View Full Version : England shirts
Johnny Clash
22-03-2024, 03:40 PM
A lot of fuss down South. Personally I think it’s a nice touch to use the colours of the Scottish Rugby team on their redesigned flag. Nice one chaps!
22-03-2024, 03:44 PM
A lot of fuss down South. Personally I think it’s a nice touch to use the colours of the Scottish Rugby team on their redesigned flag. Nice one chaps!Politicians in flag debate, its almost as if there's an election coming up and they need to appeal to a certain audience https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240322/b388500e7ac5cf88bebf22f7b6b6536b.jpg
22-03-2024, 03:48 PM
What this shows is Nike designers completely out of touch with their core customer base. Absolutely hilarious although I’d have preferred a white St Andrew’s Cross on a blue background.
Renfrew_Hibby
22-03-2024, 03:48 PM
A lot of fuss down South. Personally I think it’s a nice touch to use the colours of the Scottish Rugby team on their redesigned flag. Nice one chaps!
Nevermind so called woke crosses (looks absolutely fine to me) the real debate should be the cost. Someone saying £120 for a kids size? WTF.
Seriously that's obscene and Sir Kier and the likes should be shouting that down instead of trying to be even more right wing than the last politician to talk about it.
22-03-2024, 03:52 PM
Nevermind so called woke crosses (looks absolutely fine to me) the real debate should be the cost. Someone saying £120 for a kids size? WTF.
Seriously that's obscene and Sir Kier and the likes should be shouting that down instead of trying to be even more right wing than the last politician to talk about it.
England as a country just seems to have collectively lost it's mind over the past decade.
Absolutely no idea where their priorities should lie.
22-03-2024, 03:59 PM
As a totally neutral onlooker, I have to admit that I can see why people have criticised it.
IMHO, it just looks daft.
I'm with the other posters, though, that think the price is by far the worst thing about their new shirt.
A lot of fuss down South. Personally I think it’s a nice touch to use the colours of the Scottish Rugby team on their redesigned flag. Nice one chaps!I think it's a small amount of fuss whipped up into a lot by a load of bots online.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
22-03-2024, 04:05 PM
Is it not a bit of a hollow gesture given when push come to shove in Qatar, and supporting the same cause would have likely come with some form of punishment, the English FA buckled.
22-03-2024, 04:08 PM
Absolutely stunning that this has become a national news topic provoking commentary from party leaders - a glaring example of everything wrong with this tribalistic, conservative hellhole. Flag ****ging weirdos man.
We’re experiencing one of the worst cost of living crises in generations, the globe is hotter than any period in human history, and we’re staring down the most significant period of geopolitical tension between nuclear superpowers since the Cold War… but, naw, let’s get all red faced over a meaningless, near imperceptibly small design detail on a football kit. I hate it here.
Also, though it pains me to say it, I think the new England away kit is a belter.
22-03-2024, 04:18 PM
Absolutely stunning that this has become a national news topic provoking commentary from party leaders - a glaring example of everything wrong with this tribalistic, conservative hellhole. Flag ****ging weirdos man.
We’re experiencing one of the worst cost of living crises in generations, the globe is hotter than any period in human history, and we’re staring down the most significant period of geopolitical tension between nuclear superpowers since the Cold War… but, naw, let’s get all red faced over a meaningless, near imperceptibly small design detail on a football kit. I hate it here.
Also, though it pains me to say it, I think the new England away kit is a belter.
That's the funny thing - it absolutely is.
22-03-2024, 04:27 PM
I can’t believe some people are offended as they are (or make out) by the colour of the flag on the back of a collar.
It’s not changing the main flag or anything, it’s an additional design piece on the back of a collar.
All a bit mental.
I get some don’t like certain things pushed or enforced on to them etc, but I just struggle to care (in terms of being offended) one way or the other about little design features such as this.
22-03-2024, 04:38 PM
I can’t believe some people are offended as they are (or make out) by the colour of the flag on the back of a collar.
It’s not changing the main flag or anything, it’s an additional design piece on the back of a collar.
All a bit mental.
I get some don’t like certain things pushed or enforced on to them etc, but I just struggle to care (in terms of being offended) one way or the other about little design features such as this.
