View Full Version : Hearts at Tynie

Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 10:32 AM
What’s everyone’s feelings regards our chances at Tynie on Wednesday then?

I’ve been reading KB ( ye ye I know ) it’s mostly the same old “ we’re going to smash them”. . Or “ After a bad day at the office, let’s get back to doing what we do best, spanking the Leithers and sending them home to their beds.

Some other comments I’ve read go a bit like this….. not sure why but I think we’ll take 5 or 6 off them.

As well as calling us the usual names such as mutants and vermin 😂🤣😂and the passive aggressive spelling of h1b5🤣

There’s the I never want that Hibs mentality were getting a draw is a good result.

Going to absolutely rip them apart on Wednesday.

A lot of talk about them bouncing back and us being on the wrong end of a backlash!

I’m quietly confident it’ll be the usual hard fought encounter with the odd goal.

If we play like we did against Dundee, then we’ll give them a proper fright.

Bring it on!

Stairway 2 7
25-02-2024, 10:44 AM
We need to play to our strengths. Don't be pedestrian or let them make it a pagger. Use the pace and attack them. Marcondes and Maolida are better than anything they tramps have had in the last 10 years. Moriah-Welsh can rule the centre and Boyle loves it at that dump of a stadium. 2 or 3 nil Hibs

WestStandWillie
25-02-2024, 10:57 AM
Get in their faces from kick off and leave a mark on them early.

Can’t start the game all pedestrian and tippy tappy passing.

25-02-2024, 10:59 AM
It's got 0-0 written all over it.

Heart says 3-0 Hibs, head says 1-0 them.

Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 11:05 AM
Get in their faces from kick off and leave a mark on them early.

Can’t start the game all pedestrian and tippy tappy passing.

That’s exactly how I fear we’ll start. They’ll try and throw the kitchen sink at us first twenty they don’t need any encouragement from us playing tippy tappy at the back. Get the ball up the flanks early doors and keep them penned in their own half.
Every single one of our players need to put in a proper shift.
The longer the game goes on and stays 0-0 the more likely we’ll come into the match and get in behind their defence.
Looking forward to it.

Hibeesdaft16
25-02-2024, 11:08 AM
Win the midfield battle and defend well or if not better than we have. If we do that is the key to winning at that **** tip. :agree:

Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 11:08 AM

There’s nae chance of it being 0-0 🤣🤣🤣

Our defence haven’t had a clean sheet in the league since Livingston away in Mid December.

25-02-2024, 11:09 AM
We have only one clean sheet in our last 11 games, so chances are we will concede.

Hearts defence has been pretty ropey too though since the last derby. Rowes and Atkinson both weak spots I think. We have some talented attacking players and what fills me with hope is that several of them have played in huge games before in front of huge crowds so shouldnt be fazed by an Edinburgh derby.

No doubt they will target Marcondes and Maolida early doors with a few hefty challenges. We need to give Shankland a dunt early on.

Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 11:13 AM
We have only one clean sheet in our last 11 games, so chances are we will concede.

Hearts defence has been pretty ropey too though since the last derby. Rowes and Atkinson both weak spits I think. We have some talented attacking players and what fills me with hope is that several of them have played in huge games before in front of huge crowds so shouldnt be fazed by an Edinburgh derby.

I
No doubt they will target Marcondes and Maolida early doors with a few hefty challenges. We need to give Shankland a dunt early on.

I’d be giving him more than a wee dunt. I’m surprised nobody has smashed that wee fat tefal heid yet!

25-02-2024, 11:14 AM

Hearts defence has been pretty ropey too though since the last derby. Rowes and Atkinson both weak spits I think. We have some talented attacking players and what fills me with hope is that several of them have played in huge games before in front of huge crowds so shouldnt be fazed by an Edinburgh derby.

Shankland has a customary early foul when we play them. Usually quite a bad one that he gets away with. Needs to be roles reversed, get him early, set the tone that we’re not there to **** about.

We will score, it’s how we do at the other end.

25-02-2024, 11:18 AM
I’d be giving him more than a wee dunt. I’m surprised nobody has smashed that wee fat tefal heid yet!

Shankland has a customary early foul when we play them. Usually quite a bad one that he gets away with. Needs to be roles reversed, get him early, set the tone that we’re not there to **** about.

:agree::agree:

25-02-2024, 11:21 AM

Covering all bases

25-02-2024, 11:27 AM
Same starting 11 as yesterday please. Us and them.

25-02-2024, 11:29 AM
Haven’t won at the Tiny Library since 2019 and the Boyle double.

So that’s the last 6 away games.

Of those who started yesterday Marshall - Fish - Newell - Miller and Boyle have all played in a winning derby.

Hopefully yesterday will give the players some confidence to go and get the 3 points. Would really help give Monty more credit in the bank and help massively with us getting into top 6. Dundee play Celtic away also.

Be interesting to see if they keep Clark in goals or play Gordon after the 5-0.

Hopefully Hibs fans give the team a great backing as they will need it.

25-02-2024, 11:32 AM
Some half bake over the road saying 5 or 6 to them 🤣 good luck with that 🤗🖕💚

25-02-2024, 11:32 AM
One of our biggest issues is that we can be very slow in getting the ball forward, we actually have the pace to destroy teams but fail to use it often enough.

25-02-2024, 11:38 AM
Some half bake over the road saying 5 or 6 to them 🤣 good luck with that 🤗🖕💚

It's not impossible of course but it is very unlikely we will lose by 5 or 6. How often are there 5 or 6 goals scored in a derby? Last time there was 5 or more goals in a league game was 2006 where we lost 3-2. Obviously we know the last time there was 5 or more goals in a cup derby. Tight game on Wednesday imo.

25-02-2024, 11:40 AM
My first visit to Tynie for several years, hopefully better than many of my previous visits.

Mcbizz1998
25-02-2024, 11:40 AM
Not seen anything to suggest that this team can go and get a rare result at Tynecastle.

Mind you, I thought that last time and we pinched a draw so you never know!

25-02-2024, 11:47 AM
Win the midfield battle and defend well or if not better than we have. If we do that is the key to winning at that **** tip. :agree:

That's been the key to winning there since roughly 1927. We rarely achieve it though, and I don't think that'll change on Wednesday.

Would be beyond ecstatic to be proven wrong obviously.

25-02-2024, 11:53 AM
I wouldn't be starting Youan either. I think he's handy to have on the bench in a game like this. Might make him more determined to come on and actually try.

25-02-2024, 11:56 AM
It's not impossible of course but it is very unlikely we will lose by 5 or 6. How often are there 5 or 6 goals scored in a derby? Last time there was 5 or more goals in a league game was 2006 where we lost 3-2. Obviously we know the last time there was 5 or more goals in a cup derby. Tight game on Wednesday imo.
This is bordering on positive confidence. :dizzy:

Hibs4185
25-02-2024, 12:04 PM
It’s a derby, league position means nothing.

I fancy us to win 2-1

25-02-2024, 12:07 PM
I wouldn't be starting Youan either. I think he's handy to have on the bench in a game like this. Might make him more determined to come on and actually try.

:agree: If we get ahead in the game at any point then we shouldn't see Youan either. Only worth bringing on if we are chasing a goal second half.

He's here!
25-02-2024, 12:17 PM
I'll be surprised if we don't lose but I'm less resigned to defeat than I would have been a couple of weeks ago.

As with pretty much any derby I'd take a draw now.

