View Full Version : Hibs fans at Hearts penalty
Se7enUp
01-03-2024, 01:32 PM
When was the last time a murder was attributed to sectarianism at a Scottish football game?
Just a wee smidgen melodramatic don't you think? This is 2024 afterall, and religion is something that is, for better or worse, becoming less and less relevant.
Just to be clear, I am NOT defending bigotry, I am saying that in 2024 we, Hibernian Football Club, have issues amongst our own fans and should be doing everything we can to prevent them from happening again before a player on the pitch gets injured because of the moronic behaviour of our supporters.
I'm talking about sectarian violence, period, and no one can deny the influence old firm attitudes in particular have on that.
Melodramatic? No. Just ask Nil By Mouth.
01-03-2024, 02:27 PM
True however, for balance, their fans in the near corners are hardly wee angles.
Not sure what the cos is, maybe just a sin of the times.
01-03-2024, 02:31 PM
Not sure what the cos is, maybe just a sin of the times.
Please don't let this thread go off at a tan.
01-03-2024, 02:31 PM
I didn't want to be greedy and use all 3. ☺️
01-03-2024, 03:00 PM
I'm talking about sectarian violence, period, and no one can deny the influence old firm attitudes in particular have on that.
Melodramatic? No. Just ask Nil By Mouth.
And no one can deny throwing missiles at players and ball boys is unacceptable and dangerous.
01-03-2024, 03:37 PM
That’s acute wee pun.
01-03-2024, 03:40 PM
Folk actually wanting our allocation cut. Unbelievable.
01-03-2024, 03:57 PM
It's a pity that Trig doesn't post on here anymore.
Se7enUp
01-03-2024, 04:05 PM
We're already down to about 3k there, they have 4k at ER. Ours has already been cut, they're now threatening more bc of our fans' bad behaviour there (btw, Marcondes was hit by one of their fan's missiles ... that wasn't a flukey hit by the one & only missile their lot chucked).
The atmosphere at derbies & bigot bros games is poisonous. If you saw your kid in a gang in the sreet baying like that, you'd pull him aside and have a word.
If banning huge numbers of away fans is what it takes to lance the boil, then do it.
01-03-2024, 05:27 PM
You're wanting fans bussed to the ground?
01-03-2024, 05:29 PM
On the news that Naismith has called for an official enquiry into the behaviour of Hibs fans at the penalty incident. Two wrongs don’t make a right but what about the behaviour of his own team’s fans?
01-03-2024, 05:30 PM
You're wanting fans bussed to the ground?.
Thats better than having our allocation cut. Anyway, thank **** for Hibs first if they do cut our allocation.
But what if they cut it so much you need to be a hibs first first member or a hibs platinum first member? :greengrin
01-03-2024, 05:45 PM
On the news that Naismith has called for an official enquiry into the behaviour of Hibs fans at the penalty incident. Two wrongs don’t make a right but what about the behaviour of his own team’s fans?
Yeah, I’ve only heard on Hibs.net that anything had been thrown by Hearts fans. None news story as far as BBC and other news outlets are concerned.
Did it happen before the penalty incident ?
01-03-2024, 05:46 PM
They cut ours, we cut theirs
01-03-2024, 05:48 PM
Have we heard how inquiry into the assault on our players at Tyncastle is coming along yet? It’s been a while.
01-03-2024, 05:49 PM
Not surprising. What’s an enquiry going to find? Idiots throw things?
Donegal Hibby
01-03-2024, 06:08 PM
Rather than this becoming a tit- for-tat situation with talk of allocations getting cut I'd rather see the two clubs work together in identifying whose responsible from both sides and just ban them and let the proper fans get on with supporting their teams . A Edinburgh derby without the away fans isn't the way forward imo .
01-03-2024, 06:17 PM
Rather than this becoming a tit- for-tat situation with talk of allocations getting cut I'd rather see the two clubs work together in identifying whose responsible from both sides and just ban them and let the proper fans get on with supporting their teams . A Edinburgh derby without the away fans isn't the way forward imo .
Bridge hibs
01-03-2024, 06:19 PM
Absolutely 👍
01-03-2024, 06:20 PM
Yeah, I’ve only heard on Hibs.net that anything had been thrown by Hearts fans. None news story as far as BBC and other news outlets are concerned.
