View Full Version : Sky Sports

04-03-2024, 06:58 PM
Sky Sports
Interesting to read a run down of how many times each club has featured on Sky Sports this season to date. I subscribed for a couple years way back about 20 years ago but quickly realised what a total waste of money it was.

1 - Celtic 16
2 - Rangers 13
3 - Aberdeen 6
4 - Hearts 4
5 - Ross County 4
6 - St Mirren 4
7 - Kilmarnock 3
8 - Livingston 3
9 - Motherwell 3
10 - St Johnstone 3
11 - Hibs 2
12 - Dundee 1

Just an outlet to broadcast Old Firm away games.

04-03-2024, 07:01 PM
Yepp. That’s literally all it is.

How many non old firm games have featured this season?

04-03-2024, 07:07 PM
Sky Sports
Interesting to read a run down of how many times each club has featured on Sky Sports this season to date. I subscribed for a couple years way back about 20 years ago but quickly realised what a total waste of money it was.

1 - Celtic 16
2 - Rangers 13
3 - Aberdeen 6
4 - Hearts 4
5 - Ross County 4
6 - St Mirren 4
7 - Kilmarnock 3
8 - Livingston 3
9 - Motherwell 3
10 - St Johnstone 3
11 - Hibs 2
12 - Dundee 1

Just an outlet to broadcast Old Firm away games.

IPTV is your friend.

04-03-2024, 07:33 PM
I wonder how many viewers they got for the Livi/M'well game the night of the derby

04-03-2024, 10:49 PM
A wise yin once said: “The revolution will not be televised”

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-03-2024, 10:54 PM
A wise yin once said: “The revolution will not be televised”

And a wiser yin said “you’ll get it on the firestick!”

05-03-2024, 06:06 AM
I wonder how many viewers they got for the Livi/M'well game the night of the derby

Can you imagine Sky showing Brentford v Burnley instead of Everyon v Liverpool?

They are a cancer on our gane

05-03-2024, 06:08 AM
Yepp. That’s literally all it is.

How many non old firm games have featured this season?

4 I think

seanshow
05-03-2024, 06:23 AM
1st match - 25th December 1875,
I presume by quite a few years the oldest top flight football derby on the planet.

It's 2024! and by legal means if you don't get a ticket for Easter road or Tynecastle.
your only option is listen to it on the radio, ( wi some jambo fud) lol

Nice one sky, f'n bell ends.

05-03-2024, 06:55 AM
Not sticking up for Sky here but the clubs didn’t help the situation with the package they agreed with Sky, which limits the number of games per ground each season.

Sky will naturally want the biggest audience so they focus on Rangers and Celtic away each week, for the top teams that is 4 games at home, which i think is the limit (or close to the limit).

The clubs did that to protect their matchday income, I’m not sure by how much the attendance decrease if the game is on TV but i guess they must to enough of a degree that clubs don’t want the cameras there all the time.

It feels like we’re massively missing a trick though - each club’s season has its own story that their fans will want to follow, and to have camera black outs for games like the Derby is such a massive own goal for the league and the clubs - and the broadcaster, themselves who end up having to show a game which has extraordinarily low appeal to those outside of the two clubs’ own supporters.

The clubs should be pushing for better when the deal is next up and should be looking for a broadcasting partner than can at the very least stream every game across the league so people have the choice.

For many folk, away games are a struggle but things like IPTV have been a Godsend as it means they can watch the games, but they have to break the law to do it, they pay money that ends to who knows where, with no tax paid on it etc and they have to hope the stream works well enough or the sound matches the picture and so on.

Whereas we could have an agreement where a reasonable subscription gets you the games you want to see in broadcast quality, a reliable picture, where the club benefits from the income. Those that go to games will still go to games, it’s a distant second best watching the game at home to going to the game, and plenty folk will still use Firesticks to watch illegally, but also plenty folk prefer not to break the law to watch football, don’t begrudge a reasonably priced offering- especially if the club benefits.

It’s a miles better option than Old Firm TV which is basically what we’ve got now.

05-03-2024, 06:56 AM
not sticking up for sky here but the clubs didn’t help the situation with the package they agreed with sky, which limits the number of games per ground each season.

