View Full Version : Emma Hayes

13-04-2024, 08:25 AM
Very odd behaviour all round from accusing the Arsenal coach of male aggression after she was aggressive in pushing him after a game a few weeks back. Now bringing up her son and saying she was wrong to face aggression with aggression ignoring what appeared to be only one sided aggression from her. Then goes all Mike Basset and recites a poem. Pretty poor all round from her imo.

K-Zazu
13-04-2024, 08:36 AM
Sounds like she knows shes in the wrong and wont say it. So talks jibberish to try make it all go away.

13-04-2024, 08:47 AM
Sounds like she knows shes in the wrong and wont say it. So talks jibberish to try make it all go away.

That's how I see it too. Pretty sad to see to be honest.

13-04-2024, 09:35 AM

Exactly pretty poor and to be honest a pretty awful thing for her to say about a man in a womens sport. Will be interesting how that is perceived in the States given she is about to take probably the biggest job in Women’s football soon.

13-04-2024, 09:38 AM
Very odd behaviour all round from accusing the Arsenal coach of male aggression after she was aggressive in pushing him after a game a few weeks back. Now bringing up her son and saying she was wrong to face aggression with aggression ignoring what appeared to be only one sided aggression from her. Then goes all Mike Basset and recites a poem. Pretty poor all round from her imo.

Agreed, very strange behaviour from her all round.

13-04-2024, 09:49 AM
She's had a pretty easy time of it from the media too. Can you imagine the outcome if the push was the other way around?

1875Sean
13-04-2024, 10:07 AM
She's had a pretty easy time of it from the media too. Can you imagine the outcome if the push was the other way around?

Exactly, the guys career would be over

13-04-2024, 10:13 AM

The guy would have been sacked that evening and calls for him to be prosecuted. Undoubtedly double standards at play.

StirlingHibee
13-04-2024, 10:18 AM

Agree. All Mike Bassett but without the likeability. Petulant behaviour and if it had been the other way round Eidewall would be jobless by now.

13-04-2024, 10:18 AM
A man would have been cancelled. Career over. Hayes will probably be a pundit at the Euros.

13-04-2024, 10:23 AM
Why is it so hard for anyone just to admit they made a mistake/got it wrong these days?

It's like there has to be a standard period of denial before a humiliating climb down that could have been avoided with a prompt apology.

These things happen all the time in football. Remember Jim Duffy and Neil Lennon going at it hammer and tongs on the touchline a few years back or the Rangers coach headbutting the Celtic women's manager last season. 'The red mist came down. Things were said and happened that I didn't like but that's no excuse for reacting the way I did. I apologise to the club, players, fans and my opponent.'

Simple. Most people are pretty forgiving when someone takes responsibility for their actions. It's when you act like Hayes is acting now that patience wears thin and you end up in a far worse place.

Donegal Hibby
13-04-2024, 10:27 AM

Other way run and the guy would be sacked so she shouldn't be getting as easy a time of it as she's getting now .

13-04-2024, 10:54 AM
A man would have been cancelled. Career over. Hayes will probably be a pundit at the Euros.

Aye I remember when Malky MacKay never had a career after some of the worst things I've ever read at Cardiff. And that David Goodwillie never played for Clyde for about half a decade after being convicted.

Men in football are some of the most protected high profile individuals in society. Whatever Hayes has done that take is nonsense.

13-04-2024, 10:57 AM
Think Hayes comes across as a particularly arrogant type who bought into her own press a while ago. Her comments on player relationships were misguided too.

Aggression is aggression and to bring gender into it as part of her defence when she was the aggressor is low. If a male coach cited 'female emotionals' or the like, the reaction would be very different and rightly so. She'd do better to just apologise instead of talking about her 'star.' :rolleyes:

13-04-2024, 11:07 AM
Aye I remember when Malky MacKay never had a career after some of the worst things I've ever read at Cardiff. And that David Goodwillie never played for Clyde for about half a decade after being convicted.

