View Full Version : Who do your pals support?

15-02-2024, 07:12 AM
Was talking about this with 3 of my best pals last night and what influence the team they support has on friendship. I’d say I’ve got 5 close friends and whilst I wouldn’t say the 2 that support Hibs are better/closer pals than the other 3 I see much, much more of them because of Hibs. We meet up before games at ER, travel together if we go to away games or even go round each others house or meet in pub to watch away games on tv. Whereas I can go months without seeing my other best pals. I also wonder am I friends with some other people basically just because they’re Hibs fans ie I have nothing else in common with them!!

Anyway, of my 5 best pals I have

2 Hibs
1 Celtic
1 Sunderland
And 1 Jambo:(

15-02-2024, 07:19 AM
There's predominantly a group of 5 of us who socialise these days.

4 Hibs fans and 1 nominal Sevconian.

15-02-2024, 07:28 AM
Pals since we were kids = 4 Hibbies. 6 other Edinburgh based Hibbies. Related to 1 hun and 1 jambo

Pals for last 30 odd years 1 Nottingham Forest, 2 Chelsea, 1 Leicester, 2 Arsenal and 1 Norwich City.

Paulie Walnuts
15-02-2024, 07:31 AM
All Hibs but to wearying degrees of attendance/interest.

15-02-2024, 07:31 AM
An awful collection of Celtic, Rangers, Manchester United and Liverpool. One Blackburn, one leeds. One is a season ticket holder at Linfield.

Not surprisingly, I don't have a single Hibs supporting mate.

McGruber
15-02-2024, 07:34 AM
I would say I have 5 good friends and within that 2 best mates. My 2 best mates are die-hard Jambos and are relentless with it on the chats, nights out etc.
The other 3 are also big Jambos!

15-02-2024, 07:36 AM
Mostly Celtic fans 🙄

scm70nyd1973
15-02-2024, 07:40 AM
Was talking about this with 3 of my best pals last night and what influence the team they support has on friendship. I’d say I’ve got 5 close friends and whilst I wouldn’t say the 2 that support Hibs are better/closer pals than the other 3 I see much, much more of them because of Hibs. We meet up before games at ER, travel together if we go to away games or even go round each others house or meet in pub to watch away games on tv. Whereas I can go months without seeing my other best pals. I also wonder am I friends with some other people basically just because they’re Hibs fans ie I have nothing else in common with them!!

2 Hibs
1 Celtic
1 Sunderland

Brought up in Glasgow so mostly Sevconians and a PTFC dude - good mate is thankfully a Weegie Hibby

15-02-2024, 07:45 AM
Leeds United
Bradford City
Newcastle United
Manchester United
Celtic
York City

If it's any consolation, when I got married in Edinburgh in 2007, out of 70 or so people at the wedding, there were no jambos.

15-02-2024, 07:47 AM
Grew up in Bath. Of my best mates from school we have

Hibs - me
Spurs
Chelsea
West Ham
Man U
Newcastle
And no team

An eclectic mix. I guess living in the football wilderness of the West Country means there’s no real local connection to one particular club.

Yorkshire HFC
15-02-2024, 07:55 AM

2 Hibs
1 Celtic
1 Sunderland

Family all Hibs.

From school we were half Hibs and half Hearts. For derbies we would meet up beforehand then usually go to whichever end we supported and meet up again afterwards, but sometimes we would join them in the Hearts end at Tynecastle or they would come to the Hibs end at ER - good times in the 80s before all ticket games and when you could just pay at the gate.

Now I live in Leeds and people support everyone - I even go to the gym with a Rangers fan, and I run with a Celtic fan.

15-02-2024, 08:01 AM
The wife's family are all Hearts with the niece's hubby an Aberdeen fan, down south there's Everton, Liverpool, Wolves and Man U.

Mates are a mix of mostly Hibs and a sprinkling of Hearts fans.

Earlydelivery
15-02-2024, 08:07 AM
Coming from Lochend has it’s advantages.. all family Hibs and all my close pals are the same .. was at St Ninians and I don’t think there was 1 Jambi at my school in the early 70s

15-02-2024, 08:25 AM
Coming from Lochend has it’s advantages.. all family Hibs and all my close pals are the same .. was at St Ninians and I don’t think there was 1 Jambi at my school in the early 70s

Put it this way, if there were any on 31/12/72, they were probably nowhere to be seen on 02/01/73! :greengrin

15-02-2024, 08:29 AM
Best mates wise

1 x Rangers
1 x Hibs
1 x Burnley
1 x Killie
1 x Aberdeen

15-02-2024, 08:39 AM
Predominantly Hibs. My 3 or 4 best pals all Hibs. My next circle of friends mostly Hibs with a couple of Celtic thrown in.

