View Full Version : Ally McCoist on "Hate Crime"

04-04-2024, 01:19 PM
Normally quite like Super Ally but have always had reservations about him for the sneaky punch during Souness's debut.

Shown his true colours with his comments about the singing that will take place during the Glasgow derby this weekend. He should be banned from TV for being a racist. You can be sure it won't happen though.

04-04-2024, 03:54 PM
Staggering.
The mask slipped there Ally - cheeky chappie no more.

04-04-2024, 03:57 PM
What did he say?

04-04-2024, 04:00 PM
I used to quite like him on co comms until he started to cry about ‘SNP Supporters’ booing GSTK Vs England.

Chump.

04-04-2024, 04:05 PM
He’s a fud.

04-04-2024, 04:06 PM
A Hun making excuses for Huns

04-04-2024, 04:07 PM
Wee sleekit cowrin tim'rous beastie.

Emphasis on the sleekit.

04-04-2024, 04:14 PM
He'll be singing the sash in his hoose anyway 🤥

04-04-2024, 04:25 PM
Of course he is going to speak up for the huns, but on the legislation, does he or anyone else really understand what it says or means? A lot of GB News hype and hysteria, but in truth I have no idea whether it is good or bad. McCoist just playing to the gallery, the OF don't like any criticism.

04-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Scottish football’s very own JK Rowling.

The huns exist in this pathetic little bubble where they cant see how objectionable their culture is to everyone else. I have a friend who’s currently’starring’ in this weird play called The Journey Back, dramatising the Rangers’ inevitable rise through the divisions as some sort of glorious rags to riches story. Tpuring mostlyTickets sold out immediately in Belfast of course.

04-04-2024, 04:28 PM
What did he say?

All he said was that he and 50,000 other people would likely breach it on Sunday.

Cannae see anything wrong with that.

04-04-2024, 04:28 PM

The huns exist in this pathetic little bubble where they cant see how objectionable their culture is to everyone else. I have a friend who’s currently’starring’ in this weird but successful play called The Journey Back, dramatising the Rangers’ inevitable rise through the divisions as some sort of glorious rags to riches story. Touring mostly provincial wee theatres across Scotland, immediately sold out immediately in Belfast of course. The lack of awareness, that this story is actually about a cheating institution historically steeped in prejudice and bigotry seems to have passed my actress friend by, she thinks its great.

Hibees1973
04-04-2024, 04:49 PM
I heard McCoist say that.

He is in essence condoning bigot, sectarian signing.

Surprising this he has not been held to account for his views at the moment.

04-04-2024, 04:55 PM
All he said was that he and 50,000 other people would likely breach it on Sunday.

As has been said many a time, if these songs were about anyone other than Catholics there would be absolute outrage, quite rightly. However, he thinks the songs are not the problem it is these bad MSPs making legislation to stop bigotry and racism.

04-04-2024, 04:56 PM

Looks that way and it will certainly be taken that way by a lot of the orcs. Reading the comment, however, it looks like McCoist hasn’t specified what his hate comments might be. Close to the wind for me but not quite crossed the line.

04-04-2024, 04:59 PM

I can't tell if this is a whoosh moment for me but the guy has basically admitted he'll be breaking a law that, for the most part, is centred around stopping people from being bigots.

Maybe in his head he was trying to be a smart arse and make some sort of political point about the law itself or he maybe was trying to be too funny for his own good and claim 'hatred' for Celtic comes under the law. I don't know what was going through his head. But it's a very silly comment to make knowing full well what the law is designed to stop, and the sectarianism that goes with this fixture.

04-04-2024, 06:09 PM

I can’t believe he came out with that.

I just hope he or someone else films him singing sectarian songs like he promised.

Guys a complete roaster.

04-04-2024, 06:18 PM
The great west of Scotland “banter”.

For those of us looking in the very notion of sectarianism is a real head scratcher, particularly in 2024. For the Scots who attach themselves to the Old Firm and embrace the Irish based cultures that surround the clubs it’s just part of the fabric of life.

“Coisty” has just proven that.

cubehindthegoal
04-04-2024, 06:36 PM
Of course he is going to speak up for the huns, but on the legislation, does he or anyone else really understand what it says or means? A lot of GB News hype and hysteria, but in truth I have no idea whether it is good or bad. McCoist just playing to the gallery, the OF don't like any criticism.

I do … but I have family and friends who have been affected directly … including minors … by what this so called solution is designed to eradicate .. very very weakly though .. and they are actually emphasising that as they issue the legislation - so cowardly done - by saying the “bar will be set very high” to criminalise … so those who love their prejudices, well they can just crack on abusing,, as that’s what Scotland allows … “the bar is set high” … and that’s before we even come remotely close to talking about bigotry and suchlike … this won’t even touch that, don’t be fooled. We see, week after week, evidence of that…

cubehindthegoal
04-04-2024, 06:37 PM

Are you actually surprised ? I’m not, unfortunately. Much worse is overlooked continually in our country.

Dmas
04-04-2024, 06:43 PM
As has been said many a time, if these songs were about anyone other than Catholics there would be absolute outrage, quite rightly. However, he thinks the songs are not the problem it is these bad MSPs making legislation to stop bigotry and racism.

Exactly it well said

Musselbound
04-04-2024, 06:43 PM

You don't see anything wrong with singing sectarian or anti-Catholic songs? That's what McCoist appears to be condoning. Not only that but he says he will be joining in.

linlithgowhibbie
04-04-2024, 06:46 PM
Ally has now claimed that he won't be going to the game as he had a previous family engagement that he had forgotten about

04-04-2024, 07:13 PM

You have got to be joking

04-04-2024, 07:17 PM
Is the correct forum for this discussion?

