View Full Version : Famous Five Stand Plans

02-04-2024, 10:51 AM
I see Barrie Wilkins has tweeted about an even last night to unveil the plans for the North Stand (as he called it). Anyone there, anyone know anything about it?

02-04-2024, 11:55 AM
Images in the Club Shop thread

Looking good 👀

Exciting times but not cheap

03-04-2024, 03:23 PM
Plans officially announced here

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/april/03/first-look-at-behind-the-goals-/

It looks fantastic.

03-04-2024, 03:24 PM
I take it this is just going to be on what was the top level of BTG, wonder what the plans are
for the first floor

03-04-2024, 03:28 PM
Plans officially announced here

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/april/03/first-look-at-behind-the-goals-/

It looks fantastic.

That actually looks amazing. Well played, Hibs.

Might try it for a home game next season if available.

03-04-2024, 03:53 PM
That actually looks amazing. Well played, Hibs.

Might try it for a home game next season if available.

Likewise. Can see it selling out though.

03-04-2024, 04:09 PM
Looks excellent and it seems the club have learned a few lessons from the, already excellent, Albion Bar. The ceiling mounted screens is definitely an improvement and there do seem to be more seated tables. I am very happy in the Albion Bar but that looks brilliant. Sadly not everyone will be able to afford it but I do feel it is excellent value. There will be teething issues but staff will work their socks off so don’t forget to drop a wee tip for their efforts.

03-04-2024, 04:22 PM
I take it this is just going to be on what was the top level of BTG, wonder what the plans are
for the first floor

Community Foundation space

03-04-2024, 05:22 PM
It looks excellent but it's not for me personally. For those games I have a beer at, it will still be Robbie's / Strathmore but that's probably an age and tradition type thing.

If it sells out then it's a good job, well done on the part of the club.

03-04-2024, 06:52 PM
Community Foundation space

And shop or ticket office I think

ruthven_raiders
03-04-2024, 07:32 PM
And shop or ticket office I think

Not sure what will happen with the old ticket office, someone said a while back it wast listed, so can it be demolished or if not used as part of a football museum?

03-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Still think hibs are missing a trick not building something between the Ff and east currently used as a car park

Perfect location for a big bar and official Hibs boozer for walk ups only.

03-04-2024, 09:21 PM
Still think hibs are missing a trick not building something between the Ff and east currently used as a car park

Because planning permission would be impossible.

03-04-2024, 09:31 PM
Looks really good.

The club seem to be getting a lot more things right these days and long may that continue. Exciting time to be a Hibs fan

03-04-2024, 10:27 PM
Because planning permission would be impossible.

Genuine question, why would it be impossible?

03-04-2024, 10:54 PM

I don’t see any, it’s just used as parking for players and officials and tv people, it wouldn’t encroach on to anything or block things.

I would rather see the 2 stands joined together though fo these champion league games in a few years. :greengrin

04-04-2024, 06:01 AM
Looks great ..... but £800 ( I'm sure I read ) .
Might be beyond most of us. 🫤

04-04-2024, 06:21 AM

It’s not cheap but it’s the same offer as the west stand

£800 comfy seats and a bar - same as Albion Bar in the west I believe

Would have liked an OAP offer though rather than flat £800 for everyone

04-04-2024, 06:47 AM

:agree: if it wasn't so expensive I might have considered it.

04-04-2024, 06:59 AM
The cost is close to a similar seat in West + £200 Albion Bar pass I think? Not saying that makes it affordable but it’s not new or outrageous for the offering when considering the existing alternative.

I’ve bought safe standing in FFL along with my son’s first ST. Really hoping they release some bolt on pass they mention and it makes it accessible at half time too. Perfect when having a 4.5yr old in tow.

stuart-farquhar
04-04-2024, 07:43 AM
It’s not cheap but it’s the same offer as the west stand

£800 comfy seats and a bar - same as Albion Bar in the west I believe

Would have liked an OAP offer though rather than flat £800 for everyone

I'm aghast at the old fashioned term OAP!! I'm a senior.

Dear 1984 police Blah blah blah and arrest them etc.

18Craig75
04-04-2024, 08:01 AM
I’d have gone for it but feel it’s a bit unfair having to pay full whack for my 2.5 year old. But hey, I’m sure it’ll sell out and bring a brilliant amount of extra income into the club!

leith lynx
04-04-2024, 08:23 AM
Hopefully there are plans to have the 'Hibs 100' boards re-instated in the stand somewhere, the last I heard they were in storage somewhere in the stadium.

