. It was just pish all round.
Greensunshine
19-04-2024, 08:44 AM
The ground is now clear for Black Knight Football to bring in their own man that’ll help push their own agenda.
The talk is of an incremental improvement year on year and what a great opportunity to get off to a great start next season with a new manager at the healm after such a failure this season.
Looking at it from BK point of view, the new manager has a very high chance of finishing top six next season, so that points to an improvement and gives everyone that’s coming in time to bed in.
I think Monty will be gone before the end of the season no matter how the team performs.
19-04-2024, 08:52 AM
I actually thought that was a game where Monty did fall short... and Levein didn't. He maybe wasn't exactly outsmarted but the managers impacted that game massively.
Levein just did what Levein does - set up a team that sat deep and was difficult to break down, and stuck a quick guy up front to try to cause problems on their own.
Monty failed to have the answers to that and we can have no complaints about the result - and given the gulf in class between the abilities of player available in the 2 respective squads, that was inexcusable.
We played a "very Monty like" first half - low intensity, created very little, poor combinations in the middle of the park, very little direct play through the middle of the park and lots of indirect stuff, getting the ball wide and taking time whilst their packed numbers at the back were happy to just watch us. The second half was more direct and better, ironically when we managed to lose the 2 goals that lost us the game.
That's just never going to get the job done against a Craig Levein team and we've seen it so, so often in our time watching Hibs, unfortunately.
I'd say it was a perfect example of a manager getting all he could out of a squad of players and another manager getting nowhere near what a squad of players was capable of - exactly the sort of thing that Monty needs to give his superiors confidence that will very rarely happen again if he's to remain in position.
19-04-2024, 09:12 AM
Levein has figured out how to beat us twice in a row now. We are so easy to play against.
ozwoody
19-04-2024, 09:54 AM
The thing that gets me is the line about " the football department ", the whole club is surely the football department as that is what is designed for. BK has been banging on bout significant investment, surely that's what the marketing/sponsorship dept is for.
He has been there for 3 years, bottom 6 twice and scraped into top 6 on back of other results last year.
He has signed off on 3 managers that have been " failures" yet he has dodged flack cause he drinks in the Albion.
He has taken over £1,000,000 in salary and has returned zero return on that investment.
2 years of missing out on top 6 money plus possible Euro money plus his wage would have cost us upwards of 3 million over past 3 years.
A fish rots from the head, and if NM is on a shoogly peg, BKs peg must be on floor by now
Greensunshine
19-04-2024, 09:54 AM
Levein has figured out how to beat us twice in a row now. We are so easy to play against.
I don’t think he’s figured anything out. We missed a plethora of chances against them and on another day had they gone in it would have been a totally different story.
You could say he rode his luck and you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to know were our weaknesses are.
I actually don’t mind CL but he’s no genius manager. He is a very good guy for St.Johnston to bring in to steady a sinking ship!
19-04-2024, 10:02 AM
The thing that gets me is the line about " the football department ", the whole club is surely the football department as that is what is designed for. BK has been banging on bout significant investment, surely that's what the marketing/sponsorship dept is for.
He has been there for 3 years, bottom 6 twice and scraped into top 6 on back of other results last year.
He has signed off on 3 managers that have been " failures" yet he has dodged flack cause he drinks in the Albion.
He has taken over £1,000,000 in salary and has returned zero return on that investment.
2 years of missing out on top 6 money plus possible Euro money plus his wage would have cost us upwards of 3 million over past 3 years.
A fish rots from the head, and if NM is on a shoogly peg, BKs peg must be on floor by now
Disagree about a ROI from Kensall, next years accounts will reflect this as widely reported on here. Massive increases in income generation and fabulous facilities with more to come. Kensall's gotten plenty wrong on the pitch, but off it the club is excelling in ways we never have before.
New investment from the Black Knights is a significant milestone and Kensalls part in that should not be understated.
Kensall has had plenty of flak, theres a thread somewhere on here with reference to him getting abusive emails and there's been plenty of threads on the subject of Kensall too.
19-04-2024, 10:14 AM
The problem with this argument is that it sort of assumes that just because the football team is under-achieving then everything must be under-achieving and must be changed.
There is more money being generated to be shuffled towards the football team and any way we choose to look at it, this is a win and progress must be continued in this area - no about turn needed.
If Kensall could keep doing his good work in this department and amend what he does in relation to choosing those who run the football department (assuming he has a role in that) then we've got a fairly ideal outcome.
I'm very much on the fence with Kensall - mainly because I don't have much of a working knowledge of what goes on inside the club (even though my brother has had a few dealings with Kensall, all of which have been positive, I think he quite likes him).
Part of any "review of footballing operations" will surely involve assessing what is baby and what is bathwater, so that no baby gets chucked out with the bathwater. Or in managerial speak, there will be a very basic SWOT analysis that will acknowledge strengths and opportunities as well as weaknesses and threats.
None of this in any way makes excuses for the underperformance of the football team in recent years, which has frustrated me as much as anybody else.
19-04-2024, 10:19 AM
Can you expand on what you mean about him dodging flak because he drinks in the Albion?
I'm not a member of the Albion bar, but I think there are only a couple of hundred (at most) folk that drink in there. Why would that stop Kensell getting flak?
19-04-2024, 10:35 AM
A lot of nonsense, sorry. I'm no fan of his in general, but to say we've had zero return on our investment into Kensell is just completely false in a commercial sense.
19-04-2024, 10:40 AM
I don’t think he’s figured anything out. We missed a plethora of chances against them and on another day had they gone in it would have been a totally different story.
You could say he rode his luck and you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to know were our weaknesses are.
I actually don’t mind CL but he’s no genius manager. He is a very good guy for St.Johnston to bring in to steady a sinking ship!
That's the problem though, we seem to have a few good chances most weeks, but that other day seldom comes, and it's the same bloody story more and more, which is why we are blaming the manager.
19-04-2024, 10:47 AM
That's the problem though, we seem to have a few good chances most weeks, but that other day seldom comes, and it's the same bloody story more and more, which is why we are blaming the manager.
We've played 2 teams in our last 2 games who seem to have managed to get 4 points and 3 goals out of 3 shots on target.
It's not luck Well, maybe it's a bit lucky but it happens too often for it to be just back luck.
We can point to the bad refereeing decisions as something we (arguably) cannot influence but not taking chances and not defending well enough - the responsibility for that has to fall somewhere.
19-04-2024, 10:48 AM
A lot of nonsense, sorry. I'm no fan of his in general, but to say we've had zero return on our investment into Kensell is just completely false in a commercial sense.
A massive increase in debt, despite raking in decent money from transfer fees? Of course the spin says we will see record breaking figures or whatever next set of accounts, I'll reserve my scepticism until I see this.
Facilities and corporate revenue raising activities are important, but the football team is what most fans are interested in. Long term benefit of course, but Kensell and the Gordon's have shown nothing to suggest that they know how to develop a successful team, in fact the opposite. Have a look at the size of our squad and what populates it, it's painful reading.
ozwoody
19-04-2024, 10:48 AM
Disagree about a ROI from Kensall, next years accounts will reflect this as widely reported on here. Massive increases in income generation and fabulous facilities with more to come. Kensall's gotten plenty wrong on the pitch, but off it the club is excelling in ways we never have before.
New investment from the Black Knights is a significant milestone and Kensalls part in that should not be understated.
