View Full Version : Josh Nisbet Speculation

15-03-2024, 04:51 AM
Think the speculation of Nisbet joining Hibs at the end of the season can probably be put to rest.

Yet to be confirmed but reports beginning to surface that he has agreed to join Melbourne City for next season when his contract expires in June.

15-03-2024, 06:15 AM
Thought for one minute Josh Doig and Kevin Nisbet were coming back now we’ve got some dough

15-03-2024, 06:37 AM
I'm happy with this, I hope the club will be looking at better than him in the summer, no point being minted and bringing in the same type of players as before.

15-03-2024, 06:39 AM
Nae point in bringing in players NM wants for next season when he won’t be here

15-03-2024, 06:45 AM
Not presenting this as evidence of his ability but he missed possibly one of the easiest open goals I've ever seen a few weeks ago.

15-03-2024, 07:15 AM
Top player. Shame we are missing out on him. Loads of drive and desire.

15-03-2024, 07:20 AM
if had enough of the Ozzie market of a while...

15-03-2024, 07:40 AM
No trying to be a smart arse but if he was that good he wouldn’t be staying in Australia surely

15-03-2024, 07:48 AM
No trying to be a smart arse but if he was that good he wouldn’t be staying in Australia surely

Dmas
15-03-2024, 07:54 AM
Think the speculation of Nisbet joining Hibs at the end of the season can probably be put to rest.

Yet to be confirmed but reports beginning to surface that he has agreed to join Melbourne City for next season when his contract expires in June.

Any talk about Jacob Farrell over there , Fred?

15-03-2024, 07:58 AM
As someone else said I've had enough of the Aus market for a while. The standard leaves a bit to be desired and the style of play seems to be a lot different to here.

On Nisbet as well he's not gotten a single senior cap for Australia yet and that's with Keanu Baccus getting ahead of him who is in and out of the St Mirren starting line up.

Dmas
15-03-2024, 08:03 AM
As someone else said I've had enough of the Aus market for a while. The standard leaves a bit to be desired and the style of play seems to be a lot different to here.

On Nisbet as well he's not gotten a single senior cap for Australia yet and that's with Keanu Baccus getting ahead of him who is in and out of the St Mirren starting line up.

Had enough of a market our manager hasn’t used? this investment we’ve had isn’t going to take us into a different market for players we’ll be shopping in the same place as Aberdeen and hearts still with a bit more clout to compete on wages, hearts have successfully taken 4 players from that league off top of my head that have improved them, not something we should be turning our noses up at imo

15-03-2024, 08:19 AM
Had enough of a market our manager hasn’t used? this investment we’ve had isn’t going to take us into a different market for players we’ll be shopping in the same place as Aberdeen and hearts still with a bit more clout to compete on wages, hearts have successfully taken 4 players from that league off top of my head that have improved them, not something we should be turning our noses up at imo

My point wasn't initially a dig at the manager, I just don't think the A-League is a particularly good standard of league personally. Similar to signing guys from League 2 in England where unless they're standout good they don't really improve us beyond where we are currently. They have to be real standouts to come translate what they're doing well over here in my opinion. It's for some reason became a fashionable choice for clubs in our league to go to the A-League and grab guys either on the cusp of international call ups or that have had one or two.

15-03-2024, 08:25 AM

We don’t really know if that’s the case yet. I’d argue there’s no chance either of them would’ve signed Myziane or Emiliano in January.

15-03-2024, 08:43 AM
I'm raging/delighted a player I have never seen play and had never heard of until I read his name on here a couple of months ago won't be signing.

FFS/well done Hibs.

15-03-2024, 08:46 AM
I'm raging/delighted a player I have never seen play and had never heard of until I read his name on here a couple of months ago won't be signing.

FFS/well done Hibs.

I hate being bipolar, it’s ****ing brilliant.

15-03-2024, 09:04 AM
Bit like Scott Brown with the Celtic then. Some players are happy in their skin & surroundings.

15-03-2024, 09:13 AM
Bit like Scott Brown with the Celtic then. Some players are happy in their skin & surroundings.
Couldn’t give any less of a **** about Scott brown if I tried so unsure of the relevance there. However there is a big difference in playing in the champions league every year and winning trophies (admittedly difficult not to playing with Celtic) to staying in the footballing backwater that is the A League

15-03-2024, 09:32 AM
Couldn’t give any less of a **** about Scott brown if I tried so unsure of the relevance there. However there is a big difference in playing in the champions league every year and winning trophies (admittedly difficult not to playing with Celtic) to staying in the footballing backwater that is the A League
The relevance there is maybe the lad is happy where he is and dosent feel the need to move on. Simple isn't it ?