04-04-2024, 07:23 PM
Ally has now claimed that he won't be going to the game as he had a previous family engagement that he had forgotten about

Walking away it’s The Rangers way

04-04-2024, 07:26 PM
And that in a nutshell is why this problem will never be eradicated.

04-04-2024, 07:30 PM

I think the point here, although we may think we know what he meant by it, he never said he would be singing sectarian songs. He might be thinking “I’ll sing if you hate the Glasgow Celtic clap your hands”. Way too trivial to be hate CRIME surely?

04-04-2024, 07:34 PM
I think the point here, although we may think we know what he meant by it, he never said he would be singing sectarian songs. He might be thinking “I’ll sing if you hate the Glasgow Celtic clap your hands”. Way too trivial to be hate CRIME surely?

He said he would be breaching the bill along with all Rangers fans. Think it was clear

Paul1642
04-04-2024, 07:34 PM
Think he’s made a light hearted comment about how open to interpretation/ easy breached the daft new law is and it’s been blown well out of proportion. I personally couldn’t give a crap and he’s still one of the few decent commentators out there at the moment.

04-04-2024, 07:38 PM
I'd imagine he's jumped in with both feet and he's referring to simply hating Celtic. I could imagine an ex-Hibs player saying it about Hearts. Just because the sectarianism is there doesn't mean it HAS to be about that. People can be clumsy, especially live on air.

Too late though, as it's grown all sorts of limbs and now it's a big massive thing. Like everything has to be these days.

04-04-2024, 07:39 PM
He said he would be breaching the bill along with all Rangers fans. Think it was clear

No surprise that one set of fans hate their main rivals and vice versa, I think it points out how many people are still unsure how this new law will work.

04-04-2024, 07:51 PM
No surprise that one set of fans hate their main rivals and vice versa, I think it points out how many people are still unsure how this new law will work.

I think there are certain categories of hate defined in the law

04-04-2024, 07:54 PM
Think he’s made a light hearted comment about how open to interpretation/ easy breached the daft new law is and it’s been blown well out of proportion. I personally couldn’t give a crap and he’s still one of the few decent commentators out there at the moment.
Yeah a bit like Roy Keane and the Hibs pun league chat, much ado about nothing.

He's here!
04-04-2024, 07:59 PM

The huns exist in this pathetic little bubble where they cant see how objectionable their culture is to everyone else. I have a friend who’s currently’starring’ in this weird but successful play called The Journey Back, dramatising the Rangers’ inevitable rise through the divisions as some sort of glorious rags to riches story. Touring mostly provincial wee theatres across Scotland, immediately sold out immediately in Belfast of course. The lack of awareness, that this story is actually about a cheating institution historically steeped in prejudice and bigotry seems to have passed my actress friend by, she thinks its great.

None of that applies to JK Rowling.

04-04-2024, 08:10 PM
I do … but I have family and friends who have been affected directly … including minors … by what this so called solution is designed to eradicate .. very very weakly though .. and they are actually emphasising that as they issue the legislation - so cowardly done - by saying the “bar will be set very high” to criminalise … so those who love their prejudices, well they can just crack on abusing,, as that’s what Scotland allows … “the bar is set high” … and that’s before we even come remotely close to talking about bigotry and suchlike … this won’t even touch that, don’t be fooled. We see, week after week, evidence of that…

You know it will be an Aberdeen fan or a Hibs fan who will be prosecuted first.

Ignoring the 50k bigoted songs being sung every week across the OF.

04-04-2024, 08:16 PM
Pah - he's not even the first player I've witnessed in the flesh scoring an overhead kick in a League Cup Final.

That honour goes to Dennis Tueart.

04-04-2024, 08:17 PM
Rather obviously, and in keeping with the last x decades, this law will not see mass prosecutions of bigoted songs - impossible to police on that scale.

I've not been keeping tabs on it as it obviously doesn't apply where I live, but is there not a bit of hoo hah because of the depth the legislation tries to reach, meaning that "you Jambo *******s" could get you into trouble as it targets a group with a theoretically offensive term?

jakeshibs
04-04-2024, 08:17 PM
I used to quite like him on co comms until he started to cry about ‘SNP Supporters’ booing GSTK Vs England.

Chump.

we are all entitled to our opinions, and i think booing any anthem is classless

04-04-2024, 08:18 PM
we are all entitled to our opinions, and i think booing any anthem is classless

Agree

ElginHibbie
04-04-2024, 08:28 PM
Rather obviously, and in keeping with the last x decades, this law will not see mass prosecutions of bigoted songs - impossible to police on that scale.

I've not been keeping tabs on it as it obviously doesn't apply where I live, but is there not a bit of hoo hah because of the depth the legislation tries to reach, meaning that "you Jambo *******s" could get you into trouble as it targets a group with a theoretically offensive term?

No, needs to be against a people with "protected characteristics" ie age, disability, sexuality etc and even then it would need to be pretty extreme language for anyone to actually get into trouble for stirring up hatred

McSwanky
04-04-2024, 08:43 PM
Let's not forget him demanding the names of the people responsible for imposing a transfer ban on the old incarnation.

He was a horrible wee cheat as a player and I for one am not fooled by the cheeky chappy facade he puts on now.

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

04-04-2024, 08:45 PM
He’s such a crap co commentator too - the world would lose absolutely nothing if he was cancelled

04-04-2024, 08:53 PM
None of that applies to JK Rowling.

…but hes playing the same ‘arrest me if you dare Police Scotland for doing whats just common sense’ card that Rowling has been recently. Boring culturewar pish. These people should have the ‘Just dont be a dick’ mantra.

04-04-2024, 09:00 PM
Let's not forget him demanding the names of the people responsible for imposing a transfer ban on the old incarnation.