Kensall has had plenty of flak, theres a thread somewhere on here with reference to him getting abusive emails and there's been plenty of threads on the subject of Kensall too.
But did he generate that massive income , or did the marketing department do they're job?
Next year's accounts are irrelevant, it's this year's and last years accounts that should be scrutinised.
We have had 3 years of failure under his tenureship , and every year there has been statements of " learning and doing better", yet there's no sign of that.
Bringing in Foley's money? Great, but that investment will have to shore up hole missing out on top 6, again, to balance books of not having derby match and 2 OF games.
19-04-2024, 10:51 AM
I actually thought that was a game where Monty did fall short... and Levein didn't. He maybe wasn't exactly outsmarted but the managers impacted that game massively.
Levein just did what Levein does - set up a team that sat deep and was difficult to break down, and stuck a quick guy up front to try to cause problems on their own.
Monty failed to have the answers to that and we can have no complaints about the result - and given the gulf in class between the abilities of player available in the 2 respective squads, that was inexcusable.
We played a "very Monty like" first half - low intensity, created very little, poor combinations in the middle of the park, very little direct play through the middle of the park and lots of indirect stuff, getting the ball wide and taking time whilst their packed numbers at the back were happy to just watch us. The second half was more direct and better, ironically when we managed to lose the 2 goals that lost us the game.
That's just never going to get the job done against a Craig Levein team and we've seen it so, so often in our time watching Hibs, unfortunately.
I'd say it was a perfect example of a manager getting all he could out of a squad of players and another manager getting nowhere near what a squad of players was capable of - exactly the sort of thing that Monty needs to give his superiors confidence that will very rarely happen again if he's to remain in position.
Excellent analysis. I'm not sure I can see how what you describe as having happened can amount to anything other than having been outsmarted by Levein. There's no genius in it, but it certainly outsmarted Montgomery.
19-04-2024, 10:59 AM
1 win in 15 vs the top 5 in the league. Wow that is some context for how far away we are from where we want to be.
Even against the bottom half we've dropped points more often than not. Boring forgettable season. The only memory I'll take with me is Villa Park.
19-04-2024, 11:03 AM
1 win in 15 vs the top 5 in the league. Wow that is some context for how far away we are from where we want to be.
Even against the bottom half we've dropped points more often than not. Boring forgettable season.
And there's still folk that think Monty should be given more time, there is not one bit of evidence that there's anything to suggest he's moving in the right direction. Its an absolute abomination of results.
19-04-2024, 11:11 AM
And there's still folk that think Monty should be given more time, there is not one bit of evidence that there's anything to suggest he's moving in the right direction. Its an absolute abomination of results.
It's the whole season record that really paints the damning picture. Even if you allow his advocates the more recent 'unlucky' games you've got the whole record before that and then the two abject performances against St Johnstone and Motherwell after those. In that season-long context I think it is the lack of any real high points or any sustained improvement that makes the case against him watertight.
19-04-2024, 11:14 AM
But did he generate that massive income , or did the marketing department do they're job?
Next year's accounts are irrelevant, it's this year's and last years accounts that should be scrutinised.
We have had 3 years of failure under his tenureship , and every year there has been statements of " learning and doing better", yet there's no sign of that.
Bringing in Foley's money? Great, but that investment will have to shore up hole missing out on top 6, again, to balance books of not having derby match and 2 OF games.
The accounts are available on-line for you to read, so yes, we have a record turnover. However, we have a significant debt burden too, hence why I expressed reservations about financial situation at the club. I'm not hugely impressed and Kensell's massive salary and unnecessary jaunts to despotic regimes don't fill me with joy.
ozwoody
19-04-2024, 11:18 AM
If we were in top 6 in last 3 years, and hit target of Europe( which may have been budgeted for) to miss out on being part of group stage cost us £2.5 million per year ( and any revenue for points/wins etc)
Add to that not having attractive fixtures due to us being bottom 6 affects both ticket sales/ TV and hospitality revenue.
That hits our bottom line
19-04-2024, 11:21 AM
It's the whole season record that really paints the damning picture. Even if you allow his advocates the more recent 'unlucky' games you've got the whole record before that and then the two abject performances against St Johnstone and Motherwell after those. In that season-long context I think it is the lack of any real high points or any sustained improvement that makes the case against him watertight.
I'm as angry about the ridiculous refereeing decisions against us as anyone else but if you start banging goals in and defending properly it wont matter too much what influence a bad call is having on a game. The better you are the luckier you get, you make your own luck.
No Hibs manager should be able to survive results like that, it wouldn't even be so bad if we were playing attractive football and getting caught on the break, we're playing boring back passing football and are still being caught on the break. Its rinse and repeat every week and the manager just doesn't see it.
19-04-2024, 11:25 AM
A massive increase in debt, despite raking in decent money from transfer fees? Of course the spin says we will see record breaking figures or whatever next set of accounts, I'll reserve my scepticism until I see this.
Facilities and corporate revenue raising activities are important, but the football team is what most fans are interested in. Long term benefit of course, but Kensell and the Gordon's have shown nothing to suggest that they know how to develop a successful team, in fact the opposite. Have a look at the size of our squad and what populates it, it's painful reading.
Could not agree more.
Heard it for far too long now. We need the new stand (definitely needed), We need the new training facility (definitely needed), we need to improve our hospitality (needed). Even now it's 'aye but the training centre is old now and really needs a refurb'. Full focus on a terribly underperforming team is what's needed!
I support Hibernian Football Club, get a consistently successful team on the pitch. Sick of it. Hoping that's what comes out of this Black Knight review.
19-04-2024, 11:26 AM
The accounts are available on-line for you to read, so yes, we have a record turnover. However, we have a significant debt burden too, hence why I expressed reservations about financial situation at the club. I'm not hugely impressed and Kensell's massive salary and unnecessary jaunts to despotic regimes don't fill me with joy.
We did have a significant debt burden but that was wiped out other than the interest free covid loan.
ozwoody
19-04-2024, 11:30 AM
We did have a significant debt burden but that was wiped out other than the interest free covid loan.
Matty, I respect you hugely but If we heard that from over the road we would be saying " they owe it to themselves" and ripping into them
19-04-2024, 11:34 AM
Could not agree more.
Heard it for far too long now. We need the new stand (definitely needed), We need the new training facility (definitely needed), we need to improve our hospitality (needed). Even now it's 'aye but the training centre is old now and really needs a refurb'. Full focus on a terribly underperforming team is what's needed!
I support Hibernian Football Club, get a consistently successful team on the pitch. Sick of it. Hoping that's what comes out of this Black Knight review.
Correct. We're being outperformed over 33 games by ****ing Dundee who play on a tattie field and who's stadium (if you can even call it that) is literally crumbling. Why can't we get it right on the park where it matters?
19-04-2024, 11:41 AM
Fair point, but there was a price to pay for that and only time will tell if it was a good decision.
However, we have been pissing away money on signing ***** players, extending said **** players contracts with no return worth mentioning since third place was achieved. The team has gone backwards and I have no confidence in the current set up that they can reverse that trend.
19-04-2024, 11:46 AM
Matty, I respect you hugely but If we heard that from over the road we would be saying " they owe it to themselves" and ripping into them
That would be an incorrect analysis of the situation if we done that then.
We don’t owe it to ourselves. It was taken away as we sold part of the club.
Whether that is the right decision or not, I have no idea. Time will tell.