15-03-2024, 09:56 AM
The relevance there is maybe the lad is happy where he is and dosent feel the need to move on. Simple isn't it ?If you say so 😊

15-03-2024, 10:06 AM
If you say so 😊

15-03-2024, 08:50 PM

I’ve watched him for 2 years. He’d be a first pick for us.

Bridge hibs
15-03-2024, 09:04 PM

Currently he would, however if we are wanting to be levels above then nope he wouldnt, if based on the level of player we signed in January then he would be way below that standard

If we wanted to fanny about fighting to get into top 6 then yeah he would be decent, Ive watched a lot of him too, lads a grafter who gives 100%

15-03-2024, 09:34 PM

If he was that good he wouldn’t be staying in Australian football. End of story.

15-03-2024, 09:37 PM

If he was that good he wouldn’t be staying in Australian football. End of story.

Maybe he is comfortable staying where he is

15-03-2024, 09:39 PM

We have a few players who are first picks, it's no biggy.

1875Sean
15-03-2024, 10:12 PM

Surely if he was a top player he would have been capped by now?

15-03-2024, 10:59 PM
Maybe he is comfortable staying where he is

That’s very true Jim and it isn’t a criticism of a player if that’s what suits him - but if he’s an ambitious player and one that wants to get to the top he ain’t doing that in that league that’s for sure. I watched a couple of games to see what the hype was and saw absolutely nothing that he would offer. Energetic, covers the pitch, gets forward when he can - that’s all I saw - and that’s a bare minimum for any pro footballer. Absolutely nothing startling or anything that would get me off my seat or thinking he’d be a good signing.

16-03-2024, 12:37 AM

Depends on the individual surely.

Maybe he just doesn’t want to swap the lifestyle in Australia for Scotland for not much more money that he would earn at Melbourne City?

Pretty sure he would have had offers from overseas before.

16-03-2024, 12:39 AM
Surely if he was a top player he would have been capped by now?

He’s in the squad for the World Cup fixture next week.

16-03-2024, 01:00 AM
Any talk about Jacob Farrell over there , Fred?

Lots of talk about him being the best left back in the country.

In the under 23 squad for upcoming Olympic qualifiers.

Missed the Mariners Asian Finals play off this week in India as he was left at home due to a family bereavement.

His current contract expires in a year and he has recently expressed an interest in playing overseas.

No doubt will receive offers, but he’s a very shy laddie, and despite his recent statement about playing overseas, which he is capable of doing, not sure he’ll give up his beach lifestyle When it comes to the crunch.

16-03-2024, 07:42 AM
Lots of talk about him being the best left back in the country.

In the under 23 squad for upcoming Olympic qualifiers.

Missed the Mariners Asian Finals play off this week in India as he was left at home due to a family bereavement.

His current contract expires in a year and he has recently expressed an interest in playing overseas.

No doubt will receive offers, but he’s a very shy laddie, and despite his recent statement about playing overseas, which he is capable of doing, not sure he’ll give up his beach lifestyle When it comes to the crunch.

Portobello is just a couple of miles down the road?

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 07:48 AM
No offence pal but you watched Shankland for longer and said he wouldn't/couldn't score goals in the top division :greengrin

16-03-2024, 08:09 AM
No offence pal but you watched Shankland for longer and said he wouldn't/couldn't score goals in the top division :greengrin

No offence pal but have you watched the boy play or are you just in for the usual boring digs.

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 08:24 AM
No offence pal but have you watched the boy play or are you just in for the usual boring digs.
That wasn't a dig that was an example of one of your predictions you got horribly wrong.

16-03-2024, 08:27 AM
That wasn't a dig that was an example of one of your predictions you got horribly wrong.

Are there more Crunchie?

16-03-2024, 08:37 AM
Are there more Crunchie?

Hundreds. I’m not Nostradamus. 😂

Crunchie appears to remember all my posts so he will have a few. I’m happy to send a signed photo for him if he likes. 👍

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 08:48 AM
Hundreds. I’m not Nostradamus. 😂

Crunchie appears to remember all my posts so he will have a few. I’m happy to send a signed photo for him if he likes. 👍
Naw mate, but I vividly remember at the time your views on Shankland which had me and a few others laughing.
Another prediction that had me laughing was the one where Rocky can't play LCB.