Men in football are some of the most protected high profile individuals in society. Whatever Hayes has done that take is nonsense.

That's some take on Goodwillie who was rejected from every club bar Clyde (who took pelters for taking him on as I recall)

Not sure why you are trying to take this angle anyway. Unless there is more to it than I've seen, Hayes is guilty of pushing another manager. She should apologise and be done with it, but is continuing with a stupid narrative, trying to shift blame when it lies solely with her.

13-04-2024, 11:15 AM

Not sure about the most protected part. A few posters on here had Mendy as 1000% guilty before his trial and he should have been locked up and the key through away. Turns out he was found innocent in a court of law by his peers, not once but twice as I'm sure atleast one of the cases was appealed. Absolutely appalling behaviour from some to label the guy a rapist before it could be proven.

Thank god we have a decent court system in this country and it's not ran by a kangaroo witch hunt mob.

Similar with Ched Evans. Absolutely destroyed across the media but when ultimately found to not be guilt not a peep is said.

13-04-2024, 11:19 AM
That guy at the world cup would have just shook her hand.

MKHIBEE
13-04-2024, 12:00 PM
Think Hayes comes across as a particularly arrogant type who bought into her own press a while ago. Her comments on player relationships were misguided too.

Aggression is aggression and to bring gender into it as part of her defence when she was the aggressor is low. If a male coach cited 'female emotionals' or the like, the reaction would be very different and rightly so. She'd do better to just apologise instead of talking about her 'star.' :rolleyes:
The “ male aggression” came in an earlier incident in the game. Hayes push was a response to that.

MKHIBEE
13-04-2024, 12:02 PM
Not sure about the most protected part. A few posters on here had Mendy as 1000% guilty before his trial and he should have been locked up and the key through away. Turns out he was found innocent in a court of law by his peers, not once but twice as I'm sure atleast one of the cases was appealed. Absolutely appalling behaviour from some to label the guy a rapist before it could be proven.

Thank god we have a decent court system in this country and it's not ran by a kangaroo witch hunt mob.

Similar with Ched Evans. Absolutely destroyed across the media but when ultimately found to not be guilt not a peep is said.
We have the best justice money can buy.

13-04-2024, 12:07 PM
The “ male aggression” came in an earlier incident in the game. Hayes push was a response to that.

What "male aggression" was that exactly?

13-04-2024, 12:07 PM

Has this been caught on film as all that the arsenal guy said he did was remonstrate with Cuthbert when she tried to grab a spare ball at a thrown in. Would you class that as aggression?

13-04-2024, 12:12 PM

He was shouting about them using another ball. If she thinks that's aggressive that's up to her but not sure why "male" has to enter her description of it. It was Hayes who initiated physical contact.

Hibiza
13-04-2024, 12:15 PM
The Worlds gone mad - forgive the auld mans saying , as im getting there.

MKHIBEE
13-04-2024, 12:19 PM

MKHIBEE
13-04-2024, 12:22 PM
Has this been caught on film as all that the arsenal guy said he did was remonstrate with Cuthbert when she tried to grab a spare ball at a thrown in. Would you class that as aggression?

It would depend on what was said and the manner in which it was said. Hayes was there, we weren’t.

13-04-2024, 12:34 PM

What was the earlier ‘male aggression’? Not seen any videos or pictures of said male aggression surface yet.

As others have said, she’s clearly in the wrong, just admit it and move on.

The poem is just weirdo behaviour.

13-04-2024, 12:41 PM
It would depend on what was said and the manner in which it was said. Hayes was there, we weren’t.

So Hayes response to someone shouting at her, or one of her players, was to physically push him? Now imagine the roles were reversed...

hibstag
13-04-2024, 12:42 PM
I remember her being a bit odd on itvs coverage of the last euros refusing to make comment on non England Stuff, claiming she was only there to talk about England although she was in the studio during a non England game.
I find her move to the USA a bit odd given what happened above.

