View Full Version : Has there been a game you enjoyed this season?

andyf5
13-04-2024, 08:47 PM
Struggling to think of any game I have enjoyed this season. The 3 -0 home defeat to St Mirren is the worst performance I can remember. A wrong appointment that needs corrected no matter how many times we have changed manager recently. By every measure this season is a huge failure.The new manager needs time to build a team for next season. Carrying on with hope without evidence threatens another lost year.

Bob Box Fish
13-04-2024, 08:48 PM
Lucern

Mainstandman
13-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Lucern home and away. Stmirren LC win

ShinyFantastic
13-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Luzern

13-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Lucern home/away

St Mirren home in the Cup 4-2

Villa home was an education 😀

13-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Luzern

***** season

Billy McKirdy
13-04-2024, 08:54 PM
Lucerne at home was brilliant

Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2024, 08:57 PM
Luzern. Villa away was a great trip. The kind of trip Montgomery has taken away the prospect of from us.

I’ve genuinely not properly enjoyed any game since Montgomery arrived. I can’t think of any previous manager where that’s been the case.

13-04-2024, 08:59 PM
Lucerne at home was brilliant
And Aston Villa

13-04-2024, 09:01 PM
Lucerne home and away.
Villa away, one of the best away supports I’ve been a part of.
Hibs Women v Hearts Women in the Capital cup.

TrinityHFC
13-04-2024, 09:02 PM
Lucerne home and away. Also the home leg of the previous round. Aberdeen away under Gray. First half v Livingston recently. That’s about it.

1875M
13-04-2024, 09:02 PM
Luzern. Villa as well, but in a different way, seeing an elite football team live was fascinating to watch the difference in quality.

13-04-2024, 09:03 PM
Luzern away. Enjoyed parts of the home game against Celtic that we ultimately lost.

Been a dire, dire season.

MelbourneHibees
13-04-2024, 09:03 PM
Coming back at Tiny was fun.

Silky
13-04-2024, 09:06 PM
I enjoyed Luzern and Aberdeen 6-0. Two matches under the previous regime. I now wonder if the grass really was greener...........

13-04-2024, 09:07 PM
I enjoyed the trip to Forfar. The game was dreadful but a good day out.

leith lynx
13-04-2024, 09:10 PM
In my 50 years of attending Easter Road, this season has got to be the dullest and boring of them all. Sad.

13-04-2024, 09:10 PM
Luzern. Villa away was a great trip. The kind of trip Montgomery has taken away the prospect of from us.

I’ve genuinely not properly enjoyed any game since Montgomery arrived. I can’t think of any previous manager where that’s been the case.

I’m the same, out of all the bad managers we’ve had there’s always been the odd brilliant win along the way. Monty hasn’t had one.

Mcbizz1998
13-04-2024, 09:12 PM
It’s a good thread as it highlights that most people can only name 1 solitary game they enjoyed this season, and it was 8 months ago under the previous manager who was sacked for not being good enough.

That say’s it all, really.

Mcbizz1998
13-04-2024, 09:13 PM
I enjoyed Luzern and Aberdeen 6-0. Two matches under the previous regime. I now wonder if the grass really was greener...........

and Aberdeen 6-0 wasn’t even this season. So you enjoyed 1 game all season, same here.

LewysGot2
13-04-2024, 09:28 PM
Luzern both H and A
Aston Villa A
Dundee A (Miller time)
Aberdeen A (SDG)
All 3 derbies - might not have won any but competed and atmosphere/effort in line with it being the best fixture on the list
Livingston H 3-0

Early in the season Joe Newell was on one of the podcasts - cannae mind which one - saying it had already felt like a very long season. At the time I did actually get what he meant. The start of the campaign with Thu-Sun-Thu-Sun-Thu-Sun along with 3 consecutive losses in the league definitely set a tone. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed all 6 European games (well 5 of them - but Andorra was a nice trip apart from the game). But it did feel like December by the time NM arrived. However, it did worry me players were feeling like that then.

I've seen much worse Hibs teams and seasons than this. But this season has felt meh. And maybe meh is worse than anything.

13-04-2024, 09:36 PM
Luzern home and away.

The two games at Tynecastle were decent.

The wee run of home league wins February/March were all decent performances. And the first two games at home under Montgomery (St Johnstone and St Mirren were good and I really thought we were on to something).

Dundee away was decent and the team showed a rare bit of fight and desire.

