View Full Version : Jair & Levitt
30-03-2024, 04:14 PM
Would be for sale in the summer if we have ambitions of improving as a team
Both came on today & made us worse
Thanks for your efforts in G&W but time to wish you well elsewhere I'm afraid
We're not far off being decent but what NM was thinking making jair his first go-to sub (when he is in charge of a decent bench) places a fresh question mark over his judgement
These 2 (jair & levitt) are not up to it
30-03-2024, 04:19 PM
Levitt is pound for pound one of the worst signings we’ve made in a long, long time.
30-03-2024, 04:21 PM
Get rid of both, simply not good enough and if Monty can't see it then he should go too, abysmal players
How do we get rid of them? Awful signings, to add to a long long list of awful signings over the past few years.
Both absolutely rotten.
Struggle to get rid in the summer as well I'd imagine.
30-03-2024, 04:22 PM
They will not be at Easter Road next season.
30-03-2024, 04:26 PM
Hope not 👍
30-03-2024, 04:30 PM
When posters were clamouring on here to sign Levitt I had no recollection of him doing anything at Dundee United. That has continued this season.
30-03-2024, 04:40 PM
We have to call it quits with Jair. Putting him on every week unnecessary adds panic and incohesion to the side at a key part of the game.
It feels like a contractual obligation to bring him on and it's getting beyond a joke.
McGruber
30-03-2024, 04:41 PM
When posters were clamouring on here to sign Levitt I had no recollection of him doing anything at Dundee United. That has continued this season.
To be fair, he's not with them anymore
30-03-2024, 04:42 PM
To be fair, he's not with them anymore
Are you sure:greengrin
30-03-2024, 04:43 PM
We have to call it quits with Jair. Putting him on every week unnecessary adds panic and incohesion to the side at a key part of the game.
It feels like a contractual obligation to bring him on and it's getting beyond a joke.
We don’t bring him every week though?
Chucking him on at Ibrox is a strange one imo, probably down to Boyle not being fit.
I still think there’s a player in Tavares, I really want him to do well for us. He showed some extended quality when Montgomery first came in.
30-03-2024, 04:46 PM
No idea why we signed Mayenda when we just keep bringing on Tavares.
30-03-2024, 04:53 PM
The pair of them are absolutely woeful players. 100% get rid of them.
Jair balloons a great chance to equalise and Levitt completely miss controls on the edge of the box in acres of space with a chance to get a shot away. Dreadful.
30-03-2024, 05:03 PM
Chucking him on at Ibrox is a strange one imo, probably down to Boyle not being fit.
I still think there’s a player in Tavares, I really want him to do well for us. He showed some extended quality when Montgomery first came in.
There is absolutely, under no circumstances, a player in Tavares that is good enough to play for Hibs. If Montgomery chooses to play him again over any other wide option then he's basically asking for the sack because the only thing he'll contribute to is us losing points.
30-03-2024, 05:12 PM
There is absolutely, under no circumstances, a player in Tavares that is good enough to play for Hibs. If Montgomery chooses to play him again over any other wide option then he's basically asking for the sack because the only thing he'll contribute to is us losing points.
I don’t agree in the slightest, he gets a really ****ing hard time from some fans because of the way his career started at Hibs, he gets wee snippets of play time which is no good to anyone.
The idea he comes on the pitch and losses us points is just proof to me that his bar is a lot higher than other players.
30-03-2024, 05:13 PM
Yep. Never understood it.
Coach Jon
30-03-2024, 05:14 PM
Totally out of their depth today, and I think you would struggle to find a Hibs supporter who would have thought that they would do anything when they entered the game today, cant understand why they were involved.
30-03-2024, 05:35 PM
Add youan to that. With the ball he’s 50/50, without he’s absolutely f’n useless.
30-03-2024, 05:37 PM
Add youan to that. With the ball he’s 50/50, without he’s absolutely f’n useless.
Pish.
Youan tracked back plenty today and made a few decent blocks.
30-03-2024, 05:39 PM
I don’t agree in the slightest, he gets a really ****ing hard time from some fans because of the way his career started at Hibs, he gets wee snippets of play time which is no good to anyone.
The idea he comes on the pitch and losses us points is just proof to me that his bar is a lot higher than other players.
I thought the laddie done well when he first came back into the side and I was desperate for him to do well. But he's been a hopeless passenger now for about 4/5 months. He gets a hard time now because he's not capable of contributing anything whatsoever.
30-03-2024, 05:39 PM
Mind blowing when I saw Jair coming on. The guys not good enough by a mile. As others have said he won't be at Easter Road next year. Levitt has at least shown alot more than Jair has.
