View Full Version : Leadership on the park
heid the baw
13-04-2024, 05:25 PM
Totally absent and has been for some time. Whether Montgomery stays or goes, this has to be a priority.
This has to be the leading criteria in our next few signings. No point in bringing in talented young players with potential if you have no-one that shows leadership on the park week in week out.
We have not one player in our squad with this quality
Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 05:26 PM
Joe Newell is no captain material for me, been through too many hard luck stories with us
13-04-2024, 05:29 PM
We don't just need a captain but each player we sign going forward needs to be the type that shows a bit of passion to win. We've got too many players like Youan that just don't have it in them
The Tubs
13-04-2024, 05:29 PM
Blindingly obvious. We need to look at signings like Stubbs did.
13-04-2024, 05:32 PM
There's not one of these players I would want at ER next season. Gut the lot of them
The Tubs
13-04-2024, 05:32 PM
We don't just need a captain but each player we sign going forward needs to be the type that shows a bit of passion to win. We've got too many players like Youan that just don't have it in them
I'm going to come across like Youan best pal for defending him again, but if he had McGregor or Gray barking at him, I think we'd see more output. I saw a headline of a video interview with him saying Hibs were like a family after Monty's appointment. He probably needs to be telt once in a while and maybe Johnson got that.
13-04-2024, 05:33 PM
I think we should have some.
Doubt the football on the pitch bit is that far up the list at Hibs though.
Cheerleaders, giant foam hands and playing partners with our new pals at Bournemouth Falcons or whatever they are called seems to be the kind of stuff getting in the way of a competetive organised Hibs team.
The heirarchy are dreaming the dream.
13-04-2024, 05:41 PM
It’s nonexistent.
Three times in the first half Motherwell had to play a short corner as the ball wouldn’t stay still in the wind. All three times we didn’t get a second man over to defend them. It’s school boy stuff but nobody takes responsibility for organising us.
13-04-2024, 05:41 PM
We need leadership at the side too.
Monty, Johnson and Maloney all don’t strike me as managers who are leaders and the players take seriously or are particularly scared of. Johnson the best out the lot.
Ross, Lennon etc for all their flaws, had a presence and would make the players listen.
13-04-2024, 05:42 PM
We need leadership at the side too.
Monty, Johnson and Maloney all don’t strike me as managers who are leaders and the players take seriously or are particularly scared of. Johnson the best out the lot.
Ross, Lennon etc for all their flaws, had a presence and would make the players listen.
spot on.
13-04-2024, 06:09 PM
Joe Newell is no captain material for me, been through too many hard luck stories with us
Careful you’ll shortly have folk on here trying to gaslight you into believing Joe Newell is a brilliant captain and we are lucky to have him.
13-04-2024, 06:11 PM
Totally absent and has been for some time. Whether Montgomery stays or goes, this has to be a priority.
This has to be the leading criteria in our next few signings. No point in bringing in talented young players with potential if you have no-one that shows leadership on the park week in week out.
We have not one player in our squad with this quality
Guy who looks after the pitch has more leadership qualities.
Cabbage-Patch
13-04-2024, 06:14 PM
"Super" Joe Newell has flattered to deceive ever since he was signed. A bang average player with the heart of a mouse. Has to go down as our worst ever Captain. Every time a key game comes along he goes AWOL. Needs to be the 1st out the door in the summer. Boyle can go with him as far as I'm concerned. Hes been rotten ever since we resigned him.
Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 06:16 PM
Careful you’ll shortly have folk on here trying to gaslight you into believing Joe Newell is a brilliant captain and we are lucky to have him.
Agree completely. Far too often I read on here that “we will miss him when he does move on” etc.
In all honesty, there’s too many games when I don’t notice him when he’s there!
Chorley Hibee
13-04-2024, 06:18 PM
It’s nonexistent.
Three times in the first half Motherwell had to play a short corner as the ball wouldn’t stay still in the wind. All three times we didn’t get a second man over to defend them. It’s school boy stuff but nobody takes responsibility for organising us.
Lost count the amount of times I highlighted this.
Amateur stuff, and sums Hibs up.
13-04-2024, 06:19 PM
It’s nonexistent.
I said this on the match day thread, absolute madness
13-04-2024, 06:19 PM
Agree completely. Far too often I read on here that “we will miss him when he does move on” etc.
In all honesty, there’s too many games when I don’t notice him when he’s there!
The good thing is someone will give us a couple of hundred grand to take him off our hands 👍
13-04-2024, 06:20 PM
Newell had another stinker today unfortunately.
Does anyone know if he's playing through an injury? I know he's not the quickest but he's looked a few yards off it the last few matches. Really poor stuff.
Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 06:21 PM
The good thing is someone will give us a couple of hundred grand to take him off our hands 👍
Hope so! Would be good business and a start to the clear out!
Rick Rude
It’s nonexistent.
To be fair, the exact same thing happened in reverse in the 2nd half with us taking short ones and them only have one guy out. Think it's the current trend for defending corners.
Murphys Touch
We had 1 or 2 decent players through the Calderwood, Fenlon, Butcher nightmares but the best thing that happened for Stubbs was he inherited 7 first team players so that loser mentality went quite quickly.
Newell, JDH, Hanlon, Stephenson, Gray, Campbell (whisper it but maybe even Boyle) need to go and freshen the place up. No harm to them, great servants, some unbelievable legends - the likes we won’t see again.
As someone said above - Hopefully Foley brings in a structure, knowledge and data set up like George Craig, Dempster and Stubbs had. We brought some really top players to the club but also top personalities. You just look at Fontaine’s recent retirement post as an example
13-04-2024, 06:22 PM
I suppose anything is possible when you consider we got a reported 7 figures for Melkerson. Can’t imagine there will be a long queue for a 31 year old with his CV though.
13-04-2024, 06:31 PM
To be fair, the exact same thing happened in reverse in the 2nd half with us taking short ones and them only have one guy out. Think it's the current trend for defending corners.
The first one but then they put two out. We we got a third man out in Boyle (to give another option to Newell and Youan).
We just watched them do the same thing three times in the space of about 15 minutes.
13-04-2024, 06:34 PM
Newell had another stinker today unfortunately.
Does anyone know if he's playing through an injury? I know he's not the quickest but he's looked a few yards off it the last few matches. Really poor stuff.
