View Full Version : NHC Stokes

Gaffer1875
16-02-2024, 10:00 PM
Not looking good for him, will always be a hero but Christ he needs a shake.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/ex-celtic-star-anthony-stokes-32144270.amp

16-02-2024, 10:37 PM
He's been an absolute tool his whole life.
He just happened to have a talent for football.
He'll always be remembered for his contribution to the Cup win - but he's still a knob.

vuefrom1875
16-02-2024, 10:42 PM
He's been an absolute tool his whole life.
He just happened to have a talent for football.
He'll always be remembered for his contribution to the Cup win - but he's still a knob.

Yet another maverick with huge talent in a hibs Jersey...finest game he ever played was in 2016.

16-02-2024, 10:48 PM
What a waste of his life/talent after 21.05.16. Always grateful for what he gave us that day, but my god, how his life has gone since then, its sad.

16-02-2024, 11:57 PM
Was hoping we'd signed him again.

17-02-2024, 12:28 AM
Was hoping we'd signed him again.

Pay his bail money and Bob's yer aunties live in lover...

17-02-2024, 12:32 AM
Pay his bail money and Bob's yer aunties live in lover...

Shall we start a Go Fund Me?

PHeffernan
17-02-2024, 12:42 AM
24ct Fanny

17-02-2024, 12:46 AM
Doris Stokes would walk into our midfield.

Get it done Hibs, cross her palm with silver.

17-02-2024, 06:02 AM
No Anthony Stokes no Scottish cup. Legend.

17-02-2024, 06:24 AM
35 year old, out the game at any serious level for years and looking at jail time in both Scotland and Ireland.

Will forever be a Hibs legend but further proof that the days of still being able to be 'one of the boys' and a professional athlete with any kind of career longevity are long gone.

Trinity Hibee
17-02-2024, 06:24 AM
What is it with news websites nowadays? Can barely read an article due to the page constantly jumping around because of adverts. Gave up reading this

Crunchie
17-02-2024, 07:34 AM
We'd still be waiting on a Scottish Cup win had it not been for Stokesy , he could commit a murder and it wouldn't change my opinion of the man. Good luck in changing your life around my man :aok:

17-02-2024, 08:17 AM
What is it with news websites nowadays? Can barely read an article due to the page constantly jumping around because of adverts. Gave up reading this

They’re running out of money

17-02-2024, 08:30 AM
Part time legend, full time tit.

17-02-2024, 08:33 AM
He still has charges in Ireland to answer too I think
- I'm not sure if this is 100% but I think I read he was caught in posession of a chunky bag of cocaine after trying to escape the police who were stopping him for speeding

If he has addiction problems he should go to rehab - might help with more lenient sentencing too maybe

17-02-2024, 08:37 AM
The guy clearly has mental health issues, makes you wonder who around him is any positive influence. I suppose if he won’t be helped he can’t🤷🏼

17-02-2024, 08:47 AM
What a shame. He always seemed like such a nice guy.

Tommy75
17-02-2024, 08:56 AM
We'd still be waiting on a Scottish Cup win had it not been for Stokesy , he could commit a murder and it wouldn't change my opinion of the man. Good luck in changing your life around my man :aok:

OTT post.

Like every Hibs fan, I'll always be grateful for his contribution to us winning the cup but he doesn't come across as a very nice guy or role model for youngsters.

17-02-2024, 08:58 AM
Undoubted Ability was up for it in final shame he didn’t do that more often

SJNB Hibby
17-02-2024, 08:59 AM
OTT post.

Like every Hibs fan, I'll always be grateful for his contribution to us winning the cup but he doesn't come across as a very nice guy or role model for youngsters.

Agreed, the terrorised girlfriend would have happily switched out our Cup win for a more peaceful life

SickBoy32
17-02-2024, 09:08 AM
Hibernian legend , nothing more needs said. 🏆

17-02-2024, 09:19 AM

It wouldn't change mine either.

I'll always be grateful for that performance, possibly the best individual performance I've seen, but I can very easily separate Stokes the cup winner from Stokes the unpleasant person.

17-02-2024, 09:33 AM
Very sad to hear of this.

While blessed with a footballing talent, it doesn’t sound like has been blessed with family or mentors to help steer him on a path out of trouble and to a life where football could have made that a prosperous and comfortable one.

If there’s anything Hibs can do to help Anthony Stokes I’d like to think we would.

17-02-2024, 09:37 AM
I guess this is confirmation that the reports on social media a few weeks ago about his untimely demise were indeed false. Unless it was a zombie version of him that rocked up to the police station.

Jpdhfc
17-02-2024, 10:08 AM
the story goes after the cup final phoned his dad who said very good son why don't you play like that every week

17-02-2024, 10:09 AM
It's unforgivable what he's put his girlfriend and her family through.

