View Full Version : HFC AGM - Resolution PASSED

Pages : 1 [2]

27-02-2024, 10:06 PM
He’s at this precise moment in time tearing the sleeves off of his musty beige cardigan in a fury, whilst simultaneously flogging himself with a copy of The Sunday Post.Sleeves don't show on sleeveless cardigan.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

27-02-2024, 10:12 PM
Wait, what?

I think he spoke pretty well tonight but he didn’t answer the questions about future capital calls or the dilution of HSL and others very well. The lawyer on stage bailed him out with both.

He got a little defensive on the dilution point asking if the guy posing the question had any better ideas on how to get millions of pounds out of the current shareholders. He could have positioned that he understood the position and valued them and other Hibs fans who held shares.

Lied, you mean?

27-02-2024, 10:15 PM
Don't care what that team accross the city say. Get the recruitment right first that is the most important area. The infrastructure should be done in due course and could he financed by European qualification rather than taking money out the Foley money. The next few weeks are really crucial as we need European football to generate income that can then be used to improve the infrastructure projects.As the transfer window has come and gone we should have enough quality to get into Europe but players and Management need to step up to the plate. Otherwise we will have to wait another season, don't know if we have fans with enough patience.

27-02-2024, 10:15 PM
Yassss!! Delighted with this news. Cannot wait til the summer window. Imagine the player we're going to attract with group stage European football after winning the Scottish Cup!

Had a quick look over the road and it's full of posts from them pretending to be happy it's been approved and only a matter of time til it all goes tits up blah, blah, blah...
https://i.imgflip.com/4tnk9r.jpg?a474408They are so parochial that they think the only way investment from outwith these islands can only end one way as that was their dumbass experience.

Fanny owned rinkydink club.

Let's see if someone approaches them with a dual owned model. The options will be cave in or FOH deciding among themselves to retain the shares to themselves.

27-02-2024, 10:16 PM
“I can’t believe they voted this through, death warrant signed.”

Someone should point out that none of this deal involves us taking on debt.

27-02-2024, 10:17 PM
If you were a Hearts fan, surely you’d be demanding answers as to why Coffee Morning Ann is allowed to project manage all this whilst blasting the fans and James Anderson’s money in the process? Is there anything she hasn’t project managed that’s been wildly over budget and behind schedule? I’d be raging if I’d poured my wallet into that big plastic begging cash cow in their club store and then realised she’d *****ed it up a windowless wall.They are raging - it's their default emotion.

27-02-2024, 10:17 PM
“I can’t believe they voted this through, death warrant signed.”

Says a supporter who licked Vlad’s backside. :greengrin

27-02-2024, 10:18 PM
Jimmy Jeggo, Christian Doidge, Elias Melkerson versus Maolida, Marcondes and Moriah Welsh ?

It’s already happening.How much do you think Melkersen will be sold for in the coming years . He`s about 20 now I think . How long will the 3 arrivals you mention be with us and how much will we receive when they leave ?

TrinityHFC
27-02-2024, 10:21 PM

Yep. Debt free except for the long term interest free Covid loan. £6m coming in and significant plans to develop already impressive set ups at the stadium and HTC. Part of a wider group that means spending cash won’t even be required to get access to players and further investment and donations expected.

Thin ice right enough.

It was also made clear that having already written off £5m the Gordons were in a financial position which meant we had no need for loans from BK in future either.

27-02-2024, 10:22 PM
The are raging - it's their default emotion.

Spend their whole existences looking at us to try to manufacture a pissing contest they think they can beat us at, inadvertently providing opportunities for ridicule, with things like chips being a new and firstest thing from them, or a stadium that required back room staff to walk across the pitch to the dug out because it was bigliest thing to have the changing rooms in the opposite stand (nothing to do with the shambles of a new stand of course)

They’re floating between bricking it that this has gone through, and raging that they’re not getting something like wee bairns having a tantrum

27-02-2024, 10:23 PM
How much do you think Melkersen will be sold for in the coming years . He`s about 20 now I think . How long will the 3 arrivals you mention be with us and how much will we receive when they leave ?

Don't care how much we could have made in the future, I care about seeing decent players now. That's been our biggest problem the last few windows.

Things are finally getting better.

27-02-2024, 10:26 PM
Sporting integrity is blasting through a fortune you don't have, but owing it to yourselves.

Then having to endure the utter humiliation of publishing your very own creditors list acknowledging the names of all the businesses and charities whose money you were actually using / stealing at the time.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkSelf-sufficient they were.

So self-sufficient they are now stuck with the nickname "Poppy Thieves" after their club stole money from the Lady Haig charity.

I had the pleasure of being blocked on twitter by that Barry Anderson reporter guy when I asked the simple question "Don't you mean self-reliant?"

Wharra maroon.

27-02-2024, 10:29 PM
Did I just hear fat Brian say HSL refused to vote or abstained tonight ? Was there any confirmation from HSL tonight on here ?Was he near the pie table when he said this?

27-02-2024, 10:30 PM
How much do you think Melkersen will be sold for in the coming years . He`s about 20 now I think . How long will the 3 arrivals you mention be with us and how much will we receive when they leave ?

Melkerson was hopeless for us. If he continues in that vein, he won't command any fees. Would you really have preferred him back permanently to Moalida and Marcondes on loan?

Moriah Welsh is only 21 and will be here for a couple of years more, if his contract isn't extended. He looks a baller so he'll fetch a decent fee.

27-02-2024, 10:33 PM
£4m. They signed Gordan Petric, Fitzroy Simpson and two other carthorses.Some of that cash was supposed to be invested in a Riccarton training ground. Instead they renaged on the deal, spent it on overpriced stiffs and tried to wiggle out the debt when SMG asked for their money back. Sort of typical Edinburgh establishment entitlement tbh. Crooks who end up with OBEs instead of a spell in stardie.

27-02-2024, 10:37 PM

Much more interested in what we get out of them when they’re here, playing football.

27-02-2024, 10:38 PM
Some of that cash was supposed to be invested in a Riccarton training ground. Instead they renaged on the deal, spent it on overpriced stiffs and tried to wiggle out the debt when SMG asked for their money back. Sort of typical Edinburgh establishment entitlement tbh. Crooks who end up with OBEs instead of a spell in stardie.