To be fair there are objects thrown at every Derby by both sets of fans when corners are being taken etc and it’s rarely reported on. What happened on Wednesday was a bit more out of the ordinary, I’d have to go back a few decades to recall worse behaviour.
Bakerman
01-03-2024, 06:25 PM
I'd love an official inquiry into refereeing in Scotland, but I doubt that will ever happen. Its deflection from Naismith, whose team got battered by the currants 0-5, then bossed by Hibernian, and but for a highly dubious penalty would have lost to us.
No one should be throwing items onto the pitch, or breaking seats, from both sets of fans, not just ours. The derby has a special atmosphere, and it would lessen it if they cut our allocation down further. We'd have to do the same to them if they do it to us.
01-03-2024, 06:54 PM
An inquiry?
You’d expect the lack of policing within the stands, inadequate stewarding, safety concerns with overly steep stands and narrow aisles and stands too close to the pitch to be investigated for any comprehensive inquiry into missile throwing from a handful of individuals. Throw in historic examples of pitch encroachment, dug-out encroachment, missile throwing and players being manhandled at Tynecastle in general rather than looking at one stand.
They might want to be careful what they wish for.
In his post match interview Montgomery said Marcondes was getting stuff thrown at him when taking a corner in the 1st half, which is conveniently being overlooked.
https://youtu.be/BqGs5RiVw_s?si=HBHtuPk3Fa0nCx-6&t=90
Don't know if it was at the same corner referred to by NM but something happened with a fan, possibly trying to grab Marcondes though hard to see what it was as the camera isn't zoomed in when it happens. If you've got Hibs TV, skip to 49 minutes 25 on the match clock. Not a lot to see at the part tbh, don't see anything thrown in the 5 seconds when the camera is zoomed in, definitely no pies.
https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/8420
LeithMike
01-03-2024, 08:21 PM
The Edinburgh derby is one of the great fixtures largely because of the large away crowds. It would be a really sad day if the away crowds diminish but it’s on the cards unless behaviour changes.
Both clubs will want to grow their home season ticket numbers, the police will be desperate for it and probably the Council too given all the smashed glass over the streets.
It’s in our hands but we need to act now to save it.
That was my first derby at Tynecastle for about 4 years and had given up after about 8 missiles (including a glass bottle) were thrown from the Hearts end into the away support and nearly hit a girl. The police wouldn’t do anything. It was basically saying that it was accepted practice. No surprise that a few years down the path and no attempts to stamp this out have led to it becoming really common practice.
I’m not sure how you stamp it out now. It’s not like it’s just one or two and they seem to have the art of throwing from behind a friend’s back.
Real shame as I really enjoyed the match.
01-03-2024, 09:01 PM
01-03-2024, 09:06 PM
Just got back from the Hertha game and there was a similar incident tonight where VAR checked an incident that had happened about 2 minutes before and once the ball was no longer in play the ref was called to look at it and then gave a penalty with which Kiel equalised in injury time. The Hertha fans went mental and hundreds of beer beckers were thrown from the stands. The pitch is so far away from the stands that I don't think any reached the pitch but the ball boys and stewards got drenched.
There were also pyrotechnics launched from the away end at kick-off which pretty much fogged out the first 10 minutes of the game.
What jumped out at me was the amount of people who were there for the spectacle of the event rather than the football itself. The game itself was actually quite good and I personally go to watch the football but many at the game barely looked at the pitch.
I'm perversely yearning for a return to just supporting your team play a game of football rather than folks using football to express themselves.
is it just me that understood the French comment to be tongue in cheek - a suggestion based on the wine opener on the pitch and grew arms and legs.
I liked it when Shankland caught and took a bite out of the croissant.
Bakerman
01-03-2024, 10:16 PM
I liked it when Shankland caught and took a bite out of the croissant.
Why did you like it?
It was horrible, both the throwing of it, and Shanksteinheid's chewing of it. Not classy at all.