Sky will naturally want the biggest audience so they focus on rangers and celtic away each week, for the top teams that is 4 games at home, which i think is the limit (or close to the limit).

The clubs did that to protect their matchday income, i’m not sure by how much the attendance decrease if the game is on tv but i guess they must to enough of a degree that clubs don’t want the cameras there all the time.

It feels like we’re massively missing a trick though - each club’s season has its own story that their fans will want to follow, and to have camera black outs for games like the derby is such a massive own goal for the league and the clubs - and the broadcaster, themselves who end up having to show a game which has extraordinarily low appeal to those outside of the two clubs’ own supporters.

The clubs should be pushing for better when the deal is next up and should be looking for a broadcasting partner than can at the very least stream every game across the league so people have the choice.

For many folk, away games are a struggle but things like iptv have been a godsend as it means they can watch the games, but they have to break the law to do it, they pay money that ends to who knows where, with no tax paid on it etc and they have to hope the stream works well enough or the sound matches the picture and so on.

Whereas we could have an agreement where a reasonable subscription gets you the games you want to see in broadcast quality, a reliable picture, where the club benefits from the income. Those that go to games will still go to games, it’s a distant second best watching the game at home to going to the game, and plenty folk will still use firesticks to watch illegally, but also plenty folk prefer not to break the law to watch football, don’t begrudge a reasonably priced offering- especially if the club benefits.

It’s a miles better option than old firm tv which is basically what we’ve got now.

tl; dr.

Trinity Hibee
05-03-2024, 07:03 AM
Could they not scrap the 4 games per ground per season rule and just say that at least 20 or 25% of games shown must be non OF?

ruthven_raiders
05-03-2024, 07:05 AM
Could they not scrap the 4 games per ground per season rule and just say that at least 20 or 25% of games shown must be non OF?

To be honest I prefer no Hibs games to be live on sky, means normal kick off times, so will mean I can go to most games...

05-03-2024, 07:09 AM
Sky are a disgrace in the way that they treat our game: next to no marketing, careless mistakes (i.e. have the Dundee Utd badge on screen when talking about Dundee etc). It's as if the SPFL are a chore for them.

However, from my purely selfish perspective as a match going supporter; I prefer that we've not been on TV very often this season so the kick off times haven't been pissed about with.

05-03-2024, 07:29 AM
Seems there is 700K Sky sports subscribers in Scotland, that is a lot of money sky gets for a crap service.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ScottishFootball/comments/10qqc4e/sky_sports_coverage_is_shocking/

05-03-2024, 08:03 AM
It's 2024! and by legal means if you don't get a ticket for Easter road or Tynecastle.
your only option is listen to it on the radio

Was it not on Hearts PPV?

05-03-2024, 08:13 AM

They could put that on the table, but I'm not sure that's appealing for Sky or whoever else picks it up.

I do think it's incredibly short sighted from both the broadcasters and the league negotiating the deal, though. You want the game to grow, it benefits everyone and there are some great games in the league - different standard from the Premiership in England, granted, but you only need to look at results this weekend to see some great stories, and all they showed was Hearts v Celtic.

The way to grow the game is to showcase it properly, we're miles off that at the moment and that's on the clubs as much as it's on the broadcasters.

Putting the games on TV won't stop the folk who go to games going to them, in fact over time I reckon it would grow attendances because people get to see what they're missing. The Premiership in England certainly doesn't seem to be lacking bums on seats.

Gloucester Hibs
05-03-2024, 08:14 AM
Was it not on Hearts PPV?

The derby last week was on Hearts PPV, the previous derby at the PBS wasn't due to the 3pm UK TV blackout. If you couldn't get a ticket you could only watch it in the UK via IPTV or Hibs TV International with a VPN.

05-03-2024, 08:17 AM
Matty nailed it. We need a broadcast PARTNER. Someone prepared and willing to invest the time and content to our clubs.

I'm not sure if that's solely Doncaster responsibility but there needs to be far greater scope when we seek our next deal

05-03-2024, 01:09 PM
I sent in a complaint to Sky about this suggest that everyone on here does as well. I threatened to cancel my Sky Sports if they do not rectify this issue.

05-03-2024, 01:29 PM
Can you imagine Sky showing Brentford v Burnley instead of Everyon v Liverpool?

