View Full Version : Media manipulation
Salisbury Hibby
11-03-2024, 04:57 PM
On a day where the Princess of Wales has caused a stramash by manipulating a photo, how does the BBC obviously manipulating the audio when Boyle is injured compare?
Isn't this worse? The BBC are meant to be editorially un-biased? They should keep the pictures and sound "as live". Anything else is distorting the factual record of what happened.
11-03-2024, 04:59 PM
They obviously know something is out of order or there would be no need to doctor the sound.
11-03-2024, 05:00 PM
On a day where the Princess of Wales has caused a stramash by manipulating a photo, how does the BBC obviously manipulating the audio when Boyle is injured compare?
Isn't this worse? The BBC are meant to be editorially un-biased? They should keep the pictures and sound "as live". Anything else is distorting the factual record of what happened.
Are you saying the sectarian abuse was edited out from BBC coverage?
Same as when they ‘turn off’ the pitch side microphones
Salisbury Hibby
11-03-2024, 05:18 PM
Yes, and I have complained to the BBC. I expect to get fobbed off. Something along the lines of it being offensive, I expect. Censorship, in other words.
11-03-2024, 05:20 PM
I don’t think it’s got anything to do with bias. Like other broadcasters they always apologise for any foul language heard in live broadcasts so I assume they would take the chance to edit out anything that might cause offence in a recorded show. I’ve not watched the Hibs TV highlights yet so I don’t if they are on there.
11-03-2024, 05:23 PM
It clearly wasn't off for TV as other journalists commented on how disgusting they were.
Argylehibby
11-03-2024, 05:29 PM
Unsurprisingly no mention of it on STV news at 6 tonight but to not mention Martin Boyles injury then talking about Rangers injury list and showing McCausland hobbling off was disgraceful.
11-03-2024, 05:29 PM
Was it heard on the viaplay coverage as BBC would have used their feed from last night.
Bridge hibs
11-03-2024, 05:35 PM
Unsurprisingly no mention of it on STV news at 6 tonight but to not mention Martin Boyles injury then talking about Rangers injury list and showing McCausland hobbling off was disgraceful.
Yep, a the rangers player breaks a toe nail and its headline news 😡
Salisbury Hibby
11-03-2024, 05:36 PM
Was it heard on the viaplay coverage as BBC would have used their feed from last night.
No idea. I was at the game.
Peanut Shaz
11-03-2024, 05:36 PM
Was at a recent book signing by a former player who now works in the media. He said that when he worked in TV that the sound was changed for the highlight shows to edit out the unsavoury songs.
1970s-80s Ibrox, whole stadium singing anti-Irish Catholic songs.
"...and the Rangers fans are really getting behind their team now...." - Archie McPherson.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Salisbury Hibby
11-03-2024, 05:45 PM
1970s-80s Ibrox, whole stadium singing anti-Irish Catholic songs.
"...and the Rangers fans are really getting behind their team now...." - Archie McPherson.
Who can forget the "Dougie, Dougie, you're a ****"
11-03-2024, 05:47 PM
No idea. I was at the game.
So was I, that's why I asked the question.
11-03-2024, 05:57 PM
Richard Gordon was a disgrace last night, in particular with his snide comment about Marcondes, who is wager he’s not even seen play many games. For him to label him a diver and cheat - which is what he implied with his “balance” comment - is despicable.
You know this, the most impartial pundit I’ve met and spoken to recently is Kris Boyd. He may be pro-The Rangers but when you speak to him he talks the most sense out the lot of them. And believe it or not he’s got time for Hibs.
11-03-2024, 06:10 PM
Yes, it was clear as day live last night but somehow disappeared on the BBC footage.
andrew70
11-03-2024, 06:12 PM
Richard Gordon was a disgrace last night, in particular with his snide comment about Marcondes, who is wager he’s not even seen play many games. For him to label him a diver and cheat - which is what he implied with his “balance” comment - is despicable.
You know this, the most impartial pundit I’ve met and spoken to recently is Kris Boyd. He may be pro-The Rangers but when you speak to him he talks the most sense out the lot of them. And believe it or not he’s got time for Hibs.
Yeah I listened to RS on way home and the whole thing was disgusting. They are complicit in the toxic West Coast bias so no surprise.
