View Full Version : Favourite long range goal

06-04-2024, 10:28 AM
This is being discussed in our group chat so thought I'd put it here too:

What's your all-time favourite Hibs screamer from 25 yards (or further out).

Off the top of my head.
1. Bobby Smith (great perm) 30 yarder, up the hill, against the Huns mid seventies

LithgaeHibby
06-04-2024, 10:31 AM
Deeks against Hertz at ER

06-04-2024, 10:37 AM
Scott Brown scored one in a friendly against Charlton, think it was with his left foot as well, that at the time was a proper 'bloody hell' moment.

Sauzee's free kick against Falkirk.

06-04-2024, 10:38 AM
Scott Brown scored one in a friendly against Charlton, think it was with his left foot as well, that at the time was a proper 'bloody hell' moment.

Sauzee's free kick against Falkirk.
Definitely sauzee against Falkirk it was described as an Exocet missile.

06-04-2024, 10:39 AM
I can't remember the year or the opposition but I seem to recollect Chic Charnley scoring a beauty from the half way line when he spotted the opposition keeper off his line.

06-04-2024, 10:39 AM
Bobby Duncan’s opener against Napoli in 1967.

06-04-2024, 10:41 AM
Witnessed a few over the years.

Probably Chic Charnley's from our half up the slope against Alloa.

Goram's goal was Morton down the slope.

Oxleys was up the slope vs Livvy, but the slope had been flattened.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

06-04-2024, 10:42 AM
(McFadden in France definitely my favourite of all time, but you said Hibs so makes it a little more difficult…)

Probably Deeks against hearts for me too.

Griffiths against Falkirk in that semi final was a classic too.

babahibs
06-04-2024, 10:43 AM
Griffiths free kick at Tiny.

Green Reaper
06-04-2024, 10:45 AM
I can't remember the year or the opposition but I seem to recollect Chic Charnley scoring a beauty from the half way line when he spotted the opposition keeper off his line.

1st game of the season v Celtic 1997

06-04-2024, 10:47 AM
Sauzee in the Millenium Derby.
John Rankin’s ‘squigler’ v Celtc.

06-04-2024, 10:49 AM
1st game of the season v Celtic 1997

No, that was from about 25 yards out at most.

The half way line goal was against a lower league team in the cup.

06-04-2024, 10:50 AM
Has to be Rankin’s “Squiggler” for me [emoji1787]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Albert Kidd 86’
06-04-2024, 10:52 AM
Goram v Morton 1988, goal kick, I think, but maybe wrong, from his own penalty area anyway.

Mikey_1875
06-04-2024, 10:52 AM
Not the most significant but I fondly remember McGinlays against Killie at ER.

Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 10:56 AM

That was an absolute screamer 😵

Green Reaper
06-04-2024, 10:57 AM

You are correct, was v Alloa in League Cup in 97

06-04-2024, 11:18 AM

That's the one. The speed of the strike was incredible, one of these goals you just watch again and again.

Sauzee v Falkirk in the last game of the Div 1 season was a belter as well.

06-04-2024, 11:19 AM
Bobby Duncan v Napoli

Gets further and further oot

More recently Deeks against Plukey at the away end screamer

Skol
06-04-2024, 11:23 AM
Zitelli against AEK if only it had been a goal that mattered.

Tortolano scored one at brockville one night although it was pretty hard to see as their lights were so bad.

06-04-2024, 11:25 AM
Recently, Campbell’s header from the edge of the box b the rangers.

Bobbie Duncan v Hearts, maybe 1968 New Year Derby?

shetlandhibee
06-04-2024, 11:34 AM
Griffiths(ridiculously) disallowed goal v Hearts would have been my choice,, but probably deeks v hearts :agree:

06-04-2024, 11:35 AM
Griffiths winner v Falkirk was an incredible strike. Just raw, natural talent in ball striking that can’t be taught.