25-02-2024, 12:22 PM
Not that it matters but I think the only way we'll get any credit on the likes of Sportsound/Sportscene is if we beat them when they've got a full strength side, otherwise they'll just make excuses with people missing etc.

25-02-2024, 12:30 PM
After their result against the Huns, they will be right up for this game as always.
We have to stop their usual niggling and just get into their faces.
Hope they have another bad first half, and get enough to see out the second half.
My worry is down our flanks, stop crosses and we give ourselves a big chance!!!

25-02-2024, 12:30 PM
If we play at the tempo and with the press we did for large parts of yesterday then I fancy us strongly. It is a big if though.

25-02-2024, 01:07 PM
If we can just defend simple balls and close down attackers we’ll beat them. It’s as easy as that. 1-0 against Dundee every time they attacked I never felt confident we’d defend resolutely.

Skol
25-02-2024, 01:11 PM
We have enough about us to get a positive result at tynecastle. However, I am long enough in the tooth to know that we rarely come away from tynecastle with all three points.

I would start the same team if all fit, but bushiri looked to take a knock and Marcondes doesn’t seem to be a two game per week kind of guy.

Sparrows tongue
25-02-2024, 01:35 PM
It could go either way (stating the bleeding obvious here!).

They will either be down about yesterday or really up for it.

We should be up for it but could go in with an attitude problem with regard to previous derbies.

So, I’ll say 1-1

Hibeesdaft16
25-02-2024, 01:38 PM
That's been the key to winning there since roughly 1927. We rarely achieve it though, and I don't think that'll change on Wednesday.

Would be beyond ecstatic to be proven wrong obviously.

Agree mate. Far too frustrating too, the amount of class we have had over the years that just get drawn into a **** fest. 1999 was the only time ever we have went there and really controlled the whole game. My first derby too.

Game under JC when German hit both posts and Deano got sent off was another time too.

25-02-2024, 02:10 PM

Heart says 3-0 Hibs, head says 1-0 them.That's covered all bases nicely [emoji6][emoji38]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

25-02-2024, 02:11 PM
Keep Shankland quiet we have a chance

Halmyre Hibee
25-02-2024, 02:46 PM
Just make sure we score more goals than them. Their not as good as they think they are.

25-02-2024, 02:47 PM
My first Tynecastle derby for over a year so it would be nice if we turned up.

25-02-2024, 03:02 PM
Just make sure we score more goals than them.

That will give us a chance

25-02-2024, 03:07 PM
Can't see us winning. We play well there once every 5 years.

Cabbage-Patch
25-02-2024, 03:22 PM
Heard a rumour Shankland might be suspended? Anyone confirm?

Sparrows tongue
25-02-2024, 03:23 PM
Just make sure we score more goals than them. Their not as good as they think they are.

They're not actually very good at all!

25-02-2024, 03:25 PM
Heard a rumour Shankland might be suspended? Anyone confirm?

He did get booked yesterday, hope it’s true he’s missing.

LewysGot2
25-02-2024, 03:31 PM
He did get booked yesterday, hope it’s true he’s missing.

Nope. Available

Hibees1973
25-02-2024, 04:01 PM
They will be their usual 100mph with little finesse.

Their supporters spitting on & hitting our players when we take corners/throw in's cos their ground is wee.

Problem is we seldom have been able to handle this fixture since Stubbs/Lennon left.

Donegal Hibby
25-02-2024, 06:05 PM
I'd go with the same team again , certainly got the forwards to get a result like the last time we played them there , hopefully we go one better this time .

25-02-2024, 06:24 PM
Same team for me as yesterday for me.

With the other fixtures then a point would be decent, looking for 3 though.

I expect our defence to be tested more than yesterday, need a big performance from the back 5.

25-02-2024, 06:52 PM
If Big Daz and Marvin both start, we'll be in with a great chance.

25-02-2024, 06:58 PM
Feeling surprisingly good about it. Amazing what a Carlsberg weekend does.

No doubt my face will be tripping me at work on Thursday.

25-02-2024, 06:58 PM
What’s everyone’s feelings regards our chances at Tynie on Wednesday then?

I’ve been reading KB ( ye ye I know ) it’s mostly the same old “ we’re going to smash them”. . Or “ After a bad day at the office, let’s get back to doing what we do best, spanking the Leithers and sending them home to their beds.

Some other comments I’ve read go a bit like this….. not sure why but I think we’ll take 5 or 6 off them.

As well as calling us the usual names such as mutants and vermin 😂🤣😂and the passive aggressive spelling of h1b5🤣

There’s the I never want that Hibs mentality were getting a draw is a good result.

Going to absolutely rip them apart on Wednesday.

A lot of talk about them bouncing back and us being on the wrong end of a backlash!

I’m quietly confident it’ll be the usual hard fought encounter with the odd goal.

If we play like we did against Dundee, then we’ll give them a proper fright.

Bring it on!

What's been your favourite Hibs win at Tiny?

25-02-2024, 07:04 PM
It's rare for a Hibs team to set the tempo in an away Derby. Monty needs to recognise this. Whilst I was comfortable with how we played in first 20 yesterday, we simply won't get that time on the ball at their **** hole

We need to move the ball fast and keep our shape and be aggressive

25-02-2024, 07:15 PM
We need to get at them from the start and please pass the ball to a player in a green Jersey. Need to silence their crowd as well.We have been too passive in games against them.Get intae them.

25-02-2024, 07:15 PM
It's rare for a Hibs team to set the tempo in an away Derby. Monty needs to recognise this. Whilst I was comfortable with how we played in first 20 yesterday, we simply won't get that time on the ball at their **** hole

Hearts are going to come out at us quickly, especially after their result yesterday.

With the ball that might actually suit us as we’ll be forced to speed things up. As always with us, it’s really going to hinge on how we defend.

25-02-2024, 07:23 PM
Hearts are going to come out at us quickly, especially after their result yesterday.

With the ball that might actually suit us as we’ll be forced to speed things up. As always with us, it’s really going to hinge on how we defend.

:agree: we need to stand up to them from the word go and try to impose ourselves on the game and make them worry about us.

Bakerman
25-02-2024, 07:23 PM
It could go either way (stating the bleeding obvious here!).

They will either be down about yesterday or really up for it.

We should be up for it but could go in with an attitude problem with regard to previous derbies.

So, I’ll say 1-1

A draw is always a good result at Tiny. What we have on our side is players who have come in re window, and have seriously improved us, and have no fear of hearts, or the derby. I'll take a draw, but obvs a win would be okay :greengrin

25-02-2024, 07:24 PM
Just crunched the numbers and my current record watching Hibs in Tynecastle derbies is:

Total: 24
Won: 4
Drawn: 7
Lost: 13
Scored: 13
Conceded: 29

It isn't great.

Bakerman
25-02-2024, 07:27 PM
Agree mate. Far too frustrating too, the amount of class we have had over the years that just get drawn into a **** fest. 1999 was the only time ever we have went there and really controlled the whole game. My first derby too.

Game under JC when German hit both posts and Deano got sent off was another time too.

The millenium derby. We hammered them 0-3. Sauzee was superlative as usual, and I very nearly got arrested celebrating Kenny Miller's third, as I got too near the pitch-side. We didn't just control the game, we nailed them.

25-02-2024, 07:30 PM
:agree: we need to stand up to them from the word go and try to impose ourselves on the game and make them worry about us.

With the threat we have going forward now I think we’re more or less guaranteed to get chances, especially on the break.

If we can get out of this game with the unbeaten run stretched to four games, I’ll be pretty happy. If we can get a win it would really set us up for a strong finish to the season.