19-04-2024, 11:48 AM
Maybe I'm miss understanding the technicalities of it but that was the case before the BK came in where we actually owed debt to the Gordons, whereas now we are debt free because of the debt to equity move that allowed BK to come in?
19-04-2024, 12:01 PM
We wouldn't - they wrote of the debt in exchange for shares even Black Knight bought in.
We only owe money to the government for the covid loan.
19-04-2024, 12:02 PM
We need to learn from our rivals and do the simple things right. It's not rocket science.Replace builder with bookie and you get the Alex Miller period. We became hard to beat(apart from by Hearts) but a significant part of the support hated him and his football. He had a great eye for a player and built up some great teams. He'd not get a season now.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
19-04-2024, 12:16 PM
This is a new one for me. What does it refer to?
19-04-2024, 12:17 PM
I said to a couple of mates after Motherwell the board need to sit down with BK group and let them run the footballing side.
This would be in contradiction to the way the deal was announced just a few weeks ago.
Monty’s bbc interview after the Motherwell game was all over the place, bless him, and now we have a board statement that goes hard on platitudes and light on actual information.
Would it be possible, for starters, for Hibs to confirm who is actually making the big decisions at our football club?
19-04-2024, 12:18 PM
We don't.
Our loans from Bydand were converted into shares.
Those loans were for upgrading the stadium, which we are now benefitting from in terms of income.
So, in addition to the £6m investment and increased income, we also have available what would have been budgeted for the loan repayments.
19-04-2024, 12:21 PM
This would be in contradiction to the way the deal was announced just a few weeks ago.
Monty’s bbc interview after the Motherwell game was all over the place, bless him, and now we have a board statement that goes hard on platitudes and light on actual information.
Would it be possible, for starters, for Hibs to confirm who is actually making the big decisions at our football club?
How so?
Re who makes decisions..... We have a board of directors and two of them represent the BKs.
19-04-2024, 12:25 PM
How so?
Re who makes decisions..... We have a board of directors and two of them represent the BKs.
Yes, with collective responsibility.
We were told the BK is a minority stake, not a takeover of the football dept like Radcliffe at Man U.
19-04-2024, 12:26 PM
They already have, in a statement a month or so ago. There are 5 people on the executive Board. Ian and Kit Gordon, Bill Foley and the other guy (name has escaped me) from the BK, and Ben Kensell.
19-04-2024, 12:29 PM
They already have, in a statement a month or so ago. There are 5 people on the executive Board. Ian and Kit Gordon, Bill Foley and the other guy (name has escaped me) from the BK, and Ben Kensell.
Indeed. So why doesn’t the statement simply say that the executive Board will be reviewing things?
19-04-2024, 12:34 PM
Rangers away?
19-04-2024, 12:37 PM
Indeed. So why doesn’t the statement simply say that the executive Board will be reviewing things?
The message is from the Board, and talks about "we" as conducting the review.
We have a wide range of expertise on the full Board, and that will be used in that review.
From that, I assume that the executive Baord will make the final decisions.
w pilton hibby
19-04-2024, 12:38 PM
I'm thinking this was perhaps the trip to Qatar.
19-04-2024, 01:03 PM
We wouldn't - they wrote of the debt in exchange for shares even Black Knight bought in.
We only owe money to the government for the covid loan.
Doesn’t matter how many times you spell it out to posters they still come up with rubbish about debt. Either they don’t understand or prefer to have a go at the Gordon’s even with incorrect information.
19-04-2024, 01:06 PM
As CEO he is most definitely responsible for the failures on the pitch but he is also responsible for the successes off it.
Next years accounts are relevant if this years accounts are an anomaly, and it's pretty widely reported that they are an anomaly and next years will be a far better example of where we are financially.
To a point it will, but in the grand scheme of things the difference between 7th and 5th for example is £250,000. A good chunk of change but the financial importance of top 6 football will hardly make a dent - bearing in mind we have cut the old firm allocations significantly too.
19-04-2024, 01:07 PM
We don't.
Our loans from Bydand were converted into shares.
Those loans were for upgrading the stadium, which we are now benefitting from in terms of income.
So, in addition to the £6m investment and increased income, we also have available what would have been budgeted for the loan repayments.
The highlighted part is 'debt for equity' that we often read of yeah?
Is it as simple as Bydand leant Hibs £5m, and instead of Hibs repaying the £5m in cash, Bydand get 5m worth of shares?
If so, why is debt for equity for good for us but was absolutely terrible for Hearts? Is it down to it being the difference between Romanov and the BKs.
Last question, where do the 5m shares come from to give to Bydand? Are they the newly created ones that people talked of when HSLs stake was diluted?
Thanks
19-04-2024, 01:16 PM
Replace builder with bookie and you get the Alex Miller period. We became hard to beat(apart from by Hearts) but a significant part of the support hated him and his football. He had a great eye for a player and built up some great teams. He'd not get a season now.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Curates egg I think they call it. Some great teams , some great players, and great entertainment. And of course the Skol Cup. On the downside some teams were absolute gash and some periods of dour negative football. Towards the end, it was grim stuff
Agree that he probably wouldn't get a season now but Millers an example of a manager who got too long. Every manager has a shelf life and a too-friendly relationship with Dougie Cromb kept him in the job past his sell-by date.
19-04-2024, 01:17 PM
Is it as simple as Bydand leant Hibs £5m, and instead of Hibs repaying the £5m in cash, Bydand get 5m worth of shares?
If so, why is debt for equity for good for us but was absolutely terrible for Hearts? Is it down to it being the difference between Romanov and the BKs.
Last question, where do the 5m shares come from to give to Bydand? Are they the newly created ones that people talked of when HSLs stake was diluted?
Thanks
The comparisons between Romanov and the Gordons are that they bought an Edinburgh football club and that's where it ends.
Debt for equity isn't an unusual thing, Rangers have had several of those loans since they formed, which they have funded their team with.
When Romanov did it, the actual DFE wasn't bad for Hearts in itself but it was clear that there was an much larger sustainability issue.
The shares were new shares that were issued and sold only to the Gordons any Black Knight, which meant that the money went straight into the club rather than to existing shareholders.
19-04-2024, 01:17 PM
Thanks
It's as simple as that.
In Hearts' case, their debt was unmanageable, and so the owners tried to limit that by converting in the hope that trading would improve, hence increase the value of their shares. It didn't work.
Ours is a different scenario, in that our debt was manageable. By removing the burden of debt repayments, however, our trading has already improved. The end objective for the owners, that of increasing the share value, remains the same.
And, yeah, these shares (for the BK and the Gordons) are newly created.
Edit. What Matty said too :greengrin
19-04-2024, 01:19 PM
^^ Thanks to both.
19-04-2024, 05:02 PM
He was at McDiarmid and pretty much every other manager in the league bar McInnes, Doherty and Martindale.
19-04-2024, 05:06 PM
Rangers away?
:greengrin:greengrin
Assumed poster was talking about Dubai
19-04-2024, 07:01 PM
He was at McDiarmid and pretty much every other manager in the league bar McInnes, Doherty and Martindale.
And Naismith.
19-04-2024, 11:47 PM
Could not agree more.
Was same with Petrie and Golden Generation. Didn't know how to build a successful team/club so spent £millions of proceeds from sale of young players on concrete and steel. Infrastructure, commercial deals and renovations are important but simply a means to an end. Do not replace ability to build and run a successful team. Hopefully Foley's team is able to fill the gap.