Barely had the energy left to celebrate that goal in the manner it deserved after the most mentally exhausting game of football I’ve witnessed.

https://youtu.be/EJ47_iYAviI?si=E5VsAcEOCUcitO_8

06-04-2024, 11:37 AM
Chic Charnley's for me.

It was the first time I'd seen someone attempt that not on tv and actually pull it off.

Up the slope actually added to it too.

babahibs
06-04-2024, 11:39 AM
That was an absolute screamer 😵

Absolute limbs, as the kids say

Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 11:40 AM
Oxleys was a cracker .
https://youtu.be/TfnTEH8H7wQ?si=z38-XzWVKINp-9mW

Sweet Left Peg
06-04-2024, 12:13 PM

Henrick Larsson's first touch in Scottish football was to knock it to Chico who buried it into the corner for a 2-1 win.

Chico's goal against Alloa was a belter - way better than Beckham's which was a similar time, I think. He smashed it with his weaker right foot as well. I've never seen any TV footage of it, so if there is some somewhere then I'd love to see it. As I recall, he beat a couple of players inside the centre circle, in his own half, then drilled it over the keeper, up the slope.

I was young when Goram scored down the slope, into the Cowshed. It bounced about 20 yards from goal and over the keeper's head. I couldn't believe that someone could kick a ball so far.

06-04-2024, 12:17 PM
So many, I have seen Oxley, Goram, Charnley and McGinley all score from our half or thereabouts but that is a slightly different category for me. IF long range means outside the box I think Boylers volley and Griffith disallowed free kick would be top of the list for me in terms of quality of strike. Joe McBride's free kick in the 2-2 game would be up there as would Suzee's daisy cutter for goals I enjoyed most

06-04-2024, 12:19 PM
Deek’s against St Mirren at Paisley, screamer.

06-04-2024, 12:28 PM
Deek’s against St Mirren at Paisley, screamer.

There haven’t been many better than the one he scored against a young Craig Gordon with the Hearts fans behind the goal at Easter Road.

Saint Hibee
06-04-2024, 12:29 PM
Gary Deegan against the sheep in the cup was a good one.

06-04-2024, 12:36 PM
Anyone remember Riordan scoring a screamer of a volley from a cross field ball from Whittaker. Went top corner but was ruled out for offside. Think it would've put us 5 1 up at home against Dundee but went on to draw 4 4.

Don't think I've ever seen a replay.

snedzuk
06-04-2024, 12:46 PM
John Brownlie against Dundee Utd at ER circa 1973. I used to mark the goals out of five stars in my programme and remember giving that one seven!

Weir07
06-04-2024, 12:48 PM
Boyle's volley against Livingston for me, screamer!

scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 12:48 PM
McManus volley and Ormen’s screamer at Castle Greyskull - chuck in Rice’s squiggler (arguably a trundler) in the early 80s there too 😁

06-04-2024, 12:53 PM
https://youtu.be/cNi_g16Ra_U?si=y1UkOYf5Xf2KLiS5

Best of the lot in my opinion.

06-04-2024, 12:55 PM

Celtic, Larsson's first game. I thought, "That Larsson's useless, wouldn't swap him for Chico...:rolleyes:'

06-04-2024, 12:55 PM
McManus volley and Ormen’s screamer at Castle Greyskull - chuck in Rice’s squiggler (arguably a trundler) in the early 80s there too 😁

You beat me to it with the Orman goal.

cameronw-hfc
06-04-2024, 01:02 PM
Did spoony not score a belter of a volley at ER?

scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 01:05 PM
You beat me to it with the Orman goal.

It was a peach but I actually enjoyed Rice’s effort more 😂

Pity there was only about 15 Rangers fans there to see it

06-04-2024, 01:24 PM
The one scored today? Joe Harpers overhead kick from outside the box and of course Duncans 70 yarder against Napoli.

06-04-2024, 01:27 PM
Recently, Campbell’s header from the edge of the box b the rangers.