I had some good jambo pals in my early drinking days from Nicky Tams, Sneaky Peats, The Yellow Caravel and Preservation Hall they were good pals but mainly fakebook contacts, meeting up at the odd funeral now.

My local is Tamsons so you can probably guess my pals in there all Hibs.

15-02-2024, 08:49 AM
One Hibs
One Hearts - kiddy on one though
One German who supports Hamburg and Arsenal
One Liverpool
Several none football
Family on the wife’s side are Motherwell fans.
Family on my side are a combination of English teams.

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2024, 08:52 AM
Arsenal
Blackburn
Crystal palace
Celtic
Everton
Newcastle
Sheff wed .

Early on in Arteta's reign at the Gunners the Arsenal fan when we were looking for a manager told me he'd drive him to ER . Now he's the best thing since sliced bread . Funny how things change in football.

Evertonian fan when out and had a few drinks had to keep reminding us all how he once scored a hat trick against Shay Givens . Now the local post man .

15-02-2024, 08:56 AM
Liverpool
Everton
Hibs
Gillingham
Rangers
Celtic
Hearts

15-02-2024, 09:04 AM
Hibs
Rangers
Rovers
Dunfermline
Liverpool
Hearts

Unfortunately Fife is Hun central

15-02-2024, 09:05 AM
Used to be nearly all jambos from school (Currie) but now a decent mix of Hibbies (although they'll pop up for the odd final only) and jambos.

chippy
15-02-2024, 09:05 AM
Early years to late teens in Clermiston: dad and grandad Jambos ( Uncle on Hearts books 1930s) but big brother Hibs, pals mostly Hibs , some Hearts and Celtic. Schools, St Joes-95% Hibs, St Andrews 95% Hibs, St Auggies 95% Hibs
Off to Sheffield Poly: pals Man City, Blades, Owls, Sunderland, Celtic, Hun, Hibs
back to Edinburgh, mostly Hibs, Some Jambos and Celts, Chelsea
off to Black Country : Wolves , West Brom, Villa, Blues, step sons all Newcastle
back to Edinburgh: 95% Hibs, a few Celts, can’t recall any Jambos or Huns these days

15-02-2024, 09:24 AM
Back in the day when you could all go together to games, 5 of us went to both Easter Road and Tynecastle for every game.
1 Hibs, 2 Hearts, 1 Celtic and 1 Rangers.
Never any bother at games, but back then you could mix and mingle without any worries.
I feel that when they segregated fans the trouble grew, instead of calming it down???

Lendo
15-02-2024, 09:34 AM
Mostly Hearts and Rangers for me 😔

15-02-2024, 09:44 AM
Closest mates I’d say - 2 x Hibs all the rest Rangers/Celtic.

15-02-2024, 09:49 AM
Bit of a mixture.

At school the vast majority of my pals either supported Hibs, Celtic or a mixture of Italian teams, there were a smattering of Hearts fans too. No Rangers fans for what I guess are pretty obvious reasons.

Now majority are still Hibs because so much of my social life and spare time revolved around Hibs games in my 20s. My immediate family have been Hibs fans right back to my great great granddad but I have cousins who are Hearts fans. Couple of good family friends are Hearts fans. My neighbour who I have become good pals with in recent years is a Raith Rovers fan. Still a few Celtic fans in the mix and I've a fair few pals who support Aberdeen because of my time living there. Also got a couple of good mates who don't follow any one team anymore and now just do the groundhopping thing and are just general non league/lower league fans. Good fun joining them from time to time but it's not the same without the emotional investment for me.

bournehibby
15-02-2024, 10:01 AM
I train with 5 guys in my local gym.

1 Chelsea
1 West Ham
1 Man U
1 Bournemouth
1 Egg chaser :-)

bh

Pete70
15-02-2024, 10:13 AM
Of my closest 5 mates.
3 Hibs
Hearts
West Ham but a jambo sympathiser as his son supports them.

Leitherhibs
15-02-2024, 10:15 AM
Hibs.

15-02-2024, 10:15 AM
Leeds, Hearts, Dundee, Dundee United, Liverpool, Aberdeen, Cove Rangers, Arbroath, Brechin City, Raith Rovers

15-02-2024, 10:18 AM
Aberdeen and Celtic.