They’ve got OBEs we’ve got Knights 👍

27-02-2024, 10:43 PM

Spend their whole existences looking at us

The fact that 90% of their song book was wiped out by Hibs glorious 2016 Cup Win shows this is true.

They were left with some of their old anti-Irish racist tunes they share with the most bigoted club on the planet and their club anthem which is the same tune of "The Auld Orange Flute/Mud Mud Glorious Mud".

Watery Farts.

27-02-2024, 10:45 PM
Wait, Danny over at KB knows FOR A FACT (Caps lock so must be true) they were approached and they told Ron to F off 😂 Danny, Budge approached Ron 👍 just saying 😊 👍 angry Dan 😂

27-02-2024, 10:45 PM
Much more interested in what we get out of them when they’re here, playing football.We all want all players wearing the Hibs shirt to do well for us . That`s not in doubt .

27-02-2024, 10:51 PM
Pleased this has gone through. Is there any risk? maybe. But after decades of mediocrity with the odd ray of sunshine thrown in anything that could lead to a sustained period of success is a risk worth taking IMO.

It's mental to think that say a decade where we win 3 cups, finish 3rd in the league for 5 of the 10 years, and make the group stages of a European competition twice would be stratospherically better than we have done in any decade of the last 50 years. And yet when you look at it, it's hardly wanting the earth.

FTAO any Jambos looking in. Self sustaining is the income you generate ( including FOH donations ) being enough to pay to run the club without going into debt. If that isn't possible without gratis handouts of 5 million quid a year from a single benefactor, you are not 'self sustaining' any more than Hibs or any other Scottish football club is. IE Hearts do not generate enough income from trading + FOH donations to pay for the club as it is currently being run. That is a fact.

In short. Rather than worrying about our future, worry about yours without Mr Anderson :cb

Fanforlife
27-02-2024, 10:52 PM
I mentioned this to someone else and sporting integrity is very poignant when they knew they were going into administration but waited and knew Dundee were relegated before announcing it. In total denial saying everything is fine blah blah knowing it was indeed a lie.
Think it was that Dingle Sutherland (now at Inversnekie?)who gave an interview just before league cup final they were humped in by St.Mirren, stating they were trading normally etc. Few months later Admin visited and **** hit the fan,had they been honest they would have had points deducted that season leading to relegation which would have saved Dundee and they hate Dundee for sticking it up them with the email situation during covid,Brass knecked fekers.

Donegal Hibby
27-02-2024, 10:53 PM
Apologies if already seen though thought some might not have seen this on skysports.

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13082630/explained-bournemouth-owner-bill-foleys-6m-hibernian-investment-approved-at-agm

27-02-2024, 10:54 PM
Think it was that Dingle Sutherland (now at Inversnekie?)who gave an interview just before league cup final they were humped in by St.Mirren, stating they were trading normally etc. Few months later Admin visited and **** hit the fan,had they been honest they would have had points deducted that season leading to relegation which would have saved Dundee and they hate Dundee for sticking it up them with the email situation during covid,Brass knecked fekers.That's not the only reason they hate Dundee is it now, C?

27-02-2024, 11:00 PM
Pleased this has gone through. Is there any risk? maybe. But after decades of mediocrity with the odd ray of sunshine thrown in anything that could lead to a sustained period of success is a risk worth taking IMO.

It's mental to think that say a decade where we win 3 cups, finish 3rd in the league for 5 of the 10 years, and make the group stages of a European competition twice would be stratospherically better than we have done in any decade of the last 50 years. And yet when you look at it, it's hardly wanting the earth.

FTAO any Jambos looking in. Self sustaining is the income you generate ( including FOH donations ) being enough to pay to run the club without going into debt. If that isn't possible without gratis handouts of 5 million quid a year from a single benefactor, you are not 'self sustaining' any more than Hibs or any other Scottish football club is. IE Hearts do not generate enough income from trading + FOH donations to pay for the club as it is currently being run. That is a fact.

In short. Rather than worrying about our future, worry about yours without Mr Anderson :cb

They don’t do facts mate - they’re too busy sniffing highlighters and tippex tonight which has apparently reignited all their financial acumen and enlightened accounting practices. The “house of straw” one was an absolute belter 😂 if this was them they’d already be exploring booking flights for potential champions league games 😂

Fanforlife
27-02-2024, 11:00 PM
That's not the only reason they hate Dundee is it now, C?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalkcould be something to do with Dundee ***** them for title when beating them 2 zip but it was st.mirrens fault🤣 or the part Dundee played in them losing title at home to Killie in season Dundee humped them 1-7 at tynie, i was and still am delighted to have been alive to have witnessed both 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

27-02-2024, 11:06 PM
Dundee humped them 1-7 at tynie

Didn't know that one, mate. Will check the old papers for that at work when I get a chance.

I do know that Hibs took one point out of eight the season Diddy MacDonald led them to the glorious 1986 non-triumph.

One point out of eight but a very, very sweet point.

Can we change the words of that song to "we love Dundee"?

27-02-2024, 11:14 PM
Didn't know that one, mate. Will check the old papers for that at work when I get a chance.

I do know that Hibs took one point out of eight the season Diddy MacDonald led them to the glorious 1986 non-triumph.

The 1-7 game was in 1965, Kato.

Hearts lost the league that year on goal average then successfully campaigned to get it changed to goal difference.

Then along came 1986. :faf:

27-02-2024, 11:16 PM
The 1-7 game was in 1965, Kato.

Hearts lost the league that year on goal average then campaigned to get it changed to goal difference.

Then along came 1986. :faf:

When I see the words "campaigned" and "Hearts" in the same sentence it just reminds of their place at the apex of roasterdom.

LunasBoots
28-02-2024, 12:55 AM
Ben and Gary O addressed it. They said there’s really nothing more they can do. The SPFL don’t care and the Old Firm don’t care. Ben is happy to make a public statement next time but doesn’t think it will achieve anything. He did say they were very close to cutting their allocation and that Ian Gordon was the one pushing that the most.