What does it represent? 🤔
22-03-2024, 04:42 PM
The away kit looks like a Scotland Jersey. Maybe it's a homage to who taught them how to play the game😁
What a fuss about nothing regarding the multi coloured cross on the neck. Probably something to do with inclusion. More important things in the World to think about
22-03-2024, 04:51 PM
What does it represent? 🤔
Aware what it means, but it’s 2024. It’s just a bit baffling imo that a flag in that colour makes people so angry.
22-03-2024, 04:56 PM
There are loads of examples on Twitter of England kits in the past with differing colour schemes and designs for the St George cross.
Difference is there hadn't been a coordinated campaign for 5-10 years before those releases stirring up racism, xenophobia, homophobia, sexism and so on. People have been conditioned to hate anything a little bit different and it's not even something people feel the need to try and hide anymore.
22-03-2024, 05:21 PM
On the TV now
£125 a pop ?
Just aboot spat ma tea oot !
Edit:
£11.50 on Soccer03
22-03-2024, 05:23 PM
Aware what it means, but it’s 2024. It’s just a bit baffling imo that a flag in that colour makes people so angry.
I'm not aware, that's why I asked, unless I've got the colours wrong.
The outpouring of anger from middle aged white men down south is off the scale. Those that phone into LBC radio today as literally about to burst a blood vessel.
Yet when it comes to the important thing in life like poverty, housing, climate control, education, jobs etc you don’t hear a peep.
Such a weird bunch.
22-03-2024, 05:27 PM
Is it not a bit of a hollow gesture given when push come to shove in Qatar, and supporting the same cause would have likely come with some form of punishment, the English FA buckled.
What cause is that? The design isn’t in support of any cause.
hibstag
22-03-2024, 05:31 PM
On the TV now
£125 a pop ?
Just aboot spat ma tea oot !
Morrisons own brand 2.99 for 4 rolls
22-03-2024, 05:39 PM
It's only that price for the "real" top. It's cheaper, for want of a better word, for the replica. Same story as Scotland and Wales, but for some reason Sir Keir didn't object to those prices.
22-03-2024, 05:40 PM
What cause is that? The design isn’t in support of any cause.
Is it not the rainbow flag? That’s what I assumed it was when I saw it.
22-03-2024, 05:41 PM
I'm not aware, that's why I asked, unless I've got the colours wrong.
Ah apologies, I thought it was a sarcastic comment.
A lot are thinking it’s the bisexual flag in an attempt to promote diversity and the LGBTQ community.
Think Nike are saying it’s a playful update to the flag and have took inspiration from the 1966 training kit.
22-03-2024, 05:42 PM
No, it’s a nod towards the training tops worn by the 1966 squad apparently. I don’t get it either. :greengrin
22-03-2024, 05:43 PM
Joey Barton has went off on one about it being similar to the bisexual pride flag and bald, red Twitter has gone mad.
22-03-2024, 05:44 PM
Think Nike are saying it’s a playful update to the flag and have took inspiration from the 1966 training kit.
Imagine people not getting the reference, crazy! ☺️
They should have just released a retro Escape to Victory strip.
22-03-2024, 05:57 PM
The outpouring of anger from middle aged white men down south is off the scale. Those that phone into LBC radio today as literally about to burst a blood vessel.
Yet when it comes to the important thing in life like poverty, housing, climate control, education, jobs etc you don’t hear a peep.
Such a weird bunch. I listened to the Radio 5 phone in. Absolutely hilarious the conclusions that were drawn. The growth in racism under the Tories has been frightening and it seem Starmer wants a part of the pie
22-03-2024, 06:04 PM
And the synthetic culture war gets ever more desperate and unhinged.
Such a weird bunch.
Absolute dumbasses.
22-03-2024, 06:10 PM
https://twitter.com/Joey7Barton/status/1771099146197270661?t=VA00hUCGiWtt1CZHjP6msg&s=19
Those famous communists
****Checks notes****"
US sportswear giants Nike with their $45bn annual revenue.
https://twitter.com/Joey7Barton/status/1771099146197270661?t=VA00hUCGiWtt1CZHjP6msg&s=19
Those famous communists
****Checks notes****"
US sportswear giants Nike with their $45bn annual revenue."Woke" and "communist" have lost all meaning. Just a bunch of letters in a particular order that triggers off rage among morons. A cash cow for wind-up merchants though. Sad the level of debate among some in England.