He was a horrible wee cheat as a player and I for one am not fooled by the cheeky chappy facade he puts on now.

:agree::top marks

04-04-2024, 09:09 PM
He has to be done as a pundit now

04-04-2024, 09:10 PM

100%

04-04-2024, 09:17 PM
Agree

+1

He's here!
04-04-2024, 09:43 PM
…but hes playing the same ‘arrest me if you dare Police Scotland for doing whats just common sense’ card that Rowling has been recently. Boring culturewar pish. These people should have the ‘Just dont be a dick’ mantra.

Using your high profile to draw a line in the sand when it comes to the new law's impact on women's rights is common sense. Giving what many of the Rangers fans will view as a high-profile nod of approval to the poisonous stuff that gets belted out at Old Firm games isn't.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-04-2024, 09:56 PM
If he’s not a bigot he’s a complete and utter moron. His patter is stinking on TalkSport anaw.

Rumble de Thump
04-04-2024, 10:30 PM
Using your high profile to draw a line in the sand when it comes to the new law's impact on women's rights is common sense. Giving what many of the Rangers fans will view as a high-profile nod of approval to the poisonous stuff that gets belted out at Old Firm games isn't.

Using a high profile to obsessively attack transgender people and incite hateful and abusive pile-ons from 14.1 million followers is hardly common sense. That's not giving a nod of approval to poisonous stuff. It's instigating it.

ElginHibbie
04-04-2024, 10:53 PM
Using a high profile to obsessively attack transgender people and incite hateful and abusive pile-ons from 14.1 million followers is hardly common sense. That's not giving a nod of approval to poisonous stuff. It's instigating it.

Don't forgot her getting involved in some casual holocaust denial, and then completely moving the goalposts when called out on it, when it comes to the trans community

Rowling is a radicalised bully who hides behind her posting being about women's rights when it really just comes from a place of hate

04-04-2024, 11:06 PM

Its all just hate at the end of the day. Whatever tribe you’re representing.

K-Zazu
04-04-2024, 11:07 PM
So what hate crime was he going to commit? He’s completely keeked it since wonder if tnt and talk sport have said something?

04-04-2024, 11:16 PM
I'd imagine he's jumped in with both feet and he's referring to simply hating Celtic. I could imagine an ex-Hibs player saying it about Hearts. Just because the sectarianism is there doesn't mean it HAS to be about that. People can be clumsy, especially live on air.

Too late though, as it's grown all sorts of limbs and now it's a big massive thing. Like everything has to be these days.

did you listen to it?

cubehindthegoal
04-04-2024, 11:42 PM
You know it will be an Aberdeen fan or a Hibs fan who will be prosecuted first.

Ignoring the 50k bigoted songs being sung every week across the OF.

The only thing that will stop that, is that it would open the flood gates to the thousands who sing bigoted things we all hear week after week .. being held to account … true justice … and the evidence is there in the thousands of people , honest witnesses .. who have heard it for years

… they don’t want that … truth … out in the open …

cubehindthegoal
04-04-2024, 11:54 PM

wow. just so sad … it’s people … not women … she is polarising humans …

if she wasn’t so rich and feeling so secure with that, would she speak out and hurt so many people that can’t speak back … that don’t have the voice in public channels like the bbc … sad stuff

… and again .. thats before we even get to sectarianism ..

05-04-2024, 02:12 AM
“I like 50 000 other people in the stadium am going to commit a hate crime”

He wasn’t suggesting that he was going to be chanting “we all believe that woman is a term only applied to those born with a womb”

He is rank rotten as a commentator so not surprised he may be crapping it a bit.

sadtom
05-04-2024, 03:01 AM
McMoist, the ‘cuddly hun’.
I’ve always despised him more than even the more forthright, obvious and odious hun types.
He may be the ‘acceptable’ face of hunnery to many but I have never fell for his p1$4. The snide little $h1t.
He always was, still is, and forever will be an ‘orrible c***!

05-04-2024, 05:39 AM

He never even mentioned the songs. All he said is it’s likely that likely that he and 50 odd thousand others would likely break it on Sunday. That’s just stating a fact.

The likelihood is that thousands of people will breach it at Easter Road an aw on Saturday.

05-04-2024, 05:50 AM

No. Because that’s what he said.

05-04-2024, 05:52 AM
I can't tell if this is a whoosh moment for me but the guy has basically admitted he'll be breaking a law that, for the most part, is centred around stopping people from being bigots.

Maybe in his head he was trying to be a smart arse and make some sort of political point about the law itself or he maybe was trying to be too funny for his own good and claim 'hatred' for Celtic comes under the law. I don't know what was going through his head. But it's a very silly comment to make knowing full well what the law is designed to stop, and the sectarianism that goes with this fixture.

That’s one hell of a jump.

babahibs
05-04-2024, 05:59 AM
He never even mentioned the songs. All he said is it’s likely that likely that he and 50 odd thousand others would likely break it on Sunday. That’s just stating a fact.

The likelihood is that thousands of people will breach it at Easter Road an aw on Saturday.

How will thousands of people breach it at Easter Road tomorrow?

I certainly won't.

05-04-2024, 05:59 AM

Not sure that thousands will be breaking the law at Easter Road.

Which particular song or chant do you think falls foul of the new law?

Dmas
05-04-2024, 06:06 AM

He doesn’t need to recite the songbook for us to know what he means, he was boasting to his pals there’s a hate law passed and he’s going to a game full of hatred his pals on the radio all know why there’s hatred, a guy with a platform saying the law is stupid and not the religious bigotry at a football game in 2024 shows how difficult it will be to eradicate this from our society, they don’t see any wrong in it, hurty words, normalised, it’s fine to be anti catholic and sing songs broadcast to the nation about it in Scotland, do you think it would be so easy going for him if he made this reference to attending a chelsea v spurs game for example, he’d have been out on his ample behind

Paul1642
05-04-2024, 06:20 AM
He has to be done as a pundit now

Why? The bar for losing a job for doing or saying something a little bit stupid is creeping ever lower.