Bobbie Duncan v Hearts, maybe 1968 New Year Derby?

Campbell header was Vs Aberdeen

Bridge hibs
06-04-2024, 01:29 PM
McManus v rangers at ibox was a cracker

06-04-2024, 01:41 PM
Chic v Alloa I’m sure week after Pat Mcginlay also scored from halfway line also at Er

06-04-2024, 01:45 PM
Pat McGinlay scoring from the half way line in a 4-0 win over Killie

https://www.facebook.com/TheHibsAreHere/videos/on-this-day-in-1997-pat-mcginlay-scored-this-goal-from-the-halfway-line-for-hibs/344948704024770/

06-04-2024, 01:48 PM
John McGinn at Ibrox v the new club.

06-04-2024, 03:20 PM
Chic v Alloa I’m sure week after Pat Mcginlay also scored from halfway line also at Er

Thought it was Charnley then McGinlay, but then I can't remember what I had for breakfast this morning.

Did see both goals though.

Gus
06-04-2024, 03:24 PM
Roy O’Donovan v Killie I think?

07-04-2024, 02:55 PM
One of the first times I’d been allowed to travel in to Easter Road on my own Chinny Baxter scored a wonderful 30 yarder against Aberdeen in a 2-0 win c 1963.

07-04-2024, 05:52 PM
Anyone remember Riordan scoring a screamer of a volley from a cross field ball from Whittaker. Went top corner but was ruled out for offside. Think it would've put us 5 1 up at home against Dundee but went on to draw 4 4.

Best goal I've ever seen. Highlights are on YouTube. I can't get the link for it, but easy to find. Still don't think it was offside!

That was first game at ER after Gordon Smith's death. You might remember the half time tribute. Really moving. Then the second half it was as if the great man was helping both his teams. A frustrating outcome but an epic 45.

07-04-2024, 05:56 PM

https://www.facebook.com/TheHibsAreHere/videos/on-this-day-in-1997-pat-mcginlay-scored-this-goal-from-the-halfway-line-for-hibs/344948704024770/

I remember it well

Mcginlay eh , What a player he was for us by the way , Scored a hell of a lot of goals for us , A very very underrated player imo , A proper box to box player

One of my favourite ever players

07-04-2024, 05:57 PM
I seem to remember that Chico wasn't a million miles away from scoring a 40 yarder at the Celtc game. I mind when he hit the Alloa shot there was a murmur in the crowd that seemed to be "nah, dinnae try that again".

07-04-2024, 05:58 PM
The Boyle volley Vs Livi was absolutely outrageous.

07-04-2024, 06:00 PM
A couple of other notables - Darren Jackson (?) against Northern Ireland (?) in a B international at ER, about 95ish, and Barry Prenderville against St Mirren during the Great Adventure. Think they were both rocketed home from about the same place - main stand side, up the slope, about 30 yards out.

He's here!
07-04-2024, 06:00 PM
You are correct, was v Alloa in League Cup in 97

Same season as McGinlay's v Killie I think.

Darren Jackson scored a couple of long-rangers v Dundee Utd at ER.

Griffiths at Tynie was magnificent, especially as he'd done the same at ER only to have it not given despite it being at least a yard over the line.

Jimmy O'Rourke scored a beauty v Celtic in the 1972 Drybrough Cup final.

07-04-2024, 06:02 PM
Same season as McGinlay's v Killie I think.

They were within a couple of weeks or so of each other. Chico for Scotland and Hibs serious challengers for the title? Nice while it lasted!

07-04-2024, 06:03 PM

Yes it was s cracker and a very dubious offside.

Bobo
07-04-2024, 06:37 PM
Bobby Smith v Rangers, up the slope as well.

07-04-2024, 06:40 PM
Bobby Smith v Rangers, up the slope as well.

https://youtu.be/3huJkvyQgtY?si=fT-gPkrQX_NiRz9J

07-04-2024, 06:47 PM
Derek Riordan Vs Hearts at ER. Was one of my first Edinburgh Derbies and was drawing that goal on the back of my school jotter for a few years after that! An absolute beauty.

