View Full Version : Congratulations Falkirk

31-03-2024, 11:30 AM
I know with the McGlynn factor and our spell as rivals in the championship they got an (undeserved in my opinion) surrogate Jambo rap, but zero defeats on the way to the flag is impressive, as are 2.5k for that division at Peterhead.

31-03-2024, 11:37 AM
Aye, they've never bothered me and they're too big to be in League One. Well done to them.

31-03-2024, 11:41 AM
And a splash of current and ex Hibees involved yesterday
Dylan Tait, wonder if they’ll try and sign him
Sean Mackie
Ryan Shanley, scored the 7th
Stephen McGinn 2nd half sub

31-03-2024, 12:24 PM
I know with the McGlynn factor and our spell as rivals in the championship they got an (undeserved in my opinion) surrogate Jambo rap, but zero defeats on the way to the flag is impressive, as are 2.5k for that division at Peterhead.

+1

31-03-2024, 12:29 PM
It's going to be a very competitive Championship next season with no obvious favourite.

31-03-2024, 12:30 PM
No

31-03-2024, 12:36 PM
Absolutely not. Bunch of roasters. Full time side of their ''size'' spending 5 years in league 1 is utterly embarrassing.

31-03-2024, 12:36 PM
It's going to be a very competitive Championship next season with no obvious favourite.

It is always competitive, because everyone is generally awful.

31-03-2024, 12:38 PM
Can’t stand Falkirk.

Hot tub humpties.

Trinity Hibee
31-03-2024, 12:38 PM
**** Falkirk

31-03-2024, 12:39 PM
**** Falkirk

Exactly.

31-03-2024, 12:59 PM
Can’t say I’m much of a fan of them in recent years but they’ve done very well this season, no doubt.

31-03-2024, 01:00 PM
Hope their crappy, tinpot three sided stadium is nowhere near the top flight til they get rid of that horrendous pitch and do something with that ridiculous bare side

HFC93
31-03-2024, 01:12 PM

10/10 trolling tbf.

Donegal Hibby
31-03-2024, 01:14 PM
Don't like Falkirk at all . Never have never will .

He's here!
31-03-2024, 01:17 PM
They were a bit of a bogey side for us during more than one era. Don't really mind them too much although I remember it being very satisfying to beat them to all but clinch the Championship title (Keatings scoring an absolute cracker).

31-03-2024, 01:24 PM
Well done them. Used to like old Brockville where there was quite an atmosphere back in the day and first class pies too.
Not so keen on their plastic stadium.

31-03-2024, 01:28 PM
Can’t say I have strong feelings either way about Falkirk. They are too big to be in League One. Fair play to them this season.

Paul1642
31-03-2024, 01:43 PM
The perceived rivalry some Hibs fans have with Falkirk is weird. We’ve been on top for them for 95% of our history and they simply never will be on our level.

As far as I’m considered they are a decent sided club from a big town which isn’t on the west coast. They get a semi decent turnout and I’ll take them moving up a league over anyone else in that league (Hamilton especially).

It speaks volumes that Falkirk’s average attendance this season has been almost 4x higher than the next highest in that league.

31-03-2024, 01:48 PM
Far rather have Falkirk back in the top flight than the likes of Livi or Ross County. Hopefully the plastic pitch will get ripped up if they ever do get back.

31-03-2024, 01:51 PM
Far rather have Falkirk back in the top flight than the likes of Livi or Ross County. Hopefully the plastic pitch will get ripped up if they ever do get back.

Is the rule not to have all grass pitches in the premiership from season 25/26?

31-03-2024, 01:52 PM
10/10 trolling tbf.

😉

31-03-2024, 02:15 PM
Some decent crowds against Dunfermline next season perhaps.

31-03-2024, 02:52 PM
Is the rule not to have all grass pitches in the premiership from season 25/26?

Aye I think it could be. Crazy that it was allowed in the first place.

31-03-2024, 02:59 PM
Not mad keen on Falkirk but I'd much prefer them, Raith Rovers, Dundee United, Airdrie etc in the Premiership than Livingston.

The Championship is a really entertaining league, there have been some great games this season and a decent run can propel teams from top to bottom very quickly (see Dunfermline) and vice versa. With Falkirk back in there it is only going to get more competitive.

Also going undefeated throughout an entire season is a great achievement at any level and it looks like they could do it.

I'm aware the OP was tongue in cheek btw.

31-03-2024, 03:02 PM
Some decent crowds against Dunfermline next season perhaps.

Hope Dunfermline smash them every game.

31-03-2024, 03:18 PM
I like playing them through there. Nice and easy to get to

31-03-2024, 04:00 PM
Not mad keen on Falkirk but I'd much prefer them, Raith Rovers, Dundee United, Airdrie etc in the Premiership than Livingston.