If this is worthy of him not longer being employable by the media then good luck finding anyone squeaky clean to replace him. Even better luck finding someone squeaky clean with anything resembling a personality.

05-04-2024, 06:49 AM
Why? The bar for losing a job for doing or saying something a little bit stupid is creeping ever lower.

If this is worthy of him not longer being employable by the media then good luck finding anyone squeaky clean to replace him. Even better luck finding someone squeaky clean with anything resembling a personality.
He should be done as a pundit because he is awful never mind anything else.
The "excited wee boy just a fan really" routine is well past its Sell by date.

BS44
05-04-2024, 06:57 AM

What law are you talking about?

05-04-2024, 07:02 AM
He doesn’t need to recite the songbook for us to know what he means, he was boasting to his pals there’s a hate law passed and he’s going to a game full of hatred his pals on the radio all know why there’s hatred, a guy with a platform saying the law is stupid and not the religious bigotry at a football game in 2024 shows how difficult it will be to eradicate this from our society, they don’t see any wrong in it, hurty words, normalised, it’s fine to be anti catholic and sing songs broadcast to the nation about it in Scotland, do you think it would be so easy going for him if he made this reference to attending a chelsea v spurs game for example, he’d have been out on his ample behind

05-04-2024, 07:22 AM
No. Because that’s what he said.

He said he was going to break the law by singing Rangers songs which we all know some of them clearly break the law.

05-04-2024, 07:39 AM
McCoist is a slaver and was obviously just playing to the TalkSport gallery (generally fat middle aged baldies sitting at the end of a bar in Hull or Croydon).

He has subsequently said that he isnt even going to the match, as he is on childminding duties.

Saint Hibee
05-04-2024, 08:02 AM
I have to admit that I quite liked him as a pundit until he came out with this.

05-04-2024, 08:11 AM

He said that he and 50000 others would be breaking the law. That doesn't mean hating Celtic as that would not be breaking the law. It means singing sectarian bile.

What bile are we likely to sing?

He's here!
05-04-2024, 08:46 AM
Don't forgot her getting involved in some casual holocaust denial, and then completely moving the goalposts when called out on it, when it comes to the trans community

Rowling is a radicalised bully who hides behind her posting being about women's rights when it really just comes from a place of hate

It's not hateful to speak the truth.

05-04-2024, 09:09 AM
Is it wrong for a hibs, celtic, Real Madrid, west ham or River Plate fan to hate a hearts, rangers, Barcelona, millwall or Boca fan?

05-04-2024, 09:10 AM

While some may agree, let's stick to football.

He's here!
05-04-2024, 09:16 AM
While some may agree, let's stick to football.

No problem.

05-04-2024, 09:19 AM
Deleted my message and moved it to Holy Ground thread

05-04-2024, 09:26 AM
Is it wrong for a hibs, celtic, Real Madrid, west ham or River Plate fan to hate a hearts, rangers, Barcelona, millwall or Boca fan?

None of those are legally protected groups. Neither are aesthetically or folically challenged people, so you can give both barrels to baldies or Stevie Fulton without fear of sanction.

05-04-2024, 10:50 AM
If they were to hand out banning orders for people singing hate crime songs, Parkhead and Ibrox would be as full/empty as most other grounds.

hibby rae
05-04-2024, 10:57 AM

Except, especially in the denial of Nazi crimes, she wasn't anywhere near speaking the truth.

05-04-2024, 12:11 PM
Except, especially in the denial of Nazi crimes, she wasn't anywhere near speaking the truth.

Stop talking nonsense.

" While I’m used to the gross distraction techniques used by the more extreme faction of trans activism, the claim that I am a holocaust denier is baseless and disgusting. As can be easily seen from my own Twitter (X) account, I have always been a staunch supporter of the Jewish community and have spoken out consistently and repeatedly against antisemitism. I’m familiar with such activists’ assertions that transgender people have been uniquely persecuted and oppressed throughout history, but claims that trans people were ‘the first targets’ of the Nazis – a claim I refuted on X, and which led to these accusations – and that I ‘uphold [Nazi] ideology around gender’ is a new low".

https://www.jkrowling.com/opinions/statement-from-j-k-rowling-14th-march-2024/

The thought police are very active on hibs.net today :aok:

Here's a bit more context

https://www.spiked-online.com/2024/03/21/no-jk-rowling-is-not-a-holocaust-denier/

Trans-activist bullies, who so often delight in sending death and rape threats to the Harry Potter author, are now suggesting she is a Holocaust denier. It should go without saying that this is an absurd and defamatory slur. It is also one that’s being increasingly employed against anyone who dares to question the trans lobby’s latest attempt to rewrite history.

Now, can we get back to McCoist and his daft comments and leave the nonsense about JK to the holy ground , where there has been a pretty good discussion around GRA reform etc?

05-04-2024, 12:16 PM
That’s one hell of a jump.

I don't see how I've made a hell of a jump? I've even given him somewhat the benefit of doubt on what he meant by it.

He said the words, not sure how else they can be interpreted?

05-04-2024, 12:22 PM
Stop talking nonsense.