They are a cancer on our gane

No. The Ugly Sisters are the cancer on our game. Sky are the parasite that lives on that cancer.

05-03-2024, 05:39 PM
The Edinburgh Derby has a huge appeal, and maybe not always for the right reasons as we saw the other night, but no one can deny it’s a powder keg fixture, with big away crowds in attendance and an occasion that’s tense, nervy and usually with plenty controversy. I don’t watch much football on TV but this is the type of fixture that would draw me in.

Any TV deal that decides such matches to be not worthy of coverage is obviously a hugely flawed one. If there is a genuine will to promote our game in Scotland and show that there’s more to Scottish football than the Old Firm, yet repeatedly ignore a box office fixture, then those in office are shirking their responsibilities towards the greater good of the game.

It’s more or less an admission that they’re not really interested in anyone apart from the Old Firm.

05-03-2024, 05:41 PM
I sent in a complaint to Sky about this suggest that everyone on here does as well. I threatened to cancel my Sky Sports if they do not rectify this issue.

Cancel it and get a dodgy Firestick. They’re not gonna change.

Paul1642
05-03-2024, 06:36 PM
The Edinburgh Derby has a huge appeal, and maybe not always for the right reasons as we saw the other night, but no one can deny it’s a powder keg fixture, with big away crowds in attendance and an occasion that’s tense, nervy and usually with plenty controversy. I don’t watch much football on TV but this is the type of fixture that would draw me in.

Any TV deal that decides such matches to be not worthy of coverage is obviously a hugely flawed one. If there is a genuine will to promote our game in Scotland and show that there’s more to Scottish football than the Old Firm, yet repeatedly ignore a box office fixture, then those in office are shirking their responsibilities towards the greater good of the game.

It’s more or less an admission that they’re not really interested in anyone apart from the Old Firm.

Spot on here. Short term the Sky deal might bring in the most money but it’s doing nothing to grow our game. I’m sold IPTV and likely never pay for the likes of Sky ever again (even if IPTV gets clamped down on eventually), buy outwith Hibs games I would much rather watch the likes of Aberdeen, Killi and St Mirren playing each other then any pish game involving the old firm and the biased refereeing that goes with them.

05-03-2024, 06:48 PM
Growing the game here needs more done than sky sports. Just look at the difference between match of the day and Sportscene, one actively promotes all teams and their exciting league and the other is old firm bias. Scottish football needs to promote itself in a much better manner but because it is so ingrained in the rangers it will never do anything worthwhile.

05-03-2024, 06:54 PM
Seems there is 700K Sky sports subscribers in Scotland, that is a lot of money sky gets for a crap service.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ScottishFootball/comments/10qqc4e/sky_sports_coverage_is_shocking/

They’re not all subscribing for Scottish football though are they? Plenty won’t care

05-03-2024, 11:40 PM
Not sticking up for Sky here but the clubs didn’t help the situation with the package they agreed with Sky, which limits the number of games per ground each season.

Sky will naturally want the biggest audience so they focus on Rangers and Celtic away each week, for the top teams that is 4 games at home, which i think is the limit (or close to the limit).

The clubs did that to protect their matchday income, I’m not sure by how much the attendance decrease if the game is on TV but i guess they must to enough of a degree that clubs don’t want the cameras there all the time.

It feels like we’re massively missing a trick though - each club’s season has its own story that their fans will want to follow, and to have camera black outs for games like the Derby is such a massive own goal for the league and the clubs - and the broadcaster, themselves who end up having to show a game which has extraordinarily low appeal to those outside of the two clubs’ own supporters.

For many folk, away games are a struggle but things like IPTV have been a Godsend as it means they can watch the games, but they have to break the law to do it, they pay money that ends to who knows where, with no tax paid on it etc and they have to hope the stream works well enough or the sound matches the picture and so on.

Whereas we could have an agreement where a reasonable subscription gets you the games you want to see in broadcast quality, a reliable picture, where the club benefits from the income. Those that go to games will still go to games, it’s a distant second best watching the game at home to going to the game, and plenty folk will still use Firesticks to watch illegally, but also plenty folk prefer not to break the law to watch football, don’t begrudge a reasonably priced offering- especially if the club benefits.