I'm Spartacus
13-04-2024, 05:34 PM
She tried to ruin the guys life and has been caught out, but because she's a bird nobody is willing to call her out.

Hate her.

13-04-2024, 05:48 PM
She tried to ruin the guys life and has been caught out, but because she's a bird nobody is willing to call her out.

Hate her.

Full of her own importance

JennaFletcher
13-04-2024, 06:01 PM

Hate her.

Hate her?

If it was Neil Lennon managing Hibs in a game vs Rangers or Hearts for example with 'tempers flaring' would you say the same thing, had the same incident occurred?

13-04-2024, 06:02 PM
Get her in to replace Monty.

MKHIBEE
13-04-2024, 06:13 PM
So Hayes response to someone shouting at her, or one of her players, was to physically push him? Now imagine the roles were reversed...
I don’t need to imagine the roles reversed. There is enough male physical aggression on females in real life.

13-04-2024, 06:13 PM
I'm all for the women's game, however that woman totally grates me.
Delighted she will be gone from these shores in a few months.

13-04-2024, 06:14 PM
Hate her?

If it was Neil Lennon managing Hibs in a game vs Rangers or Hearts for example with 'tempers flaring' would you say the same thing, had the same incident occurred?

I think that actually proves the point she is totally in the wrong, and yet refuses to accept it.

Football is an emotional game, things are said in the heat of the moment , yet she made a comment about a manager being "male" and has refused to apologise despite her being the one who was physically aggressive.

13-04-2024, 06:17 PM
I don’t need to imagine the roles reversed. There is enough male physical aggression on females in real life.

Wow.

MKHIBEE
13-04-2024, 06:17 PM
What was the earlier ‘male aggression’? Not seen any videos or pictures of said male aggression surface yet.

As others have said, she’s clearly in the wrong, just admit it and move on.

The poem is just weirdo behaviour.
You would have to ask Emma Hayes that. She herself has said her shoving was a response to his aggression. She has since said she was in the wrong to do so. I can’t see why there should be such a pile on. Unless there is a hidden agenda.

13-04-2024, 06:21 PM
You would have to ask Emma Hayes that. She herself has said her shoving was a response to his aggression. She has since said she was in the wrong to do so. I can’t see why there should be such a pile on. Unless there is a hidden agenda.

There's definitely a hidden agenda on this thread, that much is obvious.

13-04-2024, 08:29 PM
The “male aggression” came after Chelsea pushed for a single ball situation prior to the match, rather than using spare balls placed around the pitch. When a Chelsea player went to get a spare ball near the dugout, the arsenal manager challenged her verbally about the ball situation. There was no physical contact.

After the match the Chelsea manager shoved him away when he went to shake hands, arsenal having won.

Given the likelihood that any manager would have challenged the situation, to accuse him of male aggression seems unfair and unnecessarily inflammatory.

Whether male aggression happens in ‘real life’ is neither here or there in this situation.

13-04-2024, 08:36 PM

Here we go.

TrinityHFC
13-04-2024, 08:47 PM

I think because there was no need to mention ‘male’ aggression. If he was being aggressive then say so. Ultimately she was the one that got physical. The implication that males in women’s football are being unduly aggressive is not a helpful one is it, when encouraging equality and males and females being able to operate in the same sport?

13-04-2024, 08:55 PM

The only aggression was by Hayes herself the mention of male aggression was made by her at the time through no evidence of it. She has since doubled down with some story about her son and going to the teacher and that she was wrong with meeting aggression with aggression again no evidence. Didn’t really apologise to the person she should have then recited a poem and spoke about her “star”. Quite odd behaviour

Donegal Hibby
13-04-2024, 09:12 PM
The only aggression was by Hayes herself the mention of male aggression was made by her at the time through no evidence of it. She has since doubled down with some story about her son and going to the teacher and that she was wrong with meeting aggression with aggression again no evidence. Didn’t really apologise to the person she should have then recited a poem and spoke about her “star”. Quite odd behaviour

Dragging her kid into it and the reciting of the poem was totally bizarre!