Hibs need to control the narrative now though.
11-03-2024, 06:13 PM
Loud and clear.
Richard Gordon was a disgrace last night, in particular with his snide .
That's all he is, a snide.
He shows a veneer of respectability but he's a snide nonetheless and has created "narratives" around Hibs players (Scott Brown, Gary O'connor, Martin Boyle) as well as his weirdo "karma" comment. I noticed after the derby game the term "went down easily" was applied to jambo rather than "dived".
hibeerealist
11-03-2024, 06:18 PM
Yes I swore at the tele when it moved to celtic livi game ****** a rse holes
11-03-2024, 06:24 PM
I nearly crashed the car when I heard Gordon's comment. Along the lines of his spiteful pish about Malonga.
Re Boyd, a lad I used to work beside met him on holiday a few years ago and said he was brilliant company, knew a lot about Hibs and gave an honest assessment of Paul Hanlon - liked to play against him as he thought he could out-muscle him but said PH was as good as any CB at bringing the ball out from defence.
raeburnhibs
11-03-2024, 06:43 PM
STV = Weegie News, don't watch it
VoltaireHibs
11-03-2024, 07:18 PM
I nearly crashed the car when I heard Gordon's comment. Along the lines of his spiteful pish about Malonga.
Re Boyd, a lad I used to work beside met him on holiday a few years ago and said he was brilliant company, knew a lot about Hibs and gave an honest assessment of Paul Hanlon - liked to play against him as he thought he could out-muscle him but said PH was as good as any CB at bringing the ball out from defence.
I can believe that re Boyd. Get him off the Huns topic and he's pretty fair. Bit like Preston, who at the recent derby was more than fair about Hibs performance, the 'penalty' and how poor Hearts were.
Richard Gordon is, always has been, and always will be a bitter, smug w##kstain.
Add Kheredine Idessane to the unlike list. An absolute rangers brown noser.
11-03-2024, 07:35 PM
Add Kheredine Idessane to the unlike list. An absolute rangers brown noser.
Is KI not a Hibs supporter ?
11-03-2024, 08:00 PM
Wow not to mention Boyle dear oh dear
11-03-2024, 08:05 PM
I hope not, he’s absolutely awful :greengrin
11-03-2024, 08:07 PM
STV = Weegie News, don't watch it
First word from them almost every night..rangers
11-03-2024, 08:08 PM
Also had a weird thing about Doidge. Absolute fruitcake so he is. Karma indeed
11-03-2024, 08:15 PM
I hope not, he’s absolutely awful :greengrin
I think he is
11-03-2024, 09:07 PM
Yes, their full repertoire of bigotry loud and clear.
12-03-2024, 11:21 AM
If I ever win the lottery I will be setting up a Scottish version of Talk Sport and absolutely throwing money at it. It would be fantastic to have a well produced, unbiased Scottish Sport radio station. Actually I'd very much make sure it WAS biased in favour of us ! :greengrin
12-03-2024, 11:38 AM
I'd say that Boyd and Preston are two good examples of guys who really know their football, are reasonably articulate, are open about who they support and who also manage to be generally unbiased and dispassionate about the games they are commentating on despite their own allegiances. I'd also add Mikey Stewart as someone who, although argumentative at times, does not flinch in calling things out pretty honestly.
Richard Gordon seems incapable of keeping his own personal bias out of the snide and repeated remarks he makes about his preferred targets. I find him quite a weasely character.
12-03-2024, 02:38 PM
Was KI not banned from Ibrox for reporting on sectarian singing at Ibrox?
12-03-2024, 03:10 PM
I'd say that Boyd and Preston are two good examples of guys who really know their football, are reasonably articulate, are open about who they support and who also manage to be generally unbiased and dispassionate about the games they are commentating on despite their own allegiances. I'd also add Mikey Stewart as someone who, although argumentative at times, does not flinch in calling things out pretty honestly.
Richard Gordon seems incapable of keeping his own personal bias out of the snide and repeated remarks he makes about his preferred targets. I find him quite a weasely character.
I once jokingly kicked him up the arse whilst I was in hospitality at Hamilton. I wish I’d volleyed him good and proper. :agree:
12-03-2024, 03:26 PM
Who’s KI?