" While I’m used to the gross distraction techniques used by the more extreme faction of trans activism, the claim that I am a holocaust denier is baseless and disgusting. As can be easily seen from my own Twitter (X) account, I have always been a staunch supporter of the Jewish community and have spoken out consistently and repeatedly against antisemitism. I’m familiar with such activists’ assertions that transgender people have been uniquely persecuted and oppressed throughout history, but claims that trans people were ‘the first targets’ of the Nazis – a claim I refuted on X, and which led to these accusations – and that I ‘uphold [Nazi] ideology around gender’ is a new low".

https://www.spiked-online.com/2024/03/21/no-jk-rowling-is-not-a-holocaust-denier/

Now, can we get back to McCoist and his daft comments and leave the nonsense about JK to the holy ground , where there has been a pretty good discussion around GRA reform etc?

Bummer. It was just getting interesting, but okay.

I think the problem in our social media era is that we are divided into tribes and seem compelled to back one or the other. Scottish sectarianism as promoted historically by two clubs to their own financial advantage obviously predates the internet but has been ossified by it.

Pre internet many people outside the Hun tribe might have said “he’s just having a laugh at/wee dig at sectarianism.” Now he literally and audibly is, through our texts and airways ‘up to his ears and eyes in fienian blood.’

05-04-2024, 12:41 PM
A Hun is a Hun is a Hun, even the so called good ones just scratch the surface and see.
He is a wee fat gardening Hun who took money off the club he says he would break the law for.

05-04-2024, 01:04 PM

A radicalised bully and holocaust denier? Stop making things up

05-04-2024, 02:22 PM
The "excited wee boy just a fan really" routine is well past its Sell by date.

I completely agree with this and have been saying for some time. The reason most give for enjoying his commentary more than others is because he’s passionate and seems genuinely excited to be watching the games (in stark contrast to a Danny Murphy or Mark Lawrenson for example).

I totally get that. But it’s now been a long time he’s been doing the same excited routine without adding much in the way of insight or knowledge, and I actually find him boring and irritating now. I really do.

He also has a bizarre tendency, when someone scores an absolute screamer, to focus on a 5 yd straight forward pass in the lead-up and shout about it (“I’m going to tell you something, the finish is great, but this pass from…” for minutes as if he’s seen something the ordinary punter wouldn’t notice.

Saying that, I could count on one hand the amount of co-commentators that don’t annoy me and genuinely add something. I’ve come to the conclusion it’s a bit of a difficult role, and/or not a very necessary one.

He’s also a bit of a hun dick.

05-04-2024, 02:28 PM
I completely agree with this and have been saying for some time. The reason most give for enjoying his commentary more than others is because he’s passionate and seems genuinely excited to be watching the games (in stark contrast to a Danny Murphy or Mark Lawrenson for example).

I totally get that. But it’s now been a long time he’s been doing the same excited routine without adding much in the way of insight or knowledge, and I actually find him boring and irritating now. I really do.

He also has a bizarre tendency, when someone scores an absolute screamer, to focus on a 5 yd straight forward pass in the lead-up and shout about it (“I’m going to tell you something, the finish is great, but this pass from…” for minutes as if he’s seen something the ordinary punter wouldn’t notice.

Saying that, I could count on one hand the amount of co-commentators that don’t annoy me and genuinely add something. I’ve come to the conclusion it’s a bit of a difficult role, and/or not a very necessary one.

He’s also a bit of a hun dick.

I'll tell you something, I think you're spot on, I really do.

hhibs
05-04-2024, 02:30 PM

Yep,totally agree.

05-04-2024, 02:31 PM

The Baldmans Comb
05-04-2024, 02:38 PM
McCoist is a very smart, intelligent man who knows exactly the buttons to press to keep onside with base camp but also knows exactly how to keep the paymasters onside.

Condemning the racism, sectarianism and extreme English Nationalism would alienate both bases so you will never hear that in a million years.

Listen to anything he says around football's edges and you can see he knows exactly what he is doing and is very clever with it.

It's a bit like your Hibs fan who claims his Sevco mate "is a good guy no like aww the rest" as not scratching to deep is a much safer option because you know exactly what you will find but prefer not to.

hibby rae
05-04-2024, 02:44 PM
Stop talking nonsense.

Trans-activist bullies, who so often delight in sending death and rape threats to the Harry Potter author, are now suggesting she is a Holocaust denier. It should go without saying that this is an absurd and defamatory slur. It is also one that’s being increasingly employed against anyone who dares to question the trans lobby’s latest attempt to rewrite history.

I didn't say she was a holocaust denier, I chose my words very carefully because being a holocaust denier is a very particular thing.

She had a go at someone saying the Nazis burnt trans books and destroyed research, which is a historical fact they did, in the 1933 burning of the contents of the Instute for Sexology (8 years prior to the beginning of the holocaust, which is why I never referred to her as that). She used the old 'do your research' line, and was rightly called on it, and was then advised she should maybe also do some research before commenting.

05-04-2024, 03:40 PM
Not sure that thousands will be breaking the law at Easter Road.

Which particular song or chant do you think falls foul of the new law?

I’m fairly confident thousands of people will be hurling abuse at players and fans on Saturday at Easter Road.

05-04-2024, 03:43 PM
He said he was going to break the law by singing Rangers songs which we all know some of them clearly break the law.

He said this. Never once said he was going to sing a song, or anything regarding sectarianism.

05-04-2024, 03:48 PM

He said this. Never once said he was going to sing a song, or anything regarding sectarianism.

I know he’s not the brightest but surely his statement was more coherent than that?

babahibs
I’m fairly confident thousands of people will be hurling abuse at players and fans on Saturday at Easter Road.

Which isn't in itself, a breach of the new law, though I'm fairly confident there won't be thousand hurling abuse at a Hibs v St Johnstone game.

So we can’t read between the lines - are we really supposed to be that stupid?