Keep them coming, you amuse me no end with your unwavering belief in yourself as a coach :aok:

16-03-2024, 08:52 AM
Naw mate, but I vividly remember at the time your views on Shankland which had me and a few others laughing.

Keep them coming, you amuse me no end with your unwavering belief in yourself as a coach :aok:

This is a thread about Josh. For the record I’ve been clear that Rocky will be much better at RCB and he’s hamstrung playing at LCB. That’s just a simple fact.

Bridge hibs
16-03-2024, 09:04 AM

Keep them coming, you amuse me no end with your unwavering belief in yourself as a coach :aok:It wasnt just him that said Shankheid wouldnt score, I and others said so too. We were wrong, **** happens mate and Im sure no-one will lose any sleep over it

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 09:31 AM
It wasnt just him that said Shankheid wouldnt score, I and others said so too. We were wrong, **** happens mate and Im sure no-one will lose any sleep over it
:rolleyes: It's the manner in which he states things as fact when it's all in his head that I laugh at, no biggie. I just find it amusing, I certainly don't lose sleep over anyone's opinion :aok:

16-03-2024, 09:43 AM
:rolleyes: It's the manner in which he states things as fact when it's all in his head that I laugh at, no biggie. I just find it amusing, I certainly don't lose sleep over anyone's opinion :aok:

You’ve picked out an opinion from an out 4 years ago that I can’t even remember making. It’s weirdly obsessive and aggressively boring.

Bridge hibs
16-03-2024, 09:58 AM

So what ? What are you getting all worked up about it for ? Its a fans forum for people to post opinions, rightly or wrongly opinions are in everybody's head, funny, outrageous or pure guff, and thats just my posts

Anyway, dont think Josh will be signing

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 10:41 AM
So what ? What are you getting all worked up about it for ? Its a fans forum for people to post opinions, rightly or wrongly opinions are in everybody's head, funny, outrageous or pure guff, and thats just my posts

Anyway, dont think Josh will be signing
I'm not the one getting worked up mate, look at my original post I was laughing :aok:. I don't think we'll sign him either and I'd never heard of him.

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 10:45 AM
You’ve picked out an opinion from an out 4 years ago that I can’t even remember making. It’s weirdly obsessive and aggressively boring.
It was the start of this season not 4 years ago, I can barely remember 4 weeks ago let alone 4 years :greengrin. Let's leave it at that and hope you're right if we end up signing Josh.

Bridge hibs
16-03-2024, 10:57 AM
I'm not the one getting worked up mate, look at my original post I was laughing :aok:. I don't think we'll sign him either and I'd never heard of him.Ive watched a lot of him and one thing guaranteed is 100% graft from first to last whistle

He is wee though but he still gets wired into the bigger guys 😁

16-03-2024, 11:06 AM

Behave. :faf:

Rumble de Thump
16-03-2024, 11:25 AM
Anyone got a link to the Josh Nisbet thread?

16-03-2024, 11:30 AM

Genuine question - who would be displace in our first team?

16-03-2024, 04:00 PM

We have Welsh and Newell for next season. He’d play well with those two.

16-03-2024, 04:54 PM

Nobody.

He’s signed for Melbourne City.

18-03-2024, 06:00 AM
Nisbet now denying he’s signed for Melbourne City..”or anyone else yet”.

Was asked the question at the Socceroo camp, which he was called into after Lewis Miller’s withdrawal.

VoltaireHibs
18-03-2024, 08:37 AM
Ive watched a lot of him and one thing guaranteed is 100% graft from first to last whistle

He is wee though but he still gets wired into the bigger guys 😁

Yes, all well and good, but can he actually play football? Is he technically decent? Or is he Josh Campbell but much smaller, in which case we'd be better sticking with Josh Campbell.

Bridge hibs
18-03-2024, 10:21 AM
Yes, all well and good, but can he actually play football? Is he technically decent? Or is he Josh Campbell but much smaller, in which case we'd be better sticking with Josh Campbell.

He is playing for CCM and on TNT sports most weekends, give it a watch and make your own mind up

18-03-2024, 10:22 AM

He imho is a very good footballer and I’m pretty sure Monty and his backroom staff would agree , as would Nector Triantis who played alongside him, and Alfie who played against him many times.