07-04-2024, 06:57 PM
Thought it was Charnley then McGinlay, but then I can't remember what I had for breakfast this morning.

Did see both goals though.
That is my recollection too and Chic's was in our half but Pat's just over the half way line

Malonga's Cat
07-04-2024, 08:56 PM

This one for me too. Maybe not the best but I have fond memories of it. Hadn't being going to games long and left thinking we could score from anywhere!

07-04-2024, 09:01 PM
Boyle half volley v Livingston in 2016.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhEOHr3mlQE

07-04-2024, 09:47 PM
Griffiths winner v Falkirk was an incredible strike. Just raw, natural talent in ball striking that can’t be taught.

Barely had the energy left to celebrate that goal in the manner it deserved after the most mentally exhausting game of football I’ve witnessed.

https://youtu.be/EJ47_iYAviI?si=E5VsAcEOCUcitO_8

Coincidentally - freshly snapped today 27811

no idea why it’s upside down…

07-04-2024, 09:48 PM
Darren Jackson V Dundee Utd at Tynie.

Scrub that - Archie the Jinx Buster at Tynie.

07-04-2024, 10:09 PM
Bobby Duncan of course but also an even older one-a John Baxter 35 yard free kick against Killie in Bobby Johnstone’s first game back.

16-04-2024, 09:02 AM
The next Hibs Manager ?

https://x.com/thehibsarehere/status/1780155088880738789?s=61

Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2024, 09:29 AM

Griffiths at Tynecastle for me, but a very honourable mention for this one. The technique to pull that off is quite astonishing.

Frogga
16-04-2024, 11:14 AM

Agreed. This goal doesn't get enough credit.

Other mentions from me...

Garry O'Connor away to Partick, around 2003.
Gary Deegan home to Aberdeen, around 2012.

Trinity Hibee
16-04-2024, 11:56 AM
John rankin squiggler?

16-04-2024, 12:05 PM
A goal scrubbed from time - Jason Cummings v Hamilton.

16-04-2024, 12:12 PM
Deek at Tynecastle full volley from i think a Murphy cross. Sensational strike was right behind the goal and it was in once it left his foot. Fantastic talent

Bushwoof
16-04-2024, 12:15 PM
Bobby Smith v the Huns for me too. Loved that goal, went in like a rocket.

16-04-2024, 12:20 PM
Deeks against Hertz at ER

That's the one. Don't see anything topping it any time soon.

16-04-2024, 12:23 PM

https://youtu.be/3Cr88lkjkHE?si=qHOH9tqGT29tOFrD

Full highlights of the 4 4 game

Hands down my favourite ever full season watching Hibs.

16-04-2024, 12:24 PM
Oxleys was a cracker .
https://youtu.be/TfnTEH8H7wQ?si=z38-XzWVKINp-9mW

Yeah, that was crazy. “Whit’s the goalie daen, Tom?” :greengrin

16-04-2024, 12:54 PM
Barry Prenderville

16-04-2024, 01:08 PM

Wasn't quite as I remember it!

But still a cracking finish.

16-04-2024, 01:47 PM
Wasn't quite as I remember it!

But still a cracking finish.

You wouldn't have been the first to turn that into some top corner thunderbolt, it's picked up a fair bit of pace and height over the years.

16-04-2024, 02:57 PM

Jeez I thought our defending was poor now. Laughable :greengrin

16-04-2024, 07:15 PM
Bobby Duncan vs Napoli outrageous 😮👌💚

I'm Spartacus
16-04-2024, 09:48 PM
I'll take pelters, mine isn't a Hibs goal!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afOQ9j8lcX4

Chris Macguire at ER for the Scotland Under 21's v Iceland, first time taking my best mate to the new stand and we witnessed this, even now I can't believe it, some great names in that squad too.

