View Full Version : Your first Hibs manager, and how many have you had since during your time?

16-04-2024, 09:16 PM
When I started to go to Easter Road, the club was celebrating their centenary year and Eddie Turnbull was the manager.

Eddie Turnbull was the 14th manager of the club (not including the 2 caretaker managers) in that first 100 years of Hibs.

Since Turnbull, and 49 years on from the centenary, Nick Montgomery is now the 23rd manger of the club during my time (not including 15 caretakers).

I’m sure that increased turnover trend in modern times is replicated across football. I’d hate to think what the second 100 year total will be in 2075..

16-04-2024, 09:23 PM
Very end of the Turnbull era, I remember Ormond being in charge vaguely, but I really remember from Auld onwards

16-04-2024, 09:24 PM
Alex Miller was the manager for the first game I attended, although Willie McFarlane was the manager when I was born.

So that's either 19 managers or 26 (ignoring caretakers).

16-04-2024, 09:25 PM
Supporting from afar Eddie Turnball.
Supporting in person Alex McLeish.

Musselbound
16-04-2024, 09:30 PM
Alex Miller. Long lost count so I'll leave it to others to do the maths. 🤓

16-04-2024, 09:31 PM
When I started to go to Easter Road, the club was celebrating their centenary year and Eddie Turnbull was the manager.

Eddie Turnbull was the 14th manager of the club (not including the 2 caretaker managers) in that first 100 years of Hibs.

Since Turnbull, and 49 years on from the centenary, Nick Montgomery is now the 23rd manger of the club during my time (not including 15 caretakers).

I’m sure that increased turnover trend in modern times is replicated across football. I’d hate to think what the second 100 year total will be in 2075..

Miller time. Scarred since then - cheers! Great cup win and some performances and players. But that Derby record - indefensible. Too many I lost count.

16-04-2024, 09:34 PM
Bertie Auld was my first. Lost count since!

16-04-2024, 09:38 PM
Bob Shankly was my first,26 managers since then not including temporary managers

16-04-2024, 09:41 PM
Eddie Turnbull when I first attended in 1974.

16-04-2024, 10:01 PM
Hugh Shaw though strictly speaking it was McCartney when my grandad first took me to a reserve game.

16-04-2024, 10:07 PM
Bob Shankly was my first,26 managers since then not including temporary managers

Snap, but TBH I didn’t even know there was a manager when I went, I just went to see Hibs play as a wee boy and was happy. Those were the days. 😂

16-04-2024, 10:11 PM
Bob Shankly brother of Bill who took Dundee to the semi final of the European Cup after winning the League

Tried to do the same with Hibs but got fed up with the Board pulling the rug from under him selling his star players and not matching his ambition

After that Willie MacFarlane who built a good team Dave Ewing then Eddie Turnbull who gave us the best brand of football the world’s ever seen

Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2024, 10:11 PM
Alex Miller when I was born, Alex Miller when I first went.

Seen 19 managers manage Hibs.

16-04-2024, 10:18 PM
First one I was aware of was Bob Shankly, I was very young at the time!

Vaguely remember him leaving and Willie Macfarlane taking over

Edit. 43 managers including caretakers according to Wiki... ��

16-04-2024, 10:21 PM
First was Mowbray, total is 14. Can split them roughly into three categories:

Good: Mowbray, Stubbs, Lennon
Ok: Collins, Paatelainen, Hughes, Fenlon, Ross
Bad: Calderwood, Butcher, Heckingbottom, Maloney, Johnson, Montgomery

16-04-2024, 11:17 PM
Wilier McFarlane

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

16-04-2024, 11:49 PM
I was born when Walter Galbraith was in charge and we've had 45 managers (including interims) in that almost 62 years. If you take out the 19 years for Eddie Turnbull and Alex Miller that's 43 others in in 43 years. It's little wonder our accomplishments are about as frequent as teeth in a duck.

17-04-2024, 12:40 AM
Hugh Shaw was the manager when I recall attending my first game in 1961.

He was only the ninth manager the club had had in its existence according to the records I have looked at.

Been a lot of managers under the bridge since then.

Having seen so many, that’s maybe why I don’t get too excited about them.