25-02-2024, 07:36 PM
Just crunched the numbers and my current record watching Hibs in Tynecastle derbies is:

Total: 24
Won: 4
Drawn: 7
Lost: 13
Scored: 13
Conceded: 29

It isn't great.

Think we've won maybe 9 times there in my lifetime and I'm 41. 🤣

Ah well. If I live to 82 I'll look forward to seeing another 9 wins. And I'll enjoy and savour every single one of them.

darwenhibby
25-02-2024, 07:36 PM
Win our individual battles first
It’s what they do
Do that then we have better technical players to control the game
We now have a midfield that can win the battle and set the tempo
They think they are Madrid
They are a Midden
Cmon Hibs🇳🇬🇳🇬

Keepthefaith
25-02-2024, 07:49 PM

I agree, but the 2-2 draw this season will give him all the info he needs. Slow start, they hit a worldy and doige doing what doige does and they're 2-0 up. Second half we were much better...and now we have a much, much better team. We're winning this.

25-02-2024, 07:55 PM
I agree, but the 2-2 draw this season will give him all the info he needs. Slow start, they hit a worldy and doige doing what doige does and they're 2-0 up. Second half we were much better...and now we have a much, much better team. We're winning this.

They've scored loads of stunning long range goals against us. It'd be a shame if we actually played really well only to be undone by one of those.

I suppose every worldie is a shot that wasn't blocked quick enough

25-02-2024, 07:56 PM
Shankland drops deep all the time, I’m looking for our midfield and in particular Moriah Welsh to absolutely lay one on him early - he’ll bite. They’re weak at right back so I’d have Obita and Boyle on that flank early doors. Newell central.

Even though it’s a tight pitch, play width and exploit their full backs. Myziane will enjoy playing against their centre pairing and give them no peace.

Bakerman
25-02-2024, 07:59 PM
They've scored loads of stunning long range goals against us. It'd be a shame if we actually played really well only to be undone by one of those.

One of my favourites was Franck Sauzee's 22 yard stunner in the Millenium Derby, whats yours?

25-02-2024, 08:08 PM
One of my favourites was Franck Sauzee's 22 yard stunner in the Millenium Derby, whats yours?

Good question. Mallon in 2019 would be up there, and Griffiths free kick of course.

Horgan too. We've smashed in a few ourselves.

25-02-2024, 08:15 PM

You say that but the majority of their goals I remember as massive cock-ups on our part.

From memory our last goals against them from outside the box were Nisbet, Mallan, Horgan, Allan and Shinnie.

25-02-2024, 08:26 PM
They will be their usual 100mph with little finesse.

Their supporters spitting on & hitting our players when we take corners/throw in's cos their ground is wee.

Problem is we seldom have been able to handle this fixture since Stubbs/Lennon left.

Neither Stubbs or Lennon won at Tynie in 8 attempts. We won the next 2 visits after Lennon was sacked. Both Hecky and Jack Ross were unbeaten at Tynie.

Bakerman
25-02-2024, 08:26 PM
Good question. Mallon in 2019 would be up there, and Griffiths free kick of course.

Eh?

0-7 was the greatest ever derby humilation. The Millennium Derby the second at their ground, the Geebsie was very special too.

Hibees1973
25-02-2024, 08:29 PM
Neither Stubbs or Lennon won at Tynie in 8 attempts. We won the next 2 visits after Lennon was sacked. Both Hecky and Jack Ross were unbeaten at Tynie.

My bad.

But I reckon Stubbs & Lennon got loads of draws there, could be wrong there again. We seemed to impose ourselves on the game better against the Yam at the time when they were our managers.

25-02-2024, 08:29 PM
I thought it was on the telly so didn’t make a move when tickets were on sale 🤦

25-02-2024, 08:33 PM
Shankland drops deep all the time, I’m looking for our midfield and in particular Moriah Welsh to absolutely lay one on him early - he’ll bite. They’re weak at right back so I’d have Obita and Boyle on that flank early doors. Newell central.

Even though it’s a tight pitch, play width and exploit their full backs. Myziane will enjoy playing against their centre pairing and give them no peace.

Would be the same team as yesterday for me. Keep Maolida on the left, Vente through the middle and Boyle on the right. No need to fanny about with the front 3

25-02-2024, 08:34 PM
Pat Quinn’s third in his hat trick in 1967 was a belter from long distance.

25-02-2024, 08:36 PM
I'll take any goal against them, a worldy would be good but if it bounces in off Vente's backside that'll do just as nicely.

25-02-2024, 08:36 PM
Eh?

0-7 was the greatest ever derby humilation. The Millennium Derby the second at their ground, the Geebsie was very special too.

1994 was brilliant. Pure unadulterated relief.

Bakerman
25-02-2024, 08:39 PM
I'll take any goal against them, a worldy would be good but if it bounces in off Vente's backside that'll do just as nicely.

Off Shankleid's heid OG, or an erchie :greengrin

25-02-2024, 08:44 PM
We've only lost 2 of our last 8 there, and 4 of our last 15. Its not exactly a bogey ground for us in the last ten years.

In to them Hibs.

25-02-2024, 08:55 PM

Archibald or Joe Mcbride jnr free kick

25-02-2024, 08:57 PM
We've only lost 2 of our last 8 there, and 4 of our last 15. Its not exactly a bogey ground for us in the last ten years.

In to them Hibs.

Our record against Hearts pretty much makes them our bogey team.

Wednesday I don’t care how we play - just win.

I’m hoping the new boys put on a masterclass of football but at the same time we know playing in the tight Tynie pitch is different / smallest to any other football stadium in the top league and many players struggle to adapt.

25-02-2024, 09:11 PM
**** the Hertz

Just_Jimmy
25-02-2024, 09:17 PM
Livingston v Motherwell is the TV game.

What a joke.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Sparrows tongue
25-02-2024, 09:29 PM
Livingston v Motherwell is the TV game.

What a joke.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Absolute joke.

HendoDelivered
25-02-2024, 10:39 PM
Marsh

Miller
Fish
Rocky (altho I’d probably rather PH)
Obita

NMW
Emi
Newell

Boyle
Vente
Maolida

VoltaireHibs
25-02-2024, 10:53 PM
If we can somehow get an early goal it'll be interesting to see how they handle it after the pumping off the Huns. Their fans are not a patient bunch. Get right at them, and in particular, Rowles, he's flaky under pressure imo. 1-3 Hibs.

Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 11:21 PM
What's been your favourite Hibs win at Tiny?

There’s three that stick out for different reasons.
Gordon Hunter 0-1 to end 22 in a row
Brian Kerr 0-1
Dean Shiels winner after Konte hit the post.

25-02-2024, 11:21 PM
Would be the same team as yesterday for me. Keep Maolida on the left, Vente through the middle and Boyle on the right. No need to fanny about with the front 3

Did you see their game v The Rangers ? Right back is their Achilles heel. Boyle will murder whoever they put there, hopefully Atkinson as he is absolutely murder.

Greensunshine
25-02-2024, 11:33 PM
I’m no really bothered by what’s happened in the passed 100 odd years. It’s all about the next derby and bragging rights.

They’ve been on a great run recently but they have the hottest striker in Scotland to thank for that.

Take Shankland out their side and there’s no way they’d be anywhere near the points tally they currently enjoy.

Keep him quiet on Wednesday and we have a real chance.

25-02-2024, 11:59 PM
I’m no really bothered by what’s happened in the passed 100 odd years. It’s all about the next derby and bragging rights.