MikeyS
30-03-2024, 05:41 PM
Levitt is a strange one, clearly talented bit doesn't have the desire for it I feel.
Jair, however, he's incredibly out of his depth.hes making me pine for the days of Roy O'Donovan, Matt Thornhill & Tom Soares!
HIBS NUTS
30-03-2024, 05:43 PM
Youan was fine today .
Jair was a man down, offers nothing, and runs about aimlessly, with no end product on any occasions, his shot at goal was utterly pathetic he panicked as usual.
Can’t believe anyone still thinks he deserves any game time.
I thought the laddie done well when he first came back into the side and I was desperate for him to do well. But he's been a hopeless passenger now for about 4/5 months. He gets a hard time now because he's not capable of contributing anything whatsoever.
This. I was hoping Jair would come good and for a while he showed one or 2 glimpses, but he's been ***** for a while now and he shouldn't be getting a game at the moment he's contributing virtually nothing.
Levitt is a strange one, clearly talented bit doesn't have the desire for it I feel.
Jair, however, he's incredibly out of his depth.hes making me pine for the days of Roy O'Donovan, Matt Thornhill & Tom Soares!
😂 unreal levels of bollocks.
Donegal Hibby
Pish.
Put in a good shift today and chipped in with another assist in all .
I admit that I just cannot understand the logic behind bringing on Jair as an ‘impact’ sub when chasing the game against Rangers at Ibrox.
He contributed close to zero…other than a couple of spirited appeals for throw ins.
Keyser Sauzee
30-03-2024, 05:49 PM
Someone said on here a few months back that they thought Jair would get us our highest transfer fee and we were lucky to have him, which was an absolutely mental take. The guy has nowhere near enough ability to play football for an SPL team, he basically hid when he came on today. His performances when the manager first came in improved, but not to the level where he was showing that he could cut it at this level. Best to admit it’s not going to workout now and release him at the end of the season.
30-03-2024, 05:51 PM
Bringing Jair on made a mess of things. He went too early with the changes IMO.
We then took Youan off when I didn’t think we should have. He still had running in him. Maolida was absolutely done (which he would be having not had anything to eat or drink since 5 o’clock this morning).
30-03-2024, 05:58 PM
Pish.
Nah. Not having it. Boyle came on and within 2 mins had made a better defensive run than he has since he joined.
MikeyS
30-03-2024, 06:01 PM
😂 unreal levels of bollocks.
Do you still forsee him bringing in our highest transfer fee?? I'd suggest that looking at the majority of posts here today It's yourself that's talking bollocks.
30-03-2024, 06:01 PM
Nah. Not having it. Boyle came on and within 2 mins had made a better defensive run than he has since he joined.
I actually think Elie did track his man often, the problem was he also fell asleep and let them overload us on Cadden's side. You can perhaps get away with that hosting Motherwell or Livingston but when you do it versus Rangers at Ibrox they're going to punish you. Tavs goal was pretty much because Lundstram had the freedom of Glasgow to swing a ball into the box unchallenged.
However the same goes for Maolida on the other side for Dessers goal as I think he lets his man run freely down the wings as well with just 30 seconds left in the half.
30-03-2024, 06:04 PM
I actually think Elie did track his man often, the problem was he also fell asleep and let them overload us on Cadden's side. You can perhaps get away with that hosting Motherwell or Livingston but when you do it versus Rangers at Ibrox they're going to punish you. Tavs goal was pretty much because Lundstram had the freedom of Glasgow to swing a ball into the box unchallenged.
However the same goes for Maolida on the other side for Dessers goal as I think he lets his man run freely down the wings as well with just 30 seconds left in the half.
Yet it's constantly Youan that gets called out for being lazy, a *****bag, doesn't care etc.
It's just nonsense. It seems so ingrained now though that folk just won't change their opinion.
30-03-2024, 06:09 PM
Yet it's constantly Youan that gets called out for being lazy, a *****bag, doesn't care etc.
It's just nonsense. It seems so ingrained now though that folk just won't change their opinion.
It’s not nonsense. He’s a luxury player. You can claim he’s got goals and assists blah blah…. For every goal and assist he’s let umpteen players run past him, played a stupid pass, not read the game, stood still….
30-03-2024, 06:12 PM
It’s not nonsense. He’s a luxury player. You can claim he’s got goals and assists blah blah…. For every goal and assist he’s let umpteen players run past him, played a stupid pass, not read the game, stood still….
Hahaha what?? What do you want from your forward players?
He's not a good defender. Never ever will be. How good at defending is Saka, Rashford, Son, Sterling, Sane... the list goes on.