He is not what is required to take the club forward. At the same time, he should be banned from spouting off to the bloody evening news, before games as well.
13-04-2024, 06:58 PM
The Motherwell players looked gutted that they missed the last winner. Heads in hands, collapsed on pitch at the final whistle. The Hibs players look like they wanted their phones to book Ibiza and a table in George St.
13-04-2024, 07:09 PM
I’d be amazed if this did something that improves with the Foley era, given we’ll likely primarily be a stopping point for rookie loan players.
The players still under contract for next season don’t exactly fill you with hope re there being a bank of mental fortitude already at the club.
13-04-2024, 07:18 PM
The reaction of the Motherwell players opposed to our players when the final whistle went tells you everything.
13-04-2024, 07:19 PM
Don't think anyone says he is a great captain. He's a good player, though.
Where is David Gray in all this? Folk think of him as an inspirational leader. Surely he can do that as a coach too?
13-04-2024, 07:19 PM
The reaction of the Motherwell players opposed to our players when the final whistle went tells you everything.
Both sets of players went down to the ground. Identical reactions.
LewysGot2
13-04-2024, 07:22 PM
Both sets of players went down to the ground. Identical reactions.
Yup. Agree.
I'm a bit lost re the narrative otherwise. They all looked gutted. In fact, on the trip home, Kettlewell was on the radio that there had been 22 devastated players on the pitch at the end.
Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 07:22 PM
Where is David Gray in all this? Folk think of him as an inspirational leader. Surely he can do that as a coach too?
I think it’s time for either Gray to step up and get the job or go altogether, agree with your statement re him being an inspirational leader though.
On Newell, I’m getting less and less convinced at how good a player he is, if/when Monty goes that’ll be his 5th manager he’s seen off since 2019.
13-04-2024, 07:24 PM
I think it’s time for either Gray to step up and get the job or go altogether, agree with your statement re him being an inspirational leader though.
On Newell, I’m getting less and less convinced at how good a player he is, if/when Monty goes that’ll be his 5th manager he’s seen off since 2019.
Does that mean anything, though?
How many did Del Piero see off at Juventus? Was that his fault? Newell has been one of our better player this season. Get rid of the rubbish ones first, and there is many.
I think Gray is a consistent part of a failure on the pitch as much as anyone.
13-04-2024, 07:24 PM
Yup. Agree.
I'm a bit lost re the narrative otherwise. They all looked gutted. In fact, on the trip home, Kettlewell was on the radio that there had been 22 devastated players on the pitch at the end.
Much as I think the players are pish, I agree with this. Marcondes even stormed about having a wee tantrum which was about as much as he did all day.
13-04-2024, 07:28 PM
You don’t get stats for leadership so the guys in recruitment are just finding high pass % or other stats.
Would rather have less skilful players but players with mental toughness to see games out / grind results out / win derbies.
CL0762
13-04-2024, 07:32 PM
“We do a huddle in the warm-up and David Gray gives us a little pep talk. It's something that has happened since the manager came in; Dave has took it on.
“For me, when we’re in the changing room before the game and getting ready that’s a bit calmer. But after the warm- up it is a bit more intense and you’re shouting your cliches and enthusiastic lines. You’re getting everyone up for it and making sure everyone knows their jobs as well, which is important."
Direct quote from Newell’s interview with the Hibs Observer during the week.
NC1875
13-04-2024, 07:32 PM
Joe Newell and Paul Hanlon trying to outdo each other as the biggest bottle job captains we’ve ever had.
No wonder were soft touches when they’re meant to be the leaders
Murphys Touch
13-04-2024, 07:33 PM
The Motherwell players looked gutted that they missed the last winner. Heads in hands, collapsed on pitch at the final whistle. The Hibs players look like they wanted their phones to book Ibiza and a table in George St.
That’s not true - look at the whole teams reaction when the Motherwell goal went in.
George Street - I mean come on. 20 year ago stuff mate. As others have said, the reactions of both teams were near identical.
NC1875
13-04-2024, 07:37 PM
That’s not true - look at the whole teams reaction when the Motherwell goal went in.
George Street - I mean come on. 20 year ago stuff mate. As others have said, the reactions of both teams were near identical.
Bull**** 20 years ago. We have a good portion of our squad on George St regularly. Boy band pretty boy mentality. Bunch of weak losers. Joe Newell included.
13-04-2024, 07:43 PM
“We do a huddle in the warm-up and David Gray gives us a little pep talk. It's something that has happened since the manager came in; Dave has took it on.
“For me, when we’re in the changing room before the game and getting ready that’s a bit calmer. But after the warm- up it is a bit more intense and you’re shouting your cliches and enthusiastic lines. You’re getting everyone up for it and making sure everyone knows their jobs as well, which is important."
Whatever is said it certainly doesn’t ‘get everyone up for it’ because we very, very rarely start a game quickly. It’s one of those things that is just all for show.
13-04-2024, 07:49 PM
Does that mean anything, though?
How many did Del Piero see off at Juventus? Was that his fault? Newell has been one of our better player this season. Get rid of the rubbish ones first, and there is many.
I think Gray is a consistent part of a failure on the pitch as much as anyone.
Dunno, was it more than the amount of trophies he helped them win?
13-04-2024, 07:49 PM
Working wonders it seems
1875M
13-04-2024, 07:50 PM
Whatever is said it certainly doesn’t ‘get everyone up for it’ because we very, very rarely start a game quickly. It’s one of those things that is just all for show.
Gray shouldn’t get off the hook lightly because he’s a Hibs legend. He’s now been part of a back room staff that has seen off 3 managers, potentially a 4th soon. What is he actually responsible for?
Murphys Touch
13-04-2024, 07:52 PM
Bull**** 20 years ago. We have a good portion of our squad on George St regularly. Boy band pretty boy mentality. Bunch of weak losers. Joe Newell included.
I was more getting at the “players didn’t feel gutted and were too interested in booking tables on George Street” comment
Employee does things out of work time….every bloody supporter in the land must moan about that then.
13-04-2024, 07:54 PM
''you like a drink, you must be in a boy band''
What a dumb thing to say.
Tell you who started signing weak losers again. Neil Lennon.
13-04-2024, 07:57 PM
Thought today he was very good
Potty78
13-04-2024, 07:58 PM
There's not one of these players I would want at ER next season. Gut the lot of them
That Maolida is pish eh🙈
13-04-2024, 07:59 PM
The wee huddle after warm up / pre kick off - just bin that **** now too
13-04-2024, 07:59 PM
It’s nonexistent.
