View Full Version : If the answer is Tavares...

LewysGot2
06-04-2024, 04:26 PM
I'm at a loss what the question was

Please no more using him to try and change games as it only goes one way.

Not the reason we lost today but this Groundhog Day wasting a sub on him is bloody minded nonsense

supermcginn
06-04-2024, 04:29 PM
TBF he's not contributed much less than Marcondes.

AugustaHibs
06-04-2024, 04:30 PM
I'm at a loss what the question was

Please no more using him to try and change games as it only goes one way.

Not the reason we lost today but this Groundhog Day wasting a sub on him is bloody minded nonsense

Who’s the most useless winger that you’ve ever seen at hibs, who also has the physical strength of a 7 year old.

There’s your question.

06-04-2024, 04:30 PM

Under a better manager I reckon Marcondes could be excellent.

Jair doesn’t have it. At all.

skyehibee
06-04-2024, 04:31 PM
Anyone who thinks we should keep him doesn’t understand football

MikeyS
06-04-2024, 04:33 PM
We'd be better of trying to coax Ted McMinn out of retirement than this clown

supermcginn
06-04-2024, 04:33 PM

Can't blame the manager for a guy who is a premier league player who can't influence a game against Craig Levein and st Johnstone.

06-04-2024, 04:36 PM
The guy is ****ing pony and if I have to see him come on to change a game one more time I'm not sure my mental health can handle it.

06-04-2024, 04:40 PM
Can't blame the manager for a guy who is a premier league player who can't influence a game against Craig Levein and st Johnstone.

He’s not a premier league player though. He played 8 mins of 1 game and they got humped 9-0.

supermcginn
06-04-2024, 04:42 PM
He’s not a premier league player though. He played 8 mins of 1 game and they got humped 9-0.

Totally agree, but one poster on here said he was one of the best players we've ever signed.

hibstag
06-04-2024, 04:45 PM
The guy is ****ing pony and if I have to see him come on to change a game one more time I'm not sure my mental health can handle it.

Back in the day I used to leave matches when Jamie Mcluskey came on, jair is fast becoming the new marker for when a games gone.

06-04-2024, 05:04 PM
What was the question?

If you keep doing the same thing expecting a different outcome you must be NUTS!

06-04-2024, 05:25 PM

Marcondes has lots of lovely flicks but he needs to use them when there’s a player who might get on the end of it in the vicinity of his intended target. If there was a player who would be next to “show pony” in the dictionary, it’s him.

Cuikyhibs
06-04-2024, 05:42 PM
Marcondes has lots of lovely flicks but he needs to use them when there’s a player who might get on the end of it in the vicinity of his intended target. If there was a player who would be next to “show pony” in the dictionary, it’s him.

100%

WWFTWTG
06-04-2024, 05:46 PM
Who can I bring on that will piss off the fans and make the Board sack me?

j'adorehibs
06-04-2024, 05:49 PM
noticed Marshall pulling Jair back from approachng fans in East at the end to receive the boos

i wish the team would just walk down the tunnel

06-04-2024, 05:56 PM
Who is the hibs player most likely to get someone starting a pish and pointless thread on hibs.net?

06-04-2024, 05:59 PM
I just feel sorry for the laddie now. He's not subbing himself on.

Almost seemed like desperation that he'd do something so Montgomery could say 'see, told you'

06-04-2024, 06:17 PM
Imagine bringing him on to try and save your job

06-04-2024, 06:21 PM
Damage done well before he came on

However he is honking and I don’t think he’d get a look in at most championship teams.

Powderpuff

06-04-2024, 06:21 PM
The guy is Miles off the required standard. He's not even worthy of a place on the bench!

06-04-2024, 06:22 PM
Totally agree, but one poster on here said he was one of the best players we've ever signed.

Indeed. Utter fantasy that was. He's not anywhere near Scott Allan for example.

06-04-2024, 06:32 PM
Putting him on the park is ridiculous. It’s a bit of a shame for Tavares as well to be honest because it’s not his fault. What the **** Montgomery is thinking continuing to use him is mental.

LewysGot2
06-04-2024, 06:34 PM
Putting him on the park is ridiculous. It’s a bit of a shame for Tavares as well to be honest because it’s not his fault. What the **** Montgomery is thinking continuing to use him is mental.

At Ibrox last week my heart sank when I saw the board raised with his number ahead of others. It had the same effect for a lot of people there. Same today...

Not saying it would have been any better- we'll never know - but there's at least 3 folk on the bench I'd have chosen first

06-04-2024, 06:37 PM
Montgomery ****ed it for himself when he came out and said he'd resurrected Jairs career or words to that effect. Needs to keep him in the fold now or would make himself look stupid. There's a reason LJ never played him.