The thing is if someone's seriously hurt in our stadium it will become a problem, it's also illegal so something needs to be done about it, we've heard alot in the media of how they are tackling it but bit worrying if Hibs are saying the football authorities don't care basically

Fanforlife
28-02-2024, 01:28 AM

McDonald game was the one Airdy chored the ball,i have it now as well as his scarf with all the badges on it,his mrs gave me them when he passed away,totally agree regarding Song. Icing on cake regarding game they lost title to Killie is i was there aged 11 with a m8 whose dad was a Killie fan 😜

seanshow
28-02-2024, 02:13 AM
"Following AGM approval and Hibernian FC agreeing to certain undertakings and commitments at the request of the Scottish FA....

Apologies if this has been explained previously or during the last 10 pages.

What were/are the Sfa's requested undertakings and commitments?

28-02-2024, 04:28 AM
Ben and Gary O addressed it. They said there’s really nothing more they can do. The SPFL don’t care and the Old Firm don’t care. Ben is happy to make a public statement next time but doesn’t think it will achieve anything. He did say they were very close to cutting their allocation and that Ian Gordon was the one pushing that the most.

They can ban bigots from our stadium. They are the only ones who can do something about it.

28-02-2024, 05:16 AM
Apologies if already seen though thought some might not have seen this on skysports.

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13082630/explained-bournemouth-owner-bill-foleys-6m-hibernian-investment-approved-at-agm

Thanks for sharing!

My thoughts from last night and reinforced by watching the video is that we're lucky to have the Gordons as majority shareholder. They are in it for the long haul and I've total confidence that they will do the right thing for Hibernian FC. It was also my first time listening to Ben Kensall too and I have to say that I was impressed. He's done well concluding this "game-changing" deal. Let's now sit back and enjoy the ride.

I also enjoyed listening to Brian McDermott. Like him, I cannot wait for tonight's match.

28-02-2024, 05:22 AM
They can ban bigots from our stadium. They are the only ones who can do something about it.

They can, but each time that would mean losing out on circa £100,000 of investment into our club, so somewhere between £300,000 and £500,000 per season. At a time when we're struggling to sell out our own seats in the other three stands. Sorry, not going to happen IMO.

I'd rather shut them up by routinely beating them. They don't sing when they are losing.

28-02-2024, 05:29 AM
They can, but each time that would mean losing out on circa £100,000 of investment into our club, so somewhere between £300,000 and £500,000 per season. At a time when we're struggling to sell out our own seats in the other three stands. Sorry, not going to happen IMO.

I'd rather shut them up by routinely beating them. They don't sing when they are losing.

So that's the price of allowing bigotry.

Pointless claiming to have morals and be a community club, and then having a price to allow that. Hibs enable bigotry and sectarianism. We didn't even defend our own manager when he was on the end of it.

Hibs4185
28-02-2024, 06:02 AM

I said on the PM board that debt was my biggest worry. If we remain debt free then it really is a great deal.

Ultimately small shareholders will continue to be diluted but by having no debt, it leaves us in a far better financial situation.

28-02-2024, 06:17 AM
I said on the PM board that debt was my biggest worry. If we remain debt free then it really is a great deal.

Ultimately small shareholders will continue to be diluted but by having no debt, it leaves us in a far better financial situation.

We will still have the government money to pay back but interest free and still have 18 years to pay it back, so technically debt but club not calling it that

28-02-2024, 06:18 AM
Wait, what?

I think he spoke pretty well tonight but he didn’t answer the questions about future capital calls or the dilution of HSL and others very well. The lawyer on stage bailed him out with both.

He got a little defensive on the dilution point asking if the guy posing the question had any better ideas on how to get millions of pounds out of the current shareholders. He could have positioned that he understood the position and valued them and other Hibs fans who held shares.

Sorry should have given some context - that’s what the plums on kickback are saying.

28-02-2024, 06:18 AM

Pointless claiming to have morals and be a community club, and then having a price to allow that. Hibs enable bigotry and sectarianism. We didn't even defend our own manager when he was on the end of it.

Should have went along last night to raise your point, or call the club directly about it and see what they say

28-02-2024, 06:30 AM
Didn't they also get 20m from Scottish Media Group when Robinson was in charge? Can't remember the details of that but I think they made a James Hunt of that as well

Yes they did

28-02-2024, 06:38 AM

How about we quarter their allocation, stick them top right of the south stand. Leave the section below them and sell the other half of the South stand top and bottom to Hibees, £10 for adults and £5 for kids?

I, for one as a ST for coming in 40 years would have zero issues with this.

It addresses the bigotry issue and the club recoup some of the cash lost. Perhaps some of the investment could cover the loss too.

I firmly believe a full house South stand benefits Celtic and Rangers results wise too.

28-02-2024, 06:39 AM

Clubs banning fans is a waste of time, it’s absolutely impossible for them to enforce the bans on individuals. The only bans that work are those given by the courts and enforced by the Police.

28-02-2024, 06:41 AM
Difference versus anything Hearts (or any other competing club in this league) have ever had in their history:

BILLIONS. BILLIONAIRES.

28-02-2024, 06:43 AM
Clubs banning fans is a waste of time, it’s absolutely impossible for them to enforce the bans on individuals. The only bans that work are those given by the courts and enforced by the Police.

We can refuse to give them 4 thousand tickets.

Hibee Daft
28-02-2024, 06:52 AM
I dont know all the details but after watching sky sports and listening to the Gordons it's made me feel better about it. She sounds genuinely invested in the club and has good intentions.

As much as hearts fans want there to be some grand conspiracy to destroy our club its just not the case

28-02-2024, 07:07 AM
I dont know all the details but after watching sky sports and listening to the Gordons it's made me feel better about it. She sounds genuinely invested in the club and has good intentions.

As much as hearts fans want there to be some grand conspiracy to destroy our club its just not the case

The Hertz theories are all about an American billionaire wanting to make money out of Hibs.

