View Full Version : Derek Mcinnes
Steve88
13-04-2024, 04:02 PM
Sack NM
Hire DM a proven manager in this league who - along with the additional investment - will stabilise the club over the next few years into a top 4 side. Once he's reached his glass ceiling and Hibs are consistently best of the rest, sack DM and level up our manager.
Done
13-04-2024, 04:07 PM
In
13-04-2024, 04:08 PM
Yip
13-04-2024, 04:11 PM
It should of been him two appointments ago, it's a shame those clowns running our club can't spot a good manager if their fake tans depended on it.
I don't think he would come to us anymore though.
13-04-2024, 04:12 PM
100%
Prepare for the Monty lovers to tell you how unlucky he’s been and were stupid for wanting change
Yawn
13-04-2024, 04:12 PM
Sack NM
Hire DM a proven manager in this league who - along with the additional investment - will stabilise the club over the next few years into a top 4 side. Once he's reached his glass ceiling and Hibs are consistently best of the rest, sack DM and level up our manager.
Done
I don’t think DM will give up European football with Killie..
BH Hibs
13-04-2024, 04:13 PM
Too late. We were crying out for a McInness type to steady the ship after Johnson instead we experimented again. Not sure if McInness is the man for the future.
13-04-2024, 04:18 PM
Mcinnes aint gonna come to Hibs lets just put his suggestion to bed
13-04-2024, 04:19 PM
We don't sign managers with a proven track record in Scottish football. Get ready for Maloney/Johnson/Montgomery part 4.
13-04-2024, 04:20 PM
End this conversation. It's not gonna happen.
13-04-2024, 04:21 PM
We don't sign managers with a proven track record in Scottish football. Get ready for Maloney/Johnson/Montgomery part 4.
And we will be calling for his head round about December.
13-04-2024, 04:21 PM
End this conversation. It's not gonna happen.
Hope it doesn't. Not the Montgomery sacking part, that's surely inevitable.
badabing67
13-04-2024, 04:24 PM
Just no to McInnes surely we can get better than him
He's here!
Clearly a very good manager in this league. I can't see why any Hibs fan would regard him as anything less than a very sound appointment.
I suspect he's got bigger jobs than Hibs in mind tho.
Trinity Hibee
Has Killie 8pts clear in 4th! Some achievement .
13-04-2024, 04:25 PM
It's so ****ing obvious so there is not a chance Hibs will consider it.
We'll try to prove how smart we are again.
He's here!
13-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Like who?!
13-04-2024, 04:26 PM
It's so ****ing obvious so there is not a chance Hibs will consider it.
We'll try to prove how smart we are again.
Terry Butcher was pretty obvious as well.
13-04-2024, 04:28 PM
They simply have got to go and offer the man everything he wants.
Give him all the changes he wants.
All the money he wants.
All the players he wants.
All the staff he wants.
All the staff he wants rid of.
Give him it all.
Crammond Hibee
13-04-2024, 04:28 PM
You kidding
13-04-2024, 04:29 PM
Bring in Neil Lennon.
13-04-2024, 04:30 PM
Terry Butcher was pretty obvious as well.
Butcher didn't have anything close to the track record McInnes has in Scottish football.
A ridiculous comparison by just about any measure.
McInness has been an undeniable success at St Johnstone, Aberdeen and now Kilmarnock. Butcher had one half decent spell at ICT.
Wanted him as our manager for years, and is as close to a guarantee as you’ll get. But I think that ship has sailed now, sadly.
I’d take Alex Neil.
NC1875
Should have been in god knows how many appointments ago.
Don’t think he’d come now. We are a **** show on the football side.
And I suspect the next appointment will be another gamble and turn out a disaster again.
Trinity Hibee
13-04-2024, 04:31 PM
Should have been in god knows how many appointments ago.
Don’t think he’d come now. We are a **** show on the football side.
And I suspect the next appointment will be another gamble and turn out a disaster again.
He didn’t have a club when we brought in Maloney. Should have done it then plus the last 2 appointments. Board are clueless
13-04-2024, 04:32 PM
Agree.
He will want to take Killie in to Europe though.
13-04-2024, 04:34 PM
Like who. I would argue he is as close to a sure thing in improving our managerial situation as you can get. Killie have probably under half our budget and are 12 points ahead and only scored a single goal less than us. Maloney, Johnson and Montgomery may have talked attacking football but for the most part we have been brutal to watch for quite a while. Ross may not of had us on the edge of our sofas but he understood that if you don't concede too many you will finish pretty high up the league. We would be a good few points ahead of Hearts imo if McIness was our manager this year. Up until today we had scored more than them but at no point has the last couple of managers concerned themselves with how many we concede. I'm not really one for sacking managers because usually we bring in the same or worse. At some point we have to stick with a manager for a few windows. Hearts could easily have emptied Naismith but they stuck with him and it paid off.
Hibees1973
13-04-2024, 04:34 PM
Some on here still prefer Montgomery to McInnes. :confused:
Have a look at the league table and the budget comparison between the clubs.
13-04-2024, 04:37 PM
Out of interest, and I've honestly no idea about this, but what's Killies point percentage home and away? I know they won away today.
13-04-2024, 04:38 PM
Not in the know in anyway shape or form. However who’s to say we haven’t approached him before Monty and he gave us the knock back already?
