View Full Version : Hibs in 1992

25-03-2024, 08:37 AM
Ep 257 Hibs in 1992 (Part 1)

We go back to 1992 to look at the Hibs team and what was going on in the world at that time.

📺 https://youtu.be/f6t96YF3Sx4?si=uFAQWzX_KYJgdKNO

🎧 https://pod.fo/e/22a6d0

Bridge hibs
25-03-2024, 08:49 AM
Ep 257 Hibs in 1992 (Part 1)

We go back to 1992 to look at the Hibs team and what was going on in the world at that time.

📺 https://youtu.be/f6t96YF3Sx4?si=uFAQWzX_KYJgdKNO

🎧 https://pod.fo/e/22a6d0Listened to it this morning, 92 ffs 😳

Some good players on that list namely McGinley and Murdo Macleod, could imagine McGinley excelling in our current midfield, one of my favourites anyway

Cheers again guys, good listen as always 👍

25-03-2024, 09:10 AM
The team that would not die

Real Roy of the Rovers stuff

For a Manager who was so negative Alex Miller signed some quality attacking players

Noticed Crunchie had a Stand named after him yesterday at New Brockville

As others have said imagine Pat McGinlay in today’s midfield a real box to box player who chipped in with a fair amount of goals

So good we sold him to the Smellies and bought him back

25-03-2024, 09:32 AM

For a Manager who was so negative Alex Miller signed some quality attacking players

As others have said imagine Pat McGinlay in today’s midfield a real box to box player who chipped in with a fair amount of goals

I'm sure that Pat's still the only midfielder to finish top league goal scorer in a season for them IIRC.

25-03-2024, 09:40 AM
Does anyone remember David Nicholls from that squad? I can remember everyone else listed but have no recollection of Nicholls at all.

25-03-2024, 09:46 AM
Does anyone remember David Nicholls from that squad? I can remember everyone else listed but have no recollection of Nicholls at all.

Sure he was part of the squad that won the BP Youth Cup in 92 but played very few 1st team games for Hibs. Went on to Falkirk for a bit.

Trinity Hibee
25-03-2024, 09:53 AM

As miller left I was just getting into football and Hibs but was Miller really that negative? It always seems to be said but his signings would suggest otherwise.

I listened to Darren Jackson on PLZ soccer podcast last week and he mentioned it briefly saying how can you say it was negative/defensive

25-03-2024, 10:07 AM
As miller left I was just getting into football and Hibs but was Miller really that negative? It always seems to be said but his signings would suggest otherwise.

I listened to Darren Jackson on PLZ soccer podcast last week and he mentioned it briefly saying how can you say it was negative/defensive

The early part of his reign was dire. At one point in his first full season he had 4 0-0s in a row. Add in that he was a torn faced ex-Hun with negative charisma and you can see why people didn't take to him. Once minds are made up, they're difficult to shift but it's hard to argue a team with Jackson, Wright, Crunchie and Mikey O'Neill was anything other than exciting to watch. In the modern game he'd have lasted 10 minutes rather than 10 years.

His other big problem was his refusal to treat the derby as anything other than just another game. At the same time, Hearts under Alex MacDonald made it their absolute priority and turned them into pretty much unwatchable battles with Robertson popping up for the inevitable spawny winner or equaliser.

25-03-2024, 10:10 AM
My first season as a ST holder was 92, spent the previous 11 seasons as an Anfield ST holder, what a shock to my system it was😂

25-03-2024, 10:11 AM
My first season as a ST holder was 92, spent the previous 11 seasons as an Anfield ST holder, what a shock to my system it was😂

Got out while the going was good eh Scouse? :greengrin

Coach Jon
25-03-2024, 10:29 AM

I remember him as a youngster playing in a first team game at ER. During the game he received a nasty head wound, he continued after treatment, but had to wear a hefty bandage wrapped around his head. I recall the fans referring to him as Pudsey Bear, the mascot of the BBC Children in Need appeal which had aired the night before!

Donegal Hibby
25-03-2024, 11:24 AM
Couple of things that happened in 1992 .

