View Full Version : Emiliano Marcondes

29-02-2024, 12:24 AM
Can we get him signed permanently in the summer.

Fantastic player.

29-02-2024, 12:50 AM
In the summer we risk losing 5 (?) of the current squad as they are currently on loan.

Hopefully negotiations for those we want and can realistically keep are already underway, or replacements lined up.

I’m hoping we can avoid yet another season of ‘transition’ by getting everybody in before pre season training starts.

29-02-2024, 12:59 AM
In the summer we risk losing 5 (?) of the current squad as they are currently on loan.

Hopefully negotiations for those we want and can realistically keep are already underway, or replacements lined up.

I’m hoping we can avoid yet another season of ‘transition’ by getting everybody in before pre season training starts.
It's a near impossible wish Fred. Unless we were offering massive wages then players are quite within their rights to keep their options open waiting for a better offer.

29-02-2024, 01:38 AM
It's a near impossible wish Fred. Unless we were offering massive wages then players are quite within their rights to keep their options open waiting for a better offer.

True..but as nobody ever said….’even though I lie in the gutter, I can still look up at the stars’😂

29-02-2024, 02:16 AM
Guys outstanding. Said it from day one, his touches, turns, awareness etc is next level. Absolutely delighted he got it right up them with a goal. Guy will continue to shine for us for the rest of the season along with Maolida. It's the benefits of the Foely deal guys, I don't think we've seen anything yet and personally can't wait for the summer window!

29-02-2024, 02:16 AM
Player 100%, we wont be able to afford him.

Torto7
29-02-2024, 02:43 AM

They could extend his contract if they feel there's value in keeping him within their group. Then he's a fringe/bench EPL player, potentially a loan signing for Lorient or maybe just maybe he'll want to come back here and Bournemouth grant him his wish.

29-02-2024, 05:37 AM
Certainly a player. Some of his first time flicks and touches are incredible.

I think there is still plenty more to come from him however and it’s quite exciting knowing he’ll get stronger each week and hopefully finish the season at his best.

I think when that comes we’ll see him a lot sharper in the final third and see more through balls, crosses and shots that really danger the opposition.

If he plays to his potential, you have to think the old firm will look to him as a cheap but quality option.

29-02-2024, 05:54 AM
looks a quality player for this level, puts in a nice corner also.

7Hero
29-02-2024, 06:27 AM
Are loriemt within touching distance of European football ??

If we are in Europe that's a bogger shop window than loriemt..

But he'll surely have better offers or will just fit back into the Bournemouth first team. Some player indeed..

29-02-2024, 06:33 AM

But he'll surely have better offers or will just fit back into the Bournemouth first team. Some player indeed..

They are almost in relegation places I'm sure, is he not out of contract in the summer?

29-02-2024, 06:39 AM
Who is as it that said “It’s better to have loved and lost. Than to have never loved at all.”

mcohibs
29-02-2024, 06:48 AM

Think that’s something we’ll need to get used to under the Foley arrangement

29-02-2024, 06:50 AM

Will have half a dozen championship offers.

29-02-2024, 06:55 AM
He's someone we could probably never afford. We should just enjoy watching him while we can

29-02-2024, 06:58 AM
This is one summer where I absolutely want to see wholesale changes to the squad.

I want to see more players of the calibre of Marcondes, Moriah-Welsh and Maolida and less of the types signed the last few windows.

It's the whole point of the Foley's getting involved with us.

The days of signing the likes of Bojangles are hopefully long gone. We still have too many players that don't belong anywhere near us and need to be moved on.

29-02-2024, 07:28 AM
we need to do whatever we can to keep him. if we are getting financial backing now, put together as good an offer as that allows to try and tempt him to stay.

29-02-2024, 07:38 AM
Can we get him signed permanently in the summer.

Fantastic player.

His football brain is miles ahead of anyone on the pitch. An outstanding footballer.

29-02-2024, 07:38 AM
we need to do whatever we can to keep him. if we are getting financial backing now, put together as good an offer as that allows to try and tempt him to stay.

He will be a free transfer so no reason we can't subsidise his wage with a lump sum "transfer fee" payable directly to him.

Pretty sure that's quite doable.

29-02-2024, 07:42 AM
He hasn’t played much football the last couple of seasons. Must be an outside chance we could possibly get him on a 2 year deal with a release clause. In essence we could enjoy him for one more season and he gets another season of first team football under his belt before his last big pay day at 29.

29-02-2024, 07:45 AM
I think this is the kind of situation we now need to get used to -

Excellent EPL players not getting a game, loaned to us for a year.

Some will come for longer, some will go elsewhere.

If they continue at the standard of him and Maolida, I wont be complaining.

29-02-2024, 07:47 AM
hopefully players with the same fitba brain as him are on our radar.

29-02-2024, 07:47 AM
He hasn’t played much football the last couple of seasons. Must be an outside chance we could possibly get him on a 2 year deal with a release clause. In essence we could enjoy him for one more season and he gets another season of first team football under his belt before his last big pay day at 29.

Feel once he is fully up to speed he could be a modern day version of wee Russell Latapy.

Dmas
29-02-2024, 07:52 AM
I was told a snippet that both the ugly sisters are sniffing around never had any info before so there is a big chance of it being rubbish just to dampen my love of the man.

29-02-2024, 08:01 AM
I was told a snippet that both the ugly sisters are sniffing around never had any info before so there is a big chance of it being rubbish just to dampen my love of the man.

Chances are they will sniffing around Maolida too.

These are players of the calibre that we have every chance of signing under the new owners.

If Black Knights are at all interested in signing them/keeping them then they'd be staying here.

29-02-2024, 08:08 AM
Not a chance he'll be back next season unfortunately.

29-02-2024, 08:10 AM
So long as he is indicative of the quality of our signings from now on then I’ll be happy even if he does move on.

29-02-2024, 08:22 AM
Who is as it that said “It’s better to have loved and lost. Than to have never loved at all.”

https://youtu.be/bl5TUw7sUBs?si=G3dWjaabh4IyX4BH&t=60

29-02-2024, 08:26 AM
20 grand a week easy for that kind of player - I'm not sure how much Celtic afford to pay but even with our investment can't see how we can ever really match them with their attendances and TV money not being much in Scotland

Would have to really do well in Europe to be able to afford players of that calibre in my mind but happy to be proved wrong

29-02-2024, 08:33 AM
If this is the quality of player we're signing from now on then I am very excited.

DanishJohn
29-02-2024, 08:39 AM
I don't think money will come into it.

I just think he will want to go to a better league and there's nothing wrong with that. The benefit for him just now is that we are a decent shop window. He is getting game time and a chance to show the football world what he can do.

29-02-2024, 08:42 AM
20 grand a week easy for that kind of player - I'm not sure how much Celtic afford to pay but even with our investment can't see how we can ever really match them with their attendances and TV money not being much in Scotland

Would have to really do well in Europe to be able to afford players of that calibre in my mind but happy to be proved wrong

We could make him our top earner on £10K a week. We have the money.

I think there is an outside chance he’s a hibby this time next season.