17-02-2024, 10:13 AM

17-02-2024, 10:53 AM
Yet another maverick with huge talent in a hibs Jersey...finest game he ever played was in 2016.

I wonder through non-Hibs tinted specs if this still proved to be his finest hour? Cant recall if he was actually benched for many of the key Celtic games?

17-02-2024, 11:01 AM
I will always be grateful to him for the Scottish Cup Final. He was unlucky not to score five or six that day and I will never witness a better performance in a cup final than that.

It has to be said however I fear for the guy.

He has done a lot wrong and in some cases indefensible but the guy really needs help, thing is I don't think he would pay any heed.

17-02-2024, 11:04 AM
I wonder through non-Hibs tinted specs if this still proved to be his finest hour? Cant recall if he was actually benched for many of the key Celtic games?

He was MOTM in the 2013 final against us aswell

17-02-2024, 12:35 PM
After 21.05.16 he was interviewed about getting back in favour with Celtic with Brendon Rodgers just appointed (first time), and he seemed optimistic about that.

Gave us some of our greatest memories and will always be a legend for that.

Torto7
17-02-2024, 01:36 PM
Stokes off the pitch is and always has been an utter fanny. Most of his mates are a who's who of ****** "gangsters" here and over the Irish Sea. Jails the best place for him.

17-02-2024, 04:38 PM
Legend , its a football forum no a gossip column.

Sloop67
17-02-2024, 04:55 PM
Football , sport and life in general is littered with people like this. It always seems to me that some of the people blessed with great talent are the ones who are least well equipped to deal with it , I'm not entirely sure that a spell inside will help him or not , I guess that would depend on what happens when he's released, if he is jailed that is

17-02-2024, 05:20 PM
Part time legend, full time tit.

In a nutshell. It's not like he's on charges of pissing up a close when drunk or something.

Sounds like an absolute walloper but one can't forget 21.05.2016 entirely

17-02-2024, 05:26 PM
Very sad to hear of this.

While blessed with a footballing talent, it doesn’t sound like has been blessed with family or mentors to help steer him on a path out of trouble and to a life where football could have made that a prosperous and comfortable one.

If there’s anything Hibs can do to help Anthony Stokes I’d like to think we would.

I think its commendable to want to rehabilitate people. But the whole domestic violence, coercive control thing just makes me think he's a ****.

17-02-2024, 06:50 PM
I think its commendable to want to rehabilitate people. But the whole domestic violence, coercive control thing just makes me think he's a ****.

I must admit to not being fully aware of the ins and outs or magnitude of the charges he’s facing in UK.

The Irish offences must be sailing close to a custodial sentence over there as well.

17-02-2024, 07:11 PM
Yes, he was an important part of winning the cup, but a legend? For me that has to fully encompass the man, not just his feet.

He’s not worthy of consideration alongside our actual legends. He’s an idiot on his 8th chance, born with talents many would kill for and he wasted them.

VoltaireHibs
17-02-2024, 07:46 PM
Is, always has been, and always will be an absolute ****bag. Always felt his performance in the final had nothing to do with wanting Hibs to win and everything to do with stopping Rangers. If we'd been playing Aberdeen I'd lay money he'd have been a shiftless showpony and barely tried a leg as per usual. Cannot stand the guy.

Folk on here calling him a legend and would forgive him anything for that day, have a word with yourselves and grow the ****** up, the guys a domestic abuser, amongst other things. Pat Stanton is a legend, Franck Sauzee is a legend, Jimmy o Rourke is a legend. And every one of them absolute gentlemen. Stokes couldn't lace their boots and doesn't deserve to be named in their company.

And for those saying he has mental health problems, no he doesn't, he's a d**khead wanna be gangster.

Mcbizz1998
17-02-2024, 08:27 PM
Yes, he was an important part of winning the cup, but a legend? For me that has to fully encompass the man, not just his feet.

He’s not worthy of consideration alongside our actual legends. He’s an idiot on his 8th chance, born with talents many would kill for and he wasted them.

Agree. He appears to be a complete ****bag. To mention him alongside Stanton, the famous 5, David Gray and other legends of our club doesn’t sit well with me. He is a Celtic man, always was, always will be - no surprise he is a complete ned.

Torto7
17-02-2024, 09:19 PM
Is, always has been, and always will be an absolute ****bag. Always felt his performance in the final had nothing to do with wanting Hibs to win and everything to do with stopping Rangers. If we'd been playing Aberdeen I'd lay money he'd have been a shiftless showpony and barely tried a leg as per usual. Cannot stand the guy.

Folk on here calling him a legend and would forgive him anything for that day, have a word with yourselves and grow the ****** up, the guys a domestic abuser, amongst other things. Pat Stanton is a legend, Franck Sauzee is a legend, Jimmy o Rourke is a legend. And every one of them absolute gentlemen. Stokes couldn't lace their boots and doesn't deserve to be named in their company.