Don’t think for one second if this happened Hibs would broadcast it.
13-04-2024, 04:40 PM
Bring back Lexo
Greensunshine
13-04-2024, 04:41 PM
Please just give us a manager that will stop us from being a laughing stock!
A manager that can get our defensive frailties sorted once and for all.
Lennon or McInness would get me excited about going to Easter Road again!
This current guy needs to go now! Had it with losers that can’t get a team motivated.
13-04-2024, 04:41 PM
And yet Hibs are unbeaten this season against Kilmarnock.
13-04-2024, 04:43 PM
Michael O'Neill for me👍
13-04-2024, 04:43 PM
Aye their fans will be gutted about that when they are looking out their passports for a European trip in July or August. McInness out banner at the ready no doubt.
13-04-2024, 04:44 PM
Pretty sure Killie will be fine with that, given that they’re 12 points above us and playing in a different league to us for the rest of the season.
13-04-2024, 04:44 PM
Out of interest, and I've honestly no idea about this, but what's Killies point percentage home and away? I know they won away today. 34 at home and 17 away, St Mirren below them are 27 and 16. The pitch could be a factor but his former clubs played on grass and he did very well with them too.
Victor
13-04-2024, 04:45 PM
I would rather have Hamish MacInnes. He’s the guy you need when there is a mountain to climb. [emoji3]
13-04-2024, 04:47 PM
34 at home and 17 away, St Mirren below them are 27 and 16. The pitch could be a factor but his former clubs played on grass and he did very well with them too.
Cheers for providing that. So pitch probably has a bit of a factor.
I've absolutely nothing against a manager having a good home record, in fact, I'm all for it.
13-04-2024, 04:50 PM
Some on here still prefer Montgomery to McInnes. :confused:
Have a look at the league table and the budget comparison between the clubs.
Not sure if prefer is the right word as not sure he will come. McInness would do a good steady job but could see issues with some fans with his Rangers past and style of football he absolutely would have us punching our weight and much more competitive struggle a wee bit with his fake tan though.😊
13-04-2024, 04:52 PM
If we go for a scottish based manager it simply has to be McInnes.
He managed to win today against a team that just beat us last week, proven in this league but would he come?
13-04-2024, 04:58 PM
Not sure if prefer is the right word as not sure he will come. McInness would do a good steady job but could see issues with some fans with his Rangers past and style of football he absolutely would have us punching our weight and much more competitive struggle a wee bit with his fake tan though.😊
If I was sat down and asked to name every Rangers player I could think of in the last 50 years I still don't think McInnes would come to mind. Hardly a bloody Ibrox legend.
13-04-2024, 05:00 PM
Well we keep trying, i suppose we might get lucky eventually.
Crammond Hibee
13-04-2024, 05:06 PM
We'll try to prove how smart we are again.[/QUOTE]
Agreed
13-04-2024, 05:06 PM
No more projects and hidden gems abroad type
Derek McInnes all day. Reaching a point where I’d pay through the nose for him
We are so far of it
Anyone that bites back and says he’s anti football have a look at the table
Monty is an absolute fraud, completely out his depth
13-04-2024, 05:09 PM
I don't think it will happen but I beg for him to be the man in the dugout come the start of next season.
Hibs4185
13-04-2024, 05:11 PM
Kilmarnock ate staying in my hotel. Will try and tap McInnes up
I'm Spartacus
Aye because we've had 3 failed appointments in getting better and absolutly failed.
Not stylish enough for some fans.
They'd rather live in some utopia where Hibs are a swashbuckling reincarnation of Barca under Pep.
Was always the obvious choice and still is.
13-04-2024, 05:14 PM
You're right. I'd rather be in the bottom six than top 6, rather than looking forward to European football because we haven't beaten a specific team.
Pathetic argument.
13-04-2024, 05:17 PM
We are so far of it
Won't folks argument be that we had pretty similar under Jack Ross and the fans in the end didn't accept it after the first poor spell?
I actually don't 100% get the anti football stuff. Was impressed with his Aberdeen team on more than a few occasions at ER.
Listen, I wanted Montgomery in, so I'm sitting the next one out. But the longer us being ***** goes on the more I'm warming to McInnes getting a go.
Steve88
13-04-2024, 05:18 PM
Kilmarnock ate staying in my hotel. Will try and tap McInnes up
When selling the job, please focus on our multi million pound corporate suite, with as little attention as possible on the playing squad.
Thanks
13-04-2024, 05:19 PM
Would be happy with this if we don't get Lennon :duck:
13-04-2024, 05:20 PM
We are so far of it
Agree with every word of this.
Getting excited about the prospect of having an actual, proper manager in place for next season.
leith lynx
13-04-2024, 05:20 PM
Please just give us a manager that will stop us from being a laughing stock!
A manager that can get our defensive frailties sorted once and for all.
Lennon or McInness would get me excited about going to Easter Road again!
This current guy needs to go now! Had it with losers that can’t get a team motivated.
Michael O'Neill is the man for you.
He's here!
13-04-2024, 05:25 PM
Butcher didn't have anything close to the track record McInnes has in Scottish football.
A ridiculous comparison by just about any measure.