Slim pickings.

13-04-2024, 09:39 PM
Enjoyed the Nix last minute win the other day!

sauzee1989
13-04-2024, 09:40 PM
Luzern home and away.

The two games at Tynecastle were decent.

The wee run of home league wins February/March were all decent performances. And the first two games at home under Montgomery (St Johnstone and St Mirren were good and I really thought we were on to something).

Dundee away was decent and the team showed a rare bit of fight and desire.

Slim pickings.

We were murder away in luzern tbh! Should have been 5/6 goals for luzern

13-04-2024, 09:41 PM
Luzern at home was a fantastic night. Great second half performance, couple of great goals, and a proper big game atmosphere at ER. Feels like a very long time ago now.

Under NM, probably bizarrely it was the Dundee 0-0 at home. I thought we played really well that day, and created loads of chances - and even though we didn’t win, I thought it was befitting Mowbray’s mantra of “if we play like that…”

It was very early in Montgomery’s tenure and I felt very optimistic after that game. Sadly, that didn’t last long.

13-04-2024, 09:42 PM
I think this thread just highlights how few really good moments we have had under Montgomery.

Even the almost universally unpopular Johnson had a few moments, Luzern away, hammering Celtic at ER, and was involved in most people's favourite memories of this season. Someone like Calderwood had a 0-3 at Ibrox, Williamson had cup wins v Celtic and Rangers etc etc.

There have a been a couple of flashes under Montgomery, maybe the comeback at Tynecastle, but it's really slim pickings and very little that really stands out.

13-04-2024, 09:49 PM
Luzern at home was a cracking game. St Mirren in the cup was good. Tiny in the 2-2 and the 1-1 were both good games, the former more for the comeback than the performance, though.

Scrambling for 45 minutes here and there in the other games though, sadly. It's been a wholly disappointing season.

13-04-2024, 09:51 PM
Luzern at home was a cracking game. St Mirren in the cup was good. Tiny in the 2-2 and the 1-1 were both good games, the former more for the comeback than the performance, though.

Scrambling for 45 minutes here and there in the other games though, sadly. It's been a wholly disappointing season.

St. Mirren cup game is a good shout. Forgot about that one.

LewysGot2
13-04-2024, 09:51 PM

Aye, so had I. Been a long season

13-04-2024, 09:55 PM
Missed Lucern because I was at a music festival.

Enjoyed bits of a few, but its been a real mess overall. Monty not the only one needing punted.

13-04-2024, 09:56 PM

Aye but I had left Edinburgh at 6 o’clock the night before, stopped in Dublin for 8 pints, had a wee kip on the plane to Zurich, then had a full day drinking in Luzern. So it seemed fine to me!

13-04-2024, 09:56 PM
For half a sip during an evening game I thought I tasted the chocolate in my hot chocolate

But yeah the euro home games were all decent

Rest of them absolute garbage

He's here!
13-04-2024, 09:57 PM

Monty won me over (for a while) in the 1-1 Tynie game. Hearts fans were predicting all sorts of outlandish scorelines yet we refused to be bullied and should have won. I thought we had turned a corner there which is why it's so disappointing how quickly the wheels have come off again.

13-04-2024, 09:57 PM

Aye, so had I. Been a long season

St Mirren cup was good - but Monty's crazy subs almost scuppered us in that game too. The warning signs were there at that point. Similar to Maloney with bonkers in-game decisions early doors. both poor managers.

I enjoyed the come back v Hearts, but other than that its been 2 Johnson games, both v Luzern. :boo hoo::boo hoo:

Silky
13-04-2024, 09:59 PM
and Aberdeen 6-0 wasn’t even this season. So you enjoyed 1 game all season, same here.

🤣. There you go! That's how good it's been, I'm mixing up seasons!🤣 Aye, pretty much. And since both of these occurred under the previous regime, I have to conclude that I enjoyed the previous management team better than this one. 😲

13-04-2024, 10:02 PM
Luzern at home - I wasn’t at.

I was bringing my wee boy home from hospital for the first time, and I settled in to watch the second half on tv with him - first time I could ever say I’d watched Hibs with my son, which was magic. The football did justice to the occasion too, so it was all looking good.

13-04-2024, 10:08 PM
Nobody enjoyed being 3-0 up at half time against livi? Come on.

The much maligned game management went into full effect.

Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2024, 10:10 PM

We went 3-0 up after about 20 mins then the rest of the game was played out like a training match.