Superb player.

Cool as **** name as well. Emiliano.

Yes sir.

If he enjoys his time here, he may just fancy it.

29-02-2024, 08:43 AM

Del Amitri

EGL2000
29-02-2024, 08:44 AM
That is the only worry with this new way of doing business all the good loan players move back that we realistically have no chance of keeping long term and we need to rebuild every season. Already been rebuilding for the last eternity it feels like. Hopefully a few more permanent quality signings in the summer.

Paulie Walnuts
29-02-2024, 08:45 AM

Superb player.

Yes sir.

I honestly don’t see £10k a week being nearly enough.

We already have players on sums not all that different from that. He could go to the Championship in England and earn 2 or 3 times what we could give him, even with the new investment and probably live in London or something as well.

I’d be very, very surprised if he’s here next season. I wouldn’t be hugely surprised if we have a similar player arrive on a loan though.

29-02-2024, 08:46 AM
I honestly don’t see £10k a week being nearly enough.

We already have players on sums not all that different from that. He could go to the Championship in England and earn 2 or 3 times what we could give him, even with the new investment and probably live in London or something as well.

I’d be very, very surprised if he’s here next season. I wouldn’t be hugely surprised if we have a similar player arrive on a loan though.

Fair enough mate.

Hope you’re wrong.

Paulie Walnuts
29-02-2024, 08:47 AM
Fair enough mate.

Hope you’re wrong.

So do I :greengrin

29-02-2024, 08:49 AM
Tynecastle is notorious for its suffocatingly tight pitch dimensions, but Marcondes seemed to have more time than anyone else on the pitch when gathering the ball in tight areas. The sign of a top class player.

Really enjoying watching him play for Hibs and I dare say he looks like he’s enjoying playing for Hibs himself.

29-02-2024, 08:56 AM

Superb player.

Yes sir.

I had heard he is on £40k a week at Bournemouth with us paying 20% of that to get him on loan.....if that's true then he wont be coming for £10k a week.

29-02-2024, 08:58 AM
I had heard he is on £40k a week at Bournemouth with us paying 20% of that to get him on loan.....if that's true then he wont be coming for £10k a week.

Supposedly more like 18k at Bournemouth.

29-02-2024, 09:01 AM
Supposedly more like 18k at Bournemouth.

If thats right then we have far more of a chance. If players like Edinburgh and are made to feel like heroes then that could be a strong draw....

VoltaireHibs
29-02-2024, 09:05 AM
He will be a free transfer so no reason we can't subsidise his wage with a lump sum "transfer fee" payable directly to him.

Pretty sure that's quite doable.

Not at all doable. As others have said - enjoy him while he's here. It's a great mutual arrangement for both of us,, we get his skill, he gets match fit and a decent shop window. He'll be playing somewhere down south next year.

29-02-2024, 09:05 AM
Not at all doable. As others have said - enjoy him while he's here. It's a great mutual arrangement for both of us,, we get his skill, he gets match fit and a decent shop window. He'll be playing somewhere down south next year.

I meant the process of offering a lump sum as a fee, not that it would mean he would sign.

VoltaireHibs
29-02-2024, 09:06 AM

I understood we weren't paying any of his wages?

29-02-2024, 09:07 AM
It's obvious what a bit of quality has made to our team.

29-02-2024, 09:08 AM
He's a player that any of the Ugly Sisters would sign, I'm hoping with the new investors we can get near an offer he can accept, if we can get Europe regularly he might like that idea.

VoltaireHibs
29-02-2024, 09:11 AM
I meant the process of offering a lump sum as a fee, not that it would mean he would sign.

We just don't have that kind of money. Think folk need to calm down a wee bit. 6 million, with maybe half of that going directly to infrastructure, means we get two or three above average SPL players, IF we spend it wisely. The real benefit of the multi-club bit is that we occasionally get a loan like Marcondes.

But as we've seen with Moriah-Welsh, Maolida and Marcondes, those three players can totally change the dynamic of the team.

29-02-2024, 09:14 AM
We just don't have that kind of money. Think folk need to calm down a wee bit. 6 million, with maybe half of that going directly to infrastructure, means we get two or three above average SPL players, IF we spend it wisely. The real benefit of the multi-club bit is that we occasionally get a loan like Marcondes.

But as we've seen with Moriah-Welsh, Maolida and Marcondes, those three players can totally change the dynamic of the team.

We don't have the money to offer a fee? We paid almost 2m in fees the year before last.

£520k up front payment to him as if we were paying a club = £10k a week towards the overall contribution to his renumeration for a year.

Nothing to do with the 6m at all.

29-02-2024, 09:16 AM

Him and Maolida are prob on about 60-70 grand a week between them.

Thats the massive benefit of the Black Knight link up.

29-02-2024, 09:19 AM
If Hibs are serious as a club about stepping up a level then it’ll be interesting what we offer him. It would cost millions to get a similar player in the door, and he’s already half in.

We should push the boat out with a big signing on fee and 10/15 grand a week. He’s that good. The club were talking about quality over quantity the other night so show it.

29-02-2024, 09:20 AM
We can't afford their wage- but hopefully the loan signings can continue if all parties are happy.. a place in Europe would help that.

29-02-2024, 09:22 AM
He's the type of player I want to pay money to watch.

Floats about the park, makes the game look so easy and is able to do things other players just can't. He still doesn't look 100% up to full match fitness yet either, if we can get him there in the next few weeks then he will be frightening.

I'm not convinced we will be able to keep him even with the BK link up, there will be top 6-8 Championship teams in England who would be willing to pay 7 figures (i know he is out of contract but you know what I mean) for a player like him and offer serious wages. He's proven at the very top end of that league.

29-02-2024, 09:26 AM
Him and Maolida are prob on about 60-70 grand a week between them.

Thats the massive benefit of the Black Knight link up.

Average weekly wage in Bundesliga 2 is around 5000 Euros

29-02-2024, 09:30 AM
Average weekly wage in Bundesliga 2 is around 5000 Euros

Obviously I've no idea what Maolida's wage is, but I think it's safe to say that Hertha's average wage will be a lot higher than that division's average wage.

When we were in the Championship the average wage for that division wouldn't have been a meaningful way to guess at our players' wages.

29-02-2024, 09:34 AM
Obviously I've no idea what Maolida's wage is, but I think it's safe to say that Hertha's average wage will be a lot higher than that division's average wage.

When we were in the Championship the average wage for that division wouldn't have been a meaningful way to guess at our players' wages.

Aye you're right, SalarySport has Maolida listed at 15k.

29-02-2024, 09:38 AM
Who would be harder to replace? Emiliano or Maolida?

I can’t quite tell. Emiliano’s technical ability is a level above the SPL and we’ve seen how difficult it is to connect the midfield to the forwards. However Maolida’s technical ability added to his athleticism and presence also critical to making those around him better.

29-02-2024, 10:02 AM
Marcondes could have come to Edinburgh and played out the last 6 months of his contract at Bournemouth and picked up a decent wage and just swanned about with very little effort.

He's come here and made a huge impact and I still believe he's going to get fitter and stronger.