McInness has been an undeniable success at St Johnstone, Aberdeen and now Kilmarnock. Butcher had one half decent spell at ICT.
And look at Aberdeen's record since they sacked him. Must be on their fourth or fifth guy in the hot seat and still going backwards.
Similar to us after sacking Ross following one bad, but far from irretrievable run of form (which included skelping Rangers at Hampden).
The folk in charge at both clubs seem woefully ill-qualified to pick a manager.
Hibiza
13-04-2024, 05:30 PM
An obvious manager is Micheal O'Neil .
badabing67
13-04-2024, 05:32 PM
Clearly a very good manager in this league. I can't see why any Hibs fan would regard him as anything less than a very sound appointment.
I suspect he's got bigger jobs than Hibs in mind tho.
One of the few managers who has failed to get 3pts from Montgomery
13-04-2024, 05:33 PM
I would take McInnes but there’s no way he would take the job. He has publicly said he would never manage Hibs as the fans would never accept him. Quite a strong but telling statement. In any case, why would he leave a club, where he is successfully enjoying his job, for a club with serial failure tendencies?
13-04-2024, 05:34 PM
How can he be more obvious than a manager with track record over a decade in our league of either atleast meeting or exceeding expectations?
He's here!
13-04-2024, 05:35 PM
One of the few managers who has failed to get 3pts from Montgomery
Uh huh. I'm sure that's giving him sleepless nights as he looks out his passport for Europe with Killie and we loiter around the bottom six with nothing to play for.
13-04-2024, 05:35 PM
I would take McInnes but there’s no way he would take the job. He has publicly said he would never manage Hibs as the fans would never accept him. Quite a strong but telling statement. In any case, why would he leave a club, where he is successfully enjoying his job, for a club with serial failure tendencies?
When did he say that publicly? Must be easy to find if, as you claim it's in the public domain.
He's here!
13-04-2024, 05:37 PM
I'm unaware of him ever saying such a thing. And even if he did it's completely untrue. Any manager who can deliver results will be accepted.
He's here!
13-04-2024, 05:39 PM
McInnes is a far safer bet than him, much as I like him.
HibeeSince85
13-04-2024, 05:40 PM
I think we've missed the boat. He should've been appointed instead of Maloney.
The real kick in the nuts in there really is no other candidate with that knowledge of Scottish fitba folk want that comes close to him.
I'd go the foreign route myself, why not since we'll struggle to get DM
13-04-2024, 05:50 PM
Wanted him as our manager for years, and is as close to a guarantee as you’ll get. But I think that ship has sailed now, sadly.
I’d take Alex Neil.
:agree: If he is willing to talk to us then he should be the man. Has had proven successes, talks well and would sort out our defence.
13-04-2024, 05:50 PM
When did he say that publicly? Must be easy to find if, as you claim it's in the public domain.
I'm unaware of him ever saying such a thing. And even if he did it's completely untrue. Any manager who can deliver results will be accepted.
I’m sorry, I can’t remember details, but he definitely said it, whether as a joke or a bit of banter, in a live interview. Why would I make it up?
13-04-2024, 05:52 PM
I think we've missed the boat. He should've been appointed instead of Maloney.
The real kick in the nuts in there really is no other candidate with that knowledge of Scottish fitba folk want that comes close to him.
I'd go the foreign route myself, why not since we'll struggle to get DM
Absolutely correct re missing the boat and timing. I think the fact he was perceived as similar to Jack Ross in style, as well as looks and even the way he talks was what stopped him being a contender at the time.
13-04-2024, 05:53 PM
I’m sorry, I can’t remember details, but he definitely said it, whether as a joke or a bit of banter, in a live interview. Why would I make it up?
I've never heard anyone mention that.
If that was the case it would have been mentioned in the media when he was last linked with the job. I'm pretty sure you've misheard.
1875M
13-04-2024, 05:53 PM
Should have been appointed two appointments ago.
13-04-2024, 05:54 PM
I wouldn't be unhappy with Michael O'Neill either. It's O'Neill or Neil for me.
13-04-2024, 05:55 PM
Right. So it’s just the 10 other teams in the league we’ve to worry about.
13-04-2024, 05:59 PM
Right. So it’s just the 10 other teams in the league we’ve to worry about.
Top of the Killie v Hibs league though.
Champers out tonight.
13-04-2024, 05:59 PM
Here is something that's a bit more impressive - Killie are unbeaten against everyone in the league apart from Rangers. As a Hibs fan I'd be delighted with that:cb
Kentao1985
13-04-2024, 06:06 PM
McInnes or Robinson both performing significantly better than us on a shoestring budget. Needs to be either as the next appointment.
Sent from my moto g32 using Tapatalk
Cabbage-Patch
13-04-2024, 06:17 PM
Should have brought him in when Jack Ross was binned. We absolutely must pull out all the stops to get him in the door asap.
hibeerealist
13-04-2024, 06:29 PM
And look at Aberdeen's record since they sacked him. Must be on their fourth or fifth guy in the hot seat and still going backwards.
Similar to us after sacking Ross following one bad, but far from irretrievable run of form (which included skelping Rangers at Hampden).
The folk in charge at both clubs seem woefully ill-qualified to pick a manager.
But couldnae beat St Johnstone, irretrievable run of form or just S hi te?