It’s a miles better option than Old Firm TV which is basically what we’ve got now.

with his background Ron would definately have a view - wonder if anyone got his thoughts - suppose he’s in the business of selling TV rights.

Sky must know toughly the numbers watching illegally. As long as it means viewers for advertising I’m imagining that’s the key thing.

06-03-2024, 11:56 PM
I'm surprised they don't even bother to do a Sportscene type highlights programme.

07-03-2024, 10:45 AM
Folk moan about kick of times being changed to suit TV, folk moan we're not on TV enough. Can't win

07-03-2024, 01:42 PM
Folk moan about kick of times being changed to suit TV, folk moan we're not on TV enough. Can't win
Yeh I’m glad we are not in the tv as it makes people more likely go to the game with 3 pm kick off times.

07-03-2024, 10:12 PM

I don’t like KO times being moved to accommodate TV, but only being selected twice to date for Sky TV annoys me just as much.

A bit like being annoyed at the prospect of getting searched at the turnstiles, but being more annoyed when they take one look at you and just wave you through..

07-03-2024, 10:18 PM

All they’re interested in is viewing figures. And they know they’ll get more viewers when Rangers visit Tynecastle than when we do.

It’s on the clubs for having such stupid restrictions in place.

07-03-2024, 10:19 PM
Matty nailed it. We need a broadcast PARTNER. Someone prepared and willing to invest the time and content to our clubs.

I'm not sure if that's solely Doncaster responsibility but there needs to be far greater scope when we seek our next deal

Are there any other broadcasters out there interested in paying as much as Sky?

If there is, I'd imagine we'll go with them next time around. If not, we'll take what Sky offers and nothing will change.

29-04-2024, 06:45 PM
Just to update the figures, and we are now joint bottom with Dundee in the general interest outwith the Old Firm for Sky table.

Must be the most imbalanced TV deal in Europe by some distance.

I wouldn’t be wasting any money to include any TV Studio facilities that would only be used a couple of times a season in future development plans. I’d remove the thing that’s there at present and put the space to better use and just let them broadcast pitchside.

Celtic 19
Rangers 16
Aberdeen 6
Ross County 5
St.Mirren 5
Hearts 4
Livingston 4
Kilmarnock 3
Motherwell 3
St.Johnstone 3
Dundee 2
Hibs 2

29-04-2024, 06:52 PM
Just to update the figures, and we are now joint bottom with Dundee in the general interest outwith the Old Firm for Sky table.

I wouldn’t be wasting any money to include any TV Studio facilities that would only be used a couple of times a season in future development plans. I’d remove the thing that’s there at present and put the space to better use and just let them broadcast pitchside.

Celtic 19
Rangers 16
Aberdeen 6
Ross County 5
St.Mirren 5
Hearts 4
Livingston 4
Kilmarnock 3
Motherwell 3
St.Johnstone 3
Dundee 2
Hibs 2

These are quite unbelievable stats. Means Rangers and Celtic fans can nearly watch every away game on Sky

I cancelled my Old Firm TV subscription last year and won’t be adding it back in anytime soon

29-04-2024, 08:18 PM
These are quite unbelievable stats. Means Rangers and Celtic fans can nearly watch every away game on Sky

I cancelled my Old Firm TV subscription last year and won’t be adding it back in anytime soon
Been the case for years. Almost every OF away game broadcast.

29-04-2024, 08:38 PM

Celtic 19
Rangers 16
Aberdeen 6
Ross County 5
St.Mirren 5
Hearts 4
Livingston 4
Kilmarnock 3
Motherwell 3
St.Johnstone 3
Dundee 2
Hibs 2

What are the stats for? Have we not been on more than two games?

1875Sean
29-04-2024, 10:03 PM
What are the stats for? Have we not been on more than two games?

Correct, I think the games were Celtic and Hearts

30-04-2024, 05:58 AM
Correct, I think the games were Celtic and Hearts

That is a shocker

30-04-2024, 05:59 AM
Now do the stats for teams featured in games that didn't include Rangers or Celtic :hilarious

DavieRoy
30-04-2024, 06:41 AM
The SPFL put in a tender 4 games at each ground, they sell it on the basis of the Old Firm away being on every week. It wouldn’t matter who had the rights, Sky or BT or BBC, that is the quota the league obviously wanted to tender. When I say league, I mean the clubs, one of them ours!!