They’ve been on a great run recently but they have the hottest striker in Scotland to thank for that.

Take Shankland out their side and there’s no way they’d be anywhere near the points tally they currently enjoy.

Keep him quiet on Wednesday and we have a real chance.

Easier said than done but I agree, and take our chances when we get them. If we'd done that at Easter Rd, Shankland's goal would have been a consolation and no more than that.

26-02-2024, 12:04 AM
They've got every right to be confident against our defense but they stupidly underestimate our attack. Look what Youan showed he's capable of in a blink of an eye last time at Tynecastle? Myzaine has 3 goals in 5 games and has been looking the business. Boyle again is proven (and at Tynecaste too, remember he ALSO got a double at Tynecaste like Youan).

Throw in the fact that we've shown we have players up for the fight in these games, Newell, Miller, not to mention now having much enhanced players in Moriah-Welsh and Emiliano to face them. Add this all in and it'll be what it's been for many derbys now, a tight close affair. They won't admit it but they know deep down they got away with one in the last derby. Their predictions of 3,4,5 etc are laughable.

If our defense is concentrated I'm quietly confident. We WILL score.

26-02-2024, 04:12 AM
They've got every right to be confident against our defense but they stupidly underestimate our attack. Look what Youan showed he's capable of in a blink of an eye last time at Tynecastle? Myzaine has 3 goals in 5 games and has been looking the business. Boyle again is proven (and at Tynecaste too, remember he ALSO got a double at Tynecaste like Youan).

Throw in the fact that we've shown we have players up for the fight in these games, Newell, Miller, not to mention now having much enhanced players in Moriah-Welsh and Emiliano to face them. Add this all in and it'll be what it's been for many derbys now, a tight close affair. They won't admit it but they know deep down they got away with one in the last derby. Their predictions of 3,4,5 etc are laughable.

If our defense is concentrated I'm quietly confident. We WILL score.

Thing is, our attack rarely turns up at Tynecastle, or in general vs Hearts.

Boyle scored in 1 game out of how many at Tynecastle? Whereas Shankland scores against us every time.

26-02-2024, 06:52 AM
Did you see their game v The Rangers ? Right back is their Achilles heel. Boyle will murder whoever they put there, hopefully Atkinson as he is absolutely murder.

I’m sure Maolida is more than good enough to do what you’re wanting Boyle to do without moving everyone of our front 3 from Saturday

26-02-2024, 06:59 AM

Always see posts like this before derbies. Sadly never happens.

He's here!
26-02-2024, 07:06 AM

Riordan scored a couple of long-range crackers against them. One was when Tynecastle was on the verge of being sold for flats and Hearts were going to rent Murrayfield. Craig Gordon had to kick a rugby ball off the pitch.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 07:12 AM
Riordan scored a couple of long-range crackers against them. One was when Tynecastle was on the verge of being sold for flats and Hearts were going to rent Murrayfield. Craig Gordon had to kick a rugby ball off the pitch.

That game was at Easter Road thrown from the old east.

Riordan did score an absolute belter against them though in a game we lost 4-1 at pbs.

26-02-2024, 07:17 AM
Always see posts like this before derbies. Sadly never happens.

Happened in the last derby at Tynie, Sibbick was their obvious weak link at the back and we took advantage of that.

Also happened in 2019 when Berra was struggling badly at Hearts. Jack Ross played Boyle as a striker and had him running off Berra who couldn’t handle his pace.

26-02-2024, 07:23 AM

Wasn't that at ER?

26-02-2024, 07:37 AM
A bit disappointed it isn’t on Sky. One of the SPFL top fixtures and Sky don’t really seem bothered about showing it.

andrew70
26-02-2024, 07:57 AM
Simple XI

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Rocky
Obita

NMW
Newell

Boyle
Emiliano
Myziane

Vente

26-02-2024, 08:51 AM

and then we’ll see it’s one rule for them and another for us.

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 09:04 AM
Any word who the ref is going to be ?

Berwickhibby
26-02-2024, 09:08 AM
Any word who the ref is going to be ?

Clancy

26-02-2024, 09:14 AM
Thing is, our attack rarely turns up at Tynecastle, or in general vs Hearts.

Boyle scored in 1 game out of how many at Tynecastle? Whereas Shankland scores against us every time.

Except from when he hasn’t ofc.

He definitely does have a good record for them Vs us (and probably most of the teams in the league).

I believe they are in a correct position in the table, but the difference between them and 4th is a bit false. I think that too about their form. Of course, I also think our form is a false reflection on things, so too our position in the table.

What I am saying is, they are nowhere near as good as their current (or recent) run suggests. I also think we are better than our recent run suggests.

I’d say we should be 3 points better off, 1 against Celtic (take any of the decisions against us you want for justification) and 2 against the sheep, no need to mention the issue here.

An additional 3 points puts us in 6th ahead of Dundee (hardly something to write home about) but our form would read LDWWW instead of LLWDW.

Anyway, I think it’ll be a fairly even game, they have both been even so far this season, I’d be glad to get a point, delighted to win, not *too* dismayed to get beat should we win on Sat, and as long as we don’t get hammered.

Go and get them. We have more than enough quality up top to score. Defence is a worry though.

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 09:16 AM
Clancy

Could have been worse I suppose .

26-02-2024, 10:37 AM
We’re going to concede a couple at least I fear so will be a case of hitting them on the break with pace and getting a couple or more ourselves. Wouldn’t read much into their result at Ibrox on Sat. League table shows they’re, sadly, a very solid outfit.

3-2 Hibs..

Trinity Hibee
26-02-2024, 10:48 AM
Clancy

Is he not known to be a Jambo?

26-02-2024, 10:50 AM
Could have been worse I suppose .

It's whatever fanny they have on VAR I'm more worried about.

JKeatings
26-02-2024, 11:15 AM
If anyone is needing a way to watch this that doesn’t want to give them ppv money, send me a message I’ll help out

26-02-2024, 11:19 AM

Not sure about that but I'm pretty sure he stays in the Trinity / Newhaven sort of area.

I've seen him at the David Lloyd gym at Newhaven before and seen him out and about with a buggy a few times, although possibly not within the last year.

He always has that startled rabbit sort of look on his face, like he's waiting for inevitable abuse to come his way.

Greensunshine
26-02-2024, 11:22 AM
Easier said than done but I agree, and take our chances when we get them. If we'd done that at Easter Rd, Shankland's goal would have been a consolation and no more than that.

That’s the challenge Monty needs to set the players. I don’t want to see us play slow build up play ( Man City style ) from the back because we’ll just not be given the time on the ball. We need get the ball up the flanks and then play our football in their half.
This is a chance for Monty to show his managerial nouse. All eyes will be on how we handle them playing 100 mph attacking football and closing us down when we are in possession. I really hope he gets the message through that we don’t play tippy tappy at the back in this fixture.

26-02-2024, 11:31 AM
seen him out and about with a buggy a few times, although possibly not within the last year.

I saw him too. 15min7secs

https://youtu.be/M9fYexjT5j0?si=l0JF20LOuz1z2Y4G

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

26-02-2024, 11:46 AM

Alan Muir of Falkirk play off basketball pen and var of Sands blatant handball at Ibrox fame.

Trinity Hibee
26-02-2024, 11:46 AM
Not sure about that but I'm pretty sure he stays in the Trinity / Newhaven sort of area.

I've seen him at the David Lloyd gym at Newhaven before and seen him out and about with a buggy a few times, although possibly not within the last year.