12-03-2024, 03:28 PM
No I think it was Chris McLaughlin you’re thinking about.
12-03-2024, 03:29 PM
Who’s KI?
Kheredine Idessane
Anything on STV about the Sfa wanting a meeting with us ? Wee bit on reporting Scotland just now
12-03-2024, 05:51 PM
No I think it was Chris McLaughlin you’re thinking about.
It was, he also went hard at them over the EBT stuff.
Keepthefaith
12-03-2024, 05:52 PM
Anything on STV about the Sfa wanting a meeting with us ? Wee bit on reporting Scotland just now
yeah however they managed to make the bulk of it about objects being thrown on the pitch and lo and behold referenced his fans actions against shanks-land. nothing at all about the vile sectarian singing in our match with the rangers which led to this. not surprising but underlines everything that we know about the Scottish media
BBC scared to call out that sectarian singing is a major reason behind this. Covered everything else but didn’t mention that at all. **** journalism.
12-03-2024, 05:53 PM
They conveniently talked round the sectarian issue and concentrated on Hibs own fans misbehaviour. Tynecastle, burst seats at Motherwell etc. Pathetic but predictable.
12-03-2024, 05:53 PM
Yeah I listened to RS on way home and the whole thing was disgusting. They are complicit in the toxic West Coast bias so no surprise.
Hibs need to control the narrative now though.
How do you suppose we do that against a wholly biased media and an institution run in reverence of the Old Firm? We are one voice signing in the darkness. They control the narrative.
12-03-2024, 05:54 PM
Chris Maglaughlin is a complete and utter pussy. **** the BBC, complicit in sectarianism
DIXIHIBS
12-03-2024, 05:55 PM
yeah however they managed to make the bulk of it about objects being thrown on the pitch and lo and behold referenced his fans actions against shanks-land. nothing at all about the vile sectarian singing in our match with the rangers which led to this. not surprising but underlines everything that we know about the Scottish media
Just watched it. Unbelievable. I reckon the media will go after Hibs big time over this. Bias....what bias.
12-03-2024, 05:56 PM
Haven't seen it, apologies, but is that accurate? So from our statement, they've plucked out only the concession that Hibs fans have been at fault for various offences, and nothing else about what's driven this action?
12-03-2024, 05:56 PM
Clearly the BBC shat their pants after being banned at Ibrox. Ever since then they just point blank refuse to mention anything critical about them. That report was a joke just now on the news.
We should make a formal complaint about unbalanced reporting.
12-03-2024, 06:00 PM
Complete deflection tactics by the west of Scotland BBC. Managed to concentrate the whole report on Hibs fans behaviour rather than on the sectarian singing which prompted the ban decision. How often have the seats at ER been destroyed by OF and Hearts fans. Hibs fans virtually ceased the sectarian singing many years ago.
Keepthefaith
12-03-2024, 06:02 PM
Haven't seen it, apologies, but is that accurate? So from our statement, they've plucked out only the concession that Hibs fans have been at fault for various offences, and nothing else about what's driven this action?
yip - they showed imagery of the corkscrew at shanklands feet, along with referencing objects being thrown as part of the hibs statement. they mentioned pyros but funnily enough no images of the rangers and Celtic last visits when they lit up the south stand. no mention of Boyle or it being triggered by the sectarian singing at all.
12-03-2024, 06:04 PM
The female presenter mentioned sectarianism on the BBC
12-03-2024, 06:06 PM
Complete deflection tactics by the west of Scotland BBC. Managed to concentrate the whole report on Hibs fans behaviour rather than on the sectarian singing which prompted the ban decision. How often have the seats at ER been destroyed by OF and Hearts fans. Hibs fans virtually ceased the sectarian singing many years ago.
Tell you everything about the bbc as well, I would ban them along with the vile ones. He even looked embarrassed having to read that sheite out, what a shower, dont they know that the Americans dont give a ***k about them all.
12-03-2024, 06:06 PM
She'll be reprimanded in the morning for sure. Any statement from The Rangers yet?
zitelli62
12-03-2024, 06:10 PM
How do you suppose we do that against a wholly biased media and an institution run in reverence of the Old Firm? We are one voice signing in the darkness. They control the narrative.
Reminds me of del trotter singing that on only fools and horses.