30-03-2024, 06:17 PM
He's not a good defender. Never ever will be. How good at defending is Saka, Rashford, Son, Sterling, Sane... the list goes on.
You’re laughing at me? I’m not sure a sane individual can compare youan with the players mentioned - and for the avoidance of doubt - every player you’ve named puts a shift in off the ball.
30-03-2024, 06:21 PM
You’re laughing at me? I’m not sure a sane individual can compare youan with the players mentioned - and for the avoidance of doubt - every player you’ve named puts a shift in off the ball.
They put in a shift exactly the same way Youan did today. Not a single one of the players mentioned are good at the defensive side of the game and not a single fan of their teams will criticise them for that. Because they provide goals and assists. Shockingly, as Youan does consistently for us.
30-03-2024, 06:26 PM
They put in a shift exactly the same way Youan did today. Not a single one of the players mentioned are good at the defensive side of the game and not a single fan of their teams will criticise them for that. Because they provide goals and assists. Shockingly, as Youan does consistently for us.
😂 well apart from not agreeing on defensive side of the game - son is phenomenal all round. They’re also considered to be world level at what they’re supposed to do. If youan was great at what he was supposed to do, I wouldn’t be aggrieved, would I?
30-03-2024, 06:29 PM
😂 well apart from not agreeing on defensive side of the game - son is phenomenal all round. They’re also considered to be world level at what they’re supposed to do. If youan was great at what he was supposed to do, I wouldn’t be aggrieved, would I?
Youan is in the team to score and assist, you genuinely don't think he's great at that?
Folk expect him to be this complete player. When is the last time Hibs had a complete player like that? You could even argue McGinn wasn't that player cause he didn't score or assist a lot.
LewysGot2
30-03-2024, 06:30 PM
To be fair, at the game, the announcer said "Dylan Leave It"
Unfortunately, he did.
Jair is too one paced and too lightweight for the job required today.
The Thes also had us with Emiliano Hansen starting for us. The Marcondes version didn't really turn up...
30-03-2024, 06:33 PM
Youan is in the team to score and assist, you genuinely don't think he's great at that?
Folk expect him to be this complete player. When is the last time Hibs had a complete player like that? You could even argue McGinn wasn't that player cause he didn't score or assist a lot.
I genuinely don’t. He can have moments. We can’t afford to play someone for moments.
Listen, I love your passion for the guy - I’ve just never been a fan.
30-03-2024, 06:37 PM
I genuinely don’t. He can have moments. We can’t afford to play someone for moments.
Listen, I love your passion for the guy - I’ve just never been a fan.
He's played 77 games for us and been involved in 36 goals. Come on, that's a good return.
But aye, back to the point of this post. Sooner Jair and Levitt leave the better I reckon.
JKeatings
30-03-2024, 06:43 PM
levitts here for the long run, biggest contract he will get
30-03-2024, 06:43 PM
Someone said on here a few months back that they thought Jair would get us our highest transfer fee and we were lucky to have him, which was an absolutely mental take. The guy has nowhere near enough ability to play football for an SPL team, he basically hid when he came on today. His performances when the manager first came in improved, but not to the level where he was showing that he could cut it at this level. Best to admit it’s not going to workout now and release him at the end of the season.
That was me. A little bit of Dutch courage had been taken at the time but I still believe he can be a player for us.
30-03-2024, 06:44 PM
Do you still forsee him bringing in our highest transfer fee?? I'd suggest that looking at the majority of posts here today It's yourself that's talking bollocks.
I knew that could come back eventually! As I say I’d maybe had a few too many when I said that.
I just want to laddie to succeed, and I genuinely still think he could.
30-03-2024, 06:50 PM
levitts here for the long run, biggest contract he will get
I really hope we can do something to move him on in the summer. Hopefully some kind of interest in him down south or whatever. He really annoys me as a player.
raeburnhibs
30-03-2024, 06:51 PM
pretty poor comment
30-03-2024, 06:56 PM
pretty poor comment
👍 you can read all about my poor rational too.
30-03-2024, 06:58 PM
He's played 77 games for us and been involved in 36 goals. Come on, that's a good return.
But aye, back to the point of this post. Sooner Jair and Levitt leave the better I reckon.
Yeah, I actually feel sorry for Jair. Rabbit in the headlights, nowhere near good enough. I’ve a funny feeling Levitt might end up being one of those players that does it for another team, however I totally agree that we should be looking to move on.
raeburnhibs
30-03-2024, 06:59 PM
👍 you can read all about my poor rational too.
The thread is about Jair and Levitt. Youan is head and shoulders better than both. How many goals and assists does he have this season?