He always has that startled rabbit sort of look on his face, like he's waiting for inevitable abuse to come his way.

Aye, I’ve seen him down the shore way in the past

yonder1875
26-02-2024, 11:50 AM
I reckon we’ll end up playing alright and it’ll be a very tight game as it usually is at Tynecastle. Why are the derbies always cagier and less open at Tynecastle? I know the pitch is a tiny bit smaller but is it to do with the way the home side approaches derbies?

I fear that it’ll be a tight game but they have the Shankland factor.

26-02-2024, 11:56 AM
I reckon we’ll end up playing alright and it’ll be a very tight game as it usually is at Tynecastle. Why are the derbies always cagier and less open at Tynecastle? I know the pitch is a tiny bit smaller but is it to do with the way the home side approaches derbies?

The pitch is a lot smaller which will play its part. I’m sure on last calculation it was the size of an 18-yard box smaller in area than ER

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 11:59 AM

Our goals are more evenly split between our forwards , most of there goals come from Shankland , keep him quiet and we have a great chance imo .

26-02-2024, 12:17 PM
I don't buy into this "Shankland is the only threat" stuff; the entire Hearts team plays out of their skin on derby day. We didn't register a single win against them the season before they signed Shankland; their long run against us in the early 2010s was done despite them playing functionally without a striker and we had Riordan, O'Connor, Griffiths, Stokes etc. How do we excuse that?

SickBoy32
26-02-2024, 12:24 PM
I don't buy into this "Shankland is the only threat" stuff; the entire Hearts team plays out of their skin on derby day. We didn't register a single win against them the season before they signed Shankland; their long run against us in the early 2010s was done despite them playing functionally without a striker and we had Riordan, O'Connor, Griffiths, Stokes etc. How do we excuse that?

My guess is that the Hearts squad are on a significant win bonus for the derby fixture - no other real reason for their upper hand in this fixture transcending different squads / managers / owners.

Our derby record since being sold by Farmer is absolutely diabolical - hopefully we’ll make a start at rectifying this on Wednesday.

jakedance
26-02-2024, 12:25 PM
The table doesn’t lie, and even at the best of times our record against them is terrible, so it’s a big ask to get anything from the game. A danger is Hearts will maybe be content to keep it tight but we need to go for the win. Can’t at I’m all that confident but hopefully we can give it a good go and the results/performances at the weekend give me more hope.

26-02-2024, 12:40 PM
My guess is that the Hearts squad are on a significant win bonus for the derby fixture - no other real reason for their upper hand in this fixture transcending different squads / managers / owners.

Our derby record since being sold by Farmer is absolutely diabolical - hopefully we’ll make a start at rectifying this on Wednesday.

Very odd way of framing it.

26-02-2024, 12:45 PM
Aye, I’ve seen him down the shore way in the past

He was often on the 11 bus in the morning when I used to get on it at Leith Walk before covid and my house move. Had to stop myself saying something to him a few times on a Monday after his performances.

I think he's from the west but moved here for work.

26-02-2024, 12:47 PM

Those pesky Americans

SickBoy32
26-02-2024, 12:53 PM

How so?

We’ve won 2 (aye, 2) of the 15 derbies since the Gordons came in 5 years ago. Lost more than half.

I think under Farmer we were sitting about one win in 3, which needed improved upon to address the historical record.

Needs rectified urgently, which is what my comment was.

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 12:59 PM

For some reason I always thought he was a Celtic fan tbh . I don't think he's has biased as Beaton , Walsh or Dickinson , just not very good though.

26-02-2024, 12:59 PM
How so?

We’ve won 2 (aye, 2) of the 15 derbies since the Gordons came in 5 years ago. Lost more than half.

I think under Farmer we were sitting about one win in 3, which needed improved upon to address the historical record.

Won: 2
Drawn: 5
Lost: 8

Goals for: 12
Goals against: 23

26-02-2024, 01:00 PM

The Stubbs/Lennon period aside our derby record has been ***** for my entire lifetime. Very very rarely did I ever feel like we were going in to derbies at Tynecastle with an attitude that wasn't "get the draw, get out, beat them at Easter Road".

Christ even under Stubbs and Lennon we were not great in derbies, a couple of real must wins that we didn't, the Kamberi penalty one being the stand out in a long line of *****y derby results.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2024, 01:02 PM
It was 4 and a half years after farmer bought us that we first won against hearts.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 01:04 PM
The Stubbs/Lennon period aside our derby record has been ***** for my entire lifetime. Very very rarely did I ever feel like we were going in to derbies at Tynecastle with an attitude that wasn't "get the draw, get out, beat them at Easter Road".

Christ even under Stubbs and Lennon we were not great in derbies, a couple of real must wins that we didn't, the Kamberi penalty one being the stand out in a long line of *****y derby results.

I don't think we lost a home derby at all under McLeish or Mowbray.

26-02-2024, 01:07 PM

How well has that gone for you, and us, over the years?

26-02-2024, 01:12 PM

Just looked on FitbaStats.com and that looks right. McLeish only lost once to Hearts and that was at Tynie. Mowbray lost four times to Hearts, three times at Tynie and once at Hampden.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 01:15 PM
Just looked on FitbaStats.com and that looks right. McLeish only lost once to Hearts and that was at Tynie. Mowbray lost four times to Hearts, three times at Tynie and once at Hampden.

Sure the game we lost under McLeish was 2-1 last game of the season, Tam McManus made his debut at right wing and had a great game. Mixu scored for us.

26-02-2024, 01:17 PM
Our derby record simply isn’t good enough.

Wednesday is a massive test of character for this group and manager:

They won’t have had much preparation time since Saturday so hopefully they have a plan.

We need to defend well as feel we have goals in our team now - though we can’t be giving Hearts a goal or 2 advantage if we expect to win the game.

26-02-2024, 01:20 PM
Hope Montgomery is up for this one as it's not just another game, like he has previously said.

Hibees1973
26-02-2024, 02:10 PM
Speaking to a few Yams I know, they are very confident.

They have every reason to be so. Any team that went on a winning 8 game run must have good organisation and a strong spirit. Fine, they got beat 5 by Rangers away who they now appear to be on the way to winning the league.

Us. Well we are disjointed and flakey, but thankfully won at the weekend to end a dismal run in the league. Apart from a few posters, some showing some ridiculous bravado, the vast majority on here have a fair bit of pessimism going into Wednesday's game.

Will our new signings be able to handle it on Wednesday? Will our back four be able to cope under the pressure?

i doubt it. Which is why I think we will lose by two or three on Wednesday.

Hope I'm wrong and they perform well as a team and get a positive result.

Sparrows tongue
26-02-2024, 02:20 PM
Just beat them, Hibs.

Any which way you can.

26-02-2024, 03:01 PM

They have every reason to be so. Any team that went on a winning 8 game run must have good organisation and a strong spirit. Fine, they got beat 5 by Rangers away who they now appear to be on the way to winning the league.

Us. Well we are disjointed and flakey, but thankfully won at the weekend to end a dismal run in the league. Apart from a few posters, some showing some ridiculous bravado, the vast majority on here have a fair bit of pessimism going into Wednesday's game.

Will our new signings be able to handle it on Wednesday? Will our back four be able to cope under the pressure?

I can’t see Maolida or Marcondes being phased by this game. Moriah-Welsh plays in a way that is required in this game. The rest of them have already got something from a game here when they were 2-0 down this season. None of that means we’ll get a result but there are plenty reasons to be positive rather than pessimistic.

