View Full Version : Bottom 6?

17-02-2024, 04:04 PM
Should NM be deserving of another season if we finish bottom 6?

17-02-2024, 04:05 PM
NO

17-02-2024, 04:06 PM
Should NM be deserving of another season if we finish bottom 6?You could say we've been playing for it most of the season?

badabing67
17-02-2024, 04:07 PM
Imo no chance, should be on his way now but he won't be.

17-02-2024, 04:07 PM

No ifs about it for me. We're certs for bottom 6 and it's well deserved.

AL-Qaholik
17-02-2024, 04:08 PM
Absolutely not.
Needed to fix the defence - brought in a 20 year old on loan.
The defence will be the reason we finish bottom six (if we do) and he failed/refused to fix it.

17-02-2024, 04:09 PM
How about those responsible for appointing him?

17-02-2024, 04:10 PM
Nope. The two things that everyone and their dug could see was that we needed to change formation to suit our players and give ourselves and chance in games. The other was that we needed a good experienced centre back. Took an age to do anything about the 1st and never rectified the 2nd. With all the players we have at our disposal regardless of this a better manager would have us in the top 6.

17-02-2024, 04:13 PM
Can't wait for this season to be over. Been a complete **** show.

McInnes should have been appointed. It was obvious then and it's even more clear now.

Absolutely ridiculous decision not to give it to him.

Absolutely not.
The defence will be the reason we finish bottom six (if we do) and he failed/refused to fix it.

To be fair he also needed to fix central midfield and a striker suited to playing on his own. He has done that in Moriah-Welsh, Amos, Emiliano & Maolida. It looks a mistake not to have brought in an experienced defender, and another (Bevan) who is injured. However we could only plug so many gaps in January.

AL-Qaholik
17-02-2024, 04:19 PM
Absolutely not.

Tommy75
17-02-2024, 04:19 PM
McInnes should have been appointed. It was obvious then and it's even more clear now.

Aye but the football would be "turgid" apparently

17-02-2024, 04:21 PM
I just can’t stand the type of football he wants us to play. Everything gets slowed down and we seem to miss so many opportunities to launch attacks. Constantly turning back the way until we ultimately hit a bad pass and lose possession. It’s frustrating to watch, why can’t we approach games like the second half against Celtic.

17-02-2024, 04:21 PM
He will be here building for the future bottom 6 or not, this is a long term plan and remember Foley said he was investing an Initial 6 mill into the club, so a lot more to be brought in. Crap just now but it will get better, with or without Monty.

17-02-2024, 04:22 PM

It’s mad we had two chances to sign him.

Aye but the football would be "turgid" apparently

Most people will never admit when their wrong, but in the case of McIness it's inarguable.

10 points ahead of us, scored more, conceded less, won more games, lost less games. All with a squad who's total budget is probably half of what NM has. They've lost two league game in 13, and one was at Ibrox.

All this he's anti football nonsense has been proven to be exactly that. Nonsense.

Hibeesdaft16
He should be sacked now while there's still a slight hope of making it.

Hibees1973
17-02-2024, 04:23 PM
For the wages we are paying, pound for pound this must be the worst Hibs side I've seen.

It's criminal the way our club is being run.

17-02-2024, 04:23 PM

I don’t think they should get the chance to appoint another either

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 04:24 PM
Bottom six is never good for a club our size, however, the rot set in several managers ago, and Nick for me deserves a lot more time to hard stamp his tenure. A spirited 2-2 draw at Pittodrie is a always a decent result up there. There has definitely been improvement in recent games. We also got cheated out of a certain penalty that would have put us up 2-1.

17-02-2024, 04:24 PM

He doesn’t deserve the rest of this season never mind next. He’s won less than a 1/4 of the league games and we haven’t won since we fluked a win at Livi at the start of December. Get him tae ****.

17-02-2024, 04:25 PM
Absolutely not.

Aye. The player he chose.

17-02-2024, 04:26 PM
I just can’t stand the type of football he wants us to play. Everything gets slowed down and we seem to miss so many opportunities to launch attacks. Constantly turning back the way until we ultimately hit a bad pass and lose possession. It’s frustrating to watch, why can’t we approach games like the second half against Celtic.

That's it for me. There were some signs of it today, but overwhelmingly we look like we're playing within ourselves. I don't get what we're trying to do, and ultimately it makes the players looked bad as the majority of our play has such a half arsed nature to it.

I'd have given some leeway in light of the new players coming in, but still chronically little movement and any semblance of good play.

For the wages we are paying, pound for pound this must be the worst Hibs side I've seen.

It's criminal the way our club is being run.

That’s a very good point. We are paying some of these players crazy money for us.

it’s not criminal that we are now upping the money we pay them but there is no one that can argue it’s not being wasted.

1875Sean
Need to beat Dundee if not we can waive top 6 goodbye, Dundee have a hard run of fixture after us next so we can catch them but need to be better in defence

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 04:27 PM
Bottom six is never good for a club our size, however, the rot set in several managers ago, and Nick for me deserves a lot more time to hard stamp his tenure. A spirited 2-2 draw at Pittodrie is a always a decent result up there. There has definitely been improvement in recent games. We also got cheated out of a certain penalty that would have put us up 2-1.

Why does he deserve it? He's done absolutely nothing nor shown absolutely anything to deserve jack ****. :confused:

Aberdeen and bottom 6 ***** btw. It's not a decent result to go 5 behind Dundee in 6th.

17-02-2024, 04:28 PM
He’ll be mutually consented in the summer and rightly so as not a hope in hell we’re making top 6 now IMO

Greenio
17-02-2024, 04:29 PM
Depends. Im sick of our managerial merry-go-round.

It guarantees nothing, and is the easy option.

I hope he'll come good.

Need to beat Dundee if not we can waive top 6 goodbye, Dundee have a hard run of fixture after us next so we can catch them but need to be better in defence

Beat them next week then there's eight to play before the split. We play the bottom two sides three times, twice at home! Really needs to be 12 points from the four games.

In answer to the OPs question I don't think I'd give him more time, but I think Hibs will.

That's it for me. There were some signs of it today, but overwhelmingly we look like we're playing within ourselves. I don't get what we're trying to do, and ultimately it makes the players looked bad as the majority of our play has such a half arsed nature to it.

I'd have given some leeway in light of the new players coming in, but still chronically little movement and any semblance of good play.

mirroring when Monty came in. Upturn in performances. Gets time to work with the squad we get worse.

new players come in. Upturn in performances, bit longer working with them back to boring laborious pish.

AL-Qaholik
17-02-2024, 04:30 PM
Aye. The player he chose.

Who is apparently worse than what we already had.
Or is that point you were making?

17-02-2024, 04:32 PM
We need a settled team

Yet every time we change the Head Coach, we get another player churn

The madness of doing the same thing over and over again.............and expecting a different result

He's here!
17-02-2024, 04:34 PM
Folk are too hung up on top six. We're unlikely to make it due to us being c*** for the majority of the season.

HOWEVER, the last 3 games have offered me enough to believe Monty needs more time. I think he'll get it provided we continue to perform well from here on in, irrespective of where we finish.

17-02-2024, 04:36 PM
Too many undercovers and jambos on this forum nowadays, next they will be giving us sermons on how to be the perfect Hibs supporter.

SickBoy32

Correct.

We’re odds on for 2 bottom6 finishes out of Kensell’s 3 seasons at the club. (Snuck into the top 6 on the final game in the other season!)

A really poorly run club currently and there is nothing but blind optimism that things will improve in the short / medium term.

No - would 100% sack him.

Wouldn’t trust him with another window.

Wanted him to succeeded but not seeing enough.

We need a settled team

The madness of doing the same thing over and over again.............and expecting a different result

We’ll have one in the summer regardless though due to loans ending and out of contract players. I want him to succeed but if we fail to make the top 6 he should be gone imo. We sacked Maloney down to that and he had much less to work with than Monty has.

Cabbage-Patch
17-02-2024, 04:38 PM
In the course of a "normal" season a draw away to Aberdeen is not a bad result however they have arguably been worse than us this season.

Montgomery has now been in charge for 21 matches with the following record -

Played: 21
Wins: 5
Draws: 9
Defeats: 7

No matter how you dress that up that's a shocking record especially with the squad we have. His job is simple now...top 6 or he should be emptied end of the season.

17-02-2024, 04:38 PM
Correct.

We’re odds on for 2 bottom6 finishes out of Kensell’s 3 seasons at the club. (Snuck into the top 6 on the final game in the other season!)

A really poorly run club currently and there is nothing but blind optimism that things will improve in the short / medium term.

Hibees1973
17-02-2024, 04:39 PM
Beat them next week then there's eight to play before the split. We play the bottom two sides three times, twice at home! Really needs to be 12 points from the four games.

In answer to the OPs question I don't think I'd give him more time, but I think Hibs will.

I think you are right.

He should be sacked, but this time Kensell & The Gordons will give him more time. They look complete fools for the managers they have appointed already, but they will do all they can to avoid sacking Montgomery before the season ends.

I reckon Livingston & Ross County are Montgomery's saving grace. There is still a few points gap between us and them. I think they would only panic if it gets to 2 or 3 points away from 11th.

For the way our squad is being managed/coached I have as much an eye on Livingston & Ross County's results as ours just now.

GreenGray
17-02-2024, 04:39 PM
No league win in 8 is bottom 6 form I’m afraid.

17-02-2024, 04:40 PM
Correct.

Why you having a go at us who are short of sight, we have to be optimistic.

Sparrows tongue
17-02-2024, 04:43 PM
It's not all NM's fault, but he must shoulder a huge part of the blame, so my answer is no, he should be on his way if/when we finish bottom 6.

The next manager has to be Mcinnes.

17-02-2024, 04:44 PM
If Dundee beat us next week I think he'll be gone. He's had long enough and been backed in January to see an upturn in results.

If he gets booted he can have no complaints.

17-02-2024, 04:46 PM

Hindsight is 20/20 but doesn't mean you're not right. The longer this season goes on, the more obvious it will be.

No chance Hibs would be in this mess if McInness was in charge, but then maybe the folk at Hibs aren't prepared to have their crass decision questioned by someone who actually knows what the hell they're doing ?

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 04:46 PM
Folk are too hung up on top six. We're unlikely to make it due to us being c*** for the majority of the season.

HOWEVER, the last 3 games have offered me enough to believe Monty needs more time. I think he'll get it provided we continue to perform well from here on in, irrespective of where we finish.

You do realise it costs the club hundreds of thousands playing the pish in the bottom six and makes people more unlikely to renew.

He's done **** all to show he need more time.

Complete apologist post.

Exuberance1875
17-02-2024, 04:48 PM
Probably finish bottom six but what does it matter. Ben has a nice wee bonus coming his way after coming up with another ingenuous idea for fleecing the fans for more money rather than focusing on producing quality in the playing and coaching staff

supermcginn
17-02-2024, 04:48 PM
If we fail to win next Saturday and then lose at tynecastle he has to go. He seems a nice guy but he's been a huge disappointment and we can't go on not winning in the league forever.

17-02-2024, 04:49 PM
No clean sheet in the league since early December and the defence still looks like a work in progress. Scandalous.

Hindsight is 20/20 but doesn't mean you're not right. The longer this season goes on, the more obvious it will be.

No chance Hibs would be in this mess if McInness was in charge, but then maybe the folk at Hibs aren't prepared to have their crass decision questioned by someone who actually knows what the hell they're doing ?

I don't think it was hindsight when you can see a clear track record of success at a comparable sized club from McInness over the best part of a decade.

Those who turned their nose up at the suggestion should admit they got it wrong. I won't hold my breath on that though.