That is an idea full of contradiction. Many billionaires especially in later years are at a philanthropic stage.
And they have many other surefire ways to make money with their billions than putting money into a Scottish football team.
Hibs are the only team Bill Foley has invested in that have a realistic chance of European football.
The Gordon family is also very wealthy and wants to carry on the legacy of their husband / father.

All obvious stuff but I guess comparing the situation to Vlad is a bit of a comfort blanket for now.

Hibs4185
28-02-2024, 07:20 AM
How about we quarter their allocation, stick them top right of the south stand. Leave the section below them and sell the other half of the South stand top and bottom to Hibees, £10 for adults and £5 for kids?

I, for one as a ST for coming in 40 years would have zero issues with this.

It addresses the bigotry issue and the club recoup some of the cash lost. Perhaps some of the investment could cover the loss too.

I firmly believe a full house South stand benefits Celtic and Rangers results wise too.

No way I’d want me and my kids to sit next to them!

Give them the bottom tier with kids etc above would be fine but I don’t think it’s alllowed

USA_Hibee
28-02-2024, 07:26 AM
Could be good. Could be bad. Either way it'll be interesting.

Excited!

Love hearing the jambo keyboard financial wizard theories too. They are scared.

28-02-2024, 07:30 AM

Not familiar with that reporter but he's clearly a chamomile tea drinker rather than an espresso coffee man. He needs some wings.

Hibees1973
28-02-2024, 07:30 AM

Well put NN.

The hypocrisy emanating from some Yams is astonishing. Are they blind as well as ignorant.

The wouldn't have won their last 3 Scottish Cups without a mountain of debt. An even since then have relied on charitable donations from Mr Anderson to keep them going. Financial mismanagement of their new stand being one. You would have thought they would have learned from previous mistakes and the humiliation of administration.

Yes, we do not know how this Foley deal is going to go. But one thing is for sure, we need not take any bile or lectures from anyone associated with the Yam.

28-02-2024, 07:32 AM
No way I’d want me and my kids to sit next to them!

Give them the bottom tier with kids etc above would be fine but I don’t think it’s alllowed
There’s also a rule that you can’t charge away fans more than a home supporter for the same seat.

You could however obviously cut their allocation and donate the left over tickets to oh I don’t know the community foundation…

Get Rangers and Celtics allocation cut :agree:

One, I’m sick hearing Celtic singing about crap like the IRA and looking at Palestine flags which have **** all to do with a Scottish football match (that’s before we start even go into the fact that 99% couldn’t tell you a thing about the conflict and do it so they can go me me me as is the Celtic way), and I’m sick of Hun **** being vile and generally just being Rangers filth and Hun ****.

And two, I think it’s under estimated what a boost Celtic and Rangers teams must get playing in front of a bouncing and buoyant full away end, that also sways a ref to favour them. As I said, time to cut their allocations, there are more important things than money sometimes, ie morals and values when it comes to the behaviours of both sets of fans and giving us a better chance of actually winning the matches.

28-02-2024, 07:33 AM
Brian McGlaughlin surprisingly positive about it on the radio this morning

28-02-2024, 07:34 AM

The silence from the club after the Ron Gordon Rangers game as even worse

Hibs are complicit in the sectarianism and general bigotry by doing nothing, not speaking out and rolling over and allowing it to happen 4 times a season

28-02-2024, 07:50 AM

Hibs are complicit in the sectarianism and general bigotry by doing nothing, not speaking out and rolling over and allowing it to happen 4 times a season

Ben has said he is happy to comment on it whenever raised to him by our support BUT he gets nothing in return from the authorities. Perhaps we can get a benefactor who will happily cover the difference and we can stop giving tickets to Old Firm fans. Until then there is no chance we are going to ban a whole support.

Fuzzywuzzy
28-02-2024, 07:51 AM
I was told by a Jambo on Sunday that we've blown our wage structure and most of their players are on £2/3k per week with a few exceptions. This was met with an "aye?".

Crunchie
28-02-2024, 07:55 AM

Please take your outrage to another thread, this one is all about celebrating a new chapter in our illustrious history

28-02-2024, 07:57 AM
Brian McGlaughlin surprisingly positive about it on the radio this morningPocket full of pies was all it took.

28-02-2024, 08:02 AM
I was told by a Jambo on Sunday that we've blown our wage structure and most of their players are on £2/3k per week with a few exceptions. This was met with an "aye?".Supporters generally seem to think they know about what footballers are paid but unlikely they do. For interest, our one family yam is a bit of a big teamer, rarely goes to games but often reminds me that Hearts currently pay players 6 or 7 grand a week and can always outbid Hibs, blah blah.

28-02-2024, 08:03 AM
Doidge was a great player for Hibs. Strange to mention him.

We'll see how good Maolida and Marcondes are tomorrow. Problem with their signings is the season is already ****ed, with the big prize of 3rd being long gone.

He was average to good. Far from great.

28-02-2024, 08:06 AM
He was average to good. Far from great.

Over the course of his contract in the main he was very average.:agree:

28-02-2024, 08:10 AM
Ben has said he is happy to comment on it whenever raised to him by our support BUT he gets nothing in return from the authorities. Perhaps we can get a benefactor who will happily cover the difference and we can stop giving tickets to Old Firm fans. Until then there is no chance we are going to ban a whole support.
We shouldn’t have to raise it for him to comment

28-02-2024, 08:30 AM
Over the course of his contract in the main he was very average.:agree:

:thumbsup:Didn't want to upset anyone with that direct answer, but your spot on.

28-02-2024, 08:33 AM

So is every other club in the SPFL. The only one with the cahoonies to give them less tix is Hertz.

Paulie Walnuts
28-02-2024, 08:35 AM
Supporters generally seem to think they know about what footballers are paid but unlikely they do. For interest, our one family yam is a bit of a big teamer, rarely goes to games but often reminds me that Hearts currently pay players 6 or 7 grand a week and can always outbid Hibs, blah blah.

Both Hearts and Hibs have players who are earning that kind of money.

28-02-2024, 08:40 AM
Both Hearts and Hibs have players who are earning that kind of money.Your not wrong I'm sure.

28-02-2024, 08:43 AM
Your not wrong I'm sure.