That was genuinely laughable for a professional team
13-04-2024, 08:05 PM
Posted this on another thread, but pertinent here also. Not sure how normal this is but here's the data for games won and lost in injury time. When we need to manage a game we struggle. That comes from the substitutions we make but the in game decisions players are making. Zero leadership
Matchday 1 - 89th minute winner for st mirren
Matchday 12 - 92nd min equaliser for St Mirren
Matchday 20 - 93rd min winner for Hearts
Matchday 25 - 92nd min winner for Celtic
Matchday 19 (rearranged) - 98th min equaliser for County
Matchday 33 - 94th min equaliser for motherwell
For comparison
Matchday 22 - 91st minute equaliser vs Motherwell
13-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Thought today he was very good
With standards that low you’ve got the Hibs team you deserve.
13-04-2024, 08:08 PM
With standards that low you’ve got the Hibs team you deserve.
Was one of his better games imo.
13-04-2024, 08:27 PM
Was one of his better games imo.
Says it all. Newell can go. Not captain material either
13-04-2024, 09:14 PM
Says it all. Newell can go. Not captain material either
I assume all our other midfielders can go to? Since he is pretty clearly the best one. I'm all for it if we can sign better. Probably wise to keep him, though.
13-04-2024, 09:31 PM
I assume all our other midfielders can go to? Since he is pretty clearly the best one. I'm all for it if we can sign better. Probably wise to keep him, though.
Don’t threaten me with a good time.
I’d imagine there would be few tears shed if Campbell, JDH, Kenneh, Henderson and the like were shipped out too. Those players being ***** doesn’t make Newell a better player.
13-04-2024, 09:33 PM
Just watched the equaliser goal and surely Newell or Levitt could get out to make a block?
Would replace Newell as captain - we need better if we want to progress.
I wouldn’t. He’s definitely not a leader and should not be Captain.
If you think he does enough during games then that’s your opinion. I expect a lot more from the Captain and a player of his supposed talent. Folk say where would we be without him but we all know where we are with him.
13-04-2024, 09:40 PM
''you like a drink, you must be in a boy band''
What a dumb thing to say.
Tell you who started signing weak losers again. Neil Lennon.
I'm sure you said before that pro football players should never be drunk? I personally dont agree with that, however Newell is a known pisshead. How do you feel about that?
LewysGot2
13-04-2024, 09:42 PM
Just watched the equaliser goal and surely Newell or Levitt could get out to make a block?
Would replace Newell as captain - we need better if we want to progress.
Marcondes and Obita both further ahead in that queue...
Obita lost his man.
13-04-2024, 09:51 PM
I’d imagine there would be few tears shed if Campbell, JDH, Kenneh, Henderson and the like were shipped out too. Those players being ***** doesn’t make Newell a better player.
No. Newell having a decent season makes him a good player.
I wouldn’t. He’s definitely not a leader and should not be Captain.
If you think he does enough during games then that’s your opinion. I expect a lot more from the Captain and a player of his supposed talent. Folk say where would we be without him but we all know where we are with him.
I expect more from every player. Marshall was captain last season and was abysmal. At least Newell had been good.
Joe gets a wildly disproportionate amount of stick. Not seen a single post about Boyle again today. Absolutely *****, for the second week running.
13-04-2024, 10:00 PM
Cheers for reminding me that we still have a couple of them on our books who will come back in the summer. That’s right cheered me up.
No. Newell having a decent season makes him a good player.
I expect more from every player. Marshall was captain last season and was abysmal. At least Newell had been good.
Joe gets a wildly disproportionate amount of stick. Not seen a single post about Boyle again today. Absolutely *****, for the second week running.
I think Newell has been pretty meh to be fair. The odd game here and there but has not led by example and deserves to be criticised. As do others and they have.
Boyle, Miller, Marshall, Fish, Levitt, Youan and probably others have been poor over periods this season.
I just don’t see how he’s been good for any sustained period this season. The odd game here and there but I just don’t see it. He set the standard v Luzern and it’s never been duplicated as far as I’m concerned.
He’s the Captain and part of the team that has us playing bottom 6.
13-04-2024, 10:11 PM
I think Newell has been pretty meh to be fair. The odd game here and there but has not led by example and deserves to be criticised. As do others and they have.
Boyle, Miller, Marshall, Fish, Levitt, Youan and probably others have been poor over periods this season.
I just don’t see how he’s been good for any sustained period this season. The odd game here and there but I just don’t see it. He set the standard v Luzern and it’s never been duplicated as far as I’m concerned.
https://www.sofascore.com/team/football/hibernian/2354
Totally unbiased website has him comfortably our highest rated and most consistent player this season. I'd say Fish a little high, Obita a little low, but otherwise, those ratings are quite fair. Boyle miles off it too.
Many I'd be getting rid of before Newell.
13-04-2024, 10:20 PM
Totally unbiased website has him comfortably our highest rated and most consistent player this season. I'd say Fish a little high, Obita a little low, but otherwise, those ratings are quite fair. Boyle miles off it too.
Fish has been better than Maolida and our second best player this season? I’d take however they are calculating those scores with a pinch of salt.
I don’t disagree that plenty need to move and although he may top the charts as Hibs best player but he still been poor. He’s the best of a bad bunch and doesn’t do enough.
Stats don’t show everything.
Desire, drive and leadership are missing most weeks.
13-04-2024, 10:21 PM
Fair and accurate assessment IMO.
13-04-2024, 10:23 PM
Fish has been better than Maolida and our second best player this season? I’d take however they are calculating those scores with a pinch of salt.
Here is how it works:
Sofascore ratings are product of an computer algorithm with deeply thought parameters...
13-04-2024, 10:27 PM
Imagine using sofascore ratings to try and justify your position, how embarrassing. Couldn’t be me.
13-04-2024, 10:33 PM
Yet the stats won’t say he’s won very very few derbies might only be two and one as a late sub?), very few semi finals or finals, only a couple of top 6 finishes, scored a miserable amount of goals for a midfielder (he might be on 9 goals in 5 seasons??), never raises his game in must wins, and can’t inspire those around him as club captain 👍 I want him gone with many others, he’s a perennial loser and perfectly epitomises where we are as a team on the pitch - a right uninspiring soft touch !!