No hibs.

Time to move I think

vuefrom1875
15-02-2024, 10:25 AM
Aberdeen and Celtic.

No hibs.

Time to move I think

All hibs...nae tramps.

15-02-2024, 10:31 AM
Bit of a mixture.

At school the vast majority of my pals either supported Hibs, Celtic or a mixture of Italian teams, there were a smattering of Hearts fans too. No Rangers fans for what I guess are pretty obvious reasons.

Now majority are still Hibs because so much of my social life and spare time revolved around Hibs games in my 20s. My immediate family have been Hibs fans right back to my great great granddad but I have cousins who are Hearts fans. Couple of good family friends are Hearts fans. My neighbour who I have become good pals with in recent years is a Raith Rovers fan. Still a few Celtic fans in the mix and I've a fair few pals who support Aberdeen because of my time living there. Also got a couple of good mates who don't follow any one team anymore and now just do the groundhopping thing and are just general non league/lower league fans. Good fun joining them from time to time but it's not the same without the emotional investment for me.

Your great great grandad... wow... that must stretch back almost to the club's birth?

Love hearing stories of an unbroken bloodline in football allegiance. It's what makes the game so special

15-02-2024, 10:35 AM
5 Hibs, 3 Celtic and 2 Rangers but no jambos thankfully.

Mcbizz1998
15-02-2024, 10:42 AM
6 Hibs, 3 Hearts in my group mates. One of the jambos wasn’t interested until his boy was born, now takes him along to the piggery every so often.

15-02-2024, 10:51 AM
The only Jambo's I know are brothers of close pals. Decent enough guys....for Jambo's.

I grew up in Fountainbridge and then Leith (from the age of 8). We retained strong family ties with Fountainbridge. Fountainbridge was as Jambo as Leith was Hibs. My first Derby was with the Fountainbridge laddies, Sept 1973, enough said.

I don't really have any Huns or Celtic fan pals and no one I know well supports an English side.

He's here!
15-02-2024, 10:51 AM
I prefer not to socialise with Jambos, let alone be friends with one.

darwenhibby
15-02-2024, 11:17 AM
All Hibbys except one who supports Dunfermline

15-02-2024, 11:27 AM
Your great great grandad... wow... that must stretch back almost to the club's birth?

Love hearing stories of an unbroken bloodline in football allegiance. It's what makes the game so special

My Granny's paternal side were among the mass immigration from Ireland in the 19th century and originally settled in 'Little Ireland'. My Great Grandad was definitely a Hibs fan and anecdotally my Granny said the same was true of his dad. It is quite special that now my daughter attends games with me so you have 6 generations spanning 150 years.

I'm never as sure about my Grandads side. His Dad was English but lived in Edinburgh for decades, I've never really heard much mention of him following football at all. My Grandad was brought up in Brandfield Street, less than a mile from Tynecastle, but is a Hibs fan and was never one for doing the week about thing that many of his generation did. He was a Hibs fan and that was it.

15-02-2024, 11:28 AM

That's the direction my life seems to have taken too.

15-02-2024, 11:57 AM
Most of my close friends are Hibbies and the rest aren't really fitba fans. :greengrin

Sparrows tongue
15-02-2024, 12:59 PM
From our wee crowd - 2 Hibs, 1 Hearts, 1 Dunfermline and a Raith Rovers fan who, bizarrely enough, was born and brought up in Gorgie!

15-02-2024, 03:05 PM

My Grandad was from Leith
Dad and Uncles all Hibbys.
Me, my bro and most of our cousins.
Now my two boys are Hibbys (despite living in Wiltshire) as are all of my fissions kids.

Huge Hibs family (bar a couple of Aberdeen cousins who’s dad moved their in the 70s).

hibstag
15-02-2024, 04:20 PM
Mixed bag in my group sliding scale of attendance too Best pal a hibby,drink with a dons fan, Couple of others are Ross County fans(hiding glasgow sympathies really one goes to two county games a season...)

15-02-2024, 04:30 PM
1 Hibs fan
4 Hearts fans
1 Celtic fan

lugz
15-02-2024, 04:46 PM
Celtic, Villa, West Brom and Doncaster (poor guy).

Sparrows tongue
15-02-2024, 05:04 PM
1 Hibs fan
4 Hearts fans
1 Celtic fan

Not so good!