20-04-2024, 05:33 AM
Was same with Petrie and Golden Generation. Didn't know how to build a successful team/club so spent £millions of proceeds from sale of young players on concrete and steel. Infrastructure, commercial deals and renovations are important but simply a means to an end. Do not replace ability to build and run a successful team. Hopefully Foley's team is able to fill the gap.
So surely to get that money they did build a decent team? What did we spend the money from player sales in that time?
We cleared debt and built the East Stand
20-04-2024, 09:12 AM
And the training centre.
We must not underestimate how important Petries strategy was for us in the long term. He gave the club financial stability.
20-04-2024, 09:26 AM
And the training centre.
We must not underestimate how important Petries strategy was for us in the long term. He gave the club financial stability.
Was the training centre not completed before we sold brown etc?
20-04-2024, 09:27 AM
I thought the money for the new east came from money already sitting(land sale?) as planning permission had been granted years prior and had to go back again for permission when that ran out, could be talking absolute rubbish though!!
20-04-2024, 09:28 AM
Was the training centre not completed before we sold brown etc?
Nah. Brown sold summer 2007. Training ground completed December 2007. Cost of £4.9m. Which Brown basically paid for.
20-04-2024, 09:32 AM
Nah. Brown sold summer 2007. Training ground completed December 2007. Cost of £4.9m. Which Brown basically paid for.
To think we could have spent that money on overpaid underperforming players whilst paying rent for a quidditch pitch at the Oriam.
20-04-2024, 09:33 AM
Thomson, Riordan and O'Connor were also gone by then. Another £4m?
20-04-2024, 09:55 AM
To think we could have spent that money on overpaid underperforming players whilst paying rent for a quidditch pitch at the Oriam.
It’s doing them a lot of harm right enough 🥺
20-04-2024, 10:04 AM
Thomson, Riordan and O'Connor were also gone by then. Another £4m?
And Whittaker which was £2m too.
Then Murphy summer 2008 which was another £2m
Was it £17m we were in debt at one point?
20-04-2024, 10:18 AM
And Whittaker which was £2m too.
Then Murphy summer 2008 which was another £2m
Was it £17m we were in debt at one point?
Something like that.
20-04-2024, 10:35 AM
And the training centre.
Strong ‘What did the Romans ever do for us?’ vibes here.
20-04-2024, 10:36 AM
Like.
20-04-2024, 10:36 AM
Authorities shut down all dissent
In the last three years, the UAE authorities have silenced criticism from their citizens like never before. They have done this through arbitrarily arresting and detaining people on spurious charges – breaking their own laws in the process, torturing detainees, putting them through unfair trials and sentencing them to years behind bars simply for speaking out. The families of those who speak out have been harassed and persecuted by authorities.
More than 100 peaceful activists and critics of the UAE government have been imprisoned on broad and vague national security-related charges since 2011. At least 67 of them remain in prison today.
https://www.amnesty.org.uk/united-arab-emirates-uae-free-speech-repression-injustice-censorship
20-04-2024, 10:38 AM
Authorities shut down all dissent
In the last three years, the UAE authorities have silenced criticism from their citizens like never before. They have done this through arbitrarily arresting and detaining people on spurious charges – breaking their own laws in the process, torturing detainees, putting them through unfair trials and sentencing them to years behind bars simply for speaking out. The families of those who speak out have been harassed and persecuted by authorities.
More than 100 peaceful activists and critics of the UAE government have been imprisoned on broad and vague national security-related charges since 2011. At least 67 of them remain in prison today.
https://www.amnesty.org.uk/united-arab-emirates-uae-free-speech-repression-injustice-censorship
What is BK’s relationship to this?
20-04-2024, 11:21 AM
Doesn’t matter how many times you spell it out to posters they still come up with rubbish about debt. Either they don’t understand or prefer to have a go at the Gordon’s even with incorrect information.
Ok, so the Gordon's solved the debt issue the created by selling 25% of their stake in the club. However, you much anyone might want to bury their head in the sand about how they have managed the club so far, the truth of it is they have squandered a lot of money.
We still made a huge loss, that is a fact. By their own admission they failed to achieve their financial goals. We will still carry the financial burden of their failed football signing strategy into the new era that awaits
"Hibernian have announced a £3.9m loss for the year up to 30 June 2023, despite making a gain of £3.2m in transfer fees.
Turnover at Easter Road rose slightly to £12.4m but staff costs account for just over £10m and the wage to turnover ratio has increased by 10% to to 81%"
TrinityHFC
20-04-2024, 11:26 AM
Ok, so the Gordon's solved the debt issue the created by selling 25% of their stake in the club. However, you much anyone might want to bury their head in the sand about how they have managed the club so far, the truth of it is they have squandered a lot of money.
We still made a huge loss, that is a fact. By their own admission they failed to achieve their financial goals. We will still carry the financial burden of their failed football signing strategy into the new era that awaits
"Hibernian have announced a £3.9m loss for the year up to 30 June 2023, despite making a gain of £3.2m in transfer fees.
Turnover at Easter Road rose slightly to £12.4m but staff costs account for just over £10m and the wage to turnover ratio has increased by 10% to to 81%"
The fist bit isn’t right.
We got about £6m for the 25% stake. That is on top of the write off for the debt.
There’s been some money lost because of the performance of the football team, but the rest wasn’t squandered. It was invested in things that will create more income on the future, to help support the football team.
Obviously we have to get that bit right.
20-04-2024, 12:16 PM
In the current year, we are headed for £15m turnover, with the wages ratio having been brought back under control.
And what TH says in regard to the debt.:agree:
20-04-2024, 12:20 PM
In the current year, we are headed for £15m turnover, with the wages ratio having been brought back under control.
And what TH says in regard to the debt.:agree:
So the Bk's paid a total close to 10 million for their stake, when including the debt wipe out?
Or is it that BK's paid six million for their share and the Gordon used four million of that money to pay off the debt?
20-04-2024, 12:25 PM
So the Bk's paid a total close to 10 million for their stake, when including the debt wipe out?
No. There are 2 separate transactions here.
The BK's paid £6m for their shares.
The Gordons (Bydand) converted £5.75m of debt to shares. Not a write-off as such, but still taken out of our immediate commitments.
So close on £12m added to our budget. Along with the income from the new facilities which were paid for with the Bydand loans.
20-04-2024, 06:19 PM
It’s doing them a lot of harm right enough 🥺
We're talking about spending money in 2007 which was when the training centre was built, so if we hadn't built it then the money would have been spent on the playing squad. And despite Hearts doing just that, all they had to show for it was one Scottish Cup win (aided by a dysfunctional opponent who was lucky to reach the final and a dodgy referee) followed by administration.
For context, we've won as many trophies they have since East Mains was built.
20-04-2024, 06:30 PM
And the training centre.
Did Petrie have a strategy? We got a golden generation that came through together and sold them at a good price, with Collins also influential in us getting market value. We then made the sensible decision to spend the windfall on bricks and mortar.
Petrie did well to get the fees we did, and by all accounts got good deals when building the East. However I’m not sure spending an unexpected windfall on a stand and a training centre is a strategy. Particularly when it’s offset by the wilderness years culminating in relegation and requiring Dempster to come in and sort the mess of the club she inherited. He then inexplicably gets rewarded with the job of president at the SFA and goes to ground ever since.