01-03-2024, 10:17 PM
In his post match interview Montgomery said Marcondes was getting stuff thrown at him when taking a corner in the 1st half, which is conveniently being overlooked.
https://youtu.be/BqGs5RiVw_s?si=HBHtuPk3Fa0nCx-6&t=90
Don't know if it was at the same corner referred to by NM but something happened with a fan, possibly trying to grab Marcondes though hard to see what it was as the camera isn't zoomed in when it happens. If you've got Hibs TV, skip to 49 minutes 25 on the match clock. Not a lot to see at the part tbh, don't see anything thrown in the 5 seconds when the camera is zoomed in, definitely no pies.
https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/8420
Marcondes did have some stuff launched at him, could see it. Didn’t look near the levels that Shankland got (not that it’s a competition) and Monty is right.. neither clubs condone it. As DH says, be good to weed out the fannies in both crowds and get them to **** permanently.
Right now it’s about us taking responsibility for the disgusting scenes from the helmets in our crowd though. Hopefully something effective can be done quickly.
01-03-2024, 10:20 PM
Why did you like it?
It was horrible, both the throwing of it, and Shanksteinheid's chewing of it. Not classy at all.
He was doing a French joke…
FWIW though I think it’s a good reaction from Shankland. What’s not classy about it? Upsetting some Neanderthal throwing things at football players? If our talisman done that in reaction to thugs, I’d be proud of the reaction.
You’d like to think a bakerman wouldn’t want to see pies go to waste 😁
Bakerman
01-03-2024, 10:26 PM
FWIW though I think it’s a good reaction from Shankland. What’s not classy about it? Upsetting some Neanderthal throwing things at football players? If our talisman done that in reaction to thugs, I’d be proud of the reaction.
:greengrin Fair do's, some nice humour.
However, a classy player would have scored the very dubious penalty, and walked away. For me he's a currant scrote, who revelled in it. Clancy created the situation, by awarding a controversial decision. Not one that we will ever be likely to get while the lanarkshire referee house exists. Not my idea of fun. If it happened for us, I still wouidn't have found it either funny or classy.
01-03-2024, 10:32 PM
:greengrin Fair do's, some nice humour.
However, a classy player would have scored the very dubious penalty, and walked away. For me he's a currant scrote, who revelled in it. Clancy created the situation, by awarding a controversial decision. Not one that we will ever be likely to get while the lanarkshire referee house exists. Not my idea of fun. If it happened for us, I still wouidn't have found it either funny or classy.
Oh I agree. **** penalty from a **** referee, scored by a jambo dick.
But if someone chucks a variety of items at me, including a bottle-opener and a pie. You can be damn sure I’m having a taste of the pie if I catch it.
I’ve no issue with footballers rubbing it in a bit.. especially after incidents like that. Still far more annoyed with the gimps in our crowd that gave him the chance to do his wee gag.
Marcondes did have some stuff launched at him, could see it. Didn’t look near the levels that Shankland got (not that it’s a competition) and Monty is right.. neither clubs condone it. As DH says, be good to weed out the fannies in both crowds and get them to **** permanently.
Right now it’s about us taking responsibility for the disgusting scenes from the helmets in our crowd though. Hopefully something effective can be done quickly.
Agree. Something should be done but it shouldn't be just about the fannies in our support, they are no better. I'm not condoning what our fans did but if it had been a stonewall penalty then there wouldn't have been the same reaction by our fans. It was obvious that it was because Vargas was a cheating prick and Clancy was complicit. If the roles had been reversed, they would have been just as bad.
Bakerman
01-03-2024, 10:42 PM
Oh I agree. **** penalty from a **** referee, scored by a jambo dick.
But if someone chucks a variety of items at me, including a bottle-opener and a pie. You can be damn sure I’m having a taste of the pie if I catch it.
I’ve no issue with footballers rubbing it in a bit.. especially after incidents like that. Still far more annoyed with the gimps in our crowd that gave him the chance to do his wee gag.
Yeah, well, if only Clancy had looked at the Var, and seen that Vargas is a diving cheat, we wouldn't be having this conversation, about Shankstein and things being thrown onto the pitch. If only there was a level playing field eh.
😀 Shankland is a bit of a prick but the pie thing was quite funny.
01-03-2024, 10:48 PM
Why did you like it?
I thought someone with your name would appreciate a reference to the French breakfast baked good.
02-03-2024, 08:32 AM
The Edinburgh derby is one of the great fixtures largely because of the large away crowds. It would be a really sad day if the away crowds diminish but it’s on the cards unless behaviour changes.