Spectacularly missing what the bill is all about and falling for the anti Scottish government line. If I call someone a ****ing prick that is not a hate crime. If I call them a fenian/orange/****/****/****** etc prick then that is likely to be within the bill. Shouting abuse at someone isn't a hate crime. You could actually be done with a breach of the peace I believe for shouting abuse at someone. And that is decades and decades old legislation

Glad to see the **** work!!

05-04-2024, 03:49 PM

Which won’t be in breach of the hate crime laws.

babahibs

If he's not meaning sectarianism, then what does he mean? Racism?

He knew exactly what he was saying and its why he has now gone to ground and has said he won't be at the game

05-04-2024, 03:52 PM

And I’ll tell you something, I don’t mind that! I don’t mind it.

05-04-2024, 03:55 PM
I don't see how I've made a hell of a jump? I've even given him somewhat the benefit of doubt on what he meant by it.

He said the words, not sure how else they can be interpreted?

He never mentioned sectarianism once. He just said ‘he like 48,000 other Rangers fans’ would likely breach the act on Saturday.

During the game at ER on Saturday, thousands of fans from both sides will be hurling abuse at each other, players and the referee just as they will at every other Premiership game on Saturday and I may be one of them. Does that make me any different from McCoist?

05-04-2024, 03:57 PM
If he's not meaning sectarianism, then what does he mean? Racism?

So sectarianism and racism is all this act covers is it?

05-04-2024, 03:57 PM
He never mentioned sectarianism once. He just said ‘he like 48,000 other Rangers fans’ would likely breach the act on Saturday.

During the game at ER on Saturday, thousands of fans from both sides will be hurling abuse at each other, players and the referee just as they will at every other Premiership game on Saturday and I may be one of them. Does that make me any different from McCoist?

What part of the act do you think he was referring to in which he expects 48,000 Rangers fans breach it?

05-04-2024, 03:58 PM

[emoji2357]

05-04-2024, 03:59 PM

Will you be hurling racist, xenophobic, transphobic or sectarian abuse? if yes then it wouldn't make you any different from what mccoist is based on what he implied he would be doing.

05-04-2024, 04:01 PM
Which isn't in itself, a breach of the new law, though I'm fairly confident there won't be thousand hurling abuse at a Hibs v St Johnstone game.

Hurling abuse is hateful. Does it breach this nonsense law? Who knows. I’ve watched the ********s who introduced it this week fail to explain it correctly and contradict each other and even the police don’t seem to know. But Ally McCoist is apparently an expert.

05-04-2024, 04:02 PM
Will you be hurling racist, xenophobic, transphobic or sectarian abuse? if yes then it wouldn't make you any different from what mccoist is based on what he implied he would be doing.

Show me where he implied it?

05-04-2024, 04:18 PM
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&opi=89978449&url=https://m.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DH8hk2LZRc84&ved=2ahUKEwjZsJLeu6uFAxVZXEEAHe-oBusQFnoECB4QAQ&usg=AOvVaw3ZFIQicTAtOJYtfr5b_Db3

Not sure if the link works, trying to do it on my phone but explained really well here by a professor of law. But it appears that some folk don't want to listen to a professor of law but they will believe the daily record and Ally McCoist. And to say the police don't understand it is laughable. They understand it enough to have dismissed the various bull**** reports so far, including the Rowling one.

05-04-2024, 04:22 PM
I didn't say she was a holocaust denier, I chose my words very carefully because being a holocaust denier is a very particular thing.

She had a go at someone saying the Nazis burnt trans books and destroyed research, which is a historical fact they did, in the 1933 burning of the contents of the Instute for Sexology (8 years prior to the beginning of the holocaust, which is why I never referred to her as that). She used the old 'do your research' line, and was rightly called on it, and was then advised she should maybe also do some research before commenting.

Sorry, but I'll not take your word for any of the above.

Well done for being so considered with your initial post, but I never said that you said she was a holocaust denier? What I quoted referred to on-line trans activist bullies who have of course called her a holocaust denier and much more.

The quote also said "I’m familiar with such activists’ assertions that transgender people have been uniquely persecuted and oppressed throughout history, but claims that trans people were ‘the first targets’ of the Nazis – a claim I refuted on X, and which led to these accusations – and that I ‘uphold [Nazi] ideology around gender’ is a new low".

I'm not aware of evidence to support any claim that Rowling has denied Nazi war crimes though.

05-04-2024, 04:33 PM
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&opi=89978449&url=https://m.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DH8hk2LZRc84&ved=2ahUKEwjZsJLeu6uFAxVZXEEAHe-oBusQFnoECB4QAQ&usg=AOvVaw3ZFIQicTAtOJYtfr5b_Db3

Not sure if the link works, trying to do it on my phone but explained really well here by a professor of law. But it appears that some folk don't want to listen to a professor of law but they will believe the daily record and Ally McCoist. And to say the police don't understand it is laughable. They understand it enough to have dismissed the various bull**** reports so far, including the Rowling one.

The irony of it as this nonsense law could appear to have broken by poster/s on here.

He’s been called a hun. If he perceives that as abuse and he beliefs he has been called that due to his background, then he can report as a crime.

05-04-2024, 04:36 PM
The irony of it as this nonsense law could appear to have broken by poster/s on here.

He’s been called a hun. If he perceives that as abuse and he beliefs he has been called that due to his background, then he can report as a crime.

You're wrong yet again because hun has been deemed by law not to be a sectarian slur

05-04-2024, 04:37 PM

What section of that Act does this fall under?

Rumble de Thump
05-04-2024, 04:38 PM
Hurling abuse is hateful. Does it breach this nonsense law? Who knows. I’ve watched the ********s who introduced it this week fail to explain it correctly and contradict each other and even the police don’t seem to know. But Ally McCoist is apparently an expert.

