View Full Version : Things that you just don’t see/hear anymore…

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-03-2024, 06:27 PM
Was thinking earlier on today about how you never hear anyone call a throw-in a “shy” anymore. When did throw-in take over? Was “shy” just a Scottish thing?

What other things do you just not see/hear in sports anymore? You never see Baseball players in stirrups anymore and you never see footballers rubbing vix on their jersey nowadays.

Just_Jimmy
26-03-2024, 06:37 PM
Was thinking earlier on today about how you never hear anyone call a throw-in a “shy” anymore. When did throw-in take over? Was “shy” just a Scottish thing?

What other things do you just not see/hear in sports anymore? You never see Baseball players in stirrups anymore and you never see footballers rubbing vix on their jersey nowadays.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTeams getting a penalty against rangers.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

26-03-2024, 06:59 PM
Bye kick seems to have been all but replaced by goal kick. You also rarely see a keeper just booting it long from hand now. It's always a side volley or kicked from ground. Also goalies wearing caps.

Rugby players using sand for penalties and conversions.

Bare foot kickers in the NFL.

I read the other day that the single handed backhand is also on the way out in tennis.

26-03-2024, 07:43 PM
Wooden woods.

26-03-2024, 10:05 PM

I think it might be Michael Stewart that sometimes calls it a shy when commentating?

Not a term I ever used but did hear it sometimes from other players back in the day.

26-03-2024, 10:07 PM
I think it might be Michael Stewart that sometimes calls it a shy when commentating?

Not a term I ever used but did hear it sometimes from other players back in the day.

I always thought it was a proper Edinburgh thing in my younger days.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-03-2024, 11:05 PM
Wooden woods.

I’ve got a set of titleist wooden woods, can’t hit them mind you!

27-03-2024, 02:21 AM
Bye kick seems to have been all but replaced by goal kick. You also rarely see a keeper just booting it long from hand now. It's always a side volley or kicked from ground. Also goalies wearing caps.

Rugby players using sand for penalties and conversions.

Bare foot kickers in the NFL.

I read the other day that the single handed backhand is also on the way out in tennis.

Richard Gasquet 😍

27-03-2024, 10:23 AM
Centre back seems to have replaced the old definition of the word "Pivot."

However in the modern game I've also seen "pivot" occasionally used to describe the central midfield player.

Sergio sledge
27-03-2024, 10:27 AM

It's still called a shy in shinty.

You never see rugby players wearing gloves any more, and pulling socks up above the knees in football seems to have died out a bit.

27-03-2024, 10:35 AM
"Crack" European outfit, used by Scottish journos to describe the likes of Dukla Prague or Gornik Zabrze back in the 60s/70s.

27-03-2024, 01:56 PM
Gutties - whether on your feet, or on the golf course!
The "penny tray" in the sweetie shop.
Actually change that to just sweetie shops.
My Nana used to work in one on Princes Street. Imagine the rates these days. It would have to be a "pound tray" at least.

27-03-2024, 02:29 PM

Yep Michael Stewart still calls it a shy. I commented during the Netherlands vs Scotland game that he must be the one of the few people that still calls it that.

Bridge hibs
27-03-2024, 07:22 PM
Wooden lawn bowls

27-03-2024, 07:48 PM
Netherlands fully replacing Holland

Baggy strips

Elbow pads on GK tops

28-03-2024, 07:24 AM
Relatively recent Scotland international football opponents:-

East Germany
Yugoslavia
Zaire
Czechoslovakia
USSR

28-03-2024, 08:53 AM
Numbers 1-11
Linesmen
Square posts

Sloop67
28-03-2024, 07:32 PM
Footballers with socks around their ankles, just like Willie Irvine

29-03-2024, 06:42 AM
Children playing outside

29-03-2024, 07:44 AM
Footballers with socks around their ankles, just like Willie Irvine

Jack Grealish has entered the chat.

Actually players like Grealish are increasingly a rarity these days. Guys who seem to remember that football is entertainment as well as sport and look like they enjoy playing the game.

Maybe there is a correlation between attitude and sock height?

29-03-2024, 09:25 AM
Went to Tenerife a couple of years ago with my mates, and it was a hotel you needed your key card to enter through numerous doors to get about.

My mate ozzy lost his, and when he arrived at the bar a bit disheveled, we asked him what was wrong?

Ozzy is Scottish, and he said he had to shimmy up on a wall, and dreep down the other side.

I was the only one out of 8 of us who knew what he meant. :faf:

MKHIBEE
29-03-2024, 07:59 PM
I can’t remember the last time I heard “ a free kick has been awarded for obstruction”.