12-03-2024, 06:13 PM
may as well get used to it now it will only increase, will be interesting to see if any other clubs join us in early stages or wait until we have done all work and taken all the pain then sneak in backdoor and claim they always backed us!
iron test will be top six finish and them having to come to ER to win title
ben johnson
12-03-2024, 06:59 PM
Lesser Greens are his team.
12-03-2024, 07:01 PM
She did but McLaughlin talked his way around it.
VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 08:04 PM
She did but McLaughlin talked his way around it.
Big Jim Traynor probably wrote it for him. Or had sign-off on it. And I'm only half joking.
12-03-2024, 08:55 PM
Clearly the BBC shat their pants after being banned at Ibrox. Ever since then they just point blank refuse to mention anything critical about them. That report was a joke just now on the news.
We should make a formal complaint about unbalanced reporting.
It was only Chris McLaughlin that was banned from Ibrox - the BBC actually staged a protest and decided they wouldn't be sending anyone to Ibrox as a result of the ban on McLaughlin. They only recently reversed that decision despite McLaughlin still being banned..
Fuzzywuzzy
12-03-2024, 09:01 PM
Michael Stewart ended up apologising as well after he upset them
12-03-2024, 09:16 PM
BBC scared to call out that sectarian singing is a major reason behind this. Covered everything else but didn’t mention that at all. **** journalism.
It’s not a program many watch but I see that Chris Mclaughlan does mention sectarian singing in his report on The Nine. That’s progress. Slow but progress nonetheless
12-03-2024, 09:21 PM
It’s not a program many watch but I see that Chris Mclaughlan does mention sectarian singing in his report on The Nine. That’s progress. Slow but progress nonetheless
Which he will know about two men and a dog watch.
13-03-2024, 06:31 AM
Let’s be honest, pretty much the whole of the Scottish media have been the lapdogs of the Old Firm for at least 20 years now , they are complicit in gaslighting the rest of Scotland about the OF behaviour
Let’s be honest, pretty much the whole of the Scottish media have been the lapdogs of the Old Firm for at least 20 years now , they are complicit in gaslighting the rest of Scotland about the OF behaviourLack of journalists with cahonies plus owners/editors want the clicks and sales so better for them to cowtow.
13-03-2024, 06:35 AM
From a period when the SMSM had some degree of autonomy
13-03-2024, 08:36 AM
Let’s be honest, pretty much the whole of the Scottish media have been the lapdogs of the Old Firm for at least 20 years now , they are complicit in gaslighting the rest of Scotland about the OF behaviour
Lack of journalists with cahonies plus owners/editors want the clicks and sales so better for them to cowtow.
All too true.
The 2016 Cup Final is the classic example with the lies printed about all Rangers players being attacked.
Further to that is what the media didnt focus on that day. The official police report in the days after the game stated that reinforcement Police officers attempting to get into the ground recieved sustained attacks by Rangers fans outside the stadium, with Police vehicles also sustaining damage.
Is anyone aware of that? Probably not.
The Daily Record published a small article hidden on page 6 of the paper with some unquoted lines from Police sources alluding to these attacks, however following complaints from angry bears claiming it didnt happen the article was taken down.
A media/police cover up to protect the image of Rangers fans? Almost certainly yes.
13-03-2024, 04:01 PM
From a period when the SMSM had some degree of autonomy
And integrity. Where did guys like Ian Archer go no doubt bullied like Spiers etc
13-03-2024, 04:04 PM
All too true.
The 2016 Cup Final is the classic example with the lies printed about all Rangers players being attacked.
Further to that is what the media didnt focus on that day. The official police report in the days after the game stated that reinforcement Police officers attempting to get into the ground recieved sustained attacks by Rangers fans outside the stadium, with Police vehicles also sustaining damage.
Is anyone aware of that? Probably not.
The Daily Record published a small article hidden on page 6 of the paper with some unquoted lines from Police sources alluding to these attacks, however following complaints from angry bears claiming it didnt happen the article was taken down.
A media/police cover up to protect the image of Rangers fans? Almost certainly yes.
It was also absolutely bizarre that in the report on the final there appeared to be no questioning of the actions of the police at the final such as why weren't there more in the ground to stop fans getting on the pitch.