Anyone who's read the legislation would know. It's very clear and easy to understand, but reading it is crucial to understanding it.

05-04-2024, 04:40 PM
You're wrong yet again because hun has been deemed by law not to be a sectarian slur

Being called a hun isn’t a sectarian slur?

I certainly know people who feel it is, and if they interpret it as that, it can be reported as a hate crime.

05-04-2024, 04:41 PM
Being called a hun isn’t a sectarian slur?

I certainly know people who feel it is, and if they interpret it as that, it can be reported as a hate crime.

They can report it all they want it will go nowhere. And you can remove the question mark from your first line, that is a statement if fact

05-04-2024, 04:48 PM
They can report it all they want it will go nowhere. And you can remove the question mark from your first line, that is a statement if fact

The question mark is the key part as it’s all down to the victims perception.

If the victim felt they were called a hun due to their background(religious in this case) then it can be considered as a hate crime.

It’ll likely go nowhere, but it meets the criteria of a hate crime.

05-04-2024, 04:55 PM

If the victim felt they were called a hun due to their background(religious in this case) then it can be considered as a hate crime.

What does that have to do with what McCoist said? He said that he and 48,000 other Huns would be breaking the law.

hibeez1875
05-04-2024, 05:00 PM
I’ve lived in Yorkshire for 24 years now and have not really followed the new law and what it will mean north of the border, but singing sectarian songs at football matches was already illegal. People have been done for it. It’s just that 99.999999 per of the time it’s ignored. Not sure what the new law brings to the party.

05-04-2024, 05:00 PM

OK, let's do this another way. You show me where it says that if I percieve it to be a hate crime that's all that it takes to then actually be a hate crime. I think you'll find that the latest Rowling/Willoughby spat proved that to be wrong. JKR was reported as someone THOUGHT it was a hate crime, police threw it out

05-04-2024, 05:06 PM
OK, let's do this another way. You show me where it says that if I percieve it to be a hate crime that's all that it takes to then actually be a hate crime. I think you'll find that the latest Rowling/Willoughby spat proved that to be wrong. JKR was reported as someone THOUGHT it was a hate crime, police threw it out

Wasting your time. Poster has basically admitted he doesn’t understand or know anything about the new laws (naturally blaming the SNP for that) but will continue to argue with you about who is breaking it anyway.

babahibs
05-04-2024, 05:10 PM
So sectarianism and racism is all this act covers is it?

No but I think you already know that.
What do you think he means when he says 48000 people will be in breach of the new law?

babahibs
05-04-2024, 05:12 PM

Hurling abuse and breaching this new law are not the same thing.
Are you being deliberately thick?

05-04-2024, 05:22 PM
Hurling abuse and breaching this new law are not the same thing.
Are you being deliberately thick?

As deliberately think as the people who introduced this law and the Police.

Davy Mac
05-04-2024, 05:31 PM
Always thought McCoist is a bit of a phoney, done the english media up like a kipper imo.

05-04-2024, 05:36 PM

It’ll likely go nowhere, but it meets the criteria of a hate crime.No one calls anyone a hun because they are of a particular religious group. They are called huns because its a nickname for fans of The Rangers. This has precedence in courts and is culturally recognised as factual. If I met a Rangers fan of any religious group, from Amish to Zoroastrian or if they were atheist, they are still huns.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

05-04-2024, 05:39 PM
Always thought McCoist is a bit of a phoney, done the english media up like a kipper imo.If you remember the photos that appeared when the press were after scandal on Andy Goram - the rags printed snaps of him in some orangey joint in NI with someone else's face blurred out. The press are perfectly capable of protecting celebs just as they can rip them down.

05-04-2024, 05:50 PM

That is the only thing that would break the law though.

05-04-2024, 05:52 PM

You don’t understand what the law is about do you

05-04-2024, 05:56 PM
The law will need a bit of time to bed in, but ultimately I think it will be a force for good in the long term once everyone gets their head around the implementation of it.

I think we can expect a fair bit of silliness from all sorts of people with all sorts agendas whilst it reaches that point.

It probably won’t be that hard to figure out who is going to be on which side of the arguments and why along the way.

05-04-2024, 05:58 PM

Wow stop digging

05-04-2024, 06:16 PM
Holy Ground?

05-04-2024, 06:21 PM
Holy Ground?The song or the sub-forum?

05-04-2024, 06:37 PM
The song or the sub-forum?

Not the song, that would be offensive under the new laws.

:duck:

05-04-2024, 06:42 PM
John Brown at an event Today, regarding action against sectarianism. Wow

05-04-2024, 06:45 PM
John Brown at an event Today, regarding action against sectarianism. Wow

File that one alongside Gary Mackay appearing at ‘Show Racism the Red Card’ events.

05-04-2024, 06:50 PM
File that one alongside Gary Mackay appearing at ‘Show Racism the Red Card’ events.

:greengrin:greengrin

05-04-2024, 06:57 PM
I hate Ally McCoist.

Will I be arrested?

05-04-2024, 07:50 PM
Holy Ground?

Not if we stick to football.

05-04-2024, 07:53 PM
What does that have to do with what McCoist said? He said that he and 48,000 other Huns would be breaking the law.

By hating celtic. He didn't say he'd be singing sectarian songs. Maybe he didn't fully get the legislation or maybe he did and was just trying to be clever. Who knows.

05-04-2024, 08:08 PM
I hear from Radio Scotland (in typical Coisty fashion) he’s run away and rowed back saying he’ll not actually be there. So he lied then? Integrity shattered in a moment. FUD.