Quentin Tarantino debut " Reservoir Dogs " premiers at the Sundance film festival and was a instant hit .

Wayne's World hits the Theaters with famous car scene of " Bohemian rhapsody".

A hundred and sixty nine nations take part in summer Olympics in Barcelona.

Bill Clinton elected US president.

Denmark win Euro 92 . Beating Germany I think 2-0 .

Euro Disney opens .

About Hibs I found it interesting that our team in 92 had only two non-scots . While the team in our last game only had two Scots in the first eleven , we did have four on the bench in two youth players plus Stevenson and Hanlon though . Changed times I suppose. Is it fair to say the team of 92 compared to the current one had more steel about it too ? .

Enjoyed the episode :aok:

25-03-2024, 11:34 AM

Vaguely

Played 6 won 2 Lost 1 and 3 x 0-0 draws

His claim to fame he helped Gretna to three successive promotions and played for Gretna in the 2006 Scottish Cup Final in a spawny win for the yams IIRC

25-03-2024, 12:29 PM

Quentin Tarantino debut " Reservoir Dogs " premiers at the Sundance film festival and was a instant hit .

Euro Disney opens .

About Hibs I found it interesting that our team in 92 had only two non-scots . While the team in our last game only had two Scots in the first eleven , we did have four on the bench in two youth players plus Stevenson and Hanlon though . Changed times I suppose. Is it fair to say the team of 92 compared to the current one had more steel about it too ? .

Cheers, we'll be covering the latter parts of 1992 later, some great shouts for inclusion there!

25-03-2024, 12:31 PM
It was still the ‘old world’ in 1992, pre-internet and mobile phones. I was still at school but remember it well. Kids today wouldn’t recognise it, even though it was only thirty years ago. No spending hours on here, for a start. 1992 was the year Sky won the football broadcasting rights; the vast majority of people still only had the four terrestrial channels. Everything was on the cusp of change into the digital age.

25-03-2024, 12:43 PM
Got out while the going was good eh Scouse? :greengrin

Yeah, seen it all and thought now time to watch Hibs win the league. 😀

25-03-2024, 01:22 PM
It was the last year that an English manager won the top division down south.

He's here!
25-03-2024, 01:44 PM

Euro Disney opens .

That 92 side started to tread water a bit post-Skol Cup and the Uefa Cup exploits, but the addition of O'Neill and McAllister plus the emergence of Kevin Harper gave us renewed zip. As others have said you couldn't accuse Miller of being defensive with that side. Pretty sure I remember us going top of the league with a win at St Johnstone where we were a joy to watch.

25-03-2024, 01:54 PM
That 92 side started to tread water a bit post-Skol Cup and the Uefa Cup exploits, but the addition of O'Neill and McAllister plus the emergence of Kevin Harper gave us renewed zip. As others have said you couldn't accuse Miller of being defensive with that side. Pretty sure I remember us going top of the league with a win at St Johnstone where we were a joy to watch.

Not forgetting Darren Jackson who was a fantastic player for us a real leader on the pitch teaming up with Keef! Keef! Keef! Keef! to form a deadly strike force

Was the sort of player if he was in the opposition you hated the niggling greetin faced so and so but on your side you loved him

He's here!
25-03-2024, 03:47 PM
Vaguely

Played 6 won 2 Lost 1 and 3 x 0-0 draws

His claim to fame he helped Gretna to three successive promotions and played for Gretna in the 2006 Scottish Cup Final in a spawny win for the yams IIRC

Yes, he did very well at Gretna. He was also a regular for Falkirk for quite some time.

Other youngish guys we had around that time who played more often for the first team than Nicholls were the likes of David Farrell, Billy Findlay and Mark McGraw, though from what I recall of McGraw he got injured quite early in his time with us after a promising start and never really kicked on. Gareth Evans tended to get preferred up front with Keith Wright.

25-03-2024, 04:04 PM
Yes, he did very well at Gretna. He was also a regular for Falkirk for quite some time.