Both clubs will want to grow their home season ticket numbers, the police will be desperate for it and probably the Council too given all the smashed glass over the streets.
It’s in our hands but we need to act now to save it.
That was my first derby at Tynecastle for about 4 years and had given up after about 8 missiles (including a glass bottle) were thrown from the Hearts end into the away support and nearly hit a girl. The police wouldn’t do anything. It was basically saying that it was accepted practice. No surprise that a few years down the path and no attempts to stamp this out have led to it becoming really common practice.
I’m not sure how you stamp it out now. It’s not like it’s just one or two and they seem to have the art of throwing from behind a friend’s back.
Real shame as I really enjoyed the match.
You make a great point about the lack of police action at previous derbies. Was at the Derby when Lennon got hit and there were teenage fans from both teams chucking coins and all sorts at the bottom of the rose burn near the wheat field stand. It has been coming and needs sorted by both teams and the people well paid to control crowds from now on because what their great plans are isn't working.
02-03-2024, 08:48 AM
Why did you like it?
Thought Shankland lapped it up & only because he scored the penalty. Didn't go moaning to ref when all the missiles were raining down at him & gave it the get it right up you when scoring. That's what football should be. We're happy to abuse these players for 90mins but when they do something back the fans spit oot the dummy.
02-03-2024, 08:55 AM
No real benefit to weeding them out. They only go to Tynecastle away and their mates will still get them tickets.
02-03-2024, 09:30 AM
Yeah, well, if only Clancy had looked at the Var, and seen that Vargas is a diving cheat, we wouldn't be having this conversation, about Shankstein and things being thrown onto the pitch. If only there was a level playing field eh.
I’m no sure like. If Vargas diving and Clancy being ***** is their justification for throwing a bottle opener at Shankland’s head, I’m not convinced they would have behaved themselves if they’d deemed it a fair penalty.
We are having this conversation though. And nothing that happens on the pitch gives the morons a legitimate excuse.
02-03-2024, 09:47 AM
I think Shankland's reaction is comparable to what George Best did when a Rangers fan threw a beer can at him at ER.
He picked it up and,with a big smile on his face, pretended to take a drink. Even some of the Rangers fans laughed and applauded.
02-03-2024, 09:50 AM
I think Shankland's reaction is comparable to what George Best did when a Rangers fan threw a beer can at him at ER.
He picked it up and,with a big smile on his face, pretended to take a drink. Even some of the Rangers fans laughed and applauded.
Yep Keith. How anyone could have any complaints at him taking a bite from a pie that’s been thrown at him, along with some more offensive missiles, is beyond me.
02-03-2024, 01:58 PM
Embarrassing behaviour from some folk in our support the other night. I’m not even gonna start with the whole “oh but but hearts fans do this and that at ER” whataboutary pish because it really doesn’t matter, it does make it acceptable.
Always happens at a night time game because too many folk have too long to get pished beforehand. Which wouldn’t be a problem if it didn’t turn some folk into utter morons.
03-03-2024, 08:11 PM
It all puts me off going to the football. The sheer hatred and bile on the terrace and the tedium of the songs and chants and drumbeats make it an unpleasant experience altogether.
There's no material reason why Hibs and Hearts fans should behave this way. They didn't used to in 60s and 70s. It's caused by the internet.
03-03-2024, 08:17 PM
It's caused by the internet.
Or maybe Mercer?
It all puts me off going to the football. The sheer hatred and bile on the terrace and the tedium of the songs and chants and drumbeats make it an unpleasant experience altogether.
There's no material reason why Hibs and Hearts fans should behave this way. They didn't used to in 60s and 70s. It's caused by the internet.
My old man hasn’t been to a derby in nearly 20 years for that exact reason. He remembers times of mostly rivalry and banter, with much less of the hatred and nastiness.
03-03-2024, 08:31 PM
To be fair there are objects thrown at every Derby by both sets of fans when corners are being taken etc and it’s rarely reported on. What happened on Wednesday was a bit more out of the ordinary, I’d have to go back a few decades to recall worse behaviour.
yes - not a time for whataboutery - we need to get out own house in order pronto. Others are in the same boat it’s their affair. But I recall JC taking a corner at Tynie and it was caught on camera he has to stop as there was a hail of coins raining down twice. Incredible. A corkscrew if mental tho that’s with intent.