Again imho he would be a valuable addition to our squad for next season

18-03-2024, 10:40 AM
It wasnt just him that said Shankheid wouldnt score, I and others said so too. We were wrong, **** happens mate and Im sure no-one will lose any sleep over it

There were quite a few and I think some were basing their prediction out of hope, because he’d signed for hearts. Which is understandable.

Incidentally the worst offender actually kept it up even when Shankland was scoring most weeks, went for a holiday, and is now suddenly and unapologetically using Shankland as the gold standard when criticising Hibs forwards 😁

Opinions do indeed change.

VoltaireHibs
19-03-2024, 12:49 PM
He is playing for CCM and on TNT sports most weekends, give it a watch and make your own mind up

Because I don't have any subscription sports channels?

VoltaireHibs
19-03-2024, 12:50 PM
He imho is a very good footballer and I’m pretty sure Monty and his backroom staff would agree , as would Nector Triantis who played alongside him, and Alfie who played against him many times.

Again imho he would be a valuable addition to our squad for next season

Who would you compare him to in our league?

Cheers Forza, you saved me a new subscription. 😁

19-03-2024, 02:14 PM
Who would you compare him to in our league?

Cheers Forza, you saved me a new subscription. 😁

Difficult to say……as soon as you mention another player people automatically assume you mean he is as good as them and pile on the ridicule.

I’d describe him thus…A diminutive box to box midfielder who is capable of threading passes in the manner Scott Allan did
He covers the ground and has similar terrier like attributes like John McGinn did, and although small does not shirk a tackle.
He’s been pushed forward a bit at the Mariners this season..needs must etc.and has scored a couple of goals although goal scoring is not usually in his repertoire it must be said.
He has though, played the full 90 minutes of every game this season.
He’s 24 and is widely thought to be the best player currently in the A League.
He’s out of contract in June, so no transfer fee would be involved and to me is the epitome of a ‘low risk signing’….even if things didn’t work out it would not have much of a financial impact.
We are likely to lose a few loan players at the end of the season and to my mind at least, he would be a good addition to our squad.
He’s not by any means a superstar…but we won’t be signing any of them from anywhere.
I live in fear that if we don’t
sign him he may end up on our neighbours payroll.

Just as I thought Hibs fans would love Alfie once he was settled in and they saw him play, so I feel the same way about Nisbet.

Ps…I am NOT saying he is as good as McGinn is/was….I am simply saying that there are parts of his game that seem similar.

VoltaireHibs
19-03-2024, 02:20 PM
Difficult to say……as soon as you mention another player people automatically assume you mean he is as good as them and pile on the ridicule.

I’d describe him thus…A diminutive box to box midfielder who is capable of threading passes in the manner Scott Allan did
He covers the ground and has similar terrier like attributes like John McGinn did, and although small does not shirk a tackle.
He’s been pushed forward a bit at the Mariners this season..needs must etc.and has scored a couple of goals although goal scoring is not usually in his repertoire it must be said.
He has though, played the full 90 minutes of every game this season.
He’s 24 and is widely thought to be the best player currently in the A League.
He’s out of contract in June, so no transfer fee would be involved and to me is the epitome of a ‘low risk signing’….even if things didn’t work out it would not have much of a financial impact.
We are likely to lose a few loan players at the end of the season and to my mind at least, he would be a good addition to our squad.
He’s not by any means a superstar…but we won’t be signing any of them from anywhere.
I live in fear that if we don’t
sign him he may end up on our neighbours payroll.

Just as I thought Hibs fans would love Alfie once he was settled in and they saw him play, so I feel the same way about Nisbet.

Ps…I am NOT saying he is as good as McGinn is/was….I am simply saying that there are parts of his game that seem similar.

Cheers for that, much appreciated. See if he ends up in the green and white. 👍

22-03-2024, 12:02 AM
Cheers for that, much appreciated. See if he ends up in the green and white. 👍

Socceroo Manager Graham Arnold was asked in the pre game World Cup qualifier press conference about his decision to call Nisbet into the Socceroo squad,
so as you asked, rather than just listen to my opinion I thought his view on Nisbet might carry a bit more weight.

He said, word for word

“ He’s a very good kid and put that aside, he’s a very, very good player.
He’s a smart player.
He reads the game very well.
You can see at the Mariners just even if you are not involved, you can see from the sideline and from afar watching it on TV that he’s a leader on the field.
He’s coaching players.
He’s scanning all the time.
He makes smart runs and technically he’s good.
So he’s not here just because he’s a good kid, he’s here because he’s a very good player.
And my expectations are that he’ll improve”

22-03-2024, 05:52 AM
One for the notebook

Never say never

VoltaireHibs
22-03-2024, 08:16 AM
Socceroo Manager Graham Arnold was asked in the pre game World Cup qualifier press conference about his decision to call Nisbet into the Socceroo squad,
so as you asked, rather than just listen to my opinion I thought his view on Nisbet might carry a bit more weight.