Rick Rude
22-03-2024, 06:33 PM
Maybe just me but I'd not have been overly enthused if Adidas had decided to chuck a Scotland flag on the strip and half the cross were shades of red. But maybe it's cause I'm a middle aged white guy.
Feel like the explanation of colours is about as legit as the claim that the weird sloping line on the Hibs strip a few years back were representing the old Easter road slope.
22-03-2024, 06:33 PM
Those famous communists
****Checks notes****"
US sportswear giants Nike with their $45bn annual revenue.Cut to David Steel type Spitting Image puppet version of Joey Barton jumping up and down saying this is my chance, look at me look at me.
22-03-2024, 06:46 PM
Maybe just me but I'd not have been overly enthused if Adidas had decided to chuck a Scotland flag on the strip and half the cross were shades of red. But maybe it's cause I'm a middle aged white guy.
Feel like the explanation of colours is about as legit as the claim that the weird sloping line on the Hibs strip a few years back were representing the old Easter road slope.
The back of the new Scotland away kit has a purple saltire with a weird line design and sky blue cross. I can't recall anyone either noticing or caring.
The current Brazil away kit also has stylised version of their flag on it in alternative colours as well. I'm not aware of any huge uproar and calls for boycotts in Brazil.
It's obviously just a fad for kit designers right now. Nike probably didn't realise a minority of the English population has completely lost any sense of perspective in the last 5 years.
22-03-2024, 06:55 PM
An England flag is a red cross on a white background so this does look strange regardless of whether trendy designers have decided that strange is going to be the in thing.
But I can't understand how anyone could get that worked up about it. If they did the Saltire in those colours I'd shake my head and get on with my life, not rant on social media or wherever.
22-03-2024, 07:04 PM
Im finding the whole thing hilarious. Think I’ll buy one. :greengrin
22-03-2024, 07:12 PM
It really has pissed Joey Barton of, so all good on that side.
22-03-2024, 07:14 PM
Joey Barton has went off on one about it being similar to the bisexual pride flag and bald, red Twitter has gone mad.
He has to drum up support somehow for his go fund me page.
Seen pictures on Twitter of Barton promoting the rainbow laces and joking about his long locks of hair and that the laces were good for tying back his hair, guy is going to lose a lot of money with the amount of folk suing him and he thinks that Musk will meet the costs. :rolleyes:
He's here!
22-03-2024, 07:23 PM
It's £64 for the kids shirt and £84 for the adult one. Still crazy prices but was the Scotland anniversary kit not about the same price?
Are flags on kits not quite a recent thing? No need for them IMO but the fuss seems overblown. The kit itself looks quite nice.
22-03-2024, 07:33 PM
What this shows is Nike designers completely out of touch with their core customer base. Absolutely hilarious although I’d have preferred a white St Andrew’s Cross on a blue background.
Out of touch with jingo nonsense. Probably. Nobody cares about this **** until told to care about it by other total fannies.
22-03-2024, 07:59 PM
Im English as most probably know. I couldnt give a toss. Talk about a mountain out of a mole hill. Think the "home" shirt is pretty plain and decent, the way i like my football shirts. Would prefer the second strip to be red but hardly losing any sleep over it.
babahibs
22-03-2024, 09:48 PM
There's not a lot of things make me happier than angry gammons getting all angry gammony about trivial stuff like this, hilarious
Politicians jumping on it shows you the votes they're trying to win, votes from morons, populist *****.
Johnny Clash
23-03-2024, 03:28 AM
All this adoration for St George is a bit progressive given he was a Turkish saint. His mum Palestinian. The flag in question was originally from the Republic of Genoa, Italy. He never set foot in England so it’s cool a chap from abroad is so revered.
The Baldmans Comb
23-03-2024, 05:55 AM
The English are calculated, cool and very clever people who know exactly the buttons to press when any of their institutions are challenged, identities compromised or their interests threatened.