17-04-2024, 02:52 AM
Bono asks:

Is it getting better
Or do you feel the same?
Will it make it easier on you now
You got someone to blame?

17-04-2024, 06:31 AM
Miller for me, first game was against Partick and Darren Jackson scored a pen. 1996? I ran up the back of the east terrified when we scored.

I went and stood on a seat with a bunch of other folk who took me under their wing, so cheers guys if you read this!

Trinity Hibee
17-04-2024, 06:43 AM
Alex Miller. Oddly I’ve got 2 younger brothers, the youngest of which is 8 years younger than me. Alex miller was in charge when all of us were born.

My first game was April 1995 v Falkirk at ER. Lost 2-0 and think it dented our chances of finishing 2nd. Motherwell got 2nd we finished 3rd, Celtic 4th

DIXIHIBS
17-04-2024, 06:52 AM
Shankly for me but I was to young to remember much about him, just watched the game then. Definitely remember McFarlane then Turnbull and the dozens after that.

Bridge hibs
17-04-2024, 06:54 AM
Eddie Turnbull when I started attending in the good old days

17-04-2024, 06:56 AM
Would have been 1960 / 1961 the first time my dad took me to Easter Road. So, looking at the list it would have been Hugh Shaw in charge then. Been quite a few since then.

Mcbizz1998
17-04-2024, 08:10 AM
First was Mowbray, total is 14. Can split them roughly into three categories:

Good: Mowbray, Stubbs, Lennon
Ok: Collins, Paatelainen, Hughes, Fenlon, Ross
Bad: Calderwood, Butcher, Heckingbottom, Maloney, Johnson, Montgomery

I'm the same, started with football later than most so Mowbray was my first manager. Thanks for doing the count!

One point though - how has the man who oversaw 5-1 and 7-0 Malmo made it into the 'OK' category?! :confused:

Dublin07
17-04-2024, 08:26 AM
Turnbull was my first but unfortunately it was his last 6 months and certainly not the tornadoes! 24 permanent managers up to now.

17-04-2024, 08:35 AM
Alex McLeish for me

17-04-2024, 08:39 AM
Alex Miller was my first.

Since then I've had Duffy, McLeish, Sauzee, Williamson, Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Hughes, Calderwood, Fenlon, Butcher, Stubbs, Lennon, Heckingbottom, Ross, Maloney, Johnson and Montgomery.

Actually less than I thought.

17-04-2024, 08:44 AM
It’s interesting to note that Eddie Turnbull was the first Hibs manager to be officially “sacked”.

Up to 1980 we saw 6 resignations, two managers move to other clubs and two passing away while in office.

Since then we’ve had 9 sackings, 4 move to other clubs, 3 mutual consents, 3 resignations and 1 retirement.

17-04-2024, 08:45 AM
Hugh Shaw was the manager when I was at primary school and started supporting Hibs but Walter Galbraith by the time I started going to Easter Road.
If you don't count caretakers Monty is the 28th and counting!!

Gloucester Hibs
17-04-2024, 08:56 AM

Since then I've had Duffy, McLeish, Sauzee, Williamson, Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Hughes, Calderwood, Fenlon, Butcher, Stubbs, Lennon, Heckingbottom, Ross, Maloney, Johnson and Montgomery.

Same for me, albeit I think John Blackley would've been the Hibs manager when I was first taken to a game (me and my wee brother scrambling about the seats in the old main stand). Earliest memory of a Hibs game is the old stand shaking as the fans stamped their feet, Boom-Boom-Boom, Hibees!

Didn't really catch the bug until a game under Miller early 1990, a 1-0 home win over Celtic. Think Kano scored a penalty.

17-04-2024, 08:59 AM
Alex Miller was my first, God knows how many there has been since, quite a few

Roxyhibee
17-04-2024, 09:09 AM
Summer 1965 was my first game, so Bob Shankly. As I was an instant fanatic at 6 years old, I remember him well and by the time the entertaining Willie McFarlane came along, it was pretty exciting supporting Hibs - start of secondary school and having Turnbull arriving felt amazing. What a start to a young Hibee life.!