He said, word for word

“ He’s a very good kid and put that aside, he’s a very, very good player.
He’s a smart player.
He reads the game very well.
You can see at the Mariners just even if you are not involved, you can see from the sideline and from afar watching it on TV that he’s a leader on the field.
He’s coaching players.
He’s scanning all the time.
He makes smart runs and technically he’s good.
So he’s not here just because he’s a good kid, he’s here because he’s a very good player.
And my expectations are that he’ll improve”

That sounds very positive, especially the leader bit. See if he's on our radar, could be a useful player. 👍

22-03-2024, 10:43 AM
I'd take some convincing to swap Australia for Brexit Britain.

22-03-2024, 10:46 AM

No doubt that's a consideration, but I think in most cases money* and the chance to catch the eye of a bigger club in England/Europe are bigger considerations.

*I'm assuming we'd offer higher wages, but I've no idea what the money's like in the Australian league so I could be completely wrong.

22-03-2024, 10:52 AM
No doubt that's a consideration, but I think in most cases money* and the chance to catch the eye of a bigger club in England/Europe are bigger considerations.

*I'm assuming we'd offer higher wages, but I've no idea what the money's like in the Australian league so I could be completely wrong.

Yeah, these very often seem to be the greatest considerations.

A good footballer in Australia will hardly be on the breadline though and if it's someone who is smart, understands the "short career" nature of football and makes plans to do something after their football career then the benefits of staying there, bringing kids up there etc might be greater than lugging them around the world for 6 months here, a couple of years there.

In football terms, the cash very much seems to be on these shores. I just wonder if we'll ever see a reversal of the most recent trend of movement of players from Australia to here though?

I'm gutted I left it too late to make my own move there.

22-03-2024, 11:06 AM

All about a stepping stone to the bigger European leagues and given the amount of Aussies playing in our league it is a pretty common path. The language similar culture bar the weather :greengrin plus a few friendly faces who they know already will help also.

22-03-2024, 11:22 AM
I'd be disappointed if we weren't looking at better players than Josh Nisbet from Central Coast Mariners

22-03-2024, 11:31 AM
Did somebody mention weather? 27790

Donegal Hibby
22-03-2024, 11:37 AM
I'd be disappointed if we weren't looking at better players than Josh Nisbet from Central Coast Mariners
Genuine question . Have you seen alot of him ?

andrew70
22-03-2024, 06:27 PM
Genuine question . Have you seen alot of him ?

Evidently not.

tonyrougier123
22-03-2024, 06:37 PM
I think he should be under serious consideration for signing. Nae mistake he’s the lynchpin as they charge to the top of the table again. Considering they shed half their team as well. Laddie must have something. And if he’s running down his contract then it’s a virtual free hit. Sign him up.

22-03-2024, 06:45 PM
Did somebody mention weather? 27790

I'm Scottish. I couldn't function in those temperatures.

Nisbet will be fine here with some thermals.

22-03-2024, 10:46 PM

I’ve got no doubt there were Aston Villa supporters who reacted exactly the same way when they first heard that their club may have been interested in signing what to them was an unknown John McGinn from Hibernian.

I reckon their management would have viewed it the way I kinda do with this possible target..the best player currently in his country, in the current national squad, highly thought of by the national coach, out of contract in 3 months so no transfer fee involved, and well thought of by those who have actually regularly seen him play……..

I’ve got no doubt we ARE also looking at better players than Josh…at least I hope we are ….and if every signing we make is of a better player than he is, then I’ll be a very happy man.

andrew70
23-03-2024, 03:09 PM
https://www.ftbl.com.au/news/melbourne-city-must-wait-as-mariners-marvel-nisbet-chases-euro-dream-606369

Desperate for a move overseas

23-03-2024, 04:06 PM
https://www.ftbl.com.au/news/melbourne-city-must-wait-as-mariners-marvel-nisbet-chases-euro-dream-606369

Sounds like we would be a sensible move for him in terms of development.

tonyrougier123
23-03-2024, 05:01 PM
We must be odds on to sign him. A player the manager knows, I’d be very surprised if we aren’t already in contact with him about coming over.

