View Full Version : Bring back Lennon!!!!!
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 07:16 PM
He polarises arguments but he’s been the best manager we’ve had since Stubbs……
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 07:23 PM
Lennon can GTF
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 07:28 PM
Lennon can GTF
Can’t argue with the way he had hibs playing
scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 07:31 PM
Please please no - I like him but he has had his time
06-04-2024, 07:31 PM
Listen, I'll probably always want Lennon to get another crack at it. The end to that season is up there with the best in my Hibs supporting life.
But it's just never ever happening.
06-04-2024, 07:32 PM
By no metric was Lennon better than Ross
No
Yes you can of you look at the way things ended.
You can
By no metric was Lennon better than Ross
Who got more points in the league?
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:35 PM
Surely the only metric that matters
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 07:35 PM
I can easily
06-04-2024, 07:36 PM
Exactly. I've gone full circle in a mater of minutes. Give it to Lennon til the end of the season!
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:37 PM
Exactly. I've gone full circle in a mater of minutes. Give it to Lennon til the end of the season!
Lennon was more entertaining than Ross too so there is 2 metrics
06-04-2024, 07:38 PM
The end of his tenure was as bad as anything under Maloney or Montgomery. Still scarred by it. I'd absolutely love to get a box office type appointment and generate a bit of excitement as it's badly lacking but Lennon isn't the man now.
06-04-2024, 07:39 PM
Lennon was more entertaining than Ross too so there is 2 metrics
Won a trophy as Hibs manager, three metrics.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 07:39 PM
Not position in the league? Does that not matter?
06-04-2024, 07:40 PM
Lennon bottled it when he had a chance of third. Then in the following game did an aeroplane impression to celebrate getting a draw.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:41 PM
Not position in the league? Does that not matter?
Depends how you look at it. Most points suggests our best performance. We finished 4th but were within an inch of our best ever finish since mid 70s in a very competitive league.
That being said I’m not clambering to have Lennon back. Has to be mcinnes or o’neill
Greensunshine
06-04-2024, 07:41 PM
Lennon would get me excited about going to Easter Road again! It’s a resounding YES from me🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Yesterday's man.
Nobody wants him, least of all the board, backroom staff and the majority of Hibs fans.
Monty has had more wins in his past 14 games than Lennon had before we parted company.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 07:45 PM
Depends how you look at it. Most points suggests our best performance. We finished 4th but were within an inch of our best ever finish since mid 70s in a very competitive league.
That being said I’m not clambering to have Lennon back. Has to be mcinnes or o’neill
Finishing 3rd is better than finishing 4th whatever way you look at it
Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 07:46 PM
Here we ****ing go again 😩
Round and round the merry go round and repeat at least another 500 times 🔚
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 07:47 PM
Yes you can of you look at the way things ended.
I’m interested in watching an attacking team with confidence….lennon brought that…everyone else has been poor.
I don’t care what he’s like off the pitch.
This is the problem, Christ!, Winston Churchill was a bevvy merchant!!!….got the job done!!!!
Too many people wetting there pants about unimportant things.
Get someone in who will get the job done!!!!
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 07:48 PM
Finishing 3rd is better than finishing 4th whatever way you look at it
As does most points which indicates best performance for a club.
06-04-2024, 07:48 PM
I’m interested in watching an attacking team with confidence….lennon brought that…everyone else has been poor.
This is the problem, Christ!, Winston Churchill was a bevvy merchant!!!….got the job done!!!!
What were we like on the pitch when things ended for Lennon at us?
That’s what people are referring to, despite your hard man rants suggesting otherwise.
06-04-2024, 07:50 PM
Didn’t we play something like six or seven defenders against Killie?
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 07:50 PM
As does most points which indicates best performance for a club.
I would rather Hibs finish 3rd with less points than 4th with more…, maybe just me though
PHeffernan
06-04-2024, 07:51 PM
Lennon was looking great until the minute McGinn moved on.
It was quickly apparent King Lennon had no clothes.
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 07:51 PM
What were we like on the pitch when things ended for Lennon at us?
That’s what people are referring to, despite your hard man rants suggesting otherwise.
Hard man rants?!?😂😂😂
Quality!!!, you’ve just highlighted exactly what we need!!!😂😂😂 in done by leveins tactics, no passion no heart….
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 07:52 PM
Here we ****ing go again 😩
Round and round the merry go round and repeat at least another 500 times 🔚
I know it's abit like that movie " Groundhog Day" .☹️
06-04-2024, 07:52 PM
Yes, that today was as bad a display as watching the one against St Mirren. Something not right at Easter Road.
Neil Lennon would bring back the excitement of going to Hibs games once more.
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 07:53 PM
No danger will the current regime appoint Lennon.
06-04-2024, 07:54 PM
No danger will the current regime appoint Lennon.
I was going to say that only someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing may appoint Lennon, so you could be wrong.
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 07:55 PM
I was going to say that only someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing may appoint Lennon, so you could be wrong.
Aye coz Monty’s working so well!!!!🫣🫣🫣 without Myziane we would be relegation fodder.
06-04-2024, 07:57 PM
Aye coz Monty’s working so well!!!!🫣🫣🫣 without Myziane we would be relegation fodder.
Jaffa cakes are buy one, get one free in my local shop.
Just whilst we are talking about things irrelevant to the subject of Lennon being a terrible potential appointment.
CB Hibs 68
No interest in reading this thread .Lennon back no .The way he left Hibs was disgraceful.He chucked his toys out the pram .Not saying Monty is the answer but Lennon can swing his hook.
Amazinsauzee
Hard man rants?!?😂😂😂
Quality!!!, you’ve just highlighted exactly what we need!!!😂😂😂 in done by leveins tactics, no passion no heart….
I’m pretty sure the game Lennon absolutely bottled it was against Levein’s Hearts
06-04-2024, 07:58 PM
Just whilst we are talking about things irrelevant to the subject of Lennon being a terrible potential appointment.
To be fair, might not be relevant, but it is interesting to me. Your Jaffa cakes news that is.
Is it true?
06-04-2024, 07:59 PM
To be fair, might not be relevant, but it is interesting to me. Your Jaffa cakes news that is.
Is it true?
They were last time I was in.
The local Tesco has creme eggs reduced to clear too.
06-04-2024, 08:00 PM
Klopp got 97 and finished second. Ferguson never got above 92. He won 13 titles.
Ross got 3rd. Lennon blew it by losing to Levein. Can't get rid of monty for losing to Levein then hire a guy who never once beat st Johnstone.
Halifaxhibby
Sorry, I just want a manager to manage a team to win games. Think you should lay off the jaffas mate.😂😂😂
As long as Kensell is there it’s quite clear to keep his healthy 6 figure salary a yes man who will be easy to manage and easy to get rid of is the sole focus on his agenda.
Club has no life about it
The stands are quiet
The players have no real personality bar Boyle and even he looks fed up these days
There is no real rapport - walking round the pitch win or lose doesn’t create one Nick
06-04-2024, 08:01 PM
Klopp got 97 and finished second. Ferguson never got above 92. He won 13 titles.
Ross got 3rd. Lennon blew it by losing to Levein. Can't get rid of monty for losing to Levein then hire a guy who never once beat st Johnstone.
So Lennon got more points? Cool, glad we agree.
06-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Sorry, I just want a manager to manage a team to win games. Think you should lay off the jaffas mate.😂😂😂
Cool, you’ll remember about how Lennon left us and the awful run of form then? And the celebrating of a draw?
Hes a pish manager and a walking ego.
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 08:05 PM
I’m pretty sure the game Lennon absolutely bottled it was against Levein’s Hearts
Aye all Lennon fault!!😂😂😂 least we matched up against the bigger teams!! Now we’re hoping 🤞🤞🤞 Dundee don’t win so we can slither into the top six!!!!