26-02-2024, 03:02 PM
How so?

I would have simply said/felt that our record was diabolical full stop. When we start winning a few more I won't then be adding that to the tally of wins since Ron Gordon bought us.

26-02-2024, 03:05 PM

Incidentally, I looked at JKb after seeing this thread this morning.

They are nowhere near as confident as I was expecting and are calling it pretty much the same way as I see it going, it’ll be tight. They got danger(s) and so do we.

Maybe one has said they’ll win 3/4-0 but the rest are calling it pretty fairly, with the obvious Hearts spin.

They certainly don’t seem supremely confident, and I don’t blame them.

The games between us so far have been extremely tight. I expect more of the same on Wed.

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 03:06 PM

Steven McLean on VAR .

26-02-2024, 03:11 PM
Steven McLean on VAR .

To be fair, he has previous for seeing things that haven't happened and giving Hibs fouls :wink:

26-02-2024, 03:34 PM
How well has that gone for you, and us, over the years?

I'll be very surprised if wins at Tynecastle make up even 25% of the total derbies we have won.

Glasgowhibby95
26-02-2024, 03:35 PM
I'm looking for a single ticket for the game if anyone know of any going spare? Please PM me if so.

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 03:39 PM
To be fair, he has previous for seeing things that haven't happened and giving Hibs fouls :wink:

After a few decisions recently I think we are due a few more going our way too . 👍

26-02-2024, 03:39 PM

Not really. We've regressed on the pitch since they arrived and our derby record reflects that. Our record Vs old firm is even worse.

26-02-2024, 03:48 PM
After a few decisions recently I think we are due a few more going our way too . 👍

Been saying that for 35 year

26-02-2024, 03:53 PM
Not really. We've regressed on the pitch since they arrived and our derby record reflects that. Our record Vs old firm is even worse.

Not a valid comparison if we are using stats against Rangers whilst they struggled their way up the leagues. A better reflection would be pre The Rangers, which may also show you as correct but I wouldn't bet on it.

Some statto probably has the time to check

26-02-2024, 04:15 PM
Steven McLean on VAR .

McLean is 4th official. Alan Muir is in the VAR hotseat with Graeme stewart assisting him......

26-02-2024, 04:32 PM
McLean is 4th official. Alan Muir is in the VAR hotseat with Graeme stewart assisting him......

Muir is the worst you could probably have on VAR. It’s the perfect thing for someone like that who makes stuff up as he goes along.

26-02-2024, 04:43 PM
**** them...that is all 🖕💚

Hibs4185
26-02-2024, 04:59 PM
Really fancy us to win 2-1.

Feeling confident that the new signings will handle the occasion and come out with nothing to fear.

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 05:16 PM

Apologies , got it from this just .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/what-channel-is-hearts-v-hibs-on-is-edinburgh-derby-on-tv-how-to-watch-team-news-referee-var-4533546

26-02-2024, 05:20 PM
Really fancy us to win 2-1.

Feeling confident that the new signings will handle the occasion and come out with nothing to fear.

Same.

Though I usually always think we’ll win the closer a game gets. Can’t help myself.

26-02-2024, 05:26 PM
Expecting a tight game, as usual, with the 1st goal being massive, as usual.

26-02-2024, 08:21 PM
Apologies , got it from this just .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/what-channel-is-hearts-v-hibs-on-is-edinburgh-derby-on-tv-how-to-watch-team-news-referee-var-4533546

Hmmm strange - SFA Ref appointments webpage lists it as Muir.
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/referees/referee-appointments/

Maybe its changed at some point either way....

26-02-2024, 08:24 PM
Muir is the worst you could probably have on VAR. It’s the perfect thing for someone like that who makes stuff up as he goes along.

He is ropey isn't he....

26-02-2024, 08:38 PM
Looking for a spare ticket if anyone has one 🙏

27-02-2024, 03:28 AM
Close
we've got too many players back now for it to be a scudding against. I'll predict 1-1. But hope for a victory.

27-02-2024, 04:54 AM
It's definitely a must not lose game.

6-2MAGIC
27-02-2024, 06:21 AM
Looking for 2 tickets if anyone was selling any. If so DM me.

I know the chances of 1 never mind 2 is very slim.

Hibeesdaft16
27-02-2024, 07:19 AM
It's definitely a must not lose game.

I think with the fixtures this midweek and our win at the weekend it won't change that much should we lose. St Mirren not winning later on Sky (wtf is this game on for?) would certainly be a bonus too.

In terms of team mentality we should never go into a derby looking for anything but the win.

27-02-2024, 08:19 AM
I think with the fixtures this midweek and our win at the weekend it won't change that much should we lose. St Mirren not winning later on Sky (wtf is this game on for?) would certainly be a bonus too.

In terms of team mentality we should never go into a derby looking for anything but the win.

The manager can't afford two defeats in a row in a derby this early on. Just my opinion.

Hibeesdaft16
27-02-2024, 08:24 AM
The manager can't afford two defeats in a row in a derby this early on. Just my opinion.

That's a fair point.

27-02-2024, 08:50 AM

The importance of the derbies can’t be overlooked. They’re remembered, be it positively or negatively, for a long time.

The last one was annoying as we let it drift along for the whole second half without ever really going for it. We need to be prepared to go for it tomorrow night and show some proper intent.

27-02-2024, 07:18 PM
Now that club politics can finally be put to one side, bring these roasters on!

27-02-2024, 07:20 PM
Now that club politics can finally be put to one side, bring these roasters on!
If we pump these ****ers tomorrow night I think I might be at my happiest since May 2016. :greengrin

Sparrows tongue
27-02-2024, 09:13 PM
If we pump these ****ers tomorrow night I think I might be at my happiest since May 2016. :greengrin

You're going to be one happy Hibby tomorrow then!

We’re winning the morns night.

27-02-2024, 09:24 PM
We’re well overdue a last minute winner.

27-02-2024, 10:10 PM

Mcleish is the one manager that I felt confident going into every derby, he had a real touch for getting them right.

Mowbray slightly less, got cuffed a couple of times at tynecastle but we always seemed to do well at home under him

Sure the game we lost under McLeish was 2-1 last game of the season, Tam McManus made his debut at right wing and had a great game. Mixu scored for us.

Think Martin McIntosh got sent off in that game, it was a derby to end the season then another for the first match of the next season. Think that was when we switched to 3 at the back with Smith, Sauzee and Fenwick. McIntosh never really got back in as the new shape really clicked

27-02-2024, 11:48 PM
Can someone confirm we've only lost 4 out the last 15 games at Tynecaste?

King Cosell
28-02-2024, 12:20 AM
Can someone confirm we've only lose 4 out the last 15 games at Tynecaste?

6 of the last 15, but only 2 of the last 8.

28-02-2024, 12:23 AM
Can someone confirm we've only lose 4 out the last 15 games at Tynecaste?

Looked at league games since the 2012 cup final and we have played Hearts 32 times in the league. We have won 8, Hearts have won 11 and the other 13 have been draws.

We have not scored more than 2 goals against them in the league in that time and only 3 of our 8 wins have come at Tynecastle. The last time we scored more than 2 goals v them in the league was 2003 in the 4-4 draw at Tynecastle.

** we did beat them 3-1 in a cup game and thats the last time we scored more than 2 goals against them (2017).

In all honesty our derby record is pretty atrocious. Especially at Tynecastle.

28-02-2024, 05:54 AM
The boss says I can start an hour later, happy days, will do my best to avoid a couple of beers.