13-04-2024, 10:38 PM
Imagine using sofascore ratings to try and justify your position, how embarrassing. Couldn’t be me.
I'm just using it to show he isn't some dreadful player who is playing against us every week. We have many to get rid of before Newell. Do that, and I'm talking 15 players at least, and then we can discuss him.
13-04-2024, 10:45 PM
I'm just using it to show he isn't some dreadful player who is playing against us every week. We have many to get rid of before Newell. Do that, and I'm talking 15 players at least, and then we can discuss him.
Newell will be one of the highest earners in our squad. You can’t bring in better players without freeing up space in the budget to pay them. Getting rid of low earners only makes room to bring in low earners.
13-04-2024, 10:45 PM
Yet the stats won’t say he’s won very very few derbies might only be two and one as a late sub?), very few semi finals or finals, only a couple of top 6 finishes, scored a miserable amount of goals for a midfielder (he might be on 9 goals in 5 seasons??), never raises his game in must wins, and can’t inspire those around him as club captain 👍 I want him gone with many others, he’s a perennial loser and perfectly epitomises where we are as a team on the pitch - a right uninspiring soft touch !!
He joins all of our other players who have won few derbies and very few semis. I'd imagine Joe Newells 2 semi final wins actually puts him above many, many players in our history.
Very few finals. Yeah, duh. We've only won 6 in our history.
He finished 3rd playing every week.
Scores a good number of goals for his position. Are you expecting ****ing 15 a season from a deep midfielder?
He often raises his game in must wins. The thing is, once we've won them, no one remembers. All games are must win if you have any aspirations.
How do you know he doesn't inspire his teammates? Genuinely? We might be much worse without him? Gray lost plenty big games. So did Jones. So did Stanton. Better captains, maybe? Absolutely perfect? No chance.
I don't think he epitomizes us at all. If all our players were as good as Newell, we'd be comfortably top 6.
Its Boyle, Marshall, Fish, and Vente who have let us down big time this season IMO. If any 2 of those had had good seasons, we'd be much better off.
13-04-2024, 10:47 PM
Newell will be one of the highest earners in our squad. You can’t bring in better players without freeing up space in the budget to pay them. Getting rid of low earners only makes room to bring in low earners.
I agree. Get rid of the various other crap high earners first. Boyle, Marshall, Vente to start.
13-04-2024, 10:59 PM
I agree. Get rid of the various other crap high earners first. Boyle, Marshall, Vente to start.
Is Marshall a high earner?
HerbDailly
13-04-2024, 11:14 PM
I hadn't thought about it but spot on.
We failed to reach top 6 by 2 points and we've only picked up 5 from the last 15!
We need a presence who'll step up and get more out of those around him and pull us over the line.
13-04-2024, 11:32 PM
He joins all of our other players who have won few derbies and very few semis. I'd imagine Joe Newells 2 semi final wins actually puts him above many, many players in our history.
Scores a good number of goals for his position. Are you expecting ****ing 15 a season from a deep midfielder?
He often raises his game in must wins. The thing is, once we've won them, no one remembers. All games are must win if you have any aspirations.
How do you know he doesn't inspire his teammates? Genuinely? We might be much worse without him? Gray lost plenty big games. So did Jones. So did Stanton. Better captains, maybe? Absolutely perfect? No chance.
I don't think he epitomizes us at all. If all our players were as good as Newell, we'd be comfortably top 6.
Its Boyle, Marshall, Fish, and Vente who have let us down big time this season IMO. If any 2 of those had had good seasons, we'd be much better off.
Don’t ever ever compare Joe Newell to Pat Stanton 😂 ever !! In any shape or form. In fact don’t even compare him against Rob and David either 😂 all three cup winning captains and truly inspirational “leaders” on and off the pitch. Joe can’t and will never ever lace their boots when it comes to leadership and captaincy of this club.
14-04-2024, 12:02 AM
Vente let us down by being played in midfield all season? Newell has been ok to poor this season. He had one great game in Europe then failed to match that level of performance. He doesn't raise his game in must wins as shown by the previous two games alone! He only plays well when the game is going in our favour. Don't talk about semi finals as he had the stupidest red card in a semi final you're ever likely to see!
He's a poor player and an even poorer captain. Just because there are worse players on the books, who dont play, doesn't mean newells position at the club shouldn't be looked at. Also he's averaging 1 league goal a season. For playing almost every minute of every game I'd say thats a very poor return.
14-04-2024, 06:48 AM
Regarding Newell - ask yourself this..will he move onto a bigger club after Hibs who will pay him as much?
I would say no.
So he’s a prime example of a player knowing this is his highest pay check. Comfortable to be here and happy to give as best he can.
Newell came in as winger to Hibs…a winger !! He then moved to centre midfield. The problem is he doesn’t tackle enough - isn’t quick enough and also doesn’t score enough or assist enough.
He’s another nice guy but sadly I do think we need better and more leadership if we are to progress.
Saint Hibee
14-04-2024, 06:48 AM
The question of whether Newell is a good player and the question of whether he’s a natural leader on the park are two different questions. I’d say yes to the first and no to the second.
14-04-2024, 07:18 AM
https://www.afcb.co.uk/news/club-news/hughes-to-depart-as-first-team-technical-director/
Just watching Bournemouth v United highlights and this was pointed out
Wonder if Hughes ex Scottish footballer is maybe leaving due to fresh eyes in Bournemouth and maybe getting moved to Hibs
Might be nothing in it at all
Just putting 2 + 2 together with McDermott probs leaving
14-04-2024, 07:19 AM
https://www.afcb.co.uk/news/club-news/hughes-to-depart-as-first-team-technical-director/
Wonder if Hughes ex Scottish footballer is maybe leaving due to fresh eyes in Bournemouth and maybe getting moved to Hibs
He’s been spoken about for Newcastle and Man Utd amongst others. He’s not in our league.
14-04-2024, 07:24 AM
He’s been spoken about for Newcastle and Man Utd amongst others. He’s not in our league.
Never done any research to be fair
Fair enough
14-04-2024, 07:30 AM
Don’t ever ever compare Joe Newell to Pat Stanton 😂 ever !! In any shape or form. In fact don’t even compare him against Rob and David either 😂 all three cup winning captains and truly inspirational “leaders” on and off the pitch. Joe can’t and will never ever lace their boots when it comes to leadership and captaincy of this club.