Other youngish guys we had around that time who played more often for the first team than Nicholls were the likes of David Farrell, Billy Findlay and Mark McGraw, though from what I recall of McGraw he got injured quite early in his time with us after a promising start and never really kicked on. Gareth Evans tended to get preferred up front with Keith Wright.

Taxi for Farrell was a starter a midfield enforcer though probably not as many games as he would have liked Billy Findlay signed a five year deal as a youngster from Kilmarnock unheard of at that time Mark McGraw picked up a bad injury but racked up a barrow load of goals for the Reserves in his efforts to get up to speed Gareth Evans was another good signing though some would have preferred David Platt a willing runner for Keith Wright and Archigol
Who can forget him coming off the bench to score a late double at home to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat against Dundee United
Paul Wright was another ambitious inspired signing that sadly did not work out

25-03-2024, 04:12 PM
Taxi for Farrell was a starter a midfield enforcer though probably not as many games as he would have liked Billy Findlay signed a five year deal as a youngster from Kilmarnock unheard of at that time Mark McGraw picked up a bad injury but racked up a barrow load of goals for the Reserves in his efforts to get up to speed Gareth Evans was another good signing though some would have preferred David Platt a willing runner for Keith Wright and Archigol
Who can forget him coming off the bench to score a late double at home to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat against Dundee United
Paul Wright was another ambitious inspired signing that sadly did not work out

He started well enough, I remember him scoring a late winner v the Sheep on, I think, his debut. Then had his leg broken by a horror tackle from Jambo defender and part-time Gargoyle, Neil Berry. I don't think he had been back from that injury for long when we cashed in to get the £ together to sign Keith?

25-03-2024, 04:15 PM
He started well enough, I remember him scoring a late winner v the Sheep on, I think, his debut. Then had his leg broken by a horror tackle from Jambo defender and part-time Gargoyle, Neil Berry. I don't think he had been back from that injury for long when we cashed in to get the £ together to sign Keith?

Yip was criminal assault

Definitely looked the real deal up to that point

25-03-2024, 05:05 PM
Yip was criminal assault

Definitely looked the real deal up to that point
I 100% believe that it was a premeditated act to injure Paul Wright that day. He was our big danger man and was the player most likely to score goals against them. It was a disgraceful tackle carried out by a total thug who seemed happy to seriously injure a fellow pro

25-03-2024, 05:10 PM
I 100% believe that it was a premeditated act to injure Paul Wright that day. He was our big danger man and was the player most likely to score goals against them. It was a disgraceful tackle carried out by a total thug who seemed happy to seriously injure a fellow pro

Should have been charged defo deliberate and premeditated shades of Pelosi/Brown

25-03-2024, 05:23 PM
Johnny Haynes was the pundit on the TV highlights. Brushed it off as "slightly late" or somesuch. PW didn't play again for a year, maybe a bit less? Doddys' hatchet man.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
25-03-2024, 05:24 PM

Absolutely. It was an utterly poisonous challenge and you knew right away Wright was out of the game. There was a great deal of anger in the stands.

A great shame as he would have been a cracking player for us had he not sustained that leg break IMO.

25-03-2024, 05:25 PM
Absolutely. It was an utterly poisonous challenge and you knew right away Wright was out of the game. There was a great deal of anger in the stands.

A great shame as he would have been a cracking player for us had he not sustained that leg break IMO....but then we signed Keezbo..

25-03-2024, 05:52 PM

A great shame as he would have been a cracking player for us had he not sustained that leg break IMO.

It was a coward's challenge. Deliberately went out to hurt him, iirc.

25-03-2024, 05:55 PM

Did McGraw get injured not long before the Skol cup final? Against Dunfermline funnily enough

Played a part in the winning goal against the Huns in the semi as well

25-03-2024, 06:28 PM
Did McGraw get injured not long before the Skol cup final? Against Dunfermline funnily enough

Played a part in the winning goal against the Huns in the semi as well

Those both sound about right.

darwenhibby
25-03-2024, 06:29 PM
McGraw looked a really good young player
Was not the same after that injury v Pars

Donegal Hibby
25-03-2024, 07:21 PM
Wasn't it Mcgraw that went for the ball Goram punched? ( still to this day I'm not sure if Goram was inside the box when he did ) . I never forgot how quickly budgie got up to save the shot from McCoist either.