I very much doubt he will be at Easter Road next season so I'm going to enjoy every minute of his playing time with the Cabbage.

29-02-2024, 10:15 AM
Who would be harder to replace? Emiliano or Maolida?

I can’t quite tell. Emiliano’s technical ability is a level above the SPL and we’ve seen how difficult it is to connect the midfield to the forwards. However Maolida’s technical ability added to his athleticism and presence also critical to making those around him better.

Emiliano for me, these kinds of players pulling on a Hibs strip are once-every-15/20-years. Sauzee, Archibald, Latapy, Best.

Ok maybe not Best/Archibald but of that kind of quality.

29-02-2024, 10:20 AM
Absolutely love this guy - best player on the park last night.

When you think of Hibs - you think of guys like him who make the game a joy to watch.

If he had stayed on / wasn’t tiring would have won.

Only a matter of time before he scores a freekick also.

Love his attitude and turning into a fans favourite.

29-02-2024, 11:22 AM
He's the type of player we want to see. Sign players like this and ER will be bouncing and this forum will be full of positive vibes.

All the crap we read on here about people having agendas and hating on the club will hopefully disappear too.

29-02-2024, 11:29 AM
As if we needed any extra incentive, really hope we can find a way past Rangers as would be a shame to have guys like this for a relatively short spell and be playing for 5th place. Albeit we hope to get similar quality in going forward.

He won’t be here next season. We’ll likely see him playing in the champions league.

29-02-2024, 11:31 AM
All the crap we read on here about people having agendas and hating on the club will hopefully disappear too.

Unsure what the objective of bringing this up right now is but I’m not convinced trolls disappear just because the team gets better.

29-02-2024, 12:08 PM
Once he hears SOL after pumping the Huns next Sunday, he will be hooked.:wink:

VoltaireHibs
29-02-2024, 12:17 PM
We don't have the money to offer a fee? We paid almost 2m in fees the year before last.

£520k up front payment to him as if we were paying a club = £10k a week towards the overall contribution to his renumeration for a year.

Nothing to do with the 6m at all.

You think Marcondes is signing on with us for 500k? 😂😂 Sorry, I would love him to be here next year but that is just fantasy. His market value is probably approx 5-10 million. Forget it, enjoy the guy for the rest of the season.

29-02-2024, 12:33 PM
Why’s he never been capped by Denmark? Find that bizarre

29-02-2024, 12:37 PM
Why’s he never been capped by Denmark? Find that bizarre

Because he's finished

29-02-2024, 12:39 PM
You think Marcondes is signing on with us for 500k? 😂😂 Sorry, I would love him to be here next year but that is just fantasy. His market value is probably approx 5-10 million. Forget it, enjoy the guy for the rest of the season.

Nobody is paying £5m for him. That’s why he’s at Hibs on loan, rather than being sold for £5m by Bournemouth. Who got him for free.

Looks a quality player, would love to keep him.

29-02-2024, 12:43 PM
Nobody is paying £5m for him. That’s why he’s at Hibs on loan, rather than being sold for £5m by Bournemouth. Who got him for free.

You’re right, no one is paying £5m. As he’s out of contract.

29-02-2024, 12:48 PM

Yip, don't think anyone has ever paid a fee for him, Quality player who I'd love to see stay at ER but can't see it

29-02-2024, 12:51 PM
Because he's finishedHe's not, he's Brazilian.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

29-02-2024, 03:57 PM
He's not, he's Brazilian.

He's Danish

29-02-2024, 04:02 PM
https://x.com/rebelhibee/status/1763149626746495254?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Well done Emiliano.

29-02-2024, 04:08 PM
If he really enjoys it and we manage to do something between now and the end of the season, I think there might be an outside chance of keeping him.

He’ll have offers but we’re going to have more cash to play with ourselves. He’s not going to be getting anything like the contract he’s been on at Bournemouth anywhere either. I’d say it’s unlikely he’ll be here next season but, with him being out of contract, not impossible.

29-02-2024, 04:21 PM
https://x.com/rebelhibee/status/1763149626746495254?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

Well done Emiliano.

That will be him getting red carded on Saturday

Sparrows tongue
29-02-2024, 04:26 PM
He's Danish

Whooosh!

29-02-2024, 05:09 PM
Who’s the last Hibs players we had the “Magic” song by Pilot for
Someone asked me last night, but I couldn’t remember

29-02-2024, 05:10 PM
Who’s the last Hibs players we had the “Magic” song by Pilot for
Someone asked me last night, but I couldn’t remember

Ofir

29-02-2024, 05:25 PM
Ofir

Thanks Callum, good to chat to you last night

29-02-2024, 05:28 PM
Thanks Callum, good to chat to you last night

Same to you sir [emoji3]

29-02-2024, 05:34 PM
Unsure what the objective of bringing this up right now is but I’m not convinced trolls disappear just because the team gets better.

Trolls?

The point is, the forum is a happier place because results are getting better. People weren't posting negative stuff for the sake of it, despite what you might think.

29-02-2024, 06:09 PM
He's Danish

Whoosh!

VoltaireHibs
29-02-2024, 07:52 PM

But just because he's put of contract doesn't mean he doesn't have a market value. He's miles above our usual SPL standard, so it's great we have him, but I seriously doubt his signing on fee would be half a million. Plus his wages. We aren't that rich.

The only way he stays is if we do a creative deal. The signing on fee, big wages, and a cut of any future transfer fee over a certain amount (i.e, we recoup our outlay and wages then split the rest). He would also have to be open to staying and playing in the SPL week in week out. That would be amazing for us, but not so sure it will appeal to him. If it were one of the cheeks that came in for him then we're dead in the water. And I wouldn't rule that out if he has a strong finish to the season. They can bung him a million quid, 20k a week wages, and they know he can play in this league. It's pretty much a no brainer for them.

K-Zazu
29-02-2024, 08:08 PM
When does his Bournemouth contract expire?

JGS56
29-02-2024, 08:09 PM

June 2024

Don Giovanni
29-02-2024, 09:05 PM
Marcondes is 29 in a couple of weeks and out of contract in the summer.

He's played for:
Nordsjaelland
Brentford
Midtjylland (loan)
Bournemouth
Nordsjaelland (loan)
and Hibs(loan)

You could probably argue that Hibs are the "biggest" club he's play for.

This summer could be his last big contract.

I think there is a route for that to come from the black knights group in some shape or form and see him in a Hibs shirt next season, even if it is unlikely.

29-02-2024, 09:34 PM
But just because he's put of contract doesn't mean he doesn't have a market value. He's miles above our usual SPL standard, so it's great we have him, but I seriously doubt his signing on fee would be half a million. Plus his wages. We aren't that rich.

The only way he stays is if we do a creative deal. The signing on fee, big wages, and a cut of any future transfer fee over a certain amount (i.e, we recoup our outlay and wages then split the rest). He would also have to be open to staying and playing in the SPL week in week out. That would be amazing for us, but not so sure it will appeal to him. If it were one of the cheeks that came in for him then we're dead in the water. And I wouldn't rule that out if he has a strong finish to the season. They can bung him a million quid, 20k a week wages, and they know he can play in this league. It's pretty much a no brainer for them.