Hibeesdaft16
Too many undercovers and jambos on this forum nowadays, next they will be giving us sermons on how to be the perfect Hibs supporter.

The undercover ones are more likely to be the posters that accept this ***** and want it to continue/give the failing management more time. :agree:

17-02-2024, 04:51 PM
No clean sheet in the league since early December and the defence still looks like a work in progress. Scandalous.

We’ve actually brought in someone who’s making the defence worse. You couldn’t make it up.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 04:53 PM

Yup…I couldn’t see McInnes being in with Kensell’s “programme” either. There’s a massive amount of pride needing swallowed at Easter Road with one poor manager after another being appointed on Kensell’s watch, and a succession of untried players - McInnes wouldn’t wear that either.

17-02-2024, 04:53 PM
I don't think it was hindsight when you can see a clear track record of success at a comparable sized club from McInness over the best part of a decade.

Those who turned their nose up at the suggestion should admit they got it wrong. I won't hold my breath on that though.

Quite happy to concede I’m not one who has ever had McInness at the top of my list in any of our many ‘new manager’ hunts in recent years… but I think he’d have us in a solid position right now.

He's here!
17-02-2024, 04:56 PM

If I was told McInnes would definitely take the job in the summer I'd probably opt for that but I've been swayed towards giving Monty more time based on recent form. If he maintains that until the end of the season we can start to believe we're finally heading in the right direction.

17-02-2024, 05:00 PM
Quite happy to concede I’m not one who has ever had McInness at the top of my list in any of our many ‘new manager’ hunts in recent years… but I think he’d have us in a solid position right now.

Thats what we thought about Alex Millar a while back but as it turned out one half decent season out of however many, turned out that once a hun always a hun.

17-02-2024, 05:01 PM
It is criminal that it's even up for debate and we're in this position. Winless in the league since early December is chronic. Is it sackable? I don't know, but if it's not then he needs a helluva good start to the new season or we're in for the same again next year with folk talking about needing new players in and the manager needing time.

What an utter mess to be in again.

He's here!
17-02-2024, 05:02 PM
The undercover ones are more likely to be the posters that accept this ***** and want it to continue/give the failing management more time. :agree:

More likely the ones trying to whip up calls for a sacking in the wake of an improved spell of form ;-)

17-02-2024, 05:02 PM
He will get the summer, I don’t know how much I want him to but he will.

I think he can turn it around. The Celtic game gave me a lot of hope for this team and management.

If he left tomorrow though I don’t think I’d be too cut up.

17-02-2024, 05:05 PM

I've usually ran away from the prospect of us going down that route, mostly Lennon, but I'm 100% on the McInnes should be our manager next season train if the opportunity arose.

AL-Qaholik
17-02-2024, 05:05 PM
More likely the ones trying to whip up calls for a sacking in the wake of an improved spell of form ;-)

An improved spell of form?
Must be a wind up.
Have you looked at the form table?
Beating a mid-table championship team is not an improvement - it’s a bare minimum.
No league wins since December 3rd.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 05:06 PM

You don't think hearts fans are delighted at the situation we find ourselves in under this manager? Not a chance any of them would want Monty sacked as it would hopefully mark an upturn in form and improvement.

If you think 1 win out the three games and 5 point behind sixth placed Dundee is us improving because in the middle of that we beat a team down the bottom of the championship then fair do's. That's accepting mediocrity in the extreme.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 05:10 PM
It is criminal that it's even up for debate and we're in this position. Winless in the league since early December is chronic. Is it sackable? I don't know, but if it's not then he needs a helluva good start to the new season or we're in for the same again next year with folk talking about needing new players in and the manager needing time.

Why take the chance of giving him the start of next season?

He’s not won ONE solitary big game since he came in and he persists with weak spirited and weak willed players - why trust him with another transfer window?

Kensell and Ian Gordon aren’t blameless either, and I wonder if hospitality will be sold out for meaningless bottom 6 games, as hospitality is all Kensell seems to care about.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 05:11 PM
An improved spell of form?
Must be a wind up.
Have you looked at the form table?
Beating a mid-table championship team is not an improvement - it’s a bare minimum.
No league wins since December 3rd.

But, but we performed well in the second half against a ***** celtic team that drew at home to Kilmarnock today under that manager McInness a lot of people wouldn't want at the club. They are only 10 points ahead of us. 16 signings they have brought in the past 2 years and look how their manager has improved them as a team including the players that were already at the club. Has any player improved under Monty? Jair is less pish but still pish but that's about it.

17-02-2024, 05:11 PM
Who is apparently worse than what we already had.
Or is that point you were making?

It is

17-02-2024, 05:13 PM

Improved spell of form?

We've not won a league game since December 9th ffs.

Broxburn Greens
17-02-2024, 05:14 PM

This is it for me though.

We simply shouldn’t need to be worrying about how we might catch teams like Dundee, Kilmarnock or St. Mirren.

Without wanting to be disrespectful to them with our budget we should have a squad that over the course of a season finishes above them and I mean every season.

We should be worrying about catching Hearts (aye good one I know) or looking over our shoulders at Hearts/Aberdeen and fretting about their results and how they might catch us.

Right now nothing could be further from the above. We are all over the place from the pitch to the boardroom and at some point someone needs to get a ****ing grip and realise project players and “might be good” Managers aren’t working. I hope Monty sorts it out and comes good but failing that the next Manager simply has to be someone who knows our game and can get results in the Scottish Premier.

It’s ****ing embarrassing that we are being left miles behind by our biggest rivals who are largely a one man team with an inexperienced manager. How many points now? I can’t be bothered checking.

Our style of play is brutal and maybe McInnes style is “turgid”… I wouldn’t care less if we were winning.

17-02-2024, 05:16 PM

I’ve had my ST now for 17 years. If he’s still here, it’s not getting renewed.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 05:20 PM
This is it for me though.

We simply shouldn’t need to be worrying about how we might catch teams like Dundee, Kilmarnock or St. Mirren.

Without wanting to be disrespectful to them with our budget we should have a squad that over the course of a season finishes above them and I mean every season.

We should be worrying about catching Hearts (aye good one I know) or looking over our shoulders at Hearts/Aberdeen and fretting about their results and how they might catch us.

Right now nothing could be further from the above. We are all over the place from the pitch to the boardroom and at some point someone needs to get a ****ing grip and realise project players and “might be good” Managers aren’t working. I hope Monty sorts it out and comes good but failing that the next Manager simply has to be someone who knows our game and can get results in the Scottish Premier.

It’s ****ing embarrassing that we are being left miles behind by our biggest rivals who are largely a one man team with an inexperienced manager. How many points now? I can’t be bothered checking.

Our style of play is brutal and maybe McInnes style is “turgid”… I wouldn’t care less if we were winning.

17-02-2024, 05:22 PM
I thought 433, 3 central midfielders and Youan & Boyle out wide was the simple solution to all questions?

Getting Maolida, Moriah-Welsh, Emiliano and Boyle and Miller (despite me not rating him) has made a difference. Since we’ve been able to play them today was a continuation of the Celtc performance, ICT performance and win anf those 3 games, while not perfect, have given me hope.

The issue is you can’t look at the last 3 games in isolation without essentially drawing a line in the sand and writing off the season because of the damage done before we could make major surgery to the team. I’ve already long given up on this season and accepted we will be bottom 6. The reason for which is a culmination of years of poor recruitment and jumping from manager to manager. If we continue the trend of the performances of the last 3 games until the end if the season I’m not too bothered about top v bottom 6 and it buys Montgomery the summer window to continue putting together a new spine IMO.

The defence will be his undoing though, as it has successive managers. I think it’s so poor it could feasibly get another manager sacked this season if we replaced Montgomery tomorrow.

17-02-2024, 05:23 PM
I'd give him more time but we need to see some significant improvement before end of the season for him to be entrusted with what will likely be a huge summer for us

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 05:26 PM
I thought 433, 3 central midfielders and Youan & Boyle out wide was the simple solution to all questions?

Getting Maolida, Moriah-Welsh, Emiliano and Boyle and Miller (despite me not rating him) has made a difference. Since we’ve been able to play them today was a continuation of the Celtc performance, ICT performance and win and 3 games, while not perfect have given hope.

The issue is you can’t look at the last 3 games in isolation without essentially drawing a line in the sand and writing off the season because of the damage done before we could make major surgery to the team. I’ve already long given up on this season and accepted we will be bottom 6. The reason for evict is a culmination of years of poor recruitment and jumping from manager to manager. If we continue the trend of the performances of the last 3 games until the end if the season I’m not too bothered about top v bottom 6 and buys Momtgommerybtge summer window to continue putting together a new spine.

The defence will be his undoing though, as it has successive managers. I think it’s so poor it could feasibly get another manager sacked this season if we replaced Montgomery tomorrow.

Most of us knew that anyway. How many posts have been about now building for next season anyway, regardless of top six or not. Change is coming. There will be money pouring into the club, and a massive group behind us. No-one should be sacked after a 2-2 fightback at Pittodrie. Its whether or not Nick is up to the task of implementing the change that is afoot. That's the bigger question.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 05:28 PM
I'd give him more time but we need to see some significant improvement before end of the season for him to be entrusted with what will likely be a huge summer for us

17-02-2024, 05:31 PM
In response to the OP - only if we think there were sufficient mitigating circumstances. FWIW, I don’t think there are.

There’s a direct line between his decision making and our results - odd tactics at times, odd subs at others. I reckon his fatal one (now that in all fairness to him I think he’s improved the midfield) will be the defence - the tinkering, the premature ousting of Hanlon when he appears to have a lot of what we lack and the arrogance to think you can chuck a few raw, inexperienced players together and get a collective that’s any better than a dog’s dinner.

17-02-2024, 05:31 PM

Genuine question. How much do we think we will have to spend in the summer? Ball park. Will it be stratospherically bigger than the £2m odd we spent (VERY poorly) in fees alone in the summer or same kind of ball park, but every season and not just a one off like this summer otherwise likely would have been.

17-02-2024, 05:32 PM

Getting Maolida, Moriah-Welsh, Emiliano and Boyle and Miller (despite me not rating him) has made a difference. Since we’ve been able to play them today was a continuation of the Celtc performance, ICT performance and win anf those 3 games, while not perfect, have given me hope.

The issue is you can’t look at the last 3 games in isolation without essentially drawing a line in the sand and writing off the season because of the damage done before we could make major surgery to the team. I’ve already long given up on this season and accepted we will be bottom 6. The reason for which is a culmination of years of poor recruitment and jumping from manager to manager. If we continue the trend of the performances of the last 3 games until the end if the season I’m not too bothered about top v bottom 6 and it buys Montgomery the summer window to continue putting together a new spine IMO.

Posted on the match thread, no shape we play is going to stop us conceding the way we do. If you cross the ball in to our box, there’s a fair chance you score. 9th time we’ve scored two goals in a league game this season but not won the game. That’s a ridiculous stat.

Not making a proper effort to sort the defence in January could still cost him his job.

17-02-2024, 05:36 PM
Monty will never be our manager long term, it’s just a question of when we replace him. Do it now or wait until May? My guess is it will be at the end of the season.

17-02-2024, 05:37 PM

Your last sentence is the main thing for me. Signed all these players but we continue to leak goals and it’s down to horrendous defending and it’s been like that all season. We are up against it in almost every game ‘cos we can’t keep a clean sheet. He’s decided Hanlon isn’t the answer and while I’m not wanting to start the debate on him again signing bairns when we were crying out for experienced CBs was criminal imo.