13-04-2024, 09:16 PM

Yeah you've got this one wrong.

MKHIBEE
14-04-2024, 07:16 AM
Yeah you've got this one wrong.

What have I got wrong? Hayes accused Arsenal’s manager of “male aggression’ and shoved him. Are you saying that didn’t happen?

14-04-2024, 07:24 AM

Hate her.

Hate her? Weird. Very very weird.

14-04-2024, 07:55 AM
What have I got wrong? Hayes accused Arsenal’s manager of “male aggression’ and shoved him. Are you saying that didn’t happen?

Any evidence the earlier incident happened and that it could be construed as male aggression by more than Hayes herself. Game was live on sky.

MKHIBEE
14-04-2024, 08:13 AM
Any evidence the earlier incident happened and that it could be construed as male aggression by more than Hayes herself. Game was live on sky.

There is plenty evidence to suggest that Hayes made the comment about “ male aggression” and the shove has been well publicised. Whether there was male aggression or not I have no idea. I have only said that was the accusation.

14-04-2024, 08:15 AM
There is plenty evidence to suggest that Hayes made the comment about “ male aggression” and the shove has been well publicised. Whether there was male aggression or not I have no idea. I have only said that was the accusation.

That was the question though whether Hayes comment about male aggression was only her view or was an excuse used by her for her actual aggression and very odd subsequent behaviour.

MKHIBEE
14-04-2024, 09:24 AM
That was the question though whether Hayes comment about male aggression was only her view or was an excuse used by her for her actual aggression and very odd subsequent behaviour.

My take is that she honestly felt it was like that, especially in the heat of the moment during an important match. Much ado about not a lot.

15-04-2024, 01:33 PM
Why is it so hard for anyone just to admit they made a mistake/got it wrong these days?

It's like there has to be a standard period of denial before a humiliating climb down that could have been avoided with a prompt apology.

These things happen all the time in football. Remember Jim Duffy and Neil Lennon going at it hammer and tongs on the touchline a few years back or the Rangers coach headbutting the Celtic women's manager last season. 'The red mist came down. Things were said and happened that I didn't like but that's no excuse for reacting the way I did. I apologise to the club, players, fans and my opponent.'

Simple. Most people are pretty forgiving when someone takes responsibility for their actions. It's when you act like Hayes is acting now that patience wears thin and you end up in a far worse place.Because people can't take responsibility for their actions anymore.

Drives me up the wall with work.

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

15-04-2024, 01:41 PM
My take is that she honestly felt it was like that, especially in the heat of the moment during an important match. Much ado about not a lot.

Not so sure it had the potential to severely impact the Arsenal managers career. She knew what she was doing and doubled down on it. Very irresponsible imo

Mcbizz1998
16-04-2024, 08:13 AM
I had no idea what any of this was about but having googled it and watched the video, all I can do is laugh. Dumpy wee woman acting like a hard man pointing fingers and pushing people at the culmination of the 'Continental Cup'.

I'm Spartacus
16-04-2024, 08:55 AM
Hate her?

She knew the angle she was taking and tried to destroy him by making up an allegation, little did she know it was caught on video and showed her account to be false.

16-04-2024, 09:17 AM
I had no idea what any of this was about but having googled it and watched the video, all I can do is laugh. Dumpy wee woman acting like a hard man pointing fingers and pushing people at the culmination of the 'Continental Cup'.

What's her shape got to do with anything?

Mcbizz1998
16-04-2024, 10:04 AM

Makes it more amusing. Same as it would if some dumpy wee bloke started giving it the big one, don't get all precious about it.

16-04-2024, 10:22 AM
Makes it more amusing. Same as it would if some dumpy wee bloke started giving it the big one, don't get all precious about it.