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 08:06 PM
Don't like or rate the bloke at all but I'd take him every single day of the week over Montgomery.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Aye all Lennon fault!!😂😂😂 least we matched up against the bigger teams!! Now we’re hoping 🤞🤞🤞 Dundee don’t win so we can slither into the top six!!!!
Are you just forgetting his last season in charge? Absolutely disgraceful! And also while we are here let’s not forget he wasn’t sacked for his terrible management performance.
06-04-2024, 08:09 PM
He was successful with us because he took over a club at its highest peak with a midfield of McGinn, McGeouch, Fyvie, and Bartley. He had Cummings up front to bang in the goals and a legendary back four. I could have gotten a tune out of that squad.
He left us with Slivka, Mallan, Horgan, and more.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:09 PM
He was successful with us because he took over a club at its highest peak with a midfield of McGinn, McGeouch, Fyvie, and Bartley. He had Cummings up front to bang in the goals and a legendary back four.
Slivka, Mallan and Horgan would all walk into this team which is extremely worrying
06-04-2024, 08:10 PM
Slivka, Mallan and Horgan would all walk into this team which is extremely worrying
Mallan walked most of the time anyway.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:11 PM
Not had someone as good as him on set pieces since he left
06-04-2024, 08:11 PM
Love these threads!!
Might not be everyone's favourite, but could he really do any worse than Moloney, LJ or NM?
Support him properly in the summer and we could get off to a flyer next season :flag:
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:12 PM
Love these threads!!
Might not be everyone's favourite, but could he really do any worse than Moloney, LJ or NM?
Support him properly in the summer and we could get off to a flyer next season :flag:
Na we can’t have him back because he upset a couple of people 5 years ago. Seems we’d rather stick with crocodile Dundee
06-04-2024, 08:14 PM
Also interesting brining up blowing things when talking in favour of Jack Ross.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 08:15 PM
Na we can’t have him back because he upset a couple of people 5 years ago. Seems we’d rather stick with crocodile Dundee
Surely we can get rid of Monty and still not want Lennon back?
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:15 PM
Again, St Johnstone the culprits. Was it 4 or 5 games that season we lost to them?
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:16 PM
Surely we can get rid of Monty and still not want Lennon back?
Absolutely can.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 08:16 PM
Yeah was tough times getting to cup finals…., much prefer getting knocked out earlier
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 08:18 PM
Are you just forgetting his last season in charge? Absolutely disgraceful! And also while we are here let’s not forget he wasn’t sacked for his terrible management performance.
Awww I get it now!!!😂😂😂
Nae bother.
Saint Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:19 PM
Yes, yes, yes. But won’t happen.
06-04-2024, 08:20 PM
Yeah was tough times getting to cup finals…., much prefer getting knocked out earlier
Knocked out earlier than the final? What like losing 3-0 in the semi to St Johnstone? Good times.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 08:22 PM
Knocked out earlier than the final? What like losing 3-0 in the semi to St Johnstone? Good times.
TBF I’d love a wee semi final trip again at some point
06-04-2024, 08:22 PM
Listen, I'll probably always want Lennon to get another crack at it. The end to that season is up there with the best in my Hibs supporting life.
But it's just never ever happening.
He would certainly get fans onside Wouldn’t be against it
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 08:23 PM
Honestly don't think I could think of someone I'd rather less take charge of Hibs than Jack Ross. Look at what he's done since we sacked him, he's been a disaster. Should have been sacked after the cup final, absolutely disgraceful performance.
No ta !
Halifaxhibby
He was successful with us because he took over a club at its highest peak with a midfield of McGinn, McGeouch, Fyvie, and Bartley. He had Cummings up front to bang in the goals and a legendary back four. I could have gotten a tune out of that squad.
Fair enough, who would you suggest as a replacement then?, given hibs track record….possibly warnock?,
06-04-2024, 08:24 PM
Honestly don't think I could think of someone I'd rather less take charge of Hibs than Jack Ross. Look at what he's done since we sacked him, he's been a disaster. Should have been sacked after the cup final, absolutely disgraceful performance.
👍
06-04-2024, 08:24 PM
Let's not compare results Vs St Johnstone. Lennon beat them zero times.
06-04-2024, 08:25 PM
Let's not compare results Vs St Johnstone. Lennon beat them zero times.
Beat them zero times and STILL ended up with more points in the league than Jack Ross. Impressive that.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 08:28 PM
Beat them zero times and STILL ended up with more points in the league than Jack Ross. Impressive that.
Is 4th with more points better than 3rd with less? Honest question?
Not for me but both much better than the guff league position we find ourselves in now
06-04-2024, 08:29 PM
Mate, I'd take finishing 3rd with 50 points over 4th with 70. So would anyone with a brain.
06-04-2024, 08:31 PM
So is Neil Lennon gonna be our new manager.
Has Monty been fired yet.
06-04-2024, 08:31 PM
Is 4th with more points better than 3rd with less? Honest question?
Not for me but both much better than the guff league position we find ourselves in now
No, I don't think it is. I'll always want to finish as high up in the league as possible.
But to suggest there's not a single metric where Lennon was a better Hibs manager than Ross is laughable and just wrong.
Amazinsauzee
06-04-2024, 08:34 PM
No, I don't think it is. I'll always want to finish as high up in the league as possible.
But to suggest there's not a single metric where Lennon was a better Hibs manager than Ross is laughable and just wrong.
What I am hoping for is we get rid of Monty, then we don’t hire Lennon or Ross
06-04-2024, 08:34 PM
So he finished lower, yes?
06-04-2024, 08:35 PM
What I am hoping for is we get rid of Monty, then we don’t hire Lennon or Ross
😂 aye, I don't think you have anything to worry about there.
Halifaxhibby
06-04-2024, 08:36 PM
So is Neil Lennon gonna be our new manager.
Has Monty been fired yet.
I said he polarises opinion in my original comment!!….now some people are arguing he was a bad manager as he never beat st Johnstone!!!!😂😂😂🙄🙄🙄 I’ll take a 6-6 draw wi the govan zombies any day of the week over the dross on show at the moment!!!!….myziane is superb and I’d use good money to get him here next season permanently……
06-04-2024, 08:39 PM
Aye, obviously.
But that's not what you said. You said ‘by no metric was Lennon better than Ross’ which is pish. Points accumulated is a metric. Or would you prefer goals scored? Over all goal difference? All metrics used to judge a teams performance over a season
06-04-2024, 08:39 PM
I said he polarises opinion in my original comment!!….now some people are arguing he was a bad manager as he never beat st Johnstone!!!!😂😂😂🙄🙄🙄 I’ll take a 6-6 draw wi the govan zombies any day of the week over the dross on show at the moment!!!!….myziane is superb and I’d use good money to get him here next season permanently……
Think it was 5-5 but agree I would have Neil Lennon back with Ian Murray as back-up.
The memorable match between Hibernian and Rangers took place on May 13, 2018, during the Scottish Premiership. It was a goal-fest, featuring 10 goals in total!
06-04-2024, 08:50 PM
Aye, obviously.
Good talk
06-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Good talk
Wow 😂😂 can never just leave it when you’ve been clamped eh? Convenient quote reply. What a Man.
06-04-2024, 08:53 PM
Need somebody who can change the mentality of the players I can tell you that when he was in charge there was a feeling around the club which I haven't experienced since the Tornadoes time. The club need to act now to give a manager time to assess and build for next season. Yes from me for Lennon.
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 08:55 PM
Lennon didn't lose against a hearts team at Hampden that were in the championship and had barely played for 6 months while we were playing every week in the top league. Not to mention the St Johnstone games at Hampden. Anyway he done well at Dundee Utd after us, 7 nil and 9 nil.
jakeshibs
06-04-2024, 08:55 PM
No way, he was horrific, had us playing worse and in a lower league position.