Nothing wrong with that as such. It didn’t make for a particularly enjoyable game overall though.

LewysGot2
13-04-2024, 10:12 PM

You didn't read every post...

13-04-2024, 10:14 PM
You didn't read every post...

You're quite right, 2 people (including yourself) have mentioned it.

Tbf, my favourite bit about it was the hospitality rather than the game. Not like the old days when we would've taken them for 7.

13-04-2024, 10:15 PM
Only been to 4 games this season so i'd go with the 0-0 with Celtic in October.

13-04-2024, 10:16 PM
Luzern home and away
Aberdeen away where we won 2-0.

Under Montgomery? There’s genuinely not many.

St Mirren in the cup.
3-0 v Livi

34 games - 11 wins, 12 draws and 11 defeats. It’s no wonder there’s not many to choose from. 32% wins.

JoeT
13-04-2024, 10:19 PM
2nd half today was lively and entertaining. Last minute ****ed it

13-04-2024, 10:24 PM
Luzern at home was good but you knew it was papering over the cracks.

Aberdeen away was decent. 1st 20 mins v Livi a few weeks ago.

That's about it. Brutal.

K-Zazu
13-04-2024, 10:29 PM
What happened to the Vente we seen against Luzern?

K-Zazu
13-04-2024, 10:29 PM
We played well at Tynecastle should have won.

13-04-2024, 10:30 PM
Luzern home and away
Aberdeen away where we won 2-0.

Under Montgomery? There’s genuinely not many.

St Mirren in the cup.
3-0 v Livi

34 games - 11 wins, 12 draws and 11 defeats. It’s no wonder there’s not many to choose from. 32% wins.

The draws FFS. 8 of them have been 2-2. Scoring 2 goals that many times and no winning is ridiculous. Then there’s the leads thrown away. Off the top of my head; Killie and Ross County from 2 up. Hearts, Aberdeen, St Mirren and Motherwell twice.

Just really, really **** but should have been so much better.

13-04-2024, 10:37 PM
SDG’s testimonial was good crack.

13-04-2024, 10:37 PM
What happened to the Vente we seen against Luzern?

Montgomery.

More important he tracks a midfielder than kicks the ball in the goal hole.

Criswell
13-04-2024, 10:41 PM
The 1-2 defeat to Celtic I was really impressed with the performance and fight put up that night compared to the previous abject surrender in the 0-3 loss to St Mirren. I would just like to add that VAR has been brutal to us all season, definitely a contributary factor in us not making top 6.

14-04-2024, 05:54 AM
The 1-2 defeat to Celtic I was really impressed with the performance and fight put up that night compared to the previous abject surrender in the 0-3 loss to St Mirren. I would just like to add that VAR has been brutal to us all season, definitely a contributary factor in us not making top 6.

We have had considerable var failures probably more than the average

But the league table doesn’t lie.

His biggest failing is he doesn’t win nearly enough football matches

For that reason alone first and foremost

He should be punted along with kensell

Trinity Hibee
14-04-2024, 05:56 AM
I’m the same, out of all the bad managers we’ve had there’s always been the odd brilliant win along the way. Monty hasn’t had one.

He’s only one about 8 games all against diddy teams and most of them by 1 goal

14-04-2024, 06:15 AM
Luzern under LJ and Aberdeen away under SDG.

ChuckNor
14-04-2024, 06:16 AM
Lucerne. Other than that this season has been utterly miserable. Montgomery hasn’t had one excellent performance out this team.

14-04-2024, 06:19 AM
Lucerne. Other than that this season has been utterly miserable. Montgomery hasn’t had one excellent performance out this team.

We had 45 minutes against Livingston

Our only game this season where scored 3 goals in the league

Absolute garbage

Have hibs tweeted yet

14-04-2024, 06:31 AM
SDG’s testimonial was good crack.

Yip did not realise that the portly Santa Claus who came on second half in midfield for Man United who got a cheer every time he touched the ball was actually Brian McClair

Good day out played in the proper spirit

14-04-2024, 07:36 AM
Villa and luzern rest been poor

14-04-2024, 07:55 AM
Lucern was good, the whole season has just been boring, I was really in two minds about renewing my ST for next season as its been that bad, can only hope that it's not as bad

McGruber
14-04-2024, 07:57 AM
Luzern, especially home but away aswell. Also Aberdeen away 2-0 win.