You seem to be spectacularly missing the point I was trying to make and being out of contract literally means he doesn’t have a market value as there is no fee to be paid to Bournemouth.

In fact you’ve not missed the point you’ve just slated the suggestion then suggested we could include my scenario in a potential deal!

VoltaireHibs
29-02-2024, 10:34 PM
You seem to be spectacularly missing the point I was trying to make and being out of contract literally means he doesn’t have a market value as there is no fee to be paid to Bournemouth.

In fact you’ve not missed the point you’ve just slated the suggestion then suggested we could include my scenario in a potential deal!

So if Mbappe is out of contract then he has no market value? He'll sign on for buttons? I don't think so.

Every player has a market value, in contract or out. Either the selling club get it or the player gets a fair chunk of it either in a lump sum or in wages and bonuses that reflect that value. The agent gets his cut either way. What that value is we can't know for sure, but it's certainly not less than we paid for Youan or Vente.

29-02-2024, 11:49 PM
The exact moment he signs permanently for Hibs :greengrin

01-03-2024, 02:10 AM

Superb player.

Yes sir.

I would be delighted if that were the case

But I think we’d need to pay well above 10k a week

Great to see him play in the meantime - hoping players like him can make the difference in the cup

01-03-2024, 07:17 AM
So if Mbappe is out of contract then he has no market value? He'll sign on for buttons? I don't think so.

Every player has a market value, in contract or out. Either the selling club get it or the player gets a fair chunk of it either in a lump sum or in wages and bonuses that reflect that value. The agent gets his cut either way. What that value is we can't know for sure, but it's certainly not less than we paid for Youan or Vente.

Think you need to google what "market value" is. Mbappe literally has no market value to PSG. A "market" is a place where commodities, in this case footballers, are bought and sold for a price.

You're talking about signing on fees which are payable to a person not a business. This is a personal bonus not a market transaction.

https://www.investopedia.com/thmb/zZEd8M6jayzElpgA-8Kt32drgds=/750x0/filters:no_upscale():max_bytes(150000):strip_icc() :format(webp)/marketvalue.asp-Final-8628ae85128e497ba3bbdf4b42ed0dd0.jpg

WestStandWillie
01-03-2024, 07:44 AM
Would love to see us make him permanent. A joy to watch.

Sadly I think he'll prove to be too expensive for us - hopefully i'm wrong.

My worry is one of the uglies stepping in and taking him.

ruthven_raiders
01-03-2024, 07:48 AM
Would love to see us make him permanent. A joy to watch.

Sadly I think he'll prove to be too expensive for us - hopefully i'm wrong.

My worry is one of the uglies stepping in and taking him.

Would be a statement of intent from the Black Knight group, to get emiliano and maolida, then we would just need to sort out defence and get rid of a few players that are on loan..

VoltaireHibs
01-03-2024, 09:49 AM
Think you need to google what "market value" is. Mbappe literally has no market value to PSG. A "market" is a place where commodities, in this case footballers, are bought and sold for a price.

You're talking about signing on fees which are payable to a person not a business. This is a personal bonus not a market transaction.

https://www.investopedia.com/thmb/zZEd8M6jayzElpgA-8Kt32drgds=/750x0/filters:no_upscale():max_bytes(150000):strip_icc() :format(webp)/marketvalue.asp-Final-8628ae85128e497ba3bbdf4b42ed0dd0.jpg

And the signing on fee will reflect whatever the market value is or would have been had the player been under contract. Jeezo.

If it's pedantry you're into I'll leave you to it. 👍

01-03-2024, 10:57 AM
The days of the old firm nicking any of our players on the cheap or beating us to signings are over.

They've got chump change in comparison, and need to get used to it!

HibsGW
01-03-2024, 11:24 AM
And the signing on fee will reflect whatever the market value is or would have been had the player been under contract. Jeezo.

If it's pedantry you're into I'll leave you to it. 👍

It isn’t even a what would have been either, Mbappe has a market value without having a club involved, its why he won’t get a normal elite footballer £250k a week contract, his market value is now owned by him rather than a club, so he’ll likely get nearer £1m a week, an amount which he wouldn’t be getting if Real Madrid had to pay £200m for him to PSG.

vuefrom1875
01-03-2024, 11:49 AM

Alfred tennyson.

Sioux
01-03-2024, 12:19 PM

What a complete and utter pile of tripe.

The player has a market value. He is the asset. He can sell his 'product' to any club he wishes to at the end of the season. The value of the contract being offered will be based on a market value.

VoltaireHibs
01-03-2024, 01:00 PM
It isn’t even a what would have been either, Mbappe has a market value without having a club involved, its why he won’t get a normal elite footballer £250k a week contract, his market value is now owned by him rather than a club, so he’ll likely get nearer £1m a week, an amount which he wouldn’t be getting if Real Madrid had to pay £200m for him to PSG.

Thank you! 😂

VoltaireHibs
01-03-2024, 01:04 PM

The player has a market value. He is the asset. He can sell his 'product' to any club he wishes to at the end of the season. The value of the contract being offered will be based on a market value.

Exactly. Think HV needs to do a wee investigation into how these things actually work.

Haaland went to City for 60 million euros. That isn't what he cost City. It was double that, at least. His market value was way higher than the set fee Dortmund got. He knew it, City knew it, his agent certainly knew it. It's how things work. I really didn't think this stuff was very complex.

HIBS NUTS
01-03-2024, 02:22 PM
At his age , I wonder if he would just want to play football.
In the past, exceptional players had their salary paid by a benifactor.
I think George Best had his wages paid by our chairman at the time, outwith the normal budget.

01-03-2024, 02:29 PM

A player's market value is the amount they can expect to sell themselves for.

In the same way, you have a market value, in that you can sell yourself to a potential employer for a salary of £x.

01-03-2024, 02:41 PM

Exactly. Think HV needs to do a wee investigation into how these things actually work.

Haaland went to City for 60 million euros. That isn't what he cost City. It was double that, at least. His market value was way higher than the set fee Dortmund got. He knew it, City knew it, his agent certainly knew it. It's how things work. I really didn't think this stuff was very complex.

A player's market value is the amount they can expect to sell themselves for.

In the same way, you have a market value, in that you can sell yourself to a potential employer for a salary of £x.

I completely understand where you are all coming from, my initial point was that his market value is £0 to the selling club so we could offer him a signing on fee. That is literally his market value. Any signing on fee is then at the discretion of the club or clubs chasing him. We don't have to pay a "market value" to get access to contract negotiations - that was my first point and it was then suggested his market value is 5-10m. It's clearly not, you could call it tripe Sioux :wink:

Anyway it's been lovely chatting, hopefully we can offer him the best contractual terms that we can conjour up and give him a decision to make. If Celtic or Rangers come in as suggested we've no chance regardless of anyone's interpretation of his market value.