30-03-2024, 07:35 AM
Went to Tenerife a couple of years ago with my mates, and it was a hotel you needed your key card to enter through numerous doors to get about.

My mate ozzy lost his, and when he arrived at the bar a bit disheveled, we asked him what was wrong?

Ozzy is Scottish, and he said he had to shimmy up on a wall, and dreep down the other side.

I was the only one out of 8 of us who knew what he meant. :faf:

I remember dreeping down from our stair in our block of 6 flats but have never heard or used that word since I was about 12. What a great word 😃

30-03-2024, 09:12 PM
“Great challenge. Man and ball”

30-03-2024, 09:13 PM
Wooden lawn bowls

Might no be long until you can edit that to ‘black bowls’.

No that I’m criticising. Mine are green 😁

31-03-2024, 09:08 AM
White things are disappearing or have disappeared.

White hens eggs are becoming as rare as hens teeth.

White dog ***** seems to be a poop into the past.

White trainers are a rarity.

31-03-2024, 06:41 PM
White things are disappearing or have disappeared.

White hens eggs are becoming as rare as hens teeth.

White dog ***** seems to be a poop into the past.

White trainers are a rarity.

I’ve currently got white eggs in the house and my latest trainers are white (they could do with a clean mind).

I don’t have any white dog **** on me but I am a bit of a Meat Loaf fan.

31-03-2024, 06:42 PM
I’ve currently got white eggs in the house and my latest trainers are white (they could do with a clean mind).

I don’t have any white dog **** on me but I am a bit of a Meat Loaf fan.

2 out of 3 ain't bad.

31-03-2024, 06:50 PM
2 out of 3 ain't bad.

😉

03-04-2024, 02:38 PM
Not sport related but Ł1 notes. Still in issue and legal currency but you rarely see them now

04-04-2024, 06:53 AM
Children playing outside

Funny you say that. I saw a bunch of laddies play football at the 5 a side pitch on Montgomery Street. Rare site, those wee pitches are hardly ever used.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-04-2024, 08:02 AM
Funny you say that. I saw a bunch of laddies play football at the 5 a side pitch on Montgomery Street. Rare site, those wee pitches are hardly ever used.

I saw a wee laddie in my street using the front bumper of his dads motor as a place to keep his football yesterday when he was shouted in for his tea. Not seen that in years, used to drive my old man mental having to check for footballs before he started driving

04-04-2024, 08:17 AM

As far as I know children do not now go and knock on a friend's door in a street to see if they are coming out to play. I dont think they have "street friends" anymore. Never see kids playing in our street. Kids don't know who else stays in our street. Mental how that has changed.

Stairway 2 7
04-04-2024, 08:26 AM
I was outside non stop playing football when I was wee but if I had grand theft auto, Call of duty and FIFA and I could play against my mates and talk to them on headsets, I'd probably be addicted to that like the young ones are.

I think football training is more organised now lots of kids have training 4 nights a week between club and school and two games on Saturday and Sunday. Probably accounts for some kids not playing in the park. The biggest change for the good in this area is the thousands of girls in Edinburgh doing the same. It's brilliant to see so many girls games on at the weekend.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-04-2024, 08:34 AM
I was outside non stop playing football when I was wee but if I had grand theft auto, Call of duty and FIFA and I could play against my mates and talk to them on headsets, I'd probably be addicted to that like the young ones are.

I think football training is more organised now lots of kids have training 4 nights a week between club and school and two games on Saturday and Sunday. Probably accounts for some kids not playing in the park. The biggest change for the good in this area is the thousands of girls in Edinburgh doing the same. It's brilliant to see so many girls games on at the weekend.

I did have all of that, maybe not quite so high tech and advanced but I had PlayStation plus and a headset and Ultimate Team and all that *****. I was still out playing football with my pals for hours on end though! Do parents just not get sick of the sight of their bairns anymore?

Stairway 2 7
04-04-2024, 09:20 AM
I did have all of that, maybe not quite so high tech and advanced but I had PlayStation plus and a headset and Ultimate Team and all that *****. I was still out playing football with my pals for hours on end though! Do parents just not get sick of the sight of their bairns anymore?

Aye but your an individual a number of your peers would be playing these games after school they sold by the million. I saw a graph that showed the screen time of primary school kids from the 60s until now, it's pretty much a straight line increase year on year. 60s bairns had a couple of channels and a few shows so obviously they went out. Then computers came, tvs in bedrooms with kids dedicated channels, consoles, pads and then phones with tiktok ect.