My old man hasn’t been to a derby in nearly 20 years for that exact reason. He remembers times of mostly rivalry and banter, with much less of the hatred and nastiness.
I'm old enough to remember the days when there wasn't fan segregation. My old man took me to my first derby match on 1st Jan 1973, when I was 8 years old. There were Hibees and Jambos mingling amongst each other and I don't recall anything kicking off even when we were pumping them. Mind you, seemed to be a lot less Jambos around in the second half 😁
Se7enUp
04-03-2024, 12:42 AM
There was some horrific violence in the 70s. But I agree; and to solve it, get rid of massive away supports.
04-03-2024, 05:51 AM
An inquiry?
You’d expect the lack of policing within the stands, inadequate stewarding, safety concerns with overly steep stands and narrow aisles and stands too close to the pitch to be investigated for any comprehensive inquiry into missile throwing from a handful of individuals. Throw in historic examples of pitch encroachment, dug-out encroachment, missile throwing and players being manhandled at Tynecastle in general rather than looking at one stand.
They might want to be careful what they wish for.
Totally agree
04-03-2024, 06:58 AM
There was some horrific violence in the 70s. But I agree; and to solve it, get rid of massive away supports.
I think “horrific” is way overstating it. At both grounds there was a small number of fans would face off. Pretty much ignored by everyone else and amounted to some pavement dancing.
Rangers and Celtic games there was more bottle and can throwing, probably no longer containing then original liquid.
Difference was, in my opinion, the police would step in quickly and in numbers, giving the pavement dancers the excuse they needed to stand down. Yes there was violence but horrific? Not really.
04-03-2024, 08:15 AM
I think “horrific” is way overstating it. At both grounds there was a small number of fans would face off. Pretty much ignored by everyone else and amounted to some pavement dancing.
Rangers and Celtic games there was more bottle and can throwing, probably no longer containing then original liquid.
Difference was, in my opinion, the police would step in quickly and in numbers, giving the pavement dancers the excuse they needed to stand down. Yes there was violence but horrific? Not really.
Have to disagree, lot of knives carried in these days, one Celtic fan slashed another on the East Terracing near to where I was standing (or cowering to be more precise) in the 2-4 game back in 1974.
Suppose I was closer to the action back then but lost count of the number of times you'd need to leg it to avoid a good kicking or getting hit by bottles/bricks or whatever.
04-03-2024, 08:28 AM
From my experience, late 70s early 80s was worse because there was more chance of random fans and scarfers getting dragged into it. By the mid 80s when the casual movement was in full swing i actually felt safer because the cashy boys tended to just bother their own sort. I was never into fighting (although liked the fashions) so the whole thing left me a bit cold and spoiled my experience.
Probably more danger of getting hit on the back of the head by some sort of dinnertable device these days of course.
04-03-2024, 09:49 AM
From my experience, late 70s early 80s was worse because there was more chance of random fans and scarfers getting dragged into it. By the mid 80s when the casual movement was in full swing i actually felt safer because the cashy boys tended to just bother their own sort. I was never into fighting (although liked the fashions) so the whole thing left me a bit cold and spoiled my experience.
Probably more danger of getting hit on the back of the head by some sort of dinnertable device these days of course. I'd agree with that. In the 70s and early 80s I had bottles thrown at me and spat at etc when going to Tiny. When the casuals came along it was fairly easy to navigate away from bother. Now it is our own fans that pose the biggest risk to going to support Hibs at Tiny. Much like the Hibs players who had more chance of being hit by something from our end. I walked back to Sainsburys through Hearts fans and felt safter there than I did in the stadium and walking to the ground. Some of the comments on this thread are really poor. I would guess there may have been 50-100 "fans" throwing objects from our end. No doubt they were with others who never felt the need to stop them. I don't know if it is the derby, the proximity of the pitch, the ridiculous policing which looks designed to get everyone hot and bothered and then left to their own devices or the way the game is ticketed( fans not necessarily sitting next to mates so difficult to challenge the half wits who basically stand where they want) but the club really need to look at doing something about. It is getting progressively worse as the years pass and at some point they will cut our allocation and that will be entirely fair if our sizeable minority continue to behave as they do.
04-03-2024, 10:23 AM
A hothead lost their mind & did something silly after seeing an absolute wrong decision in sport. Coming from a country that has a horrendous hooligan problem, this isnt the worst I've seen happen on a pitch.