WestCoastHibby
13-04-2024, 06:30 PM
I’d take Alex Neil.
He’s too big for his boots
NM must go and we definitely need a box office appointment
davym7062
13-04-2024, 06:32 PM
this,,,, sick to death of this experiment *****, get him in ASAP
davym7062
13-04-2024, 06:35 PM
Should have brought him in when Jack Ross was binned. We absolutely must pull out all the stops to get him in the door asap.
THIS,.... sick to death of this experiment ***** get him in ASAP
chippy
13-04-2024, 07:24 PM
Agree.
He will want to take Killie in to Europe though.
I think we’re under estimating the appeal of Hibs with the new investment. Killie might get 4 games max in Europe and will be out by September
13-04-2024, 07:34 PM
I'd appoint Alex Neil just because of his middle name. It's really important with Lennon for some reason, maybe it has some mystical powers.
It's Alexander Francis Neil for me.
13-04-2024, 07:39 PM
I don’t think McInnes has ever said anything like that. People just making things up on here and then it becomes a .fact.
13-04-2024, 07:40 PM
Mcinnes would be crazy to leave killie for hibs
13-04-2024, 07:43 PM
He turned down Rangers when at Dons.
He would cost a fortune now and could demand anything he wants.
Killie have a new grass pitch next season - new training centre too.
We missed the boat in another bad judgement appointing another experiment hoping he would be the next Ange.
He’s following Steve Clarkes path and could easily be the next Scotland manager if he keeps improving Killie (who were in championship not that long along and now over taken Hibs and sitting comfortably in 4th). That’s how bad we are as a club.
13-04-2024, 07:55 PM
I don't think he'd come.
Also even if he did. He wouldn't get the time he's had at Killie.
RossScott1991
13-04-2024, 08:18 PM
Find it mental amount of fans that wouldn’t take mcinnes.
It’s the right time. We need an experienced steady pair of hands to start a proper rebuild.
No more experiments no more giving young guys a chance to prove themselves.
13-04-2024, 08:46 PM
Think we’re the one club McInnes will flop at. And I reckon he knows this.
hibbykeef
13-04-2024, 09:13 PM
And how long do we give Mcinnes or whoever.?
Silky
13-04-2024, 09:15 PM
A window.
13-04-2024, 09:33 PM
McInness has a habit of getting things done quickly so he'd probably get a fair crack at the whip. Took the St Johnstone job in November and got them promoted the same season. Took over at the tail end of a season when Aberdeen finished 9th and led them to 3rd and the League Cup the following season. Took over a Killie side who were far from guaranteed promotion and got them up, consolidated the following and now looks set to have them top 4 and in Europe.
He's not one of those managers who bleats about needing multiple windows and to be given time. He earns himself time by being good at his job.
13-04-2024, 09:38 PM
He would be such a ****ty Hibs manager, Jack Ross with a beard, would achieve nothing at Easter Road.
He's here!
13-04-2024, 09:42 PM
But couldnae beat St Johnstone, irretrievable run of form or just S hi te?
St Jonnstone won both cups that season. Slightly freakish but admirable nevertheless.
Ross had us at Hampden in every cup tournament he was manager for IIRC and took us to a comfortable third place finish. Nobody's come even remotely close to that since.
13-04-2024, 09:45 PM
He would be such a ****ty Hibs manager, Jack Ross with a beard, would achieve nothing at Easter Road.
Aww man, the last thing we want is a manager with a beard who gets us to 3rd in the league, 6 times to Hampden in 2 years and the only manager in 2 decades to win by 2 clear goals at Tynie.
He's here!
13-04-2024, 09:45 PM
As others have pointed out he's been an unquestioned success at every Scottish club he's managed and currently has Killie well clear of us and heading for Europe on a far smaller budget. I can't fathom what you're basing that claim on.
13-04-2024, 09:47 PM
As others have pointed out he's been an unquestioned success at every Scottish club he's managed and currently has Killie well clear of us and heading for Europe on a far smaller budget. I can't fathom what you're basing that claim on.
What has he done to be a success? Be less ****ty that the old firm on occasion? He is such a dullard and a Hun to boot.
13-04-2024, 09:50 PM
Stick with Monty
We’ve just been unlucky
Oh aye var anaw
Needs another window
13-04-2024, 09:55 PM
What has he done to be a success? Be less ****ty that the old firm on occasion? He is such a dullard and a Hun to boot.
Won promotion twice
Won the League Cup
Finished 2nd 4 times in a row (including seasons when Hibs, Hearts and Rangers were all in the league)
Finished 3rd once
Finished 4th twice and soon to be 3 times
Only finished outside the top 4 in 3 of the 11 full seasons he has managed in Scotland and never failed to make top 4 with Aberdeen.
Never had a win percentage below 40% at any club in Scotland
If he failed at Hibs then it would be close to the final proof that any problems at the club run far deeper than the manager.
thebausburst
13-04-2024, 10:02 PM
McInnes is THE clear and best candidate and has been for a few years, sadly just cannot see it happening and Hibs will probably make the same mistake as LJ, give Monty the whole summer and a pile of cash to waste then terminate a month or two into next season when they (finally) realise he’s not up to the job.