Been a lot more downs than ups since then for the 26 or so managers I’ve endured and we’ve made a right pigs ear of appointments since that 2016 cup win gave us the opportunity to launch ourselves back to where we should be.

17-04-2024, 09:21 AM
I was born when Walter Galbraith was in charge and we've had 45 managers (including interims) in that almost 62 years. If you take out the 19 years for Eddie Turnbull and Alex Miller that's 43 others in in 43 years. It's little wonder our accomplishments are about as frequent as teeth in a duck.

While there may be an argument to be made about manager turnover, if you include caretakers and exclude long-serving managers then the numbers become meaningless.

17-04-2024, 09:42 AM
Just checked who was manager in 1964 and it was Galbraith, i've no memory of him as i was only 4 years old when my dad first took me to the old north enclosure.:greengrin

Dont even remember Stein, the first manager i really remember is Shankly.

43 including temps.

Roxyhibee
17-04-2024, 09:45 AM
To give my 26 fully appointed managers in 60 years as a supporter stat some relevant context, I’m pretty sure Hearts have had a fair few more in that time and possibly Aberdeen too. We are no different really. Then you have to take out a few who left, like McLeish, Mowbray, Stubbs etc.

Finding a manager who can get everything going in the right direction and have a consistent few seasons keeping that standard up is clearly very difficult for a board and more so nowadays as fans are much less patient I think. But as we all know it’s also the most important appointment a club can make and we have made poor decisions in that area recently. Here’s hoping the next one is on the money.

17-04-2024, 10:37 AM
I started with Turnbull early 70's, so including him i'm on my 24th manager i think. That's not including 12 caretaker managers Eddie May twice and SDG 3.

He's here!
17-04-2024, 11:15 AM
I started with Turnbull early 70's, so including him i'm on my 24th manager i think. That's not including 12 caretaker managers Eddie May twice and SDG 3.

Am I right in recalling that Billy McNeill was once our caretaker manager? I'm pretty sure he was, but I just can't imagine how that would have come about. He surely never took up an assistant manager role at Hibs?

17-04-2024, 11:23 AM
Am I right in recalling that Billy McNeill was once our caretaker manager? I'm pretty sure he was, but I just can't imagine how that would have come about. He surely never took up an assistant manager role at Hibs?

Yes he was brought in as some sort of DoF for Jim Duffy and took us for one game when Duffy left. 1998 it's saying.

17-04-2024, 11:27 AM

Aberdeen away if my memory is right?

17-04-2024, 11:35 AM
Aberdeen away if my memory is right?

It was.

A 3-0 defeat. Iirc he replaced Chris Reid in goals with Oli.

Not really a surprise McLeish came in and made a goalkeeper his top priority.

The Hibee Harp
17-04-2024, 11:42 AM
John Blackley - and rarely has the football improved since!

17-04-2024, 12:01 PM
I recall being taken to a few games when Jock Stein was in charge but Bob Shankly was the manager when i started going regularly with my auld man.

17-04-2024, 12:07 PM
Caught the last few months of Willie Ormond then on to Bertie Auld. If you're of the complainers re the crap football of recent years I would like to time travel you back to Bertie's reign. Dull, boring, awful, with seemingly repetitive bore draws. I must have been made of sterner stuff back then to keep going. Alex Miller had a few good squads in his time with the likes of Darren Jackson, Michael O'Neill, Keith Keith and won the League Cup but the highlights of his 10 year reign were very few. It wasn't until McLeish arrived that we had something to shout about. Mowbray short but very sweet stay. Collins (League Cup), Stubbs gave us some fun and the Holy Grail. A short cameo from Lennon and pretty poor stuff since. I've not mentioned everyone over the piece as they were pretty much meh!

Stanton, Blackley and Sauzee - so sad to see heroes fail to succeed.

Septimus
17-04-2024, 12:12 PM
Willie McCartney.

Victor
17-04-2024, 12:41 PM
I started going when I was 5 so it must have been Jock Stein!

Fanforlife
17-04-2024, 12:46 PM
Hugh Shaw when my dad took me Walter Galbraith when started going with pals.