Your is wrong. It’s “you’re”

28-02-2024, 08:44 AM
Your is wrong. It’s “you’re”Your write Im wrang[emoji6]

28-02-2024, 08:44 AM
Both Hearts and Hibs have players who are earning that kind of money.
Hibs have players on more.

28-02-2024, 08:46 AM
So is every other club in the SPFL. The only one with the cahoonies to give them less tix is Hertz.

And St Mirren and Kilmarnock. Aberdeen too, I think.

28-02-2024, 08:49 AM

Then of course we would face tit for tat action by the rangers and perhaps other Clubs. So as well as Hibs losing a vast amount of revenue, perfectly innocent Hibs fans would be unable to follow their team to Ibrox. And of course we all know that we have a sprinkling of bigots within our own support. People in glass houses etc etc.

Imo the only way we can address this is by vastly improved performances on the park which in turn will lead to a big increase in the number of our own fans who attend ER on a regular basis. Hopefully last night's news from the AGM will allow such a scenario to develop soon.

28-02-2024, 08:58 AM
Brian McGlaughlin surprisingly positive about it on the radio this morning

He's a welt. I felt the praise was through gritted teeth. his whole report was framed on what it meant for Scottish football not Hibs doing well. The really good news about the Astro Dome, ladies team permanent home etc was shoe horned in at the end.

Paulie Walnuts
28-02-2024, 09:02 AM
Hibs have players on more.

I only know of one player at Hibs but it doesn’t surprise me that there’s players earning more. I know of 2 at Hearts who are on slightly more than the figures that were quoted as well but I’ve no idea how many at each team are on those sort of amounts.

Hibs and Hearts (and I’d presume Aberdeen) pay some serious money now. All the more reason being behind teams like Killie, Dundee etc is a lot less acceptable now.

Donegal Hibby
28-02-2024, 09:04 AM
Pocket full of pies was all it took.

Just one pocket ?

28-02-2024, 09:25 AM
He's a welt. I felt the praise was through gritted teeth. his whole report was framed on what it meant for Scottish football not Hibs doing well. The really good news about the Astro Dome, ladies team permanent home etc was shoe horned in at the end.

To be fair it's BBC Scotland not BBC Hibernian. It is good for Scottish football. Think you've heard what you wanted to hear, he spoke about the ladies team and astro dome before going on to talk about 1.5m - 2m in the transfer kitty.

28-02-2024, 09:37 AM
Be interesting to hear about East Mains upgrades.

I notice Bournemouth have recently completed this new structure - could Hibs be getting something similar ?

https://trainingground.guru/articles/bournemouth-complete-phase-one-of-new-training-ground-with-indoor-dome

Looks like we will be building this type of structure which will be a fantastic addition to East Mains for the winter months and windy days.

There aren't many full size indoor 3G pitches in Scotland so for Hibs to own their own facility will help the Academy / 1st team progress and be a selling point to any new players also wanting to sign. Will also stop folk saying we just have an indoor barn.

I heard they want to build a new 3G for exclusive use for the Women's team and Academy teams with a small stand leaving the current 3G for community usage and kids camps etc.

Adding floodlights to all pitches too will improve the facility too and you can see why the Scottish FA were happy with the money being invested as it improves the structure of a top flight club and improves the infrastructure in this country. Many clubs haven't improved any facilities in Scotland for many years so happy Hibs have acted with all the land which was bought.

East Mains opened in 2007 and lots can be said about what's worked and what hasn't - but it feels these additions will take it to the next level and having exclusive use of it compared to somewhere open and public like Oriam is so much more professional. You can put a few badges on the walls in Oriam but at the end of the day students and others can walk about daily and they don't have exclusive use of the pitches like the indoor pitch - for example Scottish Rugby is higher importance than Hearts.

Long term putting the foundations down is important for the club at both Easter Road and East Mains - this can't be overlooked.

28-02-2024, 09:39 AM
Couple of great comments from the floor.

Pyrotechnics. "Can we install a water sprinkler system in the South stand"!!

Scottish Cup Rangers end. Can we ensure all Cinch advertising is at their end!!

28-02-2024, 09:42 AM
I’m really excited by this, I think it accelerates the club’s plans by years.

We are not doing it by burdening the club with debt.

We are not beholden to another club.

The Gordons retain control and are invested for the foreseeable future (therefore unlikely to force anyone to sell shares).

There is future capital guaranteed.

The investment benefits virtually every aspect of the club and the community.

Because of the steps taken to increase club controlled income with the investment, it’s sustainable over the long term.

We get access to players that we simply couldn’t afford before.

We get access to expertise across the group of clubs.

There is no forcing of players into or out of the club.

I’m struggling to see too many negatives that weren’t already an issue before yesterday’s vote and even then, I’m not sure how big they are in reality (fan say in things, risk of having to sell shares).

28-02-2024, 09:44 AM

The Gordons retain control and are invested for the foreseeable future (therefore unlikely to force anyone to sell shares).

Because of the steps taken to increase club controlled income with the investment, it’s sustainable over the long term.

I’m struggling to see too many negatives that weren’t already an issue before yesterday’s vote and even then, I’m not sure how big they are in reality (fan say in things, risk of having to sell shares).

This. Very positive evening

28-02-2024, 09:46 AM
Then of course we would face tit for tat action by the rangers and perhaps other Clubs. So as well as Hibs losing a vast amount of revenue, perfectly innocent Hibs fans would be unable to follow their team to Ibrox. And of course we all know that we have a sprinkling of bigots within our own support. People in glass houses etc etc.

Imo the only way we can address this is by vastly improved performances on the park which in turn will lead to a big increase in the number of our own fans who attend ER on a regular basis. Hopefully last night's news from the AGM will allow such a scenario to develop soon.
I never said don’t give them tickets. I said cut it accordingly. Give them a couple blocks tucked away in the upper or a strip like Hearts give them

28-02-2024, 09:50 AM

Exactly this Matty 👍

I do think also that there’s still an important place for HSL, so I really hope that once dust settles they reflect, re-focus, and more importantly re-brand itself and it’s strategic outcomes. Rather than focus on shareholding I think there’s appetite and room for an additional investment stream into first team funds that fans would contribute towards at various intervals of the year. Maybe a way good time to sit down and freshen it up. I still think the Club should actively engage them but perhaps a re-branding and new incentives will encourage that.