He's here!
25-03-2024, 07:37 PM
...but then we signed Keezbo..

My memory on the timeline there is hazy. Did we sell Paul to fund the Keith deal or had Paul left Hibs before that? If the former then I guess we might never have signed Keith had Paul not had his leg broken and had gone on to become the goal machine at Hibs he subsequently was for St J and Killie.

25-03-2024, 07:39 PM
Wasn't it Mcgraw that went for the ball Goram punched? ( still to this day I'm not sure if Goram was inside the box when he did ) . I never forgot how quickly budgie got up to save the shot from McCoist either.

It was McGraw.

25-03-2024, 07:43 PM
91-92 we finished 5th (out of 10).
92-93 we finished 7th (out of 10).

Eight derby games, zero wins.

It's a good job there was no internet in those days.

He's here!
25-03-2024, 07:55 PM
91-92 we finished 5th (out of 10).
92-93 we finished 7th (out of 10).

Eight derby games, zero wins.

It's a good job there was no internet in those days.

They were 44-game seasons in those days though. We did really well in 91/92, winning a trophy and qualifying for Europe - all in the wake of the club teetering close to extinction. IIRC we had a terrific unbeaten start and didn't actually lose many games all season. We only lost one of the derbies and very much went toe to toe with a stronger Hearts side in the others. Should have got to at least the semis of the Scottish Cup but Tommy McIntyre's casual penalty style finally caught up with him against Airdrie when we had the chance to go 1-0 up. We'd have won that game if he'd scored.

25-03-2024, 08:00 PM
They were 44-game seasons in those days though. We did really well in 91/92, winning a trophy and qualifying for Europe - all in the wake of the club teetering close to extinction. IIRC we had a terrific unbeaten start and didn't actually lose many games sll season. Should have got to at least the semis of the Scottish Cup but Tommy McIntyre's casual penalty style finally caught up with him against Airdrie when we had the chance to go 1-0 up. We'd have won that game if he'd scored.

I really enjoyed the LC win, it was the first time I'd seen us win a trophy (outside of the 1st Div title).

I just dread to think what the reaction to a lot of that era would have been if there was a hibs.net then :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
25-03-2024, 08:18 PM
It was McGraw.

Thanks , wonder would Keith's goal have stood if we had VAR then .

25-03-2024, 08:21 PM
Thanks , wonder would Keith's goal have stood if we had VAR then .

Referee had a long hard look but there was f#ck all he could do as there were two Huns on the goal line :greengrin

25-03-2024, 08:32 PM
My memory on the timeline there is hazy. Did we sell Paul to fund the Keith deal or had Paul left Hibs before that? If the former then I guess we might never have signed Keith had Paul not had his leg broken and had gone on to become the goal machine at Hibs he subsequently was for St J and Killie.

No you’re spot on. Paul was sold then we signed Keith soon after that. I would never grudge us signing Keith Wright but I personally think he played his best football at Dundee. Paul Wright scored quite a few against us after he left but who knows how things would have panned out if that **** Berry hadn’t assaulted him?

25-03-2024, 08:37 PM
Pity we couldn't have kept both. They weren't exactly alike as players and might have complimented each other. We couldn't afford to keep both was the shout at the time.

He's here!
25-03-2024, 08:47 PM
Pity we couldn't have kept both. They weren't exactly alike as players and might have complimented each other. We couldn't afford to keep both was the shout at the time.

I'm guessing the cup win/Euro qualification helped to fund us bringing in Darren Jackson the season after Keith. I remember that seeming like a big money signing for Hibs at the time.

Musselbound
25-03-2024, 08:55 PM
Enjoyed the episode and the wider chat about music, video, etc. One thing I remember that many will find hard to believe nowadays is that CDs were far more expensive than vinyl or cassettes.

Donegal Hibby
25-03-2024, 09:02 PM
It was McGraw.