There control of the agenda is absolute and their political leaders as expected have fallen full square behind this particular piece of nonsense as they were duty bound to do with their general election on the horizon.
23-03-2024, 08:17 AM
Im finding the whole thing hilarious. Think I’ll buy one. :greengrinI hope you crowd fund....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
hibstag
23-03-2024, 08:19 AM
Yep poorly received and marketed design feature, I'd add Hibs own Nike moment with the all green top marketed as linked to the famous five in 2014, essentially an off the shelf nike park VII kit as no suitable sleeved template existed, Hearts with far slicker marketing and a wee badge change used a 100 years since macraes battalion to hide their template strip from adidas.
Although a crap strip template was the least of our worries then
23-03-2024, 08:21 AM
All this adoration for St George is a bit progressive given he was a Turkish saint. His mum Palestinian. The flag in question was originally from the Republic of Genoa, Italy. He never set foot in England so it’s cool a chap from abroad is so revered.
Look online and you'll see St Andrew (first Apostle to Jesus) wasn't very Scottish.
They are both symbols adopted by Monarchs, if I recall correctly, so it's all pretty irrelevant anyway.
23-03-2024, 08:21 AM
St George was a made up, wannabe Saint.
St Andrew was the real deal :cb
23-03-2024, 08:33 AM
St George was a made up, wannabe Saint.
St Andrew was the real deal :cbYep, a bit odd, to be a bit more authentic really should have gone for a Saint Baz, or Saint Nige, from Down the Pub.
Fuzzywuzzy
23-03-2024, 09:55 AM
Bit crazy that the anger is all directed at Nike when the FA would have signed off on it?!?
23-03-2024, 10:03 AM
Have, no interest in what colour they make the cross on strips, the big question is why they dropped the 3 Leopards from the badge? They preferred the Lion that Scotland had and dropped their own crest, of course they had to have 3 as we just had one. What a shower.
Johnny Clash
23-03-2024, 02:32 PM
Look online and you'll see St Andrew (first Apostle to Jesus) wasn't very Scottish.
They are both symbols adopted by Monarchs, if I recall correctly, so it's all pretty irrelevant anyway.
Yes I agree - it’s just another example how folk can be brainwashed. Some of the England fans moaning actually believe St George was a geezer from ye olde Engerland riding about on his horse merrily slaying dragons. They also fail to realise they bend the knee to a king whose from a Bavarian family who only invented the name Windsor in 1917 after the population were asking awkward questions whilst seeing loved ones slaughtered by the Kaiser!
23-03-2024, 02:39 PM
An England flag is a red cross on a white background so this does look strange regardless of whether trendy designers have decided that strange is going to be the in thing.
But I can't understand how anyone could get that worked up about it. If they did the Saltire in those colours I'd shake my head and get on with my life, not rant on social media or wherever.
Gareth Southgate makes this exact point. If it’s not a Red Cross on a white background then it’s NOT a St George’s cross, merely some bit of design that he admits he isn’t artistic enough to get. (Or care about).
23-03-2024, 02:41 PM
Yes I agree - it’s just another example how folk can be brainwashed. Some of the England fans moaning actually believe St George was a geezer from ye olde Engerland riding about on his horse merrily slaying dragons. They also fail to realise they bend the knee to a king whose from a Bavarian family who only invented the name Windsor in 1917 after the population were asking awkward questions whilst seeing loved ones slaughtered by the Kaiser!
Also ignoring the fact that Dragons only exist in Westeros.
23-03-2024, 03:04 PM
I don’t know what’s funnier, the small minority of loud voiced England fans taking this way too seriously or the small minority of Scots looking down on them whilst taking it far too seriously themselves. It’s joyous to watch. :greengrin
23-03-2024, 04:19 PM
Also ignoring the fact that Dragons only exist in Westeros.
That’s not actual factual. Dragons are real, they just don’t fly or breathe fire.
Plenty found on Komodo in Indonesia.
23-03-2024, 04:23 PM
That’s not actual factual. Dragons are real, they just don’t fly or breathe fire.
Seen them with my own eyes in the Hobbit.
23-03-2024, 04:31 PM
Not a dragon. Must have wings.