01-03-2024, 03:00 PM
I completely understand where you are all coming from, my initial point was that his market value is £0 to the selling club so we could offer him a signing on fee. That is literally his market value. Any signing on fee is then at the discretion of the club or clubs chasing him. We don't have to pay a "market value" to get access to contract negotiations - that was my first point and it was then suggested his market value is 5-10m. It's clearly not, you could call it tripe Sioux :wink:

Anyway it's been lovely chatting, hopefully we can offer him the best contractual terms that we can conjour up and give him a decision to make. If Celtic or Rangers come in as suggested we've no chance regardless of anyone's interpretation of his market value.

It absolutely is if that's what he expects to earn over the course of a contract.

That's his value, in the market-place. The definition of market value.

01-03-2024, 03:16 PM
It absolutely is if that's what he expects to earn over the course of a contract.

That's his value, in the market-place. The definition of market value.

I'll settle on market value being transfer fee + expected income then.

FWIW, I still think 5m is wrong as that's 32k a week over 3 seasons - the upper limit quoted was 10m which is way out the box for him. His reported wages online (not necessarily accurate) are 18k p/w. There is no chance he's getting that on his next contract IMO.

01-03-2024, 03:17 PM
I love it when financial services employees get into a semantic bunfight. The most ‘Edinburgh’ thing ever :agree:

01-03-2024, 03:18 PM
I love it when financial services employees get into a semantic bunfight. The most ‘Edinburgh’ thing ever :agree:

I work in wholesale don't lump me in financial services!!

01-03-2024, 03:22 PM

Not sure I’ve ever heard a real world conversation between football fans use the term market value as anything other than a synonym for potential transfer fee.

01-03-2024, 03:30 PM

I work in wholesale don't lump me in financial services!!

Me neither :aok:

01-03-2024, 03:30 PM
I'll settle on market value being transfer fee + expected income then.

FWIW, I still think 5m is wrong as that's 32k a week over 3 seasons - the upper limit quoted was 10m which is way out the box for him. His reported wages online (not necessarily accurate) are 18k p/w. There is no chance he's getting that on his next contract IMO.

He’ll have good offers in the summer but it’s not going to be Premier League wages or even top Championship wages. He’s not played that much football down there, partly down to injury and partly down to just not playing by the looks of it. We know we’re ambitious so I reckon we could possibly do something financially that won’t be a million miles from what he might be getting offered elsewhere. At his age and with the last couple of years he’s had, think he’s got a pretty big football decision to make.

01-03-2024, 03:31 PM
Not sure I’ve ever heard a real world conversation between football fans use the term market value as anything other than a synonym for potential transfer fee.

Not sure I’ve ever heard a real world conversation between football fans use the term market value, full stop!

Mind you, I’ve never heard anyone talk about ‘the yams’ or our ‘ponzi scheme’ in real life either.

.. and I DO work in financial services.

01-03-2024, 03:34 PM

Q-What is the definition of a man who knows the price of everything but the value of nothing?

A-a cynic. Or a few amateur football commentators i know :greengrin

01-03-2024, 03:43 PM
Marcondes is 29 in a couple of weeks and out of contract in the summer.

He's played for:
Nordsjaelland
Brentford
Midtjylland (loan)
Bournemouth
Nordsjaelland (loan)
and Hibs(loan)

You could probably argue that Hibs are the "biggest" club he's play for.

This summer could be his last big contract.

I think there is a route for that to come from the black knights group in some shape or form and see him in a Hibs shirt next season, even if it is unlikely.

What? Are you nuts? He's played for Bournemouth who are a premier league outfit. We are struggling to make the top 6 of a pish league at present. Hibs are in no way a bigger club than Bournemouth.

01-03-2024, 03:50 PM
He could walk into a championship team tomorrow for about 15k per week with the view of getting in the playoffs.

No danger we’ll get him imo.

I’m sure he’ll love his time here etc but he seems a guy that will want to play at the highest level he can.

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2024, 04:03 PM
Could be a good avenue for us. Last 6 months of your contract do you want to get the odd bench appearance in the EPL and try for a contract somewhere or shine at Hibs and get a better deal somewhere. Even if he goes to a decent championship side could encourage more than youngsters to come up here, have fun playing and get in the shop window whilst match fit. They will be a level above what we could afford without the link-up

Sparrows tongue
01-03-2024, 04:10 PM
What? Are you nuts? He's played for Bournemouth who are a premier league outfit. We are struggling to make the top 6 of a pish league at present. Hibs are in no way a bigger club than Bournemouth.

Absolutely correct.

Apart from Celtic and Rangers (even that pair are a stretch on his comment), no club in Scotland is bigger than any club in the English Premier League.

And, to be honest, most clubs in the English Championship either.

01-03-2024, 04:14 PM
Absolutely correct.

Apart from Celtic and Rangers (even that pair are a stretch on his comment), no club in Scotland is bigger than any club in the English Premier League.

And, to be honest, most clubs in the English Championship either.Depends what language you use.

Bournemouth are no doubt a bigger business but as a football club, Hibs are bigger. Culturally, historically, fan base.

01-03-2024, 04:16 PM
Absolutely correct.

And, to be honest, most clubs in the English Championship either.

Surely depends on how you define “bigger club” though? If it means having more money then aye you’re right. If it means history, honours, bigger stadium etc then Hibs are a lot bigger than the likes of Bournemouth

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2024, 05:19 PM
Surely depends on how you define “bigger club” though? If it means having more money then aye you’re right. If it means history, honours, bigger stadium etc then Hibs are a lot bigger than the likes of Bournemouth

No one signs for a club because of stadium size or what they did in the 70s. Its completely about wage packet, well for 99.9% of players

01-03-2024, 06:25 PM
No one signs for a club because of stadium size or what they did in the 70s. Its completely about wage packet, well for 99.9% of playersYes, but that's business at the moment. Bournemouth aren't a bigger football club. Unless all you care about the sport is the teams' current budget.

pepe
01-03-2024, 06:31 PM

in no way bigger? Apart from a bigger stadium, larger fan base and more trophies no way bigger you mean?

Stairway 2 7
01-03-2024, 06:32 PM
Yes, but that's business at the moment. Bournemouth aren't a bigger football club. Unless all you care about the sport is the teams' current budget.

I don't personally but players do unfortunately look at Saudi Arabia. In the context of Marcondes signing size of wage will count over who is biggest. I'm hopeful we might have a wee chance but pessimistic. Regardless I'm going to really enjoy watching him even if it's until we win the Scottish

01-03-2024, 06:34 PM
in no way bigger? Apart from a bigger stadium, larger fan base and more trophies no way bigger you mean?

I think you’re mixing up having a history and being a bigger club in modern terms. You won’t find a player on the planet who’d chose Hibs over Bournemouth right now.

01-03-2024, 06:35 PM
i think you’re mixing up having a history and being a bigger club in modern terms. You won’t find a player on the planet who’d chose hibs wages over bournemouth wages right now.

ftfy.

01-03-2024, 06:40 PM
ftfy.

Wages and league. Even if they were relegated to the Championship.