Think you were right about Chris Reid being our back up keeper , I forgot all about this pre season game in 92 .
https://www.iancolquhoun.org.uk/hibstory/hibees-rout-big-spending-blackburn-rovers-1992/#:~:text=Hibs%20%2D%20Reid%2C%20Miller%2C%20Mitche ll,%2C%20McGraw%2C%20Beaumont%2C%20Tortolano.

25-03-2024, 09:08 PM
Nostalgia always changes perspectives, but the pace of life was slower then, due to the limitations of the technology. Now we can be contacted almost anywhere at any time, but it wasn’t the case back then. If you were out, you were out and nobody could get hold of you until you got home. Everything took longer.

25-03-2024, 09:09 PM
Enjoyed the episode and the wider chat about music, video, etc. One thing I remember that many will find hard to believe nowadays is that CDs were far more expensive than vinyl or cassettes.

I'm looking forward to when we cover the minidisk era!

25-03-2024, 09:11 PM
I'm looking forward to when we cover the minidisk era!

Aye, minidiscs! I never had one, but I did have a portable CD player! Carrying CDs around in my bag; it sounds almost Victorian now :greengrin

25-03-2024, 09:13 PM
Aye, minidiscs! I never had one, but I did have a portable CD player! Carrying CDs around in my bag; it sounds almost Victorian now :greengrin

I bought one with my first wage at HSBC in 1999, I think I still have it somewhere, probably in the loft. It was a brilliant wee thing, you could make mix tapes but on a wee CD!

25-03-2024, 09:47 PM
They were 44-game seasons in those days though. We did really well in 91/92, winning a trophy and qualifying for Europe - all in the wake of the club teetering close to extinction. IIRC we had a terrific unbeaten start and didn't actually lose many games all season. We only lost one of the derbies and very much went toe to toe with a stronger Hearts side in the others. Should have got to at least the semis of the Scottish Cup but Tommy McIntyre's casual penalty style finally caught up with him against Airdrie when we had the chance to go 1-0 up. We'd have won that game if he'd scored.

In one of those Derbies Brian Hamilton had a penalty saved by Henry Smith, who had been looking at the match programme in the dressing room pre-match and had seen a graphic in the match report from the previous game which indicated exactly where Hamilton had put his penalty. I believe the programme editor did not print any such graphic in match reports thereafter.

26-03-2024, 10:34 AM
I enjoyed that listen. 92 was my era, went to Glastonbury that year, got into the dance music scene very briefly but very enthusiastically, if you remember it you weren't really there:greengrin I moved down south that year and so missed a lot of Hibs action.

The mention of the Evening News Pink made me laugh. I moved back to Edinburgh in 2010 and realised I didnt know that weekends football scores, popped into a newsagent and asked for a Pink. She looked at me like I was mad and said, 'we havent sold that for about ten years'. She probably thought i had been in cryonic suspension and thought Reagan was still president or something...

He's here!
26-03-2024, 11:34 AM
In one of those Derbies Brian Hamilton had a penalty saved by Henry Smith, who had been looking at the match programme in the dressing room pre-match and had seen a graphic in the match report from the previous game which indicated exactly where Hamilton had put his penalty. I believe the programme editor did not print any such graphic in match reports thereafter.

That's right. I think Alex Miller tore a strip off the programme editor when he heard Smith explain how he'd saved it.

That was one of many derbies of that era where we more than matched Hearts but couldn't buy a win. Not sure how many of their unbeaten 21-game run in the fixture were draws, but it would have been a fair few.

Chorley Hibee
26-03-2024, 12:22 PM

The Brian Hamilton missed penalty was actually the following season (92/93) and was another game that Hibs completely dominated and, somehow, Hearts escaped with a point.