14-04-2024, 03:24 PM
Won promotion twice
Won the League Cup
Finished 2nd 4 times in a row (including seasons when Hibs, Hearts and Rangers were all in the league)
Finished 3rd once
Only finished outside the top 4 in 3 of the 11 full seasons he has managed in Scotland and never failed to make top 4 with Aberdeen.
If he failed at Hibs then it would be close to the final proof that any problems at the club run far deeper than the manager.
Perfectly put mate.
It’s so clear (and has been for years) that DM should be approached for this job.
Good last point re the problems running deeper as well.
thebausburst
14-04-2024, 03:27 PM
Aww man, the last thing we want is a manager with a beard who gets us to 3rd in the league, 6 times to Hampden in 2 years and the only manager in 2 decades to win by 2 clear goals at Tynie.
Haha so true, Hibs fans are mental not wanting a manager with a proven SPL record of success.
14-04-2024, 03:33 PM
Haha so true, Hibs fans are mental not wanting a manager with a proven SPL record of success.
insane mate
14-04-2024, 03:37 PM
Mcinnes would be crazy to leave killie for hibs
What absolute nonsense.
Won promotion twice
Won the League Cup
Finished 3rd once
Aye fair enough but as IanG says he's a Hun though :greengrin
McInnes for me is the best candidate for the job.
14-04-2024, 04:53 PM
It should of been him two appointments ago, it's a shame those clowns running our club can't spot a good manager if their fake tans depended on it.
I don't think he would come to us anymore though.
I doubt he'd jump at the chance to come to Hibs either having been passed over previously and now gotten Killie into Europe.
I also don't get why a large section of the Hibs support turn their noses up at McKinnes - he's consistently shown he knows what he's doing in the context of Scottish football - improving the sides he's taken over - making them hard to beat, winning games and hitting his targets.
I think the accusations of boring industrial style are off the mark - he just has a handle on what you need to do to succeed in Scotland (which isn't always pretty) and sets about doing it. I'd wager that after one season with McKinnes in the hotseat at Hibs we'd no longer need 3 goals to win a football match and that would be no bad thing!
14-04-2024, 04:58 PM
If I'm not mistaken he turned down the Rangers job while at Aberdeen. So even if he was ever a hun he's less of a bigot than you.
14-04-2024, 05:15 PM
If I'm not mistaken he turned down the Rangers job while at Aberdeen. So even if he was ever a hun he's less of a bigot than you.
So he is a Hun with no ambition then? 🤣
If we appoint him it will be like the Alex Miller years all over again.
14-04-2024, 05:21 PM
What absolute nonsense.
Why? Backed by a club that he has in fourth, and would give that up to move to a club in turmoil, that sacks managers on a whim, and whose glass ceiling is just one place higher in the league?
So he is a Hun with no ambition then? 🤣
If we appoint him it will be like the Alex Miller years all over again.
The fact mcinnes turned rangers down is one of the positives about him. That demonstrated a lot of loyalty which you don’t often see. However I think that loyalty is why he wouldn’t leave Kilmarnock right now, even if we were interested and offered everything he wants.
Crazyhorse
14-04-2024, 05:25 PM
McInnes is THE clear and best candidate and has been for a few years, sadly just cannot see it happening and Hibs will probably make the same mistake as LJ, give Monty the whole summer and a pile of cash to waste then terminate a month or two into next season when they (finally) realise he’s not up to the job.
Unfortunately I think this is spot on. Monty Will probably be sacked about 10 games into next season after a terrible start. Meaning another season written off.
Would be great to have a manager who can put together a team who can see out a game without falling to bits.
It’s embarrassing seeing Ross County defending resolutely at the end of the game today to turn over Rangers while we sh*t the bed at any sign of pressure.
I would be in favour of bringing in someone like Michael O’Neill or McInnes.
14-04-2024, 05:25 PM
The fact mcinnes turned rangers down is one of the positives about him. That demonstrated a lot of loyalty which you don’t often see. However I think that loyalty is why he wouldn’t leave Kilmarnock right now, even if we were interested and offered everything he wants.
Fully expect he would stay at Killie and not join Hibs, though am sure we would be looking further afield with our new part owners connections.
14-04-2024, 05:26 PM
Why? Backed by a club that he has in fourth, and would give that up to move to a club in turmoil, that sacks managers on a whim, and whose glass ceiling is just one place higher in the league?
He's done what he can do at Killie. He isn't going to improve upon what he's already achieved.
If Hibs offer him the job, with suitable guarantees, he'll take it IMO.
14-04-2024, 05:40 PM
He's done what he can do at Killie. He isn't going to improve upon what he's already achieved.
If Hibs offer him the job, with suitable guarantees, he'll take it IMO.
Agree.
We are a bigger club than Kilmarnock.
Give him what he wants and he would come IMO.
We’ll get some Bournemouth reserve under 19’s coach after Monty goes in September though.
Donegal Hibby
14-04-2024, 05:40 PM
Fully expect he would stay at Killie and not join Hibs, though am sure we would be looking further afield with our new part owners connections.
Hopefully he does stay . If he was our manager it wouldn't be long before folk turned on him about the way we were playing like they did Ross .
14-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Not stylish enough for some fans.
They'd rather live in some utopia where Hibs are a swashbuckling reincarnation of Barca under Pep.