30-03-2024, 07:03 PM
The thread is about Jair and Levitt. Youan is head and shoulders better than both. How many goals and assists does he have this season?
🥱
30-03-2024, 07:03 PM
Those two defo on my current out list which also includes
I’ll add no vendetta just who I think will and should be moved on to pastures new
Tavares
Levitt
Hanlon
Stevenson
Mayenda
Henderson
Tait
Mackay
Doyle-Hayes
McClelland (defender)
Marshall
Amos (if can’t get fit)
raeburnhibs
30-03-2024, 07:04 PM
🥱
you're the bore mate
30-03-2024, 07:05 PM
you're the bore mate
It’s a bloody fans forum mate. It’s all subjective. If people didn’t have opinions, it would be completely pointless……..
raeburnhibs
30-03-2024, 07:10 PM
It’s a bloody fans forum mate. It’s all subjective. If people didn’t have opinions, it would be completely pointless……..
you chose to avoid answering the question, which says it all really. He has 9 goals and 8 assists, but let's get shot....anyways have a good one
30-03-2024, 07:12 PM
you chose to avoid answering the question, which says it all really. He has 9 goals and 8 assists, but let's get shot....anyways have a good one
I chose to ignore your question as I’ve just discussed why I feel that way with someone else, who’s of the same thinking as you.
30-03-2024, 07:21 PM
Life is too short to hate players who won't be here next season
30-03-2024, 07:23 PM
They both have two years left. Can’t see anyone queuing up to take them off our hands unfortunately.
30-03-2024, 07:25 PM
Life's too short to hate players!
MikeyS
30-03-2024, 07:40 PM
I knew that could come back eventually! As I say I’d maybe had a few too many when I said that.
I just want to laddie to succeed, and I genuinely still think he could.
Ultimately that's what we all want mate :aok: and it's actually quite admirable your still backing him. I just reckon that we've seen all we are going to with Jair and it's been a massive disappointment
30-03-2024, 07:46 PM
Life's too short to hate players!
Yup
30-03-2024, 07:49 PM
Youan was fine today .
Jair was a man down, offers nothing, and runs about aimlessly, with no end product on any occasions, his shot at goal was utterly pathetic he panicked as usual.
Can’t believe anyone still thinks he deserves any game time.
Bollocks, he shat it from at least 4 50/50s today, as well as giving the ball away and then there's the needless corner he gave away in the 2nd half too. He was in no way fine at all.
30-03-2024, 07:52 PM
Bollocks, he shat it from at least 4 50/50s today, as well as giving the ball away and then there's the needless corner he gave away in the 2nd half too. He was in no way fine at all.
He was fine in the way he set up our goal. Again.
Levitt was fairly decent in his loan spell at United but was bang average when they got relegated last season, he's continued his downward trajectory this season, he'll be playing English league 1 next season. Jair is one of those players that looks great against similar aged players but struggles when they step up to the big boys league, we've had a few who look great in the U18's but never take the next step.
Hibees1973
30-03-2024, 08:02 PM
That was me. A little bit of Dutch courage had been taken at the time but I still believe he can be a player for us.
Credit to you Jones for sticking to your guns.
Most of us have posted a comment on here which gives us notoriety. This is one I remember and is definitely yours. Every time I see Jair in a Hibs jersey I recollect your comment. It was a hibs.net gem.
If Jair is sold for more than we got for Scott Brown (think it was £4.4m), you would have every right to start a thread on it's own giving it GIRFUY.
30-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Again it comes down to what people expect from a Hibs player. If you're expecting your wingers to be as effective defensively as they are offensively (the reason they're in the team) then you're never ever going to be satisfied with our wingers. It just won't happen.
Seems to me that folk are expecting a lot more out of Youan than they do most other players in the squad. May as well slate Rocky for not having a goal for us yet whilst we're at it.
'As well as giving the ball away' wow. No Hibs player should ever do that.
The corner thing was dumb, can't argue with that and he probably could have went in for a couple 50/50's with a bit more determination. But the guy's in the team to score or assist. He does it regularly.
30-03-2024, 08:09 PM
I was delighted when we signed Levitt, I thought he'd shine at Hibs but it's just not happened for him here. He's miles off a top four midfielder and on the majority of his appearances this season, I'm not convinced he's a Premiership midfielder.
Jair shouldn't be anywhere near the team based on his performances after the initial couple when he got his chance.
Chorley Hibee
30-03-2024, 08:12 PM
Youan is one of our best players, full stop.
Perfect, not by any means, but miles and miles ahead of Jair and Levitt any day of the week.
30-03-2024, 08:19 PM
Youan is one of our best players, full stop.