23-03-2024, 04:32 PM
I don’t know what’s funnier, the small minority of loud voiced England fans taking this way too seriously or the small minority of Scots looking down on them whilst taking it far too seriously themselves. It’s joyous to watch. :greengrin
Come come now. Looking down at a bunch of flag ****ging gammons losing their **** is great sport.
23-03-2024, 04:50 PM
Come come now. Looking down at a bunch of flag ****ging gammons losing their **** is great sport.
Jhttps://x.com/hannah1989__/status/1771142027939393661?t=-m2oHFmXa7OwqrTUdl_gaA&s=08
23-03-2024, 05:40 PM
Laurence fox telling protestors to boycott Nike (1) David Nelson on X: "Laurence Fox telling people to boycott Nike whilst wearing nike trainers is fantastic. https://t.co/VFYGPs45VY" / X (twitter.com) (https://twitter.com/NelloStillKnows/status/1771556132269486398)
whilst wearing nike Trainers
24-03-2024, 08:40 AM
Yep, a bit odd, to be a bit more authentic really should have gone for a Saint Baz, or Saint Nige, from Down the Pub.
We really need to make an example of St George then, and make him the first one that gets ****** off to Rwanda.
Then we can appoint Joey Barton as the new Saint - coz he says it as it is.
24-03-2024, 08:48 AM
We really need to make an example of St George then, and make him the first one that gets ****** off to Rwanda.
Then we can appoint Joey Barton as the new Saint - coz he says it as it is.Joey Barton telling it like it is [emoji23][emoji23]
Johnny Clash
24-03-2024, 10:51 AM
Then we can appoint Joey Barton as the new Saint - coz he says it as it is.
So it’s a fact that St. George was a Turkish bloke with a Palestinian maw who had joined the Roman Army. He was made a Saint because he refused to kill Christians and was tortured then killed for taking that pacifist stance. I’m also against killing folk because of their religious beliefs so back in the 11th Century I had a chance of being St Johnny!
26-03-2024, 12:21 AM
Me, I'm a bit of a traditionalist, so I can understand why folk are annoyed at having their flag messed with.
For the folk laughing at and belittling those who don't approve of it. I wonder if they would be so laid back if a new Hibs owner decided to change the club's colours to red or blue. After all, it's just a colour right? Hardly worth getting worked up about.
26-03-2024, 07:21 AM
Me, I'm a bit of a traditionalist, so I can understand why folk are annoyed at having their flag messed with.
For the folk laughing at and belittling those who don't approve of it. I wonder if they would be so laid back if a new Hibs owner decided to change the club's colours to red or blue. After all, it's just a colour right? Hardly worth getting worked up about.
Well, we know what happened when someone tried to change them to maroon...
Victor
26-03-2024, 09:53 AM
Well we do / have had yellow, purple, black and white strips. Cream coloured training tops, so maybe a red or blue kit would be a nice change!
26-03-2024, 10:21 AM
Well we do / have had yellow, purple, black and white strips. Cream coloured training tops, so maybe a red or blue kit would be a nice change!
I wasn't talking about away tops, 3rd kits or training gear, but I think you know that.
So just to be clear. I was talking about the club's main strip and traditional historic colours IE green and white.
My question was. Would folk laughing at and belittling English folk complaining about their historic flag being messed about with have the same laid back dismissive attitude if an owner changed Hibernian football club's main historic green and white colours to red or blue?
26-03-2024, 10:31 AM
I never understand this particular take on things. Isn't it possible to do both?
Kind of like my response to another poster on here. If Hibs changed the club's colours from green and white to something else I would go mental, and I'm sure 99% of the rest of the folk who post on here would too. I hardly think that would be at the expense of my ( or their ) concern about world events. Or negatively affect the things I do to put my money where my mouth is when it comes to those things.
26-03-2024, 10:36 AM
I never understand this particular take on things. Isn't it possible to do both?
Kind of like my response to another poster on here. If Hibs changed the club's colours from green and white to something else I would go mental, and I'm sure 99% of the rest of the folk who post on here would too. I hardly think that would be at the expense of my ( or their ) concern about world events. Or negatively affect the things I do to put my money where my mouth is when it comes to those things.I'm kinda with you on this one, on the england shirt change thing though, living down here it's not so much the folk who care about the football team that I find are foaming at the mouth about this. It's generally the same folk who foam at the mouth about, the EU, foreigners, the youth of today, anyone who isn't a monarchist etc......