Superfurry72
26-03-2024, 12:34 PM
High point for me supporting Hibs in 1992 was probably the Anderlecht game at ER. I was a poorly student at the time so couldn't afford to go to the away game. Still think we'd have gone through if Mickey Weir hadn't been sent off in the 2-2 draw at home (although we were 2-1 down at the time). As part of a Uni video project, I went filming with a mate in the main stand at ER, so we got to fool around with the Skol and League cups. Security around them was surprisingly lax. I don't have the footage any more, sadly, and didn't take any pics.Culture-wise, i was obsessed with music - that year I saw Nirvana headline Reading Festival, which turned out to be their last-ever UK show. It was a strange one though, as the girl I was there with saw it prudent to dump me the night before. The Freddie Mercury tribute bash at Wembley Stadium saw David Bowie make an arse of himself by reciting The Lord's Prayer. Also, The Shamen made it to Number One with their cheeky drugs anthem Ebeneezer Goode. Naughty, very naughty. There were only 12 new Number Ones that year, the lowest since 1962. Elsewhere, Bill Clinton was elected US president, and the Tories won a surprise UK election victory, and the Rodney King beating by police led to the LA riots.

26-03-2024, 06:56 PM
I enjoyed that listen. 92 was my era, went to Glastonbury that year, got into the dance music scene very briefly but very enthusiastically, if you remember it you weren't really there:greengrin I moved down south that year and so missed a lot of Hibs action.

The mention of the Evening News Pink made me laugh. I moved back to Edinburgh in 2010 and realised I didnt know that weekends football scores, popped into a newsagent and asked for a Pink. She looked at me like I was mad and said, 'we havent sold that for about ten years'. She probably thought i had been in cryonic suspension and thought Reagan was still president or something...

Man, I remember my dad getting his fitba pink every Saturday evening. I loved reading it; that was lightning fast news back in the day. It simply isn’t needed now.

Bridge hibs
26-03-2024, 08:14 PM
Man, I remember my dad getting his fitba pink every Saturday evening. I loved reading it; that was lightning fast news back in the day. It simply isn’t needed now.

I remember they must have had a print deadline and when you bought the paper there were a few scores like, Scottish League 2, Berwick Rangers L v Arbroath L, Scottish League 1, Morton L v Hearts L 😁 and if you wanted the final score it was either Ceefax or wait until you got your Sunday papers

26-03-2024, 09:52 PM
I remember they must have had a print deadline and when you bought the paper there were a few scores like, Scottish League 2, Berwick Rangers L v Arbroath L, Scottish League 1, Morton L v Hearts L 😁 and if you wanted the final score it was either Ceefax or wait until you got your Sunday papers

Ceefax was great, live score updates. I used to watch Ceefax on a Saturday; it was brilliant when a late Hibs goal went in.

26-03-2024, 10:09 PM
Ceefax was great, live score updates. I used to watch Ceefax on a Saturday; it was brilliant when a late Hibs goal went in.

33 pages of results, waiting patiently for your team to come around again. The coupon was properly exciting in those days. 😊

27-03-2024, 08:41 AM
Pretty sure our first Bosman was Joe McLaughlin ?

Might be wrong

First UK Bosman transfer was Kano moving from Aberdeen to Viking Stavanger in 1996

Remember hiring videos?

22-04-2024, 02:56 PM
Part two is available now, we look at the second quarter of 1992 including Scotland at the Euros.

https://pod.fo/e/2339cc

https://youtu.be/SZJYN0J5QC4?si=xrBTI7Rmg2CNFlzO

22-04-2024, 03:38 PM
Great times. I’d moved to Leith in ‘91 and was living at 68 Lorne Street beside the Coopers Rest although Robbie’s was firmly my local. I followed Hibs home and away back then and the trip to Brussels by coach was something else. Jupiler lager shares soared that year.

22-04-2024, 04:28 PM

Yes think Paul’s fee was key in getting Keith in. Could have had the Wright brothers up front. Least they would both had been good in the air or maybe not :greengrin

KdyHby
22-04-2024, 05:23 PM
Great times. I’d moved to Leith in ‘91 and was living at 68 Lorne Street beside the Coopers Rest although Robbie’s was firmly my local. I followed Hibs home and away back then and the trip to Brussels by coach was something else. Jupiler lager shares soared that year.

Hadn't heard of Jupiler until trying it at the Harbour Bar, Kirkcaldy on Friday. Bl00dy lovely.