17-02-2024, 05:41 PM
Monty will never be our manager long term, it’s just a question of when we replace him. Do it now or wait until May? My guess is it will be at the end of the season.

My guess is it will be mid-August again, it will scupper the summer transfer window and condemn next season to another season of transition.

Because whilst the manager is the problem, he’s not really THE problem - it’s the people who are in charge of the hiring and firing of managers.

17-02-2024, 05:45 PM
Shouldn't even still be in charge IMO but I think this board are hanging their hat on him.....

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 05:45 PM

Maybe depend how season ticket sales are going and what the board think of half empty stands if we end up bottom six. Would be pointless keeping until the end of the season if we end up bottom six.

Chorley Hibee
17-02-2024, 05:49 PM
My guess is it will be mid-August again, it will scupper the summer transfer window and condemn next season to another season of transition.

Because whilst the manager is the problem, he’s not really THE problem - it’s the people who are in charge of the hiring and firing of managers.

If we don't make the top six then he should be sacked immediately. Kensall should be following him out the door too.

I've no doubt though that we'll end up condemning ourselves to the scenario you've outlined above. That will then be followed by "you can't buy good players in January" and a load of untried youngsters on loan to rescue the season.

It's as predictable as Hibs failing to defend a cross.

You’re probably right, it gives the board more breathing space and the continual excuse that the manager needs time to work with players and get his own players in. We’ll end up scrambling around for loans next January too.

I’ve no confidence that Monty will turn things around and if we don’t get top 6 he should be gone immediately or at least the end of the season.

There has been improvement in the last few games but his overall philosophy is still running through the team and I don’t think that will change.

I've absolutely no faith in Ian Gordon or Ben Kensell in regards to anything to do with the football side of the club. Unless Foley takes charge of the entire football side of the club I don't see anything changing whilst we are being run by those two.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 05:51 PM
Your last sentence is the main thing for me. Signed all these players but we continue to leak goals and it’s down to horrendous defending and it’s been like that all season. We are up against it in almost every game ‘cos we can’t keep a clean sheet. He’s decided Hanlon isn’t the answer and while I’m not wanting to start the debate on him again signing bairns when we were crying out for experienced CBs was criminal imo.

Maybe we could ask some pointed questions about recruitment at the AGM?

Oh wait the now, no awkward questions are allowed.

Murphys Touch
17-02-2024, 05:52 PM
In response to the OP - only if we think there were sufficient mitigating circumstances. FWIW, I don’t think there are.

There’s a direct line between his decision making and our results - odd tactics at times, odd subs at others. I reckon his fatal one (now that in all fairness to him I think he’s improved the midfield) will be the defence - the tinkering, the premature ousting of Hanlon when he appears to have a lot of what we lack and the arrogance to think you can chuck a few raw, inexperienced players together and get a collective that’s any better than a dog’s dinner.

I couldn’t agree more…..

- the persistence of playing the formation and style when the tools weren’t there to do it
- exposing young/poor quality players to these weaknesses
- fix the bloody defence. It’s been an issue for 3 seasons, it’s your job on the line so you get your executives above you to realise that. That is your job

But the big one for me is in game management. I do not see NM having a single positive impact on a game while it’s being played. Strange tactics (or refusing to recognise gaps) and even stranger subs. Today it was clear Levitt was the weakest player but he waiting until 80 mins to make that sub.

Na….not for me. He’s an imposter….and a weak weak person

17-02-2024, 05:53 PM

Yes, being hung up on where one's team actually finishes in the league is a terrible affliction common to - checks notes - *all* football fans worldwide.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 05:55 PM
Yes, being hung up on where one's team actually finishes in the league is a terrible affliction common to - checks notes - *all* football fans worldwide.

:greengrin:greengrin

17-02-2024, 05:59 PM
IMO, I think we'll finish bottom six and NM will be emptied at the end of the season before we see a major restructure of the side for the 2024/25 season.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 06:01 PM
IMO, I think we'll finish bottom six and NM will be emptied at the end of the season before we see a major restructure of the side for the 2024/25 season.

I hope they are already sounding out other managers and preparing for the summer already tbh. Based on what we have seen so far we should be anyway instead of blindly hoping it will get better.

DIXIHIBS
17-02-2024, 06:01 PM
If we start picking up a few wins soon and show signs of improvement he will be here next season imho. Monty then gets the summer transfer window which will make or break him. If things don't improve after the summer and we are not where we should be he will get sacked and we start all over again. Groundhog Day Hibs style. Thing is a lot of the players who may improve things are loans and will probably be away the summer anyway so squad overhaul again. It's a mess just now tbh. Personally if we don't win our next 2 home games he should be away.

Broxburn Greens
17-02-2024, 06:03 PM

Inclined to agree, we could easily finish 10th and likely knocked out the cup at the QF stage.

That being the case he’d surely be emptied.

17-02-2024, 06:06 PM
A bottom 6 finish with this squad and the amount of money that's been spent is unacceptable. There's no way this team should be finishing below Killie, St Mirren and Dundee. A defeat next week would make top 6 pretty much beyond us. That would be totally on the management. The likes of McInnes would easily have this team top 4/5.

hibeerealist
17-02-2024, 06:13 PM

I was not for appointing McInness but I am now in the camp that wanted him. We are dying a slow death, a bit like NM's football philosophy, so it is certainly time to get real and that means appoint an experienced football manager.

NO more projects, No more "lets see how he does" just get a manager such as McInness and at least try to be the 3rd/4th best club in the country instead of handing it to the gunts or the sheep.

He's here!
17-02-2024, 06:17 PM
A bottom 6 finish with this squad and the amount of money that's been spent is unacceptable. There's no way this team should be finishing below Killie, St Mirren and Dundee. A defeat next week would make top 6 pretty much beyond us. That would be totally on the management. The likes of McInnes would easily have this team top 4/5.

Money spent doesn't equate to a good squad. Monty inherited a very mixed bag and has improved it in his first transfer window. I'll be surprised if we don't continue to improve over the next few weeks.

17-02-2024, 06:25 PM
Money spent doesn't equate to a good squad. Monty inherited a very mixed bag and has improved it in his first transfer window. I'll be surprised if we don't continue to improve over the next few weeks.

He inherited a team who played in Europe this season after finishing 5th.

He’s been an absolute failure of an appointment.

We cannae defend, it’s been an issue for at least 2 seasons. What do we do about it in January? Bring in a 20 year old. Shock horror it’s not helped in the slightest.

17-02-2024, 06:28 PM

We've conceded 14 goals in 6 league games since the window opened. He certainly has not improved our defending.

He's here!
17-02-2024, 06:32 PM
We've conceded 14 goals in 6 league games since the window opened. He certainly has not improved our defending.

Majority of the signings only arrived nearer or on deadline day.

Defence remains a problem. But who's to say he didn't strive to bring better in and it just didn't come off? I'd say (tentatively) that we've looked significantly more threatening in the last 3 games and are heading in a better direction.

17-02-2024, 06:33 PM

It’s fair to acknowledge the improvement. He’s tweaked the tactics and there’s no doubt Moriah-Welsh and Amos will improve us drastically.

If he can find a solution for the defence enough to scrape into the top six and then show something after that, I’d argue he has shown enough to get another season - and be backed accordingly (ie signing players and not punting him at the first sign of trouble of fan dissatisfaction).

If we continue to leak goals and don’t get the required points in the forthcoming run of massive games though then I genuinely don’t think he should have any complaints if we pull the trigger the second bottom 6 is confirmed - something which would give us the best chance of ensuring that next season isn’t just another expensive repeat.

17-02-2024, 06:34 PM

McInnes is a good manager, no doubt.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 06:34 PM

And won a grand total of none of them.

We have undoubtedly got a better squad of players than our league position shows unless people want to accept Johnson was a genius for getting us 5th?

Monty has done absolutely nothing to show he should be the manager of our club next season. He's not improved the team, he's not improved one individual player and we have went further and further backwards. These signs of improvement from being utter ***** to just ***** is simply not good enough.

17-02-2024, 06:45 PM

Defence remains a problem. But who's to say he didn't strive to bring better in and it just didn't come off? I'd say (tentatively) that we've looked significantly more threatening in the last 3 games and are heading in a better direction.

Singings should have been identified earlier imo. We knew we were gonna be without Boyle, Miller and Rocky for all of January and had a fragile defence.

The next few weeks are massive for the club and him personally. Home games v Dundee, Ross County in league, Ross County away also Huns in the Cup and Hearts away. Hopefully we'll get the results and things will look rosy, but if things go tits up, sorry but he can have no complaints. With the Foley investment coming up, a bottom 6 finish will not look good for him.

17-02-2024, 06:45 PM
I’m still for Derek mciness coming in

NM won’t be at hibs in 12 months

Defence has not improved at all

We simply don’t win enough football matches

Not good enough

17-02-2024, 06:48 PM

He should be gone already. I can’t think of a single thing he’s improved and I also see no signs that he has us on an upward curve. I’d love to know what those in charge of the club imagine is going to happen to change this.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 06:50 PM
He inherited a team who played in Europe this season after finishing 5th.

He’s been an absolute failure of an appointment.

We cannae defend, it’s been an issue for at least 2 seasons. What do we do about it in January? Bring in a 20 year old. Shock horror it’s not helped in the slightest.

The defending of that 2nd goal is an identikit of Hibs. Players scared to put their body on the line and nobody taking a sair hit in trying to clear the ball.

I actually feel sorry for the laddie Triantis, he patently isn’t physically equipped for this league and he looks really tentative on the ball, and he’s costing us points.

Hanlon is a better bet than him right now, but Montgomery seems determined to play him because he’s signed him, and he’d have been better off keeping his mouth shut about the CH he missed out on, because it sounds like another lame excuse from a club that trots out one excuse too many.

17-02-2024, 06:52 PM
The next few weeks are massive for the club and him personally. Home games v Dundee, Ross County in league, Ross County away also Huns in the Cup and Hearts away. Hopefully we'll get the results and things will look rosy, but if things go tits up, sorry but he can have no complaints. With the Foley investment coming up, a bottom 6 finish will not look good for him.

The next few weeks are massive, I just dinnae see any reason why we should go into them with NM in charge? Games at home to Dundee and Ross County are games we should expect to get max points in. If he does win them, so what, it’s results we absolutely should be getting. If he doesn’t…who’d actually be surprised??

17-02-2024, 06:54 PM
The defending of that 2nd goal is an identikit of Hibs. Players scared to put their body on the line and nobody taking a sair hit in trying to clear the ball.

I actually feel sorry for the laddie Triantis, he patently isn’t physically equipped for this league and he looks really tentative on the ball, and he’s costing us points.

Hanlon is a better bet than him right now, but Montgomery seems determined to play him because he’s signed him, and he’d have been better off keeping his mouth shut about the CH he missed out on, because it sounds like another lame excuse from a club that trots out one excuse too many.

Hanlon isn't fit

Plus I believe triantis was the centre half we initially missed out on

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

17-02-2024, 06:54 PM
He should be gone already. I can’t think of a single thing he’s improved and I also see no signs that he has us on an upward curve. I’d love to know what those in charge of the club imagine is going to happen to change this.

Agreed. His feet should barely have touched the floor after the St Mirren debacle.

17-02-2024, 06:55 PM
Hanlon isn't fit

Triantis was also better than Fish today. Montgomery has gone on a lot about Rocky being away, wonder if we'll start Rocky and Triantis next week. Realise that will give a lot of folk the fear.