Perfect, not by any means, but miles and miles ahead of Jair and Levitt any day of the week.
Youan is frustrating but he impacts games in the final third. He’s never going to win a 50/50 but I didn’t have any issue with his work rate today.
Bringing Jair on was stupidity. He’s so ineffective you’re basically playing with 10 men. You’re taking off multiple players who are better than him.
The decision to take Youan off was also daft. Maolida was clearly absolutely done in and could hardly move by then. Poor subs today.
30-03-2024, 08:21 PM
Credit to you Jones for sticking to your guns.
Most of us have posted a comment on here which gives us notoriety. This is one I remember and is definitely yours. Every time I see Jair in a Hibs jersey I recollect your comment. It was a hibs.net gem.
If Jair is sold for more than we got for Scott Brown (think it was £4.4m), you would have every right to start a thread on it's own giving it GIRFUY.
Nah, it was 200k no?
30-03-2024, 08:24 PM
You've named plenty guys who are good helping their defenders. Saka played half a season at left wing back for Arsenal. Son works like **** for his team.
30-03-2024, 08:26 PM
You've named plenty guys who are good helping their defenders. Saka played half a season at left wing back for Arsenal. Son works like **** for his team.
Saka is honking at defending, you just love Arsenal. Son might work like **** but he's also honking at defending.
Hibees1973
30-03-2024, 08:28 PM
Nah, it was 200k no?
30-03-2024, 08:31 PM
I think Jair has already shown this season that he is a great player to have in the squad (eg home match v Motherwell in January when he was a level above anyone else in either team ) . Was doing really well till new players arrived in winter window when he was relegated to bench . Can understand why big new January signings got their chance ahead of Jair but think it`s a bit unfair to now judge him on short sub performances in a losing team like today . Levitt ? I`m not so sure but again suspect he would be better if given a proper chance to prove what he`s worth .
As for bringing Youan into thread , what are people expecting ? Would hate to see Hibs next season with no Youan , Jair or Myziane as I can`t see us signing much more entertaining players .
30-03-2024, 08:34 PM
Saka is honking at defending, you just love Arsenal. Son might work like **** but he's also honking at defending.
I don't love Arsenal. What a dumb thing to say. I've complemented a ****ing spurs player. I'm a Hibs supporter.
That's just nonsense. Yes, both are bad at defending 1 on 1 Vs a winger. But both press when they are supposed to, cover their space, hold the shape etc. Hibs wingers are largely headless chickens without the ball. There is a lot more to defending than tackling etc. you don't play for top sides without doing your job without the ball.
Hibs are so easy to get "out" against. We never really keep teams under consistent pressure.
30-03-2024, 08:37 PM
I don't love Arsenal. What a dumb thing to say. I've complemented a ****ing spurs player. I'm a Hibs supporter.
That's just nonsense. Yes, both are bad at defending 1 on 1 Vs a winger. But both press when they are supposed to, cover their space, hold the shape etc. Hibs wingers are largely headless chickens without the ball.
You're at the very least fond of Arsenal. Didn't say you dislike Spurs, they don't go hand in hand unless you're a mentalist.
Youan pressed today and made a few good blocks. He's just as good at the defensive side of the game as Boyle or Maolida, but he get's lambasted much more than they do.
30-03-2024, 08:39 PM
Ultimately that's what we all want mate :aok: and it's actually quite admirable your still backing him. I just reckon that we've seen all we are going to with Jair and it's been a massive disappointment
We all do Mikey, imo it’s a Johnson legacy of giving him the big build up and the number ten jersey that’s contributed to it.
I don’t blame anyone who doesn’t think he’s good enough in fairness, it’s just my opinion that his expectations were set way too high from the off.
30-03-2024, 08:41 PM
You're at the very least fond of Arsenal. Didn't say you dislike Spurs, they don't go hand in hand unless you're a mentalist.
Youan pressed today and made a few good blocks. He's just as good at the defensive side of the game as Boyle or Maolida, but he get's lambasted much more than they do.
Youan does press a bit and makes a few good blocks. He nor any of our players really do it consistently. I'm not personally singling out Youan. Him, Boyle, and Vente have put us under constant pressure Vs better teams this season by not holding it as well.
We are generally abysmal off the ball.
30-03-2024, 08:42 PM
We all do Mikey, imo it’s a Johnson legacy of giving him the big build up and the number ten jersey that’s contributed to it.
I don’t blame anyone who doesn’t think he’s good enough in fairness, it’s just my opinion that his expectations were set way too high from the off.
The number 10 jersey that the player didn't even want.
I don't blame Jair at all. He just isn't good enough to play at this level. I don't doubt he tries, trains well and is a good guy etc. But none of that really matters. What matters is ability and he just doesn't have enough of it.