Groathillgrump
17-04-2024, 12:50 PM
Since my first game in 1970 we've had Dave Ewing plus another 25 permanent managers.

Also had 12 different caretaker managers during that period including David Gray three times and Eddie May twice.

He's here!
17-04-2024, 01:18 PM
It was.

A 3-0 defeat. Iirc he replaced Chris Reid in goals with Oli.

Not really a surprise McLeish came in and made a goalkeeper his top priority.

Yes, McLeish brought in Gunn but did Ole not return to feature regularly in our First Division campaign? Don't think Colgan was signed until after we got promoted.

Just had a look at Ole's career details and unfortunately he appears to have had some addiction issues/run-ins with the authorities post-football.

17-04-2024, 01:41 PM
Yes, McLeish brought in Gunn but did Ole not return to feature regularly in our First Division campaign? Don't think Colgan was signed until after we got promoted.

Just had a look at Ole's career details and unfortunately he appears to have had some addiction issues/run-ins with the authorities post-football.

That's right. Gunn got injured in pre-season and never played again. Oli came in a had a good season in the First Division. Made a decent start to the next SPL one as well (I remember him making a couple of incredible saves in the first derby at ER, 1-1 draw) and felt that McLeish dropped him harshly. However, bringing Colgan in was definitely a good move, and was a pivotal point in that season.

17-04-2024, 01:47 PM
Eddie Turnbull was manager when I was born, Pat Stanton was likely manager when I went to ER for the first time. Blackley was manager when I first really remember properly paying attention to a game - but it was his last: a 3-1 defeat at home to Hamilton, who were miles adrift at the bottom of the league at that time.

Generally got decent memories of Miller's time. During the worst parts of his tenure I was really young and just happy enough to get to games, but when older I could appreciate how he went about building a team over the course of several years (when your first team squad was much smaller, and there were no wholesale changes every year due to Bosmans).

17-04-2024, 01:48 PM
Hugh Shaw was in charge when I watched my first game in 1951. We've had 29 managers since Shaw, plus 13 caretaker managers.

MKHIBEE
17-04-2024, 02:05 PM
Bob Shankly would have been my first, not that I realised it at the time. 27 managers and 16 caretaker stints in my time.

Trinity Hibee
17-04-2024, 02:22 PM
I think I’ve worked this out correctly:

Hibs have been around for 149 years. We’ve had around 38 permanent managers. Half of them have been in the last 30 years

Frogga
17-04-2024, 02:47 PM

Hibs have been around for 149 years. We’ve had around 38 permanent managers. Half of them have been in the last 30 years

Yeah good shout! I'm counting 37.

Alex Miller was in charge when I was born and for my first game 7 years later. He was Hibs 19th permanent manager according to Wiki (if my counting is correct).

We've had 18 managers since, so (as you say) we've had as many managers in the 28 years post-Alex Miller as we did in the 111 years pre-Alex Miller.

Groathillgrump
17-04-2024, 02:49 PM

That stat is indicative of how expectations have changed over the years. Fans of most clubs aren't prepared to give managers time to build a successful side.

If there's not instant improvement, a few months later we're demanding that the manager is sacked. Sadly I'm as guilty of that as anyone. Not sure how we break the cycle though.

17-04-2024, 02:53 PM
The tail end of Turnbull for be. We were more a light breeze than a Tornado at that point

17-04-2024, 03:01 PM
I'm the same, started with football later than most so Mowbray was my first manager. Thanks for doing the count!

One point though - how has the man who oversaw 5-1 and 7-0 Malmo made it into the 'OK' category?! :confused:

Does fenlon get the blame for 5-1? Without his good work we'd have been nowhere near that final. We were absolutely awful

17-04-2024, 03:02 PM
That's right. Gunn got injured in pre-season and never played again. Oli came in a had a good season in the First Division. Made a decent start to the next SPL one as well (I remember him making a couple of incredible saves in the first derby at ER, 1-1 draw) and felt that McLeish dropped him harshly. However, bringing Colgan in was definitely a good move, and was a pivotal point in that season.

Oli was very decent in the 1st division.