Nooooo!

15-02-2024, 05:27 PM
I strive not to allow football rivalries to interfere with friendship and so my friends follow a fair range of teams -

Probably about 30% Hibs, 30% Hearts - the rest comprise a few currant buns a couple of Celtic and a smattering of others including Dundee Utd, St Johnstone and Aberdeen, Man City, Liverpool, Tottenham and Arsenal.

15-02-2024, 06:02 PM
I havent got 5 friends :)

15-02-2024, 06:42 PM
A mixture of Hibs and Hearts, used to all go together before segregation

15-02-2024, 06:43 PM
English and Welsh pals
Chelsea, West Ham, Arsenal, Spurs, Millwall, Cardiff City, Man United, Newcastle United (one Man City pal - Manchester lad that's lived in edinburgh 25 years)

Scottish pals
Hibs 80%
Partick Thistle 10%
Celtic 5%
Hearts 5%

Silky
15-02-2024, 06:57 PM
Mostly Hibbys. When I was growing up in the 80's in Restalrig, a stones throw from ER, most of the guys who became mates were Hibbys. A couple of Jambos have infiltrated the gang through the years, and I've met some good mates at work who are Celtic fans. Also got a couple of mates from uni who support Sunderland.

15-02-2024, 10:34 PM
I havent got 5 friends :)

me neither...guess it depends on the specific definition...

15-02-2024, 10:46 PM

Even though I live on the other side of the world...that is exactly my preference too.

Been here 50 years now, and luckily can count on the one hand the number of times I have knowingly been in the company of a self professed Jambo...and they have usually been backpackers I have bumped into or were working as barmen who served me.

In fact I have one of yon quirky house name signs on my outside wall that most suburban Sydneysiders have no idea what it means..."NAEJAMBOS"

I tell them if they ask, that it is an old Swahili word that means ónly people of good character are welcome here'...which I guess is half right.

16-02-2024, 04:44 AM
Werder Bremen
Hertha Berlin
Köln

All of them have Hibs as their second team.

babahibs
16-02-2024, 07:04 AM
Mostly Hibs,
Couple of jambos,
2 Liverpool,
1 Man Utd,
1 Guingamp,
1 Besiktas.

I'll never be friends with a hun.

16-02-2024, 07:19 AM
My inlaws and own mum and sister have 0 interest in football. From my close mates back in Edinburgh there are 2 Huns and 4 no team.

Over here in the expat community, decidedly more varied.

Stoke, West Ham, Leicester. Man U, Liverpool and Arsenal etc etc.

No Chelsea or Spurs though oddly.

16-02-2024, 03:30 PM
Even though I live on the other side of the world...that is exactly my preference too.

Been here 50 years now, and luckily can count on the one hand the number of times I have knowingly been in the company of a self professed Jambo...and they have usually been backpackers I have bumped into or were working as barmen who served me.

In fact I have one of yon quirky house name signs on my outside wall that most suburban Sydneysiders have no idea what it means..."NAEJAMBOS"

I tell them if they ask, that it is an old Swahili word that means ónly people of good character are welcome here'...which I guess is half right.

Brilliant :faf:

Halmyre Hibee
17-02-2024, 10:22 AM
Most of my mates / family are Hibs & Hearts with the few Celtic & Rangers fans. Still catch up with some former workmates who support Partick Thistle, StMirren & QOS.

Halmyre Hibee
17-02-2024, 10:37 AM

My Granny's paternal side were among the mass immigration from Ireland in the 19th century and originally settled in 'Little Ireland'. My Great Grandad was definitely a Hibs fan and anecdotally my Granny said the same was true of his dad. It is quite special that now my daughter attends games with me so you have 6 generations spanning 150 years.

I'm never as sure about my Grandads side. His Dad was English but lived in Edinburgh for decades, I've never really heard much mention of him following football at all. My Grandad was brought up in Brandfield Street, less than a mile from Tynecastle, but is a Hibs fan and was never one for doing the week about thing that many of his generation did. He was a Hibs fan and that was it.

My grandad Reilly on my mums side stayed in the Cowgate / Little Ireland & a Hibby although he also went to some Hearts home games with his pals as they often did in those days. His nephew stayed with my grandparents and hated the Hearts. My grandad Grant was originally from Edzell but moved to Edinburgh and was a big Hibby. I remember him telling me he was at the 1924 Scottish Cup Final when we lost to Airdrie. Both passed away in the 1970’s.