Victor
26-03-2024, 10:36 AM
I wasn't talking about away tops, 3rd kits or training gear, but I think you know that.
So just to be clear. I was talking about the club's main strip and traditional historic colours IE green and white.
My question was. Would folk laughing at and belittling English folk complaining about their historic flag being messed about with have the same laid back dismissive attitude if an owner changed Hibernian football club's main historic green and white colours to red or blue?
It was a weak attempt at humour, which obviously failed.[emoji20]
26-03-2024, 10:37 AM
It was a weak attempt at humour, which obviously failed.[emoji20]I wouldn't say that [emoji16]
Rumble de Thump
26-03-2024, 10:50 AM
The Tories openly stated they would campaign on identity politics, their complaint media helped them to promote their toxic and divisive ideology, and their target market have responded as expected. So an inconsequential design element on clothing becomes major national news. Pretty tragic stuff.
26-03-2024, 10:51 AM
Kind of like my response to another poster on here. If Hibs changed the club's colours from green and white to something else I would go mental, and I'm sure 99% of the rest of the folk who post on here would too. I hardly think that would be at the expense of my ( or their ) concern about world events. Or negatively affect the things I do to put my money where my mouth is when it comes to those things.
Because changing the core colours of a club is comparable to an imperceptibility small design detail on an otherwise classically designed kit… 🥴
A quick glance at who your allies are in this argument should make you shudder.
26-03-2024, 11:01 AM
The tradition argument is pretty weak. It's totally non-traditional for international teams (or in fact any football teams) to have stupid details on collars or whatever anyway. If it was a plain white top with just their badge, *that* would be traditional.
26-03-2024, 11:08 AM
The saltire on the back of the new Scotland away kit is purple and sky/pastel blue and has stylised graphic lines on it. Has there been any uproar about that? Did anyone even notice it? The kit Brazil were wearing the other night also had a different variant of their flag on the back. The basics of the England kit haven't been changed, the badge hasn't changed, it's still by any reasonable measure recognisably an England kit in a way that a red or blue Hibs strip wouldn't be recognisably a Hibs kit.
I don't think the vast majority of English people are stupid or are taking in by any of this manufactured outrage. It's a few paid shills creating a fuss and preaching to the converted. The sales figures will bear that out, there will be no meaningful boycott (there should be by fans of all teams re the ridiculous pricing but that's another story) and the figures will be comparable to previous kits. It's not the first time Nike or Umbro before them have played about with the flag, often in far more prominent ways; it just never attracted all that much interest before because people didn't make a living stoking division online until fairly recently.
26-03-2024, 11:21 AM
Because changing the core colours of a club is comparable to an imperceptibility small design detail on an otherwise classically designed kit… 🥴
A quick glance at who your allies are in this argument should make you shudder.
Well firstly. As I understand it, it isn't the change to the kit that's causing the problem, it's the change to the flag on it.
As for who is agreeing with me. I've never been the sort of person who looks around the room to see who has their hand up before I decide whether or not raise mine.
I might be in the gammon demographic. IE white, 64 years old and I suppose lower ( very lower ) middle class. But I've voted for Scottish independence since I was 19, from a left of centre perspective. I'm a paid up member of not one, but two, anti monarchy groups. I firmly believe services like gas, leccy and water should be run by not for profit organisations. The list goes on and on ... I'm about as right wing as Che Guevara mate :greengrin
I do have a passing interest in vexillology though and consequently I'm not a fan of flags ( especially national flags ) being messed about with for no good reason.
26-03-2024, 11:45 AM
Big difference between a wee cross and the whole kit colour.
It’s like England randomly saying their home top will be Brown.
The English reactionaries rightly should be mocked.
There’s a Purple Saltire on our new Away shirt. Nobody is crying about it. The pale blue on white McFadden in Paris shirt was all wrong colouring. It’s now a classic.