20-04-2024, 08:03 PM
It’s doing them a lot of harm right enough [emoji3064]Administration and bumping some pretty embarrassing creditors created that situation .
Greenwich_Hibby
20-04-2024, 09:48 PM
As a club, we have no identity, no way of playing and have been soft as *****/easy to beat for many years, the cup win just papered over the cracks. We need to review from top down and toughen up. Building a team around Joe Newell, wih short term loan signings is not the answer. The team needs a strong spine and leaders on the pitch. Currently we have none.
20-04-2024, 10:16 PM
Did Petrie have a strategy? We got a golden generation that came through together and sold them at a good price, with Collins also influential in us getting market value. We then made the sensible decision to spend the windfall on bricks and mortar.
Petrie did well to get the fees we did, and by all accounts got good deals when building the East. However I’m not sure spending an unexpected windfall on a stand and a training centre is a strategy. Particularly when it’s offset by the wilderness years culminating in relegation and requiring Dempster to come in and sort the mess of the club she inherited. He then inexplicably gets rewarded with the job of president at the SFA and goes to ground ever since.
I think the strategy at the time was to scout and develop young players and sell them for a profit, the club did that brilliantly. Losing Donald Park from the set and then selling players who, at the end of the day, all sorely wanted the moves they made was the downfall - especially losing Park, he was the key.
History would not remember him at all fondly if he’d pissed players off by keeping them at Hibs without contract offers that we couldn’t afford. £17 million worth of debt wiped out plus £7 million worth of infrastructure projects in his stint as CEO.
Petrie will be remembered for being a penny pincher but I hope he also leaves behind a legacy of security and stability off the pitch.
I don’t believe the wilderness years have done the club any harm in the long term, if you think about the “positives” of the relegation it meant butcher got bulleted along with the majority of the feckless squad that got us there. The offsetting of the relegation was probably repaid by winning the Scottish cup and the swell of support off the back of it.
When you look at our 3 previous CEO’s you’ve got two cup winners (Petrie league cup 07, Dempster Scottish cup 16) and now the current incumbent, all of whom have built legacies to an extent but also had and have their failings.
21-04-2024, 07:25 AM
As a club, we have no identity, no way of playing and have been soft as *****/easy to beat for many years, the cup win just papered over the cracks. We need to review from top down and toughen up. Building a team around Joe Newell, wih short term loan signings is not the answer. The team needs a strong spine and leaders on the pitch. Currently we have none.
We’ve got plenty identity.
Our identity is our unique history, same as any other club in the country, or world.
All this Michael Stewart type chat about having an identity is brutal.
What’s Celtic’s identity? Rangers? Hearts?
Get a consistently winning team on the park and all that chat disappears.
21-04-2024, 07:35 AM
We’ve got plenty identity.
Our identity is our unique history, same as any other club in the country, or world.
All this Michael Stewart type chat about having an identity is brutal.
What’s Celtic’s identity? Rangers? Hearts?
Get a consistently winning team on the park and all that chat disappears.
The identity chat is so boring now a days. It only becomes a thing if a team is doing poorly.
It’s the same as when pundits moan about “I don’t see what they’re trying to do with the ball” just because they don’t try play like Pep.
Si Ferry on open goal is the worst for it, failed at Broomhill but thinks every team should play the exact same way and if they don’t it’s wrong.
23-04-2024, 05:15 PM
Potentially bringing in a technical director
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/all-change-hibs-board-review-montys-future-new-technical-director-4601717?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2BVmIGbvoeiJN0k G_0vwZEZvDAaMZxrtM5ThcOb5IP_7gPWJbmmFeV4S8_aem_Ac2 M5px4BYZo5NoRxYBOQDiTN6Le25nCCDGkJMS_IxX7pCogpbxM0 0TT1mN0mKfT5_7J5OlFRsxWBHMGSzPVXHGb
23-04-2024, 05:22 PM
Potentially bringing in a technical director
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/all-change-hibs-board-review-montys-future-new-technical-director-4601717?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2BVmIGbvoeiJN0k G_0vwZEZvDAaMZxrtM5ThcOb5IP_7gPWJbmmFeV4S8_aem_Ac2 M5px4BYZo5NoRxYBOQDiTN6Le25nCCDGkJMS_IxX7pCogpbxM0 0TT1mN0mKfT5_7J5OlFRsxWBHMGSzPVXHGb"Foley’s Black Knight group – who now have two seats on the board - looking to protect their investment by exerting real influence on how the football department operates."
So in other words, Foley and his crew are taking over the football side. As many said on here.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
23-04-2024, 05:54 PM
"Foley’s Black Knight group – who now have two seats on the board - looking to protect their investment by exerting real influence on how the football department operates."
So in other words, Foley and his crew are taking over the football side. As many said on here.
I hope they do and I hope they know more about doing it than the the current set up, as we've been miles off it where it matters.
23-04-2024, 05:58 PM
There was always going to be some kind of appointment like this and it was always going to be, at least, very heavily influenced by the Black Knights.
Said before that I wouldn’t be surprised to see someone come in, in that type of role, that we’ve never heard of. And then it wouldn’t surprise me if similar happened with the manager position not too long after.
23-04-2024, 06:09 PM
"Foley’s Black Knight group – who now have two seats on the board - looking to protect their investment by exerting real influence on how the football department operates."
Good. Similar to Ineos at Man Utd I'd imagine. A shake up off our sporting directors.
Intrigued to see what it'll all mean for Ben and Brian
Good
The Gordon's for all their input and good intensions really lacked the footballing knowledge, Kensall is there to bring in extra business but not a real football man, we needed proper guidance football wise and the BK group will do that, the last 3 managers have been a disaster and dragged us backwards.
23-04-2024, 07:14 PM
The Gordon's for all their input and good intensions really lacked the footballing knowledge, Kensall is there to bring in extra business but not a real football man, we needed proper guidance football wise and the BK group will do that, the last 3 managers have been a disaster and dragged us backwards.
Appointed by incompetent Board, allied with scattergun approach to player recruitment has dragged us backwards
Any need to get a dig in at the board, I'm sure Kensall and the Gordon's were doing what they thought was right, at least they've finally realised they need outside help.
23-04-2024, 07:27 PM
Any need to get a dig in at the board, I'm sure Kensall and the Gordon's were doing what they thought was right, at least they've finally realised they need outside help.
BF is 100% correct.
Wouldn't say incompetent, more rookie, should've got someone in to advise them from the start.
23-04-2024, 07:35 PM
While we don’t know who any “technical director” might be, it’s encouraging to see that the BK Group are looking to put people in place they believe can improve the footballing side of the club.
As others have said, for all Kensell’s faults on that side, his commercial input has proved to be successful and where his strengths look to lie.
Anything that upgrades the football department is good news for me.
23-04-2024, 07:39 PM
He's not wrong though is he? It's not even really a dig. The past few appointments haven't worked out. Hard to argue otherwise.
Donegal Hibby
23-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Main problem we've had hasn't been managers but our recruitment which has been poor going back 3 years or more with signings like Drey Wright , Scott , Mitchell etc , over the last while we seem to have been chasing young players that were going to make us money in Melkersen, Kenneh , Jair etc .
Something we are still suffering for now and probably will for a couple of windows yet . Get the recruitment right and we give whoever the manager is a better chance to succeed.
23-04-2024, 08:10 PM
Dig? Are you saying it's not true?