Was always the obvious choice and still is.
Pep? 😂
14-04-2024, 08:17 PM
Stick with Monty
We’ve just been unlucky
Oh aye var anaw
Needs another window
Killie have conceded 34 goals this season Vs Hibs with 51
14-04-2024, 08:33 PM
Hopefully he does stay . If he was our manager it wouldn't be long before folk turned on him about the way we were playing like they did Ross .
Or even worse we`d be stuck with another Alex Miller situation with a manager driving away fans but we can`t afford to get rid of him . Noone`s happy about present results but surely most fans would prefer a season like 2018 then a dodgy one than boring defensive stuff even if it means the odd game in European qualifiers in July ? We`re all disappointed about missing out on top 6 ( if it had led to Europe ) but time to look for something interesting with a motivated manager with something to prove . McInnes has got Aberdeen and now Killie into Europe , what could he do with us ? At best the same .
14-04-2024, 08:54 PM
He also turned down Sunderland when at Aberdeen
14-04-2024, 08:58 PM
What’s all this Hun nonsense, i would take the devil himself if he could put a good team together, by the way the last manager to with the league with Hibs played for Rangers and Hearts ! Hugh Shaw .
He's here!
14-04-2024, 09:50 PM
What’s all this Hun nonsense, i would take the devil himself if he could put a good team together, by the way the last manager to with the league with Hibs played for Rangers and Hearts ! Hugh Shaw .
Plenty of our finest players have also played for Rangers. It's a daft argument, especially as McInnes actually turned down the Ibrox job.
Aberdeen probably hate them more than we do but I doubt Alex Ferguson's playing career is an issue for a single one of their fans.
15-04-2024, 07:01 AM
Almost everyone I know has turned from being dead against him to now seeing him as the best option and I'm including myself in that number.
I really think the fans would get behind him, we can identify with what he's trying to achieve despite the boring ex-hun stuff that gets levelled against him.
15-04-2024, 07:53 AM
Agree.
We are a bigger club than Kilmarnock.
Give him what he wants and he would come IMO.
We’ll get some Bournemouth reserve under 19’s coach after Monty goes in September though.
How depressingly inevitable
15-04-2024, 08:02 AM
Almost everyone I know has turned from being dead against him to now seeing him as the best option and I'm including myself in that number.
I really think the fans would get behind him, we can identify with what he's trying to achieve despite the boring ex-hun stuff that gets levelled against him.
I'm one of those who didn't want him anywhere near Hibs but would now take him.
The style of football the Sheep played under him and the way his sheep squads feigned injury, dived, and time-wasted throughout games made him a no for me. After the last 3 managers, I'd take him tomorrow.
I think that fans would have more patience with him than we've had with Montgomery and the previous two because he has a track record of building teams and achieving relative success in Scotland. There would be previous evidence that progress was possible in the SPFL with McInnes that Montgomery and the two before him didn't have.
Of course, I'm sure some would turn on him a few games into his tenure if immediate progress weren't made but I'd feel a lot more confident that there was the possibility of progress.
If Montgomery goes , whether McInnes would want to come is a different matter. He's building something at Killie and seems quite a loyal ( no hun pun intended) guy so could quite easily want to see the Killie project through to next season and beyond.
He's here!
15-04-2024, 08:45 AM
The style of football the Sheep played under him and the way his sheep squads feigned injury, dived, and time-wasted throughout games made him a no for me. After the last 3 managers, I'd take him tomorrow.
I think that fans would have more patience with him than we've had with Montgomery and the previous two because he has a track record of building teams and achieving relative success in Scotland. There would be previous evidence that progress was possible in the SPFL with McInnes that Montgomery and the two before him didn't have.
Of course, I'm sure some would turn on him a few games into his tenure if immediate progress weren't made but I'd feel a lot more confident that there was the possibility of progress.
If Montgomery goes , whether McInnes would want to come is a different matter. He's building something at Killie and seems quite a loyal ( no hun pun intended) guy so could quite easily want to see the Killie project through to next season and beyond.
A McInnes team is one you know will provide you with a tough game. Pretty much every top flight team looks at Hibs and thinks they have a good chance of beating us. That's the difference. We carry next to zero presence about us and have rarely had an air of a big club about us since Lennon was boss.
I've got a feeling McInnes wouldn't take the Hibs job either, even if he was offered it. It's a bigger job than the Killie one but not so much bigger that he'd see it as much more than a sideways step in this league. I think he'll either have his eye on the Scotland job after Clarke steps down (possibly this summer) or want another crack at an English job - something he'd be in the running for based on the way he's turned Killie around.
15-04-2024, 09:19 AM
I'd take him in a heart beat.
We'd be incredibly lucky to have him and he'd be crazy to take the job.
15-04-2024, 09:32 AM
Plenty of our finest players have also played for Rangers. It's a daft argument, especially as McInnes actually turned down the Ibrox job.
Aberdeen probably hate them more than we do but I doubt Alex Ferguson's playing career is an issue for a single one of their fans.
Just been watching the famous clip of Mr Ferguson ranting about the standards of the team after WINNING the Scottish Cup.