If we have been on just twice then they obviously saved games presuming we would have been in the top six with Rangers and Hearts to come that would have been on. So partly our fault for being woeful!!

30-04-2024, 06:59 AM
Now do the stats for teams featured in games that didn't include Rangers or Celtic :hilarious

I can genuinely only remember the Livi v Motherwell game a couple of months ago as a game the didn't feature the old firm being on Sky.

30-04-2024, 07:05 AM
I can genuinely only remember the Livi v Motherwell game a couple of months ago as a game the didn't feature the old firm being on Sky.

Yeah the same day as Hearts 1 v 1 Hibs IIRC

Nuts !

DavieRoy
30-04-2024, 07:08 AM
Yeah the same day as Hearts 1 v 1 Hibs IIRC

Nuts !

Is it nuts? If they only have a quota of 4 games at each ground and they don’t know who will make the top six, then they have to keep games back surely? They didn’t take Kilmarnock v Rangers that midweek too, it was Ross County v St. Mirren. So ultimately the quotas, that the club want to put to tender is one of the issues.

30-04-2024, 07:16 AM
Is it nuts? If they only have a quota of 4 games at each ground and they don’t know who will make the top six, then they have to keep games back surely? They didn’t take Kilmarnock v Rangers that midweek too, it was Ross County v St. Mirren. So ultimately the quotas, that the club want to put to tender is one of the issues.

OK but what about Hibs fans wanting to watch the game who couldn’t get tickets ?

Did Hearts offer a PPV ? ( was a midweek game )

The only other option would be IPTV or a dodgy stream ?

I appreciate the four game rule but remember thinking the UK missed out on a spectacle and a missed opportunity to promote our derby

DavieRoy
30-04-2024, 07:25 AM
OK but what about Hibs fans wanting to watch the game who couldn’t get tickets ?

Did Hearts offer a PPV ?

The only other option would be IPTV or a dodgy stream ?

I appreciate the four game rule but remember thinking the UK missed out on a spectacle and a missed opportunity to promote our derby

Absolutely agree with that.

Hearts could have offered PPV that night as it was a midweek and you can do PPV on a midweek even if Sky had a game.

The problem I have is we focus on Sky and it is easy to blame them or TV in general, it is on the SPFL and by extension the clubs.

Since 2006-2020, they sold 60 games with 6 games at each non-Old Firm ground. That made sure all the big games were covered.

The clubs wanted to cut games on TV and go from 6 to 4 at each ground.

Sky can take up to 48 games but 4 at each ground. 12 teams x 4 at each ground = 48. No way with a split and some meaningless games that they will ever take 48 and I don’t blame them for that. I blame the clubs that made this into a tender to sell.

The interesting question is would Sky have shown the last Edinburgh Derby had we made the top six as they could go back to Easter Road twice. No quota issues. That would have told the story.

30-04-2024, 08:00 AM
Time for the non OF teams to start their own channel/negotiate their own deal. It would mean that any games v OF would be in TV limbo but I can deal with that.

Would gladly pay a tenner a month or whatever reasonable price is required for that. :aok:

DavieRoy
30-04-2024, 08:06 AM
Time for the non OF teams to start their own channel/negotiate their own deal. It would mean that any games v OF would be in TV limbo but I can deal with that.

Would gladly pay a tenner a month or whatever reasonable price is required for that. :aok:

Really? The TV deal is collective. If Sky were the only meaningful bidders last time, who would come in for a deal like that.

Clubs have a fiduciary due to act in the best interests of their company. Why would they risk a TV deal being less than it currently is?

30-04-2024, 08:09 AM
Disgraceful coverage not that I’d want hibs this season to be broadcast too much for obvious reasons

But we wonder why their is a lack of interest etc

Aberdeen v hibs
Hearts v Aberdeen
All these type of bigger team fixtures should be on telly

Instead each week your treated to Ross county v Celtic

Then Livingston v rangers it really is a brutal tv deal and old firm domination

Sadly the sfa don’t care about who’s on, they just want the cash

30-04-2024, 08:09 AM
Absolutely agree with that.