If they love the flag they can always wear it like a cape while they are lighting fireworks out of their bum holes. (Yes that did happen).
hibby rae
26-03-2024, 11:51 AM
Big difference between a wee cross and the whole kit colour.
It’s like England randomly saying their home top will be Brown.
The English reactionaries rightly should be mocked.
There’s a Purple Saltire on our new Away shirt. Nobody is crying about it. The pale blue on white McFadden in Paris shirt was all wrong colouring. It’s now a classic.
If they love the flag they can always wear it like a cape while they are lighting fireworks out of their bum holes. (Yes that did happen).
I think we all know what they'd really like to do with the flag :wink:
Corstorphine Hibby
26-03-2024, 11:53 AM
The Tories openly stated they would campaign on identity politics, their complaint media helped them to promote their toxic and divisive ideology, and their target market have responded as expected. So an inconsequential design element on clothing becomes major national news. Pretty tragic stuff.
Congratulations on managing to crowbar an anti tory comment onto this thread.🙄
26-03-2024, 12:05 PM
The flag on the England top has been played about with dozens of times over the years. People are now being told to be angry about it and are simply too stupid to realise that path they are being led down. Nobody really cares.
We have had different things added to the back collar for years also. NOBODY CARES.
26-03-2024, 12:11 PM
It’s fairly relevant given that’s where a lot of people (including on this thread) believe much of the seethe and palaver over this trivial matter has come from.
26-03-2024, 01:17 PM
The saltire on the back of the new Scotland away kit is purple and sky/pastel blue and has stylised graphic lines on it. Has there been any uproar about that? Did anyone even notice it? The kit Brazil were wearing the other night also had a different variant of their flag on the back. The basics of the England kit haven't been changed, the badge hasn't changed, it's still by any reasonable measure recognisably an England kit in a way that a red or blue Hibs strip wouldn't be recognisably a Hibs kit.
I don't think the vast majority of English people are stupid or are taking in by any of this manufactured outrage. It's a few paid shills creating a fuss and preaching to the converted. The sales figures will bear that out, there will be no meaningful boycott (there should be by fans of all teams re the ridiculous pricing but that's another story) and the figures will be comparable to previous kits. It's not the first time Nike or Umbro before them have played about with the flag, often in far more prominent ways; it just never attracted all that much interest before because people didn't make a living stoking division online until fairly recently.
None of this stuff would make me 'outraged' mate. Just bloody annoyed at stuff being messed with when IMO it shouldn't be. As for the aforementioned saltire on the Scotland top ... If it's purple then it might be a saltire, but not a Scottish one is it. Nothing annoys me more when it comes to flags than the shade of blue the UK government insist on using in the union flag. If the saltire is to be part of it ( not for much longer hopefully ) then if you know the story behind it the last colour it should be is bloody midnight blue. I don't think having that POV makes me an ultra nationalist ... a pedant maybe :greengrin
Many flags have a story or tradition behind them that make their colours and design something to be cherished and preserved. EG the Irish tricolour would lose all it's meaning if you changed it's colours to purple and pink wouldn't it.
The flag of England is red and white. The flag of Scotland is blue and white. If you use the same design, but change the colour, both cease to be the flag of either nation. That's the only thing that bothers me about this subject.
But as you and others have said. If folk are going to be outraged about this or any other football kit, the outrageous pricing should certainly be front and centre ... I would expect mine to be pure mulberry silk sewn together with real gold thread for £120.
Rumble de Thump
26-03-2024, 03:31 PM
The thread wouldn't exist without the behaviour of the Conservative Government, so not sure why anyone would think stating that obvious fact equates to crowbarring. Whether or not that fact is anti- or pro-Tory would be subjective.
Corstorphine Hibby
26-03-2024, 04:57 PM
It’s fairly relevant given that’s where a lot of people (including on this thread) believe much of the seethe and palaver over this trivial matter has come from.
Yeah, I noticed that when I read Sir Keir fanning the flames in The Sun article.
26-03-2024, 05:05 PM
Yeah, I noticed that when I read Sir Keir fanning the flames in The Sun article.
I think you’ve just managed to get a dig at Keir Starmer into the thread now.
FWIW I’m not a fan of either him or the sun. But the post you quoted was perfectly relevant.