As you say he also made an ok start to the season the year we came back up. He did have a nightmare in the game v Dundee United that saw him dropped and I think McLeish was just waiting for the chance. I think we only won 1 of our first 8 that season and were regularly conceding 2 or more goals (I think we had a 4-3 win, 3 or 4 2-2 draws and a couple of 3 goal defeats). It was an easy change to make to freshen it up.

It's quite crazy to think that the 0-3 'millennium derby' was only our 6th win of the season and it was played in late December.

17-04-2024, 03:13 PM

As you say he also made an ok start to the season the year we came back up. He did have a nightmare in the game v Dundee United that saw him dropped and I think McLeish was just waiting for the chance. I think we only won 1 of our first 8 that season and were regularly conceding 2 or more goals (I think we had a 4-3 win, 3 or 4 2-2 draws and a couple of 3 goal defeats). It was an easy change to make to freshen it up.

It's quite crazy to think that the 0-3 'millennium derby' was only our 6th win of the season and it was played in late December.

We have only won 9 league games THIS season. :boo hoo:

17-04-2024, 03:15 PM
Alex Miller. Long lost count so I'll leave it to others to do the maths. 🤓

Ditto

17-04-2024, 03:17 PM

Ah you're right PB - I had in my head that he was dropped after the 2-2 draw at Motherwell, but you're right that it was after that Utd game - think he gave away a pen in the last minute (which Dodds thankfully skied over the bar)? We were conceding a lot.

Yeah that is quite mental, and I've said before that my memories of that season are not quite in sync with how difficult it was at times. I obviously think we were delighted just to be back up, and there was a lot of good will for that team, given the First Division campaign - and we had two absolute superstars in Latapy and Sauzee also. Winning two derbies and only losing one also helped a lot, as did beating Celtic at home, and drawing with Rangers.

I remember referencing that First Division campaign when how we won the Championship in 2017 was used as a stick to beat Lennon with (as if it matters how you win the lower league). We absolutely skooshed the league in 1999, winning by a huge margin and had a points record at the time - but there's absolutely no doubt that we were much better equipped for the top league in 2017 (which we won by a mere 11 points).

Hillsidehibby
17-04-2024, 03:51 PM
Bob Shankly. Surprising amount of old codgers on this site. :greengrin

17-04-2024, 03:57 PM
Earliest memory as a kid is John Blackley. Much more prominent memories of Alex Miller.

Total permanent managers: 20
Best win rate: Jack Ross
Best memories: McLeish, Mowbray (Stubbs for the Cup only) and Lennon.

17-04-2024, 04:37 PM
Walter Galbraith for me, but the first manager I was actually aware of was Eddie Turnbull. I was just turning 8 when he took charge and for a while it was magic.

CB Hibs 68
17-04-2024, 05:54 PM
Bob Shanlly for me.Jan 68.Hibsv Dundee Utd.3-0 Hibs.That was me hook line and sinker.

17-04-2024, 07:31 PM

He was only the ninth manager the club had had in its existence according to the records I have looked at.

Did you see the Jock Stein Hibs side? I’d love to hear what they were like.

17-04-2024, 07:39 PM
Walter Galbraith 😮☹

17-04-2024, 07:41 PM

Changed completely after Galbraith, I seriously think he could have taken us all the way, a Scottish Cup at least

17-04-2024, 08:08 PM
Does fenlon get the blame for 5-1? Without his good work we'd have been nowhere near that final. We were absolutely awful

Well he got us there so aye he does 😂

He's here!
17-04-2024, 09:00 PM
Ah you're right PB - I had in my head that he was dropped after the 2-2 draw at Motherwell, but you're right that it was after that Utd game - think he gave away a pen in the last minute (which Dodds thankfully skied over the bar)? We were conceding a lot.

Yeah that is quite mental, and I've said before that my memories of that season are not quite in sync with how difficult it was at times. I obviously think we were delighted just to be back up, and there was a lot of good will for that team, given the First Division campaign - and we had two absolute superstars in Latapy and Sauzee also. Winning two derbies and only losing one also helped a lot, as did beating Celtic at home, and drawing with Rangers.