04-04-2024, 08:39 AM
The cost is close to a similar seat in West + £200 Albion Bar pass I think? Not saying that makes it affordable but it’s not new or outrageous for the offering when considering the existing alternative.

I’ve bought safe standing in FFL along with my son’s first ST. Really hoping they release some bolt on pass they mention and it makes it accessible at half time too. Perfect when having a 4.5yr old in tow.
I think when it’s broken down to a per game cost it’s pretty reasonable.

Gloucester Hibs
04-04-2024, 08:44 AM
Looks great with the pitch views (they're not for everyone). Might do it for a one-off game next season - assuming there's availability.

Corstorphine Hibby
04-04-2024, 08:55 AM

No offence, but I hope bairns aren't allowed in if/when the bolt on option becomes available.

04-04-2024, 08:59 AM
No offence, but I hope bairns aren't allowed in if/when the bolt on option becomes available.

Why not?

04-04-2024, 09:04 AM

They are allowed - but you pay full whack. There is no Kids option.

Corstorphine Hibby
04-04-2024, 09:10 AM
Why not?

Because I'm old and grumpy. I cba having kids running around in a 'drinking environment'(pubs etc). As I said, I mean no offence. Its just how I feel. Maybe because Hibs haven't offered a 'kids price' means they aren't keen either? Maybe not.

04-04-2024, 09:27 AM

Perhaps impossible is ott. But the nimbyism that would come from the flats would be through the roof.

The amount of objections would make it very difficult and its not like the council have a history of helping us on planning permission in that are of the stadium!

LewysGot2
04-04-2024, 09:48 AM
Where would players park their vehicles, out of interest? As that bit of land is the players' carpark?

Can't see the West Stand car park being ideal for another 20-plus cars.

04-04-2024, 11:32 AM

£42 a game

04-04-2024, 11:37 AM
£42 a game

£42 for a comfy seat and access to an expensive paid bar?

Not much value there from my perspective.

PHeffernan
04-04-2024, 11:47 AM
Because I'm old and grumpy. I cba having kids running around in a 'drinking environment'(pubs etc). As I said, I mean no offence. Its just how I feel. Maybe because Hibs haven't offered a 'kids price' means they aren't keen either? Maybe not.

Nah, Hibs only concern is maximising revenue from the offering at 800 quid a skull to sit in their warm room and watch the game from a padded plastic covered seat. Can't see many folk shelling out 800 quid extra for their kid instead of a 100 quid season ticket.

04-04-2024, 11:50 AM
Perhaps impossible is ott. But the nimbyism that would come from the flats would be through the roof.

The amount of objections would make it very difficult and its not like the council have a history of helping us on planning permission in that are of the stadium!

Just call it student accommodation and we're laughing. :greengrin

04-04-2024, 11:55 AM

Is it though? £40+ per game for a decent seat and the option of buying what I'm guessing will be expensive drink and I'm not sure the cost of food?

I'm all for it and it's great for Hibs and for the folk who can afford it. But it's not so reasonable that most people can afford it or justify it. In my opinion anyway 😁

04-04-2024, 12:00 PM

Not with the current standard of football no.

If we could do a merger with Bournemouth and play in the Premier League at least we'd see some good football now and then.

Hibermouth FC - soccer!

PHeffernan
04-04-2024, 12:03 PM

Probably just a matter of time and money.
West facilities have been renovated and FF facilities will be renovated this summer.
If a full size covered pitch is built at East Mains with the Foley money that would leave only the East and the South stand facilities to be updated then it will be onto development of the East/FF corner.

hibsforeurope
04-04-2024, 12:10 PM
The plans look really smart and will sell out and make Hibs money.

We are crying out for a genuine BTG replacement where families, normal punters, can go before the game. With parking and travel issues many need to arrive to games earlier to get parked. sitting in the car with a kid or in the freezing stands for a hour before kick off is not appealing.

If there was a bar, place for families to go at the stadium would be well received.

My recollection of BTG was seeing kids running about playing games while their parent got a catch up with mates.

04-04-2024, 12:18 PM
I also heard that the executive seating has its own drinks sponsor from next season, which can't be a bad thing.

Sufferin Comfort 🥃

04-04-2024, 12:19 PM
Nah, Hibs only concern is maximising revenue from the offering at 800 quid a skull to sit in their warm room and watch the game from a padded plastic covered seat. Can't see many folk shelling out 800 quid extra for their kid instead of a 100 quid season ticket.

Why are you slagging the club off for trying to make more money that can be invested in the team?