And for those saying he has mental health problems, no he doesn't, he's a d**khead wanna be gangster.

He's a prick but I don't think that's accurate at all.

17-02-2024, 09:31 PM

Glad it’s not just me that hasn’t time for him

hibbydog
17-02-2024, 09:53 PM
Best individual performance from a Hibs player in living memory.

Utter horror of a human being

Greensunshine
18-02-2024, 12:18 AM
Remanded in custody after flying from a different country to hand himself in for sending offensive messages??? WTF??

There’s guys who commit far more serious crimes and get bailed.

The justice system in this country is broken!

Stokesy will always be a legend in my mind 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 12:25 AM
Very sad to read of this. My brother and I hadn't long taken our seats when we watched Stokes sublimely score our first at Hampden that beautiful day. Always be a Cup winning legend. Needs help on a road to recovery, hope he gets it.

andrew70
18-02-2024, 12:29 AM
Anthony Stokes. Hibs legend.

Some of the revisionism on here is mental.

He’s handed himself in, he’ll face the law and rehabilitate at a later date. Good luck to him. I hope he finds peace.

hibbydog
18-02-2024, 05:17 AM

He’s handed himself in, he’ll face the law and rehabilitate at a later date. Good luck to him. I hope he finds peace.

Revisionism? You’re not allowed to change your mind on something when you get new information?

18-02-2024, 08:05 AM

Quite hard to argue with any this. Would he be a legend if he was terrorising your sister or daughter?

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 10:36 AM
He's a prick but I don't think that's accurate at all.

Each to our own opinion. We all have our thoughts on players motivations. 👍

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 10:40 AM
Quite hard to argue with any this. Would he be a legend if he was terrorising your sister or daughter?

Exactly, some folk need to give themselves a shake. The cup final was incredible, and yes he played out of his skin, but I'd happily not have won the cup if it meant he'd never played for us. This is just a game, his ex girlfriend went through hell. People saying they can separate the player from the performance? Yeah, I get that for minor misdemeanours, but domestic violence over a prolonged period? Absolutely terrorising a young woman? Nah.

18-02-2024, 11:27 AM
I'd happily not have won the cup if it meant he'd never played for us.

Surely no?

18-02-2024, 11:39 AM

This. Football is just a game. Lots of hero's when we won the cup and I'll reserve the word legend for a guy like David Gray.

Can't believe the number of people happy to look the other way on what he's done. He's not a daft laddie that had one too many beers and made a mistake - there is a pattern of behaviour here and he seems like a nasty piece of work.

But he gets a pass and beers bought for him cause he played a good game of football for us. He also doesn't give a **** about Hibs.

If wonder if folk would be so generous if he'd treated their sister or daughter like this?

18-02-2024, 01:14 PM
Remanded in custody after flying from a different country to hand himself in for sending offensive messages??? WTF??

for him to be remanded, a threshold has been met - especially for domestic. Wolloper.

LewysGot2
18-02-2024, 01:21 PM
for him to be remanded, a threshold has been met - especially for domestic. Wolloper.

Been remanded as he's gone on the run several times in the last year, not keeping to bail conditions and going on social media to taunt the police and others about him having gone on the run. Came back last October to hand himself in, attended SDGs dinner (though left early after another wee drama) and left Scotland again against his release conditions...meaning he didn't show for the SDG testimonial he'd signed up to a few weeks later.

He's not complied with conditions on several occasions and left the country each time. They arrested him last summer in NI when there was intelligence reported he was in Belfast. UK police were able to intervene and he was arrested and brought back to Scotland

This isn't a one off.

MelbourneHibees
18-02-2024, 01:23 PM
Legend? Would he get a spot in the Hall of Fame? I certainly hope not.

18-02-2024, 01:24 PM
Been remanded as he's gone on the run several times in the last year, not keeping to bail conditions and going on social media to taunt the police and others about him having gone on the run. Came back last October to hand himself in, attended SDGs dinner (though left early after another wee drama) and left Scotland again against his release conditions...meaning he didn't show for the SDG testimonial he'd signed up to a few weeks later.

He's not complied with conditions on several occasions and left the country each time. They arrested him last summer in NI when there was intelligence reported he was in Belfast. UK police were able to intervene and he was arrested and brought back to Scotland

This isn't a one off.

Indeed. As i say; wolloper!

18-02-2024, 01:34 PM

This isn't a one off.
What was the drama at the testimonial dinner?

Sparrows tongue
18-02-2024, 02:43 PM
Exactly, some folk need to give themselves a shake. The cup final was incredible, and yes he played out of his skin, but I’d happily not have won the cup if it meant he'd never played for us. This is just a game, his ex girlfriend went through hell. People saying they can separate the player from the performance? Yeah, I get that for minor misdemeanours, but domestic violence over a prolonged period? Absolutely terrorising a young woman? Nah.

Surely not? :confused:

Why don’t you just forget he was in the team that wonderful day?