Stairway 2 7
28-02-2024, 09:50 AM
BKs have turned £100 million of debt into new shares in Bournemouth last summer. I think it's inevitable HSL and others shares will get diluted further for more new shares being created. This I think shows the confidence Leslie Robb must have in the grand scheme as he will get diluted also. He's a very astute man a big player in asset management but also a big hibby. It gives me confidence that he is willing to sacrifice his % due to what he believes will happen to the club. Malcolm McPherson also saying the Gordons are the best thing to happen to Hibs in his lifetime is obviously also really reassuring

28-02-2024, 10:03 AM
BKs have turned £100 million of debt into new shares in Bournemouth last summer. I think it's inevitable HSL and others shares will get diluted further for more new shares being created. This I think shows the confidence Leslie Robb must have in the grand scheme as he will get diluted also. He's a very astute man a big player in asset management but also a big hibby. It gives me confidence that he is willing to sacrifice his % due to what he believes will happen to the club. Malcolm McPherson also saying the Gordons are the best thing to happen to Hibs in his lifetime is obviously also really reassuring

I think the only way that can happen is if Bydand invest the same amount to ensure the BK holding doesn’t go over the 30%.

Think I’ve got that right anyway

El Gubbz
28-02-2024, 10:14 AM

Just got to strap in and enjoy the ride now that the 2 meaningful votes have been counted.

Would be interested to understand Robb’s basis on voting for the special resolutions. Clearly the vision for the club is very exciting and I do understand the benefits of being in partnership with big money men etc but would feel much more at ease hearing why Robb voted for the resolutions, with him being a “big hibby” - which I don’t doubt, than hearing from Kensell, The Gordons and Foley who all have different motivations to that of a born and bred hibee.

I think main character syndrome sometimes impacts our scepticism when it comes to the motivations of “investors” so would be good to hear from someone whose relatively substantial shares have been significantly diluted.

On the assumption he hasn’t received a fee or favour for the dilution there must be genuine excitement from him that I’d be hugely interested to hear.

Mon the cabbage

Stairway 2 7
28-02-2024, 10:17 AM
I think the only way that can happen is if Bydand invest the same amount to ensure the BK holding doesn’t go over the 30%.

Think I’ve got that right anyway

Yeah it is. I felt the insinuation last night was it would happen so Byland must be willing to in the future. I'm personally hoping Byland and Black Knights get some links away from football that money can be moved between if needed 😉. Although I also think its inevitable full multi club ownership will prevail

28-02-2024, 10:19 AM
Yeah it is. I felt the insinuation last night was it would happen so Byland must be willing to in the future. I'm personally hoping Byland and Black Knights get some links away from football that money can be moved between if needed 😉. Although I also think its inevitable full multi club ownership will prevail

Unless BK do it by way of donations instead of more shares. But aye, I reckon there will be a full takeover at some point as well

RMQ1967
28-02-2024, 10:24 AM
Just got to strap in and enjoy the ride now that the 2 meaningful votes have been counted.

Would be interested to understand Robb’s basis on voting for the special resolutions. Clearly the vision for the club is very exciting and I do understand the benefits of being in partnership with big money men etc but would feel much more at ease hearing why Robb voted for the resolutions, with him being a “big hibby” - which I don’t doubt, than hearing from Kensell, The Gordons and Foley who all have different motivations to that of a born and bred hibee.

I think main character syndrome sometimes impacts our scepticism when it comes to the motivations of “investors” so would be good to hear from someone whose relatively substantial shares have been significantly diluted.

On the assumption he hasn’t received a fee or favour for the dilution there must be genuine excitement from him that I’d be hugely interested to hear.

Mon the cabbage

One factor may be that although his holding will be diluted - the value of those holdings is likely to increase substantially if all goes to plan.

28-02-2024, 10:50 AM
One factor may be that although his holding will be diluted - the value of those holdings is likely to increase substantially if all goes to plan.

I don't know Mr Robb but as far as I can see he is involved with the Community Foundation as well as other philanthropic ventures.

Doesn't seem to be the actions of someone who doesn't have our best interests at heart.

GreenPJ
28-02-2024, 11:15 AM

There aren't many fans who invest in their club (by means of shareholding) who do it with the intent that they will look to make a (cash) return on it.

28-02-2024, 11:41 AM
Would HSL or individual shareholders sell their stake to the Gordon’s if asked?

They could get some cash back before their holding was diluted any further and it would give the Gordon’s scope to do another similar deal in the future.

28-02-2024, 11:44 AM
An old school mate of mine is George Letham ( one of the three bears that out money into Tge Rangers ) met him at a Burns Supper this year in my old home town and he was in the Directors Box with Malcolm McPherson at last Rangers home game
He was very positive about the plans Hibs have going forward .So was more reassured when I heard him talking

28-02-2024, 11:44 AM

Good post Matty this is where i am :aok:

TrinityHFC
28-02-2024, 12:07 PM
Would HSL or individual shareholders sell their stake to the Gordon’s if asked?

They could get some cash back before their holding was diluted any further and it would give the Gordon’s scope to do another similar deal in the future.

Dilution is a total red herring, unless like HSL you have a specific percentage of shares you want to reach.

For individuals it makes no odds. You get the certificate and AGM attendance and your vote matters just slightly less than it did before. Value doesn’t matter to a fan who bought shares but dilution doesn’t impact that anyway. You get less of a share in a more valuable thing.

Personally I think HSL would be wasting peoples money if they decided to carry on as they are waiting for the day you can buy shares. Not going to happen in any material way.

Do we need a fund for future emergencies? I think this would be pointless. There’s just no foreseeable need for it and the take up would continue to be minimal. Much better ways to use money for the benefit of the club if fans wished to keep contributing to something. HSL as it stands is dead, it needs something very different and given the position with owners and investors appetite for whatever replaced it will be minimal.

28-02-2024, 12:13 PM
Dilution is a total red herring, unless like HSL you have a specific percentage of shares you want to reach.