04-04-2024, 12:46 PM

None taken, and same to being sat next to a moany old git like you in or outside ER.

04-04-2024, 12:55 PM
£42 a game

That is really good value for what's on offer.

Stairway 2 7
04-04-2024, 12:57 PM

£42 for corporate offering is hardly dear nowadays. It looks similar to pioneers which is 225-250 if including the ticket, need to subtract a probably £70 meal and technically 8 drinks so another £50. It's the same price as the Albion which doesn't have pitch access or views.

It'll sell out and make us more good money. It's great being able to finish your pint and be in your seat a minute later and a pint at half time is a bonus also. The amazing corporate facilities at Easter Road is the reason we've managed to bring our revenues from £9 mil to £15 mil plus expected this year

PHeffernan
04-04-2024, 01:17 PM
Why are you slagging the club off for trying to make more money that can be invested in the team?

I wasn't slagging the club, I was commenting on the section I highlighted in Corstophine Hibby's post about children in the hospitality area.
I said the club are only interested in maximising the revenue from their hospitality offering and didn't care if an adult or child utilised the service so long as they paid the fixed price of 800 UK pounds.
Which part do you disagree with?

04-04-2024, 01:43 PM
I wasn't slagging the club, I was commenting on the section I highlighted in Corstophine Hibby's post about children in the hospitality area.
I said the club are only interested in maximising the revenue from their hospitality offering and didn't care if an adult or child utilised the service so long as they paid the fixed price of 800 UK pounds.
I’m sure they would rather it was an adult, as they’ll be expecting alcohol drinks to be bought as well
Maximising sales won’t happen with kids in the bars

Anyway it’s not an option for me as I don’t drink before matches
I’d like somewhere alcohol free for me and my family in the ground, it’s really cold in the East concourse pre match and even colder at ht when they open the gates to let the smokers out

04-04-2024, 01:46 PM

The tone of the post sounded like it was.

04-04-2024, 01:54 PM
£42 for corporate offering is hardly dear nowadays. It looks similar to pioneers which is 225-250 if including the ticket, need to subtract a probably £70 meal and technically 8 drinks so another £50. It's the same price as the Albion which doesn't have pitch access or views.

It'll sell out and make us more good money. It's great being able to finish your pint and be in your seat a minute later and a pint at half time is a bonus also. The amazing corporate facilities at Easter Road is the reason we've managed to bring our revenues from £9 mil to £15 mil plus expected this year

I don't think anyone is having a go at Hibs for improving the amount of money they are bringing into the club. I think it's been fantastic, the more money in the coffers the better

PHeffernan
04-04-2024, 01:58 PM
I’m sure they would rather it was an adult, as they’ll be expecting alcohol drinks to be bought as well
Maximising sales won’t happen with kids in the bars

Anyway it’s not an option for me as I don’t drink before matches
I’d like somewhere alcohol free for me and my family in the ground, it’s really cold in the East concourse pre match and even colder at ht when they open the gates to let the smokers out

Funnily enough when I was writing my reply I was thinking there could be an old folks version of hospitality where for 20 quid a season they give you access to a heated room for 30 minutes before the match and at half time.

P.S. In reality not many kids will be in the BTG bar at 800 a pop.

04-04-2024, 02:11 PM

I have no doubt it’ll sell out. It looks good.

If you have the cash and want to pay £20 more than me per game for a padded seat and an overpriced bar then fair play.

I don’t so can’t/won’t.

04-04-2024, 02:32 PM
Funnily enough when I was writing my reply I was thinking there could be an old folks version of hospitality where for 20 quid a season they give you access to a heated room for 30 minutes before the match and at half time.

I’m up for that😀

An indication of how many will be in, would try and find out how many are in the Albion Bar

PHeffernan
04-04-2024, 02:38 PM
I’m up for that��

An indication of how many will be in, would try and find out how many are in the Albion Bar

I'm with you in the East, freezing to death from the start of December to the end of February with the smoking monkeys being released through every exit at half time for good measure, thus ensuring the body temperature of the rest of us remains at freezing point :wink:.

04-04-2024, 02:47 PM
Is it though? £40+ per game for a decent seat and the option of buying what I'm guessing will be expensive drink and I'm not sure the cost of food?

I'm all for it and it's great for Hibs and for the folk who can afford it. But it's not so reasonable that most people can afford it or justify it. In my opinion anyway 😁

Its far from being cheap. But they know they will sell based on the same set up in the Albion. You can actually still get the £800 option in the West. So I wouldn't be surprised if there are some space in the Famous Five padded seats for on the day hospitality.