17-04-2024, 05:43 AM
Falkirk cut through us like a knife through butter but a couple of decent long range strikes from Alex Harris, Eoin Doyle and Sparky

Check the wee baby at the start of the clip in the Hibs top

C’mon Hibs ! :greengrin

https://x.com/hibsprogrammes/status/1780305987108327889?s=61

Gloucester Hibs
17-04-2024, 05:59 AM
Griffiths free kick in the 2-1 win at the PBS.

Honourable mention to Stevie Mallan v the poppy pinchers in yet another game v them that we really should've won.

18-04-2024, 06:15 AM
Ally Scott with a scissor kick volley/half volley out on the far left against Rangers mid to late 70's. Probably not the best goal from distance that I've seen at Easter Road but it has stuck with me over the decades for some reason.

Frogga
18-04-2024, 10:22 AM
I'll take pelters, mine isn't a Hibs goal!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afOQ9j8lcX4

Chris Macguire at ER for the Scotland Under 21's v Iceland, first time taking my best mate to the new stand and we witnessed this, even now I can't believe it, some great names in that squad too.

I was at that game, amazing goal! I seem to remember Gylffi Sigurdsson ran the show that night.

18-04-2024, 11:07 AM
Favourite was pat mcginlays as he was my favourite player growing up. My other has to be mark oxley against livi as its was a friends laddie that was the centre half that it went over so I had fun mentioning it to her

Dazzjw1875
18-04-2024, 02:54 PM
I seem to remember two home games in a row we scored from far out, Pat mcG I wanna day against dumfermline, then the next home game Chic Charnley scored against Partick and he ran straight to Pat saying his was further out lol.

StevieT
18-04-2024, 03:40 PM
I'm sure Orman scored one against the team formerly known as Rangers at Ibrox.

18-04-2024, 07:12 PM
The next Hibs Manager ?

https://x.com/thehibsarehere/status/1780155088880738789?s=61

Who on earth is in goal for The Rangers 2012 there?

18-04-2024, 07:15 PM
Who on earth is in goal for The Rangers 2012 there?

The late Billy Thomson.

And it's well before 2012.

18-04-2024, 07:15 PM
And Pat Mcginlay did it from our own half the same season if memory serves me well

18-04-2024, 07:17 PM
I seem to remember two home games in a row we scored from far out, Pat mcG I wanna day against dumfermline, then the next home game Chic Charnley scored against Partick and he ran straight to Pat saying his was further out lol.

Your memory isn't great:greengrin

Charnley against Alloa followed by McGinlay against Killie (I think!!!)

18-04-2024, 07:24 PM
I'm sure Orman scored one against the team formerly known as Rangers at Ibrox.

Peach !

https://youtu.be/cVYDiLm103Q?si=bH_ChcF0MvGj-aRP

18-04-2024, 07:48 PM
Peach !

https://youtu.be/cVYDiLm103Q?si=bH_ChcF0MvGj-aRP

yon was a screamer

Norrieg
18-04-2024, 08:02 PM
Bobby Duncan’s opener against Napoli in 1967.

:not worth

18-04-2024, 08:52 PM
One that might have slipped under the radar Sam Stanton in a Development Game versus The Rangers 1.25 in this clip

https://youtu.be/iprozfywQhc?si=OuSwxmDqfiWDPlml

18-04-2024, 09:09 PM
One that might have slipped under the radar Sam Stanton in a Development Game versus The Rangers 1.25 in this clip

https://youtu.be/iprozfywQhc?si=OuSwxmDqfiWDPlml
Screamer.

Greensunshine
21-04-2024, 08:48 PM
Griffiths free kick at Tynie!

Unbelievable strike and fabulous celebration!

22-04-2024, 12:19 AM
Peter Cormack’s super shot, playing doon the slope from the half way line against Dunfermline in the 60’s.

Followed its flight from behind the goals all the way in.

Zero luck, 100% skill.