The Championship is a really entertaining league, there have been some great games this season and a decent run can propel teams from top to bottom very quickly (see Dunfermline) and vice versa. With Falkirk back in there it is only going to get more competitive.

Also going undefeated throughout an entire season is a great achievement at any level and it looks like they could do it.

I'm aware the OP was tongue in cheek btw.

Agree with all of that other than I’d potentially draw the line at Airdrie 😁… I get the point though.

31-03-2024, 04:38 PM
**** them

Remember them knocking us out a few cups and being a pest in the Championship

Only interested in Hibs

jakedance
31-03-2024, 05:04 PM
I quite enjoy not liking Falkirk so I’ll pass on this one

31-03-2024, 05:10 PM
I hate Falkirk

Some of my pals got attacked there years ago with bottles, chairs and glasses in a club - my pals were just there for a night out

I know one good person from there though so they’re not all bad apparently

I’ll wish them well against The Rangers, Hearts or Celtic but that’s it

31-03-2024, 05:19 PM
Haha it's league 1, they should never have been down there for that long, hardly worthy of highlighting as some impressive achievement.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
31-03-2024, 08:22 PM
**** those guys. Hope they go right back down. Then down again. And down again. And again. Etc.

Mcbizz1998
31-03-2024, 08:45 PM
A proper wee diddy club who want a rivalry with us and/or hearts. Finally out of league 1 and back where they belong, in the second tier. Bless ��

Green Man
01-04-2024, 12:02 AM
Falkirk’s time in League 1 has been brilliant entertainment, especially a couple of years ago when they were top for ages then blew it. Hopefully they can provide similar entertainment in the Championship.

Auckland Hibs
01-04-2024, 05:50 AM
Falkirk can **** off.

Tramps.

Hope they get relegated next season.

01-04-2024, 06:02 AM
Fought enough battles crossing their wee bridge in the early 70’s at half time to like them.

Not that I’m one to hold grudges……��

01-04-2024, 06:30 AM
Just another side taking advantage of a plastic pitch. No question Falkirk were once one of the top sides and carry a decent fan potential but they, quite literally, need to get back to grass roots.

01-04-2024, 06:43 AM
My sister in laws boyfriend is a big falkirk fan and is well chuffed they are out that league, don't care either way but their fans will be happy

01-04-2024, 07:18 AM
Fought enough battles crossing their wee bridge in the early 70’s at half time to like them.

Not that I’m one to hold grudges……��

Aye remember their one and only bog underneath their old rickety stand was like the black hole of Calcutta absolutely disgusting but par for the course in the seventies

Alfiembra
01-04-2024, 07:36 AM
Never quite understood the dislike of Falkirk from Hibs fans it certainly wasn’t reciprocated, I worked in Grangemouth for many years besides Falkirk ST holders and fans and for them Dunfermline was their big match and rivalry.

01-04-2024, 07:47 AM
Never quite understood the dislike of Falkirk from Hibs fans it certainly wasn’t reciprocated, I worked in Grangemouth for many years besides Falkirk ST holders and fans and for them Dunfermline was their big match and rivalry.

I think the side we faced in the championship and in that playoff were a bunch of cloggers, heavily assisted by inept referees. Much like Livingston are now, just as one example. It’s hard to love that anti-football and therefore the exponent. The reality is it is the best chance inferior sides have of surviving.

01-04-2024, 10:51 AM

It was pretty much a one-sided rivalry. Dunfermline only indulged them as Raith Rovers were washing their hair. (In the lower divisions).

01-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Was more that sour faced prickkk Houston that I didn't like but another plastic crap park, no thanks.

01-04-2024, 05:39 PM
I'm trying to recall clearly but did we not play them last game of the season when McLeish was manager? I seem to remember ex-hearts legend Scott Crabbe playing for them that day, we still beat them but we were already promoted anyway.

01-04-2024, 06:08 PM
I'm trying to recall clearly but did we not play them last game of the season when McLeish was manager? I seem to remember ex-hearts legend Scott Crabbe playing for them that day, we still beat them but we were already promoted anyway.

I definitely recall seeing us play Falkirk in last game of the season. Unless both of our memories are out!!

01-04-2024, 06:21 PM
Canny say Falkirk will ever bother me the way they seem to bother others.

I blame hibs for not being good enough to beat them when we were in the same league as them.

Meh

01-04-2024, 06:56 PM
The ultimate Championship club. Used to like their club badge shiny during the 90's Panini era for some reason.

01-04-2024, 07:32 PM
Can't stand Falkirk, never could. Going to their old Brockville ground was on a par with going to Broomfield - both were like a poor man's Ibrox.
Small time bigots, don't imagine they've changed.