04-04-2024, 02:50 PM
Where would players park their vehicles, out of interest? As that bit of land is the players' carpark?

Can't see the West Stand car park being ideal for another 20-plus cars.

They would park their cars in the ground floor car park, as now. The first and second floors would be kitted out with bard and entertainment.

04-04-2024, 02:56 PM
Anyway it’s not an option for me as I don’t drink before matches.

And that's your problem. You should try it, as it makes the game far more enjoyable 😂

Basildon Hibs
04-04-2024, 03:05 PM
Looks really good.

The club seem to be getting a lot more things right these days and long may that continue. Exciting time to be a Hibs fan

Apart from where it counts - on the pitch...😲😉

04-04-2024, 03:20 PM

I think so as well. As has been said, for what you get, it’s not a bad price at all.

04-04-2024, 03:21 PM

For £20 a season they could fill some hot water bottles and maybe offer a nice shawl and perhaps keep some brandy handy in case of the odd collapse.

Stairway 2 7
04-04-2024, 03:26 PM
They would park their cars in the ground floor car park, as now. The first and second floors would be kitted out with bard and entertainment.

2 floors of Shakespeare

PHeffernan
04-04-2024, 03:40 PM
For £20 a season they could fill some hot water bottles and maybe offer a nice shawl and perhaps keep some brandy handy in case of the odd collapse.

It would be like head knocks on the pitch. Old buggers like us collapsing every week at strategic moments to score a winter warmer.

04-04-2024, 03:41 PM

Tickets for the he executive seats in the West for Saturday cost £37 without access to anything other than the pie stands.

In that context, £800 isn't overpriced.

ruthven_raiders
04-04-2024, 03:43 PM

Stadium was there well before those flats so shouldn't be a problem with any construction in that area

04-04-2024, 03:45 PM
Tickets for the he executive seats in the West for Saturday cost £37 without access to anything other than the pie stands.

In that context, £800 isn't overpriced.

Aye £37 for a comfy seat is even worse value without the overly expensive bar.

04-04-2024, 03:47 PM
2 floors of Shakespeare

All's well that ends well.

04-04-2024, 03:51 PM
Its far from being cheap. But they know they will sell based on the same set up in the Albion. You can actually still get the £800 option in the West. So I wouldn't be surprised if there are some space in the Famous Five padded seats for on the day hospitality.

I thought the West option would be sold out

I would have considered changing to the west but apparently there’s no handrail so FF seems the best if you’re with an OAP or whatever the politically correct term for my 74 year old Dad is

04-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Aye £37 for a comfy seat is even worse value without the overly expensive bar.

What are the bar prices? I couldn't find them.

04-04-2024, 04:50 PM

Already posted to say I thought this looks like Hibs have improved on an already great product from the Albion Bar. I stand by that but have only just seen the Terrace Experience that’s going to be purchasable on a game to game based and it looks another step up. It doesn’t seem to have a price point yet but looks like a special occasion option. Definitely tempted, just need the right occasion. With any luck HSL will buy a few seats and offer it up for members to win, similar to the Pioneers option. C’mon HSL you know it makes sense. 🤞🏻

scm70nyd1973
04-04-2024, 05:12 PM
I see Barrie Wilkins has tweeted about an even last night to unveil the plans for the North Stand (as he called it). Anyone there, anyone know anything about it?

I’m an old bit and still think of the North Stand as being the north section of the a west stand 🤭

pollution
04-04-2024, 05:54 PM
I’m an old bit and still think of the North Stand as being the north section of the a west stand 🤭

The north wing stand if I recall ?

04-04-2024, 07:20 PM
Stadium was there well before those flats so shouldn't be a problem with any construction in that area

There's probably a smaller gap between the flats overlooking the entrance to Hawkhill Close than there would be between the flats and any building we have in the north east corner.

Silversand
04-04-2024, 11:37 PM
All's well that ends well.The Merry Wives of the Windsor Buffet.

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

05-04-2024, 07:54 AM
All's well that ends well.

Much ado about nothing (apart from the price of the season tickets 😉)

05-04-2024, 08:11 AM

I think there might be an issue. The East Stand was built when it was, partly to take advantage of the low cost of materials at that time but also because the planning permission the club had previously got to build the East Stand was about to run out. The club were afraid if they let it run out there was a good chance the occupants of the flats would block it when they went to submit any plans in the future

05-04-2024, 08:22 AM
I think there might be an issue. The East Stand was built when it was, partly to take advantage of the low cost of materials at that time but also because the planning permission the club had previously got to build the East Stand was about to run out. The club were afraid if they let it run out there was a good chance the occupants of the flats would block it when they went to submit any plans in the future

Would that corner getting built on affect any of the flats?