23-04-2024, 08:20 PM
Main problem we've had hasn't been managers but our recruitment which has been poor going back 3 years or more with signings like Drey Wright , Scott , Mitchell etc , over the last while we seem to have been chasing young players that were going to make us money in Melkersen, Kenneh , Jair etc .
Something we are still suffering for now and probably will for a couple of windows yet . Get the recruitment right and we give whoever the manager is a better chance to succeed.
A raft of poor signings, Mueller another
Dig? Are you saying it's not true?
Mistakes yes, incompetence I don't think so, Ron came in and probably his only mistake was to not bring in a football person, mistakes have been made but more due to naivety than incompetence, they've brought new money in with footballing expertise to oversee things, probably 3 years too late.
Unfortunately Ron allowed his son too much power re scouting etc and I think he looked at FM too much thinking all he had to do was bring in some young talent, develop them and sell for millions, that usually only happens in a football simulation game, getting McDermott was the 1st decent thing they did.
Donegal Hibby
23-04-2024, 08:29 PM
A raft of poor signings, Mueller another
Yeah he's another alright . Actually forgot about him tbh . Our recruitment has been shocking for a good while now though last two January windows it has improved . Hopefully now with the BKs input they can look at all aspects of the running of the club and start moving us forward .
TelaStella
23-04-2024, 08:32 PM
Ah yeah, at least they thought what they were doing was right.
23-04-2024, 08:33 PM
Unfortunately Ron allowed his son too much power re scouting etc and I think he looked at FM too much thinking all he had to do was bring in some young talent, develop them and sell for millions, that usually only happens in a football simulation game, getting McDermott was the 1st decent thing they did.
Is that naivety then or incompetence?
Incompetence is when experienced football people don't do their job properly, naivety is when people with less experience think they're doing the right thing but make mistakes, at least they've realised their mistakes and doing something about it.
23-04-2024, 09:31 PM
I don’t see him digging at the board. Just calling it out for what it is, poor.
CentreForward
23-04-2024, 10:33 PM
You could say that Melkersen was actually one of our best ever signings in terms of profit made from him. Given how little we got from him on the park, if the figures are to be believed, then the profit we made on him was fantastic.
Donegal Hibby
23-04-2024, 11:13 PM
You could say that Melkersen was actually one of our best ever signings in terms of profit made from him. Given how little we got from him on the park, if the figures are to be believed, then the profit we made on him was fantastic.
Forgot about that and your right if the figures are correct we did do fantastic from that one alright.
24-04-2024, 06:04 AM
Difficult to argue with that
24-04-2024, 06:24 AM
Difficult to argue with that
Yes but it’s a bit simplistic to be honest and comes from the Kris Boyd school of punditry.
Saying we should have just signed better players isn’t really looking at why we signed the players we did.
If we go for prominent Scottish based players who have had good seasons, the likes of Hearts and Aberdeen who have paid more than us recently are also well aware of these players. Getting them to choose us over them is a hard sell.
If you then look at the closest market to us, England, our wages are now comparable with lower league one sides but we want to try and sign championship level players, it’s easy to work out the problem there, for any we can attract, they’re also being offered to clubs who can pay more.
That’s left us looking for players who maybe don’t stand out as much at their current club but we feel we can get a bit more out of them which is always a risk or Jonny foreigner who again, we don’t know how they will adapt and is a big risk.
It’s easy to say recruitment should be better but that’s not addressing why recruitment hasn’t worked. IMO that’s why Brian McDermott has been a big disappointment and a complete waste of time. I thought he was being brought in to unearth gems from the likes of the Irish league or the under 23s down south, instead, we’ve pretty much signed players who played for him 100 years ago, players who were on loans and part of an average team last season or a really expensive striker who hasn’t really hit the heights we’d expect for the money we’ve paid.
To improve the recruitment isn’t easy but it needs a strategy and a method as to how we’re going to get these better players, I’m hoping that’s going to come with the link up with Bournemouth and the Black Knights.
I would also argue in terms of the recruitment, we still have better individual players than teams above us, they’re just better organised than us which isn’t necessarily a recruitment issue.
MagicSwirlingShip
24-04-2024, 06:36 AM
I wouldn’t call Obita or Le Fondre failures. Both good signings
24-04-2024, 06:45 AM
I wouldn’t call Obita or Le Fondre failures. Both good signings
I really like Obita, Le Fondre is class when fit, I’m not sure he’d fall into value for money category though.
I’m also not sure if your post was in response to mine above but I never said they were failures, I was just meaning McDermott hasn’t been able to unearth players we previously wouldn’t have known about. He maybe helped us attract those players ahead of other clubs but I thought he was being brought in to help us find new players through his extensive scouting network and contacts he’d built up over the years. Signing two players who are both now in their 30’s who played for him years ago wasn’t what I was expecting from him.
24-04-2024, 08:48 AM
I thought when the statement was issued after the Motherwell fiasco that the best thing about it was what seemed a clear indication that BK and IG had now forfeited control of the football side of things. That seems to be gaining momentum and can only enormously improve what we are seeing on the pitch in the medium and long term.
As far as I'm concerned, if this proves to be correct, it will be worth a lot more to us than a skin of our teeth achievement of top six would have been.
Donegal Hibby
24-04-2024, 08:59 AM
Yes but it’s a bit simplistic to be honest and comes from the Kris Boyd school of punditry.
Saying we should have just signed better players isn’t really looking at why we signed the players we did.
If we go for prominent Scottish based players who have had good seasons, the likes of Hearts and Aberdeen who have paid more than us recently are also well aware of these players. Getting them to choose us over them is a hard sell.
If you then look at the closest market to us, England, our wages are now comparable with lower league one sides but we want to try and sign championship level players, it’s easy to work out the problem there, for any we can attract, they’re also being offered to clubs who can pay more.
That’s left us looking for players who maybe don’t stand out as much at their current club but we feel we can get a bit more out of them which is always a risk or Jonny foreigner who again, we don’t know how they will adapt and is a big risk.
It’s easy to say recruitment should be better but that’s not addressing why recruitment hasn’t worked. IMO that’s why Brian McDermott has been a big disappointment and a complete waste of time. I thought he was being brought in to unearth gems from the likes of the Irish league or the under 23s down south, instead, we’ve pretty much signed players who played for him 100 years ago, players who were on loans and part of an average team last season or a really expensive striker who hasn’t really hit the heights we’d expect for the money we’ve paid.
To improve the recruitment isn’t easy but it needs a strategy and a method as to how we’re going to get these better players, I’m hoping that’s going to come with the link up with Bournemouth and the Black Knights.
I would also argue in terms of the recruitment, we still have better individual players than teams above us, they’re just better organised than us which isn’t necessarily a recruitment issue.
I wasn't saying it was just about signing better players though. I think the whole recruitment process we have has been failing for years and until we get it sorted most managers are going to fail at our club. I'm hoping that's going to be the first thing that's reviewed at the club.
I keep hearing about the excellent Scottish signings hertz have made recently though just don't see them as any better than we have already though will probably be decent squad players. Certainly didn't notice Penrice , Dhanda hasn't exactly stood out in games I've watched and Spittal hasn't exactly had a great career even though he's hitting a purple patch now.
Signing from our own market hasn't exactly always worked either with players like Wright , Scott , Magennis , Henderson, Levitt , JDH. ... The list goes on !.