It's sad but it's not just kids go to a restaurant or pub in the 60s and everyone is talking, now loads of couples and even groups of lads are glued to their phones. Most people when at home probably have a TV on and phones getting watched at the same time. The whole world is glued to their phone

05-04-2024, 05:31 AM
2 out of 3 ain't bad.

Just like to say that this didn’t get the recognition it deserved. 😂😂😂

05-04-2024, 08:50 PM
Just like to say that this didn’t get the recognition it deserved. 😂😂😂

I’d like to think the vast majority spotted that was why I referenced being a meat loaf fan, as opposed to randomly just mentioning meat loaf 😉

I was glad CWG commented acknowledging the connection all the same 😁

06-04-2024, 08:10 PM
I’d like to think the vast majority spotted that was why I referenced being a meat loaf fan, as opposed to randomly just mentioning meat loaf 😉

1 out of 2 ain't bad.

06-04-2024, 10:53 PM
1 out of 2 ain't bad.

You took the words right out of my mouth.

07-04-2024, 10:42 AM

Set up beautifully and finished exquisitely. :thumbsup:

07-04-2024, 10:41 PM
Set up beautifully and finished exquisitely. :thumbsup:

👍😁

Alas, something we don’t hear much around this forum these days

08-04-2024, 03:43 PM
Goalkeepers wearing caps in sunny weather.

Long sleeve goalie tops.

MagicSwirlingShip
08-04-2024, 09:34 PM
Good music on normal radio?

09-04-2024, 06:14 PM
A pour-oot at a wedding.

Bridge hibs
09-04-2024, 08:29 PM
Segs for shoes

Guiders made from wood and old pram wheels

White dog poop (thats not poop from a white dog) white poop from any colour of dog

Sergio sledge
17-04-2024, 03:49 PM
When was the last time a referee awarded an indirect free kick in the box? Not seen one for ages.

Kind of linked, when was the last time a referee penalised a goalkeeper for holding the ball longer than 6 seconds? Fans need to start counting again as it is getting ridiculous, keepers hold the ball for 30-40 seconds now and the ref does nothing about it.

17-04-2024, 05:21 PM
When was the last time a referee awarded an indirect free kick in the box? Not seen one for ages.

Kind of linked, when was the last time a referee penalised a goalkeeper for holding the ball longer than 6 seconds? Fans need to start counting again as it is getting ridiculous, keepers hold the ball for 30-40 seconds now and the ref does nothing about it.

I would add to this, the amount of warnings they get from refs during that period of time. The ref jogs back up the pitch, usually to somewhere around halfway, there’s 3-4 seconds. Then the ref will turn, and look at the keeper. After a few more seconds, they’ll blow the whistle, then another several seconds they’ll wave to keeper to get things moving. Then as the crowd inevitably starts to get vocal, they’ll wave again. And then again.

Same thing happens with goal kicks when a team is trying to waste time. Keeper goes to the ball. Then a centre half will stroll over and the keeper moves away. The player will make a show of looking up the pitch, and then they’ll jog away and the keeper will come back in to play a 3 yard pass to them. Both situations are a nonsense, I think I saw the other day that FIFA are tweaking the rules around the 6 second thing as keepers are definitely taking the piss at times.

18-04-2024, 12:51 PM
Those nasal strips footballers used to wear.

Hearts lifting the League Cup

18-04-2024, 02:16 PM

Enhanced by the new favourite trick - keeper catches easy ball and makes a dramatic flop onto the turf so he can hang onto it a bit longer. They should be booked for simulation, that would put a stop to it.

Sergio sledge
18-04-2024, 02:37 PM
Enhanced by the new favourite trick - keeper catches easy ball and makes a dramatic flop onto the turf so he can hang onto it a bit longer. They should be booked for simulation, that would put a stop to it.

The ref actually enforcing the rules would put a stop to it. 6 seconds from when they have control of the ball to release it from their hands, if they don't it's an indirect free kick to the other team and a booking to the keeper.

Refs just do nothing about it at all other that waving the keeper on as McD says.

I had a wee look at the IFAB trial that is going to start and supposedly it's because they feel like an indirect free kick in the box is too much of a punishment, which I do sort of understand. So they are going to trial awarding a throw in to the other team in line with the penalty spot or a corner kick if the keeper holds the ball for more than 8 seconds. Hopefully it works.

Bridge hibs
20-04-2024, 06:20 PM
Goalies picking the ball up from a passback and taking a week to re-distribute it

Bridge hibs
20-04-2024, 06:20 PM
Puma Kings football boots, best boot ever