PHeffernan
06-04-2024, 09:00 PM
:top marks:greengrin
06-04-2024, 09:00 PM
Lennon didn't lose against a hearts team at Hampden that were in the championship and had barely played for 6 months while we were playing every week in the top league. Not to mention the St Johnstone games at Hampden. Anyway he done well at Dundee Utd after us, 7 nil and 9 nil.
I don't want any of them back, but Stubbs and Ross were better than Lennon.
Dempster id have back in a heartbeat.
06-04-2024, 09:05 PM
Shut up.
Doh Rae Me
06-04-2024, 09:11 PM
Neil Lennon in with Scott Brown as assistant.
Dream team for me.
06-04-2024, 09:13 PM
Would be the end of my trips to Easter Road if he was appointed. Harp and Castle season ticket would remain
PHeffernan
06-04-2024, 09:13 PM
Mallan is 28 which should be his peak and plays for the team 5th from bottom of the 4th tier in England and is unlikely to get a new contract
Horgan is duffing around in Ireland with Scott Allan
Slivka is 28 has over 50 caps for his country and plays for the team who are 6th in the Greek Super League so a good player and the only one of the above who would get into the current Hibs team.
06-04-2024, 09:18 PM
Oh my god STOP IT
06-04-2024, 09:19 PM
We would not have started the game like we did today with him in charge that is for certain.
How our standards have dropped.
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 09:21 PM
I don't want any of them back, but Stubbs and Ross were better than Lennon.
Dempster id have back in a heartbeat.
Nah Ross was murder, I'll remember that cup final on my deathbed, total disgrace.
06-04-2024, 09:39 PM
Celebrated a 5-5 draw wi the huns like we had won the league. Ffs we were 3 nil up 🙄
06-04-2024, 09:43 PM
Celebrated a 5-5 draw wi the huns like we had won the league. Ffs we were 3 nil up 🙄
Conscious this has turned into a bit of a bizarre debate about who was better, Lennon or Ross, but FWIW I actually quite enjoyed the aeroplane celebration. It was clearly a wee celebration for the Huns who had been abusing him all game, and in-keeping with what had been a mental/fun afternoon.
I recall him having a bit of a knowing smile after doing it. A bit of fun as opposed to genuinely celebrating a draw.
Still wouldn’t want him back though. And it won’t ever happen.
06-04-2024, 09:49 PM
Close this thread, it’s never going to happen. He’s been overlooked everytime we need a new manager.
supermcginn
06-04-2024, 09:51 PM
They pump us every time these days I'd love to be 3 up on them again.
06-04-2024, 09:53 PM
Celebrated a 5-5 draw wi the huns like we had won the league. Ffs we were 3 nil up
Yeah and we were also 5-3 down. I celebrated that last minute equaliser like a maniac, so did everyone around me, and from what I could see three (and a half) stands of the stadium. And leaving easter rd that day there were a lot of people smiling.
Credit to you though for realising it was only a draw and not celebrating :aok:
Largshibby
06-04-2024, 10:01 PM
Neil Lennon in with Scott Brown as assistant.
Dream team for me.
Nightmare more like. SB would be an experiment and we don’t need any more of those. He has no track record of managerial success. Lennon is only interested in green and white if it comes with a Celtic badge attached so no thanks.
06-04-2024, 10:07 PM
Statistically Jack Ross was a better manager despite Lennon having a season in the Championship in his win ratio.
06-04-2024, 10:08 PM
AAAARRRRRGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!! Make it stop! Please, make it stop!!!
06-04-2024, 10:09 PM
Close this thread, it’s never going to happen. He’s been overlooked everytime we need a new manager.
He’s been overlooked by every Scottish club that’s needed one since he was kicked out by us, despite his BBC / Glasgow media buddies best efforts.
For good reason too.
06-04-2024, 10:12 PM
Lennon wasn't great in Cyprus either...
06-04-2024, 10:16 PM
Lennon wasn't great in Cyprus either...
Totally, ***** winning cups with clubs.
06-04-2024, 10:40 PM
100%
shetlandhibee
06-04-2024, 11:48 PM
question do anybody think Lennon with the current Hibs squad think he would have made the top 6? i think personally he should have got the job before Malony :agree:
shetlandhibee
06-04-2024, 11:49 PM
and every time its come up since:thumbsup:
06-04-2024, 11:49 PM
question do anybody think Lennon with the current Hibs squad think he would have made the top 6? i think personally he should have got the job before Malony :agree:
Aye, I do. At the very least we'd be good to watch.
06-04-2024, 11:50 PM
No
cammy1969
06-04-2024, 11:54 PM
Haven’t read whole thread but I gave up my season ticket under Lennon as I felt so deflated under him, and I’ve been going since 83/84
buktapurple79
06-04-2024, 11:56 PM
Aye, I do. At the very least we'd be good to watch.
100/100 bud wiukve smashed them out the oark thr day
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-04-2024, 12:05 AM
Not a hope in hell of that happening. And even if there was a chance it might, you’re not seriously saying you’d rather Lennon over McInnes?
pollution
07-04-2024, 12:09 AM
He dumped on us to engineer a return to Celtic no way should he be welcome here again gtf Lennon
shetlandhibee
07-04-2024, 12:10 AM
[QUOTE=cammy1969;7628934]Haven’t read whole thread but I gave up my season ticket under Lennon as I felt so deflated under him, and I’ve been going since 83/84
and you have renewed it since? ok everybodys entitled to there opinion,, i personally yearn for a manager like Neil Lennon again (or even Jack Ross for that matter)Cupping his lugs at ibrox allways had them up for the big games more often than not,, he certainly would have been calling out all the Vaar injustices thats for sure :agree: IMO
ThisIsTheYear
07-04-2024, 12:12 AM
Would hate him to come back
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 12:16 AM
Not a hope in hell of that happening. And even if there was a chance it might, you’re not seriously saying you’d rather Lennon over McInnes?
Controversially I would mate . I've found the way McInnes teams play awful . Though being honest I really wouldn't want either if we were needing a manager .
I read Aberdeen are still trying for a guy called Jimmy Thelin who I think is at Elsborg . Know nothing about him though do wonder why the dons aren't looking at Lennon or McInnes seeing as some of us rate both so highly .
Imo Aberdeen are at least showing ambition by exploring different options.
Stairway 2 7
07-04-2024, 12:22 AM
Would be gutted and stunned if the black Knights influence got a new manager like Lennon
07-04-2024, 12:38 AM
Comfortably.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-04-2024, 01:24 AM
Comfortably.
Fair enough, opinions and that. I’d rather the consistency that McInnes is proven to provide than a good season followed by Armageddon that Lennon is proven to provide, to each their own.
07-04-2024, 01:58 AM
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
07-04-2024, 06:30 AM
Totally, ***** winning cups with clubs.
I mean, he managed a club with about 20 league titles not some underdog
07-04-2024, 06:42 AM
If the choice was sticking with NM or bringing Lennon back, I'd 100% go for Lennon.
07-04-2024, 06:44 AM
Haven’t read whole thread but I gave up my season ticket under Lennon as I felt so deflated under him, and I’ve been going since 83/84
That record points tally was terrible in comparison to the heady days under Bertie Auld or the likes right enough!!
1875M
07-04-2024, 06:54 AM
I’m 26 and Lennon’s team is the best Hibs team I can remember watching (slightly too young to remember Mowbray’s team). I get the clamour for him to come back by some posters. Full houses, attacking football, there was a feel good factor about the club. However, my main question would be is he worth all the other circus that comes with him? (Falling out with players etc). My answer would be no. I like Nick and want him to do well but I think we need to look elsewhere if we are looking for a new manager.