I'm more concerned about the refs lack of understanding of football. What's happening with him?
Se7enUp
04-03-2024, 11:33 AM
It was horrific. Darts getting launched into the crowd, pieces of crumbling terraces being thrown back & forth, anyone brave enough to take their kid had some kind of helmet on them often as not, massive brawls on the terraces, leading to the perimeter and segregation fences at Easter Rd & Tynecastle, and all followed shortly after by the casuals culture.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_hooliganism_in_the_United_Kingdom#:~:text =Incidences%20of%20disorderly%20behaviour%20by,inc reased%20to%2025%20per%20season.
04-03-2024, 11:35 AM
A hothead lost their mind & did something silly after seeing an absolute wrong decision in sport. Coming from a country that has a horrendous hooligan problem, this isnt the worst I've seen happen on a pitch.
I'm more concerned about the refs lack of understanding of football. What's happening with him?
A hot head. Someone deliberately took a corkscrew to the game. Whether to throw on the pitch or to assault someone after the match. That's pre meditated. The ref made a huge mistake & should be punished for it. But that doesn't excuse said ars3h0le.
SILLY is an understatement.
04-03-2024, 11:57 AM
A hot head. Someone deliberately took a corkscrew to the game. Whether to throw on the pitch or to assault someone after the match. That's pre meditated. The ref made a huge mistake & should be punished for it. But that doesn't excuse said ars3h0le.
It was a bottle opener too so probably most likely to be used to open a few bottles on way to the game, not sure someone takes a corkscrew/bottle opener with an intention of causing harm but you never know these days..Either way, its completely unacceptable to throw it on the pitch.
There must be CCTV that permanently on the crowd, i know hibs have said they have quite sophisticated CCTV monitoring Easter Rd although no idea why they dont use it to identify who holds the flares when the old firm come to ER.
Also, they need to make it illegal to have face coverings therefore making it much more difficult to identify people misbehaving. Post covid there seems to be an acceptance that its ok to go into a football match with full face covering.
04-03-2024, 12:08 PM
Difference was, in my opinion, the police would step in quickly and in numbers, giving the pavement dancers the excuse they needed to stand down. Yes there was violence but horrific? Not really. I would agree it was horrific sometimes as back then steel metal combs were the rage and some hun tried to slash me after the game back in the seventies with one ( the 2-2 game) , that’s why I really hate those barstewards so much. Also hearts fans were notorious for fighting each other back in the days and were really nasty bunch. It wasn’t till the casuals came in the eighties that it was a tad safer to go to the games.
04-03-2024, 12:24 PM
Was it not a bottle opener? Probably more likely they've brought it to open bottles they've got from somewhere.
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 01:06 PM
Was it not a bottle opener? Probably more likely they've brought it to open bottles they've got from somewhere.
It was both from what i seen of the pictures of it and similar to these ones , could have caused a serious injury.
https://images.app.goo.gl/gyUJWeBPQUPTHoRBA
04-03-2024, 01:57 PM
It was a waiters friend. Clearly posh fannies.
ErinGoBraghHFC
04-03-2024, 02:08 PM
It was a waiters friend. Clearly posh fannies.
Correct, Buckfast is a screw lid so it must have been a more affluent wineo
PHeffernan
04-03-2024, 02:43 PM
Or maybe Mercer?
Long long shot.
That was more than a third of a century ago now so no Hibs supporter currently under 40 years of age was part of that scene and the vast majority throwing items at players on Wednesday were below that age.
04-03-2024, 02:45 PM
That was more than a third of a century ago so no Hibs supporter currently under 40 years of age was part of that.
My guess is that the vast majority throwing items at players on Wednesday were below that age.
You don't think they had parents, grandparents, uncles etc to pass that on? Did they grow up in a vacuum?
04-03-2024, 02:47 PM
You don't think they had parents, grandparents, uncles etc to pass that on? Did they grow up in a vacuum?
Don’t think Wallace Mercer is a valid excuse for throwing bottle openers at Lawrence Shankland regardless.
04-03-2024, 02:50 PM
We should go back to the days of throwing toilet rolls.
No damaged caused, and useful in an emergency.