30-03-2024, 08:47 PM
He’s absolutely nowhere near boyle’s level without the ball mate. Sorry to chip in again but he’s not a patch. Boyle without the ball will burst a gut all game for his colleagues.
30-03-2024, 08:52 PM
I’ve a feeling it’s mibbie just me and you on this one. I think he needs to settle down, possibly trying too hard? But if Raimundo can’t sort him out the fair enough. I thought he looked lively after a fluffed start against Raith. Well taken goal and cross of Hanlons headed goal on a plate. Needs to show more in the first team appearances.
Is his partner Portugueses or Scottish? Becoming a first time dad is a big deal. But I don’t expect much in the way of understanding here… Players are robots.
30-03-2024, 08:54 PM
He’s absolutely nowhere near boyle’s level without the ball mate. Sorry to chip in again but he’s not a patch. Boyle without the ball will burst a gut all game for his colleagues.
Nothing to be sorry about, chip in, whole point in the place.
I think Boyle maybe gets back in support more, but I think Youan, when he does it, is more effective at stopping crosses and making tackles.
30-03-2024, 08:54 PM
The number 10 jersey that the player didn't even want.
I don't blame Jair at all. He just isn't good enough to play at this level. I don't doubt he tries, trains well and is a good guy etc. But none of that really matters. What matters is ability and he just doesn't have enough of it.
I genuinely would urge some to rewatch the Celtic game at ER, which I think might have been his last start, and ask what he did wrong.
He’s being touted for goal of the season on another thread.
30-03-2024, 09:11 PM
I genuinely would urge some to rewatch the Celtic game at ER, which I think might have been his last start, and ask what he did wrong.
He’s being touted for goal of the season on another thread.
Hyped and thrown under a bus my our former manager who is now without a club and punting content on Linked-In (wonder what the take up has been)?
The Baldmans Comb
31-03-2024, 02:33 AM
Jair as a rub a dub dub and then somehow gets on the pitch to save the game.
Ever thought you were being totally and utterly "played" and it's maybe what all of us deserve. 🤔
31-03-2024, 02:46 AM
Yoan is our top goal scorer with 8 goals and top goal maker with 10 assists. He maybe extremely frustrating and capable of alot more but he is far from useless .
CallumHibs07
31-03-2024, 04:41 AM
2 players with the heart of a mouse and you bring them on at Ibrox when we're chasing the game? shocking awareness from NM. Giving far too many chances to players who clearly arent good enough and its cost us a lot of points.
31-03-2024, 08:38 AM
I'm sorry but he is brutal.
7Hero
31-03-2024, 08:51 AM
As long as Ian Gordon is in charge of the football department we will continue to sign awful players, we need someone running that department with football knowledge, not the owner of the football club.
31-03-2024, 09:05 AM
Just when Monty is giving me more confidence in him again, he continues to make daft substitutions and show blind faith in players that a blind man can see aren't good enough.
It's just like the 442 formation all over again. The entire fan base can see it's not working but why cant he? At least he eventually changed that but the season was dead by the time he did.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
31-03-2024, 09:55 AM
I was delighted when we signed Levitt, I thought he'd shine at Hibs but it's just not happened for him here. He's miles off a top four midfielder and on the majority of his appearances this season, I'm not convinced he's a Premiership midfielder.
Jair shouldn't be anywhere near the team based on his performances after the initial couple when he got his chance.
Kind of where i am very frustrating with Levitt as clearly has stacks of ability. Makes no sense Jair coming on for a significant part of the game at all as struggle to see what he offers bar giving the ball away and making us weaker. Youan should have stayed on.
Donegal Hibby
31-03-2024, 10:06 AM
As long as Ian Gordon is in charge of the football department we will continue to sign awful players, we need someone running that department with football knowledge, not the owner of the football club.
You mean like Brian McDermott ? 🤔 .
31-03-2024, 10:20 AM
Indeed
whiskas
31-03-2024, 10:29 AM
Kind of where i am very frustrating with Levitt as clearly has stacks of ability. Makes no sense Jair coming on for a significant part of the game at all as struggle to see what he offers bar giving the ball away and making us weaker. Youan should have stayed on.
For me that's the frustrating thing about them. They do have evident ability (as their end-of-season Youtube showreels will no doubt highlight) but a) Levitt always looks for the risky forward pass forward which is great on the 1/10 times it comes off but the other 9/10 he's basically gifting possession.
b) Jair is too lightweight for this league, physically and mentally. Also can't believe he's 23 so is at a point in his career where he really needs to be kicking on.