If you haven't seen the Scot Squad sketch with Tam Spraggans in Asda I highly advise it

Victor
16-04-2024, 11:19 AM
I haven’t seen the incident, but read Emma Hayes bizarre response. What I would like to know is, did Ms Hayes receive any punishment for pushing the Arsenal coach? And would the response to all this have been different if the Arsenal coach had accused Emma Hayes of ‘female histrionics’? There is no argument that females in society suffer disproportionately from the actions of males, but does that give females the right to act aggressively towards men without provocation?

Mcbizz1998
16-04-2024, 11:53 AM
If you haven't seen the Scot Squad sketch with Tam Spraggans in Asda I highly advise it

Just watched it!

:LOL:

16-04-2024, 12:01 PM

Absolutely nothing

Mcbizz1998
16-04-2024, 12:11 PM
Absolutely nothing

It has to do with what I found amusing about it, that is all.

You're right though it has nothing to do with what happened, she would be a piece of work no matter what shape she happened to be.

16-04-2024, 12:12 PM

You're right though it has nothing to do with what happened, she would be a piece of work no matter what shape she happened to be.

Probably.

16-04-2024, 12:22 PM

She's a hugely highly regarded coach in Football. She's clearly made a mistake in how she has handled this situation. The pile on from some in social media is exactly as expected.

16-04-2024, 12:27 PM
She's a hugely highly regarded coach in Football. She's clearly made a mistake in how she has handled this situation. The pile on from some in social media is exactly as expected.

The pile on is because she's refused to admit she's in the wrong and instead doubled down, nothing to do with the original "mistake".

16-04-2024, 05:14 PM
The pile on is because she's refused to admit she's in the wrong and instead doubled down, nothing to do with the original "mistake".

Most people jumping in have zero interest in her or women’s football.

16-04-2024, 05:20 PM

It’s the most interesting piece of woman’s football news I’ve ever seen to be fair.

16-04-2024, 05:30 PM

That's how news works. Most people aren't interested in other people or have never heard of a person until their in the news.

16-04-2024, 05:37 PM

This is true and it shouldn’t be.
Every person who somehow perceives themselves as persecuted should be speaking up here.
Unless they want more than equality?
Equality must be the goal imo

16-04-2024, 05:48 PM

Not sure how you could possibly know that.

cameronw-hfc
16-04-2024, 06:18 PM
I think the issue with her comment imo, given she's in a position of power, dilutes the actual issue of male aggression towards Women's football. Look at Barton and his cronies, there's a real issue of male aggression towards women's football.

Calling things that seemed to be just normal heated touchline talk 'male aggression' is taking eyes away from the actual aggression and diverting the headlines to her, meaning the pile on towards Women's football carries on and gives certain idiots a reason to justify their views, whilst the real issues are not being spoken about.

Disappointing from her but managers do stupid things in the media quite regularly, in both the men's and womens game.

K-Zazu
16-04-2024, 06:31 PM
I think the issue with her comment imo, given she's in a position of power, dilutes the actual issue of male aggression towards Women's football. Look at Barton and his cronies, there's a real issue of male aggression towards women's football.

Calling things that seemed to be just normal heated touchline talk 'male aggression' is taking eyes away from the actual aggression and diverting the headlines to her, meaning the pile on towards Women's football carries on and gives certain idiots a reason to justify their views, whilst the real issues are not being spoken about.

Disappointing from her but managers do stupid things in the media quite regularly, in both the men's and womens game.

Good post, maybe the Arsenal coach was showing a bit of aggression but so what? He probably is just trying his best and wants his team to win. To call it ‘male aggression’ is just bizarre.

I'm Spartacus
16-04-2024, 09:08 PM
Hate her? Weird. Very very weird.

I actually hated her before this incident. Perfectly normal if you ask me, she's a 'propa geeza' and you should selling socks down the market.