17-02-2024, 07:02 PM

I think we are heading in the right direction. As regards to Centra back he has said Triantis was his first priority. We were told no only for him to become available later in the window. No idea about the others.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 07:05 PM
Triantis was also better than Fish today. Montgomery has gone on a lot about Rocky being away, wonder if we'll start Rocky and Triantis next week. Realise that will give a lot of folk the fear.

They were both poor, but it looked to me that Triantis was frequently on the wrong side of Myovski. Is he right or left sided?

Either way he needs to work hard on his positional play, and he never flung himself in front of McGrath for their second goal.

in summary, he shouldn’t be making his mistakes in the full glare of first-team football, but that’s the kind of project player that this recruitment team have continually foisted on us the past 2-3 seasons.

Chorley Hibee

That's me not sleeping all week now.

Thanks for that.

Rocky will definitely come back in. He’ll solve nothing though.

He’s been as much of a problem defensively this season as anyone!

Chorley Hibee
17-02-2024, 07:07 PM
They were both poor, but it looked to me that Triantis was frequently on the wrong side of Myovski. Is he right or left sided?

Either way he needs to work hard on his positional play, and he never flung himself in front of McGrath for their second goal.

in summary, he shouldn’t be making his mistakes in the full glare of first-team football, but that’s the kind of project player that this recruitment team have continually foisted on us the past 2-3 seasons.

What kind of centre half doesn't throw himself into a last ditch tackle in that situation, regardless of age?

Horrendous stuff.

17-02-2024, 07:17 PM

Suspect writing may already on the wall for NM and it's simply matter of getting through the season hoping to scrape into the top 6. Foley will demand better from the £Ms he plans to pump into the club. If NM and current Hibs playing staff think this will do, they're all in for a reality check come May.

17-02-2024, 07:34 PM
Hanlon isn't fit

Is that true about Hanlon?

Because whilst I acknowledge his imperfections, he looks closest to being the solution to our defensive problems from who we have available right now.

Hanlon and Fish were decent together last season and no other pairing has convinced at any point. No idea why we’re not going to him here.

Unless he’s injured.

17-02-2024, 07:45 PM

Because whilst I acknowledge his imperfections, he looks closest to being the solution to our defensive problems from who we have available right now.

Hanlon and Fish were decent together last season and no other pairing has convinced at any point. No idea why we’re not going to him here.

Unless he’s injured.

I think Hanlon & Fish have played 8 league games together and conceded 16 goals this season.

We’ve conceded 41 goals in 25 games.

I don’t think there’s been any difference between Hanlon & Fish this season and any other combination. Be as well drawing defenders names out a hat each week unfortunately.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 07:47 PM

Unless he’s injured.

Hanlon’s positioning is better than Triantis and he uses the ball better than him too. The only excuse for Paul not starting ahead of him must be fitness/injury related.

Unless of course Triantis is getting played ahead of him to “aid his development” which was the guff that Montgomery came out with about a month ago to justify playing Megwa and Whittaker.

I’d get McInnes in NOW before the next run of games, I’m utterly unconvinced with this guy.

VoltaireHibs
17-02-2024, 07:52 PM
This team are not making top six. I just don't see it with the games coming up. Unless we played Livingstone the next three games then there is no way we're keeping a clean sheet against RC and a Dundee team who know a draw probably secures 6th spot. I wouldn't put 5p on us getting there. What a state of affairs.

I'd also argue that if we're going to have a large turnover of players in the summer, then dribbling into 5th place and having our whole pre-season dominated by preparations for that, only to be pumped out, then it's probably, in terms of looking to the future, better that we don't even have it. I also don't think getting beaten every week in the top six is much use to us right now, and until that defence is sorted we're gonna struggle.

I'd prefer it if we just go straight into the groups when we win the cup. :greengrin

In terms of Monty, I'd give him until top six is impossible, when that happens then say 'thanks and goodbye', put David Gray in charge whilst we approach other managers and sound them out. Try and give them a few games to assess the squad, but they must be at the club as soon as the season is over so they get a full pre-season with the players.

Hibees1973
17-02-2024, 08:01 PM
We are going to be a bottom 6 side. No doubt.

We have conceded just one goal less than Livingston, who are adrift at the bottom of the table.

Montgomery has been here 6 months and is still nowhere near solving our defensive problems. The SPFL isn't of a great standard but McInnes & Robinson have managed to construct well organised, disciplined football teams on budgets around a quarter of ours.

Montgomery is showing all the signs of being a poor coach and tactically naive.

17-02-2024, 08:01 PM
Hanlon’s positioning is better than Triantis and he uses the ball better than him too. The only excuse for Paul not starting ahead of him must be fitness/injury related.

Unless of course Triantis is getting played ahead of him to “aid his development” which was the guff that Montgomery came out with about a month ago to justify playing Megwa and Whittaker.

I’d get McInnes in NOW before the next run of games, I’m utterly unconvinced with this guy.Do you seriously think McInnes would leave Killie now with his team in a European position and with a good chance of making cup semi ? Or that Killie would allow it even with a massive compensation payment ?

17-02-2024, 08:02 PM
This team are not making top six. I just don't see it with the games coming up. Unless we played Livingstone the next three games then there is no way we're keeping a clean sheet against RC and a Dundee team who know a draw probably secures 6th spot. I wouldn't put 5p on us getting there. What a state of affairs.

It’s the games that we have, particularly at home, between now and the split that give me some hope we can still catch teams in front of us. Dundee, Ross County, Livingston and St Johnstone at home has to be a good number of points. Ross County and Motherwell away are good chances to take points as well.

Giving the difficulty we have with actually winning I’m not exactly confident but there are wins to be had.

17-02-2024, 08:06 PM

I'd also argue that if we're going to have a large turnover of players in the summer, then dribbling into 5th place and having our whole pre-season dominated by preparations for that, only to be pumped out, then it's probably, in terms of looking to the future, better that we don't even have it.

I'd prefer to go straight into the groups when we win the cup. :greengrin

Ironically only Livingston out of the teams you mention have beaten us this season.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 08:08 PM
Do you seriously think McInnes would leave Killie now with his team in a European position and with a good chance of making cup semi ? Or that Killie would allow it even with a massive compensation payment ?

I do, aye. The day that Hibernian don’t think we can attract the Kilmarnock manager is the day we should all jack it in.

As for the compensation, we’ll lose more money through our plummeting league position if we leave this joker in charge for much longer.

17-02-2024, 08:10 PM
I’m certainly not pushing for him to be sacked but equally I’m struggling to see any good reason for keeping him. Beyond the “we can’t keep sacking another manager” chat I’d be interested in hearing any justification for him getting the summer window. Especially if we do end up in the bottom 6.

17-02-2024, 08:16 PM
I do, aye. The day that Hibernian don’t think we can attract the Kilmarnock manager is the day we should all jack it in.

As for the compensation, we’ll lose more money through our plummeting league position if we leave this joker in charge for much longer.

Annoyingly McInnes wages / release fee goes up every time he does better too.

Any manager coming to Hibs should know bottom 6 and he can easily be sacked.

As a club it’s simply not acceptable but for some reason some Hibs fans seem to think it is and wonder why we always fall short in Derbies and big games as we are too soft and accept such low standards.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 08:19 PM
I’m certainly not pushing for him to be sacked but equally I’m struggling to see any good reason for keeping him. Beyond the “we can’t keep sacking another manager” chat I’d be interested in hearing any justification for him getting the summer window. Especially if we do end up in the bottom 6.

Hibs slide downwards began some seasons, some managers ago. Monty has to be allowed time for his tenure to flourish or be replaced himself. I cannot understand how there has been so much negativity after a 2-2 fightback at Pittodrie, the game after getting into the quarter final of the Scottish Cup, and just before that, a much improved performance against Celtic where we were also on the end of some shocking refereeing decisions. It was a good match today, with a decent outcome. Onwards and Upwards.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 08:23 PM

As a club it’s simply not acceptable but for some reason some Hibs fans seem to think it is and wonder why we always fall short in Derbies and big games as we are too soft and accept such low standards.

Successive Boards/CEOs/and managers who think they’re doing us a favour managing us have had that mindset too, it’s embedded at the club.

Hope Foley and his backers set a higher standard.

17-02-2024, 08:24 PM
Hibs slide downwards began some seasons, some managers ago. Monty has to be allowed time for his tenure to flourish or be replaced himself. I cannot understand how there has been so much negativity after a 2-2 fightback at Pittodrie, the game after getting into the quarter final of the Scottish Cup, and just before that, a much improved performance against Celtic where we were also on the end of some shocking refereeing decisions. It was a good match today, with a decent outcome. Onwards and Upwards.

From where we are right now and with the players at his disposal looking at the fixtures up to the split Monty simply has to make the top six. Anything else is now failure. His position should be given serious consideration at the end of the season.

17-02-2024, 08:27 PM

Ordinarily a draw up there isn't a bad result but we haven't won in weeks and we haven't had a clean sheet since early December. The Sheep are a poor team too despite what their gob***** pensioner manager says. We are heading for bottom 6 football and that simply isn't good enough.

17-02-2024, 08:28 PM
I think Hanlon & Fish have played 8 league games together and conceded 16 goals this season.

We’ve conceded 41 goals in 25 games.

I don’t think there’s been any difference between Hanlon & Fish this season and any other combination. Be as well drawing defenders names out a hat each week unfortunately.

This season though has been characterised by factors such as playing 442 with Dylan Levitt in central midfield, Youan wide midfield, substituting centre halves during a game, having Thursday European games prior to weekend league games and playing a 16yo RB - all of which are likely to impact on the stats relating to centre halves losing goals.

Other than the past 3 or 4 games, you probably have to go back to last season to find a time when there weren’t a few of these mitigating factors at play, when I felt the aforementioned pairing were decent.

So whilst I think your point about them all being as bad as each other certainly has merit, I’m still inclined to go for a pairing that has often made Fish look most comfortable and also brings some much needed experience into the back line.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 08:29 PM
From where we are right now and with the players at his disposal looking at the fixtures up to the split Monty simply has to make the top six. Anything else is now failure. His position should be given serious consideration at the end of the season.

Of course. The top six should be a given every season. However, as said, the decline began seasons ago. There has been change, there will be more change in the summer, we all know that. Monty's position will be assessed at the end of the season, whether or not we make the top six. Hibs are on the way up in the seasons ahead, no doubt about it.

17-02-2024, 08:32 PM
Of course. The top six should be a given every season. However, as said, the decline began seasons ago. There has been change, there will be more change in the summer, we all know that. Monty's position will be assessed at the end of the season, whether or not we make the top six. Hibs are on the way up in the seasons ahead, no doubt about it.

I’d love to have your confidence but my confidence about us being “on the way up” in the seasons ahead may be determined by how far we fall this season rather than anything I really expect us to get all that right any time soon.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 08:33 PM
Ordinarily a draw up there isn't a bad result but we haven't won in weeks and we haven't had a clean sheet since early December. The Sheep are a poor team too despite what their gob***** pensioner manager says. We are heading for bottom 6 football and that simply isn't good enough.

But for all your negativity, which I'm not criticising as we have been poor for some time, and the St Mirren result was a line in the sand, since then we have definitely improved, no doubt, which shows green shoots yes? Much better performances all over the park, and Aberdeen have some really good players at their disposal, Miovski is class.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 08:36 PM
I’d love to have your confidence but my confidence about us being “on the way up” in the seasons ahead may be determined by how far we fall this season rather than anything I really expect us to get all that right any time soon.

If we had carried on as we had against St Mirren, I too would be on here raging, but we have improved greatly since then. Todays fightback at Pittodrie proved that. Other games we'd have capitulated after losing the second goal, but we fought back and earned a hard won draw. I'm very happy at that. We showed continued fight and spirit.