23-03-2024, 05:15 PM
I’d be absolutely delighted if we signed him. He’s technically a very good footballer with good feet.

23-03-2024, 05:17 PM
Sounds like we would be a sensible move for him in terms of development.

Particularly with the Bournemouth link in place.

Donegal Hibby
23-03-2024, 05:17 PM
We must be odds on to sign him. A player the manager knows, I’d be very surprised if we aren’t already in contact with him about coming over.

Wouldn't be surprised either if we did try to get him especially when you see one of Monty's main January targets was Triantis another player he knew well too . Watched this earlier just a wee clip on him . Apologies if already seen. Looks like he's abit like Moriah Welsh in he's full of graft and abit of a terrier.
https://youtu.be/qUz9wkjTUt0?si=-WSmoZZmlVyUavje

andrew70
23-03-2024, 05:25 PM
Wouldn't be surprised either if we did try to get him especially when you see one of Monty's main January targets was Triantis another player he knew well too . Watched this earlier just a wee clip on him . Apologies if already seen. Looks like he's abit like Moriah Welsh in he's full of graft and abit of a terrier.

He’s genuinely got everything you’d want for an 8 in midfield but can also play in the 10 position.

I’d be delighted if we managed to get him. Will be disappointed if we don’t now to be honest haha.

Dmas
23-03-2024, 05:38 PM
I’d be absolutely delighted if we signed him. He’s technically a very good footballer with good feet.

Same, if we managed to get him and the left back it would be a great start of the summer building, don’t know if both would be affordable but I’m greedy

23-03-2024, 05:43 PM
Same, if we managed to get him and the left back it would be a great start of the summer building, don’t know if both would be affordable but I’m greedy

Genuinely haven't seen Nisbet or Farrell play much, but we'll definitely be looking at a younger LB as I can see Stevenson leaving (gutted).Anyone any idea how Oscar MacIntyre is doing on loan? If he's doing well we might just go with him.

Loads of folk seem to be positive on Nisbet and with his links to Monty and his desire to play in Europe can see it happening.

23-03-2024, 05:46 PM

Watch "are you serious" You Tube short.
It may change your mind.

Dmas
23-03-2024, 06:15 PM
Genuinely haven't seen Nisbet or Farrell play much, but we'll definitely be looking at a younger LB as I can see Stevenson leaving (gutted).Anyone any idea how Oscar MacIntyre is doing on loan? If he's doing well we might just go with him.

Loads of folk seem to be positive on Nisbet and with his links to Monty and his desire to play in Europe can see it happening.

I’d be surprised if championship clubs haven’t noticed Farrell if I’m being honest with myself , Middlesbrough and Sunderland have done a bit business over there recently it would be something if they or others haven’t noticed him, looks to have it all imo.

Nisbet has quality as well adding him and having NMW Newell Amos Levitt Campbell all signed would be good options possibly lacking in physicality for our league though would probably still need to find a holder type

23-03-2024, 09:41 PM

A word of warning though about anything put out by this London based….yes, London based ‘journalist’.

If you believed everything he writes Josh Nisbet would already be a Melbourne City player, and he claimed Hibs had opted for Monty as manager, because he had ‘impressed current owner Ron Gordon’……despite the fact that Ron had passed away months earlier.

My view on Nisbet is clear….I see him as a welcome addition and had he been playing in the Scottish championship say, he would have been snapped up by now by one of our competitors.

The other player mentioned..Farrell…would be a great understudy to Jordan Obita in his first season, and a future outstanding SPL player after that.

I’d be surprised if both players don’t move at the end of the season..however, while Nisbet will be a free agent, Farrell has a year on his contract and any move would involve a transfer fee.

Both players would most definitely improve our squad.

Donegal Hibby
28-03-2024, 02:37 PM
Two players in this article I thought you might be able to tell us abit about Fred ? .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/5-nick-montgomery-hibs-transfer-28903392

29-03-2024, 06:21 AM
Two players in this article I thought you might be able to tell us abit about Fred ? .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/5-nick-montgomery-hibs-transfer-28903392

Ballard is an ok player….his Dad is a former French rugby international.
He’s starting to blossom this season, but not yet to the point where I’d recommend Hibs sign him.

Steele is another I do not think would most likely add value to our current squad.

I’ve said enough about Nisbet probably, and live in hope of an announcement, but have also been and still am a strong advocate of Hibs signing Farrell.