05-04-2024, 08:11 PM

05-04-2024, 08:17 PM
Why has no hack bothered to ask Cheeky Chappy Coisty which songs he intends to sing that would fall foul of the legislation , and which protected group (disabled, sexual orientation, gender, age or religion) it affects?

05-04-2024, 08:18 PM
Why has no hack bothered to ask Cheeky Chappy Coisty which songs he intends to sing that would fall foul of the legislation , and which protected group (disabled, sexual orientation, gender, age or religion) it affects?

Very good question

05-04-2024, 08:19 PM

Good point. You’d think that would soon clear things up.

Maybe he thinks ‘old Derry’ is ageist?

05-04-2024, 08:23 PM

untouchable media darling?

05-04-2024, 08:23 PM
Good point. You’d think that would soon clear things up.

Maybe he thinks ‘old Derry’ is ageist?

Im hearing he was going to break into a ditty of ‘*******us Autisticus’ by incorrect punk legend Ian Dury

05-04-2024, 08:26 PM
Maybe him and the other 48000 are only 90 minute bigots.🤔

05-04-2024, 08:37 PM

Why are you bringing this up on a football forum?

05-04-2024, 09:34 PM

Get that on twitter sir.

06-04-2024, 11:41 AM
Would we class the recent breaking at ER, where vandalism seems to have been the motive, as hate crime?

Seats are not a protected group. Kafflicks are.
It’s actually a very straightforward piece of legislation which a lot of people seem to be misconstruing for political reasons.

hibby rae
06-04-2024, 11:59 AM
Sorry, but I'll not take your word for any of the above.

Not asking you to, this can easily be corroborated if you chose to do so. I

Well done for being so considered with your initial post, but I never said that you said she was a holocaust denier? What I quoted referred to on-line trans activist bullies who have of course called her a holocaust denier and much more.

But in reply to me, when I never mentioned that at all, so whether intentional or not, you're linking the two things.

The quote also said "I’m familiar with such activists’ assertions that transgender people have been uniquely persecuted and oppressed throughout history, but claims that trans people were ‘the first targets’ of the Nazis – a claim I refuted on X, and which led to these accusations – and that I ‘uphold [Nazi] ideology around gender’ is a new low".

I'm not aware of evidence to support any claim that Rowling has denied Nazi war crimes though.

Neither am I, because again the tweet in question referred to events in 1933 (which is when they first come to power, so they are one of the first victims). Which as I said, you could find if you chose to do so.

06-04-2024, 12:34 PM
Seats are not a protected group. Kafflicks are.
It’s actually a very straightforward piece of legislation which a lot of people seem to be misconstruing for political reasons.

I agree that the legislation is pretty straightforward, and there are parts of it that I also totally agree with, as long as the legislation was drawn up for political reasons and not religious ones. Our government is secular and always should be, there should be no prejudice or bias in favour of any religion, and there should be no discrimination against people who might not have the same point of view as the Scottish government. And I would also hope that the First Minister is as vociferous in his condemnation of Islamic State, Hamas and Hezbollah as he is of Israel in a statement he obviously felt he needed to make very soon after the announced legislation.

Thankfully I never listen to anything McCoist says, he swings with the wind and doesn't seem to have a genuine point of view about anything.

09-04-2024, 08:04 PM
Hats off to The Bristol Bar for taking responsibility for their premises seriously and tackling sectarianism or anything else that could fall foul of the new Hate Crime legislation.

https://i.postimg.cc/ydGMBn1C/IMG-2877.jpg (https://postimg.cc/phDGJf5s)

09-04-2024, 08:14 PM
Hats off to The Bristol Bar for taking responsibility for their premises seriously and tackling sectarianism or anything else that could fall foul of the new Hate Crime legislation.

Nae hats off to that bar. They are telling people to not video anything that could be put on social media. There will still be the usual little ditties being sung but it will not shared with the world.
Have you seen the Bristol Bar?

09-04-2024, 08:19 PM
Nae hats off to that bar. They are telling people to not video anything that could be put on social media. There will still be the usual little ditties being sung but it will not shared with the world.

I’ve a feeling that was Carheenlea’s point exactly.

09-04-2024, 08:21 PM

He didnt say anything to give that impression

09-04-2024, 08:54 PM

That's not how I read it.

babahibs
09-04-2024, 08:56 PM
whoosh

Sloop67
09-04-2024, 09:04 PM

I guess that means we won't be seeing Donald Findlay leading the choir in a rendition of his favourite songs

09-04-2024, 09:15 PM

That was how I read it.

The badge at the top of the notice made his point clear.

09-04-2024, 10:13 PM
That's not how I read it.

Sarcasm - this is a Hibs forum

11-04-2024, 07:05 AM

Quite a lot of whoooooosh moments in reaction to this post 😂😂.

Huns protecting their own from the eyes of the snooping, Kafflick law makers.

scuttle
11-04-2024, 08:15 AM
Quite a lot of whoooooosh moments in reaction to this post 😂😂.

Huns protecting their own from the eyes of the snooping, Kafflick law makers.

You can sing what you want just don't film it is my take on it

11-04-2024, 08:25 AM

They previously thought they were untouchable and now they're concerned. The bill is having the intended effect.

11-04-2024, 10:27 AM

Exactly that i think

11-04-2024, 10:27 AM

That's absolutely it.

11-04-2024, 10:31 AM

Just set up a listening device outside the bar you will hear it loud and clear. If you can revoke a licence for a bar can you not do the same for a stadium.

11-04-2024, 10:45 AM

So crack on with the hate crime but don't create any hard evidence. All that is wrong with Scotland in a tatty bit of paper

11-04-2024, 11:11 AM
So crack on with the hate crime but don't create any hard evidence. All that is wrong with Scotland in a tatty bit of paper

Pretty much