TrinityHFC
06-04-2024, 06:40 PM
LJ was ultimately right about him once he’d seen enough of him.

There was a lot of nonsense on here about disgusting treatment of him and how NM had immediately noticed he was a player.

LJ I think was right about having too many players around that weren’t playing and separating them and trying to move them on was sensible. He’s had the further chance now and unfortunately he’s not going to be a big player for us.

06-04-2024, 07:07 PM
Another Jair bashing thread, awesome

Se7enUp
06-04-2024, 07:11 PM
Who’s the most useless winger that you’ve ever seen at hibs, who also has the physical strength of a 7 year old.

There’s your question.

It's a low bar, but he's better than AOB was

06-04-2024, 07:12 PM

Did you watch today, Marcondes gets the ball, looks up and half the team around him are standing like statues, the movement is beyond shocking, it's no wonder we struggle to break down these types of teams because we are so easy and obvious to play against.

06-04-2024, 07:13 PM

You should start a Jair appreciation thread then.

06-04-2024, 07:13 PM
Did you watch today, Marcondes gets the ball, looks up and half the team around him are standing like statues, the movement is beyond shocking, it's no wonder we struggle to break down these types of teams because we are so easy and obvious to play against.

Marcondes was stinking today. Just as bad as any player and under hit or over hit so many passes. He's supposed to be a level above us. Jair isn't.

06-04-2024, 07:14 PM
No doubt Tavares will start the Wednesday we kick off the league cup in July.

06-04-2024, 07:17 PM
Marcondes was stinking today. Just as bad as any player and under hit or over hit so many passes. He's supposed to be a level above us. Jair isn't.

There was loads of poor passing mostly caused by the wind but his 1st thought is always to move forward, he was attempting difficult passes due to players around him doing nowt, he's the least of our worries, I'm ore worried about our defence and why Monty keeps playing Jair when it's obvious he's a poor player.

06-04-2024, 07:20 PM
There was loads of poor passing mostly caused by the wind but his 1st thought is always to move forward, he was attempting difficult passes due to players around him doing nowt, he's the least of our worries, I'm ore worried about our defence and why Monty keeps playing Jair when it's obvious he's a poor player.

Jesus, it was windy aye. Big deal.

He's not the least of our worries. He's in the team to make things tick and move us forward. He didn't do that at all today. Not even remotely and should have been subbed off.

MagicSwirlingShip
06-04-2024, 07:25 PM

Marcondes looked right about our level today. Crap

06-04-2024, 07:40 PM
I like Marcondes. I think he has real quality.

Struggling to make a case that he had a good game today though.

06-04-2024, 07:43 PM
You just knew at the end he was going to float that cross right into the keepers hands.

john rossi
06-04-2024, 07:43 PM
Marcondes is a non trier Tavares is a trier

Walkerbaws
06-04-2024, 08:01 PM
Tavares had his best games for us in the centre of the park. Letting the ball run, and driving and passing forward. He’s been hopeless as a winger, yet that’s two managers now that throw him in when we’re already down and out and expect him to come on and change the game. Not one player got pass marks today.

06-04-2024, 08:03 PM
He gets raw deal every time Jair there are players in team and bench who’s performances have been worse than Jair ffs give the lad a break Superstar Boyle hasn’t exactly been Maradona since he came back

06-04-2024, 08:06 PM
He gets raw deal every time Jair there are players in team and bench who’s performances have been worse than Jair ffs give the lad a break Superstar Boyle hasn’t exactly been Maradona since he came back

Tbf Boyle is concerning. He’s not finished, but isn’t deserving of much more than a squad players wage just now.

06-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Marcondes is a non trier Tavares is a trier

Marcondes is a player inconsistent at times that’s why we have him imo

06-04-2024, 08:09 PM
Tbf Boyle is concerning. He’s not finished, but isn’t deserving of much more than a squad players wage just now.

I think he has lost a yard or more of pace big fan of him but it’s very unfair on Jair to be fall guy all time there are more players to blame than him

06-04-2024, 08:10 PM
If, Tavares is the answer then heaven must be missing an Angel.

06-04-2024, 08:11 PM

Boyle isn’t the player he was. He’s still quick but he doesn’t have that explosive pace he did before. Age and injuries catch up with anyone.

There is still a place for him here next season but he’s not that unplayable winger he was previously.

06-04-2024, 08:13 PM
Boyle isn’t the player he was. He’s still quick but he doesn’t have that explosive pace he did before. Age and injuries catch up with anyone.

There is still a place for him here next season but he’s not that unplayable winger he was previously.

His shot on goal which was flagged for offside was very poor.

supermcginn
06-04-2024, 08:34 PM

Yes I watched, he was murder.