I'll compare whatever I like thanks.
Gray had as many awful results as captain as Newell ever could. Good player, good captain. Where was his inspirational leadership as we failed twice to get promoted?
14-04-2024, 07:32 AM
Vente let us down by being played in midfield all season? Newell has been ok to poor this season. He had one great game in Europe then failed to match that level of performance. He doesn't raise his game in must wins as shown by the previous two games alone! He only plays well when the game is going in our favour. Don't talk about semi finals as he had the stupidest red card in a semi final you're ever likely to see!
He's a poor player and an even poorer captain. Just because there are worse players on the books, who dont play, doesn't mean newells position at the club shouldn't be looked at. Also he's averaging 1 league goal a season. For playing almost every minute of every game I'd say thats a very poor return.
Vente let us down by being crap all season.
Newell has been good this season. Stats show that quite clearly.
He has 4 goals 9 assists this season. An excellent contribution from midfield.
Richard Hughes is the new Technical Director at Liverpool and takes up the role at the end of the 23/24 season
14-04-2024, 07:37 AM
What’s the break down between open play and set pieces? How do his stats from open play compare to say Levitt, who has 2 goals and 2 assists this season?
SickBoy32
14-04-2024, 07:39 AM
Where was his inspirational leadership as we failed twice to get promoted?
On top of a golden bus.
Scoring in Copenhagen, against a serious European outfit.
Newell will never be on an open top bus, and scores in places like Andorra, or other pub venues like Elgin
We’ve had 5 years of his ‘excellent stats’ - more than enough. Bin.
14-04-2024, 07:41 AM
I'll compare whatever I like thanks.
Gray had as many awful results as captain as Newell ever could. Good player, good captain. Where was his inspirational leadership as we failed twice to get promoted?
Gray wasn't captain in his first season at the club.
14-04-2024, 07:42 AM
Richard Hughes is the new Technical Director at Liverpool and takes up the role at the end of the 23/24 season
Surely if we came calling he’d have a re-think
👍🏻
14-04-2024, 07:44 AM
On top of a golden bus.
Scoring in Copenhagen, against a serious European outfit.
Newell will never be on an open top bus, and scores in places like Andorra, or other pub venues like Elgin
We’ve had 5 years of his ‘excellent stats’ - more than enough. Bin.
Newell scored against Luzern?
Newell not winning a trophy here doesn't make him a crap player. Remembered he's played 5 seasons in the top league as well. Gray played less than 1/3rd of his games at Hibs in the top flight.
Vente in a decent team under a decent manager and given the service will score goals. Not sitting on the half way line marking a midfield player.
His link up play and through ball for MM goal v County was brilliant. He needs to play to his strengths. Why pay all that money for a player and do play him correctly.
As for Newell, you will never concede that he’s been very a mediocre (as have others) over the season. I can see what’s in front of me and use the Luzcern game is the standard I expect from him every game or at least try to show that’s the case. You cannot tell me you are happy with his performances because an algorithm tells you he passes a ball square or back a dozen times a game.
Just how I see it.
Surely if we came calling he’d have a re-think
[emoji1303]
You would think so wouldn’t you? [emoji1787]
SickBoy32
14-04-2024, 07:48 AM
Newell not winning a trophy here doesn't make him a crap player. Remembered he's played 5 seasons in the top league as well. Gray played less than 1/3rd of his games at Hibs in the top flight.
Right enough. He was excellent against Luzern at ER.
He’ll always have that as a career highlight to tell his grandkids about 👍
A previous poster touched on it last night, Newell will take up too much of the budget for what he offers us.
We deserve better.
14-04-2024, 07:48 AM
Gray wasn't captain in his first season at the club.
Do you need an armband to use inspirational superpowers?
Let's be honest here. Gray played for a better run, better organised Hibs, who had a brilliant defence, midfield and then goalie when rocky arrived.
The only time Newell had an organised decent side around him we finished 3rd.
Newell could do better. But he's one of our best players and capable of playing in a side competing for 3rd
14-04-2024, 07:50 AM
Right enough. He was excellent against Luzern at ER.
He’ll always have that as a career highlight to tell his grandkids about 👍
A previous poster touched on it last night, Newell will take up too much of the budget for what he offers us.
We deserve better.
Id love us to sign better for his wages. We won't. But id love it.
It doesn’t but by playing crap week in week out means he’s been playing crap.
I posted about that we all saw what he could do against Luzern but it’s not been replicated throughout the season. Surely you can see that?? That is the minimum standard required from me, not just from him but from everyone.
Drive, desire and a willingness to win. That is lacking.
14-04-2024, 07:51 AM
Was back to being The Lesser Spotted Joe Newell last week versus St Johnstone the week before against the Hun and this week against Motherwell when we needed him most
10 goals in 185 appearances should be more from a player of his ability his free kicks corners and throw ins are mostly unremarkable must be our Captain by default as there is obviously no one else
The whole club needs a massive shake up
14-04-2024, 07:53 AM
I swear Joe newell posts on here, every single discussion ends up with a poster fawning over him.
14-04-2024, 07:57 AM
I swear Joe newell posts on here, every single discussion ends up with a poster fawning over him.
That's the thing. Met Joe before and he's a great lad, loves it up here and playing for the club. But I'm sure even he'd admit he hasn't been consistent/good enough this season.
14-04-2024, 07:58 AM
Further to my other reply, it’s difficult to find stats on set pieces. The link below shows that we scored 6 goals from set pieces. You would imagine at least 5 or 6 of those were Newell given he takes all our set pieces.
How does his open play contribution compare to Levitt? 4 goals and 3 assists v 2 goals and 2 assists. Do the set pieces he takes mask the fact that his contribution isn’t dismal to guys like Levitt? Or Josh Campbell who is on 3 goals and no assists. Both of who have played less minutes than Newell.
https://www.whoscored.com/Regions/253/Tournaments/20/Seasons/8636/Stages/19821/TeamStatistics/Scotland-Premiership-2021-2022
14-04-2024, 07:58 AM
Vente in a decent team under a decent manager and given the service will score goals. Not sitting on the half way line marking a midfield player.
His link up play and through ball for MM goal v County was brilliant. He needs to play to his strengths. Why pay all that money for a player and do play him correctly.