I remember referencing that First Division campaign when how we won the Championship in 2017 was used as a stick to beat Lennon with (as if it matters how you win the lower league). We absolutely skooshed the league in 1999, winning by a huge margin and had a points record at the time - but there's absolutely no doubt that we were much better equipped for the top league in 2017 (which we won by a mere 11 points).

Finished sixth that first season back up. Below Motherwell and St Johnstone. Aberdeen finished bottom but were spared relegation as Falkirk didn't have a top flight compliant stadium. We really blew it against them in the Scotuish Cup semi when we were 1-0 up and bossing it but IIRC one of our players (Lovell?) had to go off early, incurring McLeish's wrath as he'd assured him he was fit to start.

McLeish brought in some terrific players for the next season when at one point we were dreaming of a title challenge.

17-04-2024, 09:17 PM

Fit,hard,skilful.Won the majority of the games he managed.

17-04-2024, 10:09 PM
Turnbulls tornadoes....there is some benefit to being old !
No idea how many we 've gone thru since then....too many.

I appreciate its a tough gig, but the hibs board need to up their game on appointments.

18-04-2024, 08:30 AM

Ditto. Going to say Shankly and McFarlane were probably the best managers in my time.

18-04-2024, 09:40 AM

Thanks Fred, saved me typing that.

18-04-2024, 09:53 AM

I’ll be the same.

Decent pub quiz question would be - how many caretaker managers have we had in that time, and who were they?

18-04-2024, 09:57 AM
Alex Miller was my first so for me Hibs are traditionally a defensive, boring team who never beat Hearts :greengrin

18-04-2024, 11:43 AM
First game Bob Shankly, Jock Stein left two weeks before my first game.

18-04-2024, 10:18 PM
Finished sixth that first season back up. Below Motherwell and St Johnstone. Aberdeen finished bottom but were spared relegation as Falkirk didn't have a top flight compliant stadium. We really blew it against them in the Scotuish Cup semi when we were 1-0 up and bossing it but IIRC one of our players (Lovell?) had to go off early, incurring McLeish's wrath as he'd assured him he was fit to start.

McLeish brought in some terrific players for the next season when at one point we were dreaming of a title challenge.

Spot on about that semi final. Was Derek Collins that went off early, after declaring himself fit. Was a massive problem with only two subs allowed. Remember McLeish talking through his thought process behind who to put to RB in his place in the Inside Easter Road video.

killie-hibby
19-04-2024, 10:12 AM
Hugh Shaw when attending my first game at ER in 1954 or 1955. Don't have time to list managers since Shaw.
Willie McFarlane and Jock Stein were better IMOP
than any of the rest.

hibbiedon
19-04-2024, 10:19 AM
The manager at my first game was Walter Galbraith, 1962 v st Mirren, think there has been 2 or 3 mangers since then

19-04-2024, 10:29 AM

I remember Jimmy Bocco consoling him as the team left the pitch while "Oli Oli get tae ****" was getting belted out. Think that was the Dundee United game.

john rossi
19-04-2024, 11:08 AM
From 1959 to 2024 Hibs.managers total 39 first Hugh Shaw up to Neil montgomery

john rossi
19-04-2024, 11:20 AM
Best mangers in my time Jock Stein by a long way played some of the best football I have ever seen at Easter road beat Rangers 3 times in one season plus a 2-0 win over the great Real Madrid. Outstanding players were Willie Hamilton, Pat Quinn etc. Eddie Turnbull, Willie McFarland, Alex mcleish,Tony Mowbray.

19-04-2024, 11:26 AM
Hugh Shaw when attending my first game at ER in 1954 or 1955. Don't have time to list managers since Shaw.
Willie McFarlane and Jock Stein were better IMOP
than any of the rest.

I find that odd when Stein didn't last a season. Turnbull twice split the Old Firm, won a cup and delivered some amazing nights in Europe.

19-04-2024, 11:31 AM
Bob Shankly So 40 if you include temporary managers

john rossi
19-04-2024, 11:52 AM
Best mangers in my time Jock Stein by a long way played some of the best football I have ever seen at Easter road beat Rangers 3 times in one season plus a 2-0 win over the great Real Madrid. Outstanding players were Willie Hamilton, Pat Quinn etc. Eddie Turnbull, Willie McFarland, Alex mcleish,Tony Mowbray.

leith lynx
19-04-2024, 12:06 PM
McFarlane/Ewing/ Turnbull...lose count after that, though I'm sure somebody can quote me the stat!