Other teams know this too- against Livi he was hit early doors and then spent the next 30 mins hobbling along the touchline or getting kicked.
I think both players would do well to look at the likes of Marcondes, Maolida and Youan on how to use their undoubted talent to influence games (and take a sore one and get back on it).
Sssshhhh! He has an agenda and must have a dig at the club whenever possible, even though his facts are wrong.
31-03-2024, 12:29 PM
Months stubborness with formations was the first thing
The stubborness now is the continued loyalty or chances to players who are well below the standard
Don’t understand us signing the boy from Sunderland when golden boy Tavares keeps getting chance after chance
31-03-2024, 12:41 PM
Months stubborness with formations was the first thing
The stubborness now is the continued loyalty or chances to players who are well below the standard
Don’t understand us signing the boy from Sunderland when golden boy Tavares keeps getting chance after chance
Golden boy 😂
He’s under contract for another 2 years at least, and the loanee is a striker not a winger.
31-03-2024, 12:42 PM
Golden boy 😂
He’s under contract for another 2 years at least, and the loanee is a striker not a winger.
Mayenda has started one game for us and it was on the left wing.
31-03-2024, 12:51 PM
If you are a good player with a bit of desire, you will always be better than a good player without it.
And thats why neither will make it at Hibs or any team at our level.
31-03-2024, 05:26 PM
If you are a good player with a bit of desire, you will always be better than a good player without it.
And thats why neither will make it at Hibs or any team at our level.This sums the two of them up bang on if you ask me.
Add to that, Levitt must be the least athletic professional midfielder I've ever seen at this level, not an ounce of exaggeration there. I still can't get out my head his embarrassing attempt to track Miovski for his goal when the Dons put us out the League cup. Towing a caravan doesn't even begin to describe it.
31-03-2024, 08:19 PM
This sums the two of them up bang on if you ask me.
Add to that, Levitt must be the least athletic professional midfielder I've ever seen at this level, not an ounce of exaggeration there. I still can't get out my head his embarrassing attempt to track Miovski for his goal when the Dons put us out the League cup. Towing a caravan doesn't even begin to describe it.
Whilst I agree with the general point that he isnt very mobile, there were at least 2 other players more to blame than Levitt for that goal - Obita being the main culprit. Levitt had no chance of getting to Miovski even if he was the fastest player in the team.
31-03-2024, 08:55 PM
Whilst I agree with the general point that he isnt very mobile, there were at least 2 other players more to blame than Levitt for that goal - Obita being the main culprit. Levitt had no chance of getting to Miovski even if he was the fastest player in the team.Oh yeh don't get me wrong, he was not the main culprit in us losing that goal but more that the situation highlighted just how off the pace he is athletically speaking.
I do think that a more athletic player would have been able to get back and cover that chance, an Obita for example.
01-04-2024, 05:34 AM
Jair has been given enough minutes to show that’s he’s nowhere near the level required. Please spare me the usual young player, settling abroad etc etc. Another experiment gone wrong, hopefully we can get rid of him in the summer, no doubt he’ll need paid off.
01-04-2024, 06:50 AM
Putting Levitt in the same bracket at Jair is very unfair. We certainly don’t see the best in Levitt within this team and structure. But he clearly has ability. Jair simply isn’t very good and it’s the major negative I have against the coaching staff. I cannot understand how he gets game time whilst we send Rudi to Stirling.
01-04-2024, 07:04 AM
Putting Levitt in the same bracket at Jair is very unfair. We certainly don’t see the best in Levitt within this team and structure. But he clearly has ability. Jair simply isn’t very good and it’s the major negative I have against the coaching staff. I cannot understand how he gets game time whilst we send Rudi to Stirling.
If Hibs ever start a team up in a walking football league, Levitt would be a star man. If he can up his game at pointing, he might erase Ross Chisholm from my mind too.
01-04-2024, 07:08 AM
Worrying that NM cannot see what everyone else can see regarding Jair it is like the Emperor has got no clothes
Bringing on Jair at Ibrox before Boyle was unbelievable
Jair has had enough chances and is not up to scratch at our level unfortunately
No end product and too weak physically
01-04-2024, 07:15 AM
I’m a supporter of Monty, but even I can see that trying to resurrect Jair’s career is only harming his own.
Jair wouldn’t get a game with any other team in our division……..he’s no doubt a lovely lad, but he’s just not suited to this level.
01-04-2024, 08:17 AM
Worrying that NM cannot see what everyone else can see regarding Jair it is like the Emperor has got no clothes
Bringing on Jair at Ibrox before Boyle was unbelievable
Jair has had enough chances and is not up to scratch at our level unfortunately
No end product and too weak physically
It's that kind of bizarreness that ends up getting a manager the sack. Jair before Boyle, totally ridiculous.