I realise that his ‘crimes’ are well out of order, and that he is obviously troubled and/or a ****bag, but he helped us lift the SC, and for that alone, we should be eternally grateful.

LunasBoots
18-02-2024, 02:53 PM

Hes had multiple chances to do simple things like turn up at court and has failed multiple times, wasn't going to get away with it time and time again.

Paul1642
18-02-2024, 05:01 PM

Bail being granted / refused isn’t just about the seriousness of the offence but rather about the risk of re offending or failing to appear at court. It’s an alternative to being held in remand, not a free for all to stick two fingers up to the court / victim. Breach bail conditions enough times or fail to appear at court a few times, especially from a foreign county where he can’t be arrested on a UK warrant, and you really want a sheriff to release him again?

You say justice system is broken and then suggest the sheriff take a course of action which could in theory see him never sit trial and the victim(s) never get their shot at justice.

TheHibernator
18-02-2024, 05:06 PM
Exactly, some folk need to give themselves a shake. The cup final was incredible, and yes he played out of his skin, but I'd happily not have won the cup if it meant he'd never played for us. This is just a game, his ex girlfriend went through hell. People saying they can separate the player from the performance? Yeah, I get that for minor misdemeanours, but domestic violence over a prolonged period? Absolutely terrorising a young woman? Nah.

😂😂😂

TheHibernator
18-02-2024, 05:08 PM
Really not nice and weird what he’s done. He’s a f4nny of a guy and always has been. But some of the shouts on here are comical.

Hibeesdaft16
18-02-2024, 05:08 PM

:top marksspot on.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 06:15 PM
😂😂😂

Your user name says it all. 😂

Hibeesdaft16
18-02-2024, 06:17 PM

You cannae be serious. No danger.

18-02-2024, 06:22 PM

I’m not familiar with all the details of Stokes’ crimes and misdemeanours, albeit I’m aware he’s had his fair share and more. What was the prolonged period of domestic violence, please?

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 06:22 PM
You cannae be serious. No danger.

Ach, maybe not that extreme, but I really wish he'd never played for us. Hideous individual.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 06:27 PM
I’m not familiar with all the details of Stokes’ crimes and misdemeanours, albeit I’m aware he’s had his fair share and more. What was the prolonged period of domestic violence, please?

You've got Google.

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 07:35 PM
Ach, maybe not that extreme, but I really wish he'd never played for us. Hideous individual.

Nonsense, none of us are perfect, and if he's found guilty he'll be punished in accordance with the law. He was a cracking footballer when at Hibernian, a cup winning legend. I hope he eventually gets the help that he needs, and is able to change his behaviour.

18-02-2024, 07:48 PM
You've got Google.

Sounds like the sequel Meg Ryan didn’t want to make.

Hibeesdaft16
18-02-2024, 07:50 PM

:greengrin:greengrin

18-02-2024, 08:01 PM

:top marks:greengrin

18-02-2024, 08:35 PM
You've got Google.

I do. It never came up with anything about domestic violence, hence my question.

I’ll assume you made it up then.

Nice smart arse answer though 👍

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:36 PM
I do. It never came up with anything about domestic violence, hence my question.

I’ll assume you made it up then.

Nice smart arse answer though 👍

Sorry, domestic abuse. So much more palatable.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:37 PM

18-02-2024, 08:40 PM

Again, acting smart about it doesn’t make you right.

There’s plenty to pick from his selection of poor behaviour off the field without making things up.

His harassment of the girl was very ****ty and he’s rightly in bother for it. It’s not the same as punching **** out of someone that lives with you over a prolonged period of time though.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:40 PM
Nonsense, none of us are perfect, and if he's found guilty he'll be punished in accordance with the law. He was a cracking footballer when at Hibernian, a cup winning legend. I hope he eventually gets the help that he needs, and is able to change his behaviour.

The help he needs? 😂😂😂 Guys got a charge sheet as long as my arm. Is wanted in both Scotland and Ireland. But aye, he needs help, poor wee soul. You couldn't make this up. A bunch of neanderthals hero worshipping a guy who kicked a ball for us, played well when he felt like it, and has committed about half a dozen crimes.

Jeezo, we're through the looking glass here folks!

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 08:42 PM

Are you judge and jury are you? Have you ever done something that you are ashamed of? Never caught for, or punished for? Leave it to the law to sort out, as we live in a law and order society. Stokes was a cup winning legend. This is a football forum, not the Vladimir Romanov at large Interpol site. The boy needs intervention to change his behaviour, hope he gets it and does.

18-02-2024, 08:43 PM
The help he needs? 😂😂😂 Guys got a charge sheet as long as my arm. Is wanted in both Scotland and Ireland. But aye, he needs help, poor wee soul. You couldn't make this up. A bunch of neanderthals hero worshipping a guy who kicked a ball for us, played well when he felt like it, and has committed about half a dozen crimes.