19-04-2024, 01:12 PM
I remember Jimmy Bocco consoling him as the team left the pitch while "Oli Oli get tae ****" was getting belted out. Think that was the Dundee United game.

I think Boco was long gone by that time.

You could be thinking of another game v Dundee United the season we were relegated. We were 1-0 down, equalised late on then John Hughes got caught wrong side and gifted them a 2nd before Oli let one through his legs in injury time. Both of them got absolute pelters from the stands.

The game before he was dropped that season was v Motherwell, a 1-1 draw in which he dropped an easy shot right at Owen Coyle's feet in the last minute. Chris Reid started the next game at Ibrox and saved a penalty albeit they scored the rebound in a 1-0 defeat.

Incidentally in both the Dundee United and Mothwerwell games we shot up the slope in the 2nd half.

Mothwerwell lowlights here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=c2legB2rtNk
And Dundee United here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJM3YKw1snI&t=1s

You can see how shot the poor guys confidence is in the Motherwell game. Also it's beyond me how Willie Miller wasn't sent off for what can only be described as an assault:faf:

19-04-2024, 01:14 PM
I think Boco was long gone by that time.

You could be thinking of another game v Dundee United the season we were relegated. We were 1-0 down, equalised late on then John Hughes got caught wrong side and gifted them a 2nd before Oli let one through his legs in injury time. Both of them got absolute pelters from the stands.

The game before he was dropped that season was v Motherwell, a 1-1 draw in which he dropped an easy shot right at Owen Coyle's feet in the last minute. Chris Reid started the next game at Ibrox and saved a penalty albeit they scored the rebound in a 1-0 defeat.

Incidentally in both the Dundee United and Mothwerwell games we shot up the slope in the 2nd half.

Mothwerwell lowlights here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=c2legB2rtNk
And Dundee United here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJM3YKw1snI&t=1s

I’m positive the GTF chanting was in the immediate aftermath of the Motherwell game - when he failed to hold a pretty tame shot and they scored the rebound. Iirc it was very late in the game and everyone knew how costly it might be.

Edit - just watched the highlights, first time I’ve seen them since being at the match - the gaffe is even worse than it seemed at the time.

19-04-2024, 01:28 PM
I’m positive the GTF chanting was in the immediate aftermath of the Motherwell game - when he failed to hold a pretty tame shot and they scored the rebound. Iirc it was very late in the game and everyone knew how costly it might be.

Edit - just watched the highlights, first time I’ve seen them since being at the match - the gaffe is even worse than it seemed at the time.

I think you are right.

I always remember Jim Duffy coming on the radio and saying that no one was hurting more than Oli and he understood the fans frustrations but the guy was distraught. I think people often forget how vicious fans could get around that time. I remember it really kicking off when we lost 3-1 to Hearts the previous season having been 3-0 down at HT with fans streaming out and Miller GTF chants (he was sacked after the game) and it really continued until McLeish came in and galvanised things. Even he was under real pressure early in the great adventure season and I still say the St Johnstone away game in the LC that we lost 4-0 is the most poisonous Hibs support I have been in. It was brutal and no one from the players through the manager and up to the boardroom was spared (apart from Kenny Miller, he got a good reception).

darwenhibby
19-04-2024, 02:00 PM
I think you are right.

I always remember Jim Duffy coming on the radio and saying that no one was hurting more than Oli and he understood the fans frustrations but the guy was distraught. I think people often forget how vicious fans could get around that time. I remember it really kicking off when we lost 3-1 to Hearts the previous season having been 3-0 down at HT with fans streaming out and Miller GTF chants (he was sacked after the game) and it really continued until McLeish came in and galvanised things. Even he was under real pressure early in the great adventure season and I still say the St Johnstone away game in the LC that we lost 4-0 is the most poisonous Hibs support I have been in. It was brutal and no one from the players through the manager and up to the boardroom was spared (apart from Kenny Miller, he got a good reception).
Remember it well
Sandy Clark’s first game in charge of SJ
Big travelling Hibs Support and the team bombed
The evening news the following night gave the Star player award to the fans

19-04-2024, 02:12 PM

Yes was at that game pretty sure Owen Coyle scored late on after Ollie’s fumble

19-04-2024, 02:28 PM
30 full time and 16 temporary managers since Hugh Shaw.