01-04-2024, 08:20 AM
It's that kind of bizarreness that ends up getting a manager the sack. Jair before Boyle, totally ridiculous.
Fitba folk ken 😀
Slim Shady
01-04-2024, 09:21 AM
Why not?
Theyre both on long term contracts with large weekly wage. They wont be leaving on frees and whos going to take them?
01-04-2024, 09:24 AM
🥱
Stay on topic. Troll Youan elsewhere.
01-04-2024, 09:48 AM
Why not?
Theyre both on long term contracts with large weekly wage. They wont be leaving on frees and whos going to take them?
We could just pay up their contracts and let them move on with their careers?
Might cost us a bit but be better for us in the long run.
No point keeping players around who won't get game time. There's always other clubs out there and we've managed to shift on plenty of players we didn't fancy over the years.
EGL2000
01-04-2024, 10:11 AM
The player who has by far the best goal contributions in our squad?
EGL2000
01-04-2024, 10:15 AM
That makes him worse in my opinion does have some ability but hardly ever shows anything. Absolutely no pace can't tackle and the amazing passing and long shots he was brought in for you hardly ever see. Pretty obvious on the Rudi front for me they want him to develop with maximum game time which we can't guarantee him here. He's played very little senior football so loan him out to get that experience. Instead of sub cameos here and there with us. Right now he can't even get a start for Stirling!
LeithMike
01-04-2024, 11:32 AM
Jair - I think it’s fairly clear that he has ability. It is very much a confidence player. That seems to have been seriously eroded over the winter and you could see him running into crowded areas to avoid getting the ball. He has something about him so not sure he should bye written off like he has but if we are going to challenge higher in the league then we need someone who can maintain their confidence during rough props which inevitably come.
Levitt - I think he’s shown enough to say that in the right midfield he’ll contribute. He’s certainly not a 6 or 8 but I think he’s probably got the game to play 10. Don’t ever see him in a competitive midfield together with Newell though. I think he has s’more to his forward game though. We should be careful of judging prematurely though. I remember Scott Allan looking dreadful in a midfield with Josh Vela and Stevie Mallan but that was because the balance was completely wrong and none of them could actually run. New 6, NMW and Levitt would be ok for me with a robust #9 to hold the ball up.
01-04-2024, 12:04 PM
Just when Monty is giving me more confidence in him again, he continues to make daft substitutions and show blind faith in players that a blind man can see aren't good enough.
It's just like the 442 formation all over again. The entire fan base can see it's not working but why cant he? At least he eventually changed that but the season was dead by the time he did.
Bringing Jair on when Boyles on the bench must be one of the stupidest subs i can remember.
01-04-2024, 12:10 PM
Based on what they've offered this season it's absolutely fair to have them in the same bracket. Played almost the same amount of minutes as well.
If we don't see the best of Levitt in this team or structure then we likely never will.
01-04-2024, 12:16 PM
Bringing Jair on when Boyles on the bench must be one of the stupidest subs i can remember.
I can only guess that they had a maximum amount of the game they were prepared to let Boyle play for fitness reasons and felt they needed to make a sub prior to that.
It made absolutely no sense otherwise, so bad that you have to suspect there was a reason none of us would be likely to know about.
01-04-2024, 12:23 PM
I was delighted when we signed Levitt. But the reality of it is the guy has been so slow and switched off when off the ball, and other than a couple of Hollywood passes that show he can strike a ball he’s lacked any real level of quality when in possession.
If I’m honest there isn’t a lot of hope from my end that he can turn his Hibs career around now. The best he has is if he ends up as a number 10 when Marcondes leaves.
01-04-2024, 12:32 PM
Seems to make subs just for the sake of it at the stupidest times without really thinking about it thinks nothing of pulling someone off when they are having a good game disrupting the flow of the team
Youan still had a wee bit left in the tank for example
Triantis was doing fine although booked subbed after 58’ ?
Remember all his tinkering about with the centre backs in the second half of games costing us goals at the start of the season ?
01-04-2024, 01:26 PM
That makes him worse in my opinion does have some ability but hardly ever shows anything. Absolutely no pace can't tackle and the amazing passing and long shots he was brought in for you hardly ever see. Pretty obvious on the Rudi front for me they want him to develop with maximum game time which we can't guarantee him here. He's played very little senior football so loan him out to get that experience. Instead of sub cameos here and there with us. Right now he can't even get a start for Stirling!
That was my point on rudi. Dont understand sending him somewhere unless there is agreement he can play.