Interesting comparison with "Everybody is devastated in there, they put their heart and soul into the performance. We were 20 seconds away from still having a great chance to be in the top six"
Dan Sarf
15-04-2024, 09:38 AM
Just been watching the famous clip of Mr Ferguson ranting about the standards of the team after WINNING the Scottish Cup.
Interesting comparison with "Everybody is devastated in there, they put their heart and soul into the performance. We were 20 seconds away from still having a great chance to be in the top six"
Ferguson later admitted the real reason for his anger was because Rangers had got rid of him as a player years before and he desperately wanted Aberdeen to destroy them in the Cup Final. There's nothing like a Scotsman hanging onto a grudge!
15-04-2024, 09:41 AM
Bring in Neil Lennon.
Yawn
15-04-2024, 09:56 AM
I think Fergie admitted he regretted that as he matured.
I think it's indicative of the single minded mentality he had at the time and the standards he demanded though.
15-04-2024, 10:24 AM
A McInnes team is one you know will provide you with a tough game. Pretty much every top flight team looks at Hibs and thinks they have a good chance of beating us. That's the difference. We carry next to zero presence about us and have rarely had an air of a big club about us since Lennon was boss.
I've got a feeling McInnes wouldn't take the Hibs job either, even if he was offered it. It's a bigger job than the Killie one but not so much bigger that he'd see it as much more than a sideways step in this league. I think he'll either have his eye on the Scotland job after Clarke steps down (possibly this summer) or want another crack at an English job - something he'd be in the running for based on the way he's turned Killie around.
Also wouldn't underestimate home life and travelling as think he has a number of boys and stays West of Glasgow. Might be wrong.
15-04-2024, 10:26 AM
I think Fergie admitted he regretted that as he matured.
I think it's indicative of the single minded mentality he had at the time and the standards he demanded though.
Was the Fergie final not 3 days after they beat Real Madrid in cup winners cup final. What a miserable bas he was/is 😄
15-04-2024, 10:28 AM
Could anyone seriously respect him given his penchant for fake tan. 😃 Wonder what it is with Aberdeen managers must be so cold up there
He's here!
15-04-2024, 11:17 AM
Ferguson later admitted the real reason for his anger was because Rangers had got rid of him as a player years before and he desperately wanted Aberdeen to destroy them in the Cup Final. There's nothing like a Scotsman hanging onto a grudge!
Aberdeen had beaten Rangers 4-1 in the previous year's Scottish Cup final so he'd already done the destruction bit. Maybe just wanted to do it again, although as someone else has pointed out this game came just days after they'd won the Cup Winners' Cup against Real Madrid! He did subsequently say he was wrong to be so critical.
15-04-2024, 12:17 PM
The Hun/Jambo thing isn’t serious and only becomes a stick to beat them with if they don’t perform. If they have no such background we just find another stick.
People who disliked Miller when the football was drab changed their mind about him when he built the more expansive teams of the 90’s. Butcher was reared as a positive appointment until he was crap.
15-04-2024, 12:26 PM
The Hun/Jambo thing isn’t serious and only becomes a stick to beat them with if they don’t perform. If they have no such background we just find another stick.
People who disliked Miller when the football was drab changed their mind about him when he built the more expansive teams of the 90’s. Butcher was reared as a positive appointment until he was crap. Well I never changed my mind about Alex miller with his crap derby record considering the players he had at his disposal, still angers me today.
jakedance
15-04-2024, 12:53 PM
I think he'd be a great appointment. I'd love to see a Hibs team that are organised, hard to beat and have a bit of nastiness to them. Get McInnes in for a few years to stop the rot, change the culture, get us nearer the top end of the table, and then build in good quality football from there. For all people might talk about the Hibs way of playing, I've rarely seen it and never enjoy a defeat. I'm bored with underperforming and mediocrity. If McInnes couldn't get Hibs playing that way and punching, at least, our weight then there really is no excuses left for the club. Saying all that though, I'm not sure he'd want the job.
15-04-2024, 01:52 PM
Well I never changed my mind about Alex miller with his crap derby record considering the players he had at his disposal, still angers me today.
It's really not relevant to anything but I find it interesting all the same that once we ended the 22 game streak then Miller actually had an ok record in his last few derbies. We only lost 1 of the next 5, winning 3.
Won 0-1
Won 2-1
Lost 0-2
Won 3-1
Drew 2-2
Lost 1-2
Won 2-1
Drew 1-1
Lost 3-1 (his last game)
Not great by any stretch, particularly when you consider the history, but probably compares relatively favourably to almost every manager since (maybe with the exception of McLeish) over a 9 game period. I think that says more about our derby record than anything right enough:greengrin
cubehindthegoal
15-04-2024, 05:19 PM
”Saturday's draw with Hamilton made it one win in nine matches and Aberdeen have scored just five times in 2021.” A quote from March 2021, when Aberdeen “mutually” agreed with him to go.
It might be ok for a while, but we will be in the same place we were with Lennon, Ross, Johnson, et al not far down the line .. and we will hear the usual drab stuff around should’ve got Lennon, kept Monty, blah blah ..
If we change manager now, we need to invest in someone who will make a difference … and we have investment apparently … this is where we need to start … the players can change over time … but someone like eg Michael O'Neill would make a difference to the team, regardless of the individuals within it.