05-04-2024, 08:29 AM
Is £44 a game good value for a padded seat and access to a bar? I don't think it's massively out based on what these things go for but I'm not sure in line with other pricing necessarily equates to good value.

If I upgraded the bairn and I to BTG then it would be £88 a game. As a comparison 2 premier seats at the Odeon next door to us is £22 total for an adult/child combo ticket for the 2.30pm showing on Saturday. The £66 leftover get us a decent lunch, a couple of pints for me and a couple of soft drinks for her and probably a couple of pound change. When you consider BTG has no inclusive drinks you are probably getting to £120-150 a game all in if people are having a couple of pints and lunch (and you would think most people would utilise the paid bar option because what would be the point otherwise).

I don't really care, it's money in the coffers for Hibs but I just think football in general is pretty terrible value for money. It's the emotive nature of the game that allows people to justify the cost, if you looked at it from a detached perspective I reckon most would agree £28+ for some games in the Scottish Premiership was very steep for what is on offer.

05-04-2024, 08:32 AM
Would that corner getting built on affect any of the flats?

Looks like it would

05-04-2024, 08:39 AM
Just build a new corner stand, at least the folk it affects will have a real view of the ground, not a tv picture as they look out their bedroom window. :wink:

05-04-2024, 08:40 AM
Looks like it would

Agreed, wouldn't significantly alter their view though and could be argued it would improve it. Would be far enough away that it shouldn't affect light into the flats either.

Stairway 2 7
05-04-2024, 09:27 AM
Looks like it would

Will the game be on, pitch looks terrible

stuart-farquhar
05-04-2024, 11:45 AM
I thought the West option would be sold out

I would have considered changing to the west but apparently there’s no handrail so FF seems the best if you’re with an OAP or whatever the politically correct term for my 74 year old Dad is

It's nothing to do with being PC. I'm in my 70's and if anything I prefer the 'senior' option.

Old age pensioner just grates. You have to be here I suppose. Anyway, must pop the kettle on and have a nap.

05-04-2024, 11:47 AM
Will the game be on, pitch looks terrible

😅

05-04-2024, 11:50 AM
If the Community Foundation are moving in here, what's going to happen with the South stand? Or do they just need more room?

ruthven_raiders
05-04-2024, 12:46 PM
[QUOTE=joe breezy;7626053]I thought the West option would be sold out

I had started a thread about hand rails for west stand, think emailing Hibs directly might be a way of asking if this could be considered.

05-04-2024, 01:23 PM
If the Community Foundation are moving in here, what's going to happen with the South stand? Or do they just need more room?

Corporate offering for the away fans, surely?

*I’ve not heard anything of this nature, merely speculating.

05-04-2024, 01:27 PM
What is the likelihood of a mural on the building opposite the West Stand on Albion road taking place as part of the works?

Would make a massive difference to the area, and its getting more & more common down South.

05-04-2024, 01:33 PM
What is the likelihood of a mural on the building opposite the West Stand on Albion road taking place as part of the works?

Would make a massive difference to the area, and its getting more & more common down South.

30 foot high Benny Brazil and Joe Tortolano Please :greengrin

05-04-2024, 01:39 PM
The Merry Wives of the Windsor Buffet.

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

05-04-2024, 01:52 PM

The community foundation hub is already in the FFS.

The Club offices are in the South Stand after moving there 2 years ago to accommodate the West Stand hospitality works.

05-04-2024, 04:28 PM
[QUOTE=joe breezy;7626053]I thought the West option would be sold out

I had started a thread about hand rails for west stand, think emailing Hibs directly might be a way of asking if this could be considered.

Thanks
Yeah - for now we will just keep our seats in the Famous Five
We have the best view of Arthur’s Seat so we can count the silhouettes of climbers when the games get unbearably boring

05-04-2024, 06:04 PM
Much ado about nothing (apart from the price of the season tickets 😉)

In typical Hibs style the whole scheme will end up a Comedy of Errors.

05-04-2024, 06:40 PM
In typical Hibs style the whole scheme will end up a Comedy of Errors.

I hope that's not As You Like It.

05-04-2024, 07:20 PM

Unfortunately (and stupidly) this isn’t how planning law works.