Hearts could have offered PPV that night as it was a midweek and you can do PPV on a midweek even if Sky had a game.

The problem I have is we focus on Sky and it is easy to blame them or TV in general, it is on the SPFL and by extension the clubs.

Since 2006-2020, they sold 60 games with 6 games at each non-Old Firm ground. That made sure all the big games were covered.

The clubs wanted to cut games on TV and go from 6 to 4 at each ground.

Sky can take up to 48 games but 4 at each ground. 12 teams x 4 at each ground = 48. No way with a split and some meaningless games that they will ever take 48 and I don’t blame them for that. I blame the clubs that made this into a tender to sell.

The interesting question is would Sky have shown the last Edinburgh Derby had we made the top six as they could go back to Easter Road twice. No quota issues. That would have told the story.

Do you work for Sky?

DavieRoy
30-04-2024, 08:10 AM
Don’t forget, next season, the deal goes to 60 games and 5 at each ground.

There are also two package of 10 games which are non-Old Firm games that are being sold. Sky have first refusal then they go on the open market, so let’s see if TNT, Premier or BBC want to put their money up and buy non-Old Firm games. No excuse.

30-04-2024, 08:10 AM
Disgraceful coverage not that I’d want hibs this season to be broadcast too much for obvious reasons

But we wonder why their is a lack of interest etc

Aberdeen v hibs
Hearts v Aberdeen
All these type of bigger team fixtures should be on telly

Instead each week your treated to Ross county v Celtic

Then Livingston v rangers it really is a brutal tv deal and old firm domination

Sadly the sfa don’t care about who’s on, they just want the cash

It’s the spfl which is basically the clubs

30-04-2024, 08:11 AM
Don’t forget, next season, the deal goes to 60 games and 5 at each ground.

There are also two package of 10 games which are non-Old Firm games that are being sold. Sky have first refusal then they go on the open market, so let’s see if TNT, Premier or BBC want to put their money up and buy non-Old Firm games. No excuse.

What do you mean first refusal? Does that mean Sky agree and no other broadcaster gets a look in?

DavieRoy
30-04-2024, 08:16 AM
What do you mean first refusal? Does that mean Sky agree and no other broadcaster gets a look in?

https://twitter.com/spflwatch/status/1702733370797466051?s=46&t=WTrUMRRa5xKdbCnXP-Y1LA

Apparently it goes to Sky, if they don’t want to buy them, they go on the open market.

I am only going by what has been reported. The Mediawatch guy has put out what I put above about the 4 games at each ground.

I get annoyed at the clubs. Put something in a tender document that makes Sky or whoever have to show certain games.

30-04-2024, 08:16 AM

The uptake wouldn’t be big enough for it to be worthwhile in my opinion.

Like it or not the vast majority of football fans in the country are Rangers and Celtc fans. So your target market is the proportion of the population who like football, but aren’t already getting the coverage they want, so subtracting the Rangers/Celtc supporters.

Then you factor in that it won’t always be your team playing on the televised game of the non-Rangers/Celtc channel. Are folk really interested in watching Ross County or Dundee or Motherwell games that aren’t against Hibs? Especially when they’ll likely be on at the same time as other games from the EPL.

I think if the idea had any legs it’d be done already. The interest just isn’t there to make this happen.

30-04-2024, 08:50 AM

Only 4 games broadcast that didn’t feature either of Old Firm.

30-04-2024, 09:23 AM

Like it or not the vast majority of football fans in the country are Rangers and Celtc fans. So your target market is the proportion of the population who like football, but aren’t already getting the coverage they want, so subtracting the Rangers/Celtc supporters.

Then you factor in that it won’t always be your team playing on the televised game of the non-Rangers/Celtc channel. Are folk really interested in watching Ross County or Dundee or Motherwell games that aren’t against Hibs? Especially when they’ll likely be on at the same time as other games from the EPL.

I think if the idea had any legs it’d be done already. The interest just isn’t there to make this happen.

I agree with this, no chance would there be enough non-old firm interest.

I do think clubs should be given the chance to shows their games PPV if not selected for TV.

30-04-2024, 12:02 PM

Agreed. Not close to enough demand for something like that.