So basically games under 2 of the 3 guys that have been in charge, Gray in his only game. Probably says it all.

It's hard to believe the team capable of the Luzern performance have ended bottom 6. Vente was class in that game, so was Levitt - crazy how it has gone.

In fairness, one highlight from dire season the 1 min comeback with Youan double at Tynie

14-04-2024, 08:17 AM
Under NM stewardship - 45mins of football against an horrendous Livingston team. Couple of decent results but performances, in the main, have been absolutely dire. The style of football has been as robotic, uninspiring and boring as listening to NM interviews. Sorry, I don’t mean to get personal, and I’ve no doubt the guy has, and is, is trying his best but where is the master tactician/man motivator we thought we were signing up? He’s evidently neither and serious questions should be asked by the people who interviewed and employed him as from his first interview I had my doubts he had the footballing intelligence or authority to lead this team.

14-04-2024, 08:25 AM
Luzern at home was the highlight (Johnson). Aberdeen away (SDG).

Under Monty...

First half against Livi and both games at Tynecastle (even though we won neither of them).

The 4-2 game against St Mirren, which was real end-to-end stuff.

Plus there were spells in other games where we played really well, but poor defending too often led to a draw (or defeat).

14-04-2024, 08:51 AM
It's a 200 mile, 4 hour round trip for me to go to a home game. I don't miss many games and will always buy my ST, but over the last few seasons it's becoming more and more of a grind to attend.

Getting beaten regularly at home by teams who have a fraction of our budget is becoming a habit.

Although as Hibs fans we've experienced mediocrity and underachievement most of our lives, I can't remember there ever being so much apathy going to games v Rangers, Celtic and Hearts. Even poor Hibs teams of the past would be able to compete and win these games occasionally. Nowadays we're doing well if we scrape the odd draw.

For me, this has to be be a watershed moment for the incumbents presently running the football operation at Hibs. The level they are performing at is unacceptable and they must get people into the club who know what they are doing.

14-04-2024, 08:56 AM
Bits and pieces of a game yes, an entire game would have me struggling to think of any other than the Lucern game

Heedersnvolleys
14-04-2024, 09:07 AM
Apart from the obvious ones already mentioned believe it or not I enjoyed 0-0 with Celtic away back in October early on with NM and I really thought that was the start of the turnaround. A 0-0 but I feel we gave as good as we got that day. Also was able to sit with my mate for one reason or another we don’t manage to sit together very often, a few pints and a good day.

15-04-2024, 07:07 AM

No danger nowhere near murder

15-04-2024, 07:26 AM
Strange as it may seem I actually enjoyed Saturday until it all went horribly wrong.

We were by far the better team, particularly in the second half, and should have been out of sight long before the end.

15-04-2024, 07:34 AM
Luzern at home only.

15-04-2024, 08:23 AM
I quite enjoyed the Ross County v Rangers game yesterday. Does that count?

I'm Spartacus
15-04-2024, 08:29 AM
Here's an idea for a dreadful thread. 'Apart from Luzern, have you enjoyed a game this season?*'

*we are talking 90 minutes of football, not the bus trip or anything.

15-04-2024, 08:35 AM
All of them.

NC1875
15-04-2024, 01:01 PM
I said that on another thread. The only convincing win he’s had is against the worst Livi team in years.

Not one game has been very enjoyable. For all our flair players, we’re really boring, slow and dull.

15-04-2024, 06:40 PM
Luzern at home and away was different class. Aberdeen 6-0 but can't think of a game under Montgomery and that on its own tells you everything you need to know about his stint. Had we appointed DM we would have made top six easily.

15-04-2024, 07:22 PM
In all honesty, I haven’t enjoyed watching many. It’s dull football with Monty, and the crowd usually looks fed up.

15-04-2024, 07:27 PM
I enjoyed our performance in the 1-1 draw at Tynecastle, even as I was pulling my hair out at not winning

hibee1875
15-04-2024, 07:58 PM
Dundee at home in Feb was good. Genuinely thought them we would comfortably get 4th

Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Luzern at home and away was different class. Aberdeen 6-0 but can't think of a game under Montgomery and that on its own tells you everything you need to know about his stint. Had we appointed DM we would have made top six easily.

Aberdeen was last season.

Benny Brazil
15-04-2024, 08:19 PM
Luzern away was brilliant, the last derby at Tynecastle was enjoyable - thats been about it