For individuals it makes no odds. You get the certificate and AGM attendance and your vote matters just slightly less than it did before. Value doesn’t matter to a fan who bought shares but dilution doesn’t impact that anyway. You get less of a share in a more valuable thing.

Personally I think HSL would be wasting peoples money if they decided to carry on as they are waiting for the day you can buy shares. Not going to happen in any material way.

Do we need a fund for future emergencies? I think this would be pointless. There’s just no foreseeable need for it and the take up would continue to be minimal. Much better ways to use money for the benefit of the club if fans wished to keep contributing to something. HSL as it stands is dead, it needs something very different and given the position with owners and investors appetite for whatever replaced it will be minimal.

They could send out an email asking members to vote how they use the money and then hold an EGM for those who got the email.

:fishin:

28-02-2024, 12:17 PM

I agree with many of the points and the investment in infrastructure is a real positive.

My one concern, which has probably built up over a period of time is that we have a Senior Leadership Team who simply don’t know how to give bad news.

Sitting HSL directors down and laying out that the owners were going in a different direction should have been a really straightforward thing to do.

The changes to the seating arrangements in the stadium just landed. Ta-dah. FF lower consultation aside.

This year we lost £7M which was mitigated to £4M by player trading but the response is that record breaking turnover this year (not the same thing as not making a loss)

I understand that to the vast majority of fans that this simply doesn’t matter, but to me, how you treat those that are directly impacted by your decisions matters and our CEO/ Chairman need to up their game.

None of this is to smear the Gordons but good people can have blindspots.

hibbydad
28-02-2024, 12:17 PM

I could not agree more Trinity

28-02-2024, 12:46 PM
Really hope this doesn’t turn into another HSL thread.

28-02-2024, 01:02 PM
Good post Matty this is where i am :aok:

With all due respect it's completely irrelevant how you chaps feel about this deal. I prefer the unbiased, objective, clear analysis of the sitution by proven financial and business experts.

So I'll continue going to Kickback for my information, thank you very much.

28-02-2024, 01:04 PM
Really hope this doesn’t turn into another HSL thread.

Really hope this doesn't turn into another HSL bashing thread.

28-02-2024, 01:04 PM
With all due respect it's completely irrelevant how you chaps feel about this deal. I prefer the unbiased, objective, clear analysis of the sitution by proven financial and business experts.

🤣

28-02-2024, 01:07 PM

Quite. Can we track down that SaughtonJambo chappie and maybe have a zoom call with him so he can tell us how desperate our situation is now?

RMQ1967
28-02-2024, 01:17 PM
I don't know Mr Robb but as far as I can see he is involved with the Community Foundation as well as other philanthropic ventures.

Doesn't seem to be the actions of someone who doesn't have our best interests at heart.

There aren't many fans who invest in their club (by means of shareholding) who do it with the intent that they will look to make a (cash) return on it.

Sure I wasn't meaning to suggest that he was in it for the money - I'm sure he done it for the love of Hibs like most fans.

However, you have to consider, he didn't become rich by not knowing a good investment when he sees one :cb

28-02-2024, 01:26 PM

Just went in there for the first time in a long, long time and the thread on this topic is ****ing brilliant.

You’d be hard pushed to find a thread with so much wrong on any forum on any subject on the internet.

They’re all so sure about everything, all of it founded on wrong assumptions and calculated guesses, where the calculator used to make them is the buttons on a microwave oven.

It’s genuinely hard to know where to start with the flaws in the logic.

28-02-2024, 01:29 PM

So I'll continue going to Kickback for my information, thank you very much.Do you know if they do Financial and legal advice over there as well?

They always seem to have their finger on the pulse on these matters.

Well I think it's the pulse........

28-02-2024, 01:30 PM
Quite. Can we track down that SaughtonJambo chappie and maybe have a zoom call with him so he can tell us how desperate our situation is now?Good idea because SaughtonJambo is definitely a zoomer.

28-02-2024, 01:32 PM
Just went in there for the first time in a long, long time and the thread on this topic is ****ing brilliant.

You’d be hard pushed to find a thread with so much wrong on any forum on any subject on the internet.

They’re all so sure about everything, all of it founded on wrong assumptions and calculated guesses, where the calculator used to make them is the buttons on a microwave oven.

It’s genuinely hard to know where to start with the flaws in the logic.

It's that certainty and confidence in their statements that makes it such a great read.

Every one of them comes across as a financial expert.

Quite how such a bunch of geniuses and oracles managed to miss what was happening under their noses pre-2013 is one of those questions that I suppose will have to remain a mystery.

28-02-2024, 01:33 PM
Good idea because SaughtonJambo is definitely a zoomer.

May currently be interred in Saughton right enough.

28-02-2024, 01:45 PM
It's that certainty and confidence in their statements that makes it such a great read.

Every one of them comes across as a financial expert.

Quite how such a bunch of geniuses and oracles managed to miss what was happening under their noses pre-2013 is one of those questions that I suppose will have to remain a mystery.Yeah, mystery.

Someone on the bounce called it out as "long firm fraud" on the day Vlad took over. He was in no way wrong.

They went from "winning the champions league" to having to paint their faces with cake bakes in eight short years, falling for every distraction he cared to conjure up.

Erses

28-02-2024, 01:53 PM
So they didn’t want it to go through because of Sporting Integrity and now that all their capital ventures are complete (they are not really) they are now10 years ahead of us in terms of infrastructure and player budget. They are and always will be seeking targets well outwith our meagre budget and with every passing month will pull away from us leaving us in their wake.

Tick Tock

Garymcl
28-02-2024, 01:56 PM
Good coverage on sky just now on for about 5/6 mins all very positive

28-02-2024, 02:06 PM

28-02-2024, 02:35 PM

I also don't see the point in HSL going forwards.

If anything, I'd prefer it if the shares they own could be bought back by the club, rather than anyone being given the chance to buy more.

28-02-2024, 03:15 PM
Was there anything mentioned regarding a restructure of the recruitment side of the club? I think I remember reading part of an article when this news went public by either Hibs observer or the Scotsman suggesting Foley may want a Technical director at the club.