07-04-2024, 07:03 AM
Controversially I would mate . I've found the way McInnes teams play awful . Though being honest I really wouldn't want either if we were needing a manager .
I read Aberdeen are still trying for a guy called Jimmy Thelin who I think is at Elsborg . Know nothing about him though do wonder why the dons aren't looking at Lennon or McInnes seeing as some of us rate both so highly .
Imo Aberdeen are at least showing ambition by exploring different options.
According to a caller Sportsound the issue with MacInnes was checking the Rangers offer at Aberdeen.
for me it was the grinding and woeful displays us but others will point to his effectiveness (tho we did until latterly do them in the cups and they didn’t have great track record from memory - bottled it against the cheeks). He said the OF connection and previous needle with Aberdeen fans is the reason Lennon would not be considered.
i think the worrying thing for Hibs and Aberdeen is - track record in binning managers and why would a manager come to Scotland maybe the lure of Europe chance perhaps.
07-04-2024, 07:09 AM
It’s quite staggering, are we going to get these threads appear now every ****ing time we have a ***** result?
07-04-2024, 07:10 AM
I'd take Ross Lennon or even LJ over this one, at least they all achieved a level of success at Hibs.
07-04-2024, 07:10 AM
He dumped on us to engineer a return to Celtic no way should he be welcome here again gtf Lennon
I’m amazed that anyone would have him back given the way he left. Completely disrespectful.
07-04-2024, 07:11 AM
I’m amazed that anyone would have him back given the way he left. Completely disrespectful.
This in spades.
07-04-2024, 07:13 AM
This in spades.
Or his comments at a Celtic event about when we scored against Celtic. Amazed anyone listened to that and thought “aye, that’s totally cool for a Hibs manager to say that”.
SickBoy32
07-04-2024, 07:16 AM
It’s quite staggering, are we going to get these threads appear now every ****ing time we have a ***** result?
Folk pining for the good times, mental eh.
We’ve been awful for years, and are getting worse under the current club leadership.
Long term ST holder but I’m not signing up for next year. Struggle to relate to anyone at the club or in the squad.
The good times under Lennon when he had us flying seem an eternity ago now.
07-04-2024, 07:17 AM
I’m 26 and Lennon’s team is the best Hibs team I can remember watching (slightly too young to remember Mowbray’s team). I get the clamour for him to come back by some posters. Full houses, attacking football, there was a feel good factor about the club. However, my main question would be is he worth all the other circus that comes with him? (Falling out with players etc). My answer would be no. I like Nick and want him to do well but I think we need to look elsewhere if we are looking for a new manager.
Stubbs team with Lennon in charge were good. Lennon's team won 3 in 16 I think it was.
07-04-2024, 07:17 AM
I'd take Ross Lennon or even LJ over this one, at least they all achieved a level of success at Hibs.
I was looking for NM to win the last two and at least match what Johnson did pre split. To not even manage a draw at home to that St Johnstone side is horrific.
I’ve never once wanted Lennon back but this might push me over the edge.
07-04-2024, 07:19 AM
Stubbs team with Lennon in charge were good. Lennon's team won 3 in 16 I think it was.
Lennon was only successful as the captain of the ship that Alan Stubbs built. Soon as McGinn was sold and Fyvie and McGeouch wanted elsewhere he was shown as the emperor with no clothes.
07-04-2024, 07:41 AM
Folk pining for the good times, mental eh.
We’ve been awful for years, and are getting worse under the current club leadership.
Long term ST holder but I’m not signing up for next year. Struggle to relate to anyone at the club or in the squad.
The good times under Lennon when he had us flying seem an eternity ago now.
Aye the good times, like the absolute ***** we had to endure in the run up to him leaving.
Bit of context: Lennon had the best midfield in the country at his disposal, along with 2 firing strikers, a Martin Boyle who was as good as he’s ever been, Ambrose, peak Stevenson, up and coming Porteous.
When that midfield was broken up it fell to ***** pretty damn quickly and in the end he basically engineered a move back to Celtic - where he ****ed op 10in a row.
07-04-2024, 07:46 AM
bizarre.
If you were deflated enough to give up your season ticket under lennon, you must have hit the depths of depression in the five years since he left.
07-04-2024, 07:48 AM
Aye the good times, like the absolute ***** we had to endure in the run up to him leaving.
Bit of context: Lennon had the best midfield in the country at his disposal, along with 2 firing strikers, a Martin Boyle who was as good as he’s ever been, Ambrose, peak Stevenson, up and coming Porteous.
When that midfield was broken up it fell to ***** pretty damn quickly and in the end he basically engineered a move back to Celtic - where he ****ed op 10in a row.
We were awful for the final three months under lennon. People forget that we started that 18/19 season pretty well.
I don't want him back, that chapter is closed.
SickBoy32
07-04-2024, 07:52 AM
😂 are his latest fortunes at Parkhead relevant? Notice you omitted his recent cracking European run with some Cypriot minnows too.
Bit of context: Lennon signed Allan to give us the best midfield in Scotland, Lennon signed Ambrose, Lennon signed the two firing strikers, Lennon gave Porto his debut, Lennon added steel to an already good Hibs side.
Aye, he struggled to replace McGinn - what Hibs manager wouldn’t ?
He had us winning a fair % of our big matches prior to the wheels coming off post SJM.
Unfortunately he has too much personality and strength of character to ever be considered by our ultra beige, corporate club.
07-04-2024, 07:59 AM
😂 are his latest fortunes at Parkhead relevant? Notice you omitted his recent cracking European run with some Cypriot minnows too.
Bit of context: Lennon signed Allan to give us the best midfield in Scotland, Lennon signed Ambrose, Lennon signed the two firing strikers, Lennon gave Porto his debut, Lennon added steel to an already good Hibs side.
He had us winning a fair % of our big matches prior to the wheels coming off post SJM.
Unfortunately he has too much personality and strength of character to ever be considered by our ultra beige, corporate club.
If his latest fortunes at parkhead are irrelevant then his Cypriot adventure is irrelevant as well no?
I didn’t mention that because I know nothing about it. He won the Cypriot cup or whatever it is and that’s great for him, so I take it’s still ongoing and he hasn’t been sacked or anything? Aye thought so..
You call our club beige and corporate? Why? For maximising revenue to allow us to pay record amounts in wages?
It’s these kind of toys-out-the-pram comments that are so tedious after a poor result.
07-04-2024, 08:04 AM
I'll get pelters again (as usual) but that game really grinds my gears. We bottled that game draw or not. It's almost as bad but not as bad as us claiming pride in being part of the 6-6 game with Motherwell. Cringe every time it's mentioned on the box.
07-04-2024, 08:08 AM
I like Lennon and enjoyed his time here. Problem is that time has been and gone and bringing him back would be a huge mistake.
SickBoy32
07-04-2024, 08:08 AM
If his latest fortunes at parkhead are irrelevant then his Cypriot adventure is irrelevant as well no?
I didn’t mention that because I know nothing about it. He won the Cypriot cup or whatever it is and that’s great for him, so I take it’s still ongoing and he hasn’t been sacked or anything? Aye thought so..
You call our club beige and corporate? Why? For maximising revenue to allow us to pay record amounts in wages?
It’s these kind of toys-out-the-pram comments that are so tedious after a poor result.
Aye he got binned, after leading them to relative glory. I’d take relative glory at ER.
Record breaking CEO wages aye. Otherwise, we’re paying over the odds for some crap players.
Toys out the pram? 2nd season out of Kensell’s 3 that we’re bottom 6 guff. If you think the club is well run, good for you. Easier to stomach (and accuse other fans of toys out pram comments), when you’re watching for free, from the armchair I guess.