This summer we have players possibly coming back like Kenneh , Tait , Henderson , Harbottle , Mackay as well as having ones like Jair who are simply not good enough and need moved on which is easier said than done depending on their contract status.
Hard part for us is now trying to undo the damage that's been done signing poor players or chasing a pot of gold in signing young players that we hope was going to make us millions like Jair and the rest.
I think it's a good thing we are looking at different markets/ countries for players , always good to have plenty of options to explore.
As to McDermott I think over the last two January windows which are the worst our recruitment has definitely improved considerably I'm not bothered about a player's age wither he's young or old as long as he improves us or makes a contribution to the team like Alf and Obita have , glad we have someone of McDermott's experience and knowledge TBH .
I'd also agree that we have better players than the teams above us though have watched the last few Hibs managers fail going back as far as to when Lennon was at us .I still think our problems run deeper than just the manager's all the time.
As to having better players that doesn't always guarantee you success either , just look at Chelsea who were hammered last night and are behind teams like west ham, Brighton , villa etc. Another Club that's recruitment has been awful .
I don't think it's down to Mauricio Pochettino in not having them organised properly btw . There transfer strategy has been poor which is also why they are struggling now .
I see similarities between us and Chelsea apart from the money side of it of course ��.
24-04-2024, 09:12 AM
24-04-2024, 09:15 AM
I'd say that was incompetant, naive and plain stupid too.
24-04-2024, 09:16 AM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1782804625332355278?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg
Has anyone read the interview with Bill Foley in the HQ? Anything of any interest in it?
I’m not buying the magazine cos I’m in the huff with Hibs.
24-04-2024, 09:45 AM
Hard to disagree with that. It certainly seems that way. The jury is still out on McDermott for me though. When we're finishing 7th at best then everyone is open to criticism.
24-04-2024, 09:45 AM
Not really been on here the past week or so but have been keeping up to date with news etc.
A statement that was much needed with hopefully a reset behind the scenes.
Just wanting this season to end.
24-04-2024, 09:56 AM
Has Foley been to a Hibs match yet?
24-04-2024, 09:57 AM
What is the difference between a technical director and sporting director?
From what I’ve read they’re near identical roles.
Probably just a different name of tital with us no longer having a sporting director and McDerrmot going to head scout or similar.
24-04-2024, 09:58 AM
People on here said he was at the St Johnstone game
Paulie Walnuts
24-04-2024, 10:01 AM
I think folk expected him to be but then I’m sure we found out he was at the Bournemouth game that day.
24-04-2024, 10:08 AM
Probably just a different name of tital with us no longer having a sporting director and McDerrmot going to head scout or similar.
According to Chat GPT:-
The technical director typically focuses on the technical aspects of the team, such as player development, scouting, and coaching, while a sporting director oversees the club's overall sporting operations, including transfers, contracts, and strategic planning. While there can be overlap, the technical director is more focused on on-field matters, while the sporting director has a broader role in shaping the club's sporting direction and strategy.
Trinity Hibee
24-04-2024, 10:14 AM
According to Chat GPT:-
The technical director typically focuses on the technical aspects of the team, such as player development, scouting, and coaching, while a sporting director oversees the club's overall sporting operations, including transfers, contracts, and strategic planning. While there can be overlap, the technical director is more focused on on-field matters, while the sporting director has a broader role in shaping the club's sporting direction and strategy.
Do clubs our size usually have a DoF and a technical director? Starting to feel we are creating positions which add no value to the team. Maybe I’m just out of touch with modern football.
Greenworld
24-04-2024, 10:24 AM
Something we are still suffering for now and probably will for a couple of windows yet . Get the recruitment right and we give whoever the manager is a better chance to succeed.The Black knights think the same . Manager after manager leaving the club all down to poor recruitment over the last few years . Good post
Do clubs our size usually have a DoF and a technical director? Starting to feel we are creating positions which add no value to the team. Maybe I’m just out of touch with modern football.
Wouldn't be surprised to see a Technical Director come in and McDermott's role as DOF disappear, I'd like to think the BK group has a better scouting system in place too.
Trinity Hibee
24-04-2024, 10:34 AM
Wouldn't be surprised to see a Technical Director come in and McDermott's role as DOF disappear, I'd like to think the BK group has a better scouting system in place too.
Fair enough, I know it’s been mentioned BM might be away anyway so this may be the replacement as you said
24-04-2024, 10:41 AM
Don’t think he was.
24-04-2024, 10:51 AM
Don’t think he was.
Too windy to fly up from Bournemouth
Probably just as well
24-04-2024, 12:39 PM
Probably just as well
Was thinking that 😄
24-04-2024, 12:48 PM
I think when we all asked for a Director of Football to come in what we wanted was someone that did what were now looking for a Technical Director to do with the added element of recruitment. We now appear to be either gearing up to punt him or split the roles.
The McDermott appointment has been a dud for a lot of reasons imo, but the biggest one was that it just wasn't a good fit for either party in a long term capacity.
24-04-2024, 02:52 PM
So the idea of appointing a “football person “isn’t necessarily the be all and end all.
24-04-2024, 04:52 PM
Probably just as well
Might have been good for him seeing such a good support being badly let down in real life rather than just reading a match report
24-04-2024, 05:33 PM
Admittedly my knowledge of top level football is small, but for me we need a head coach, a head of recruitment with contacts and a track record and a head of youth development. That covers all the basis required for the footballing side.
I suppose a DOF could cover all basis to a certain extend, but IMO spending the money across the 3 areas on specialised people rather than a larger salary on the more senior role might be more beneficial.
You then have the CEO to head up those 3 people. Whether or not Kensell is the person to do that is up for debate.
Saint Hibee
26-04-2024, 03:24 PM
Just read Monty’s EEN response to the board statement: “ The stats, the metrics, everything around the season, there are a lot of positives.” So, at least the stats and metrics are fine ….🤔
26-04-2024, 03:30 PM
Just read Monty’s EEN response to the board statement: “ The stats, the metrics, everything around the season, there are a lot of positives.” So, at least the stats and metrics are fine ….🤔
There’s a bit more to what he says than that though…..
“I know we should have done better. We were 20 seconds' difference from the top six but, even if we'd got there, I would still have looked at this season as not enough points, too many points dropped from winning positions, so it wouldn't have changed the review that we did. A lot of the stats and metrics in my time at the club have been really positive but ultimately results paper over a lot of those good stats because it's about the result at the end of the day.”
26-04-2024, 03:31 PM
Are we having an open topped bus for our fantastic metrics? :rolleyes:
26-04-2024, 03:34 PM
Do we get a trophy for our fantastic metrics?
26-04-2024, 03:51 PM
“I know we should have done better. We were 20 seconds' difference from the top six but, even if we'd got there, I would still have looked at this season as not enough points, too many points dropped from winning positions, so it wouldn't have changed the review that we did. A lot of the stats and metrics in my time at the club have been really positive but ultimately results paper over a lot of those good stats because it's about the result at the end of the day.”
Why context is important. :rolleyes:
26-04-2024, 04:41 PM
Are we having an open topped bus for our fantastic metrics? :rolleyes:
😄
26-04-2024, 05:02 PM
He also says...
"“, a lot of players contracted to the club that have not contributed anything this season to Hibs, and some who may never contribute."
He's probably right but not sure sharing that thought publicly is a good thing just now.
I seem to remember a certain Mr Butcher say similar... that went well
26-04-2024, 05:11 PM
He also says...