04-03-2024, 03:30 PM
Do have the risk of attracting Labrador puppies, though, so swings and roundabouts...
04-03-2024, 03:36 PM
Don’t think Wallace Mercer is a valid excuse for throwing bottle openers at Lawrence Shankland regardless.
True.
04-03-2024, 03:36 PM
Unless you're the poor sod that has had to venture into the lavvy for a Craig Levein only to discover that he has to wipe his bum on a £5 programme.
04-03-2024, 03:47 PM
Long long shot.
That was more than a third of a century ago now so no Hibs supporter currently under 40 years of age was part of that scene and the vast majority throwing items at players on Wednesday are below that age.
What about 1690. No one alive seen that. It still gets a mention now & then.
04-03-2024, 03:49 PM
You can get very small bottle openers that go on your key ring.
Bridge hibs
04-03-2024, 03:58 PM
That may have been that wee **** Dy Son
🫣
Bridge hibs
04-03-2024, 04:00 PM
Wimps, they could have used their teeth, or someone elses 🫣
Hibiza
04-03-2024, 04:34 PM
Wonder was used pre - toilet roll ?
linlithgowhibbie
04-03-2024, 04:54 PM
Wonder was used pre - toilet roll ?
The old style bus ticket rolls courtesy of Edinburgh buses!:thumbsup:
PHeffernan
04-03-2024, 05:31 PM
I didn't say they won't know about it but it's not a lived experience for anyone under 40.
04-03-2024, 05:38 PM
The old style bus ticket rolls courtesy of Edinburgh buses![emoji106]True story, in the 70's, one of my mates who worked in a store brought a till roll to a match at Motherwell.
A bit bigger, but narrower than a toilet roll. Looked about 100 yards long unfurled[emoji16], Unashamedly chucked it on the pitch when Hibs scored but hadn't taken the tab off the end so it just landed with a thud and a splat on a muddy pitch.
Those were the days.
04-03-2024, 05:43 PM
True story, in the 70's, one of my mates who worked in a store brought a till roll to a match at Motherwell.
A bit bigger, but narrower than a toilet roll. Looked about 100 yards long unfurled[emoji16], Unashamedly chucked it on the pitch when Hibs scored but hadn't taken the tab off the end so it just landed with a thud and a splat on a muddy pitch.
Those were the days.
When I read 70s and Motherwell I thought you were going to mention the infamous dart in the head incident! :kdarts:
04-03-2024, 05:49 PM
When I read 70s and Motherwell I thought you were going to mention the infamous dart in the head incident! :kdarts:Heard it, but wasnae any of us.
Unlucky ground for us, once arrived early so went in early and my mate got lifted by Glasgow's finest for doing absolutely nothing.They just fanned out down the steps at the away end and grabbed a few bodies. Threw him out the ground, he kicked up hell to the top plod outside so they let him go but he had to pay in again[emoji23]
When I read 70s and Motherwell I thought you were going to mention the infamous dart in the head incident! :kdarts:Some Hibs support that day.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
04-03-2024, 07:04 PM
Looked like a bit of jostling between the Celtic keeper and Hearts fans yesterday.
Might come a point where the stadium itself is deemed not fit for purpose and they are instructed to remove fans from the first few rows around the whole ground. Fans are far too close to the pitch.
Looked like a bit of jostling between the Celtic keeper and Hearts fans yesterday.
Might come a point where the stadium itself is deemed not fit for purpose and they are instructed to remove fans from the first few rows around the whole ground. Fans are far too close to the pitch.
https://twitter.com/KerryFail/status/1764667460781752597?s=19
04-03-2024, 07:43 PM
It was horrific. Darts getting launched into the crowd, pieces of crumbling terraces being thrown back & forth, anyone brave enough to take their kid had some kind of helmet on them often as not, massive brawls on the terraces, leading to the perimeter and segregation fences at Easter Rd & Tynecastle, and all followed shortly after by the casuals culture.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_hooliganism_in_the_United_Kingdom#:~:text =Incidences%20of%20disorderly%20behaviour%20by,inc reased%20to%2025%20per%20season.
:agree: I can remember battle lines getting drawn up on the terraces and the air being filled with missiles like bottles, golf balls, darts and stones before running battles taking place with scenes like out of Braveheart when both lines clashed. Before and after the game you would see smaller skirmishes taking place not only in and around the stadium but also up town and on public transport. Hard hats weren't just a fashion statement, they were necessary at some games.