07-04-2024, 08:10 AM
Lennon’s time at Hibs was a rollercoaster, no doubt, and I can’t figure out why anyone would want to deny the best stuff he did with us, all of which was impressive and notable.
The wheels came off badly though and he was off pronto, in controversial fashion before getting the chance to turn it around.
I find it mad that he polarises opinion so much as in my mind the highs and lows cancel one another out. He’s another ex-manager who we had good times and bad with and who we probably shouldn’t have back, although if we did appoint him I probably wouldn’t lose my mind over it.
07-04-2024, 08:14 AM
Also the problem with Lennon is that last time we were on a par with rangers and we could give it a go and fancy our chances against them. If he came back it wouldn't be the same now.
07-04-2024, 08:18 AM
Aye he got binned, after leading them to relative glory. I’d take relative glory at ER.
Record breaking CEO wages aye. Otherwise, we’re paying over the odds for some crap players.
Toys out the pram? 2nd season out of Kensell’s 3 that we’re bottom 6 guff. If you think the club is well run, good for you. Easier to stomach (and accuse other fans of toys out pram comments), when you’re watching for free, from the armchair I guess.
ST holder for over 40 years and agree fully with everything the poster you replied to said. Whether he attends games or not is neither here nor there. The repeated clamour for a NL return by a vocal minority on here is tedious.
07-04-2024, 08:20 AM
Also the problem with Lennon is that last time we were on a par with rangers and we could give it a go and fancy our chances against them. If he came back it wouldn't be the same now.
And the good results we got against a celtic team that were light years ahead of us financially? You going to write those off?
People are so black amd white with lennon it's unreal. His time brought some very good times and bad times too. Both deserve to be remembered
07-04-2024, 09:37 AM
I’ll leave it at that. Think that’s a very unfair comment but having made my circumstances clear that I am not able to attend games regularly I’m not going to engage with ***** that throw that in my face when they disagree with me.
I guess having season tickets for half your life makes no difference to your Hibs supporting credentials.
SickBoy32
07-04-2024, 09:45 AM
I’ll leave it at that. Think that’s a very unfair comment but having made my circumstances clear that I am not able to attend games regularly I’m not going to engage with ***** that throw that in my face when they disagree with me.
I guess having season tickets for half your life makes no difference to your Hibs supporting credentials.
I think you’ll find it was yourself who had started off with the personal comments - toys out the pram, tedious etc. Felt I’d supported my comments with some facts re Lennon, which you chose to ignore / not acknowledge.
Maybe best not to dish it out , if you can’t take it back 👍
07-04-2024, 09:48 AM
This thread should have been posted last Monday and not yesterday.
I don't want a return to a manager blaming the players for his own tactics being wrong, press conferences about Celtc or seven defenders against Kilmarnock.
07-04-2024, 09:48 AM
I think you’ll find it was yourself who had started off with the personal comments - toys out the pram, tedious etc. Felt I’d supported my comments with some facts re Lennon, which you chose to ignore / not acknowledge.
Maybe best not to dish it out , if you can’t take it back 👍
I didn’t think what I said was at all personal? It was directly related to your comment and others like it.
I directly responded to some of the points you made.
But sure, I made it personal.
Whatever man, enjoy the rest of your Sunday.
Bring back Lennon?
The guy was roasting Hibs and acting a clown on the last TV game on sky.
07-04-2024, 10:23 AM
I'll get pelters again (as usual) but that game really grinds my gears. We bottled that game draw or not. It's almost as bad but not as bad as us claiming pride in being part of the 6-6 game with Motherwell. Cringe every time it's mentioned on the box.
Best atmoshpere we had at ER for years, nothing's been close since.
And why does Lennon get the blame for the bad results, but the players he had get the credit when we were doing well?!
Overall, Lennon's time was hugely positive.
07-04-2024, 10:51 AM
Jeez, how many 'bring back Lennon' threads are we on now?
07-04-2024, 10:54 AM
Best atmoshpere we had at ER for years, nothing's been close since.
And why does Lennon get the blame for the bad results, but the players he had get the credit when we were doing well?!
Overall, Lennon's time was hugely positive.
He gets credit for doing well with Stubbs players. He then signed a lot of average to crap players.
07-04-2024, 11:00 AM
He gets credit for doing well with Stubbs players. He then signed a lot of average to crap players.
Exactly. Someone posted a list of them on here recently. Astonishing really.
One thing I remember though is Lewis Stevenson saying that Lennon was the best manager he played under. That should maybe carry some weight, not that I'd ever want him back.
07-04-2024, 01:12 PM
Yeah and we were also 5-3 down. I celebrated that last minute equaliser like a maniac, so did everyone around me, and from what I could see three (and a half) stands of the stadium. And leaving easter rd that day there were a lot of people smiling.
Credit to you though for realising it was only a draw and not celebrating :aok:
Lennon in the studio at Hun-Tic game. Just slated Clement for celebrating a 3-3 draw. He stated maybe I'm old school but I wouldn't be celebrating a draw.
07-04-2024, 01:14 PM
Jeez, how many 'bring back Lennon' threads are we on now?
They've taken over from The next 3 games threads
07-04-2024, 01:15 PM
Exactly. Someone posted a list of them on here recently. Astonishing really.
One thing I remember though is Lewis Stevenson saying that Lennon was the best manager he played under. That should maybe carry some weight, not that I'd ever want him back.
I will take the word of a real Hibs legend over anyone on a football forum, get him in sooner rather than later.
07-04-2024, 01:16 PM
Lennon in the studio at Hun-Tic game. Just slated Clement for celebrating a 3-3 draw. He stated maybe I'm old school but I wouldn't be celebrating a draw.
Aye, he's a celtic fan doing what celtic fans do.
Doesn't change the fact that he, me, and 99% of everyone involved with Hibs that day (although apparently not you) absolutely loved that equaliser.
I loved the equaliser and the celebration that day also. Wouldn’t have Lennon back though.
07-04-2024, 01:23 PM
We're not talking about me, I'm talking about Lennon
07-04-2024, 01:24 PM
I will take the word of a real Hibs legend over anyone on a football forum, get him in sooner rather than later.
I wonder what Dylan McGeouch and Fraser Fyvie would say about him?
07-04-2024, 01:30 PM
I loved the equaliser and the celebration that day also. Wouldn’t have Lennon back though.
I wouldn't either.
Donegal Hibby
07-04-2024, 01:44 PM
Exactly , leaves us in a mess after causing some unsavoury scenes then goes back to his beloved Celtic were he spends over 30 million quid on a rake of duds and blows 10 in a row . Besides all that he's probably a good manager though :rolleyes:
07-04-2024, 01:47 PM
I wonder what Dylan McGeouch and Fraser Fyvie would say about him?
No idea to be honest. Why? As I said I thought he blew it spectacularly and made a load of dreadful signings but I'm wondering why you're asking about them.
Exactly , leaves us in a mess after causing some unsavoury scenes then goes back to his beloved Celtic were he spends over 30 million quid on a rake of duds and blows 10 in a row . Besides all that he's probably a good manager though :rolleyes:
Spent plenty time as Hibs manager attending Celtic supporters clubs do’s, including arriving 3 days after the rest of the Hibs party to a training camp so that he could go to a Celtic supporter club evening.
I don’t want him back, and how he left, including the months leading up to it, left a sour taste in the mouth. However, my biggest reason for not wanting him back is his managerial career. He’s good when he takes a job with a team doing well, and generally keeps that going or improves it. Once a team is on a downward slide, or is on the low when he comes in, he does not do well, and at almost every job he’s been to (possibly all), he’s flamed out dramatically.