"“, a lot of players contracted to the club that have not contributed anything this season to Hibs, and some who may never contribute."
He's probably right but not sure sharing that thought publicly is a good thing just now.
I seem to remember a certain Mr Butcher say similar... that went well
I’d assume he’s referring to the 18 odd players we’ve got out on loan. Some amount of cash wasted.
26-04-2024, 05:47 PM
Do we get a trophy for our fantastic metrics?We didn't have metrics when I started supporting Hibs, and now we've finally got some so it's not as bad a season as it first appeared to be.
As soon as I find out what metrics actually are I will look forward to the club contacting me to sell me the memorabilia associated with them.
Hopefully we get the giant foam hands next, with metrics written on them.
26-04-2024, 05:48 PM
I’d assume he’s referring to the 18 odd players we’ve got out on loan. Some amount of cash wasted.True, ..... hadn't thought of that way... and amazing to think of the lack of return compared to the financial side of it
26-04-2024, 06:06 PM
Even allowing for this qualifying context in the larger quote…. This is nonsense.
What metrics does he think we excel in? I hope he’s not talking about possession as our passing is terrible and we keep it in the wrong areas for too long.
People can laugh about underlying stats etc, but if we were perhaps creating loads of chances and underperforming against our xG, maybe that would be a compelling case.
Even look at Lee Johnson a year ago. He could point to the fact we had a lot of shots at goal, we won the ball in opponents final third well and our stats for winning the ball back in general quickly, were amongst the best in the league.
Again, this Hibs team excel at nothing. Thanks Monty
banchoryhibs
26-04-2024, 06:42 PM
I'm really trying hard to believe that Montgomery is the right man for the job but I'm struggling to do so.
His comment "“I understand the fans’ frustration. I love the fans here, love their passion. We all want to win every game, so we’re on the same page. I apologise to the fans and the players apologise for not making the top six, but we now have to move forward.” is so frustrating. He says he gets our grief and frustration then qualifies this by using his all too familiar phrase of "now we have to move forward".
It's like he's simply dismissing the failure. Where's his passion?
26-04-2024, 06:49 PM
I'm really trying hard to believe that Montgomery is the right man for the job but I'm struggling to do so.
His comment "“I understand the fans’ frustration. I love the fans here, love their passion. We all want to win every game, so we’re on the same page. I apologise to the fans and the players apologise for not making the top six, but we now have to move forward.” is so frustrating. He says he gets our grief and frustration then qualifies this by using his all too familiar phrase of "now we have to move forward".
I get what you're saying, but ultimately all we can do now is move on. Results are in the past.
I'm still hoping we move on as a club by getting rid of NM. Just don't see that happening now.
26-04-2024, 06:57 PM
Dismissing it and apologising for it simultaneously?
26-04-2024, 07:04 PM
I don’t see any fault with that tbh mate.
What else are you looking for?
26-04-2024, 07:08 PM
He's becoming unbearable
JammyDoidger
26-04-2024, 07:21 PM
This crap that managers spout really annoys me like, doesn't matter how many shots on target you have, or how much possession you have it doesn't guarantee wins, there is plenty teams out there that win games without being in the game atall, we are just so soft and a lot of that's down to the manager, some of his subs and tactics have literally cost us games. Your left scratching your head, he's to blame for us not finishing in the top 6 imo more than anyone else. He seems utterly clueless.
banchoryhibs
26-04-2024, 07:28 PM
I don’t see any fault with that tbh mate.
What else are you looking for?
If he had stopped after his apology that would have been ok. But, to me, it's his immediate use of the phrase - "now we have to move forward" in the same sentence minimises the fact that there's been a failure to deliver again. He's saying, move on, forget about that, let's concentrate on the future.
I really am trying to believe that he will successfully turn things round, maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised in the next 5 games.
26-04-2024, 07:51 PM
If he had stopped after his apology that would have been ok. But, to me, it's his immediate use of the phrase - "now we have to move forward" in the same sentence minimises the fact that there's been a failure to deliver again. He's saying, move on, forget about that, let's concentrate on the future.
I really am trying to believe that he will successfully turn things round, maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised in the next 5 games.
We all know it’s been a failure. He’s acknowledged it. The board have acknowledged it. There is no point in going over and over it. All he can do is move on to the next game, for all it matters, and try to win that. Don’t really see what else he can say here.
26-04-2024, 08:19 PM
I wonder if the metrics would have been any better if they had a lion chasing them?
27-04-2024, 05:24 AM
NHC but just goes to show how hard it is to recruit the right manager with some already criticising Liverpool's move to get Arne Slot from Feyenoord.
Understandable given how things have gone with Ten Haag but even at the top level recruiting managers is perhaps the most difficult task in football.
27-04-2024, 06:19 AM
The only metric that counts is our league position at the end of the season. Montgomery essentially admits that but also has to talk himself up to deflect from his poor managerial performance. Anything else and he might as well be writing his own P45. It's self-preservation PR spin that no one buys but he's clinging onto this job by his fingertips. I think that today and the next 4 games will decide his future at Hibs.
27-04-2024, 06:37 AM
NHC but just goes to show how hard it is to recruit the right manager with some already criticising Liverpool's move to get Arne Slot from Feyenoord.
Understandable given how things have gone with Ten Haag but even at the top level recruiting managers is perhaps the most difficult task in football.
Actually think it’s the opposite.
Obviously finding a manager to replace Alex Ferguson or Klopp who have both been successful will be difficult.
But to replace Maloney - LJ and Monty really isn’t that hard.
Currently Monty has somehow made LJ look a better manager than what he was.
27-04-2024, 06:42 AM
I’ve not watched, listened to any Monty interview since January-ish as I just can’t take to him
When I see quotes like the one just posted, it confirms my decision
Sooner the better
27-04-2024, 07:25 AM
I have to disagree with you there. You can only look forward. The past is done. It can’t be changed.
Acknowledge it.
Acknowledge the mistakes made.
Learn from them.
He’s done the first.
He’s maybe done the second.
I’m not sure he’s done the third, to any level of success anyway.
I think he’ll be gone soon. He only has himself to blame. The CH situation in particular is a shocker. He had a window to address that. He never.
27-04-2024, 07:27 AM
Tbf, there are a few managers in their own league that Liverpool could go for.
I don’t know for sure, but it’s like our club missing their first two targets and then going for their third whilst ignoring the likes of McInnes (ahem).
They are being critiqued for not getting their first two targets.
Liverpool are one of the biggest clubs in the world, and you’d expect they could attract a big name - I’d expect their fans feel that way.
27-04-2024, 09:20 AM
Don’t know why anyone pays any attention to what managers ,or players,say in the media.
27-04-2024, 09:38 AM
No, he hasn’t.
27-04-2024, 10:12 AM
Don’t know why anyone pays any attention to what managers ,or players,say in the media.
Said it before but for all his faults I think that’s why Lennon remains so popular. When he spoke, whether you agreed with him or not, he was saying something.
When the current crop of manager or players speak it’s just cliches copied out a media training textbook trying to get out of each interview saying as little as possible.
You only have to look at Martin Boyle, caught off guard you can see he’s a character and full of personality. Put him in front of a camera for an interview and he’s every bit as dull and boring as the rest of them.
That’s why ideally I’d like a South American lunatic who doesn’t care about the consequences of what he says as our next manager.