He’s the best left back in Oz, a shy laddie who looks like a skinny malinky…but is as tough as nails and tackles as hard as the closing of a crocodile’jaws!
Monte coached him through the Mariners Academy and there is a strong mutual respect there.

He’s arguably still a bit raw, but would definitely improve at ER and would push Obita all the way for starting position imho.

Definitely one I’d like to see us go for, although we’d probably have to part with a hefty fee to get him this season, whereas we could sign him for nowt when his contract expires this time next year……although I think it’s likely a European club try to sign him this coming summer window, so if we wait, we probably lose out.

Again…..all the above my opinion…from having seen them all perform many times, both on the telly, and in the flesh.no doubt others may have different views.

Donegal Hibby
29-03-2024, 08:09 AM
Ballard is an ok player….his Dad is a former French rugby international.
He’s starting to blossom this season, but not yet to the point where I’d recommend Hibs sign him.

Steele is another I do not think would most likely add value to our current squad.

I’ve said enough about Nisbet probably, and live in hope of an announcement, but have also been and still am a strong advocate of Hibs signing Farrell.

He’s the best left back in Oz, a shy laddie who looks like a skinny malinky…but is as tough as nails and tackles as hard as the closing of a crocodile’jaws!
Monte coached him through the Mariners Academy and there is a strong mutual respect there.

He’s arguably still a bit raw, but would definitely improve at ER and would push Obita all the way for starting position imho.

Definitely one I’d like to see us go for, although we’d probably have to part with a hefty fee to get him this season, whereas we could sign him for nowt when his contract expires this time next year……although I think it’s likely a European club try to sign him this coming summer window, so if we wait, we probably lose out.

Again…..all the above my opinion…from having seen them all perform many times, both on the telly, and in the flesh.no doubt others may have different views.

Thanks Fred , your opinion is very much appreciated 👍.
For those like myself who maybe didn't see CCM lately . Highlights here of their last game . Nisbet with a goal and a assist.
https://aleagues.com.au/videos/id/macarthur-fc-v-central-coast-mariners-highlights-isuzu-ute-a-league-2023-24-round-20/6348616649112/

29-03-2024, 08:13 AM

I’d not be spending any money on a left back. Any money spent should go on positions we need filled in my opinion. Centre half for a start.

The guy might be great, but we’ve already got a good left back, and we can only play one.

29-03-2024, 08:30 AM
I’d not be spending any money on a left back. Any money spent should go on positions we need filled in my opinion. Centre half for a start.

The guy might be great, but we’ve already got a good left back, and we can only play one.

I agree. And there are big question marks over the quality of the Australian league compared to ours.

Donegal Hibby
29-03-2024, 09:16 AM

If Stevenson does leave us we are going to need a decent LB not only as cover but to push the one we have . Competition for places is always a good thing to have imo.

I agree. And there are big question marks over the quality of the Australian league compared to ours.

It's obviously got something going for it as it's a league Scottish and English clubs are looking at players in a lot . I'd take a player like Triantis from it anyday btw .

Bridge hibs
29-03-2024, 09:26 AM
That lad Irankunda is some talent for 18, hat-trick today and I believe he is off to a club in Germany

Edit, Bayern Munich for a reported £3m plus add ons

29-03-2024, 09:40 AM
If Stevenson does leave us we are going to need a decent LB not only as cover but to push the one we have . Competition for places is always a good thing to have imo.

I agree we’ll need left back cover in the summer, I’d just not like to think we’d be spending any transfer fee on one. It’d be a waste of money that would be better spent on other positions.

Donegal Hibby
29-03-2024, 09:41 AM
Musa Toure looked quick from what I saw of him .

29-03-2024, 10:09 AM
Musa Toure looked quick from what I saw of him .

Usain Bolt played for Central Coast Mariners.

He was quick too��

29-03-2024, 10:54 AM

It’s the quality of an individual which is important, not the quality of the league.

The quality of English League 2 is lower compared to our league but it’s where our last 2 cup winning captains were signed from. There are good players playing in poor leagues - good scouting is identifying those who are good enough to play at a higher level.

29-03-2024, 11:33 AM
It’s the quality of an individual which is important, not the quality of the league.

The quality of English League 2 is lower compared to our league but it’s where our last 2 cup winning captains were signed from. There are good players playing in poor leagues - good scouting is identifying those who are good enough to play at a higher level.

Absolutely spot on.