Jeezo, we're through the looking glass here folks!

Neanderthals?

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:43 PM
Again, acting smart about it doesn’t make you right.

There’s plenty to pick from his selection of poor behaviour off the field without making things up.

His harassment of the girl was very ****ty and he’s rightly in bother for it. It’s not the same as punching **** out of someone that lives with you over a prolonged period of time though.

I agree with your last statement. What I disagree with is folk saying he's a legend. That's vomit inducing.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:44 PM
Neanderthals?

If you're the sort of person that thinks Stokes is a legend then aye, I think neanderthals works fine.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:45 PM
Are you judge and jury are you? Have you ever done something that you are ashamed of? Never caught for, or punished for? Leave it to the law to sort out, as we live in a law and order society. Stokes was a cup winning legend. This is a football forum, not the Vladimir Romanov at large Interpol site. The boy needs intervention to change his behaviour, hope he gets it and does.

😂😂😂

18-02-2024, 08:46 PM
If you're the sort of person that thinks Stokes is a legend then aye, I think neanderthals works fine.

Every player who played in that game is a legend in my eyes. If that makes me a Neanderthal then so be it

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:47 PM
Every player who played in that game is a legend in my eyes. If that makes me a Neanderthal then so be it

That's fine if you're happy with that. And I agree, you probably are.

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 08:47 PM
I agree with your last statement. What I disagree with is folk saying he's a legend. That's vomit inducing.

I'll never forget watching Stokes score his goals against the currants at Hampden. That's all that matters to me. I don't want to know about what he's done in his life since then, or care. He won the holy grail for Hibernian, and that's all that matters to me. If he's done wrong, the law will deal with it, and he'll have to face up to it. Why do you care so much of what he's done in his private life, except to tell us Hibernian supporters that its now 'vomit inducing' that he's considered a cup winning legend, which he is and always will be.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:49 PM
I'll never forget watching Stokes score his goals against the currants at Hampden. That's all that matters to me. I don't want to know about what he's done in his life since then, or care. He won the holy grail for Hibernian, and that's all that matters to me. If he's done wrong, the law will deal with it, and he'll have to face up to it. Why do you care so much of what he's done in his private life, except to tell us Hibernian supporters that its now 'vomit inducing' that he's considered a cup winning legend, which he is and always will be.

The key sentence in your post is 'That's all that matters to me.'

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:51 PM
I'll leave this now as I can feel a ban coming on. We all pick our own heroes I suppose.

18-02-2024, 08:51 PM
That's fine if you're happy with that. And I agree, you probably are.

Did you join in with all the other Neanderthals celebrating his performance and his 2 goals in that game? Or was it too difficult from up there on your high-horse?

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 08:54 PM
Did you join in with all the other Neanderthals celebrating his performance and his 2 goals in that game? Or was it too difficult from up there on your high-horse?

Last post.

Of course I celebrated, but I think he's far from a legend and find his subsequent behaviour to be something I really wouldn't want associated with Hibs. Anyway, enough said.

18-02-2024, 08:56 PM
Last post.

Of course I celebrated, but I think he's far from a legend and find his subsequent behaviour to be something I really wouldn't want associated with Hibs. Anyway, enough said.
His behaviour isn’t associated with Hibs. It’s associated with Anthony Stokes.

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 08:57 PM
The key sentence in your post is 'That's all that matters to me.'

Is it really. I've also said, that the law will deal with any lawbreaking, and that I hope Stokes gets intervention, and the help that he needs to turn his behaviour around, if found guilty of lawbreaking.

You seem to have already found him guilty and vomit inducing. That's your opinion. I watched him as a Hibernian player scoring two goals against the currants that went a huge way to breaking the 'hoodoo', and for that he will be a Hibernian footballing legend. I'll leave it at that too.

18-02-2024, 09:05 PM
Is it really. I've also said, that the law will deal with any lawbreaking, and that I hope Stokes gets intervention, and the help that he needs to turn his behaviour around, if found guilty of lawbreaking.

You seem to have already found him guilty and vomit inducing. That's your opinion. I watched him as a Hibernian player scoring two goals against the currants that went a huge way to breaking the 'hoodoo', and for that he will be a Hibernian footballing legend. I'll leave it at that too.

So has the Court :greengrin

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 09:10 PM
So has the Court :greengrin

Have they? My mistake mate. But still don't want to know what he's done in his private life post his time at Hibernian. I'll remember his time on the park at Hampden on 21st May 2016 with great fondness. His first goal was a thing of beauty with the smoke bombs in the currant's end highlighting how good a goal it was. Let the law take its course, and hope lessons are learned, and he does what he has to do to change behaviour.

Sparrows tongue
18-02-2024, 09:14 PM

You sir, are beyond belief.

Yes, we were all delighted with that Cup Final performance. Why wouldn’t we have been?