04-03-2024, 07:47 PM
:agree: I can remember battle lines getting drawn up on the terraces and the air being filled with missiles like bottles, golf balls, darts and stones before running battles taking place with scenes like out of Braveheart when both lines clashed. Before and after the game you would see smaller skirmishes taking place not only in and around the stadium but also up town and on public transport. Hard hats weren't just a fashion statement, they were necessary at some games.
Yes had my own hard hat wore it in the cave and took it up to Aberdeen with me but had to bin it when got chased by the mental crew back in the seventies as it was slowing me down.
04-03-2024, 07:55 PM
I don’t know if the link will work but this young guy’s YouTube channel is a good watch. He attended Tynecastle on Wednesday and filmed from the Wheatfield Stand.
https://youtube.com/watch?v=FQOY_sIAVC4&si=Jd-rqhD-I9lclLx9
Some great shots of the Hibs end and some very enlightening images at the end of the game that have been conveniently ignored by the Hearts hierarchy.
Might come a point where the stadium itself is deemed not fit for purpose and they are instructed to remove fans from the first few rows around the whole ground. Fans are far too close to the pitch.Take the front five rows out.
05-03-2024, 12:08 AM
Take the front five rows out.
Hearts would take the pitch in a bit rather than lose a few thousand seats.
05-03-2024, 01:19 AM
Hearts would take the pitch in a bit rather than lose a few thousand seats.
That would then make their pitch too small, certainly for European games
05-03-2024, 01:47 PM
https://twitter.com/KerryFail/status/1764667460781752597?s=19
I can't believe he was stupid enough to go over to the touchline in the first place???
Balls are all round the pitch, no need to even go there, so sorry, he's his own worst enemy!
05-03-2024, 04:30 PM
That tin pot stadium should have the first 5 rows closed all round - away end too! It's just not a big enough area for a proper pitch and the associated run off.
05-03-2024, 04:31 PM
I can't believe he was stupid enough to go over to the touchline in the first place???
Balls are all round the pitch, no need to even go there, so sorry, he's his own worst enemy!
A pro footballer should be allowed to stand 2m from the touch line without being assaulted
05-03-2024, 04:33 PM
A pro footballer should be allowed to stand 2m from the touch line without being assaulted
I actually think you’re both right.
05-03-2024, 04:46 PM
True story, in the 70's, one of my mates who worked in a store brought a till roll to a match at Motherwell.
Those were the days.
The izal toilet rolls would do some damage. Remember a Hearts Dundee game when Hearts were in the lower league and there was battles in the corner of covered terracing. Mercer went over to the corner to remenstate with the fans only to nearly be hit with a crowbar thrown from the crowd. In the early 70s painted crash helmets were worn by some fans.
Edit it might have been a game in the top league
05-03-2024, 04:50 PM
The izal toilet rolls would do some damage. Remember a Hearts Dundee game when Hearts were in the lower league and there was battles in the corner of covered terracing. Mercer went over to the corner to remenstate with the fans only to nearly be hit with a crowbar thrown from the crowd. In the early 70s painted crash helmets were worn by some fans.
Remember the devil's own bog rolls, iIzal and do recall the helmets or ones like them being around for sure. The Mercer one was news to me but it couldn't have happened to a better man just a pity it missed.
12-03-2024, 10:56 AM
To all the muppets who threw stuff on the pitch, I hope you can now fully see how your actions directly impact the club and fellow supporters. All you managed to do was to give the real problem makers an easy "whataboutery" retort.
The real difference between our club and the others, and it was highlighted in the recent Hibs statement, is that our club are willing to do something about stamping out the problems in the support. I hope everyone of you get found, charged and banned.
To all the muppets who threw stuff on the pitch, I hope you can now fully see how your actions directly impact the club and fellow supporters. All you managed to do was to give the real problem makers an easy "whataboutery" retort.
The real difference between our club and the others, and it was highlighted in the recent Hibs statement, is that our club are willing to do something about stamping out the problems in the support. I hope everyone of you get found, charged and banned.
I don't think they care, stuff will still be thrown, seats wrecked the Mercer song still sung and Hibs will be accused of hypocrisy.