I had faith in Monty coming good … and he may yet even if he goes … but if he does go, we need to invest in a manager bigger than before … and please … don't say Lennon 😖
15-04-2024, 05:30 PM
If we appointed McInnes I'd breathe a massive sigh of relief thinking that someone at the club knew what they were doing. Sadly it doesn't look like Montgomery is going anywhere yet and there's no guarantee McInnes would want to come.
15-04-2024, 05:38 PM
”Saturday's draw with Hamilton made it one win in nine matches and Aberdeen have scored just five times in 2021.” A quote from March 2021, when Aberdeen “mutually” agreed with him to go.
It might be ok for a while, but we will be in the same place we were with Lennon, Ross, Johnson, et al not far down the line .. and we will hear the usual drab stuff around should’ve got Lennon, kept Monty, blah blah ..
If we change manager now, we need to invest in someone who will make a difference … and we have investment apparently … this is where we need to start … the players can change over time … but someone like eg Michael O'Neill would make a difference to the team, regardless of the individuals within it.
I had faith in Monty coming good … and he may yet even if he goes … but if he does go, we need to invest in a manager bigger than before … and please … don't say Lennon 😖
McInnes had been at the sheep for nearly 8 years by then mate.
cubehindthegoal
15-04-2024, 05:46 PM
McInnes had been at the sheep for nearly 8 years by then mate.
I know mate … I do get that … what I’m saying though, is … if we need to change, then let’s aim a bit higher than before, as apparently our budget and aims are raised too now ?
… here’s another quote from back then …
“Speculation over McInnes' position grew following last month's defeat by Hibernian, who are three points ahead of the Dons with a game in hand.”
And we all know how crap we were that year, and what happened end of that season …
MikeyS
15-04-2024, 05:56 PM
I loved Michael O'Neill when I was a kid and have been impressed with his spells as NI manager but anyone thinking he would be a more attacking manager than McInnes may be in for a shock. I've never seen a team he's managed have a go at anyone until that game a few weeks ago at Hampden. His sides are stuffy, hard to break down and most definitely don't want majority possession.
cubehindthegoal
15-04-2024, 06:30 PM
I loved Michael O'Neill when I was a kid and have been impressed with his spells as NI manager but anyone thinking he would be a more attacking manager than McInnes may be in for a shock. I've never seen a team he's managed have a go at anyone until that game a few weeks ago at Hampden. His sides are stuffy, hard to break down and most definitely don't want majority possession.
I think he makes his teams work clever and hard to get the ball back … and with better players than the opposition, they could make more of it when they do. But hey … we are all amateur manager raters here … I might well be wrong … we all must have been at some point past few managers 😄
15-04-2024, 06:34 PM
Agree with every word of that mate.
May21/05/216
15-04-2024, 07:32 PM
Mcinnes had 5 windows to get killie to where they are now and folk want monty out after one window
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
15-04-2024, 07:36 PM
Mcinnes had 5 windows to get killie to where they are now and folk want monty out after one window
And people wanted Jack Ross out as he didn’t rant and rave in interviews whilst waving sparklers about.
Paulie Walnuts
15-04-2024, 07:42 PM
And how was he getting on whilst all those windows came and gone?
15-04-2024, 07:46 PM
There seems to be a big emphasis put on how many transfer windows a manager gets. McInnes got 5 because he deserved it. Came in and made them better immediately, got them promoted and then continued to improve them. What happens if a manager comes in and makes things worse? Should be get another window to then be sacked when things don't improve which then makes it harder for the next guy?
Killie didn't give Tommy Wright a second window because he was pish.
May21/05/216
15-04-2024, 07:53 PM
So your logic is that if a manager doesn't improve the team after one window then replace said manager
I disagree but it's my opinion
And respect everyone else opinion can't wait to see when mcinnes is appointed
jakeshibs
15-04-2024, 07:54 PM
Bring in Neil Lennon.
Hell no,
MikeyS
15-04-2024, 08:37 PM
So your logic is that if a manager doesn't improve the team after one window then replace said manager
A good manager should be able to improve the players he inherits. It's not just about getting 11 new players every new manager.
There hasn't been a marked improvement in one single player he inherited
15-04-2024, 08:39 PM
Window or nae window, if a manager is brought in to replace an under performing manager who’s been sacked, I expect them to improve the team over the course of 33 games.
He hasn’t.
I’d expect a new manager who has had a transfer window to address the problem part of our team. Maolida has been a great signing, but we weren’t struggling up top. We had quality up there already. It’s like going out and getting a fancy new dishwasher to replace your already working dishwasher, when your washing machine is broken. He had to sort the defence out.
He hasn’t.
cubehindthegoal
15-04-2024, 10:29 PM
[QUOTE=easty;7637757]Window or nae window, if a manager is brought in to replace an under performing manager who’s been sacked, I expect them to improve the team over the course of 33 games.
If that expectation was actually realised … then all teams would improve continually surely 🤔
15-04-2024, 10:38 PM
If that expectation was actually realised … then all teams would improve continually surely 🤔
No, they’d only all improve if all managers were good.
15-04-2024, 11:09 PM
NM is s***e. Naw he's no.Aye he is. Naw he's no. Aye he is. Naw he's no. Aye he is. Repeat on this thread until eyes bleed.