01-04-2024, 07:49 PM
They still play that irritating song when they score.

***** unfinished stadium and a plastic pitch

Will be delighted when they get relegated next season.

4WAW
01-04-2024, 08:10 PM
Canny say Falkirk will ever bother me the way they seem to bother others.

I blame hibs for not being good enough to beat them when we were in the same league as them.

Meh

Same. I seem to recall they put six (6 I tell you, bordering on 7) past a team of poppy fund dodgers in the past and it happened on more than one occasion. Was Yogi not responsible for at least one of these full on gratuitous humpings as the manager at the time? I was also happy that Crunchie was a hero to both sets of fans.

PHeffernan
01-04-2024, 08:59 PM
The leagues are slowly getting sorted out for the better.
Dundee Utd and their 9,000 supporters for Livingston, their 1500 supporters and their plastic pitch will be a big upgrade to our top league.
Kilmarnock getting rid of their plastic pitch at the end of next season.
Hopefully plastic pitches outlawed in the top flight after that.

Falkirk and Dunfermline added to the Championship in the last year.
They will be the best two supported clubs in the Championship next season.
Both will have higher average supports than both Ross County and St Johnstone.

All good for Scottish football.

01-04-2024, 10:14 PM

Absolutely agree - congratulations to Falkirk FC - a team that have been unfairly kicked down on in the past IMO - due to over-harsh stadium restrictions mainly, when the min was 10,000 all seater to get in the SPL. They were knocked back twice for promotion because of that IIRC - but would have gained promotion with today's more realistic 6500 min req.

I also feel a kinship due to one Kevin McCallister - who starred for Hibs in one of the best teams Alex Miller put out after starting his career with Falkirk then playing down south with Chelsea for a while. Crunchie was a class act and a driving force in a team that also included Keith Wright, Michael O'Neil and Darren Jackson IIRC. When he went on to finish his career at Falkirk I always had my eye out for them.

02-04-2024, 06:40 AM
Same. I seem to recall they put six (6 I tell you, bordering on 7) past a team of poppy fund dodgers in the past and it happened on more than one occasion. Was Yogi not responsible for at least one of these full on gratuitous humpings as the manager at the time? I was also happy that Crunchie was a hero to both sets of fans.

Yogi was also Falkirk manager when they played us at ER which was famous for the worst refereeing performance I've seen at ER by Alan Freeland.

Trinity Hibee
02-04-2024, 06:49 AM
Yogi was also Falkirk manager when they played us at ER which was famous for the worst refereeing performance I've seen at ER by Alan Freeland.

Disgraceful performance that

02-04-2024, 07:56 AM
No ill feeling towards Falkirk at all. Loved Brockville and remember them always having a cracking team under Jim Jefferies. Decent fan base too. We also share an affection for Kevin McAllister as has been said. Would much rather the likes of Falkirk and Dunfermline were in the Premiership instead of Livingston or St Johnstone/Ross County. They gave us a few slaps in recent years, so what? That's what they were there to do.

02-04-2024, 08:14 AM
Can't stand Falkirk, never could. Going to their old Brockville ground was on a par with going to Broomfield - both were like a poor man's Ibrox.

I agree with you on that. The worst anti Irish, Anti Catholic bigotry I've encountered, apart from Ibrox and Rangers, was at the old Brockville.

02-04-2024, 08:58 AM

I agree with you on that. The worst anti Irish, Anti Catholic bigotry I've encountered, apart from Ibrox and Rangers, was at the old Brockville.

Pretty much my experience of old Brockville in the 70s and 80s.

I'd like to hope that their fans worldview has evolved and changed n the last few decades. The last time I was there was probably nearly 20 years ago after their new stadium had opened and tbh can't remember any sectarian stuff from them that day although I might be wrong.

02-04-2024, 02:23 PM
Yip! I remember it well, it got manager Mclean sacked, if I recall correctly!!!

02-04-2024, 02:59 PM
They're probably still celebrating their pavement dancing trophy from the nonsense that went on at the train station a few years ago, rodents.

02-04-2024, 04:21 PM
Surprisingly I don't actually mind McGlynn. Seems a good bloke that everyone who has worked with has nothing but good things to say about.

Falkirk can **** off though. Every year they bottled getting out that seaside league was a treat.

02-04-2024, 04:43 PM
They're probably still celebrating their pavement dancing trophy from the nonsense that went on at the train station a few years ago, rodents.

They were a bunch of kids. The biggest embarrassment that day was our 50+ year olds pavement dancing and getting battered.

02-04-2024, 07:28 PM
Cant think about Falkirk without remembering that handball in the first playoff match