01-03-2024, 07:01 PM
I don't personally but players do unfortunately look at Saudi Arabia. In the context of Marcondes signing size of wage will count over who is biggest. I'm hopeful we might have a wee chance but pessimistic. Regardless I'm going to really enjoy watching him even if it's until we win the Scottish

Agreed. Am not in any way saying Marcondes will sign for us or any other player of that stature would come to Hibs because our history or size of the ground etc. But Hibs are still a bigger football club than Bournemouth, who happen to be at the moment a bigger business.

01-03-2024, 07:03 PM
I think you’re mixing up having a history and being a bigger club in modern terms. You won’t find a player on the planet who’d chose Hibs over Bournemouth right now.Maybe your getting modern terms mixed up with current budget.

Hibs4185
01-03-2024, 07:46 PM
I think there is a chance he could sign. If he likes it in Edinburgh, we sign a few decent players and look a strong option to qualify for Europe.

Someone said he’d get £15k per week in the championship but I’d imagine we would be happy paying £15k a week with the new investment and we are a good bet for European football unlike championship teams.

Hopefully but it is a big ask.

JammyDoidger
01-03-2024, 07:57 PM
I think there is a chance he could sign. If he likes it in Edinburgh, we sign a few decent players and look a strong option to qualify for Europe.

Someone said he’d get £15k per week in the championship but I’d imagine we would be happy paying £15k a week with the new investment and we are a good bet for European football unlike championship teams.

We signed Sauzee anything is possible..

01-03-2024, 07:59 PM

We’ll pay good money by Scottish standards. We already do apparently and it’ll be improved by the investment. It’s not going to be 15 grand a week though.

Hibs4185
01-03-2024, 08:06 PM
We’ll pay good money by Scottish standards. We already do apparently and it’ll be improved by the investment. It’s not going to be 15 grand a week though.

If we signed him on a 2-3 year deal, he helped us qualify for Europe and potentially could be sold for a few million if he performs well.

I think we would pay that amount of money for the right player and he could be that player.

We will never know of course but I don’t think it’s out of the realms of possibilities

01-03-2024, 08:09 PM
If we signed him on a 2-3 year deal, he helped us qualify for Europe and potentially could be sold for £5 million if he performs well.

I think we would pay that amount of money for the right player and he could be that player.

We will never know of course but I don’t think it’s out of the realms of possibilities

A 3 year deal would cost us north of £2.5m, almost half of the investment. That doesn't fit in with the sustainable model that we're trying to build.

01-03-2024, 11:15 PM
A 3 year deal would cost us north of £2.5m, almost half of the investment. That doesn't fit in with the sustainable model that we're trying to build.

It really depends if the black knights are serious and want to fund us each year. A few million in donations or increased sponsorship might help towards that sort of player.

01-03-2024, 11:28 PM

£15k sounds like pie in the sky stuff for us to be paying but maybe it's not impossible for us to get him if we are a bit creative. Maybe a lower basic wage but good bonuses. I'm not expecting him to be with us beyond the end of the season but I've not completely given up hope.

02-03-2024, 04:07 AM
If this is just the beginning and we'll see more players come and go regularly in the calibre of Marcondes then I'm all for it!

02-03-2024, 08:33 AM
It really depends if the black knights are serious and want to fund us each year. A few million in donations or increased sponsorship might help towards that sort of player.

If I were in their seat, and saw us committing half of the initial investment to one player (given that the other half is committed to infrastructure) I wouldn't be rushing to throw more money in.

"Sustainability" was mentioned a few times at the AGM.

02-03-2024, 09:16 AM

If teams in the championship wanted him (regardless of the £15k or more he could get there) then why didn’t they take him on loan in January? Bournemouth dinnae want him.

I think he looks a really good player, would love us to keep him, and don’t think it’s impossible that we do.

He’s 28, if he was 20/21 I could understand folk saying we couldn’t keep him. It was the same with Bogdan, folk said he was going to be looking for too much money, but we got him.

02-03-2024, 09:24 AM

Yup.

If he does well between now and the end of the season I think we'll do everything we can to keep him.

These sort of loans make absolute sense. You get the benefit of a decent player when you need him, and get to see them up close before making a decision on whether to offer a decent contract.

Far less risk for us now pushing the boat out to keep him.

VoltaireHibs
02-03-2024, 02:57 PM
We signed Sauzee anything is possible..

True, but Franck wasn't 29 years old when we signed him. He was 33/34 if memory serves. Let's see how Marcondes performs in the final quarter of the season, then worry about his, and our, bank balance.

02-03-2024, 03:34 PM
Yup.

If he does well between now and the end of the season I think we'll do everything we can to keep him.

These sort of loans make absolute sense. You get the benefit of a decent player when you need him, and get to see them up close before making a decision on whether to offer a decent contract.

Far less risk for us now pushing the boat out to keep him.

We can't pay £15k per week. That equates to about 6% of our total turnover and 12.5% of the £6m being invested. The thing about investment is BK expect a return on their money; spending 12.5% on one players wages is not how you achieve that.

GreenPJ
02-03-2024, 04:22 PM
We can't pay £15k per week. That equates to about 6% of our total turnover and 12.5% of the £6m being invested. The thing about investment is BK expect a return on their money; spending 12.5% on one players wages is not how you achieve that.

If you sign him on 2,5 year contract but say to him you would be willing to sell him after a year for anything north of £2m. That helps recover the wages spent in the 12 months and you may end up with double that as a transfer fee.

Risk is he gets crocked after 2 months but life is full of risks.

02-03-2024, 04:24 PM
He was pish today.

Get him carted!

02-03-2024, 04:25 PM
Hopefully scouts use this as the one and only game to eye him up. He'll have no option but to extend his stay in Leith. Shame...

02-03-2024, 04:31 PM

It's more than that. With NI and pension it's not far off £1m for a year alone.

Only about half of the £6m is for players. So that's 1/3 of it gone in 1 year.

The BK didn't get where they are by putting all their eggs in 1 basket.

02-03-2024, 04:54 PM
Hopefully scouts use this as the one and only game to eye him up. He'll have no option but to extend his stay in Leith. Shame...

He’s no daft.

He knows he needs to play poor now and again to keep the bigger teams away

02-03-2024, 04:56 PM
He was pish today.

Get him carted!Get thum telt, radge.

Sparrows tongue
02-03-2024, 05:05 PM
I see there are a lot of light-hearted comments on the thread about his performance today. Truth is though, it was more than a wee bit disappointing.

He has obviously 'got it'. He needs to use it consistently.

02-03-2024, 05:06 PM
He was pish today.

Get him carted!

Genuinely though he was really, really bad. Lost count of the misplaced passes. He's been great for us but had a stinker today.

Stairway 2 7
02-03-2024, 05:08 PM
I see there are a lot of light-hearted comments on the thread about his performance today. Truth is though, it was more than a wee bit disappointing.

He has obviously 'got it'. He needs to use it consistently.