As for Newell, you will never concede that he’s been very a mediocre (as have others) over the season. I can see what’s in front of me and use the Luzcern game is the standard I expect from him every game or at least try to show that’s the case. You cannot tell me you are happy with his performances because an algorithm tells you he passes a ball square or back a dozen times a game.
Just how I see it.
Ah right, so it's the teams fault ventes been ****. Mate, look at the goal Shankland scored at Easter road. That's a striker. Doesn't need it on a plate.
Vente has been mince. ALF is considerably better at 47 years old. I'll just blame the team for Newell being crap then because he finished 3rd with a good team around him.
Na, he's expected to drag us up single handedly while excuse after excuse gets rolled out for his underperforming teammates.
"Oh, Boyles injuries must be catching up with him"
"Oh Vente hasn't had the service"
"Marcondes is brilliant, his team mates just aren't on his level"
Those guys have actually let us down. Newell has worked like ****.
I'm happy with his performances because they've been good. He passes it forward plenty. Such lazy analysis that is mate, honestly.
14-04-2024, 08:02 AM
Further to my other reply, it’s difficult to find stats on set pieces. The link below shows that we scored 6 goals from set pieces. You would imagine at least 5 or 6 of those were Newell given he takes all our set pieces.
How does his open play contribution compare to Levitt? 4 goals and 3 assists v 2 goals and 2 assists. Do the set pieces he takes mask the fact that his contribution isn’t dismal to guys like Levitt? Or Josh Campbell who is on 3 goals and no assists. Both of who have played less minutes than Newell.
https://www.whoscored.com/Regions/253/Tournaments/20/Seasons/8636/Stages/19821/TeamStatistics/Scotland-Premiership-2021-2022
You are comparing quite different players.
Levitt has been absolutely gash this season. Terrible player.
Campbell plays much higher up the park, and his all round game is nowhere near newells.
Joe isn't there to score 10 goals a season. Same as Mcgeouch wasn't. Or Fyvie. He is a deeper midfielder. 13 goal contributions, open play or not, is exceptional for his position. That's the same as Boyle.
Ah right, so it's the teams fault ventes been ****. Mate, look at the goal Shankland scored at Easter road. That's a striker. Doesn't need it on a plate.
Vente has been mince. ALF is considerably better at 47 years old. I'll just blame the team for Newell being crap then because he finished 3rd with a good team around him.
Na, he's expected to drag us up single handedly while excuse after excuse gets rolled out for his underperforming teammates.
"Oh, Boyles injuries must be catching up with him"
"Oh Vente hasn't had the service"
"Marcondes is brilliant, his team mates just aren't on his level"
Those guys have actually let us down. Newell has worked like ****.
I'm happy with his performances because they've been good. He passes it forward plenty. Such lazy analysis that is mate, honestly.
Shankland goal, whilst it was a cracking strike, was avoidable. Rocky should have just clattered right through him giving away a foul and a booking.
If you read my post from last night I agreed that too many players have been poor but you won’t concede that Newell has been poor too. Best of a bad bunch can still mean he’s been crap too can it not? He’s definitely not single handedly dragged us anywhere but bottom 6 as have the others.
Good players in crap teams tend to stand out and Newell definitely hasn’t stood out for most of the season as you’ve said.
14-04-2024, 08:13 AM
You are comparing quite different players.
Levitt has been absolutely gash this season. Terrible player.
Campbell plays much higher up the park, and his all round game is nowhere near newells.
Joe isn't there to score 10 goals a season. Same as Mcgeouch wasn't. Or Fyvie. He is a deeper midfielder. 13 goal contributions, open play or not, is exceptional for his position. That's the same as Boyle.
Campbell does play further up the park, which is fair. I think Newell & Levitt are a fair comparison though in terms of position. 2 goals and 2 assists for Levitt in 1,361 minutes v 4 goals and 3 assists from 2,757 minutes from Newell. I’m not sure that the stats you’re highlighting to show Newell’s contribution are anything special, and arguably part of the problem, when you dig into them a little. Levitt’s stats might similarly be padded out if he was able to take all of our set pieces.
14-04-2024, 08:15 AM
That's the thing. Met Joe before and he's a great lad, loves it up here and playing for the club. But I'm sure even he'd admit he hasn't been consistent/good enough this season.
I would rather he was a prick & a winner.
14-04-2024, 08:18 AM
Campbell does play further up the park, which is fair. I think Newell & Levitt are a fair comparison though in terms of position. 2 goals and 2 assists for Levitt in 1,361 minutes v 4 goals and 3 assists from 2,757 minutes from Newell. I’m not sure that the stats you’re highlighting to show Newell’s contribution are anything special, and arguably part of the problem, when you dig into them a little. Levitt’s stats might similarly be padded out if he was able to take all of our set pieces.
"Padded out" :faf:
I wish Levitt had padded out his stats as well as Joe. I'm all for it.
Very poor player for us this season. One labeled a "baller" by many on here. Nowhere near Newells level.
14-04-2024, 08:20 AM
Shankland goal, whilst it was a cracking strike, was avoidable. Rocky should have just clattered right through him giving away a foul and a booking.
If you read my post from last night I agreed that too many players have been poor but you won’t concede that Newell has been poor too. Best of a bad bunch can still mean he’s been crap too can it not? He’s definitely not single handedly dragged us anywhere but bottom 6 as have the others.
Good players in crap teams tend to stand out and Newell definitely hasn’t stood out for most of the season as you’ve said.
He hasn't been poor. He's been good/decent and our best player apart from Maolida imo. Id say if he was crap. I don't hesitate if a player is actually crap. Newell isn't.
14-04-2024, 08:29 AM
What an opportunity missed not coming to Hibs :greengrin
He hasn't been poor. He's been good/decent and our best player apart from Maolida imo. Id say if he was crap. I don't hesitate if a player is actually crap. Newell isn't.
He has been poor and again I use the Lucern game as the minimum standard.
So he’s not been our best player. A guy who was signed in Jan has and that there tells the story.
I know Newell has it in him to be a very good player that’s why I’m disappointed he’s not shown enough in games to drive the team forward.
He’s a bottom 6 player this season because of poor performances across the board.
14-04-2024, 08:32 AM
"Padded out" :faf:
I wish Levitt had padded out his stats as well as Joe. I'm all for it.