17-02-2024, 08:41 PM
If we had carried on as we had against St Mirren, I too would be on here raging, but we have improved greatly since then. Todays fightback at Pittodrie proved that. Other games we'd have capitulated after losing the second goal, but we fought back and earned a hard won draw. I'm very happy at that. We showed continued fight and spirit.

Has our defending improved greatly since the St Mirren game ?

Paulie Walnuts
17-02-2024, 08:43 PM
Bottom 6 is absolutely sacking material and no amount of mitigating circumstances should save him. Bottom 6 should be absolutely out of the question for Hibs.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 08:49 PM
Has our defending improved greatly since the St Mirren game ?

Look, its easy on here to get sucked into being negative. There's so much of it, I've seen a big improvement in recent games, since then, players playing with passion, determination, and spirit. I'll keep honest and give credit where its due. The players put in a shift today, and deserve credit.

17-02-2024, 08:57 PM
Out of the 3 targets as a Hibs manager..

League cup
Scottish Cup
Making top 6

Surely over the season making the top 6 is minimum expected.

Even 6th or 5th is crap for the resources we have / use.

Making Europe should be a minimum.

If this club is to grow it needs to grow a backbone.

17-02-2024, 09:00 PM
Look, its easy on here to get sucked into being negative. There's so much of it, I've seen a big improvement in recent games, since then, players playing with passion, determination, and spirit. I'll keep honest and give credit where its due. The players put in a shift today, and deserve credit.

And what about our defending ? Does that deserve credit ?

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 09:06 PM

Any time a team loses a goal, the defending will be analysed. Aberdeen lost two today too. Any time we lose a goal, I'll expect you to come on here scrutinising the defence to its scientific degree? Do you expect never to lose goals? Its fitba man.

Sparrows tongue
17-02-2024, 09:10 PM

Well said. :thumbsup:

Absolutely not, would be my response.

Bakerman has become the Uber Hibs fan in about two weeks.

We are doing better, no doubt about that, but we are far from the finished, albeit improved, article.

I stiil say, we need McInnes.

17-02-2024, 09:17 PM
Any time a team loses a goal, the defending will be analysed. Aberdeen lost two today too. Any time we lose a goal, I'll expect you to come on here scrutinising the defence to its scientific degree? Do you expect never to lose goals? Its fitba man.

I’ll ignore your patronising tone.

No I don’t expect us to never lose goals. I don’t however expect us to lose goals like the second one we lost today, but given we’ve been defending in a similar manner all season maybe I should. Monty has done absolutely nothing to fix that and thought the answer to our CB issue was a 20 year old with very limited experience.

17-02-2024, 09:19 PM
I’ve seen a few fans on here and podcasts totally be either under-whelmed or turn their nose up at the thought of hibs going after mcinnes.

I keep saying it he should have got given the gig after the maloney fiasco.

A manager who can set a team up - being hard to beat.

This rubbish that they don’t play football etc

His style got best of the rest when Huns were in lower leagues. Doesn’t matter one jot if we weren’t there or jambos, you can only beat what’s in front of you

He has a proven solid track record. The Hibs board need to get a reality check and get him in, no nonsense, stop this pissing about looking for a hidden gem over-seas. It’s not working.

Killie are a stuffy team but with their budget they’re bloody good and play to their strengths.

I’d have 10 x more confidence in seeing mcinnes being given ‘few million’ to spend as he knows what is required to be successful in this league.

We are now having discussions about if we manage to scrape to top six. It’s mental of how low we have sunk. I can’t recall the last league game we won. Monty is completly out his depth im afraid.

McInnes In. Some fans need to stop being so darn bloody snobby and get of their high horse. Cause we ain’t anywhere near a high horse.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 09:22 PM
I’ll ignore your patronising tone.

No I don’t expect us to never lose goals. I don’t however expect us to lose goals like the second one we lost today, but given we’ve been defending in a similar manner all season maybe I should. Monty has done absolutely nothing to fix that and thought the answer to our CB issue was a 20 year old with very limited experience.

I certainly didn't mean to come across as patronising, apologies. The defense has been admittedly a very weak point for quite a few seasons, managers now. Fish has been for me a success, with mistakes here and there granted, but the boy is a player, and he would be a capture for us if we managed to sign him up, but I doubt we will, albeit I'd very much hope to, if we could. It was a good game today. It could have went either way.

Hibeesdaft16
17-02-2024, 09:25 PM
I’ve seen a few fans on here and podcasts totally be either under-whelmed or turn their nose up at the thought of hibs going after mcinnes.

His style got best of the rest when Huns were in lower leagues. Doesn’t matter one jot if we weren’t there or jambos, you can only beat what’s in front of you

He has a proven solid track record. The Hibs board need to get a reality check and get him in, no nonsense, stop this pissing about looking for a hidden gem over-seas. It’s not working.

Killie are a stuffy team but with their budget they’re bloody good and play to their strengths.

I’d have 10 x more confidence in seeing mcinnes being given ‘few million’ to spend as he knows what is required to be successful in this league.

We are now having discussions about if we manage to scrape to top six. It’s mental of how low we have sunk. I can’t recall the last league game we won. Monty is completly out his depth im afraid.

McInnes In. Some fans need to stop being so darn bloody snobby and get of their high horse. Cause we ain’t anywhere near a high horse.

17-02-2024, 09:34 PM
I certainly didn't mean to come across as patronising, apologies. The defense has been admittedly a very weak point for quite a few seasons, managers now. Fish has been for me a success, with mistakes here and there granted, but the boy is a player, and he would be a capture for us if we managed to sign him up, but I doubt we will, albeit I'd very much hope to, if we could. It was a good game today. It could have went either way.

Apology accepted.

You are right the defence has been an issue for a while and every manager who fails to improve it deserves criticism, Monty being the latest. Fish is a decent player, but he’s not ready to carry the defence and needs an experienced partner alongside him while he’s still learning. Having decided that’s not Paul Hanlon Monty should have brought in experience this window instead of someone else still learning the game.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 09:40 PM
Apology accepted.

You are right the defence has been an issue for a while and every manager who fails to improve it deserves criticism, Monty being the latest. Fish is a decent player, but he’s not ready to carry the defence and needs an experienced partner alongside him while he’s still learning. Having decided that’s not Paul Hanlon Monty should have brought in experience this window instead of someone else still learning the game.

Thank you. I agree with you, Triantes was a bit of an unknown, and is still a work in progress, but there are those who have come in and seem to be an instant success. Still, I see improvement overall since the window, and especially since the St Mirren game. Today was a good game, and hopefully next week even better :aok:

17-02-2024, 09:42 PM
Apology accepted.

It is honestly absolutely mental that we are playing with two, on loan, 20 year olds at centre half.

We got quantity but not the quality we need. Will we ever actually see the boy Bevan? Still don’t think we needed to sign 7 players in the window. I’d quite happily have signed 2 or 3 less if one of them had been a centre half with a bit of experience who could come in and help fix our issues in that position. We’re no better off in there at all.

thebausburst
17-02-2024, 09:43 PM

💯 agree, go all out for McInnes, total and complete no brainer top appointment, Monty is a disaster.

DIXIHIBS
17-02-2024, 09:46 PM

What Hibs fans do you know think bottom 6 is acceptable? I know a fair few and no one thinks like that. As for the club thinking it's acceptable....they have just sacked 3 managers in 2 years.ffs.

17-02-2024, 09:49 PM
I am a Monty out

I do wonder if the board are asking the question, they have to be thinking about it with results, league position etc

But I wonder how much a role McDermott has as almost the middle man in this. If he thinks NM or the squad is still gelling does that buy NM more time etc?

17-02-2024, 10:25 PM
I am a Monty out

I do wonder if the board are asking the question, they have to be thinking about it with results, league position etc

But I wonder how much a role McDermott has as almost the middle man in this. If he thinks NM or the squad is still gelling does that buy NM more time etc?

I think the Gordon’s/Foley will be wanting to give him the bullet but McDerrmot will be the one saying to give him time etc.

Our form is horrendous. I’ve seen some say we’re not consistent, we’re actually one of the most consistent teams in the league in terms of results!🤣 just not wins…

2 wins since 16th of December - Both in cup games against Forfar and ICT

8 league games played - 3 points obtained. 3 out of a possible 24. That includes games against St Johnstone, Motherwell, St Mirren and Kilmarnock.

We need to beat Dundee next week. He can’t afford to lose to hearts at Tynecastle and then we need to beat County twice, St Johnstone and Livi to have any hope of staying in a job. The 2 games against Rangers won’t decide anything.

So essentially the next 5 league games he needs 13 points imo. Never going to happen.

17-02-2024, 10:29 PM
2 wins since 16th of March - Both in cup games against Forfar and ICT

I know it’s been bad and I’ve been wanting to give him a chance, but I didn’t realise it had been that long.

NC1875

Deserve credit ? For the total 1 point they’ve managed.

Dearie me

I think the Gordon’s/Foley will be wanting to give him the bullet but McDerrmot will be the one saying to give him time etc.

Our form is horrendous. I’ve seen some say we’re not consistent, we’re actually one of the most consistent teams in the league in terms of results!🤣 just not wins…

2 wins since 16th of March - Both in cup games against Forfar and ICT

8 league games played - 3 points obtained. 3 out of a possible 24. That includes games against St Johnstone, Motherwell, St Mirren and Kilmarnock.

We need to beat Dundee next week. He can’t afford to lose to hearts at Tynecastle and then we need to beat County twice, St Johnstone and Livi to have any hope of staying in a job. The 2 games against Rangers won’t decide anything.

So essentially the next 5 league games he needs 13 points imo. Never going to happen.

2 wins since 16th March ? You must have the wrong month ?

17-02-2024, 10:34 PM
2 wins since 16th March ? You must have the wrong month ?

😂 edited!

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 10:35 PM
I am a Monty out

The scouting seems truly baffling- We needed an imposing centre half for 2 seasons- who have we brought in all that time, Devlin?

He sat on the bench for the entirety of his time here, but was a “good sort” in the dressing room apparently.

Now we’ve got another untried 20-year old, who was apparently the one we missed out on a couple of weeks ago, but is now first choice and is costing us a goal per game?

Does Kensell and Gordon think we cannae see through this crap?

17-02-2024, 10:36 PM
😂 edited!

🤣 I did wonder.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 10:37 PM

Dearie me

Played well today, put in a good shift in the main. Worked hard, deserved point at a tough ground. Yes in my opinion deserved credit for the fightback. I really don't have much more to say about today's game, so if anyone else thinks differently, and I don't reply, its that I don't want to go on repeating myself, cheers. I thought it was good game today, with a hard working performance, and they deserved credit for today's game. Roll on next week. Onwards and Upwards

17-02-2024, 10:40 PM
The scouting seems truly baffling- We needed an imposing centre half for 2 seasons- who have we brought in all that time, Devlin?

He sat on the bench for the entirety of his time here, but was a “good sort” in the dressing room apparently.

Now we’ve got another untried 20-year old, who was apparently the one we missed out on a couple of weeks ago, but is now first choice and is costing us a goal per game?

Does Kensell and Gordon think we cannae see through this crap?

The young Bournemouth CB on loan I don’t get at all, but I’m not buying it that out of all the other CBs we could have signed Kensell and Gordon pushed for one on loan who just happened to have played under Monty at CCM. Triantis is on him.

Scotty Leither
17-02-2024, 10:47 PM
The young Bournemouth CB on loan I don’t get at all, but I’m not buying it that out of all the other CBs we could have signed Kensell and Gordon pushed for one on loan who just happened to have played under Monty at CCM. Triantis is on him.