The things ‘Tony’ has done though, are out-with human decency.

I’m chuffed for you that this sort of human being is a legend in your eyes.

You hope he turns his behaviour around ?

Will it then help the wee girl that the legend is better?

I bet it doesn’t.

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 09:18 PM
You sir, are beyond belief.

Yes, we were all delighted with that Cup Final performance. Why wouldn’t we have been?

The things ‘Tony’ has done though, are out-with human decency.

I’m chuffed for you that this sort of human being is a legend in your eyes.

You hope he turns his behaviour around ?

Will it then help the wee girl that the legend is better?

I bet it doesn’t.

I've no idea what you're talking about, and don't want to know frankly. We won the Scottish Cup with Stokes scoring two goals. That's as much as I want to know okay. The law will decide Stokes future, and he'll have to face up to it. None of which happened in 2016? I'm not a judge or jury, but you seem to be, crack on.

Sparrows tongue
18-02-2024, 09:26 PM
I've no idea what you're talking about, and don't want to know frankly. We won the Scottish Cup with Stokes scoring two goals. That's as much as I want to know okay. The law will decide Stokes future, and he'll have to face up to it. None of which happened in 2016? I'm not a judge or jury, but you seem to be, crack on.

You are a strange individual, Baker.

I hope that your ‘hero’ gets away with all his ‘mistakes’ because of a football match.

And, by the way, you crack on too. :thumbsup:

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 09:31 PM
You are a strange individual, Baker.

I hope that your ‘hero’ gets away with all his ‘mistakes’ because of a football match.

And, by the way, you crack on too. :thumbsup:

I'll take that Sparrow. Been called a lot worse :greengrin. Normally by those on the dark side jambos mainly. They were all heroes that day. I was very lucky to be there with my now late brother. One of the best days of my life, and I'm certain it was for many others on here. Historic great day in the sunshine at Hampden.

Sparrows tongue
18-02-2024, 09:35 PM
I'll take that Sparrow. Been called a lot worse :greengrin. Normally by those on the dark side jambos mainly. They were all heroes that day. I was very lucky to be there with my now late brother. One of the best days of my life, and I'm certain it was for many others on here. Historic great day in the sunshine at Hampden.

Sorry to hear about your brother. I sincerely mean that.

I was there too, brilliant day, brilliant result, brilliant weather.

Stokes is still a ****bag.

Bakerman
18-02-2024, 09:38 PM
Sorry to hear about your brother. I sincerely mean that.

I was there too, brilliant day, brilliant result, brilliant weather.

Stokes is still a ****bag.

We only got tickets that day due to Hibs net. He was a member on here, and managed to get two on a waiting list on here. It was actually thanks to Hibs.net that we attended that glorious day. Glad to hear that you were there too bud. :aok:

26-02-2024, 08:21 AM
Stokes features on a latest episode of an Irish crime podcast. Sunday World is an old school gutter tabloid from what I can gather, but some more Stokes content and family connections nonetheless.

(Hibs are not mentioned once which is a good example of the complete disinterest of Scottish Football outwith the Old Firm over there!)

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/crime-world/id1540069464?i=1000646679806

Trinity Hibee
26-02-2024, 08:23 AM
Stokes features on a latest episode of an Irish crime podcast. Sunday World is an old school gutter tabloid from what I can gather, but some more Stokes content and family connections nonetheless.

(Hibs are not mentioned once which is a good example of the complete disinterest of Scottish Football outwith the Old Firm over there!)

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/crime-world/id1540069464?i=1000646679806

As you say, good for us we aren’t mentioned but how can you exclude what was probably the best performance of his career?

26-02-2024, 08:29 AM
Guy is a total prick. No doubt about that.

Much bigger legends than him from 2016 team.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 08:34 AM
Guy is a total prick. No doubt about that.

Much bigger legends than him from 2016 team.

No Stokes, no cup. He played God like that day.

26-02-2024, 08:37 AM

No Lewis no cup
No Mcginn no cup
No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Maybe another striker scores 3 goals in the final? We've no idea. It's not like we weren't beating that Rangers side before stokes.

He is undoubtedly a prick and imo, not anywhere near the biggest Hibs legend from that side.

Greensunshine
26-02-2024, 08:37 AM
Such a shame. I would imagine that 2016 Cup winning squad will be invited to attend a game sometime in the future.
Unfortunately for him, he’ll probably be in the tin pale.

However there’s nothing he can do that can taint that cup victory. Although he was a major part of us winning the cup that day and he really was outstanding, the lad has always come with a warning.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 08:38 AM
No Lewis no cup
No Mcginn no cup
No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Maybe another striker scores 3 goals in the final? We've no idea. It's not like we weren't beating that Rangers side before stokes.

He is undoubtedly a prick and imo, not anywhere near the biggest Hibs legend from that side.

Nae bother mate. I didn't say he was the biggest legend either, there are not far bigger legends in the side than him though.

26-02-2024, 08:40 AM
No Lewis no cup
No Mcginn no cup
No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Agreed. The idea that he single handedly won us the cup is disrespectful the remainder of that team.

26-02-2024, 08:42 AM
Nae bother mate. I didn't say he was the biggest legend either, there are not far bigger legends in the side than him though.

Lewis is 10x the Hibs legend Stokes is imo.

And he is a nice human being, which is far more important.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 08:42 AM
Agreed. The idea that he single handedly won us the cup is disrespectful the remainder of that team.

I don't think anyone is saying that but he doesn't play that day then we don't win the cup imo. He's a massive reason we won that day as is, of course the performances of others.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 08:43 AM
Lewis is 10x the Hibs legend Stokes is imo.

And he is a nice human being, which is far more important.

A Hibernian legend, yes. A cup winning legend, no.

26-02-2024, 08:45 AM
That is unbelievable to say that. Lewis has won two Cup medals, something that no othe Hibernian has ever done!! I'd suggest when you google cup winning legend Lewis Stevenson is the first thing to come up

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 08:49 AM
That is unbelievable to say that. Lewis has won two Cup medals, something that no othe Hibernian has ever done!! I'd suggest when you google cup winning legend Lewis Stevenson is the first thing to come up

In terms of his overall contribution to Hibernian including winning two trophies of course Lewis Stevenson is the biggest Hibernian legend of this generation.

Stokes performance that day was legendary was more of what I meant. Trying to downplay that is baffling just because he's a tosser.

He's here!
26-02-2024, 08:52 AM

Don't think anyone's suggesting that. He was phenomenal that day tho, turning in one of the best individual performances I've seen from a Hibs player. I think it's fair to say that while the whole team were terrific it was Stokes who gave us the edge.

Not wanting to acknowledge that because he's an eejit doesn't stack up.

26-02-2024, 09:13 AM
No Lewis no cup
No Mcginn no cup
No gray no cup

They all contributed.

Is this sung to the tune from Letter From America?

26-02-2024, 09:33 AM

He's arguably the biggest cup winning legend this club has.

26-02-2024, 09:34 AM
His performance that day was a performance for all time. When you watch the highlights back it was an incredible contribution in a cup final.

I prefer to just ignore anything related to him post that day.

26-02-2024, 09:35 AM
He's arguably the biggest cup winning legend this club has.Darling Willie Groves was no angel.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

26-02-2024, 09:35 AM

Ffs 😂

26-02-2024, 09:36 AM
A Hibernian legend, yes. A cup winning legend, no.He's won both the LC and SC.

What more does he have to do to be a Cup Winning legend?

Donegal Hibby
26-02-2024, 09:40 AM
The whole team in 2016 are cup legends imo :greengrin

26-02-2024, 09:46 AM
He's won both the LC and SC.

Score a hatrick, kiss the badge and shout **** the Hearts!

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 09:47 AM
He's won both the LC and SC.

I never worded by post correctly. Sorry.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2024, 09:49 AM
It's easy for me to separate Stokes being a bell end and him having a bigger contribution than anyone else to winning that final. An absolute hibs legend and that doesn’t disrespect the rest of the legends in that squad.

26-02-2024, 09:53 AM
Score a hatrick, kiss the badge and shout **** the Hearts!Two out three ain't bad.

26-02-2024, 10:19 AM

26-02-2024, 10:22 AM
Best individual performance I’ve seen from a Hibs player. Legend.

Also a bellend.

Greensunshine
26-02-2024, 11:27 AM

Was thinking the same thing 🤣🤣🤣

Greensunshine
26-02-2024, 11:28 AM
I never worded by post correctly. Sorry.

You never worded this one correctly either 🤣🤣👍

26-02-2024, 11:29 AM
I never worded by post correctly. Sorry.No need to apologise.

Do you mean that your opinion was wrong?

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 11:34 AM
No need to apologise.

Do you mean that your opinion was wrong?

I did correct what I meant on the post afterwards. Lewis Stevenson is the biggest Hibernian legend in modern day history, Stokesys performance that day in when we won the cup was legendary.
The whole post that I posted was a disaster and of course it's wrong to suggest Lewy isn't a Cup Winning legend. If that was my opinion then it would be 100% wrong.

Hibeesdaft16
26-02-2024, 11:35 AM
You never worded this one correctly either 🤣🤣👍

Dear Sauzee, I'm having a *****mare.

26-02-2024, 11:38 AM
As you say, good for us we aren’t mentioned but how can you exclude what was probably the best performance of his career?

The podcast was less about actual football but more about some of the goings on in his fathers pub in Dublin’s North Inner City and the organised crime and gangland characters who intertwine with the general theme of the podcast series.

Football should have given Stokes the opportunity to escape from a life surrounded by such people for whom troubles just follow them around.

shetlandhibee
26-02-2024, 12:35 PM

He did it when it really mattered,,, Legend most folk could be not dream of having a career like he’s had , ✔️👌👍

The Baldmans Comb
26-02-2024, 12:42 PM
Stokes and Barclay are two rather despicable peas in a pod as far as women are concerned.

Neither are legends but both leave fine football memories with Stokes contribution historical.

26-02-2024, 12:55 PM
Stokes and Barclay are two rather despicable peas in a pod as far as women are concerned.

Neither are legends but both leave fine football memories with Stokes contribution historical.

Who? Barclay?

26-02-2024, 01:08 PM
Who? Barclay?

Think he's talking about Marvin Bartley.

26-02-2024, 01:24 PM
Obviously he's been a naughty boy but the club sign him to help his rehabilitation into society.

Sparrows tongue
26-02-2024, 02:08 PM

Just logged in today and have read through some of this thread.

So far, these two comments are in the FFS category.

GRA
16-03-2024, 09:14 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-68580908

Given a five month prison sentence for breaching Court orders.

Such a shame to see how he has fallen. But forever a hero for that performance at Hampden eight years ago.

LewysGot2
16-03-2024, 09:21 PM

Given a five month prison sentence for breaching quickly orders.

Such a shame to see how he has fallen. But forever a hero for that performance at Hampden eight years ago.

Drugs charges in Ireland were also on the cards but some technical issue in the Irish courts system saw them "time out" due to drugs testing not being able to get done quickly enough. Suggestion is he was caught with amounts of cocaine that were for sale oŕ supply

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/anthony-stokes-cocaine-charges-thrown-31966060

Running in all the wrong circles...

16-03-2024, 10:40 PM
He's a prick and pretty disappointed to see Hibs fans continue to label him a legend after everything that's come out.

He isn't a laddie that's made a daft mistake - he's a adult man that's subjected his ex to a disgusting and prolonged campaign of abuse and stalking.

Not to mention all the drugs found in his car, the previous assaults etc.

His contribution to win us the cup is in the history books but there are loads of other hero's that day that we should be focusing on. But a chunk of our fans seem to want to buy 'Stokesy' a pint but sack David Gray.

16-03-2024, 10:58 PM
A cup winning hero no doubt, but when you contrast Stokes’ downward spiral leading to imprisonment with another cup winning hero Liam Fontaine and his dignified retirement announcement, you know which one you’d prefer to enjoy a pint with.

Hulk1875
16-03-2024, 11:28 PM

I mind something about Bartley surprising he’s employed to work on national
Tv I’m one for giving second chances.. loved Bartley as a player

Sloop67
17-03-2024, 05:22 AM
Maybe his time behind bars will give him the opportunity to reflect on his life choices in the future, but somehow I doubt it , I get the feeling that unless he distances him self from the individuals he's been associating with he's going to continue to be in trouble for years to come Sad to see but he's not the first player to walk this path and I'm sure he won't be the last

17-03-2024, 05:53 PM
Maybe his time behind bars will give him the opportunity to reflect on his life choices in the future, but somehow I doubt it , I get the feeling that unless he distances him self from the individuals he's been associating with he's going to continue to be in trouble for years to come Sad to see but he's not the first player to walk this path and I'm sure he won't be the last

It’s not just the folk he associates with, even when he was at Hibs the first time he was borrowing money from players, including youth players, and not giving it back until another senior player basically forced him to (and not gently). He’s an ********, and has been behaving as such for a very long time

LewysGot2
17-03-2024, 07:23 PM
It’s not just the folk he associates with, even when he was at Hibs the first time he was borrowing money from players, including youth players, and not giving it back until another senior player basically forced him to (and not gently). He’s an ********, and has been behaving as such for a very long time

That’s nuts. He would be our wealthiest player, too.

Now I’m speculating who the enforcer was…with the smart money on one or two :take that

17-03-2024, 08:13 PM

Given a five month prison sentence for breaching Court orders.

I blame the courts

LewysGot2
17-03-2024, 08:21 PM
Interesting that he was the product of the private school system in Ireland- for all his dodgy connections he was given the advantages of an education at Terenure House - who also had Fergal Keane and Dave Allen as FPs…

18-03-2024, 09:26 AM
Who was it again that got him told to get the young boys paid back, I canny mind

Gloucester Hibs
18-03-2024, 09:37 AM
Who was it again that got him told to get the young boys paid back, I canny mind

I mind this story but also can’t mind who it was. My guess would be between big Nishy, Ian Murray and Darren McCormack 🤔

18-03-2024, 10:23 AM
I mind this story but also can’t mind who it was. My guess would be between big Nishy, Ian Murray and Darren McCormack 🤔

I’m struggling to remember the specific person as well, those would be the ones I would think, maybe Graham Stack also

18-03-2024, 07:12 PM

McCormack's name sounds familiar but only because I've read it on here previously.