YETI1875
06-04-2024, 10:41 PM

Nail on head JC
Bit scared putting my 1st comment on here
I’m not a jambo

07-04-2024, 12:23 PM
It’s not Jair’s fault he is thrown on as an ‘impact sub’.

But without doubt he would not get a game at any other side in our division, and makes the manager look clueless when his number goes up.

Just what does Monty see in him that just about everybody else in the stadium doesn’t.

07-04-2024, 12:42 PM

Does it not point to a wider issue, lack of options. When he came on at 83 minutes our options were Stevenson, Hanlon, Levit, Campbell, Mayenda or Tavares. 6 players, none of whom you really want to bring on at all. Mayenda looks like one of those loans we have no intention of d ed using we seem to specialise in.

07-04-2024, 02:01 PM
Does it not point to a wider issue, lack of options. When he came on at 83 minutes our options were Stevenson, Hanlon, Levit, Campbell, Mayenda or Tavares. 6 players, none of whom you really want to bring on at all. Mayenda looks like one of those loans we have no intention of d ed using we seem to specialise in.

Then why even bother making the change ? I don’t disagree with you tbh, but he’s done nothing to suggest he’ll impact a game since he had that wee purple patch around the Dundee away time.

07-04-2024, 02:08 PM
Then why even bother making the change ? I don’t disagree with you tbh, but he’s done nothing to suggest he’ll impact a game since he had that wee purple patch around the Dundee away time.

Yes there is no requirement to make a change especially if we are weaker because of it

07-04-2024, 02:09 PM
Back in the day I used to leave matches when Jamie Mcluskey came on, jair is fast becoming the new marker for when a games gone.

07-04-2024, 02:11 PM
Should be on-loan at a lower league side such as a Falkirk/ Hamilton winning most weeks, contributing and gaining confidence.
He's not up to it to be relied on at this level and it's another poor use of a squad player.

08-04-2024, 10:18 PM
It’s not Jair’s fault he is thrown on as an ‘impact sub’.

But without doubt he would not get a game at any other side in our division, and makes the manager look clueless when his number goes up.

Just what does Monty see in him that just about everybody else in the stadium doesn’t.Disagree about not getting a game for other sides . For example aagainst Motherwell in January he was best player on pitch by a long way , creating chances out of nothing . Most January signings were good but Jair was one who lost regular chance to show what he could do despite doing well before signings . a few loan signings have had their chance while Jair who was starting to make an impact has been relegated to coming on for a few minutes when crowd is already on team`s back .

08-04-2024, 10:58 PM
Disagree about not getting a game for other sides . For example aagainst Motherwell in January he was best player on pitch by a long way , creating chances out of nothing . Most January signings were good but Jair was one who lost regular chance to show what he could do despite doing well before signings . a few loan signings have had their chance while Jair who was starting to make an impact has been relegated to coming on for a few minutes when crowd is already on team`s back .

Maolida has been playing his position and is miles and miles ahead of Tavares. Youan playing off either wing, it was him that scored twice in that Motherwell game, is miles ahead of Jair. Boyle, even not in the best of form, so much better than Jair. He had made an impact, of sorts, in October/November time then the novelty wore off. He played as much because we were short of options. Every player playing in front of him is better than him and we’re back to seeing what we saw from him last season.

08-04-2024, 10:59 PM
The lad has ability and he showed it for a while when he deservedly was in the starting 11 for a spell.

Since then he's regressed though and his confidence looks shot. Presently he's never going to come on and make an impact when the team is losing/struggling. The fact NM can't see that tells you everything you need to know about the calibre of the Manager.

08-04-2024, 11:41 PM

Don’t think it’s Jair bashing.

The laddie is just is not good enough to play for us.

It’s not his fault he’s thrown on as an impact sub…that’s down to the manager.

It’s the manager who plays him.

09-04-2024, 02:30 AM
… then maybe we’ve reached peak pile on, have lost sense of perspective.

As a support we don’t half love a scapegoat.

WWFTWTG
09-04-2024, 02:43 AM
Jair should be nowhere near the first team, but that is not on him, the question should be........If the answer is Montgomery?

09-04-2024, 07:08 AM
Should be on-loan at a lower league side such as a Falkirk/ Hamilton winning most weeks, contributing and gaining confidence.
He's not up to it to be relied on at this level and it's another poor use of a squad player.

Easy to say from our end, but that’s a physical league. I reckon it’d only take a couple of appearances before he’d not be getting much football there either.

09-04-2024, 08:09 AM
Jair is absolutely brutal. I could easily mark him out of a game. Get rid.

09-04-2024, 09:08 AM
Marcondes looked right about our level today. Crap

Montgomery is working his magic again and making decent players regress. Not one player has pushed on under him. Jair is and always has been pish. The only difference being that Montgomery plays him.