07-04-2024, 02:02 PM
I’d almost take him back to stop the bizarre regular threads being started about him coming back.
He won’t be at Hibs ever again.
07-04-2024, 02:14 PM
I’d almost take him back to stop the bizarre regular threads being started about him coming back.
He won’t be at Hibs ever again.
But then they'd just be replaced with a barrage of 'Lennon Out' threads
07-04-2024, 02:54 PM
No idea to be honest. Why? As I said I thought he blew it spectacularly and made a load of dreadful signings but I'm wondering why you're asking about them.
I’m just saying that basing it off of one player isn’t wise.
I wonder what Flo Kamberi, Jamie MacLaren, or Leigh Griffiths would say of him?
07-04-2024, 03:09 PM
Fair point.
Might start one now actually.
07-04-2024, 03:10 PM
It would just mean everyone swapping 'sides'!!
All the folk backing Monty would be on Lennon's back from day one, and those backing Lennon would be saying he needs time and we can't keep changing managers :greengrin
07-04-2024, 03:17 PM
I don’t want Lennon back.
But a team with the aggression and swagger we showed under him at times would be unreal.
It’s soul destroying going into big games at the moment thinking we have no chance of a result
07-04-2024, 03:25 PM
Spent plenty time as Hibs manager attending Celtic supporters clubs do’s, including arriving 3 days after the rest of the Hibs party to a training camp so that he could go to a Celtic supporter club evening.
I don’t want him back, and how he left, including the months leading up to it, left a sour taste in the mouth. However, my biggest reason for not wanting him back is his managerial career. He’s good when he takes a job with a team doing well, and generally keeps that going or improves it. Once a team is on a downward slide, or is on the low when he comes in, he does not do well, and at almost every job he’s been to (possibly all), he’s flamed out dramatically.
Yip ! Crashed and burned at HTC
It’s a no from me
07-04-2024, 04:48 PM
I’m just saying that basing it off of one player isn’t wise.
I wonder what Flo Kamberi, Jamie MacLaren, or Leigh Griffiths would say of him?
I couldn't care less what LG and Kamberi thought of him. I'm just wondering why Lewis thought he was such a good manager as he's a player I'd listen to unlike some of the others you mentioned.
Tha Cabbage Kid
07-04-2024, 07:09 PM
Lennon is clearly head and shoulders better than anyone we have been linked with.Lennon would be a debatable signing as half the fan base will be against him coming back due to the way he left us. But with the money we will get from Bill Foley Lennon would get the best out of a good team.
I've never seen a Hibs team with such fight during that 5-5 game against Rangers before or since. That was the kind of football I want to see at ER not a roll over and die team I'm watching now.
I was really excited about NM coming in but watching that game yesterday told me we don't have the fight we need to succeed.
07-04-2024, 07:15 PM
Lennon is clearly head and shoulders better than anyone we have been linked with.Lennon would be a debatable signing as half the fan base will be against him coming back due to the way he left us. But with the money we will get from Bill Foley Lennon would get the best out of a good team.
I've never seen a Hibs team with such fight during that 5-5 game against Rangers before or since. That was the kind of football I want to see at ER not a roll over and die team I'm watching now.
I was really excited about NM coming in but watching that game yesterday told me we don't have the fight we need to succeed.
Mate, Lennon had money as Hibs manager. Our biggest budget to that point. He absolutely ****ed it. He then went to Celtic with a huge budget and absolutely ****ed it. Why should he get the Foley investment to piss away?
07-04-2024, 08:56 PM
Mate, Lennon had money as Hibs manager. Our biggest budget to that point. He absolutely ****ed it. He then went to Celtic with a huge budget and absolutely ****ed it. Why should he get the Foley investment to piss away?
Hibs made a profit of 200k when Lennon took us to fourth in the league when turnover was a few million less than it is now and last year we managed to lose almost 4 million with staff costs up to 80% of turnover which suggest that Lennon wasn't getting anything like the amount of money that our last few managers have burnt through
07-04-2024, 09:05 PM
I was really excited about NM coming in but watching that game yesterday told me we don't have the fight we need to succeed.A team with so much fight wouldn't be two down having been three up.
Still my favourite end of season game
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
West Upper
07-04-2024, 09:09 PM
Don’t want Lennon back, people forget when he left we were 7th. 6 points behind 6th and on a 5 game winless run.
08-04-2024, 02:41 AM
Don’t want Lennon back, people forget when he left we were 7th. 6 points behind 6th and on a 5 game winless run.
People also forget we aren't Man City and aren't going to win practically every week 🤷*♂️
No one can factually tell me that Lennon wasn't an OVERALL success at Hibs, because he clearly was.
08-04-2024, 02:46 AM
Lennon, who has almost publicly pleaded on TV for a coaching job, is still without one for a reason.
If people want ‘stability’ of any sort at our club, then he’s the last person I’d employ.
08-04-2024, 04:40 AM
Hibs made a profit of 200k when Lennon took us to fourth in the league when turnover was a few million less than it is now and last year we managed to lose almost 4 million with staff costs up to 80% of turnover which suggest that Lennon wasn't getting anything like the amount of money that our last few managers have burnt through
That's certainly true. But he spent more than many of the sides who beat him during his last 6 months. He totally lost the plot.
08-04-2024, 05:59 AM
Lennon is a lemon, a dud, a busted flush, yesterdays man. If we replace NM we need to be looking forward not backwards into the cesspit of old skool Scottish football bullyboy mediocre managers.
08-04-2024, 07:35 AM
People also forget we aren't Man City and aren't going to win practically every week 🤷*♂️
No one can factually tell me that Lennon wasn't an OVERALL success at Hibs, because he clearly was.
He left us with a much weaker squad than he inherited.
08-04-2024, 07:41 AM
Lennon, who has almost publicly pleaded on TV for a coaching job, is still without one for a reason.
If people want ‘stability’ of any sort at our club, then he’s the last person I’d employ.
Aberdeen have ignored him being the ‘obvious’ candidate, according to some folk on here, what, three times now?
Nobody else wants to touch him with a barge pole. This longing for an Old Firm man is pretty cringeworthy, particularly considering the circumstances of his departure.
08-04-2024, 07:45 AM
Aberdeen have ignored him being the ‘obvious’ candidate, according to some folk on here, what, three times now?
Nobody else wants to touch him with a barge pole. This longing for an Old Firm man is pretty cringeworthy, particularly considering the circumstances of his departure.
He’s a winnner, he’s won every Scottish trophy as a player and a manager. He can spot a player, he plays attacking football, he’s a character and he will get more out of this current squad that NM.
Why folk dismiss him so easily is a mystery.
08-04-2024, 07:49 AM
He’s a winnner, he’s won every Scottish trophy as a player and a manager. He can spot a player, he plays attacking football, he’s a character and he will get more out of this current squad that NM.
He went back to Celtic and managed to finish second in a one horse race.
No thanks.
Last Minute
08-04-2024, 07:50 AM
Hanlon and Lewis have said he was the best Manager they have ever worked with, and Lewis has seen off some managers. Lennon had a good success rate as a hibs manager one of the best if you look at the stats. Of course its never the players fault when things take a turn. Why is that ?
08-04-2024, 07:52 AM
Lost his head and went AWOL for weeks, refusing to do interviews ahead of the bust up.
He’s not a character, he’s a **** and if he’s such an obvious winner, why, despite his Weegie media buddies endlessly pushing it, has he not got another Scottish job since? Hell he couldn’t even land the County job.
He’s done, nobody else wants him and we’d be utterly mad to give him the time of day. Leave him on Sky / BBC to gush about his beloved Celtic.
08-04-2024, 07:53 AM
No, we’ve been there. Leave the past alone and look ahead. I hope we change the manager in the summer, but I think bringing Lennon back would be a big mistake.