We seem to only sign young Centre Backs, who are very quickly found out physically and also have their naivety quickly exposed. Then they’re shipped off on loan or (typically for Hibs) get injured.

They’ll all be bound with one common thread: They’ll have been cheap.

He's here!
17-02-2024, 10:53 PM

Dearie me

Since when has a point at Pittodrie not been a decent enough result? We fought hard for it.

Bakerman
17-02-2024, 11:15 PM
Since when has a point at Pittodrie not been a decent enough result? We fought hard for it.

Purely on today's performance and result. It was a decent game and outcome. Looking forward to next weeks game now. Certain to be a lively one, with three points imperative, or it'll be a free for all boxing match on here :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
17-02-2024, 11:18 PM
Played well today, put in a good shift in the main. Worked hard, deserved point at a tough ground. Yes in my opinion deserved credit for the fightback. I really don't have much more to say about today's game, so if anyone else thinks differently, and I don't reply, its that I don't want to go on repeating myself, cheers. I thought it was good game today, with a hard working performance, and they deserved credit for today's game. Roll on next week. Onwards and Upwards

17-02-2024, 11:40 PM

Purely on today's performance and result. It was a decent game and outcome. Looking forward to next weeks game now. Certain to be a lively one, with three points imperative, or it'll be a free for all boxing match on here :greengrin

I don’t think a point was a disaster today but I don’t think we played well.

As much as both teams had a go it was scrappy. Our record up there is crap but that was as poor and Aberdeen team as you’ll play there. Two points dropped I thought.

18-02-2024, 06:31 AM
What Hibs fans do you know think bottom 6 is acceptable? I know a fair few and no one thinks like that. As for the club thinking it's acceptable....they have just sacked 3 managers in 2 years.ffs.

Plenty of posters on here saying keep him if we go into the bottom 6 and give him the summer.

What kind of message does that send out?

If a manager doesn’t get top 6 he should leave and the next manager brought in or be found to start ASAP.

It’s really not that difficult but some want to give even more time for this mess to get worse and we then repeat the cycle.

You could argue LJ and Monty could have been sacked sooner - same with Maloney - Maloney and LJ sackings weren’t exactly a surprise - that’s show bad it was.

Paulie Walnuts
18-02-2024, 06:57 AM

There’s been numerous people on here posting that they wouldn’t be particularly concerned if we finished bottom 6, or words to that effect.

He's here!
18-02-2024, 09:20 AM

That's not the point I was making. Yes, top six should be a given for Hibs but the bottom line is we've not been good enough to get there this season. What I'm saying is that rather than adopt a 'top six or sacked' approach we need to assess whether Monty's turned our form around sufficiently to merit longer in the job. If we fail to make the top six but are playing an encouraging brand of football that offers genuine hope for next season then I'd say give him more time.

18-02-2024, 09:22 AM
That's not the point I was making. Yes, top six should be a given for Hibs but the bottom line is we've not been good enough to get there this season. What I'm saying is that rather than adopt a 'top six or sacked' approach we need to assess whether Monty's turned our form around sufficiently to merit longer in the job. If we fail to make the top six but are playing an encouraging brand of football that offers genuine hope for next season then I'd say give him more time.

We’ve not come close to playing an encouraging brand of football that offers any hope under NM though. Do you have a time limit on how long you’d give him to show a glimmer of hope?

He's here!
18-02-2024, 09:36 AM
We’ve not come close to playing an encouraging brand of football that offers any hope under NM though. Do you have a time limit on how long you’d give him to show a glimmer of hope?

We've played better in the last 3 games (ie since the new signings got a bit more bedded in) than we have in a good while (bar the first half hour v Motherwell). If we continue to improve then he merits more time. Obviously if we slide quickly back into mediocrity/utter rubbish we'll need to move on but personally I think we might be seeing signs of better days ahead.

Shaun Maloney's doing a good job at Wigan despite them being docked 10 points. I'm not saying we should have stuck by him but sometimes managers need more time to turn things around.

18-02-2024, 09:47 AM
We've played better in the last 3 games (ie since the new signings got a bit more bedded in) than we have in a good while (bar the first half hour v Motherwell). If we continue to improve then he merits more time. Obviously if we slide quickly back into mediocrity/utter rubbish we'll need to move on but personally I think we might be seeing signs of better days ahead.

Shaun Maloney's doing a good job at Wigan despite them being docked 10 points. I'm not saying we should have stuck by him but sometimes managers need more time to turn things around.

Maloney had a far worse squad to utilise than NM has.

I think Maloney would be doing a better job here than NM is.

18-02-2024, 12:21 PM
I’m still not convinced we won’t be dragged into the play off spot.

We’re awful

18-02-2024, 12:24 PM
Win on Saturday we’ll be top six I reckon. Dundee to play us, Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen twice in their remaining eight games.

Saturday is massive, need a performance.

18-02-2024, 12:35 PM

We’re awful

That's my concern. We play Ross County twice and Livingston in 14 days in March and, ever hopeful, 3 wins should ensure no relegation drama even if we don't make top 6.

18-02-2024, 12:39 PM
That's my concern. We play Ross County twice and Livingston in 14 days in March and, ever hopeful, 3 wins should ensure no relegation drama even if we don't make top 6.

Yep.

I just think we look horrendous at the back and the Livi and Ross County forwards will give us so much trouble.

They’ll both counter our mistakes and put crosses in the box at the earliest opportunity. The new Livi strike Yengi looks a handful and already has a couple of goals.

I also don’t think we create as many chances as others make out

18-02-2024, 12:43 PM
Our next 3 league games will decide our season. If we get at least 6 points (no laughing at the back) we will have a great chance of making the top six. Can we get those points I hope so but really think we will struggle.

Scotty Leither
18-02-2024, 12:53 PM

Nah, not for me. The “patience” card gives the jokers running the club an “out” card. Parity in the Derby fixture, and the odd win at Easter Road against the OF should be the minimum yardstick of progress for a Hibs manager.

18-02-2024, 01:02 PM
We need a settled team

Which is why he should be sacked now, as this coming summer we are loseing a lot of loans and players at the end of their contracts.

Get rid now and do what it takes to get McInnes.

18-02-2024, 01:06 PM

:agree::top marks

18-02-2024, 01:13 PM
We seem to only sign young Centre Backs, who are very quickly found out physically and also have their naivety quickly exposed. Then they’re shipped off on loan or (typically for Hibs) get injured.

They’ll all be bound with one common thread: They’ll have been cheap.

I'd add to that, they should be able to be sold for a profit.

That's what we aim for, not what they can produce on the pitch. Until that changes, we're screwed.

Donegal Hibby
18-02-2024, 01:39 PM
Yep.

I just think we look horrendous at the back and the Livi and Ross County forwards will give us so much trouble.

They’ll both counter our mistakes and put crosses in the box at the earliest opportunity. The new Livi strike Yengi looks a handful and already has a couple of goals.

I also don’t think we create as many chances as others make out

I don't think we will be in any danger of the play off place . Both Livvy and Ross county have lost more goals than us and we have scored more goals than Ross county and almost double the amount Livvy have scored too . Haven't seen the new Livvy striker tbh though very confident our attacking players will cause them even more problems than theres
Will us as well👍.

18-02-2024, 01:42 PM

We’re awful

We’re awful defensively. We’ve got enough going for us elsewhere, as we saw yesterday, to keep us all right. We won’t be in the playoff spot, or in danger of being in it IMO.

Ralphy C
18-02-2024, 02:14 PM
I don't think we will be in any danger of the play off place . Both Livvy and Ross county have lost more goals than us and we have scored more goals than Ross county and almost double the amount Livvy have scored too . Haven't seen the new Livvy striker tbh though very confident our attacking players will cause them even more problems than theres
Will us as well👍. Is that you Mikey?

LunasBoots
18-02-2024, 02:19 PM
No the club has budgeted for certain goals and to reach Europe we are beginning to look like we are going to need to get to the final of the Scottish Cup which will mean getting past Rangers which is hard to see at present, so if the season ends in failure that is ultimatley going to fall on the manager, i imagine Foley will be asking those at the top in the next few months what is going on, how have you got things so badly wrong.

18-02-2024, 02:24 PM
I'd add to that, they should be able to be sold for a profit.

That's what we aim for, not what they can produce on the pitch. Until that changes, we're screwed.

The last time we spent on a good proven centre half was big Rob Jones. We went on and won a cup final in which he scored. The current team is devoid of leaders all over the pitch.

18-02-2024, 02:27 PM
Will us as well👍.

I agree. Livi are truly horrendous this season. However the fact we are even discussing this shows how bad a season this has been for us.

18-02-2024, 02:31 PM
He's made us worse. Shouldn't get another season if we finish bottom 6 and he won't.

18-02-2024, 08:56 PM
I agree. Livi are truly horrendous this season. However the fact we are even discussing this shows how bad a season this has been for us.

Yesterday was Livi's 1st league win since 7th October. Their only other league win this season was at Easter Road back in August.

18-02-2024, 09:22 PM
I wonder if Foley could use all of his player transfer pot on a top English or European manager? Or would this mean simply gambling on someone who had been sacked elsewhere?🤔

19-02-2024, 05:42 PM

I think the undercover Jambos are more likely going to be the one's wanting him to stay and saying he deserves more time, not the ones concerned about our alarming regression under him.

Trinity Hibee
19-02-2024, 05:52 PM
Any Hibs manager who has had 75% of a season and doesn’t make top 6 should be sacked. That is our breaking point IMO.

By that token, if we make top 6 I think he will be given time to get his own players in over the summer.

I imagine all of our fears are that we stumble along to end of this season, whether it’s top or bottom 6, recruit poorly again in the summer and next season is more of the same. I just don’t have confidence in the current setup behind the scenes or the manager I’m afraid.

Bertie Wooster
19-02-2024, 06:25 PM
Any Hibs manager who has had 75% of a season and doesn’t make top 6 should be sacked. That is our breaking point IMO.

By that token, if we make top 6 I think he will be given time to get his own players in over the summer.

I imagine all of our fears are that we stumble along to end of this season, whether it’s top or bottom 6, recruit poorly again in the summer and next season is more of the same. I just don’t have confidence in the current setup behind the scenes or the manager I’m afraid.

I think like many jobs nowadays , he would have KPIs. This may be league position or win % but should have some measurement of what is seen as success , it shouldn't have to wait until the end of a season.

I see many of the players in the squad as being a position to move on at the end of the season , be that the high earners who's contract is ended or loan players who can be returned to their clubs.
NM is in the same boat and personally I think he is more of a steward in the role rather than a long term choice. I dont see him being in place for next season and unless he wins the cup dont reckon he will keep his job.
His only saving grace is that there has been too much turnover in managers recently for Hibs to look like they are emptying yet another manager , but also the Hibs job is not as attractive as it should be so there wont be a lot of high calibe candidates lining up for the role.

19-02-2024, 06:29 PM

Behind the scenes could be a bigger worry than the manager

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2024, 06:47 PM

Jack Ross finished 7th in his first year and went on after that to finish 3rd . Just saying.

Hibeesdaft16
19-02-2024, 06:49 PM
Jack Ross finished 7th in his first year and went on after that to finish 3rd . Just saying.

The league was cut short and he took over with us bottom of the league. A bit of a difference. Progress was made.

Paulie Walnuts
19-02-2024, 06:52 PM
I think the undercover Jambos are more likely going to be the one's wanting him to stay and saying he deserves more time, not the ones concerned about our alarming regression under him.

I always find the idea that folk think that those who want rid of the underperforming manager are Hearts fans bizarre. For example, when Hearts were underperforming under Daniel Stendel, the last thing I wanted was them sacking him.