Very poor player for us this season. One labeled a "baller" by many on here. Nowhere near Newells level.
Levitt has been really poor and I don’t see how he can ever form part of any good midfield. However, It’s telling that their open play stats are comparable though and doesn’t reflect well on Newell as our captain and ever present in midfield IMO.
14-04-2024, 08:32 AM
He has been poor and again I use the Lucern game as the minimum standard.
So he’s not been our best player. A guy who was signed in Jan has and that there tells the story.
I know Newell has it in him to be a very good player that’s why I’m disappointed he’s not shown enough in games to drive the team forward.
He’s a bottom 6 player this season because of poor performances across the board.
Ah right. So you've chosen one match in which he has excellent,and anything else is crap? Genius.
Eh, it tells no story really. Maolida is a brilliant talent. Miles more talented than anyone else in our squad. Of course he's been our best player.
Newell expected to play 1 Vs 11. Vente needs service.
And I get called biased :faf:
14-04-2024, 08:34 AM
Levitt has been really poor and I don’t see how he can ever form part of any good midfield. However, It’s telling that their open play stats are comparable though and doesn’t reflect well on Newell as our captain and ever present in midfield IMO.
Those stats might be comparable. Newell bodies him in every other one. If you judge central midfielders only by goals and assists, you are dumb. Newell is miles better
14-04-2024, 08:41 AM
Those stats might be comparable. Newell bodies him in every other one. If you judge central midfielders only by goals and assists, you are dumb. Newell is miles better
You were the one who brought Newell’s goals and assists stats into this thread, I’ve just dug into them a little.
Newell is a lot better than Levitt, however that bar is so low it doesn’t prove anything, certainly not in terms of whether Newell is part of a wider problem or part of the answer to the wider problem.
NC1875
14-04-2024, 08:44 AM
You’re arguing that someone who is bang average and fails to turn up regularly despite being our captain should be kept because he’s our best midfielder .
That’s just a sorry indication of how bad the rest are, NMW aside. Not an indication of how good Joe Newell is.
Another one in his comfort zone. We need far better.
14-04-2024, 08:45 AM
You’re arguing that someone who is bang average and fails to turn up regularly despite being our captain should be kept because he’s our best midfielder .
That’s just a sorry indication of how bad the rest are, NMW aside. Not an indication of how good Joe Newell is.
Another one in his comfort zone. We need far better.
Good, great idea. Let's go sign better. I'm all for it.
Ah right. So you've chosen one match in which he has excellent,and anything else is crap? Genius.
Eh, it tells no story really. Maolida is a brilliant talent. Miles more talented than anyone else in our squad. Of course he's been our best player.
Newell expected to play 1 Vs 11. Vente needs service.
And I get called biased :faf:
No need for the sarcasm.
You put Newell on a pedestal and above every player because you think he’s been good this season. So by what you have written above every week it’s been Newell v the opposition??
I have used this game to show what he’s actually capable of. A yard stick, a standard which is not unacceptable to hold someone by? No but surely you can see a difference between him in that game and other games throughout the season. Are you not frustrated by this. I know I am because I know what he’s actually capable of.
Maybe not biased but you won’t concede Newell has been poor, by his standards for a considerable part of the season. He might be our best player but doesn’t mean to say he’s been good/decent most weeks.
14-04-2024, 09:01 AM
No need for the sarcasm.
You put Newell on a pedestal and above every player because you think he’s been good this season. So by what you have written above every week it’s been Newell v the opposition??
I have used this game to show what he’s actually capable of. A yard stick, a standard which is not unacceptable to hold someone by? No but surely you can see a difference between him in that game and other games throughout the season. Are you not frustrated by this. I know I am because I know what he’s actually capable of.
Maybe not biased but you won’t concede Newell has been poor, by his standards for a considerable part of the season. He might be our best player but doesn’t mean to say he’s been good/decent most weeks.
I wont concede it because it isn't true IMO. I don't have to concede bugger all. Same as you don't.
heid the baw
14-04-2024, 09:09 AM
Do you need an armband to use inspirational superpowers
Leadership on the park does not necessarily come from an armband. Tommy McIntyre, great captain, long serving and trusted by Alex Miller.
When Miller adds Murdo McLeod and John Burridge to the squad, he adds different kinds of leadership and wins our first trophy in nearly 20 years
We often go on about changing the mentality of the club and this can happen if recruitment focussed on prioritising players who influence others.
14-04-2024, 09:15 AM
In recent times - Hibs win trophies..
Murdo McLeod
Rob Jones
David Gray
These are leaders and captains you want.
Even David Gray winning goal and Rob Jones against Killie first goal in cup final - leading by example.
We are too soft as a club and squad - one of the 1st things to sort for any new manager.
I wont concede it because it isn't true IMO. I don't have to concede bugger all. Same as you don't.
That’s fine but no need to use sarcasm (previous posts) or use an annoyed tone at me for expressing an opinion. I have been respectful of you.
That’s up to you however I’d like to think I’ve put forward a balanced opinion of a very talented player who’s not performed at his best this season. I think he’s been poor by his standards.
14-04-2024, 09:18 AM
In recent times - Hibs win trophies..
Mirror McLeod
Rob Jones
David Gray
These are leaders and captains you want.
Even David Gray winning goal and Rob Jones against Killie first goal in cup final - leading by example.
We are too soft as a club and squad - one of the 1st things to sort for any new manager.
On reflection, per the above, McLeod was a good addition.
14-04-2024, 09:22 AM
On reflection, per the above, McLeod was a good addition.
Typo
mcfly
14-04-2024, 09:28 AM
It’s not just leadership on the park it’s at board level, managerial level also.
The cost to the club of finishing bottom 6 is huge in terms of revenue, tv money, season tickets.
Who will walk up and buy a ticket for a meaningless game?
Hospitality suites will be empty. This bottled job of a season will cost us heavily.
Manager has to go, nice guy but has nothing about him, no passion, has he given up?
Central defence MUST be sorted - we can’t defend simple as.
We need strong midfielders in the Bartley mode that protect the defence and ensure we are not bullied on the pitch.
Sad times for hibs just now - they need to go all out for an experienced manager thst knows Scottish football and can address the alarming decline in great club.