I think it's lighthearted as only a nitwit would expect him to be a 10 each week. Latapy had slow games in which we got beat, he was definitely decent though overall

02-03-2024, 05:09 PM
He, and others, put a lot of effort into a derby just 3 days ago. I can forgive them for looking a bit tired/slack

02-03-2024, 05:16 PM
Genuinely though he was really, really bad. Lost count of the misplaced passes. He's been great for us but had a stinker today.53% successful passes. Not a good day for a midfielder.

HIBS NUTS
02-03-2024, 05:43 PM
He was very poor

02-03-2024, 05:44 PM
He was very poor

Yep. Not really buying the games in quick succession excuse. He was dreadful.

I think some have been quick to overrate him honestly. He's not our best since Latapy at all.

02-03-2024, 05:45 PM
He was very poor

Yep his passing was dreadful. Clearly still getting up to speed after the injury and 2 games in 4 days was maybe too much.

02-03-2024, 05:48 PM
Not all his poor passes were his fault. Quite a few were due to the intended target being slow thinking.I was pretty disappointed at his corners.

02-03-2024, 05:49 PM
Today we saw why these players are on loans but we got there in the end

I hope we have a vastly improved performance against the huns

02-03-2024, 06:00 PM
Dreadful = should never play for us again.

he was way below what he’s capable of today. 3 quick games after so long out was certainly a mitigating factor.

if we want threads on how bad he was today, I give up tbh. Match chat yeah…

02-03-2024, 06:02 PM
Not all his poor passes were his fault. Quite a few were due to the intended target being slow thinking.I was pretty disappointed at his corners.

Yes Vente in particular seemed to be really slow to react to everything today. But he was still poor.

HendoDelivered
02-03-2024, 06:02 PM
Guys played 3 games in 7 days which hasnt been the case for him before he came. His performance today wasn’t great but he’s a player 👍🏼

Stairway 2 7
02-03-2024, 06:04 PM

I think some have been quick to overrate him honestly. He's not our best since Latapy at all.

You critised the loans when they came then after people saying they were brilliant against Dundee, you said something along the lines of well I doubt they'll do it against hearts you didn't comment after Marcondes was tremendous. He was crap today but the loans have been unbelievable since coming in, we'd be near the bottom if we hadn't got them and Moriah-Welsh in.

They won't be good every game they might be crap in some but I'm optimistic about Europe and its a huge part because of the winter incomers

02-03-2024, 06:06 PM

He wasn't great every week either, any player can have an off game.

He's hardly played in months and has just had three games in a week.

02-03-2024, 06:07 PM
You critised the loans when they came then after people saying they were brilliant against Dundee, you said something along the lines of well I doubt they'll do it against hearts you didn't comment after Marcondes was tremendous. He was crap today but the loans have been unbelievable since coming in, we'd be near the bottom if we hadn't got them and Moriah-Welsh in.

They won't be good every game they might be crap in some but I'm optimistic about Europe and its a huge part because of the winter incomers

I said let's see if they do it Vs hearts. Marcondes was good. Today he wasn't good. Nothing more to it than that.

I've no problem with the loans. I'm frustrated at the constant trying to save the season in January when it's already well ****ed.

People are talking about signing these guys and paying them 10/15k a week. For that money they should be murdering Ross county.

Donegal Hibby
02-03-2024, 06:08 PM
He didn't have a great game today but he is a class act imo .

supermcginn
02-03-2024, 06:13 PM
Good player but he's on loan from a club where Ryan Christie gets a game every week. Plenty improvement to come.

02-03-2024, 06:18 PM
Looked as though he was thinking about his next move too hard today and was caught dithering in possession

Needs to get back to doing what he does naturally

Boyle and Maolida also seemed to have off days as well

Happy to put a line through today and take the three points and move on

02-03-2024, 06:30 PM

Dreadful. Ffs. Hibs don’t deserve good players with this pish.

02-03-2024, 06:33 PM

‘Dreadful’…wow, you’re hard to please.

02-03-2024, 06:36 PM
Looked as though he was thinking about his next move too hard today and was caught dithering in possession

Think that's a bit disrespectful to be honest.

He wasn't good today but he's been good up until now, trains hard and has the respect of the whole playing staff.

02-03-2024, 06:37 PM
Looked as though he was thinking about his next move too hard today

That's a ridiculous comment.

Cabbage-Patch
02-03-2024, 06:39 PM
Lad obviously has talent and should have scored but his passing was awful today albeit so was the majority of the teams. Can only assume (much like the rest of them) legs were heavy after Wednesday

02-03-2024, 06:41 PM
All players are capable of bad games, the reaction some fans have to these performances is baffling

02-03-2024, 06:49 PM
Dreadful. Ffs. Hibs don’t deserve good players with this pish.

Aye okay.

He was dreadful today. I think he's a good player but today he was poor.

MKHIBEE
02-03-2024, 06:57 PM
All players are capable of bad games, the reaction some fans have to these performances is baffling

They can’t moan about the result so they so they pick up on an under par performance from a player

02-03-2024, 07:03 PM
They can’t moan about the result so they so they pick up on an under par performance from a player

I've said he was good in other matches, and that others played well today, and I'm delighted we won.

02-03-2024, 07:18 PM
I've said he was good in other matches, and that others played well today, and I'm delighted we won.

I think saying someone is poor is fine but ‘dreadful’ is a bit OTT

02-03-2024, 07:19 PM

Is not simply games in quick succession for him though, it’s games in quick succession after being out injured for 8 months.

02-03-2024, 07:20 PM
Think that's a bit disrespectful to be honest.

He wasn't good today but he's been good up until now, trains hard and has the respect of the whole playing staff.

Sorry did not mean it to sound disrespectful far from it I think he is an excellent player and I am sure he is well respected by his colleagues but anyway he was definitely closed down and caught in possession a few times today where previously one of his main strengths would be his ability to read the game and be one step ahead of the opposition

Maybe he was tired today after all he has played three games in one week after hardly playing at all

Did not mean any disrespect far from it

02-03-2024, 07:29 PM
That's a ridiculous comment.

No definitely slower to react and indecisive today where before a drop of the shoulders and away or pinging a pass out to a man in space without even thinking about it

The guy has a brilliant football brain which makes him a stand out at our level

See my reply above no offence meant just imho

02-03-2024, 07:44 PM

Clearly many were feeling the effects of Wednesdays efforts. To win when we weren't great is a positive.

02-03-2024, 07:46 PM
Clearly many were feeling the effects of Wednesdays efforts. To win when we weren't great is a positive.

02-03-2024, 08:02 PM
Some just spend game looking for things to complain about. It’s astonishing. A guy in the west today. “Miller why are you so negative “. The irony of it blows my minds. I’ve no idea why some people go to football. The constant FFS shouts at every missed pass. Just get behind the team and let them ****** play.

02-03-2024, 08:08 PM
Some just spend game looking for things to complain about. It’s astonishing. A guy in the west today. “Miller why are you so negative “. The irony of it blows my minds. I’ve no idea why some people go to football. The constant FFS shouts at every missed pass. Just get behind the team and let them ****** play.

To be fair, I doubt the players heard him, and whatever he said wouldn't have had any effect on any of the players' performances.

You've probably been going to ER for decades. Shouts of FFS are hardly a new phenomenon!