You can't beat the build up to a derby, Mon the Hibs.

28-02-2024, 07:04 AM
6 of the last 15, but only 2 of the last 8.

It's 4 out of the last 14 at Tynecastle. I thought it was 15 earlier, apologies.

Jan 15 League D1-1
Feb 16 Cup D2-2
Feb 17 Cup D0-0
Dec 17 League D0-0
Jan 18 Cup L0-1
May 18 League L1-2
Oct 18 League D0-0
April 19 League W2-1
Dec 19 League W2-0
Sept 21 League D0-0
April 22 League L1-3
Jan 23 League L0-3
May 23 League D1-1
Oct 23 League D2-2

28-02-2024, 07:16 AM
Can someone confirm we've only lost 4 out the last 15 games at Tynecaste?

No, and i predict that no-one at bbc Scotland will help confirm this either.

28-02-2024, 07:28 AM
We haven’t won at the Tiny Library since December 2019 and the Boyle double.

Time that changed tonight - last Derby could have gone either way and we have definitely improved since then.

28-02-2024, 07:52 AM
We've steadily improved over the past few days which is a good place to be going in to this game. With a noisy Hibs support cheering them on our players should have nothing to fear. I fancy us to take something from tonight.

28-02-2024, 07:55 AM
Always good to read how ***** our derby record is on the day of a game against them

28-02-2024, 08:08 AM
W'ull get humped.

Greensunshine
28-02-2024, 08:12 AM
None of this tippy tappy at the back please. Recipe for disaster in these type of games.

We need to target the flanks ( their weakness)keep them penned in their own half.

This is an opportunity for Monty to pull off a masterclass employing tactical nouse.

Our defenders need to be bang at it.

This game will mostly be about how well our back four perform. Stay solid and give us a platform to release Boyle & Maolida.

Hibeesdaft16
28-02-2024, 08:17 AM
Mcleish is the one manager that I felt confident going into every derby, he had a real touch for getting them right.

Mowbray slightly less, got cuffed a couple of times at tynecastle but we always seemed to do well at home under him

Think Martin McIntosh got sent off in that game, it was a derby to end the season then another for the first match of the next season. Think that was when we switched to 3 at the back with Smith, Sauzee and Fenwick. McIntosh never really got back in as the new shape really clicked

Yeah Sauzee moved to sweeper and Laursen made his debut at full back. They all had died blonde hair and Agathe missed a couple of great chances.

28-02-2024, 08:20 AM
None of this tippy tappy at the back please. Recipe for disaster in these type of games.

We need to target the flanks ( their weakness)keep them penned in their own half.

This is an opportunity for Monty to pull off a masterclass employing tactical nouse.

Our defenders need to be bang at it.

This game will mostly be about how well our back four perform. Stay solid and give us a platform to release Boyle & Maolida.

Id imagine we'll be playing out from the back. Best way to play, as proven by any decent side. Long balls won't help us there.

28-02-2024, 08:33 AM
Hmmm strange - SFA Ref appointments webpage lists it as Muir.
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/referees/referee-appointments/

Maybe its changed at some point either way....

Maybe the SFA have decided to change Clancy to the The Rangers game 🤔

Greensunshine
28-02-2024, 08:50 AM
Id imagine we'll be playing out from the back. Best way to play, as proven by any decent side. Long balls won't help us there.

It’s horses for courses. Playing out from the back away from home on a tight pitch with their fans at close quarters is a recipe for disaster.

Why not play a long ball into the flanks? Win your aerial battle and right away you put them on the back foot.

If we play out from the back I’m almost certain that we’ll get closed down quickly and a mistake will lead to a goal.

Berwickhibby
28-02-2024, 08:53 AM
According to evening News Kevin Clancy is the ref https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/what-channel-is-hearts-v-hibs-on-is-edinburgh-derby-on-tv-how-to-watch-team-news-referee-var-4533546

28-02-2024, 09:03 AM
It’s horses for courses. Playing out from the back away from home on a tight pitch with their fans at close quarters is a recipe for disaster.

Why not play a long ball into the flanks? Win your aerial battle and right away you put them on the back foot.

If we play out from the back I’m almost certain that we’ll get closed down quickly and a mistake will lead to a goal.

What have their fans got to do with it?

Tynecastle is no cauldron of atmosphere, despite what the pink weirdos and the media will have you believe. Their derby atmosphere is a joke usually tbh

28-02-2024, 09:03 AM
Maybe the SFA have decided to change Clancy to the The Rangers game ��

According to evening News Kevin Clancy is the ref https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/what-channel-is-hearts-v-hibs-on-is-edinburgh-derby-on-tv-how-to-watch-team-news-referee-var-4533546

So to avoid confusion Clancy is the ref - I was saying (as per SFA Website) Muir was on VAR. All officials as shown in this pic:

Scotsman claiming Mclean on VAR for some reason, whilst SFA say hes 4th official.

28-02-2024, 09:47 AM

Playing out from the back is absolutely fine when you have players who can receive and create from the space. Other than starting at 3000mph and trying to end our midfields careers for 10 mins, all hearts have over us is shankland (if we turn up).

28-02-2024, 10:07 AM
Looked at league games since the 2012 cup final and we have played Hearts 32 times in the league. We have won 8, Hearts have won 11 and the other 13 have been draws.

We have not scored more than 2 goals against them in the league in that time and only 3 of our 8 wins have come at Tynecastle. The last time we scored more than 2 goals v them in the league was 2003 in the 4-4 draw at Tynecastle.

** we did beat them 3-1 in a cup game and thats the last time we scored more than 2 goals against them (2017).

So what you're saying HC, is that we're due them a pumping.

28-02-2024, 10:15 AM

In short, yes. :greengrin

28-02-2024, 10:39 AM

Yasss that’s the spirit.

28-02-2024, 10:41 AM
It'll be a dire advert for football, I think most of us are aware of that.

I just hope it's us benefiting from that one moment of brilliance or defensive error instead of them.

28-02-2024, 10:45 AM

Its an embarrassment HC. We are due some fortune and a good run against these weirdos but I've been saying this since I was born in the early 70's.

Lets hope the run starts tonight for us :aok:

28-02-2024, 10:50 AM
Its an embarrassment HC. We are due some fortune and a good run against these weirdos but I've been saying this since I was born in the early 70's.

We had a good run of 9 unbeaten not that long ago

28-02-2024, 10:52 AM

Minor success in what is a terrible derby record in general.

28-02-2024, 11:02 AM

Cheer up mate!

Hibeesdaft16
28-02-2024, 11:05 AM
Mon the Hibs, lets do these ****ers.

Saint Hibee
28-02-2024, 11:07 AM
What have their fans got to do with it?

Tynecastle is no cauldron of atmosphere, despite what the pink weirdos and the media will have you believe. Their derby atmosphere is a joke usually tbh

Agree about the dire atmosphere, but they have previous for assaulting our players as soon as they reach anywhere near the sidelines!

28-02-2024, 11:13 AM
9 games unbeaten in a 50 odd years supporting us for me isn't success is it :faf:

We've got to have one of the worst derby records in existence .

28-02-2024, 11:18 AM
9 games unbeaten in a 50 odd years supporting us for me isn't success is it :faf:

I must've missed the bit where I said it should be seen as success :faf:

28-02-2024, 11:22 AM

I'm hopeful we will start to redress this, especially with Foley on board.