28-02-2024, 06:00 PM
So they didn’t want it to go through because of Sporting Integrity and now that all their capital ventures are complete (they are not really) they are now10 years ahead of us in terms of infrastructure and player budget. They are and always will be seeking targets well outwith our meagre budget and with every passing month will pull away from us leaving us in their wake.

Tick Tock

Infrastructure?

They have a subbuteo pitch surrounded by three rusting pink bus shelters past their expiry date and the Wernham Hogg office with some monoblocking in front. And they borrow student playing fields for training.

28-02-2024, 06:10 PM
Infrastructure?

They have a subbuteo pitch surrounded by three rusting pink bus shelters past their expiry date and the Wernham Hogg office with some monoblocking in front. And they borrow student playing fields for training.

I know. They also think their Wetherspoon Lounge in their bigliest most modern main stand in the land is far superior to anything we currently have!

28-02-2024, 06:25 PM
I know. They also think their Wetherspoon Lounge in their bigliest most modern main stand in the land is far superior to anything we currently have!I particularly like the state of the art al fresco press "area".

28-02-2024, 06:25 PM
I know. They also think their Wetherspoon Lounge in their bigliest most modern main stand in the land is far superior to anything we currently have!

What is the hospitality lounges like at Tynecastle? Who's been? Is it on a par with what we have at Easter Road or is it something else they have done on the cheap?

28-02-2024, 06:31 PM
What is the hospitality lounges like at Tynecastle? Who's been? Is it on a par with what we have at Easter Road or is it something else they have done on the cheap?

Never been in however I have to referred to them as the Wetherspoon lounges after viewing these images from the official site.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240228/ad946103410b6691ba11a2858e685dd4.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240228/347ea12ca46b6e8dcf61578fb6ed70e3.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240228/d0a0e87a5d292b2aa6e6bca803f3b824.jpg

28-02-2024, 06:33 PM
I particularly like the state of the art al fresco press "area".

That’s my favourite part right behind the bestest and most modern dugouts which come with free Wetherspoon chairs

28-02-2024, 06:37 PM
Never been in however I have to referred to them as the Wetherspoon lounges after viewing these images from the official site.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240228/ad946103410b6691ba11a2858e685dd4.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240228/347ea12ca46b6e8dcf61578fb6ed70e3.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240228/d0a0e87a5d292b2aa6e6bca803f3b824.jpg

At least Wetherspoons tend to be in interesting places and imbibe some of the character of the building.

They look totally characterless. Much like the occupants I suppose.

28-02-2024, 06:38 PM
At least Wetherspoons tend to be in interesting places and imbibe some of the character of the building.

Suppose you are right. But what other stadium has a hospitality suite with views of the Castle….. no wait!

28-02-2024, 06:48 PM

How many maroon sweaters are on display in that bottom picture!! 😅

28-02-2024, 07:05 PM
How many maroon sweaters are on display in that bottom picture!! [emoji28]Some of the maroon sweaters are wearing maroon jumpers.

15-03-2024, 09:52 AM
Just dragging this up again.

The share issues have now been registered at Companies House. The new holdings are :

Bydand 60.4%
Turquoise Bidco (the BK) 25%
HSL 6.9%
Leslie Robb 4.4%
The rest 3.3%

Ship of Hope
24-03-2024, 09:40 AM
Does anyone have a better idea what this might mean for hibs going forward and particularly how it might effect our transfer business?

For example can we expect a few loan players from Bournmouth (think this is limited for international loans?)

I am sure Foley said we would have millions to spend at some point? (Is this 2m or 20m?)

With all the financial fair play stuff going on and the points deductions etc could this be a way for Bournmouth to stay within these rules whilst still building up a stable of players in the uk that are not directly on their budget sheet? No FFP in Scotland could mean instead of buying several players that may or may not make it into their first team they could be bought by hibs initially? If they look like they will make the grade then transferred (or loaned) to Bournmouth?

I have been trying to think what the major benefit for the BK in investing in Hibs as they do not seem to do things half baked.

I am hoping it is the latter as this could involve some serious inward investment even if we do not make a profit on the players down the road it would massively increase our turnover. If the uglies get wind of this I am sure FFP will become a thing before long so hopefully they will heavily frontload this process lol.

Anyone with a better understanding of their motivations and what we might expect come the summer and future transfer windows?

Also think I read somewhere that a separate company had been set up between BK, Gordons and Leslie Robb? Anyone know what that is all about?

A lot of questions and no answers

big gogs
24-03-2024, 09:46 AM
Some of the maroon sweaters are wearing maroon jumpers.

Not a cardigan in sight,obviously the keys to their rovers are lying beside their driving gloves.

scm70nyd1973
24-03-2024, 10:19 AM

But the crucial bit is it’s 1 metre longer and wider than any of our offerings so that will keep them happy .

24-03-2024, 02:07 PM
Just dragging this up again.

The share issues have now been registered at Companies House. The new holdings are :

Bydand 60.4%
Turquoise Bidco (the BK) 25%
HSL 6.9%
Leslie Robb 4.4%
The rest 3.3%

HSL will be annoyed at current shareholding, the rest is low at 3.3% too. Leslie Robb looks his shares halved but a sear on board to help

24-03-2024, 02:25 PM
HSL will be annoyed at current shareholding, the rest is low at 3.3% too. Leslie Robb looks his shares halved but a sear on board to help

It is what it is, I think if the club is going to progress in the direction that the owners want it to - which I think is what we want as a support as well - a successful, competitive and entertaining club - having a corporate and ownership structure that is set up with as few barriers to things as possible is necessary.

Obviously that leaves us wide open to bad intentions but AFAIK to no greater extent than we were under any previous ownership set up.

I just want to see progress on the park now. I don't think either the Gordons or Black Knight FC are of a mind to muck about and do anything half-arsed, and I think the Gordons recognised that they need help so with those all in place now we should expect to see a difference quickly, and I think we will.

25-03-2024, 10:12 AM
No FFP in Scotland

Not in the Scottish league, but to play in UEFA competitions you have to comply with their FFP (now FSR) rules.