08-04-2024, 07:55 AM
He went back to Celtic and managed to finish second in a one horse race.
No thanks.
He went back to Celtic and won the treble… then finished second the following season.
08-04-2024, 07:58 AM
He went back to Celtic and won the treble… then finished second the following season.
He joined partway through the season with a very strong Celtic squad in place, Rangers had a collapse in form, and the following season he got outwitted by Steven Gerrard.
Steven. Gerrard.
08-04-2024, 08:00 AM
He joined partway through the season with a very strong Celtic squad in place, Rangers had a collapse in form, and the following season he got outwitted by Steven Gerrard.
Steven. Gerrard.
Was still manager when all three trophies were won though? Then went to Cyprus and won a trophy there
08-04-2024, 08:10 AM
Was still manager when all three trophies were won though? Then went to Cyprus and won a trophy there
We could get in Steven Gerrard. He’s proved himself a better manager than Neil Lennon with a weaker team.
08-04-2024, 08:13 AM
Lets not pretend the Cypriot team were minnows in that league. I could have steered that Celtic team to the treble after Rodgers left.
08-04-2024, 08:15 AM
Lets not pretend the Cypriot team were minnows in that league. I could have steered that Celtic team to the treble after Rodgers left.
And we're not a minnow in this league. I said he won a cup with them, didn't claim it was a miracle.
08-04-2024, 08:16 AM
We could get in Steven Gerrard. He’s proved himself a better manager than Neil Lennon with a weaker team.
Couldn't afford Gerrard, but I don't doubt he's better than the last few managers we've had.
He's here!
08-04-2024, 08:50 AM
Lost his head and went AWOL for weeks, refusing to do interviews ahead of the bust up.
He’s not a character, he’s a **** and if he’s such an obvious winner, why, despite his Weegie media buddies endlessly pushing it, has he not got another Scottish job since? Hell he couldn’t even land the County job.
He’s done, nobody else wants him and we’d be utterly mad to give him the time of day. Leave him on Sky / BBC to gush about his beloved Celtic.
That's harsh. While I don't think he's the man for the job, he's a kind, big-hearted bloke in private who has had to deal with a lot of poison during his career, particular as an NI player. Opening up so publicly around depression was of great value to many and for all their dugout spats Levein couldn't speak highly enough of him in the aftermath of his heart attack.
He did a very good job for a couple of seasons at Hibs and for once had us carrying a bit of an aura about us. Didn't last unfortunately but he did better than most.
08-04-2024, 09:02 AM
That's harsh. While I don't think he's the man for the job, he's a kind, big-hearted bloke in private who has had to deal with a lot of poison during his career, particular as an NI player. Opening up so publicly around depression was of great value to many and for all their dugout spats Levein couldn't speak highly enough of him in the aftermath of his heart attack.
He did a very good job for a couple of seasons at Hibs and for once had us carrying a bit of an aura about us. Didn't last unfortunately but he did better than most.
Fair comment :agree:
08-04-2024, 10:18 AM
I had sympathy for him when he left, despite the circumstances of it, as you say opening up about his mental health, needing time away from the spotlight etc.
Funny how quickly that turned into taking the Celtic job though eh…
Both of these are true descriptions of him.
He is a man who is known to be generous with his time, pleasant to be around outside of football, and open about the struggles he’s endured, and continues to endure I’d guess, he’s achieved success as a manager and drives his players. He’s also abrasive and likely to fall out with some of his players*, does not accept any responsibility when things aren’t going well, and hasn’t shown himself capable of taking a team on the low and raising it up. He is obsessed with Celtic to the point it can get in the way of doing his job, and has flamed out of a few jobs, including Hibs.
*whether some of those players were deserving of falling out or not isn’t really relevant, a manager needs to get a team playing for him, not alienating them and throwing them under the bus.
He had success with us, and for a period of 4 months or so, had us playing arguably the best football since the tornadoes, and had most/all of us genuinely believing we could win every match. He also is to blame for that coming off the rails at tynecastle when he changed that high flying team, and whilst the 5-5 was thrilling, he seemed more interested in noising up the rangers fans than in pleasing the Hibs fans.
His time is gone, possibly for management in general. I wish him well, and hope he is not for the Hibs job.
09-04-2024, 09:44 AM
Not a bad shout actually and would definitely give us a wee bit of media exposure.
09-04-2024, 01:51 PM
Agree with all of that
09-04-2024, 01:56 PM
This has been mentioned a few times.
What is this mysterious reason you refer to?
Lendo
09-04-2024, 01:56 PM
Winning everything as a player and manager with Celtic is like me, as an adult, winning every event at a primary school sports day.
09-04-2024, 01:59 PM
Lennon is a lemon, a dud, a busted flush, yesterdays man. If we replace NM we need to be looking forward not backwards into the cesspit of old skool Scottish football bullyboy mediocre managers.
You’ve been right behind our last 3 duds. Why wouldn’t you back Lennon?
09-04-2024, 02:19 PM
This has been mentioned a few times.
What is this mysterious reason you refer to?
I don’t think he’s being mysterious at all. He’s suggesting that Lennon hasn’t been deemed a good/reliable enough manager for these roles.
In Lennon’s only full season as Hibs manager in the Premier League we won 18 games. That’s pretty impressive for a Hibs manager. Even in the following season where his detractors like to make out we performed so badly we still won 14 league games and finished 5th on 54 points which is at worst an average season us.
09-04-2024, 02:26 PM
What’s Stubbs/Mcleish/Collins up to while we’re at it?
09-04-2024, 03:48 PM
Winning everything as a player and manager with Celtic is like me, as an adult, winning every event at a primary school sports day.
😆
09-04-2024, 05:22 PM
Correct.
09-04-2024, 05:29 PM
What’s Stubbs/Mcleish/Collins up to while we’re at it?
JC is in France. Him and his family were on our flight to Nice on Thursday.
LewysGot2
09-04-2024, 05:30 PM
McLeish is at Windsor Castle getting an OBE...for services to the Kings XI no doubt
09-04-2024, 06:53 PM
Sounds nice!
jakeshibs
11-04-2024, 06:41 AM
what dont you remember, he had us eighth in the league and playing dire football
11-04-2024, 06:51 AM
Because he mercifully got the heave ho when he did (or mutual consent, or whatever it was)
Once the initial good times were over, that midfield was gone and he isn't exactly much of a "rebuild and reset" specialist. Didn't have the man management skills nor tactical nous to get a tune out of the squad once it was "his" players.
11-04-2024, 07:06 AM
Lennon had me believing that we really were going to compete with the top two. The football during the last 2-3 months of that season was the best I've watched at Easter Road in the past 30 years, maybe apart from some of Mowbray's teams.
But do I want him back? No! Let's look forward rather than back!
11-04-2024, 07:31 AM
I'd rather see Jack Ross back and given the tools to do his job that he wasn't given last time. I'm not in favour of going back the way though.
Doh Rae Me
11-04-2024, 10:23 AM
13.05.18 v rangers Att. 19579
10.03.24 v rangers Att. 14297
The top, under Lennon, with Hibs having half of the South stand.
That is one hell of a lot of Hibbies missing, me being one of them.
I'd rather listen to a ranting Lennon after a battling defeat than a stuttering mouse after pure capitulation.
The difference in the attendances are astounding and as far as the people I talk to the vast majority would love Lennon back in the hot seat.
11-04-2024, 10:51 AM
I'd rather listen to a ranting Lennon after a battling defeat than a stuttering mouse after pure capitulation.
The difference in the attendances are astounding and as far as the people I talk to the vast majority would love Lennon back in the hot seat.
No disputing the numbers there, but theres a lot of context required surely?