Donegal Hibby
29-03-2024, 12:35 PM
I agree we’ll need left back cover in the summer, I’d just not like to think we’d be spending any transfer fee on one. It’d be a waste of money that would be better spent on other positions.

If Stevenson leaves we will be left with one in that position so I'd say it's important to get another good one even if it cost a transfer fee. We will need one to rotate with Obita over a long hard season thats just as good imo.

Both players we have in the RB position cost a fee as well and with the way we play under Monty the fullback position is just as important as any other position in our team too I'd say .

What kind of transfer fee would CCM want for him? , and would he want come to us ? , I don't know . What I've heard about the lad on here though as been mainly positive so I wouldn't be against the idea of signing him if it was a reasonable transfer fee either .

29-03-2024, 01:16 PM
If Stevenson leaves we will be left with one in that position so I'd say it's important to get another good one even if it cost a transfer fee. We will need one to rotate with Obita over a long hard season thats just as good imo.

Both players we have in the RB position cost a fee as well and with the way we play under Monty the fullback position is just as important as any other position in our team too I'd say .

What kind of transfer fee would CCM want for him? , and would he want come to us ? , I don't know . What I've heard about the lad on here though as been mainly positive so I wouldn't be against the idea of signing him if it was a reasonable transfer fee either .

Knowing a bit about his past relationship with Monty I think he’d jump at the chance.

I’d only be guessing about the fee, but I reckon we would have to pay a minimum of £375k, probably more….but again, that’s just me guessing.

Dmas
29-03-2024, 03:22 PM

its this kind of thinking that leads to signings like Eckersley, rherras, Devlin etc etc squad fillers who make zero impact, if we're going to do anything we need a strong squad of players all capable of playing in the first 11, competing for jerseys, if Macintyre isn't seen as ready for us next year we need another LB in, and that guy should be capable of pushing obita every single day so will probably need a fee

Donegal Hibby
29-03-2024, 03:38 PM
Knowing a bit about his past relationship with Monty I think he’d jump at the chance.

I’d only be guessing about the fee, but I reckon we would have to pay a minimum of £375k, probably more….but again, that’s just me guessing.

Yeah , having played for Monty before could be a big help in getting either Farrell or Nisbet or maybe even both especially if there's other clubs interested which I'm sure there is .

I don't think the price your guessing at would be unreasonable considering todays market . At 21 Farrell has plenty of time to improve further and could prove to be a wise investment for us in the future .

EVENTUALLY
29-03-2024, 03:51 PM

Yeah , having played for Monty before could be a big help in getting either Farrell or Nisbet or maybe even both especially if there's other clubs interested which I'm sure there is .

I don't think the price your guessing at would be unreasonable considering todays market . At 21 Farrell has plenty of time to improve further and could prove to be a wise investment for us in the future .

If we signed and played Farrell I think it may well be down to Obita playing as the left sided centre back that we will need once Hanlon has gone and Fish goes back to Man U. I've got a feeling we'll see more of Obita as a centre back than a left back (a bit like Kingsley at Hearts). I also think Bevan will be back up from Bournemouth to play as a centre back. FWIW I would sign Nisbet. He's no smaller than the great Russell Latapy and while he has a lot to find in his game to get the level of wee Russ he is very tenacious and gets around the pitch very well.

29-03-2024, 04:03 PM
If we signed and played Farrell I think it may well be down to Obita playing as the left sided centre back that we will need once Hanlon has gone and Fish goes back to Man U. I've got a feeling we'll see more of Obita as a centre back than a left back (a bit like Kingsley at Hearts). I also think Bevan will be back up from Bournemouth to play as a centre back. FWIW I would sign Nisbet. He's no smaller than the great Russell Latapy and while he has a lot to find in his game to get the level of wee Russ he is very tenacious and gets around the pitch very well.

He's quite a bit smaller that Latapy btw.

I like Nisbet, I would have loved to have got him in Jan, I just guess it depends on who leaves in the summer.

EVENTUALLY
29-03-2024, 05:05 PM
He's quite a bit smaller that Latapy btw.

I like Nisbet, I would have loved to have got him in Jan, I just guess it depends on who leaves in the summer.

Point taken. RL 5'7" JN 5'2"
The great Bobby Collins who was a Celtic and Leeds great was only 5'3" and played at a time when players were not given the protection they get now. From what I've seen he has the temperament to deal with a tall, physical opponent and with the skill and nous to play effectively in a lively midfield battle. I'd take a chance and sign him.