I've said it before but the first step is to start winning our home derby's. Consistently. That will gradually change the mindset, chip away at their superiority complex and our inferiority complex when it comes to the fixture. When that is achieved we can start looking forward to tynecastle expecting to win, rather than being grateful for a draw.

I think we'll get something tonight tbh, and I'm not that optimistic normally

28-02-2024, 11:23 AM

Its really not an embarrassment. 8-13-11 is probably a common enough away record for two comparably sized rivals playing each other. Thats a lot of draws in 32 games, those draws would disappoint the home team more than the away team. The three extra wins is anormal enough home dividend.

RupertsBollocks
28-02-2024, 11:23 AM
LETS PUMP THE BLOODY STOOLS!

3 - 0 FOR THE MIGHTY CABBAGE!!

that is all.

28-02-2024, 11:31 AM
Its really not an embarrassment. 8-13-11 is probably a common enough away record for two comparably sized rivals playing each other. Thats a lot of draws in 32 games, those draws would disappoint the home team more than the away team. The three extra wins is anormal enough home dividend.

I think those stats are for overall derbies hibsbollah, not just tynecastle ones. We've certainly not won 8 at their place since 2012

Even so, the stats aren't exactly as one sided over the last 32 games as some would have us believe

28-02-2024, 11:33 AM

It is minor in comparison to the overall record, but you’ve got to start somewhere. How I wished we were in the midst of a 9 game unbeaten run vs them right now.

28-02-2024, 11:47 AM

I think those stats are for overall derbies hibsbollah, not just tynecastle ones. We've certainly not won 8 at their place since 2012

Even so, the stats aren't exactly as one sided over the last 32 games as some would have us believe

Yes unfortuneatly we only have 8 wins at Tynie in over 45 years.....which is ***n abysymal.

28-02-2024, 12:01 PM
Yes unfortuneatly we only have 8 wins at Tynie in over 45 years.....which is ***n abysymal.

10 wins I think it is.

Hibeesdaft16
28-02-2024, 12:01 PM
We can't effect what's happened in the past, it's the here and now that matters.

28-02-2024, 12:05 PM
10 wins I think it is.

Yes you are right - sorry missed the 1979 one and the Caldwell one.

28-02-2024, 12:05 PM

Ah fair enough. Even so, its not great, but theres still a lot of draws in the mix.

Cameron Wilson
28-02-2024, 12:14 PM
After being extremely unlucky on the eticketing website (Kicking me out after adding them to basket), if anyone happens to have a spare/cant make it please do let me know as i havent missed a game there in years!

TIA

Septimus
28-02-2024, 12:36 PM
I have a feeling it’s our time. Go for it Hibees

28-02-2024, 12:42 PM
After being extremely unlucky on the eticketing website (Kicking me out after adding them to basket), if anyone happens to have a spare/cant make it please do let me know as i havent missed a game there in years!

TIA

If they were in your basket they should have still been there for 20 mins if you went back in. They don't leave your basket once applied.

28-02-2024, 12:45 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/articles/cv27gvrl2weo

'"We know as players how important the derby is," Cochrane said. "As soon as you sign, you know this is the game you have to win. There's not a doubt about that. Whatever way you do it, you have to win this game. We all know that as players."'

I think we've all long suspected this about Hearts players, and the fact that our own rarely seem to have had the same attitude. That simply must change.

Cameron Wilson
28-02-2024, 12:46 PM
If they were in your basket they should have still been there for 20 mins if you went back in. They don't leave your basket once applied.

Afraid they werent, it jumped to 3mins after i tried to pay then after a failed card attempt it released my tickets....

Septimus
28-02-2024, 01:06 PM
I have a feeling it’s our time. Go for it Hibees

28-02-2024, 01:09 PM
Setting of for a couple of beers at 3pm, looking forward to this one after a long self imposed Tynie exile.

Bakerman
28-02-2024, 02:03 PM
Playing out from the back is absolutely fine when you have players who can receive and create from the space. Other than starting at 3000mph and trying to end our midfields careers for 10 mins, all hearts have over us is shankland (if we turn up).

Most teams play out from the back these days. Lumping it up the park normally means handing possession back to the opposition. The only time we should be lumping it up the park is if the defence or the goalie is under severe pressure, or there is a long ball breakaway possibility. We need the defence to be rock solid, and take any chances that fall to us. We have a chance, its always hard in the derby, but we have players who are capable of going to Tiny and getting a result. The first goal as usual will be vital, hopefully its for us, and then keep it patient, and tight at the back. Looking forward to it.

28-02-2024, 02:42 PM
Already a few Hibs fans in Malones and the West End.

Would be great to see Naismith face tonight if they lose. Guaranteed he wouldn’t take it well.

28-02-2024, 02:55 PM
RE: Hibs results against Hearts over the years.

Over the first 17 years of my life, Hearts won three derby matches.

Admittedly there were a few seasons when we weren't in the same league but that was mostly because Hearts were so crap, so not much of a comfort to them.

It all changed when they were promoted in 1983, starting with a Hearts win at Tynecastle, where they twice came from behind. That seemed to signal a massive change in attitude to derby games (plus Hibs being totally ***** in the mid 80s)

Dobosz83
28-02-2024, 02:57 PM
RE: Hibs results against Hearts over the years.

Over the first 17 years of my life, Hearts won three derby matches.

Admittedly there were a few seasons when we weren't in the same league but that was mostly because Hearts were so crap, so not much of a comfort to them.

It all changed when they were promoted in 1983, starting with a Hearts win at Tynecastle, where they twice came from behind. That seemed to signal a massive change in attitude to derby games (plus Hibs being totally ***** in the mid 80s)

1983, it all changed then... my year of birth! :rolleyes:

28-02-2024, 03:01 PM
Tonight we need to catch them cold, early

The Maolida Derby?

Let's hope so

Torto7
28-02-2024, 03:12 PM
Nil nil at halftime. Brutal to watch. We'll dominate the second half get Var'd to death then in the last 5 mins it will take 10 ricochets bounce off Bushiris heid, Miller's arse and Fish's tackle then fall for the hun who would rather be along the M8 at the real version to score.

28-02-2024, 03:26 PM
C'mon hibees. Let's do this💚

Sparrows tongue
28-02-2024, 03:40 PM
Nullify Bulb head and the game is ours.

Dmas
28-02-2024, 03:53 PM

Posts and posts of terrible derby record statistics and your saying this manager can’t afford 2 defeats in a row 😂 just say you hate the guy and want him gone

28-02-2024, 04:24 PM
Absolutely buzzing for the game now works over.

28-02-2024, 04:45 PM
Posts and posts of terrible derby record statistics and your saying this manager can’t afford 2 defeats in a row 😂 just say you hate the guy and want him gone

No I don't hate him but see what happens on this board if we lose. Time to start improving the record not just accepting defeat.

28-02-2024, 05:00 PM
No I don't hate him but see what happens on this board if we lose. Time to start improving the record not just accepting defeat.

It’s what happens in the Hibs board that will impact his future, not this one. Our season or manager shouldn’t be dictated on our results against them.

I get there will be heated emotions though and that’s to be expected.

LunasBoots
28-02-2024, 05:10 PM

It's not just the Derby record though is it, things haven't been great against lesser teams which is more worrying.

OstKurve Hibs
28-02-2024, 05:21 PM
Tonight we need to catch them cold, early

The Maolida Derby?

Let's hope so

I've got a feelin aswell, had it for days, he's the man tnite !

Cmon hibs, let's do the business against these tramps !

28-02-2024, 05:23 PM
Just ****ing do them Hibs. May tonight be the start of a new era.