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2024, 06:52 PM
The league was cut short and he took over with us bottom of the league. A bit of a difference. Progress was made.

Still finished out of the top 6 though and over the last 3 games we have improved so maybe there's a possibility we will make progress between now and the end of the season , no? .

19-02-2024, 06:55 PM
I think like many jobs nowadays , he would have KPIs. This may be league position or win % but should have some measurement of what is seen as success , it shouldn't have to wait until the end of a season.

I see many of the players in the squad as being a position to move on at the end of the season , be that the high earners who's contract is ended or loan players who can be returned to their clubs.
NM is in the same boat and personally I think he is more of a steward in the role rather than a long term choice. I dont see him being in place for next season and unless he wins the cup dont reckon he will keep his job.
His only saving grace is that there has been too much turnover in managers recently for Hibs to look like they are emptying yet another manager , but also the Hibs job is not as attractive as it should be so there wont be a lot of high calibe candidates lining up for the role.
There still needs to be an arbitrary line for the measurement. End of season is as good a place for that as any. Of course if one of those targets is top six the line doesn’t matter as the target is missed. Same goes for % wins. There will be a time where the target is exceeded or missed.

19-02-2024, 06:55 PM
And that seventh was only because the season was decided on points average which meant we were fractionally behind St Johnstone who had played a game fewer, with said game being a trip to Ibrox, despite having more points.

Definite asterisk there.

Hibeesdaft16
19-02-2024, 07:37 PM
Still finished out of the top 6 though and over the last 3 games we have improved so maybe there's a possibility we will make progress between now and the end of the season , no? .

There was instant improvement in the side when Ross took over.

Surely you aren't comparing JR's first season in charge to this shambles? :confused::confused:

Trinity Hibee
19-02-2024, 07:40 PM

Surely you aren't comparing JR's first season in charge to this shambles? :confused::confused:

I don’t get it either

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2024, 08:07 PM

I'm not denying Ross improved us even though he finished 7th in his first season . I said to you over the last 3 games our performances have improved and was it not maybe a possibility we could make progress from now to the end of the season too ? . It was only a simple question which you seemed to avoid for some reason :confused:

19-02-2024, 08:18 PM
I might be wrong but were we not 6th when the season was cut short but demoted a place due to PPG?

Hibeesdaft16
19-02-2024, 08:19 PM
I'm not denying Ross improved us even though he finished 7th in his first season . I said to you over the last 3 games our performances have improved and was it not maybe a possibility we could make progress from now to the end of the season too ? . It was only a simple question which you seemed to avoid for some reason :confused:

The league was cut short before the split, we were actually in the top six before they cancelled the league. Ross came into the club in the middle of November and the season was cut short in March. He came into the club second bottom of the league after 12 games, a month later we turned hertz over at the pbs.

In fact Jack Ross is the perfect example, he didn't need time, he didn't need a transfer window to turn around our fortunes. Why was that? Because he was a good manager. Our current one has taken a squad that finished 5th last season and made it even worse than that joker Johnson had us. Johnson was sacked because it wasn't good enough and for someone to come in and get more of the squad of players we have, Monty has failed. There's no improvement at all.

Our last 3 league games we have won none of them so where is the upturn in fortune coming from? Still the same defensive shambles every week and we seem to be draw specialists against teams around us (if we dinnae lose). There's nothing shown at all to indicate we will go on a run to make Europe this season.

Hibeesdaft16
19-02-2024, 08:20 PM
I might be wrong but were we not 6th when the season was cut short but demoted a place due to PPG?

Yep.

19-02-2024, 08:44 PM

The league was cut short before the split, we were actually in the top six before they cancelled the league. Ross came into the club in the middle of November and the season was cut short in March. He came into the club second bottom of the league after 12 games, a month later we turned hertz over at the pbs.

In fact Jack Ross is the perfect example, he didn't need time, he didn't need a transfer window to turn around our fortunes. Why was that? Because he was a good manager. Our current one has taken a squad that finished 5th last season and made it even worse than that joker Johnson had us. Johnson was sacked because it wasn't good enough and for someone to come in and get more of the squad of players we have, Monty has failed. There's no improvement at all.

Our last 3 league games we have won none of them so where is the upturn in fortune coming from? Still the same defensive shambles every week and we seem to be draw specialists against teams around us (if we dinnae lose). There's nothing shown at all to indicate we will go on a run to make Europe this season.

Where are you getting your info from? Wherever it is, it is incorrect info. You're wrong both times, we were 8th when he took over and we finished the season 7th (after St Johnstone went above us on ppg).

Hibeesdaft16
19-02-2024, 08:53 PM
Where are you getting your info from? Wherever it is, it is incorrect info. You're wrong both times, we were 8th when he took over and we finished the season 7th (after St Johnstone went above us on ppg).

Oh yes, sorry. We came off 11th with a 3-0 win in Perth once Hecky got sacked.

The season wasn't finished and the improvement was massive from when he took over.

There has been no improvement under Monty, we have gotten worse.

Sparrows tongue
19-02-2024, 09:20 PM
Oh yes, sorry. We came off 11th with a 3-0 win in Perth once Hecky got sacked.

The season wasn't finished and the improvement was massive from when he took over.

There has been no improvement under Monty, we have gotten worse.

346 posts in under 19 days?

Wow, that’s good going! :aok:

Do you ever leave the house, see real people, meet pals, notice the grass, look to the skies?

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2024, 09:37 PM

The last 3 games we have played very well against the champions, had a comfortable win in a tricky away game in the cup and went to pittodrie and got a decent result. We are unlucky in two of them that the results weren't better due to circumstances the manager has no control over either .

We have new players in that's needed time to get up to speed / settle in and gel with there new teammates . I think we are beginning to see that now and hopefully we will see an improvement from now to the end of the season with Monty then getting a summer transfer window and a pre season with the team which he hasn't had yet .

19-02-2024, 09:42 PM
The last 3 games we have played very well against the champions, had a comfortable win in a tricky away game in the cup and went to pittodrie and got a decent result. We are unlucky in two of them that the results weren't better due to circumstances the manager has no control over either .

We have new players in that's needed time to get up to speed / settle in and gel with there new teammates . I think we are beginning to see that now and hopefully we will see an improvement from now to the end of the season with Monty then getting a summer transfer window and a pre season with the team which he hasn't had yet .

You also need to factor in that in these games we have been wrongly not given potentially four penalties. One in Saints, two v Celtic and one on Saturday. Huge context

19-02-2024, 09:44 PM
I simply cannot believe we are in the potion we are in.

ST holder for years, family is growing this year and I genuinely don't think I'll be renewing. The Gordons have overseen a significant downfall in the footballing department at the club and I simply have zero confidence in the people running the club.

We will finish bottom six this year. Monty will get the sack and, unbelievably, we will be yet again searching for a manager with no signs of progress. The last 4/5 years or so have just been the most dull and hopeless experience and I see no hope of meaningful change.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

19-02-2024, 09:47 PM

ST holder for years, family is growing this year and I genuinely don't think I'll be renewing. The Gordons have overseen a significant downfall in the footballing department at the club and I simply have zero confidence in the people running the club.

We will finish bottom six this year. Monty will get the sack and, unbelievably, we will be yet again searching for a manager with no signs of progress. The last 4/5 years or so have just been the most dull and hopeless experience and I see no hope of meaningful change.

I see six million reasons to expect change.

The Black knights aren't giving us that cash without expecting an improvement in our fortunes. And ask the last Bournemouth manager O'Neil about their expectations.

19-02-2024, 09:52 PM
I see six million reasons to expect change.

The Black knights aren't giving us that cash without expecting an improvement in our fortunes. And ask the last Bournemouth manager O'Neil about their expectations.That money isn't going to the playing squad, but even if it was we're giving it to a group of people who have definitively proven since they bought the club that they haven't got a clue how to run the football department.

Bakerman
19-02-2024, 09:57 PM
That money isn't going to the playing squad, but even if it was we're giving it to a group of people who have definitively proven since they bought the club that they haven't got a clue how to run the football department.

You're unfortunately forgetting the very sad fact that Ron passed away. The Black Knights are coming in with serious money, and it will transform the club. Change is coming, hopefully good change is afoot.

19-02-2024, 10:05 PM
Its all relevant. If we end up just missing out by a point and var continues to duck us over along with a good showing in the cup then who knows.

Finish 7/8 points behind 6th or even worse along with a humping in the cup say 4-0 then he will be gone.

19-02-2024, 10:28 PM
That money isn't going to the playing squad, but even if it was we're giving it to a group of people who have definitively proven since they bought the club that they haven't got a clue how to run the football department.

Where did you hear that? Maybe not the full £6m but I heard Bill Foley say a few million would.

McGruber
21-02-2024, 07:44 AM

You were wrong - we finish top 6
We pip Aberdeen by goal difference and both 3 points above Dundee who finish 8th.

We beat Dundee, Ross Co twice, Livi, St J & Motherwell before the split. We win 6 out of last 8 which many predicted - which incredibly was more league wins than Monty managed the whole season before this run of games.

Lost to Rangers away not helped by VAR but that was always likely after we emptied them out the cup at Easter Road earlier.

We compounded Aberdeen's misery by getting revenge in the Scottish cup semi final

Currently, arguments are ensuing on Hibs net about bravado and false bravado with some claiming it would be better if Celtic win this other semi final v Hearts as although less chance of a win in the final - the ticker can't handle the occasion. The mood not helped by latest derby collapse at Tynie in the league.

21-02-2024, 07:48 AM

You are just making that up. But yeh prob best if you give the team a miss for a while. :aok:

21-02-2024, 08:54 AM

I wouldn't have any issues with McInnes, though he wouldn't necessarily be my first choice. The Aberdeen support seem split on whether they'd want him back or not, going by their forum, and from the coupler of Aberdeen fans I'm friends with, one would have him back in a heartbeat, three other wouldn't touch him with a bargepole.

You can make a strong case for McInnes, and I wouldn't be against us going for him. It's the safe option, to be honest.

I think, though, that there's a whole world of football managers out there. If we're saying that, out of everyone, McInnes is the best available then throw everything at getting him.

I don't have any issue with us casting the net further afield though, do out homework, use Bournemouth's network etc and see if there's better. McInnes had a reputation for bottling the biggest games at Aberdeen, we saw the damage that reputation did to Jack Ross when he was here.

I don't think McInnes' **** sparkles as much as some make out, as good as he is.

21-02-2024, 07:09 PM
I wouldn't have any issues with McInnes, though he wouldn't necessarily be my first choice. The Aberdeen support seem split on whether they'd want him back or not, going by their forum, and from the coupler of Aberdeen fans I'm friends with, one would have him back in a heartbeat, three other wouldn't touch him with a bargepole.

You can make a strong case for McInnes, and I wouldn't be against us going for him. It's the safe option, to be honest.

I think, though, that there's a whole world of football managers out there. If we're saying that, out of everyone, McInnes is the best available then throw everything at getting him.

I don't have any issue with us casting the net further afield though, do out homework, use Bournemouth's network etc and see if there's better. McInnes had a reputation for bottling the biggest games at Aberdeen, we saw the damage that reputation did to Jack Ross when he was here.

I don't think McInnes' **** sparkles as much as some make out, as good as he is.

My comment wasn’t related to longbangers I’ve asked the question about McInnes before and all answered a few episodes ago fairly and accurately

Appreciate you responding

I get the point about a wider network etc with the foley impact

I just think we have tried the experiments and the off the radar appointments

It’s time simply to get back to basics. Solid reputable manager, Jack Ross was probably the last appointment closest to this and I think mcinnes stock and experience is far superior to when we appointed Ross.