19-04-2024, 02:35 PM
Remember it well

Highlights of the game here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hdd-3uz4hbc

I have some awful memories of McDiarmid Park. A 5-1 defeat under Hughes and a 2-0 defeat also under him (I think that may have been his last game) when he lost the plot on the touchline and was ranting and raving and arguing with fans. A game that was abandoned at HT because of snow and we lost the replayed game 1-0 on a freezing February night (with Earl Jean making one of only a handful of appearances). The season we finished 3rd under McLeish I remember Tommy Lovenkrands (Peter's brother) giving us the runaround in a 2-0 defeat. There were a couple of 2 goal defeats under both Fenlon and Butcher as well.

I really can't wait to get back there next Saturday:rolleyes::greengrin

Posh Swanny
19-04-2024, 02:59 PM
My start to life in Edinburgh pretty much set the tone for the revolving door to the manager's office at Hibs.

Flat hunting: McLeish
Moved up: Sauzee
Finished unpacking: Williamson

19-04-2024, 03:24 PM
Dave Ewing would have been manager when I was born. First I really remember is Bertie Auld.

19-04-2024, 04:42 PM
I find that odd when Stein didn't last a season. Turnbull twice split the Old Firm, won a cup and delivered some amazing nights in Europe.

The season Stein went to Celtic the Old Firm couldn’t get into the top four in the league. I think if he had stayed we would have won something either that season or the next. His going knocked the stuffing out of the club for what was left of the season.

19-04-2024, 04:44 PM
My start to life in Edinburgh pretty much set the tone for the revolving door to the manager's office at Hibs.

That’s hilarious 😆

19-04-2024, 04:56 PM

20-04-2024, 06:56 PM
Very end of the Turnbull era, I remember Ormond being in charge vaguely, but I really remember from Auld onwards

Snap.

My first game was '79 and Turnbull was replaced in 1980 (I think)

21-04-2024, 11:25 AM
Alex Miller…… it was his particular brand of football that attracted me to Hibs from Liverpool 😂

21-04-2024, 05:35 PM
Alex Miller…… it was his particular brand of football that attracted me to Hibs from Liverpool 😂

Hibs4185
21-04-2024, 05:38 PM
Alex miller was my first manager at Easter Road. Sat in the main stand. Playing st J with budgie on goals, Keith wright etc.

My dad hated football so his mates used to take me.

Then in the old north stand for the next few years with a yellow poncho

HendoDelivered
21-04-2024, 07:18 PM
Mogga was in charge when I first started going at a young age

21-04-2024, 08:18 PM
Walter Galbraith was manager for my first ever game in 1962.
There have been 29 full time managers since then and 13 interim managers (less than 10 games).

What is scary though from a personal perspective, is there have been a total of 53 managers in the club’s history. 42 of them in my time as a supporter (65 years) and, maybe a sign of the times, only 8 in the 61 years up to 1962 from when the first recorded manager was in charge in 1901. Previous 25 years, a committee managed the club.

24-04-2024, 07:31 PM
It’s the natural thing to excited about what any new manager will bring, but while I was too young really to gauge the mood of the fans when Pat Stanton was appointed, it must have been quite an exciting appointment at the time? Particularly with fellow legend Jimmy O’Rourke coming in as assistant.

https://i.postimg.cc/9FXFSsy5/IMG-0253.jpg (https://postimg.cc/8s3SfKyt)

24-04-2024, 08:15 PM
Remember it well

Up there with the most angry I have been at a game. Huge support and I think I ended up queuing at 3 stands before eventually getting in when we were already beat and walking round the pitch to the family stand. The bairns learned a few new words that night

24-04-2024, 09:31 PM
30 full time and 16 temporary managers since Hugh Shaw.

Saved me counting😂