He was at the game, that in itself is getting behind the team and supporting them :aok:

02-03-2024, 08:08 PM
Sorry did not mean it to sound disrespectful far from it I think he is an excellent player and I am sure he is well respected by his colleagues but anyway he was definitely closed down and caught in possession a few times today where previously one of his main strengths would be his ability to read the game and be one step ahead of the opposition

Maybe he was tired today after all he has played three games in one week after hardly playing at all

Did not mean any disrespect far from itBilly. I think when some people have read your "thinking about his next move" comment they thought you meant his next move after Hibs. I took it to mean next move on the park ie a couple of passes ahead. Am still thinking you meant the latter.

Broxburn Greens
02-03-2024, 08:19 PM
Thought today was his poorest performance for us to date. Too much hesitation and slack passes.

Wasn’t surprised he was hooked, but I do like it when players are clearly disappointed when subbed as he was today, looked pissed off about it.

Put it down to tiredness, a full week to recover coming and hopefully back to where he has been form wise after a rest.

02-03-2024, 08:22 PM
Billy. I think when some people have read your "thinking about his next move" comment they thought you meant his next move after Hibs. I took it to mean next move on the park ie a couple of passes ahead. Am still thinking you meant the latter.

Dearie me

The latter of course

Geezo

02-03-2024, 08:22 PM
Thought today was his poorest performance for us to date. Too much hesitation and slack passes.

Wasn’t surprised he was hooked, but I do like it when players are clearly disappointed when subbed as he was today, looked pissed off about it.

Put it down to tiredness, a full week to recover coming and hopefully back to where he has been form wise after a rest.

Yes he did looked pissed off didn't he, I'm glad you have said this - it was a similar reaction to when he got subbed on Wednesday because I seen him do it then as well - despite many people on here bizarrely telling me he wasn't pissed off on Wednesday.:cb

Oh and he wasn't great today by his own standards, but to say he was dreadful is unnecessary.

john rossi
02-03-2024, 08:42 PM
Were you watching him today mate so far off the pace looked knackered from the first whistle would have hooked him at half time. Needs to improve his fitness levels IMO.

TrinityHFC
02-03-2024, 08:43 PM
Dearie me

The latter of course

Geezo

Indeed. Thought that was obvious from the rest of what you said!

02-03-2024, 08:44 PM
His passing was poor today but imo his passing hasn’t been exceptional and I wouldn’t say he’s a great passer (this is not me saying he’s a poor passer🤣)

There’s been other games it’s been quite slack, again match fitness comes into it.

But I don’t think he’ll ever be a Scott Allan type with those sort of passes

But some of his turns, flicks, one touch touches etc are incredible. His crossing and set pieces are also very dangerous.

02-03-2024, 08:45 PM
Dearie me

The latter of course

Geezo

Sorry, never occurred to me. Him and Vente were on different planets although both culpable today.

02-03-2024, 08:47 PM
Indeed. Thought that was obvious from the rest of what you said!

👍

Yip just a misunderstanding easy done

02-03-2024, 08:48 PM
Sorry, never occurred to me. Him and Vente were on different planets although both culpable today.

👍

02-03-2024, 09:14 PM

Couldn't agree more

02-03-2024, 09:21 PM
Were you watching him today mate so far off the pace looked knackered from the first whistle would have hooked him at half time. Needs to improve his fitness levels IMO.
He was out for 8 months. Not surprised he looked tired after 3 games in a week.

VoltaireHibs
02-03-2024, 09:46 PM

That's the reason he's here.

02-03-2024, 10:02 PM
Were you watching him today mate so far off the pace looked knackered from the first whistle would have hooked him at half time. Needs to improve his fitness levels IMO.What a fantastic insight.

02-03-2024, 10:06 PM

watch the sportscene highlights. I reckon his name is the most mentioned. We really are to negative.

03-03-2024, 02:21 AM
It was funny seeing him so pissed off at coming off with 7 minutes to go - it’s a good thing though

He wasn’t on form yesterday for whatever reason - he’s been out for months injured and if he’s gonna have an off day I’d rather it was against Ross County where we won despite not playing too good than the hun game - where hopefully the whole team will be at their best

03-03-2024, 06:44 AM
He didn't have his best game yesterday but he certainly wasn't dreadful as stated on here and could have had a couple of goals himself.

03-03-2024, 06:57 AM
watch the sportscene highlights. I reckon his name is the most mentioned. We really are to negative.

That’s my impression

He clearly wasn’t at his best yesterday and there were certainly sloppy moments but even having him there making forward passes in dangerous areas put them on the back foot.

Even on an off day, can see he’s someone that’s so important to us and how we play.

03-03-2024, 07:11 AM
Could see Celtic taking a punt on him if they don't get the guy back from Benfica after this Loan and they release Turnbull

03-03-2024, 07:22 AM
Could see Celtic taking a punt on him if they don't get the guy back from Benfica after this Loan and they release Turnbull

Turnbull signed for Cardiff on a permanent during the January window.

03-03-2024, 07:25 AM
Two shots on target was no bad for a quiet game

I loved the way when left on a one on one with the goalie he cutely rolled the ball to the side to give himself a better angle for a cheeky wee chip

Will benefit from a weeks rest to recharge his batteries

Bring on The Rangers

03-03-2024, 10:57 AM
Turnbull signed for Cardiff on a permanent during the January window.

Must have missed that but thanks for pointing it out. Possibly a replacement for O'Riley if he moves then?

06-03-2024, 06:19 AM
Two shots on target was no bad for a quiet game

I loved the way when left on a one on one with the goalie he cutely rolled the ball to the side to give himself a better angle for a cheeky wee chip

Will benefit from a weeks rest to recharge his batteries

Bring on The Rangers

Would prefer if he scored the one on one. :greengrin Thought he was trying to be a little too smart with that. Pretty bad miss

Will definitely benefit from a weeks build up to cup game

06-03-2024, 06:37 AM
Would prefer if he scored the one on one. :greengrin Thought he was trying to be a little too smart with that. Pretty bad miss

Yip looked tired towards the end at Tiny when eventually hooked and was slower in body and mind Saturday but the guy is obviously quality and I expect a big performance from him on Sunday

hibee1875
06-03-2024, 06:43 AM
He’s our 2016 Stokes.

I think he’s been good in patches before but not consistent, obviously because of fitness.

He’ll turn in a masterclass in the Scottish cup final

Posh Swanny
06-03-2024, 08:52 AM

It was a shocker - he'd done the hard part taking it past the goalie and just needed to roll it into the empty net but somehow miss-hit it back into the 'keeper. I suspect we'd have seen more discussion had Elie done it!

06-03-2024, 10:30 AM
It was a shocker - he'd done the hard part taking it past the goalie and just needed to roll it into the empty net but somehow miss-hit it back into the 'keeper. I suspect we'd have seen more discussion had Elie done it!

Think you are right

Sparrows tongue
06-03-2024, 02:58 PM

Yes, it was a very poor miss.

Perhaps he'll come good against the Huns!

Fingers crossed. :flag: