View Full Version : Behind the goals and Safe Standing

Pages : 1 [2]

dmc1875
19-02-2024, 01:00 AM
😂 oh yeah, I’m paying £800 a year for a season ticket. It’s chicken feed to me.

The fact the club are telling season ticket holders, some who’ve had their tickets for over a decade or longer in that section, that you need to pay an additional £400 a year for basically nothing of note with zero value apart from a “reserved table” you might not want or you’re getting kicked out your seat is a joke tbh.

19-02-2024, 06:06 AM
The fact the club are telling season ticket holders, some who’ve had their tickets for over a decade or longer in that section, that you need to pay an additional £400 a year for basically nothing of note with zero value apart from a “reserved table” you might not want or you’re getting kicked out your seat is a joke tbh.

It’s a seat ffs, I’m sure they’ll manage.

19-02-2024, 06:29 AM

Exactly.

Some fans seem to think they should have a specific seat for life. It's sold season by season, you don't get to lay a claim to a seat number until the end of time.

19-02-2024, 07:17 AM
Exactly.

Some fans seem to think they should have a specific seat for life. It's sold season by season, you don't get to lay a claim to a seat number until the end of time.
Aye, **** all the years loyalty they showed when we were even worse on the pitch than we are now and the club had the begging bowl out right enough, that counts for nothing

Stairway 2 7
19-02-2024, 07:56 AM
I had a seat in the cowshed when wee then they knocked it down and I got a seat in the north, I had a seat in the east for years then they knocked it down, I have had a seat for years that will now be standing. I'll either move forward with the bairns to the front or go over to the east. None of the seats were my seat I bought it from hibs and they can upgrade the stadium as they see fit.

Its sad people will have to move but its one of those things. It doesn't happen very often but thankfully we get a cracking view from most seats in the stadium. We need to keep moving or we could have just kept the stadium as was in the 90s.

Also people saying they don't care about the extra revenue were bringing in from corporate is mental. The football side has been poor but that's a separate that would be worse without the extra income, unbelievably.

19-02-2024, 08:07 AM
Aye, **** all the years loyalty they showed when we were even worse on the pitch than we are now and the club had the begging bowl out right enough, that counts for nothing

They're not been excluded from the stadium FFS. As someone else said it's a seat, in a stadium where there isn't really a bad seat in the house.

19-02-2024, 08:18 AM

Showing loyalty to the club doesn’t give exclusive access to a seat for life. There’s hundreds of available seat in the stadium with brilliant views of the pitch.

19-02-2024, 08:22 AM
Exactly.

We stood on the same bit of terracing every match and they bulldozed it.

Still raging :greengrin

dmc1875
19-02-2024, 10:31 AM

My point is more so on the price and the lack of full info on exactly what you get for it, bar a reserved table, when the deadline to renew is 1st March. It’s near double the price.

19-02-2024, 10:53 AM
My point is more so on the price and the lack of full info on exactly what you get for it, bar a reserved table, when the deadline to renew is 1st March. It’s near double the price.

The website lists exactly what's included with it.

What information do you think it is lacking?

19-02-2024, 11:01 AM

Sounds like a nice experience to me, if you can afford it. BTG was like an airport departure lounge at times with not enough seats or tables for all the customers. It was a handy thing to have but wasn’t a great experience at times. Queuing for half an hour for a pint was not uncommon.

Like I say, I can’t afford it. I’d like to think for those that can it will be great, and for those that can’t something else will come along in the future. This is about maximising revenue and competing with our rivals, one of whom is so far out in third place we will never catch them this season and the other are in a similar state to us.

dmc1875
19-02-2024, 11:02 AM
The website lists exactly what's included with it.

What information do you think it is lacking?

Ok fair enough guess we’ll disagree on this. It’s vague and basically you’re paying £400 for some bar access and that’s it. It’s expensive, no?

I understand the point we need to be maximising revenue and I’m all for that part, just think it’s a lot of money to fork out extra for not a lot

dmc1875
19-02-2024, 11:03 AM
Sounds like a nice experience to me, if you can afford it. BTG was like an airport departure lounge at times with not enough seats or tables for all the customers. It was a handy thing to have but wasn’t a great experience at times. Queuing for half an hour for a pint was not uncommon.

Like I say, I can’t afford it. I’d like to think for those that can it will be great, and for those that can’t something else will come along in the future. This is about maximising revenue and competing with our rivals, one of whom is so far out in third place we will never catch them this season and the other are in a similar state to us.

Have they produced any Ai designs of what it’ll look like like they did with the hospitality stuff when they announced that? I’ve missed if so

19-02-2024, 11:06 AM
Have they produced any Ai designs of what it’ll look like like they did with the hospitality stuff when they announced that? I’ve missed if so

I haven’t seen any, but if it’s anything like the hospitality stuff it will be brilliant.

Tbh £40 a game isn’t a kick in the arse off what you’d pay for a walk up anyway, and for the comfort of a seat in a bar with your own table there’s definitely an appealing part to it wouldn’t you say?

dmc1875
19-02-2024, 11:11 AM
I haven’t seen any, but if it’s anything like the hospitality stuff it will be brilliant.

Tbh £40 a game isn’t a kick in the arse off what you’d pay for a walk up anyway, and for the comfort of a seat in a bar with your own table there’s definitely an appealing part to it wouldn’t you say?

The hospitality stuff was/is great. I’m sure we’ll get imagery soon enough

19-02-2024, 11:25 AM

There has been images produced but not made public yet. I’ve not seen them but a friend was in the company of a board member and got a sneak peek.

19-02-2024, 11:31 AM
There has been images produced but not made public yet. I’ve not seen them but a friend was in the company of a board member and got a sneak peek.

Any feedback?

19-02-2024, 11:33 AM
Ok fair enough guess we’ll disagree on this. It’s vague and basically you’re paying £400 for some bar access and that’s it. It’s expensive, no?

I understand the point we need to be maximising revenue and I’m all for that part, just think it’s a lot of money to fork out extra for not a lot

It's not vague at all. It lists exactly what you get.

If you don't think that represents value for money you are perfectly entitled to that opinion, but it doesn't make the release of information vague.

19-02-2024, 11:48 AM
It’s not for me as it’s far too expensive, I enjoyed the old BTG (when I got there early enough to get a table). The provision of a free to attend venue as a benefit to ST holders was a great benefit in my opinion. It’s a pity that a similar scenario is not available in the new BTG but I fully understand why the club have gone down this route and am pretty sure it will prove to be very popular to those that can justify the spend.

19-02-2024, 12:43 PM
Any feedback?

Fit out will be in a similar style to Albion Bar but bigger, so expect lots of Hibs touches and memorabilia. Standard height tables in the middle of the space with high tables round the edges. There will also be 2 bars and the old corporate boxes are being removed to open up the space and give a view out to the pitch.

19-02-2024, 02:38 PM
Fit out will be in a similar style to Albion Bar but bigger, so expect lots of Hibs touches and memorabilia. Standard height tables in the middle of the space with high tables round the edges. There will also be 2 bars and the old corporate boxes are being removed to open up the space and give a view out to the pitch.

Cheers, sounds brilliant. I imagine it will get a decent amount of one off purchases too. I’ll certainly take them up on it when I can.

19-02-2024, 06:41 PM

You can pay by direct debit and first instalment isn’t till May I think - I’d need to check but I was also a bit shocked at first thinking you had to pay by end of March but you don’t
I renewed my two happily

20-02-2024, 09:56 AM
Has anyone noticed that Block 20 they are only installing rail seats from Row K to P.

What's happening with the Rows behind that as it says they will be removed ?

Q-S in this block are the rows which aren't rail but fans are being told to move from?

20-02-2024, 10:15 AM
Has anyone noticed that Block 20 they are only installing rail seats from Row K to P.

What's happening with the Rows behind that as it says they will be removed ?

Q-S in this block are the rows which aren't rail but fans are being told to move from?

Prob the "direct access" to the stadium from BTG

20-02-2024, 09:43 PM

Season tickets in the FF Upper executive seats were £500 so it's only an extra £300. Pretty much the same as the Albion Bar membership which this season was £250 on top of a normal season ticket or £800 with an executive seat in the West stand upper. Some slight differences e.g. BTG you get a reserved table and it has views of the pitch. Albion bar membership includes cup games. Both sound not too bad for an extra £13-£16 per game.

HibsBragh
21-02-2024, 02:29 AM
Will they be adding a second step to the standing section to increase its capacity? Think it said something about changing the decking

21-02-2024, 08:47 AM
Will they be adding a second step to the standing section to increase its capacity? Think it said something about changing the decking

You can do it in Germany but I wonder if that would be allowed here? Probably some nonsense regulation against it

If there was to have been a significant capacity increase you’d have thought it would’ve been mentioned by now

21-02-2024, 10:22 AM
Nonsense. This used to be a benefit for season ticket holders. Now the only benefit you get from a season ticket is a discount on a pube trimmer.

BTG used to be brilliant and packed out frequently with everyone buying drinks. There’s absolutely no need for this to be priced as it is.

Previously a commercial disaster yet we’ve posted almost a £4m loss. Ben and co rubbing their hands at all this. Complete charlatan.

Behind the goals hasn't existed for some time now and people have seemed to cope.

The creation of the new area doesn't change.a thing for anyone who doesn't want to pay the £800. They're no better or worse off other than the pubs they've been going to might be very slightly less busy.

THESHIP
21-02-2024, 12:11 PM
I just feel as though this is alienating a huge chunk of our support. The club are already getting decent cash in from hospitality, why can’t there be a free alternative at the ground for those who can’t afford to pay £800?

For folk to palm off other supporters who may have attended BTG when it was free by saying they can just go to some local pub is a bit distasteful.

21-02-2024, 12:14 PM
I just feel as though this is alienating a huge chunk of our support. The club are already getting decent cash in from hospitality, why can’t there be a free alternative at the ground for those who can’t afford to pay £800?

For folk to palm off other supporters who may have attended BTG when it was free by saying they can just go to some local pub is a bit distasteful.

It's ok - it's not.

21-02-2024, 12:17 PM

How?

21-02-2024, 12:21 PM

I don’t agree with your general point re it isolating folk or it being distasteful.

But I do agree with you that they should open up some sort of bar that us third class citizens can attend without any costs other than those spent inside.

21-02-2024, 12:29 PM
I don’t agree with your general point re it isolating folk or it being distasteful.

But I do agree with you that they should open up some sort of bar that us third class citizens can attend without any costs other than those spent inside.
They could re open the wee marquee they had outside the East for a bit for us peasants

21-02-2024, 12:32 PM

Am I right in saying that walk up fans were not allowed in BTG? Were they just palmed off to local pubs?

Where do FF supporters go now? They're not being asked to change anything and they're not being forced to pay anything.

This is a new venture which Hibs are offering at a cost. It's entirely optional, but it's open to everyone who wants to meet that cost. That is until it reaches capacity, which it will, and the profits it will make go towards the running of the club.

What's not to like?

I don't understand why people think that the club owes them something for nothing.

21-02-2024, 12:40 PM
They could re open the wee marquee they had outside the East for a bit for us peasants

The cost would be prohibitive. Staff, equipment, marquee hire, furniture, heating, toilet facilities etc etc would need to be factored in and the discounts afforded to busy pubs would not be available to Hibs.

The only way to run it would be to charge exorbitant prices for food and drink but, after the novelty wore off, most people would just go elsewhere to save money.

21-02-2024, 12:47 PM
Behind the goals hasn't existed for some time now and people have seemed to cope.

The creation of the new area doesn't change.a thing for anyone who doesn't want to pay the £800. They're no better or worse off other than the pubs they've been going to might be very slightly less busy.

Also the old BTG was a **** hole with some of the worst "drinks" and "food" offerings I've ever seen.

21-02-2024, 12:49 PM

Persoanlly I think this is the best of both worlds...there is nothing distasteful about supporting local pubs. If you have the cash and want a pukkah pre-match experience you can pay. If you don't have the cash, or just don't fancy it, you can go to a local pub, or even (shock horror) go to the game without any bevvy inside you. seems like a very positive move to me.

21-02-2024, 12:55 PM
If a free to enter bar was provided in the FF, ST holders in the West and East would soon be demanding a similar facility.

Then the walk up fans would want access too. What would be reasonable and when would it become "fair" on the eyes of the people who feel snubbed just now?

21-02-2024, 01:01 PM
The cost would be prohibitive. Staff, equipment, marquee hire, furniture, heating, toilet facilities etc etc would need to be factored in and the discounts afforded to busy pubs would not be available to Hibs.

The only way to run it would be to charge exorbitant prices for food and drink but, after the novelty wore off, most people would just go elsewhere to save money.

I think the club would jump at the chance to re-do the marquee hospitality if possible. It was only stopped previously due to complaints from residents in the neighbouring flats.

21-02-2024, 01:01 PM

It’s not great but for all time people have been able to take advantage of different offerings at football games. I remember being envious of people in the centre stand in the sixties whilst was palmed off with a space on the east terrace.

Bridge hibs
21-02-2024, 01:18 PM
Also the old BTG was a **** hole with some of the worst "drinks" and "food" offerings I've ever seen.

Your lucky you only seen it, you should have tried eating and drinking the stuff 🤢

21-02-2024, 01:28 PM
I think the club would jump at the chance to re-do the marquee hospitality if possible. It was only stopped previously due to complaints from residents in the neighbouring flats.

I've no idea how much it cost to provide, although it does seem like a loss maker to me, but if it was reinstated, I would think it would have a negative affect on the numbers paying for the new BTG so it's highly unlikely to be considered again.

In my uninformed opinion, obviously.

21-02-2024, 01:31 PM
It’s not great but for all time people have been able to take advantage of different offerings at football games. I remember being envious of people in the centre stand in the sixties whilst was palmed off with a space on the east terrace.

Didn't they use to charge extra to get into the cave/cow shed?

21-02-2024, 02:12 PM

Only once it became seated and they fenced it off

21-02-2024, 02:16 PM
If a free to enter bar was provided in the FF, ST holders in the West and East would soon be demanding a similar facility.

Then the walk up fans would want access too. What would be reasonable and when would it become "fair" on the eyes of the people who feel snubbed just now?

A free to enter bar for all ST holders was what BTG used to be so don’t really get your point?

21-02-2024, 02:28 PM
Only once it became seated and they fenced it off

Yes, I remember that.

21-02-2024, 02:31 PM
A free to enter bar for all ST holders was what BTG used to be so don’t really get your point?

I can't be arsed explaining in great detail, but there's now a pay bar in the West not a free one. I was applying the same arguments that people are about the new BTG.

For one reason or another, people are afforded opportunities or miss out on them.

21-02-2024, 02:50 PM

The earlier post in the thread about capacity increase got me thinking if the club looked into the above. Basically you install an extra step underneath what would in normal circumstances be the sear, giving you two standing spaces in what is normally one spot.

21-02-2024, 02:53 PM

The earlier post in the thread about capacity increase got me thinking if the club looked into the above. Basically you install an extra step underneath what would in normal circumstances be the sear, giving you two standing spaces in what is normally one spot.

We have zero need for extra capacity at ER, if anything our current capacity is too big.

21-02-2024, 03:43 PM
We have zero need for extra capacity at ER, if anything our current capacity is too big.
Aye cause installing an extra concrete step on an existing banking is going to be noticeable , it’s no some ridiculous suggestion like filling in the corners with x thousand plastic seats that would never be filled.

Renfrew_Hibby
21-02-2024, 04:06 PM

Looks rather cosy, imagine a big beer gut warming your back. Perhaps not imagine that!

21-02-2024, 04:20 PM

The current capacity isn't too big, we already have matches in the season where not everyone who wants a ticket can get one.

Bridge hibs
21-02-2024, 04:30 PM
Looks rather cosy, imagine a big beer gut warming your back. Perhaps not imagine that!

Great, I could stick my colostomy bag in the pocket of the guy in front of me when it gets too heavy, would keep him warm though 🤢

Standing section for me then, thats my mind made up 😁

21-02-2024, 04:41 PM
The current capacity isn't too big, we already have matches in the season where not everyone who wants a ticket can get one.

Yeah because we give teams we absolutely despise 3500+ tickets and in the other games we have one stand nearly completely empty and another half full at best.

21-02-2024, 04:51 PM

No that was all open and part of the fun changing ends at half time. The enclosure was extra

21-02-2024, 05:01 PM
No that was all open and part of the fun changing ends at half time. The enclosure was extra

Like me, Ringo thought that they set an extra charge once it got seated.

21-02-2024, 05:03 PM
No that was all open and part of the fun changing ends at half time. The enclosure was extraLoved the old North Enclosure. Right up at the tunnel you could have a great laugh. Had a season ticket in there for 12 years.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Chipper1875
21-02-2024, 05:09 PM
Yeah because we give teams we absolutely despise 3500+ tickets and in the other games we have one stand nearly completely empty and another half full at best.

Spot on . When we can fill our stadium without the weedgie vermin , then it will be too small .

22-02-2024, 08:32 AM
Spot on . When we can fill our stadium without the weedgie vermin , then it will be too small .

Although I get the point, an alternative view is that if there are games where we could’ve sold a few thousand more tickets, then the stadium is too small…

22-02-2024, 10:31 AM
Although I get the point, an alternative view is that if there are games where we could’ve sold a few thousand more tickets, then the stadium is too small…

I’d argue there’s two of those a season, maybe 3, on average and that doesn’t merit adding extra capacity.

Stairway 2 7
22-02-2024, 11:36 AM
I’d argue there’s two of those a season, maybe 3, on average and that doesn’t merit adding extra capacity.

If the extra capacity covers the cost in a few seasons of implementation then it's a no brainer

22-02-2024, 01:06 PM
If the extra capacity covers the cost in a few seasons of implementation then it's a no brainer

Yeah but it wouldn’t so it’s not?

Stairway 2 7
22-02-2024, 02:19 PM
Yeah but it wouldn’t so it’s not?

How much would a row of concrete be to be added to the standing rows, I've personally no idea. I'd doubt police Scotland would allow anyway

PHeffernan
22-02-2024, 11:04 PM
How much would a row of concrete be to be added to the standing rows, I've personally no idea. I'd doubt police Scotland would allow anyway

A retrospective remodel of the standing area in the FFL would be expensive. Far easier, quicker and cheaper to just swap out the new seats for the old seats.

11-03-2024, 11:47 AM
From my seat in West upper, I must admit to not really seeing a huge difference to the atmosphere last night. Good numbers behind the goal but the volume wasn’t really increased. I actually think they sounded louder in their usual spot over in East, where most of the chanting was emanating from last night.

What was it like for the regular FF ST holders? Much different?

Stick
11-03-2024, 11:54 AM
From my seat in West upper, I must admit to not really seeing a huge difference to the atmosphere last night. Good numbers behind the goal but the volume wasn’t really increased. I actually think they sounded louder in their usual spot over in East, where most of the chanting was emanating from last night.

Sounded much louder in FF upper.

11-03-2024, 11:54 AM

I can only vouch for what I heard on TV, but I didn't notice any improvement in the atmosphere. In fairness, maybe yesterday's game wasn't the best 'sample' match to compare the difference.

It does prove, though, that putting some fans behind the goals is no magic bullet for the atmosphere. I expect we can only truly compare it next season. over a number of matches.

11-03-2024, 12:08 PM
I see a vape made its way onto the pitch from that area.

Must have been them hangers on again

h1bs4life
11-03-2024, 12:10 PM
In my usual seat famous five upper .
Not much noise , no idea what type of atmosphere banging a drum slowly and singing orange b’s then followed by Lizzie's in a box is supposed to generate .
They sort of songs were heard when I started watching Hibs in late 60’s early 70’s then stopped now seem to creeping back in .
Was supportive of the young team but that will change if that’s the sort of crap they are going to be spouting

11-03-2024, 12:11 PM

The Lizzy in a Box song was class though eh

11-03-2024, 12:14 PM

I’ll never understand why we lower ourselves to sing songs about dead people but maybe that’s just me

11-03-2024, 03:29 PM

There was something thrown from the West Stand too. Couldn't tell if it was a prawn sangdwhich or not.

11-03-2024, 03:36 PM

Some sing lizzys in a box whilst others put together a letter to the club about rangers fans songs…

hibee1875
11-03-2024, 03:43 PM
There was something thrown from the West Stand too. Couldn't tell if it was a prawn sangdwhich or not.

Why is throwing vapes cool?

And why are people complaining about it labeled as bores?

It’s simply moronic. Wee guy behaviour. All it will result in is the club and the perpetrators getting in trouble.

Genuinely don’t understand why you would bother?

11-03-2024, 04:14 PM

I wish Block Seven all the best in their new venture in the FFL but the East Singing Section was bouncing last night. Been speaking to some fans from other sections who are aiming to take any spare season ticket spaces in Section 43 next season. My son and I are moving over from Section 45.

11-03-2024, 04:21 PM
Why is throwing vapes cool?

And why are people complaining about it labeled as bores?

It’s simply moronic. Wee guy behaviour. All it will result in is the club and the perpetrators getting in trouble.

Genuinely don’t understand why you would bother?

Think you missed my point.

I'm not saying throwing vapes is cool or anyone who complains is a bore. Im merely pointing out its not just wee guys from block 7 throwing stuff, as some are insinuating is the case.

hibsforeurope
11-03-2024, 05:29 PM
I wish Block Seven all the best in their new venture in the FFL but the East Singing Section was bouncing last night. Been speaking to some fans from other sections who are aiming to take any spare season ticket spaces in Section 43 next season. My son and I are moving over from Section 45.

Any songs that’s could be heard from the home support began in the east, old classics at that. Long may that continue, much preferred that to the inaudible stuff from block 7

11-03-2024, 05:47 PM
Any songs that’s could be heard from the home support began in the east, old classics at that. Long may that continue, much preferred that to the inaudible stuff from block 7

Agreed. The east did us proud last night.

Ardenttwo
11-03-2024, 05:55 PM
The new Behind the Goals sounds pretty impressive.

£800 is a bit of a stretch for me but sure it will prove popular.

I still think there is scope for a free to enter bar on match day. Those big marquees they have at Murrayfield for the rugby must be doable at ER. Not a huge issue for me as there is no shortage of pubs around the ground but it would be good as another option.

Just a thought. If someone who has the £800 ST can he give it to a friend to use if he or she cannot be at the game

11-03-2024, 05:58 PM
Just a thought. If someone who has the £800 ST can he give it to a friend to use if he or she cannot be at the game

Of course

11-03-2024, 05:58 PM
So now we have two areas of the ground generating an atmosphere.

JOB DONE!

11-03-2024, 06:04 PM

JOB DONE!

11-03-2024, 06:07 PM

JOB DONE!

JOB DONE!

Having two posts in recognition of this is very apt.

11-03-2024, 06:12 PM

Of course

Whilst in practice you can (and I'm sure most folk do), in past seasons terms and conditions from Hibs state that season tickets are non transferrable. Cant find this years but from a few seasons ago this was in the T&C's:

This season ticket is not transferable. It may only be used by the season ticket member detailed on the front in connection with the seat noted, subject to paragraph 6. If it is discovered through the verification process at turnstiles that a season ticket has been transferred to another, the Club reserves the right to confiscate the ticket. If, for example, a child's ticket is used by an adult, the Club reserves the right to cancel the season ticket and no refund shall be given.

12-03-2024, 12:25 AM
Whilst in practice you can (and I'm sure most folk do), in past seasons terms and conditions from Hibs state that season tickets are non transferrable. Cant find this years but from a few seasons ago this was in the T&C's:

This season ticket is not transferable. It may only be used by the season ticket member detailed on the front in connection with the seat noted, subject to paragraph 6. If it is discovered through the verification process at turnstiles that a season ticket has been transferred to another, the Club reserves the right to confiscate the ticket. If, for example, a child's ticket is used by an adult, the Club reserves the right to cancel the season ticket and no refund shall be given.

No way of policing it so ST transfer to a friend if you can’t make it has gone on since ST’s began and will continue to do until they introduce facial recognition entry systems. 😀

The adult using a child’s ticket is far easier to spot if stewards were actually bothered about it.

12-03-2024, 02:47 AM
The proper singing support was in the East Stand as usual

Hibs songs rather than orange *******s drum drum

12-03-2024, 08:31 AM
I sit at the front of the East, on the half way line. I could barely hear the fans in the FF lower. Similarly, I couldn't hear the Hearts ultras behind their goal at the Derby.

12-03-2024, 09:41 AM
No way of policing it so ST transfer to a friend if you can’t make it has gone on since ST’s began and will continue to do until they introduce facial recognition entry systems. 😀

The adult using a child’s ticket is far easier to spot if stewards were actually bothered about it.

Indeed! And I reckon if there was a strict policy enforcing that then season ticket sales would soon start to go down.

12-03-2024, 10:57 AM
I sit at the front of the East, on the half way line. I could barely hear the fans in the FF lower. Similarly, I couldn't hear the Hearts ultras behind their goal at the Derby. I'm at the Dunbar end of the west. Not a peep from our Ultras but n FFL heard but a good noise from the East

14-03-2024, 06:26 AM
In seasons 2010 to 2012 we had one of the loudest home supports in Scotland with around 500 to 750 supporters standing and singing under the roof top right corner in the East Stand. The Old Gantry area had been the source of singing in the old East for decades before.

Since 2013, club management have been pandering to a small minority of 150 Ultras rather than engaging with the main standing section.

The three moves of the wee group, namely:-
Down the front of the East
Top right corner of the FF
Bottom right corner of the East
have made little improvement to the stadium atmosphere and have also divided our core support.

The answer, according to our enlightened club management?

Move them down the front of the Famous Five where the acoustics are crap, where they will have easy access to the pitch and where the real Hibs songs will still be sung albeit less frequently high up in the East Stand where the acoustics are far better.

The comparisons with continually churning managers and players is striking. Making changes and expecting a different result.

Moving loyal supporters around for a fourth time to enable a tiny clique to enjoy a private party at the club's expense is going to leave a bad taste in the mouth with the Hibs support IMO.

14-03-2024, 07:34 AM
In seasons 2010 to 2012 we had one of the loudest home supports in Scotland with around 1,000 to 1,500 supporters standing and singing under the roof top right corner in the East Stand. The Old Gantry area had been the source of singing in the old East for decades before.

I stood/sat up the back of Section 43 during those seasons and there was nothing like those numbers standing/signing. Having stood under the gantry prior to redevelopment, I don’t think the atmosphere in that area ever replicated what it was was like in the Old East stand. I’ve since moved more centrally, closer to the pitch and have no regrets about the move.

14-03-2024, 08:39 AM
I stood/sat up the back of Section 43 during those seasons and there was nothing like those numbers standing/signing. Having stood under the gantry prior to redevelopment, I don’t think the atmosphere in that area ever replicated what it was was like in the Old East stand. I’ve since moved more centrally, closer to the pitch and have no regrets about the move.

You are right CG, I've halved the estimates.

Out of interest, did your move away from the Singing Section coincide with the Ultras moves away?

Those changes undoubtedly diluted the atmosphere up there for the supporters who were left behind.

A few of my group also moved away at the same time.

14-03-2024, 10:49 AM
You are right CG, I've halved the estimates.

Out of interest, did your move away from the Singing Section coincide with the Ultras moves away?

Those changes undoubtedly diluted the atmosphere up there for the supporters who were left behind.

A few of my group also moved away at the same time.
Sad that Hibs fans feel it necessary to have to distance themselves from other Hibs fans.

14-03-2024, 11:06 AM
Sad that Hibs fans feel it necessary to have to distance themselves from other Hibs fans.

The antics of B7 last night and recent games has made my decision not to move to the new rail seating a very easy one.

14-03-2024, 09:04 PM

What brings you to that conclusion Lago?

16-03-2024, 08:28 AM
What brings you to that conclusion Lago?

If there is an opportunity to be a good distance away from B7 I will take it. They make going to away games unpleasant. The club even say where they are seated and that isn't so others can join them. It seems amazing to me that the club allows them to all be together to give them the safety in numbers feel when they create so many problems for the club and generally are a complete pain to other Hibs supporters. They are a tiny group which is not growing. The FFL will be quieter next year than it is this year and we will cost ourself the cost of a player moving them yet again and changing the seating. The plus side is we might get some atmosphere in the ground as the east is miles better without them

Crunchie
16-03-2024, 08:30 AM
In seasons 2010 to 2012 we had one of the loudest home supports in Scotland with around 500 to 750 supporters standing and singing under the roof top right corner in the East Stand. The Old Gantry area had been the source of singing in the old East for decades before.

Since 2013, club management have been pandering to a small minority of 150 Ultras rather than engaging with the main standing section.

The three moves of the wee group, namely:-
Down the front of the East
Top right corner of the FF
Bottom right corner of the East
have made little improvement to the stadium atmosphere and have also divided our core support.

The answer, according to our enlightened club management?

Move them down the front of the Famous Five where the acoustics are crap, where they will have easy access to the pitch and where the real Hibs songs will still be sung albeit less frequently high up in the East Stand where the acoustics are far better.

The comparisons with continually churning managers and players is striking. Making changes and expecting a different result.

Moving loyal supporters around for a fourth time to enable a tiny clique to enjoy a private party at the club's expense is going to leave a bad taste in the mouth with the Hibs support IMO.

16-05-2024, 01:06 PM
Work has started

https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1791084588829176132?s=46

16-05-2024, 01:07 PM
Work has started

https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1791084588829176132?s=46

Anyone know if the seats are for sale?

16-05-2024, 01:26 PM

It's amazing they aren't, seeing as how Hibs monetise everything nowadays!

If they're chucking them out they should have offered them free to the folk who had them as STs.

They really can't do anything right at the moment 😀

16-05-2024, 01:37 PM
It's amazing they aren't, seeing as how Hibs monetise everything nowadays!

If they're chucking them out they should have offered them free to the folk who had them as STs.

They really can't do anything right at the moment 😀

Surely will keep the backs and seats as spares for future damage.

17-05-2024, 09:11 AM

I believe the hangers-on have bought them so they can smash them all up.

07-06-2024, 04:48 PM
Starting to take shape now - looks good.

https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1799117112474259495?s=46

18-06-2024, 07:15 PM
See Hibs posted it was finished. Looks pretty decent.

Up-the-slope
18-06-2024, 07:44 PM
if you look at whatsapp vid at the end there are still crates and crates of seats on front apron? are they replacing seats in other bits of stadium at same time?

19-06-2024, 08:36 AM
if you look at whatsapp vid at the end there are still crates and crates of seats on front apron? are they replacing seats in other bits of stadium at same time?
Surely just old ones that have been packed away? The safe standing section does look very smart, it is going to stand out against the rest of the washed out turquoise seats though. Would cost a fortune to replace all seats and it must be bottom of the pile for priority unfortunately

Renfrew_Hibby
19-06-2024, 08:54 AM
Surely just old ones that have been packed away? The safe standing section does look very smart, it is going to stand out against the rest of the washed out turquoise seats though. Would cost a fortune to replace all seats and it must be bottom of the pile for priority unfortunately

Nice new green seats, replacing 30 year old faded ones. I realise the high cost of installing new seats but maybe in a year or two the seats in the West will be replaced.
Fading into an array of washed out greens with rusted fittings.
The transformation at the Stadium of Light when they replaced the old seats is a great example among others I could give.
I mean you wouldn't not change your living room wallpaper and have your skirting boards freshend up after 25 or 30 years.

BlackSheep
19-06-2024, 09:26 AM
I wonder if these new fresh green seats were part paid by the OF and Hearts due to their fans wrecking the South Stand seating....

Put the new seats in the North and recycle the older seats over to the South to replace the broken ones....?

Fuzzywuzzy
19-06-2024, 11:16 AM
Nice new green seats, replacing 30 year old faded ones. I realise the high cost of installing new seats but maybe in a year or two the seats in the West will be replaced.
Fading into an array of washed out greens with rusted fittings.
The transformation at the Stadium of Light when they replaced the old seats is a great example among others I could give.
I mean you wouldn't not change your living room wallpaper and have your skirting boards freshend up after 25 or 30 years.

Saw a video of someone taking a blow torch to faded seats to revive them not too long ago

19-06-2024, 11:21 AM
I didn’t realise that there were to be as many safe standing seats installed in the FF Lower. Maybe I wasn’t paying attention at the time but I just assumed it was to be a block in the central area. Looks like the majority of the lower tier is now safe standing.

Will look forward to seeing it soon, albeit I will be above it in West Upper.

Hopefully combined with an upsurge in fortunes on the pitch we can see a revived atmosphere at Easter Road from this season coming.

19-06-2024, 11:46 AM
I wonder if these new fresh green seats were part paid by the OF and Hearts due to their fans wrecking the South Stand seating....

Put the new seats in the North and recycle the older seats over to the South to replace the broken ones....?

All the seats in FF are now new as far as I understand.

Spoke with someone at Hearts and supposedly it’s a myth about the agreement to pay for seats if they are broken - that maybe wrong but it’s what they heard.

19-06-2024, 12:01 PM
All the seats in FF are now new as far as I understand.

Spoke with someone at Hearts and supposedly it’s a myth about the agreement to pay for seats if they are broken - that maybe wrong but it’s what they heard.

I’m sure I read that the clubs just make good themselves any damage, but also sure I read that we would sort Tynecastle damage ourselves and vice verca.

Maybe all myths but one of them must be right!

19-06-2024, 12:51 PM
Hopefully combined with an upsurge in fortunes on the pitch we can see a revived atmosphere at Easter Road from this season coming.

Bit early to be hitting the pre-match bevvy, chief 😄

Up-the-slope
19-06-2024, 03:40 PM
Saw a video of someone taking a blow torch to faded seats to revive them not too long ago

hells bells we have enough trouble with pyro's without fans taking a blow torch to the game

Bridge hibs
19-06-2024, 03:56 PM
hells bells we have enough trouble with pyro's without fans taking a blow torch to the game

🤣

20-06-2024, 08:11 PM
Slightly off topic but I was down at Easter Road today and saw the gates open behind the east so took a walk in to look at the family stone.

Some work going on in the east , extra wheelchair spaces I’m told, so I took a look in at the pitch from the east and saw the Persevere Motto along the length of the west stand . I sit there so never knew it was there , or is it a new addition.

Certainly looks great.

20-06-2024, 08:21 PM
Slightly off topic but I was down at Easter Road today and saw the gates open behind the east so took a walk in to look at the family stone.

Some work going on in the east , extra wheelchair spaces I’m told, so I took a look in at the pitch from the east and saw the Persevere Motto along the length of the west stand . I sit there so never knew it was there , or is it a new addition.

Certainly looks great.

It's been there for at least a season (possibly 2 but my old brain isn't too sure).

*I sit in the a East

21-06-2024, 06:56 AM
It's been there for at least a season (possibly 2 but my old brain isn't too sure).

*I sit in the a East

I'm sure its been their since COVID. Maybe just after/when fans were coming back.

21-06-2024, 07:03 AM

Certainly looks great.

I love that tbh.

A quality addition to our home.

21-06-2024, 07:30 AM

Certainly looks great.

The Motto on the west stand has been there since around 2020 I think 🤔

“So with the darkest days behind our ship of hope will steer, and when in doubt just keep in mind our motto, persevere.”

Fuzzywuzzy
21-06-2024, 08:03 AM
https://www.scottishpoetrylibrary.org.uk/poem/leith-fishermans-prayer/

21-06-2024, 05:15 PM
As others have said, it went up in the dark days of 2020, close season I think (same time the NHS and BLM features were added to the dug out roofs). Mind the first time I saw it - no in person, of course - it made me greet. It can still make me choke up a bit from time to time. Just now, in fact, as I type this!

21-06-2024, 05:28 PM

“So with the darkest days behind our ship of hope will steer, and when in doubt just keep in mind our motto, persevere.”

It’s for this and numerous other cultural references that Hibernian FC will never be some faceless ,“corporate” entity.

“Blood doesn’t show on a maroon jersey” is marketing bull****, the Hibs motto is actual poetry.

21-06-2024, 05:45 PM
Persevere is the motto of Leith Academy.

DIXIHIBS
21-06-2024, 05:49 PM

Persevere is the motto of Leith. The badge and motto is on various buildings in Leith, town hall,hospital etc.

22-06-2024, 05:07 PM

Is that the school that used to be located in the old building at the back of the Main Stand?

22-06-2024, 05:15 PM
Is that the school that used to be located in the old building at the back of the Main Stand?
No it's at Academy Park and the original school is at Duke Street now apartments.

22-06-2024, 05:17 PM

And for about the first six months, they forgot the comma between motto and persevere - it used to drive me mad lol

22-06-2024, 05:19 PM

That was Norton Park school.

22-06-2024, 07:43 PM

No it's at Academy Park and the original school is at Duke Street now apartments.

Was it not an annexe to the Academy in the 80s?

22-06-2024, 07:58 PM

Certainly looks great.

That was Sly.

leith lynx
22-06-2024, 10:12 PM
Was it not an annexe to the Academy in the 80s?

When Edinburgh schools went comprehensive in the early seventies, Norton Park became Leith Academy annexe for years 1 and 2, incidentally the ticket office at Easter Road was the woodwork and metalwork class for practical lessons, the old Leith Academy building on Leith links was for years 3 and 4 with the 2 former St.Anthony's school buildings on Lochend Road used as annexes, all 3 buildings down there are now residential flats!

leith lynx
22-06-2024, 10:15 PM
Persevere is the motto of Leith. The badge and motto is on various buildings in Leith, town hall,hospital etc.

And the school blazer of Leith Academy.

22-06-2024, 10:25 PM
That was Sly.

Its a Family Affair :wink:

23-06-2024, 06:56 PM

When Edinburgh schools went comprehensive in the early seventies, Norton Park became Leith Academy annexe for years 1 and 2, incidentally the ticket office at Easter Road was the woodwork and metalwork class for practical lessons, the old Leith Academy building on Leith links was for years 3 and 4 with the 2 former St.Anthony's school buildings on Lochend Road used as annexes, all 3 buildings down there are now residential flats!

So, a mixed history. Thanks guys.

DIXIHIBS
23-06-2024, 07:16 PM

I was at the annexe in 75/76. Was great having the old stand as a backdrop to the playground.

04-08-2024, 12:49 PM

Just seen this on Instagram, is this a new hospitality section behind the goals then? Between the rows taken out for that and the new disabled section in the East the capacity must have taken a slight hit. Maybe an excuse to fill in a corner 😂