If the board don’t realise this now I’m sure the attendance at the next home game will make it very clear to them
14-04-2024, 09:36 AM
John Hughes walking up and down the troops in the tunnel in the 1999 millennium derby at Tiny telling every manjack what was expected from him prematch and if not they would answer to him then sprinting the length of the park to celebrate Le God’s strike at the School End
The result never in doubt
14-04-2024, 09:44 AM
In the last 20 minutes of yesterday’s match when we needed a leader, a cool head to put their football on the ball and help us see out the game our captain went missing. Newell only had 8 touches of the ball in the final 20 minutes of the match, only Rocky had less in that time.
14-04-2024, 09:59 AM
Remember a few years back SJM taking the ball to the corner at Fir Park and running down the clock.
SJM did this quite a few times in key games - used to get the crowd going last few mins of games etc. How I miss someone like that !
14-04-2024, 10:01 AM
Remember a few years back SJM taking the ball to the corner at Fir Park and running down the clock.
SJM did this quite a few times in key games - used to get the crowd going last few mins of games etc. How I miss someone like that !
Certainly newells biggest crime IMO. Not being John McGinn.
14-04-2024, 10:06 AM
A show pony who's not that good a player, comfortable on the ball, the ability to take a free kick and pass the ball sideways is not good enough.:rolleyes:
3 2 1 ............
Not even that. At least SJM tried to drive the team on and forward even when he was having an off day.
Not sure that’s to much to ask
14-04-2024, 10:53 AM
It’s not just leadership on the park it’s at board level, managerial level also.
The cost to the club of finishing bottom 6 is huge in terms of revenue, tv money, season tickets.
Who will walk up and buy a ticket for a meaningless game?
Hospitality suites will be empty. This bottled job of a season will cost us heavily.
Manager has to go, nice guy but has nothing about him, no passion, has he given up?
Central defence MUST be sorted - we can’t defend simple as.
We need strong midfielders in the Bartley mode that protect the defence and ensure we are not bullied on the pitch.
Sad times for hibs just now - they need to go all out for an experienced manager thst knows Scottish football and can address the alarming decline in great club.
If the board don’t realise this now I’m sure the attendance at the next home game will make it very clear to them
Maybe biggest statement the fans can do to show their dissatisfaction is not turning up for next home game? Probably not ideal in terms of revenue but maybe will make the board and Foley wake up
I agree about the board but not about Foley. I’m more than certain the Black Knights are well aware of where we need to be and what’s required to get there.
The board just don’t want to be seen to have made another mistake.
Mikey_1875
14-04-2024, 04:21 PM
A small point but the penalty incident yesterday summed up the lack of leadership on and off the park for me. Youan initially asking for it and being told to beat it then Marcondes persisting all the way to the penalty spot to take it.
I’m guessing Boyle was told he was off them after his dubious record but this sort of thing is surely sorted before the match and the captain should be pulling rank to enforce it long before it carried on towards the spot.
Murphys Touch
14-04-2024, 04:46 PM
A small point but the penalty incident yesterday summed up the lack of leadership on and off the park for me. Youan initially asking for it and being told to beat it then Marcondes persisting all the way to the penalty spot to take it.
I’m guessing Boyle was told he was off them after his dubious record but this sort of thing is surely sorted before the match and the captain should be pulling rank to enforce it long before it carried on towards the spot.
I only saw Marcondes doing it and it’s not the first time he’s done it - you’re right. These things stink of leadership issues on and off the park
Hibiza
14-04-2024, 05:06 PM
We don't have a leader , haven't had in a long time.
14-04-2024, 05:13 PM
I only saw Marcondes doing it and it’s not the first time he’s done it - you’re right. These things stink of leadership issues on and off the park
It stinks of piss poor recruitment. The Scottish game is a physical, high tempo game and if you can’t put a foot in and compete then you’re not any use here. Marcondes is a very good player in a completely different scenario of what he faces up here, but he’s a waste of a wage for us and a waste of time in his career to him.
Tully
14-04-2024, 07:00 PM
Watch Ross county today against Huns, so called inferior players matching so called superstars with great dig and attitude but most of all playing for the jersey and having 11 leaders on the park, something lacking in our club
14-04-2024, 07:07 PM
It stinks of piss poor recruitment. The Scottish game is a physical, high tempo game and if you can’t put a foot in and compete then you’re not any use here. Marcondes is a very good player in a completely different scenario of what he faces up here, but he’s a waste of a wage for us and a waste of time in his career to him.
I don’t think Marcondes has struggled with the physicality. He’s just not been very good.
14-04-2024, 07:21 PM
Embarrassing that happened again same thing happened against Dundee.
WestStandWillie
15-04-2024, 11:14 AM
For every good game Newell has, he has 2 or 3 bad ones.
He’s not a leader either. Struggling to think of a leader in that squad. Maybe Cadden?
15-04-2024, 11:17 AM
For every good game Newell has, he has 2 or 3 bad ones.
He’s not a leader either. Struggling to think of a leader in that squad. Maybe Cadden?
What are you basing their leadership qualities on?
What separates Newell and Cadden for you?
15-04-2024, 03:59 PM
I don’t think Marcondes has struggled with the physicality. He’s just not been very good.
Could easily have had two assists on Saturday if finishing from Youan and Cadden had been better.
15-04-2024, 04:46 PM
Watch Ross county today against Huns, so called inferior players matching so called superstars with great dig and attitude but most of all playing for the jersey and having 11 leaders on the park, something lacking in our club
Where were the Ross County leaders between 9th December and 17th February?
Some run - LLDLLLDLLLL
15-04-2024, 04:52 PM
Leadership on the park does not necessarily come from an armband. Tommy McIntyre, great captain, long serving and trusted by Alex Miller.
When Miller adds Murdo McLeod and John Burridge to the squad, he adds different kinds of leadership and wins our first trophy in nearly 20 years
We often go on about changing the mentality of the club and this can happen if recruitment focussed on prioritising players who influence others.
Tommy McIntyre had a long Hibs career but never really played all that many games. he was never our captain and I don't think he was a consistent first choice pick from Miller in his last three years or so (he played only 126 games in nearly eight years at the club).
We had leadership on the pitch in that league Cup winning side. As you say McLeod and Budgie were strong characters, as were the likes of Gordon Hunter, Graeme Mitchell, Keith Wright, Mickey Weir, Willie Miller and Pat McGinlay.
Compare those characters to what we're watching now. Good footballers and guys that would run through a brick wall for the cause.