For the record I think mcinnes would bite your hand off for the hibs job, no knowledge just a hunch.

jakeshibs
22-02-2024, 05:57 AM

Whilst I would be extremely disappointed to finish in the bottom 6, i have seen signs of progress in his team and therefore would be willing to give him another season to consolidate, as the constant change of managers we have experienced has not brought us much joy or stability and i am fed up with the revolving door sacking managers if we dont bring instant success

jakeshibs
22-02-2024, 06:01 AM

Disagree completely with the statement about the Gordons, they have pumped more money into the club than anyone I know over the past 50 years supporting hibs, they have made money available to not only sign players but to retain players.

22-02-2024, 07:07 AM
Disagree completely with the statement about the Gordons, they have pumped more money into the club than anyone I know over the past 50 years supporting hibs, they have made money available to not only sign players but to retain players.You're not wrong, but all that extra money has been woefully mismanaged and in the hands of the wrong people. Doesn't matter how much money we have if we don't use it wisely.

For the record, I don't doubt that the Gordons have good intentions, never have, but they've proven over the last 5 years or so that they don't know how to successfully run the footballing operation.

Chipper1875
22-02-2024, 07:51 AM
Disagree completely with the statement about the Gordons, they have pumped more money into the club than anyone I know over the past 50 years supporting hibs, they have made money available to not only sign players but to retain players.

They have not “pumped in” more than farmer in his circa 29 years as owner

22-02-2024, 08:09 AM
Successive Boards/CEOs/and managers who think they’re doing us a favour managing us have had that mindset too, it’s embedded at the club.

Hope Foley and his backers set a higher standard.

Who are you referring to?

The Baldmans Comb
22-02-2024, 08:38 AM
[QUOTE=jakeshibs;7592520]Disagree completely with the statement about the Gordons, they have pumped more money into the club than anyone I know over the past 50 years supporting hibs, they have made money available to not only sign players but to retain players.[/QUOTE

They havent put in a penny since the opening working capital injection of £1.5m and have funded everything by selling players or building up debt.

Thats not a criticism either as its the business model they have choice to adopt.

They are relying on Foley to put in the real money and its to their credit they have got this far as does the debt for equity proposed swap.

22-02-2024, 08:51 AM

Black knights will indirectly be putting way more than the first 6mill in. That was just a figure to shut the SFA up.

5months of Marcondes wages is prob close to half a mill.

22-02-2024, 08:54 AM
[QUOTE=jakeshibs;7592520]Disagree completely with the statement about the Gordons, they have pumped more money into the club than anyone I know over the past 50 years supporting hibs, they have made money available to not only sign players but to retain players.[/QUOTE

They havent put in a penny since the opening working capital injection of £1.5m and have funded everything by selling players or building up debt.

Thats not a criticism either as its the business model they have choice to adopt.

They are relying on Foley to put in the real money and its to their credit they have got this far as does the debt for equity proposed swap.

Not following your logic here. They have put in money. That's the loan that is in our accounts, which is now to be converted into shares.

The BK will probably do similar. Initially shares, followed up by loans.

22-02-2024, 09:29 AM
[QUOTE=The Baldmans Comb;7592600]

Not following your logic here. They have put in money. That's the loan that is in our accounts, which is now to be converted into shares.

The BK will probably do similar. Initially shares, followed up by loans.

This is why so many are concerned.

The club has its protection lost (fans with a meaningful stake) for the sake of (widely reported) £6M.

Then we continue as normal with the Black Knights providing loans instead of the Gordons.

Fwiw, I have went over this many times, but I would be reticent to give the Gordons *much* credit for providing Hibs with loans.

hibeerealist
22-02-2024, 09:37 AM
We pip Aberdeen by goal difference and both 3 points above Dundee who finish 8th.

We beat Dundee, Ross Co twice, Livi, St J & Motherwell before the split. We win 6 out of last 8 which many predicted - which incredibly was more league wins than Monty managed the whole season before this run of games.

Lost to Rangers away not helped by VAR but that was always likely after we emptied them out the cup at Easter Road earlier.

We compounded Aberdeen's misery by getting revenge in the Scottish cup semi final

Currently, arguments are ensuing on Hibs net about bravado and false bravado with some claiming it would be better if Celtic win this other semi final v Hearts as although less chance of a win in the final - the ticker can't handle the occasion. The mood not helped by latest derby collapse at Tynie in the league.

If only..............but............sadly..........

22-02-2024, 11:36 AM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;7592608]

This is why so many are concerned.

The club has its protection lost (fans with a meaningful stake) for the sake of (widely reported) £6M.

Then we continue as normal with the Black Knights providing loans instead of the Gordons.

Fwiw, I have went over this many times, but I would be reticent to give the Gordons *much* credit for providing Hibs with loans.

Would you give them any credit for converting the loans into shares?

Chipper1875
22-02-2024, 11:48 AM
[QUOTE=Alex Trager;7592633]

Would you give them any credit for converting the loans into shares?

They had to if wanted BK investment. Also, running up
Seven million debt can be argued it was as result of mismanagement by the Gordon’s

jakeshibs
22-02-2024, 12:20 PM

they have put a considerable amount into the playing squad just to keep our talent, and they continue to fund our dreams we should give credit where it is due, the money spent agreed could have been spent better but you cant fault the Gordons for not funding our ambitions

22-02-2024, 12:32 PM
No, bottom six is unacceptable. I have supported him all the way along, but it has got harder and harder. Now it just hope that somehow he manages an upturn.

22-02-2024, 12:47 PM

I'm on board this train too btw

Will Fish headed winner vs the the rangers
Get the Cranberries zombie on my radio🏆

22-02-2024, 01:44 PM
[QUOTE=The Baldmans Comb;7592600]

they have put a considerable amount into the playing squad just to keep our talent, and they continue to fund our dreams we should give credit where it is due, the money spent agreed could have been spent better but you cant fault the Gordons for not funding our ambitions
But you can fault them for not appointing the right people into the roles that could of helped us realise our dreams

22-02-2024, 02:21 PM
I remember after Maloney left what came out of the club was that it was recognised a mistake had been made and while we don't want to sack a manager, there is no point continuing on when you know you have the wrong man. Feels like we get back to this position so quickly and so regularly.

I'm not giving up on NM yet, but I am another one that was convinced three managers ago that McInnes would be a good fit. And I would have confidence giving someone like that time also even when it's not going so well - it is easier to give a guy time with a track record of results at this level.

6 wins from 26 games. 13pts from 13games at home, 14 goals scored. For a team that still carries the tag of having options going forward that is totally damning.

22-02-2024, 02:30 PM
[QUOTE=flash;7592697]

They had to if wanted BK investment. Also, running up
Seven million debt can be argued it was as result of mismanagement by the Gordon’s

7 million?

Trinity Hibee
22-02-2024, 02:49 PM
I remember after Maloney left what came out of the club was that it was recognised a mistake had been made and while we don't want to sack a manager, there is no point continuing on when you know you have the wrong man. Feels like we get back to this position so quickly and so regularly.

I'm not giving up on NM yet, but I am another one that was convinced three managers ago that McInnes would be a good fit. And I would have confidence giving someone like that time also even when it's not going so well - it is easier to give a guy time with a track record of results at this level.

6 wins from 26 games. 13pts from 13games at home, 14 goals scored. For a team that still carries the tag of having options going forward that is totally damning.

Those stats at the bottom are utterly horrific for a club of our stature.

22-02-2024, 06:59 PM
[QUOTE=Chipper1875;7592709]

7 million?

News to me thought it was 3 .5 million quoted in accounts

22-02-2024, 07:13 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;7592786]

News to me thought it was 3 .5 million quoted in accounts

£5.7m is the amount in the AGM papers for the equity-swap.

Chipper1875
22-02-2024, 07:17 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;7592896]

£5.7m is the amount in the AGM papers for the equity-swap.

Debt stands at around £7 million, with around £5 million of that the funding of losses that is owed to the Gordon family.

“As supporters now know, the Gordon family is swapping its £5 million debt for shares, which is a really generous gesture, and the Club will be left with less than £2 million of Covid relief debt from the Government, which has zero interest and is repayable over 20 years. Financially we’re in a good place.”

THAT IS WHAT l LIFTED FROM THE EDINBURGH INQUIRY ARTICLE. THE FIVE MILLION IS AT ODDS WITH THE OFFICAL AGM PAPERS. THIS REINFORCES POINTS l WAS MAKING. AND l WAS TOLD JOIN DOTS aAND READ PRESS ARTICLES TO FIND OUT WHAT IS Happening

22-02-2024, 07:32 PM
Debt stands at around £7 million, with around £5 million of that the funding of losses that is owed to the Gordon family.

“As supporters now know, the Gordon family is swapping its £5 million debt for shares, which is a really generous gesture, and the Club will be left with less than £2 million of Covid relief debt from the Government, which has zero interest and is repayable over 20 years. Financially we’re in a good place.”

THAT IS WHAT l LIFTED FROM THE EDINBURGH INQUIRY ARTICLE. THE FIVE MILLION IS AT ODDS WITH THE OFFICAL AGM PAPERS. THIS REINFORCES POINTS l WAS MAKING. AND l WAS TOLD JOIN DOTS aAND READ PRESS ARTICLES TO FIND OUT WHAT IS Happening

What that tells me is that the Gordons have gone from having £5m that they could call in at any time at Hibs' expense to having £5m that they can't touch unless they sell their shares which won't cost Hibs a penny. Even then how much they get depends on how successful we are so it's in their interests to have a successful team.

So it looks like a good deal to me.

22-02-2024, 07:36 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;7592904]

It isn't. That's what is in the AGM papers. Resolution 4.

You seem to be suggesting that the Covid loan is the fault of the Board. Are you?

Your point about the loan "funding the losses" is not wholly correct, either. Page 13 of the accounts shows us what the loan funded. In round terms, £4.8m of infrastructure.

And no need to shout :greengrin

Chipper1875
22-02-2024, 07:43 PM
[QUOTE=Chipper1875;7592905]

It isn't. That's what is in the AGM papers. Resolution 4.

You seem to be suggesting that the Covid loan is the fault of the Board. Are you?

Your point about the loan "funding the losses" is not wholly correct, either. Page 13 of the accounts shows us what the loan funded. In round terms, £4.8m of infrastructure.

And no need to shout :greengrin

FFS lm suggesting nothing. All
I did was copy and pasted the article . You questioned the £7m figure and said £5.7 debt for equity figure.

22-02-2024, 07:47 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;7592912]

FFS lm suggesting nothing. All
I did was copy and pasted the article . You questioned the £7m figure and said £5.7 debt for equity figure.

The reason I queried it was because you suggested it was the Board's fault for running up £7m of debt. While you may have a point about the £5m, blame can't be laid on them for the Covid loan.

Any thoughts about my other points?

Chipper1875
22-02-2024, 07:49 PM
[QUOTE=Chipper1875;7592915]

The reason I queried it was because you suggested it was the Board's fault for running up £7m of debt. While you may have a point about the £5m, blame can't be laid on them for the Covid loan.

Any thoughts about my other points?
The board are responsible for the debt. Nobody else can be responsible. Re covid loan they decided to take that loan . Interest free so can see the attraction of it .

22-02-2024, 07:51 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;7592917]
The board are responsible for the debt. Nobody else can be responsible. Re covid loan they decided to take that loan . Interest free so can see the attraction of it .

Do you accept that the loan wasn't primarily to fund losses?

And that the AGM papers have the correct amount?