Games against the Old Firm haven't drawn big crowds at ER continually for a long time and while that game under Lennon will rightly be remembered as one of the most bonkers games ever, it's worth remembering that we were still in the running for second and most of us haven't been through a season concluding like that in a very long time.
11-04-2024, 11:32 AM
Games against the Old Firm haven't drawn big crowds at ER continually for a long time and while that game under Lennon will rightly be remembered as one of the most bonkers games ever, it's worth remembering that we were still in the running for second and most of us haven't been through a season concluding like that in a very long time.
Exactly. A bit of a daft comparison to try and justify the “bring back Lennon” argument.
His last few months were bonkers for a catalogue of entirely different reasons. No demand from our support to occupy half the South Stand during those dark days. But lets just forget that ever happened 🙄
He's here!
11-04-2024, 12:16 PM
McLeish is at Windsor Castle getting an OBE...for services to the Kings XI no doubt
Very harsh. On the football side he was an undisputed Aberdeen and Scotland legend. A quite superb player. As a manager he put together one of Hibs' finest sides by using his global clout to land the likes of Sauzee and Latapy (and very much dominating the derby), led Scotland to some great results (first time round) and won a cup with unfashionable Birmingham. Sure, he left us for Rangers but winning the treble there on what was by Rangers' standards a paltry budget and when Celtic under O'Neill were the better side was a sound achievement.
His OBE, though, is as much for his charity work, something he's very much dedicated himself to in the light of illness afflicting his kids. His own health hasn't been great for some time I believe, so fair play and congratulations to him. He was one of my favourite Hibs managers.
11-04-2024, 12:22 PM
Being in the running for 2nd would be brilliant if we could get there again. As you say, not many of us have seen that too often.
Give Lennon another shot at it :greengrin
The point about the people you talk to isn’t overly weighty though. 4 is the vast majority of 5, but wouldn’t be anything like representative of the Hibs supporters. On here I’d guess the split across this thread is maybe 60/40 against Lennon coming back, but even that is not representative of the Hibs support.
He's here!
11-04-2024, 12:36 PM
Unless you're in tip top fettle yourself you might be surprised by some of the P7s!
11-04-2024, 01:29 PM
The ones who want Lennon back are the ones who are currently missing from Easter Road. Same ones who are always missing when it gets tough.
Can't sack monty after losing to st Johnstone then hire a guy who never once beat st Johnstone here before.
Mcbizz1998
11-04-2024, 01:32 PM
The ones who want Lennon back are the ones who are currently missing from Easter Road. Same ones who are always missing when it gets tough.
Can't sack monty after losing to st Johnstone then hire a guy who never once beat st Johnstone here before.
How can you possibly know that? :confused:
Just for balance! I would have Lenny back no problem, season ticket holder and just renewed for next season.
11-04-2024, 01:49 PM
Very harsh. On the football side he was an undisputed Aberdeen and Scotland legend. A quite superb player. As a manager he put together one of Hibs' finest sides by using his global clout to land the likes of Sauzee and Latapy (and very much dominating the derby), led Scotland to some great results (first time round) and won a cup with unfashionable Birmingham. Sure, he left us for Rangers but winning the treble there on what was by Rangers' standards a paltry budget and when Celtic under O'Neill were the better side was a sound achievement.
His OBE, though, is as much for his charity work, something he's very much dedicated himself to in the light of illness afflicting his kids. His own health hasn't been great for some time I believe, so fair play and congratulations to him. He was one of my favourite Hibs managers.
11-04-2024, 01:50 PM
Just for balance! I would have Lenny back no problem, season ticket holder and just renewed for next season.
Don’t want him back, was good when he was good and bad when he wasn’t. My longest memory is waiting for him to run off to his beloved Celtic, which he did as soon as he got a chance. Time (and some time ago) to move on.
11-04-2024, 01:56 PM
Me too. Big fan of Mcleish.
Amazinsauzee
11-04-2024, 01:59 PM
Also for balance, season ticket holder and also renewed. Wouldn’t be going if Lennon was brought back
11-04-2024, 02:21 PM
Well. I think many of the ones who love Lennon weren't bothering before he came (cup win) because he gets credit for so many things, like a good record Vs Hearts and Rangers, giving us fight etc that were truly installed by Stubbs.
11-04-2024, 02:29 PM
Well. I think many of the ones who love Lennon weren't bothering before he came (cup win) because he gets credit for so many things, like a good record Vs Hearts and Rangers, giving us fight etc that were truly installed by Stubbs.
Yup. Lennon hugely benefited from the team and mentality instilled by Stubbs and once that was fine, specifically the best midfield 3 in Scotland, he had no ability to build his own team, got frustrated, lashing out all over the shop, brutal run etc etc and it all ended in tears and snotters as we all know.
Would not agree that anyone wanting him back doesn't go TO ER though.
11-04-2024, 03:23 PM
Same for me :nlgwa
badabing67
11-04-2024, 09:48 PM
Also for balance, season ticket holder and also renewed. Wouldn’t be going if Lennon was brought back
That's where I would be if we brought in McInnes
11-04-2024, 10:41 PM
Bring back Alex Miller
11-04-2024, 11:09 PM
How come he's not found a job in the 18 months since he was sacked by that huge club in, er, Cyprus?
11-04-2024, 11:11 PM
How come he's not found a job in the 18 months since he was sacked by that huge club in, er, Cyprus?
Do the Lennons have jobs?
11-04-2024, 11:16 PM
Do the Lennons have jobs?
12-04-2024, 12:24 AM
Me too. Big fan of Mcleish.
Alex McLeish was one of the most down to earth and personable Hibs managers I have had dealings with.
I remember phoning him one time and he was on the golf course, and asked me to hold on while he took a putt…then quite happily listened to me rave on!
12-04-2024, 10:37 AM
That's where I would be if we brought in McInnes
Why?
12-04-2024, 10:50 AM
Why?
Could be a long wait for badabing before he renews again. Might never be back.
he left us for Rangers but winning the treble there on what was by Rangers' standards a paltry budget and when Celtic under O'Neill were the better side was a sound achievement.
Which part of Rangers budget was paltry? The bit they paid the players wages from or the bit they paid the players EBTs from?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
12-04-2024, 10:58 AM
One is a cup game so not exactly a fair comparison. We played The Rangers towards the end of Lennon's time in Late December and the attendance was 18662. That was a midweek fixture. We most recently played The Rangers in the league towards the end of January and that was also a midweek fixture and the attendance was 18617. That is as close to a like for like as I can see and I may argue the latest fixture was at the end of teh hardest financial month in a cost of living crisis and a team really struggling. You can't pick the best of Lennon when comparing him. The average was simply average and the excellent pretty short lived.
He's here!
12-04-2024, 11:16 AM
Alex McLeish was one of the most down to earth and personable Hibs managers I have had dealings with.
I remember phoning him one time and he was on the golf course, and asked me to hold on while he took a putt…then quite happily listened to me rave on!
Few of us bumped into him in France during the 98 World Cup and he stood and chatted for an age, happily indulging our fanciful suggestions for Hibs signings (little knowing he was going to bring in players we couldn't previously have imagined coming to Hibs). Fans of many clubs had gathered around by that stage and you could see how well-liked he was by everyone.
12-04-2024, 03:14 PM
One is a cup game so not exactly a fair comparison. We played The Rangers towards the end of Lennon's time in Late December and the attendance was 18662. That was a midweek fixture. We most recently played The Rangers in the league towards the end of January and that was also a midweek fixture and the attendance was 18617. That is as close to a like for like as I can see and I may argue the latest fixture was at the end of teh hardest financial month in a cost of living crisis and a team really struggling. You can't pick the best of Lennon when comparing him. The average was simply average and the excellent pretty short lived.
Spot on IMO. :aok: